Report Review
Report Reason:
56 Reviews


admira
admira rated it
Marietta-hime no Konrei
March 2, 2016
Status: --
What, a romance that I, Penguin Overlord “dating is a pain” Admira, like? It can’t be true!

What I like off the bat (4 chapters in) :
(1) Not reincarnation/isekai! Hooray!
(2) The humor from the dissonance (the difference in others expectations and the characters’ actual feelings–I think that it’s funny, at least)
(3) A female main character (it’s just such a rarity for me these days) who has a run-away imagination
(4) The slightly (socially) dense male lead
(5) A mutual romance developing without... more>> an extremely overbearing male s*xually harassing his partner constantly
(6) Knight (general) x Princess = Classic <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
Okay, I've been peeking forward in the raws and I think this will turn out to be a really cute story. Not sappy like so many romances, and hopefully not very "Hallmark Channel" *shudders*

It reminds me a lot of Marietta-hime. The premise does, at least. The play on the otome game-like beginning made me chuckle, although I'm not entirely certain that was the desired effect.
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira
Hone no aru Yatsu
August 16, 2016
Status: c11
A cute, funny story about a set of bones. No killing monsters for EXP, no evolution (as of yet), no desires for world domination. Just an amnesiac skeleton who makes his way in the world.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira
Evil God
March 15, 2016
Status: --
(Up to date with raws, currently ch. 71)

An interesting story so far. The main character has power, but he doesn't have much of a chance to use it publicly. Plus, he suffers from an inability to properly speak to women--his words turn into a "mystery language" because he gets flustered.

Some of the more recent aspects are "meh, " but it's still keeping my interest for the time being.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
(I read ahead in the raws because it was so interesting)

This definitely isn't the typical otome game reincarnation story. I don't want to give too much away, but I can guarantee that this story doesn't involve the villainess changing herself and subsequently gathering a harem. It also doesn't involve the heroine gathering a harem of boy-toys to dote on her.

... more>>
Spoiler

Rather, it's a story about the heroine forcing time loops in order to change the villainess's fate. Although she "chooses" capture targets in each loop, she doesn't get romantically involved with them. It's all for the sake of Choko (the villainess).

[collapse]

Definitely worth a read. A breath of fresh air among the transmigration and otomege tags, if you will. I'm going to binge-read it to the end! <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
Hmmm...I don't even know how it's possible for this story to already have 6 "1-star" ratings out of 24. It's not the absolute best, but I think it's a bit more original than the other stories where the main character comes to inhabit another character's body. Especially since it's the author inhabiting a novel villain's body, and one who was supposed to become rehabilitated from his villainy to boot.

There are only 4 chapters translated for now, but I'll put it at 4 stars for potential.

EDIT: I went ahead and... more>> read some raws a while back, but didn't bother to knock down the rating. 3 stars for irritating MC. It's "OK", which is the 3-star tooltip. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Because Janitor-san Is Not a Hero
April 11, 2016
Status: --
Honestly speaking, the beginning of the webnovel is poorly written. The translation isn't the highest quality that I've seen, but I can't blame them too much because I've read the raws. It jumps around a lot and is confusing. But the author improves considerably as the story continues. I'm guessing that the light novel would be a much more pleasant read (for the first volume, at least).

As for the story content: Once you manage to get past the beginning, I think it's pretty interesting. There shouldn't be any real... more>> plot spoilers in the following, but it was getting long so I'm adding a tag:

Spoiler

I like Kurando (Janitor-san) 's character, although it's a little hard to get a handle on it before other characters are introduced. He has a good grasp of his own weaknesses and has the mental maturity to look out for himself instead of blundering around like a naive brat. He places a lot of value in promises, even if he is realistic enough to realize that not everyone will keep their promises.

Time passes fairly easily; it isn't one of those stories where there's a ton of action and only a week has passed. The time passing doesn't have the sudden feel of a timeskip, either, and it's not as if he's suddenly super OP after a few months of closed-door training. I like it, at least.

[collapse]
<<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Isekai ni Kanaderu Densetsu ~Toki wo Tomeru Mono~
February 15, 2016
Status: --
[As of Chapter 18]
Yeah... no. I was initially interested in the MC for being described as "an expressionless guy." But really, he's just a slightly perverted, extremely dense kid who attracts harem members like flies. And the cliches, the cliches. I don't find it interesting enough, original enough, or funny enough to continue reading.
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira
DemonLord’s Pet
February 14, 2016
Status: --
Despite wanting to lead a lazy life, the MC is surprisingly serious about becoming a house-husband. Cooking and cleaning are hard work, yanno?

Not much else to say for now.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Overlord (WN)
December 15, 2015
Status: --
Honestly, I believe that the LN is better because it is more polished and the characters are more steady from the start. However, I enjoyed reading the web novel as well (I have read all of part 1 as well as all of part 2 that has been published online at this time.)
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
The Reader and Protagonist Definitely Have to Be in True Love
August 14, 2017
Status: Completed
Okay, I spent several nights binging the MTLed raws, so I definitely missed out on a few points. However, it was 100% worth the read for me. The story moves along at a decent clip, and isn't overly predicatble. The romance is pretty solid, too. There are only a few side characters, and they don't stick around for long (they do come back, however).

The fact that the main character (reader) has 0 battle prowess is pretty interesting. Despite this, he manages his way through various situations. Rather than saying that... more>> he relies on the protagonist, it seems that he is usually left alive? He does have an interesting ability, which both helps and harms.

Overall, if felt like the author had a schedule for the series. It wasn't too fast, and wasn't drawn out with tons of filler, either. I felt that the ending left some questions unanswered. However, that might just be things I missed because of the MTL. So, I look forward to the translation. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Herscherik (Reincarnated Prince Series)
April 4, 2017
Status: v5
This is an amazing series. I binge-read all 5 web-volumes of the Herscherik series (http://ncode. Syosetu. Com/s6899b/) in Japanese after discovering this. It's somewhat unusual, being a female->male reincarnation story. Despite being born as a prince (and therefore with many advantages), he is quite conscious about his own disadvantageous position within his family.

If you're looking for a story where the MC powers up with plenty of cheats and defeats enemy armies single-handedly, look elsewhere. This series is fairly down-to-earth for a reincarnation story.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
A cute romance that is put together nicely. I read the series before it was translated, but the translation quality is also nice.

Somewhat atypical for a 'otome game memory recall' storyline, the main character's personality doesn't completely change after realizing that she is in the rival role. She still acts like a noble, not a clueless Japanese girl with crazy marketing schemes.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou (WN)
May 16, 2016
Status: c127
I'm honestly surprised that I managed to get up to chapter 93 in the raws before I got sick of this series. Certainly, I skimmed some, but skimming is a lot more difficult when you can't read it to begin with. Well, to be fair, I only read ~40 chapters in Japanese. But, even so.

Various plot spoilers in the following, read at your own risk:
... more>>
Spoiler

In hindsight, this story was great until he met Yue. It was a gritty, fight-for-your-life survival. And yet the author decided to turn him into a chuuni nightmare (for us) --WHILE acknowledging that it was chuuni. At the time, I was caught up in the addiction of reading chapter after chapters, so I didn't even realize how stupid that was. But now...

Moving on, it went from great to good after leaving the 1st dungeon. Then it went from good to okay, and okay to "why the heck am I even reading this?" I really wanted to know what happened after they reunited, though, so I kept on reading.

When he meets the girl from his class again, I'd say that's when things were really ruined. I got the rabbit girl clinging to him. She didn't seem to be the brightest, and was a persistent girl. To be honest, I always thought she was just mistaking other feelings for love. But that chick from his class?

I've never understood devoting yourself to a man who you love, but obviously has someone else he loves and is sleeping with. Correction, a man you are infatuated with. Because I don't think that it can be considered love when it's entirely one-sided on her part.

Anyways, when it hit the underwater arc, I just couldn't take it any longer. I stopped reading the raws back in 2014, and then blasted through the translations a few months back. And after that, I decided that it wasn't just my shaky understanding of the story--it was really, incredibly boring. Too many power-ups, too much OP.

[collapse]

The only pro this series still has going in my mind is that it's a bit earlier in the OP department. At the very least, OP wasn't nearly so common (and boring) back then. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Vermillion
December 15, 2015
Status: --
It's really, really great that this has been picked up by a translating team! This series is pretty unique in various ways. Even though the MCs are strong in a fight, many of the issues they encounter can't be surmounted with brute force. The truths of living in a (semi-) civilized world.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
It’s a great story, I think, but... There’s a certain story element (event?) that occurred pretty far in (chapter 80+ I think) that ruined it for me. Plenty of OP to go around, in a less obnoxious way than usual.

As for what made me stop reading it... (semi-spoiler for untranslated chapters, several arcs in)

... more>>
Spoiler

The realization of the harem just ruined it for me. Not the fact that there was a harem–I can deal with that–but the way things played out. To me it felt like the author kept on shoving the fact that the girls’ relationship with the MC had become s*xual in the readers’ faces ALL THE TIME. It got to the point where I couldn’t even skip over those parts because it was mixed in with most of the normal (pre-romance) content.

After the harem was realized, the rest of the story (battles, training, even new characters) became inseparable from it. As a result, I’ve stopped reading it (mostly lost interest) ; however, other than that, highly recommended.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
I won't rate it, it's only been 2 chapters. But I figured I should give a warning for those who have weak stomachs.

In short, this story describes eating humans. More to the point, it describes how they taste, but not the gory details of how they are dismembered (so far).
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Le Festin de Vampire
February 13, 2016
Status: --
I read part-way through the 2nd arc before I couldn't take it any more.

There's a somewhat interesting premise, but the logical jumps in this story just frustrates me. On more than one occasion, it feels like the author is just too lazy to have the characters react properly to the situations.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira
Because I’m a Weapon Shop Uncle
February 7, 2016
Status: --
Very cute and interesting. Not a "fuwa fuwa" type of cute, but more like an interesting story. I hope it updates again soon~
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
admira
admira rated it
Konyaku haki? Yoroshī. Naraba, fukushūda
March 2, 2017
Status: c20
This novel is sub-par at best. The author goes nuts with changing POV constantly and blatant foreshadowing ("But at that time, she didn't know that this was a horrible idea...") I kind of feel bad for the translator, because they actually do a decent job.

That said, it's still hard to stop reading. It's sort of like watching a really bad soap in a language you barely understand--you don't quite get what's going on, but it doesn't really matter because you're just there to see the overdone drama anyways.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3