Report Review
42 Reviews


acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
MMORPG: Rebirth of the Legendary Guardian
May 19, 2017
Status: c71
First: anyone calling this a rip-off of (insert novel here) must be new to light novels because they're all pretty much rip offs of each other.

Second: this novel is genuinely terrible.

I was into it for maybe the first 50 chapters, but then things changed.

Here are the top 5 reasons you should not read this novel:

  1. Terrible plot with tons of repetition
  2. Harem is already forming, including underage girl
  3. Supporting characters are one-dimensional and stupid to an irritating degree (Fatty Han's pervyness as an example)
  4. MC puts up with so much sh*t from party members (at one point one of them cheats him out of a lot of money and he treats it like a joke)
  5. The way it is written, the description of skills and classes and really everything about the game, shows the author does not know the first thing about MMORPGs; it is completely unrealistic from a gaming perspective alone (not even going into all of the other problems).
65 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
Infinity Armament
October 9, 2016
Status: v1c5
EDIT 12/23/16: In response to comments criticizing me I read on. As of v2c14, I stick by my review. Women in this novel, as with many other light novels, are there to be objectified. Anna from the movie Van Helsing is supposed to be a warrior, but in this she sits on the sidelines getting kissed and flushed and flirting and cooking and not fighting. One positive is that the interactions outside of the movies are slightly better but that's because they're all between males. Beyond that, the rewards are... more>> ridiculous, and the backstory still doesn't explain the MC's lack of fear. Even a special forces officer would be scared facing monsters and the like. I won't address any other comments people have made about my review. Read the story for yourself and decide the merit of what I said then. ORIGINAL REVIEW 10/9/16:
I started reading this because of the positive reviews saying it rivaled Terror Infinity. The premise is similar, and it is easier to follow than Ultimate Evolution. However, there are four problems that have caused me to put it down after only 5 chapters. First, the MC's actions and attitude once he enters the "movie" for the first time are hard to believe. There's no adjustment period, and the MC doesn't struggle like a normal person would. Second, it feels like the author wrote some scenes with the sole intent of glorifying the MC, not with the intent of writing something interesting to read.
Spoiler

the battle with the silver werewolf? Unrealistic that he would be that courageous, calm, or skilled, going back to the first point, and Anna coming up to him after with her inner monologue describing how impressed she was watching him going to the second and third points

[collapse]

Third, I am sick to death of authors writing MCs that are blatantly chauvinistic and treat women like objects.
Spoiler

the MC saying to Anna the second he finished the fight that he needed a beautiful woman to heal him and her agreeing with a smile and laughing as though that was cute or flirtatious goes to the second problem and this problem

[collapse]

Fourth, the game elements could be good, but the rewards given are so unrealistic. It's reminiscent of Zhan Long more than Terror Infinity in that sense. Spoiler

the random skill he gets is appraisal which is universally useful, the supposedly random item is holy bullets when he's in an undead movie, he also gets temporary doubling of his stats, and all for no reason other than he chose (not even completed) hard difficulty? Also, the drops from killing the werewolf? Healing Skill, stat boosting item, and even a bloodline? Totally ridiculous.

I will be dropping this one. I just can't enjoy it while those problems persist. <<less
60 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
Ark
December 7, 2016
Status: Completed
First, this a 4 star novel, not a 5 star novel. However, because people are being really unfair with their ratings I decided to give it 5 to counter balance that. Everyone keeps comparing Ark to LMS. While they are similar, it is not more than Zhan Long is similar to LMS. The difference is Ark is more tolerable than Zhan Long. I'm not going to go on about why everyone is wrong. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Good translations, lots of chapters, and completed so you can... more>> binge it
2. Solid game elements and virtual world
3. MC embraces a more villainous role among players, but a well-liked role among NPCs, fun to have the duality.
4. Some character development for MC.

Cons:
1. NPC interactions get annoying.
2. Repetition is the bread and butter of this author.
3. People never seem to learn to just not mess with the MC, and the villains are too stupid.
4. Most other players are basically a nonfactor in the story, which is annoying if you like things like guilds and social interaction which are the hallmark of MMOs. Basically, this feels like someone is playing a VRRPG, rather than an MMO. The real world stuff is mostly stupid. That being said, the game elements and quests and so on are key to these stories, and they're well done here. Combine that with the quality translations, the large number of chapters, and fact that the novel is completed and fully translated? This story gets a 4 star rating. Also, I dropped LMS, but didn't drop this. If that tells you anything. <<less
44 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
Path to Heaven
June 20, 2016
Status: c15
I had to put this down, I couldn't take the MC anymore. The premise of the story isn't bad, but that MC is so annoying. He has no self control, he is like the class clown that doesn't realize no one is laughing at his jokes but him. It's completely unrelatable. If you've ever babysat for a particularly obnoxious third grader, that's what it feels like to read this.
38 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
Eternal Martial Sovereign
November 6, 2017
Status: c46
Another crappy one. Top reasons not to read this novel:

  1. The martial spirits aren't explained clearly, unlike in other novels such as "Invincible".
  2. Harem formed within the first 45 chapters.
  3. Like many novels that Gravity has picked up lately, it has some r*pe elements. Girl given aphrodisiac, boy also receives it, they have sex, girl tries to kill boy but becomes first harem member.
  4. Author simultaneously describes the MC as being "mature" and "wise beyond his years", but then has him act like a horny 16 year old.
  5. Really sick of MC's that are miraculously skilled in every aspect (e.g. Strong martial spirit, fast cultivating speed, very intelligent, and suddenly a genius at pill making on his first try?)
28 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
High Comprehension Low Strength
April 3, 2017
Status: c40
There are a number of reasons I don't like this novel. The main ones are:

1. Even though there is no reincarnation, there is a huge gap from how the MC is supposed to have behaved before getting disowned by his family and after. Merely getting disowned wouldn't cause such a fundamental change in the MC's personality. They're like two different people. Even if his behavior changed his inner thoughts shouldn't have. Before he was chasing after a woman constantly to the point the author described it as stalking, then afterwards... more>> he suddenly stops because he lost his status. Even his inner dialogue is reflecting that he's calm and no longer smitten with her. It's completely irreconcilable. If the author wanted to do that then either make it a reincarnation story or make the MC not be like that in the first place. Stupid. 2. The author, based on this novel and other novels, has a fetish for women who treat him and other people like crap. I mean really, the love interest will do something despicable, rude, annoying, and/or arrogant and the author will consistently follow up with a phrase along the lines of "she was very loveable when she did this". Someone who acts like that is NOT loveable. The guys who act that way are the villains in the novel, but somehow the girl acts that way and the author thinks its loveable.

3. The writing (or maybe the translating) is not very good. The cultivation system isn't logical, the difference between the MC's cultivation and others isn't very well explained, the fight scenes are essentially "He let loose a punch, a punch with all his strength, a last ditched effort" and the other guy "I never expected he would fight so hard when I tried to kill him, who could have guessed it?" and that somehow explains someone at a lower level beating someone at a higher level. There are all sorts of lazy writing tropes, like bs fight scenes or writing yourself into a corner and introducing a random bs skill to get out of it.

4. The translation speed is very slow.

Thus, this is a terrible novel in my opinion. I do NOT recommend it. <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
The Black Card
November 6, 2017
Status: c7
It's just bad.

Here are the reasons not to read this novel:

    1. The MC is an idiot. He sees a person disappear in front of him, and then when he hears that he'll face the same if he doesn't spend money he thinks "it's obviously a prank"...
    2. The MC is a racist. Already obvious from the cell phone discussion (clearly hating Koreans and Japanese people).
    3. The MC acts like a sniveling coward, being very obsequious to villains.
    4. It's actually unpleasant to read the MC's interactions with the card.
    5. The whole novel seems like it's meant to be funny, but ends up just being weird and offputting.
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
Chaotic Lightning Cultivation
March 28, 2017
Status: --
I liked it at first, the concept was interesting and I like that he had his own spatial treasure he could cultivate in, like he was building his own world. However, the MC became a rapist. I don't know what sort of twisted mind the author has, but r*pe is never okay. A r*pe victim wouldn't stick with his or her rapist just for cultivation benefits any more than they would stick with his or her rapist for money in real life. It certainly wouldn't be ignored after a day.... more>> R*pe is r*pe. It's a terrible crime, one of the worst you can do. Having such a despicable MC ruined this story for me. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
Global Evolution
August 28, 2016
Status: --
What I like:
1. Different type of apocalypse story than other novels
2. Powers of some sort
3. Closer to realistic emotional reactions to the apocalypse and events
4. Closer to realistic preparedness of the characters (or lack of preparedness)

What I dislike:
1. Short novel
2. The pseudo science can get annoying when it's obviously wrong
3. Lack of direction/goal besides surviving
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
World of Cultivation
August 12, 2016
Status: c490
I'm a big fan of this novel. I could wax eloquently about this for pages, and it wouldn't feel like enough so here's the top 5 reasons you should read this novel:

1. Excellent MC and supporting character cast
2. The plot is actually interesting and makes you wonder where the MC will end up
3. Unique cultivation path/cultivation system
4. Author's sense of humor actually gets me to laugh occasionally
5. Mostly high quality translations AND consistent (which is key)

Update 2/6/2017: I'm slowly becoming disenchanted. It started out... more>> fun. The MC was a production xiu, and learned a variety of things. The world was interesting, and small details, like the radio thing they had, really fleshed out this world they lived in. I liked it, and would have been content if he kept building a production xiu paradise everywhere he went, while slowly amassing formation knowledge. Unfortunately, the author did not take that route. Moreover, I'm being told that the author leaves many character story lines unresolved, or resolved in the most superficial way. Frustrating. Will hang on until the end, and still recommend the early chapters, say the first 200 or so. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
The Charm of Soul Pets
March 3, 2017
Status: c98
This is a total Pokémon knock off. Pokémon meets cultivation novel. Entertaining, and I'm a loyal reader. Still, to me it's a 3 star novel. Lots of luck, MC has plot armor. Read if you don't have anything else you're dying to read.

Update 10/16/17: I'm still reading. Still entertaining. Still almost exactly the same. I really don't have much to complain or complement. It's fun, and fresh elements are introduced right when you start to get bored. Worth a binge read if you are looking for something to entertain you... more>> for a little while. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
Godly Hunter
November 18, 2016
Status: c20
Trying a new review format. I will list the top 3 things I like, and the top 3 things I dislike. Minor spoilers, but nothing too specific.

Like:
1. Focus on an unusual class/atypical class for VRMMORPG novels
2. MC uses intelligence to creatively use skills
3. As of where I am there is no harem yet (though that tag is discouraging)

Dislike:
1. Typical ridiculous glorifying of MC, always saying how he's a genius hacker and uber creative on a level that normal people just couldn't manage
2. The... more>> whole hacking premise/trying to crash the game gets repetitive, and isn't convincing.
3. The title system that MC exploits annoys the crap out of me.

Overall:
Due to unique-ish approach, giving it a 4. If it develops into a harem, or some other negative element appears, it's dropping to at least a 3, maybe a 2. Wish the translators who keep picking up these random VRMMORPGs would do some of the Virtual World series novels... plenty of negatives there too, but more well done than this (at least VW:UUTS is) <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
The Devil’s Cage
October 22, 2017
Status: c10
It's just not good... or rather, it's not a virtual reality novel. I went into it expecting a virtual reality novel based on the tag and description, but it doesn't feel like virtual reality at all... the author doesn't do a good job of distinguishing reality from virtual reality, NPC from human, etc. Even with a realistic game that has no protections and can kill you (i.e. Sword Art Online lol), you should still be able to clearly distinguish reality from virtual reality. If you like other VRMMORPG novels, and... more>> are looking for something similar, this is not for you. If you like Terror Infinity type novels, this is more in line with that. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
Reign of the Hunters
March 3, 2017
Status: c34
It's pretty good. It's nice to have a female main character because there's no threat of a harem forming. She's also a total badass which is great. I do get annoyed with how much crap she takes without retaliating. I get she's trying to be different after reincarnating, but I still think she shouldn't be so passive in response to some things. Aside from that, the game itself is about what you expect from a VRMMORPG novel; it's not fully fleshed out, and doesn't give off a game feeling. There's... more>> a heavy emphasis on her knowledge from the future which gets repetitive, but it's not unbearable (not yet at least). Overall, I think it's a fun novel. More than anything it's nice to have a novel with a female main character where romance really isn't an aspect of the MC's life. Very hard to find on NU. Recommend this for those who like VRMMORPG novels. To make a comparison, this is kind of like Emperor of Solo Play except the inverse. Former solo player reincarnates and values friendships as opposed to former guild leader reincarnates and cuts off friendships. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
The Dark King
January 20, 2017
Status: c89
This is a surprisingly good novel. Not just as a light novel, but in general. One downside is that the translator makes some grammar mistakes. I believe English is the translators second language. However, it is not so bad as to be unreadable, and it is certainly better than MTL. If the translator gets an editor, my review may improve to 5 stars. Aside from that, the release rate is so fast that I'm actually impressed. Highly recommend that you read this now. In the past two weeks it has... more>> gotten at least two chapters a day, and very often 4 or more chapters. Basic premise (minor spoilers, but it's first chapter stuff) :

Dudian wakes up from a sleep chamber to get his first glimpse of the post-apocalyptic world. Though a civilization has risen, the barbarity of it, compared to what he knows from living in modern civilization, shocks him. Quickly learning he must be strong to survive, Dudian begins his quest to achieve power so that he may in turn change the barbaric society he now lives in. This is his duty. Relying on nothing but his intelligence and knowledge of the pre-apocalyptic world to make a place for himself, watch as Dudian begins to rise. Also zombies and monsters. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
Starting from Zero
March 28, 2017
Status: c5
I don't say this lightly, but this novel was actually bad. Just bad. I can handle ridiculous luck in these sorts of novels. Zhan Long and similar novels are full of miracle encounters and BS luck. I enjoy them despite that. This novel seems like the author was too lazy to even come up with those opportunities. Instead of gaining access to some ridiculous quest or creating your own skill, the author gives the MC overpowered power ups right at the start simply because the MC was one of the... more>> first to buy a game helmet.
Spoiler

He got two main professions, 3 side professions, bonus stats, right off the bat for no reason other than he got the first helmet. Something like that would totally unbalance the game

[collapse]
It feels like the author couldn't decide how to make the MC exceptional, so he came up with the ultimate BS reason to make the MC so OP from the very beginning he wouldn't even need to specialize or have lucky opportunities. It's like Shura's Wrath only the MC doesn't even have to go on quests or have miraculous encounters in game to be exceptional. I gave this one star but if I could I'd give it zero (Hah! Puns) <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
August 18, 2016
Status: c352
What I like:
1. Unique focus (fame, television, radio, literature, etc.)
2. The lottery is fun
3. The early arcs are clever and full of difficulties that the MC has to actually use his brain (in addition to his powers) to solve

What I dislike:
1. The harem that is forming/the lecherous personality development of the MC
2. The xenophobia/racism of the MC (really the author)
3. Around Chapter 150 I got bored, the arcs become repetitive, everything is predictable
4. Mentioned this already, but the ridiculous sex-crazed MC... more>> (which is kind of what he's become by Chapter 352) is annoying, weird, and at times perturbing. There are some borderline r*pey scenes (not like GDW, but still not something I'd be comfortable with IRL). <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
Gate of Revelation
January 6, 2017
Status: --
Fun once you get to the explanations of what the heck is happening. That takes a little while so I imagine a lot of readers will quit early on. I had to put it down and come back to it like 3 times before I finally managed to get to the explanations. Then I enjoyed it. Consistent translations, and since it's on WuxiaWorld, if it ever gets dropped one of their translators can pick it up like what happened with The Great Ruler.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
Shadow Rogue
August 16, 2016
Status: c96
Initially I really liked this series. It was like Zhan Long without the harem, and a focus on solo play. Also the NPC behavior was less annoying than Ark. From JapTem to GravityTales, I enjoyed the translations. However, once it was dropped by Gravity, I started having issues. It's not that the new translations are bad, so much as I can no longer feel the personality of the main character like before. I don't know if it's the translators changing or maybe the author changed styles, but it just keeps... more>> putting me off. I've decided to drop the series, but only because I can't seem to adjust. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
acoleman2
acoleman2 rated it
In Different World with Naruto System
August 11, 2016
Status: c20
I put this one down. A lot of posters have problems with how easy it is for the MC to learn jutsu and so on. I didn't have that problem as much. It's normal in reincarnation stories where the MC has a power outside of the normal powers in their new world (like in Bringing the Farm to Live in a New World). Even Terror Infinity, a novel I personally rate highly, makes it super easy to cultivate Qi and other techniques. My issue is that the author directly... more>> contradicts himself about the power the MC has.
Spoiler

For example, the MC supposedly has fire, wind, and lightning chakra but then uses earth style techniques, some of which were bloodline specific Justus or related to the tailed beasts

[collapse]

Beyond that, the writing is boring, the fights are unimaginative, the progression is predictable, the character lacks depth, the author introduces random new goals as if they had already been fully explained, and numerous other errors. As a light novel reader I have a certain tolerance I've built up to crappy writing, but this is one time I just couldn't move past it. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3