Report Review
14 Reviews


Zyst
Zyst rated it
Praise the Orc!
June 21, 2017
Status: c228
The first few chapters I nearly wanted to drop this: "Ah, the MC is gimping himself! What an idiot" Alas, the idiot was me. Mt. Tai was right before my eyes but I failed to recognize it.

This story takes our flawed protagonist through his path of becoming the ultimate orc warrior, with manly brotherhood, manly bonding, manly honor, and manly manliness this is a definite recommendation! Give it a read.

Finished the novel, only one thing to say: Bul'tar!
81 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
Zyst rated it
Once Upon A Time, There Was A Spirit Sword Mountain
April 25, 2017
Status: c58
This story defies the heavens with its humor. I seriously have laughed in real life more times than I can count while reading this.

A very lighthearted cultivation story, with a shameless MC, a shameless master, a righteous sect that is actually righteous. It's all awesome, I cannot recommend this enough to those who like humorous stories.
34 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
Zyst rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
January 16, 2017
Status: c27
Funny as heck — Don't expect anything else!

First, you must temper your expectations. This isn't the tale of a man and his journey to the top, standing above thousands through martial might. Instead this is the story of a teacher with a peculiar cheat which allows him to see through flaws, among other things about the target. He uses this on his path to become the darn best teacher ever. Expect a tale of repeated face smacking, weird misunderstandings, and people doing anything they can to preserve face. There are... more>> probably tons of plotholes, just come into this with a light heart, open your mind, end enjoy the comedy. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
Zyst rated it
Ouroboros Record ~Circus of Oubeniel~
June 14, 2017
Status: c11
I wish to add some wind to this novel's sails, if you are concerned about the low (11) number of chapters, don't be: Each chapter is roughly 4 times the length of a normal novel chapter.

This story is super good. As a starter— Go in with the thought that our MC is a villain. Not just as in "He's a ruthless realist", which is more like a dark hero. More as in: "He's the first evil guy some Jap MC who just got off the goddess cheat train finds, throws... more>> up while looking at the stuff he did, and then kills him".

This is the novel of a guy seeking immortality through alchemy, he goes about it through a very villainous fashion. He frequently does human experiments on slaves, which are branded as property in this country and neighboring countries, most of which end in death. I am aware this sounds very edgy, but it is handled as un-edgily as you can handle it: Without any real emotions, as an actual experiment following the scientific process.

The characters, at least the main cast does have a nice range which adds some nice color to the story. I particularly enjoy the (presumably) main heroine. Her personality comes across very nicely, and she complements the main character in a very synergistic fashion.

I do feel the novel has many lacking aspects, there's some degree of plot holes; The exposition method is something done very nicely, but you can tell the author isn't terribly experienced at it. He gave the MC too many useful "Brainwashing" utilities, and then didn't have him use them in situations which would completely nullify what I imagine is going to drive the plot for the next story arc, and the list goes on.

But if you can look past that you'll find a very nice novel with a fairly refreshing approach, and some interesting story telling. I would definitely recommend giving this a go. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
I feel compelled to review this novel, now that I've binged it caught up. I see a lot of conflicting reviews, so let me attempt to clear it up. The first section will be a defensive review, so if you are just interested in my opinion skip until you see a separator, my review of the novel will be there. The first section is concentrated on addressing the common complaints I saw.

Complaints Section:

Addressing NTR: In short, there is none. Very very mild spoiler, mentioning the timeframe involved:

... more>>
Spoiler

It's essentially a misunderstanding and gets solved within 15 chapters

[collapse]

Addressing the MC being edgy: Well, it makes much more sense after you understand his motivations which does come later. But the MC is not an edge lord obsessed with killing, he has very nice character growth over the first couple of volumes which addresses it. I'd go as far as to say it's a poor fit if you are looking for an edgy main character. The character growth is actual growth and not something glossed over, it's actually very well written.

Addressing excessive r*pe: There is a substantial amount. Frankly it becomes a bit numbing after a while. What I like is that the female characters that went through the experience are fairly strong, they deal with the experience and many channel it into motivation to become stronger. If r*pe is something that you can't deal with, which is understandable, do give the novel a pass. There's a lot of it involved.

Review Section:

I really wanted a novel with the following:

  • A leveling system
  • A fantasy world
  • Characters without cheats
I had to strain the hell out of the tag system to find this novel, I'm really glad I did. In a world with many novels with "I'm already max level" and similar, I'm happy to have found this novel.

The growth speed of the characters could be considered a cheat in and of itself. But it's mostly done in a context of a world that seemingly called the cast with that purpose. The cheats aren't "We have power that is completely above anything else" or anything of the sort, the fights are tense and well written. The leveling system scales very organically, there's tradeoffs the characters have to do to survive, even though it means they will take longer to reach a stronger fighting potential.

All in all, it felt like a perfect salve for my itch, I wanted something that was essentially this verbatim, it felt like my back was on fire with desire and this scratched it in just the right way. Naturally, my rating is maybe higher than it would be otherwise due to the enjoyment I felt through this.

The girls are well written, have distinctive personalities, and around the second volume I didn't have any trouble putting names to all the faces in the illustrations. I do feel the girls fall in love with the main character a bit too fast, but well, it's that kind of genre. Their relationships do grow, the MC isn't the absolute Japanese dense type that blushes by accidentally rubbing hands together. There are sexual relationships which are handled tastefully and make sense in the context of the situations. All in all I liked it, although the relationships could've grown a bit more organically.

The characters most have a certain trauma which is very nicely explored and kept around even on later volumes (So not a case of the MC d*ck healed years of trauma magically), and the main character himself is a fairly flawed person. This, I feel, gives the cast more depth and makes them more interesting all around.

The novel is very densely focused on fights, it really is almost back to back fighting. I think the fights are written well. The skills the characters earn are applied skillfully, the author does a good job of not forgetting older skills, all in all it's very interesting.

All in all, this is a very well executed Isekai novel. I'm looking forward to seeing what is in store for the future. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
Zyst rated it
Kono Sekai ga Game da to, Ore dake ga Shitte Iru
May 3, 2017
Status: v2c3 extra
The description made me skeptical as hell. Oh, a buggy game and our main character is there. You're just trying to say this guy is a cheat aren't you?!

I was wrong, I am glad I was wrong. It's hard to explain the charm of the novel, but it's straight up a sh*t game. The main character gets transported, and you go through this super veteran attempt to play through in a completely unreasonable game.

The side characters are well developed and cute as f*ck, the main character is interesting, the broken-as-f*ck... more>> setting is lovingly crafted. Even if you don't normally like VRMMO/Transmigrated to video game world settings

I would still recommend this.

Seriously, give it a shot. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
Zyst rated it
The Monk That Wanted To Renounce Asceticism
November 19, 2018
Status: c142
The novel's concept is really interesting, I really tried hard to like this novel but the author's writing is not particularly good, and the story pace is slow as hell, I do mean random crappy interactions taking 15 chapters or so.

At that point I honestly didn't feel like the world was being fleshed out by the interactions, I was just annoyed. Recently I found myself speed reading the chapters to try to get to where the stuff would actually happen, and I realized if I'm desperately trying to skip ahead... more>> to get a grain of plot progression maybe I shouldn't be reading this at all. So I won't anymore.

Again, it's a shame, the setting is interesting, but the execution leaves a lot to be desired. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
Zyst rated it
A Record of a Mortal’s Journey to Immortality
January 19, 2017
Status: c266
Essentially the only story I've ever seen where a talentless MC is, in fact, talentless. His cheat allows him to grow at a nearly similar-to-normal speed, but he's still mostly outclassed by the talented. It also has a great 'cheat' item that still has room for development. In other stories the main characters go through the most convoluted leaps of logic, and instantly arrive on how their cheat works. Even when it belonged to some other character that had it for 500 years but just "never realized it's potential". Here,... more>> the main character has tried to experiment differently, but has only found a single real use for the cheat. I really enjoy that it is something that gets developed. The character is, in general, very down to earth. He is a cautious individual, that doesn't often get into trouble for no good reason. The MC is just a realist, he crouches when he needs to crouch, he goes with the flow when he needs to, and all in all feels excellently written. He feels like much more of a real human than most other characters. The story has a fairly slow pace, and pretty big time skips. But if the above has interested you I'd exhort you to give this a try. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
Zyst rated it
Immortal
May 7, 2017
Status: v2c4
Spoiler

Incredibly good! A novel that starts with an old man who was transmigrated to the world, he even got a cheat! However, he didn't get to cultivate. He builds an incredibly successful business empire, has a ludicrous amount of adopted sons and he sets them in the path of immortality hoping that one of them will get him a pill to break through to the next level, so he can become a cultivator himself.

A very refreshing setting, where our MC has been through the vicissitudes of life, has a mature outlook, and doesn't court death left and right. I'd highly recommend it.

[collapse]
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
Zyst rated it
Trash of the Count’s Family
September 29, 2018
Status: c25
This novel follows a common premise of transmigrating into a petty villain’s body. Frankly, I don’t like those kinds of stories much but I decided to give it a shot, and I’m glad I did.

The main character is weak, and conflict resolution is handled completely by using other people, or social methods. So far, the transition of the character going from trash to what he is becoming has been handled very nicely. Most social interactions are heartwarming so far.

I’m not sure if the interactions will continue along this route, but... more>> seeing how well the writer has handled all the things they have done so far, I am sure that whatever they do will end up being good.

All in all, I would recommend this! If you are looking for a main character who handles their problems through other people, or through words this would be a great choice! <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
Zyst rated it
The Tutorial Is Too Hard
January 6, 2017
Status: c14
Level up/Survival novel. They do a semi-quentin, starting in the future and then phasing back to the past as he went through the challenges. Right now it's up in the air as to whether it'll be good or not, but it certainly has a lot of potential. If you like the genre I'd recommend picking it up in a heartbeat, if you're not particularly a fan I'd recommend letting more chapters come out before giving it a shot.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
Zyst rated it
The Stone of Days
June 18, 2017
Status: c30
The story begins with our protagonist's dream to become the greatest merchant. However, it seems fate has something else in store for him.

With some of the absolute best characterization I've ever seen in a novel, fairly decent pacing, and an intriguing setting I would consider this to be one of the rising stars of the newer translations. I would absolutely recommend it.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
Zyst rated it
Daily Issue Little Girl Misaki-chan!
December 14, 2016
Status: c7
A slice of life type novel, the setting is quite familiar. For some reason or another our main character ends up having to raise a little girl. This is one of my favorite Slice of Life tropes, so the rating is a bit higher than it should be. If we supported decimal points this would be around a 3.5 star novel, if you aren't specifically a fan of this trope, it's more around 3 stars. The problem I found with the novel is that the main character switches gears just... more>> too fast into "Papa mode". There's no real character development, it's a single event which essentially causes him to decide to turn his entire life around. Misaki herself also has the same problem. She also enters "daughter mode" too quickly after being essentially abandoned and abused throughout her youth. There's no real trust issues, they just connect.

Putting that aside the story has some heartwarming moments, fun misunderstanding shenanigans, and the novel has a nice pace. Although I do feel it lacks a bit of leisure and feels rushed in trying to tell its story. If you are a fan of the trope there isn't much out there that scratches this specific itch, so I'd recommend reading it. If you aren't specifically a fan there are better options in the genre out there that you should check out first. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Zyst
Zyst rated it
The Skill Maker
August 14, 2017
Status: c22
I didn't like it that much.

The writing isn't particularly good, it feels like the author has a general good idea of where he wants to take the plot, which is a plus, but the writing feels inorganic and does not flow well.

The concept of the ability itself is interesting, but the entire world seems to be against the main character. Even when stuff is finally coming around for him you can feel the cosmos trying to screw him over in some convoluted way. As a plus the author clearly thought... more>> about how to make his ability relatively balanced, and that benefits the story greatly.

All in all I feel the main idea behind the story is well interesting, but the world building, and character development is weak at best. I would give this a read if you find the concept of creating skills to be highly compelling, but otherwise give it a pass. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report