Report Review
16 Reviews


ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
Living in this World with Cut & Paste
September 17, 2017
Status: c101
As of Sept 9, 2017 the TL Izzy from Junk Burst Translations has unfortunately quit, so the progression of the story past c101 won't continue until someone else picks it up.

I am saddened by this because I actually enjoyed this story.

Update; an aspiring TL was kind enough to pick it up for the time, its not perfect, but its good enough to read at least.

... more>> At times there was some cliché and otherwise predictable extreme plot-driven moments, but it remained an enjoyable read nonetheless.

There was considerable clutter behind it which to me detracted from it, but the characters' growth and eventual push in its potential within the story showed significant promise. However, until the translation catches up from someone else it'll remain a mystery for me right now.

I would gladly recommend this as it is, as it was a fun read. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
Goblin Kingdom
September 13, 2017
Status: c100
I am not sure how to remark on this.

The translation's good, the writing is fine, the story holds up - although it falls a bit predictable and heavy on certain foreshadowing - but it remains entertaining enough.

There really isn't much I could complain on this, as the writing and style is good for the story it is trying to convey. Despite it being predictable, its done in an enjoyable manner of which parts are to be expected, and the character development while feeling somewhat shallow outside the MC fits just... more>> fine to be able to maintain interest and help distinguish most characters. It only begins to falter for me when its size grows, but that's to be expected when it exceeded 20+ characters to keep a loose thought on. The world and mechanics are complex enough to allow growth, but simple enough not to confuse much.

I would say it is worth the read so long as all you want is something straight-forward. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
Gate – Jietai Kare no Chi nite, Kaku Tatakeri
August 18, 2017
Status: v8c9
I enjoyed the premise, but the mixture of characters and where the focus actually was left me somewhat underwhelmed.

For me, the MC otaku being an overpowered super-soldier essentially derailed most of the drama and leads to some unbelievable situations where you wouldn't expect it to go at first. But once it does, it becomes a far too predictable feeling. After the big reveals it begins to fall flat as a large part of the tension just evaporates.

The premise of modern-military vs fantasy world sounds awesome, but its focus gets reeled... more>> back down to a geopolitical hodgepodge behind the MC's story, often leaving out what would be fantastical fights for most of the story. It does pick up on spots, but largely its one where your expectations are left out of sight of where the story is.

All in all I have to admit it has its merits, but its not great, nor is it truly bad. Just a mixed bag of misplaced expectations and a direction you probably didn't think it would go. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
The Dungeon Seeker
September 4, 2017
Status: v4 epilogue
This thing was all over the place.

The story's inconsistent and in v4 it feels like the MC took a 180 character development and the author forgot to mention it.

While there was some interesting differences in how this was handled, to me it felt sloppy as it dragged itself over a cliff. Just too many of the same old what you'd expect stuff as the story went on sprinkled in between some jarring direction choices leaving this to be quite an erratic read.

Not sure I'd recommend it like watching a train... more>> wreck, or suggest to avoid it for the same reason. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
The New Gate
June 5, 2018
Status: v10c4 part1
My opinion of this was great earlier on. The mystery layered in with the gradual reveals was well worth it.

However, lately they have been on a backstory extravaganza and is just ruining the whole mystery and imaginative approach to it.

Its not bad, not by any stretch, however its lost the luster that did such a good job hooking me in at first.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
Different World Dungeon Life
September 15, 2017
Status: v1c12
Do you want to know what its like to have your brain raped?

Try reading this and follow the logic of what is going on.

To no fault of the translators I think, the writing early on is indeed bad. The context, story, actions... are messed up. If anything it makes for a fascinating study of insanity - but more of the author than characters. The R-18 is present enough to take up space, but either glossed over or lacking details at times. The concepts and function of this world are shady... more>> at best, and inconsistent at worst which makes the logic of the worldbuilding irregular. That is nothing in how the characters act which is truely incoherent at times. One could guess at what the author is trying to do, but there is so little information that unless you could assume that unspoken action to get to the awkward result there is no way your would expect the outcome from the story.

Read at your own peril I say.

Later chapters do seem to be a bit better, but many of its core flaws remain... <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
No Fatigue: 24-jikan Tatakaeru Otoko no Tenseitan
September 12, 2017
Status: c75
The early parts to me were an enjoyable read - something different, yet similar.

Some would see that bogged down in details, but that can have its merits in how much information is there.

However, despite enjoying that info as it went on the story felt more disorganized as the information grew. There is some effort later on to curb the volume, but its intent on expanding it isn't working with that as well as one would assume.

It has its merits in its core, but I am uncertain about the story aspect.... more>> The details seem to overwhelm the majority of the story's focus so its not the easiest read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
To Deprive a Deprived Person
September 2, 2017
Status: c186
Ugh, the headache.

I stuck through it till the latest release of c186, but I can't see myself getting back into it.

Though early on the translator had some issues, along with the editor in some places, but not nearly as difficult as it was to keep up with the writer. A disjointed story with stray thoughts that goes nowhere, plots and schemes that are seriously lacking details and context - with a sprinkling of contradictions. It makes for a messy read in an otherwise potentially enjoyable story. It has some interesting... more>> possibilities, but sadly the writer just can't seem to keep pace with it and it either gets lost or forgotten, leaving quite a few missing pieces that makes for quite the incomplete picture.

Its hard to say I'd recommend it for its good points - while it still does have a fair bit - but the context and outlying of the story just makes it a mess. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
Other World’s Monster Breeder
August 15, 2017
Status: c61
Meh. That's about it.

It has sparce innuendos but nothing that could be labeled a true mature rating I think.

To top it off, the whole "breeding" bit is more of a merger or combination, thus further pulling away from that rating again.

Beyond that, there is nothing terribly wrong about the story or pacing that I could feel, but it certainly is more moderate than expected.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
Riot Grasper
September 18, 2017
Status: v2c7 part2
I started loosing interest early sadly.

Don't get me wrong, I think its well done - but for me when the chapters started literally repeating themselves to get a slightly different perspective of what you just read it gets tiring to follow along for me.

There's a fascinating premise in the mechanics of the world-building at least, and overall the story is fair, but its a bit dense at times.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari (WN)
August 6, 2017
Status: Completed
To me this felt average.

Its a long story, has good points and bad points. However to me the good doesn't outweigh the bad and vice versa.

The trouble starts with what appears to be re-written and changed as the story went on. The largest point I could tell was in the end where it was cut off abruptly and then re-written for a different one. Similar instances within it on my second pass could be spotted where certain parts were shifted around to find a way to continue or expand it.

But... more>> that's not to say it is done badly. Overall I liked it as a whole, and although the ending did feel a bit off-the-rails to me it did have a decent conclusion and an overarching story of change for the characters involved.

It is worth it if you have the patience I think, but the payoff takes time knowing that there is ups and downs all through it. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
Its an endearing story.

it tries to contrast the treatment of others in a karma kind of way; do good things, get good results.

The world-building shows promise, but the mechanics and details are more of less fluff outside it.

Side characters are surprisingly shallow, but its somehow fitting still for this.

If you want a fair read for its good feels, this isn't a bad pick.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
Welcome to the Man-Eating Dungeon
September 8, 2017
Status: c51
I stopped at the first arc, just not quite my tastes after all.

Its... okay? Hard to pin it down, but there definitely seems to be at least some kind of underlying plot, a bit of character development though most is through mind-break than anything else. However the mature themes notwithstanding it does feel a little light with certain details. Enough to get it, but that's about it.

Its definitely not my normal thing, so I can't speak too much on it but its at least competent enough.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
Its good.

Straight up 18+ ero, although it feels lacking on details it is straight-forward enough to enjoy. There is a light undertone of character with a sparce plot to justify it all, and that's about it. The only question I am left with is if it continues enough to be worth it?

For now what is there is worth the quick read, but I am saddened the translation's been on hold.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
Most Wicked Harem Slave Master
August 6, 2017
Status: c14
Chapters feel short, its a bit creepy to have a 5-6 year old description for the protagonist to start this adventure (nothing too disturbing happened yet) and the pacing feels... off. I've seen worse, but this is not that good either.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ZoorYuvonHeim
ZoorYuvonHeim rated it
Slave Harem in the Labyrinth of the Other World
August 6, 2017
Status: c219
Its alright. If you don't mind its slow pace and easy feel I will recommend it as a good slice of life fantasy read.

I think the most important thing to get is that this is a Fantasy Slice of Life Harem before anything else. It does focus around the Labyrinth and fighting in that, does have a fair deal of ecchi and certainly a mature setting but it likes to gloss over alot of details. It leaves a ton of room for imagination between the lines. Some will take that... more>> as missing details, but I like to think of it as letting you re-imagine what's up.

In the greater scheme of things it is lite on alot of the information, but you follow the protagonist on his journey to learn the new world day by day for the most part. You will get explanations that give you info on how it all works, and then trusts you to remember that as it goes on to build up more behind it. You will find an extremely subtle sub plot eventually, but it focuses the most around the daily goings of how to live and learn in the new world and the mechanics of it. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report