Report Review
24 Reviews


YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
June 18, 2018
Status: c299
Edit: after reading all the available chapters, I stand by my review. This story truly is a treat and Reika is very very lovable. One of my absolute favorite stories, it's a little troubling as to how I'm supposed to live now that this series is on haitus. Please take a chance with this story.

I've read a couple of reborn-into-otome-game stories before this and honestly? This story is so refreshing. I'm not super far into it but it's nice to see a girl who is still a lovable protagonist... more>> but isn't so over powered. She isn't completely oblivious, not a Harem master, she doesn't even have past skills that make her over powered via magic, accounting, research, whatever. While her romantic prospects are low (man...) she is still a great character that you'll cheer on!

Characterization aside, this story is a very long, but light hearted read. There are no complicated wars to be fought, no succession, no hidden heirs or towns to govern. No one is kidnapped, killed or fought. Rather than a riveting tale of manipulation and uprising it's... a slice of life following a quirky commoner girl stuffed in a rich girl's body, watch and she and her friends get into some shenanigans, help the ML win his heroine and find love along the way (hopefully).

overall? A very good read that should last you a couple days or weeks depending on your reading speed. Light hearted, a good wind-down story that wont pull any surprise punches. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Common Sense of a Duke’s Daughter
May 22, 2018
Status: c112
its pretty good, the characterization is pretty solid, the characters aren't bad and her mother is quite interesting. Writing wise, it's very detail packed. It does edge into "all loving saint like shoujo protagonist" territory a few times and she doesn't face a lot of "real" opposition. As an accountant in the past life, it does help her with her governing duties but her product line is a little too over top. Chocolate, beauty products, conditioner, dresses, the list goes on. It's not impossible to recreate but don't you have... more>> to have the knowledge on how to do create these products first? Her companions are also a little too godly: top tier swordsmen, skilled assassin-intel gatherer maid, grandmaster chefs, salesmen, etc etc. The weapons that the MC have are a little too OP to be truly believable. Overall, it's a pretty good read. It wasn't earth shatteringly lovely, nor did I leave my reading session with an overwhelming hatred for the characters; but it was still an enjoyable time. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Akuyaku Reijō ttenani o Sureba Yoi nda kke?
May 22, 2018
Status: Completed
It’s not the worst story ever but it’s not much as a stand out either. To put it bluntly, it’s very much like death flag otome. The MC isn’t as oblivious as Katarina, but inspires the same “catch em all” feel with all the boys and girls. There is a notable difference that everyone gets paired up, and that the original protagonist of the otome game is also a reincarnation. While there are some interesting plot points that caught my attention, Cardinal’s skill set was a little too over the... more>> top to me. Extreme speed, genjutsu, martial arts, assassination techs, medical research, medicine creation, cooking, etc etc. She learns this all at an extremely young age, and while not completely touched upon, it’s brought up quite a lot throughout the story.

Minor spoiler, but the most interesting plot point would be the heroine (1st game) vs the hero (2nd game) show down side story.

overall; it’s an ok read if you’re looking for something extremely light hearted. It’s not a bad story but it’s also not one I would reach for again afterwards. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
The Lazy King
January 17, 2019
Status: c16
like everyone else, this is a good novel but please don't be fooled by the 16 chapters length. It's HEAVY. The world building, the characterization, everything about it is great but not for those attempting to binge read. Binging this is more along the lines of binging 2 or 3 novels in a series.

Plot wise, it's a very detailed and plot heavy story. One might even call it a politics story, as motivations and true powers of everyone slowly unravel through the story. The ending is a little iffy imo,... more>> it felt like there were a lot of plot lines that never really got resolved. The protagonist is OP, but it's interesting to see him interact with the world. He's never really "cool" in the traditional sense of "watch me kick everyone's ass" but more "the lengths he'll go to sleep".

Theres not much for me to review that hasn't really been covered by everyone else, but please read this story. The translations are pretty smooth, the plot is very good and the MC is likeable as long as you enjoy having a protagonist whose very stagnant and low tension. For binge readings, please read this when you're at full strength. It's long enough to take about a day or two length wise but information heavy. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
I Favor the Villainess
November 10, 2018
Status: c59
at the very shortest; it's pretty good and if you enjoy or want to see what a story written from a shoujo manga male lead's point of view, you'll like it. If you're familiar with Usui from school president is a maid (a shoujo manga), this story is what it would be like if we followed his POV.

Yes there are some holes in the plot and it does get a little confusing here and there if you can't suspend disbelief but it's a solid read. I think the stand out... more>> is rei's characterization honestly.

If I were to break it down, Rei is a woman who is written like a shoujo manga male love interest who fell in love with the protagonist first. A little flirty, cold to the normal "capture targets", she's very focused on her sole goal of supporting Claire in love and life with a disregard for all else. Claire herself is a "tsundere" who at first attempted to bully Rei but recoiled due to rei's abnormal reactions. The three princes who are capture targets fall to the side. They kinda feel like friends (except for one who feels a little like rei's rival for Claire's love) but kinda feel mostly there to move plot. Mish is kinda weak and honestly fades into the background very quickly. She's supposed to be rei's "handler" but she shows up only a few times and then is forgotten quickly.

Plot wise, it's less "political intrigue" and more "slice of life", it follows Rei and her devotion to Claire, with some background events to cause drama. Whether or not Rei and Claire end up together is a toss up, as it feels like Claire is split between Rei and another character (a male capture target).

Overall, I think your love of this novel depends on how much you like shoujo manga. Did you like stories like Special A? The school president is a maid? Dengeki daisy? More specifically did you like the male lead of theses manga? A little flirty and cold to others, helps out the main girl a lot, skillfull, etc etc? Did you ever wish you could see from his point of view?

if you answered yes, you'll like this story because it reads very similar as long as you slide past the few chapters until Rei becomes Claire's maid and accept that Rei is a girl and not a guy. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Albert Ke no Reijou wa Botsuraku wo go Shomou desu
February 10, 2019
Status: c31
It’s very good, although the main character doesn’t quite feel like a “oh I have become a character in game”, but more “oh, we’re game characters!”. The novel starts almost directly before the original game protagonist comes to the school rather than the typical age 1. It feels more like Mary was quirky/levelheaded from the start and gets hit with the knowledge that in another dimension/life, she’s a video game character.

Characterization-wise, Mary is quirky but loveable and her interactions with Addie, her butler, are a joy to read! The original... more>> protagonist is quite cute and Mary’s attempts at harassment fall short quite hilariously and only serve to bind the protagonist to Mary more.

On the subject of love interests, that plot line ends pretty quickly as they get coupled off quite quickly. There’s no love triangles, no other options, the pairings are pretty much set from the beginning. The only wooing that really happens is mostly Mary inadvertently seducing the protagonist into friendship.

If you’re curious as to what the pairings are:

Spoiler

Addie and Mary are pretty solid from the beginning, even though they’re not official. The protagonist is also coupled off with the prince character very quickly.

[collapse]

overall, rather than a “died and reincarnated” its a “realized in another life they were a game” novel. There’s almost no lamination of an old life, no true change in personality. It’s good, although very light hearted and fluffy. Mary tried to throw herself into a destruction end but from the beginning, you can tell there’s no real way that would happen. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
The Male Lead’s Villainess Fiancée
January 30, 2019
Status: c16
Not very original, but still very cute. It's a pretty light hearted story about a villainess girl who was engaged to the ML, accidentally made him fell in love with her and didn't realize, and now she's trying to avoid destruction and get the MC together with the ML. It doesn't reinvent the wheel, but the characters are pretty solid, and the art is quite pretty. The cliches are there (all the capture targets love her not the MC, she's absolutely oblivious from the intentions of everyone else). Translations are... more>> also quite good, although the character portraits next to every dialogue line is a hit or miss kinda thing. The only minor original thing is that Louise ships the MC and the ML so she wants the two together.

The translator has a patreon that contains chapters as well and is far far ahead in the story. Originally I thought they were permanently pay walled but I was wrong.

Overall it's unoriginal but cute, if you want something light hearted then this is it. Please do check it out and decide for yourself whether or not you'd like to continue or not. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Rain
January 21, 2019
Status: --
It’s good, but definitely shows it’s age. Some might hate it because it’s “cliche” but for a book that came out in 2005? It’s cliche because the tropes used over time grew too popular. It’s a pretty standard op magic swordsman story, and honestly your level of enjoyment would rest on whether this is your first novel or 39th novel. This rocked my world at the age of 11, not so much now at age 25.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
My Sister the Heroine, and I the Villainess
January 9, 2019
Status: c112
A lovely read, the beginning is chocked full of fluffy shenanigans of Chris and the crew as children. If you enjoy slice of life stories with a hint of sister complex, you'll enjoy the beginning. If not, almost every chapter until maybe chapter 78 or so is gonna be a power battle to slug through. I will say though, once you hit chapter 80, the story ramps up incessantly; and the chapter where her teacher tells her to "love your fate" is a cold and interesting one. However the ending... more>> falls a little flat, and the resolution of the conflict is very anticlimactic, part of it even happening off screen.

Overall, this story falls in the line of those "Bakarina"esque stories, a lovely but quite oblivious protagonist who tries to become a villainess (although this one tries to throw herself into the bad end) and doesn't quite realize she's too loved to achieve her goal. It's a good read, although the actual plot doesn't pick up until literally, near the end. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
To be precise, I honestly want to give this story a 3.5, it’s not a bad story but the plot moves a little too quickly for any of the characters to truly develope any sort of true personality. It’s a little bland and very mellow, but it’s not a bad story. I do enjoy the relationship between MC and her father.

Slight spoilers but ... more>>
Spoiler

MC’s moniker of doll princess seems to randomly come about rather than have an actual logical reason for it.

[collapse]

plot wise, it’s ok just quite fast. My one gripe is that it feels less “stuck in a light novel” and simply more “I just got reincarnated into a new world” kind of thing. Her memory “assets” are more realistic then some (keeps her past handicraft skills and knows how to make kaarage) but the characters that show up in this supposed “light novel” have been incredibly few. For better or for worse, we’ve only been introduced to 2 different original love interests with the original MC and the rest of the cast missing. The covers have me wondering who exactly is supposed to feature with her because surely we haven’t met them before.

Over all, it’s a decent story; in fact it could be quite good! However it’s just not my cup of tea. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Tensei Oujo wa Kyou mo Hata o Tatakioru
October 16, 2018
Status: c96
At the very base and the shortest thing I could say is that it's a good story that would pass time but it's nothing earth shattering.

The main character is reasonably likable and at times she's incredible, however at the end of this I never truly fell in love with her like some of the other characters I've read. Does she stand up against the other otome protagonists? Not particularly, for better or for worse she feels a bit standard, although her love target is abnormal. The side characters are well... more>> written, with my personal favorites being Theo and lutz. However the romance between georg, Kraust and johan are shallow, and barely have anyspotlight before suddenly, the guys are in love with the MC.

Plot wise, the story is similar to many (don't die/get a death flag) but turn up the political intrigue and turn down the obliviousness and give her an actual love target, you now have Rosemarie. It's not like Rosemarie isn't a solid character on her own, however I think how much you like her stands on how many stories/protagonists have you seen/read before getting to this one. There is less humor and more plot in Tensei Oujo, which does help move things along, but hinders some of the character development.

Overall, it's a decent story with good characterization and plot. It's nothing that's so sophisticated or never been done before but if you're new to light novels, it might be really good in your opinion. At the very least, it's something ok that could burn an afternoon or two away. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
The Girl Who Ate a Death God
May 26, 2018
Status: Completed
Very well written, engaging plot and quite detailed. Author does foreshadow/gives small spoilers for certain battle outcomes and such in a sort of "history-book" like anecdotes. Main character is quite enjoyable and while powerful, never feels like an OP character that could simply take on all the fights by herself and makes the rest of the army redundant. Rather, she feels more like a "key part" of the army forces. Everyone else might be a sword, but she's the grenade launcher. Side characters are abundant, but still very enjoy, with... more>> my personal favorite being sidamo. The "low fantasy" setting is refreshing. There are no extreme, flashy battles with moves called out nor any mythical creatures besides the titic ular death gods. MC's strength is handled well, as she can decimate a good portion of the enemies army but she can't win the whole war alone. Magic is present, but it's never overtly abundant in any scene. The grim atmosphere of both the strain of the kingdom and war is very well done. (Severe spoilers so don't click the reveal unless you're like me and like spoiling yourself.)

I also love how the ending is quite realistic as the grey moral actions people took leaves
Spoiler

the kingdoms problems remain and even more problems arise in the wake of the rebellion.

[collapse]
. Overall; this story is fantastic and a great read. It doesn't lend itself well to binge reading due to the amount of details prevalent so make sure to pace yourself. I also enjoyed the brief side story with Hero, the protagonist of another series from the author. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
My Death Flags Show No Sign of Ending
May 24, 2018
Status: c101
its a really good story, and if I could, I would give this a 4.5

the first two arcs are very very well done and a joy to read, but the third arc is a little iffy. We have a cliff hanger and then suddenly there's an abrupt shift in background characters and working for the enemy. It's a little jarring, especially since it was so good before. Edit: I have finished reading all the available chapters and honestly? I take it back! I love this story, it is truly one... more>> of my favorites and I adore it. While there are still faults it's very enjoyable. MC can come off as overpowered very easily but it's amusing to see his friends almost regard him as a tsundere lol. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
a very well written and light hearted novel. The characters are lovable and Katarina’s obliviousness definitely steals the show. Her master plan of “retire at old age with a cat on my knee” let’s her stand on stage without pushing her into all loving saint shoujo protagonist and it’s both entertaining and refreshing to see not only the boys fall for her, but the girls too! Even the original main character! If you’re looking for a nice, light hearted read for the evening, this is definitely the story you’re looking... more>> for.

However, as much as I love this story, it’s not without faults. Since it was originally planned to be at best a 2 volume light novel with side stories, the fact that it went onto 5 volumes was unexpected and it shows. My recommendation is that you should read up to volume 2 (chapter 35) or 3. Sadly, as the story continues katarina’s obliviousness goes from strength to weakness and she slowly gets pushed into the all loving saint shoujo protagonist category. Vol 3 and part of vol 4 are still mildly enjoyable;but what made the characters shine in the beginning slowly push them into annoyance territory. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
A twist to your usual otome reincarnation stories, rather than following someone who was an outsider, we follow the original villainess who overheard her fate and despairs at what she has become and sets out to change. The translation is very well done and is overall quite enjoyable.

The story has me divided: on one hand I love how it’s a change to your usual plot line and that the character we follow is an original “in game” character who doesn’t get a “injury/sickness/accident/whatever” to explain away her sudden character change... more>> and must work to undo her damage and mend her faults. It’s refreshing to see Lily attempt to change her character, and work towards a happy ending with her fiancé.

On the other hand, sometimes Lily reads as a 7 or 10 year old rather than a 15/16 year old while her fiancé, Al, feels older. It could be the byproduct of Al being her mentor, but Lily’s demeanor is more innocent. It’s fiting as you can see why she went wrong do to her surroundings, but it’s a tad too innocent. Sometimes I forget the age of Lily while reading and get shocked at her age again. Since Lily is also a product of her surroundings, it is a little frustrating to see her work to change and yet no one who contributed to her faults (cold older brothers, indulgent parents) take any sort of blame.

It’s not a bad story, it has an interesting premise and if you’re in the mood for something a bit fluffy, this would be a good story to read. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Youjo Senki
January 31, 2019
Status: v3
A breath of fresh air in the isekai novel world! MC dies and picks a fight with god, who throws MC into a gritty, realistic, low fantasy setting where there is a war and minor magic powers! MC aspires to basically survive and live comfortably, and is dying to punch god if given the chance. It’s a very complex novel, chocked full of politics and grey moral characters.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Konyakuhaki ni Zettai Kioku de Tachimukau
January 15, 2019
Status: oneshot
it was good, but very short. It’s so nice to see one of those “breaking our engagement” talks end with an utter curb stomp. For such a short story, it handles itself very well. If I were to write a complaint, my only thing is that it doesn’t wrap up every single thing perfectly. It hints to some other love interest who never is showed/distinctly pointed out and is mentioned in passing. The “heroine” by the prince’s side is shown to have made plans but you never really find out... more>> what they are.

If you want a one page story about a “villainess” curbstomping a prince during one of those “we’re over!” Scenes and can overlook a few loose ends, go ahead and enjoy. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Father, Mother Escaped Again
October 19, 2018
Status: c27
Its alright, it's very reminiscent of early 2000's manga with overdramatized reactions and actions being common. Yes, there is some "rape humor" in this story however I would believe it to be more dubious consent than full on rape as pointed out in the top review. For any who are worried about the dubcon scenes, however, they're very fade to black and insinuated so it's up to your own disgression. The novel gets a solid "it's alright" from me.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
It’s Because You Said There Would Be Candy!!
October 18, 2018
Status: Completed
Short, but sweet! It’s a very nice story that manages to put you in a good mood. The plot is there, but it’s nothing so deep that it bogs you down with information. MC is a joy with just enough dense-ness to enjoy the resolution of the slight romance plot line on the side. It’s a very quick read but an enjoyable one nonetheless!
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
The Bathroom Goddess
June 17, 2018
Status: Completed
A light hearted and short read. It’s very good, although it might be a little hard to keep track of who is who at certain times. This story is very charming, with a lovely premise of a woman who simply wants to relax in the bath and a world that keeps bothering her. I quite loved the dynamic of the king and the goddess lol, though their story ended I felt like the king was 85% ready to drag her out of her window and into his world. I do... more>> love how each story is interconnected and the premise is both interesting and quite funny. It’s high in comedy/low in romance which is both good and bad in my opinion.

Tldr; it’s a good story that’ll burn A night or afternoon perfectly. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report