Report Review
102 Reviews


YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
The Me Who Wants To Escape The Princess Training
June 14, 2019
Status: c13
Its a cute and light hearted story of a small animal our MC the tomboyish Leticia and our black bellied pursuer stunning prince Clark! Akin to watching a mouse attempt to run from a cat, Letty is strenuously trying to avoid an engagement to the prince due to the fact that the training is utterly awful. Sadly, the prince only has eyes for her and she's never escape lol. It's fun to see what sorts of plots Letty creates to escape only for Clark to foil them at every turn.... more>> If you're in the mood for a fluffy, prey and predator-esque story then this is the one.

Spoiler

And to address the previous review, about the "forced romance" did you clearly not heed the yandere tag? Name me one yandere male lead who wouldn't be labeled psychotic in real life. This story is clearly appealing to those who just want to daydream a bit about a relentless pursuit by a man whose handsome, a prince and has high specs, what's wrong with that? It's not meant to be deep, there's no need for the parting sarcastic shot, who are you to judge what people read for enjoyment? And before anyone comes at me with "fantasy influences reality", well yes but if someone is building their entire world view on romance novels alone, you're either too young for the internet and need to leave or the society that is immediately around you has failed you and you need to speak with your school or your parents and adjust those views.

[collapse]

Edit: someone let me know there was a response to my review, so here I am again ¯_ (ツ) _/¯. You can criticize the novel all you like, it's fine if you think it's Stockholm syndrome or unromantic, that's the point of the review section. Since the author wanted to present it as a light hearted story, I judged it based on whether or not it's enjoyable as a lighthearted story. What I WON'T stand for is attacking or judging people for what they like to read, full stop.

Spoiler

We're not fighting over the same thing, in fact I AGREE with what you're saying (ML is psychotic on real life terms, this novel is not meant to be looked upon as a guide to healthy relationships), my problem is passing judge on what people like to read in their spare time. However, you clearly state "... [the] high spec ML's I LIKE don't ever resort to...", which is great but so? Why are the only yandere ML's that are okay have to be the ones you like? Just because this yandere doesn't work out to be satisfying or what you personally think what yandere should be doesn't mean it's not "true" or "healthy" yandere. ANY sort of yandere in real life is Not Okay™, a relationship partner who is controlling and obsessive in real life is called an abusive relationship. As for attacking others, where in this entire paragraph have I attacked anyone? You've called me crazy, deluded, ignorant, and "don't live in the real world" for liking a fictional story. At best I called others sarcastic, too young or that their surroundings failed them if they are building their view of life on romance novels alone.

[collapse]

All arguments under spoiler cuts because the review section is for people who want to know more about the novel, not for fighting and I apologize to anyone who didn't want to see this and left my previous criticism unrelated to the novel out in the open. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
I’ll Live My Second Life!
March 18, 2019
Status: c107
Fii is honestly one of the most refreshing hidden cross dressing protagonists I've ever experienced. There's not a single stereotypical "oh no, what a hot guy! Kyaa what is this pounding in my chest" line in this entire story. She's cheerful, upbeat, down to earth and as a guy she has a reputation as a nasty/horrible/ underhanded guy when fighting. I adore her, and honestly I wish revenge on the entire two kingdoms on her behalf! I hope that idiotic king falls for her and gets rejected!!

from what I've read... more>> this is less a politics story, revenge story or anything if that sort. More like Fii and her knight friend's daily life? I do think the title is a bit misleading and makes you think this is some sort of isekai novel but truly there's no reincarnation or time traveling here! Regardless this story is solid and Fii is a refreshing breathe of air, especially her nasty and underhanded fighting. I truly did enjoy almost everything I read, but I do burn with anger at Fii's mistreatment and also how Fiiru takes so long to appear. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
The Lazy King
January 17, 2019
Status: c16
like everyone else says, this is a good novel but please don't be fooled by the 16 chapters length. It's HEAVY. The world building, the characterization, everything about it is great but not for those attempting to binge read. Binging this is more along the lines of binging 2 or 3 novels in a series.

Plot wise, it's a very detailed and plot heavy story. There's a lot of world building and detail that is great but when trying to binge it might get a bit much. It's more of a... more>> politics story than an action story, as motivations and true powers of everyone slowly unravel throughout their designated chapters. The ending is a little anticlimactic, as it felt like there were a few plot lines that never really got resolved or explained and it just simply cuts off. The protagonist is OP, but it's interesting to see him interact with the world. He's never really "cool" in the traditional sense of "watch me kick everyone's ass" but more "the lengths he'll go to sleep". He's a very stagnant an low tension character honestly, he had very very little character development, and while being the center of the entire plot/story, he does very little in comparison to the side characters, who are very busy.

Theres not much for me to review that hasn't really been covered by everyone else, but please read this story. The translations are pretty smooth, the plot is very good, the characters are well developed and the MC is likeable as long as you enjoy having a protagonist whose very low tension. For binge readings, please read this when you're at full strength. It's long enough to take about a day or two length wise but it's very information heavy. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Slow Prison Life
September 28, 2019
Status: extra 1
The best way to summarize this story would be "Tom and Jerry", a cat whose a cartoon villain and tries to eat the mouse but gets outwitted every step of the way. It's a shallow, but mildly refreshing novel that focuses on nothing but comedy and face slapping. I'm very glad that there's not an ounce of romance in this novel, for it would have ruined the flow of this story tremendously. Rather than Josei though, I would have labeled this shoujo myself.

that said, the plot and it's characters aren't... more>> deep. Everyone besides Rachel and her allies are idiots and the prince is nothing but a flimsy paper antagonist to allow Rachel's schemes come to fruition. Rachel herself is just OP, full stop. There's no tension, everyone knows Rachel is going to win, and the plot never becomes more than "idiot prince tries to harass Rachel but gets his ass handed to him" with increasingly fanatical schemes. The ending is rather unfulfilling and anticlimactic but I still enjoyed it to a certain degree. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
My Childhood Buddy Keeps Trying To Turn Me Gay
April 2, 2019
Status: extra
Hilariously cute! It's a very short story but still very enjoyable. As the title says, MC+ML are childhood friends, with ML taking care of MC and MC not realizing their couple-like status until recently. Once he realizes, he posts on the forums and the fun begins!

While the plot is easy to guess and we don't get to know much of the ML's personality, MC's actions are still very cute and is pretty likable. The true standouts of this story however, are the commentators on the forum that the MC posts... more>> on! Every single commentator is hilarious, teasing and uplifting/rooting for the MC in turn! Both the heckling and the advice given make it feel really realistic ("I bet OP's a bottom" "OP is a bottom confirmed" "+1") and had me struggling to keep my laughter down.

overall it's a very quick (took me less than 40 minutes to read! Maybe even 30!) but very cute and light hearted story! Akin to eating a piece of candy, it's a funny and enjoyable piece that made me smile. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
June 18, 2018
Status: c299
Edit: after reading all the available chapters, I stand by my review. This story truly is a treat and Reika is very very lovable. It is my absolute favorite story out of the entire "reborn into a otome game" genre, it's a little troubling as to how I'm supposed to live now that this series is on haitus. Please take a chance with this story.

I've read a couple of reborn-into-otome-game stories before this and honestly? This story is so refreshing. I'm not super far into it but it's nice... more>> to see a girl who is still a lovable protagonist but isn't so over powered. She isn't completely oblivious, not a Harem master, she doesn't even have past skills that make her over powered via magic, accounting, research, whatever. While her romantic prospects are low (man...) she is still a great character that you'll cheer on!

Characterization aside, this story is a very long, but light hearted read. There are no complicated wars to be fought, no succession, no hidden heirs or towns to govern. No one is kidnapped, killed or fought. Rather than a riveting tale of manipulation and uprising it's... a slice of life following a quirky commoner girl stuffed in a rich girl's body, watch and she and her friends get into some shenanigans, help the ML win his heroine and find love along the way (hopefully). Rather than "avert bad endings", honestly it's the first story I've ever read that is simply just the MC actually living in the otome world.

overall? A very good read that should last you a couple days or weeks depending on your reading speed. Light hearted, a good wind-down story that wont pull any surprise punches. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Common Sense of a Duke’s Daughter
May 22, 2018
Status: c112
its pretty good, the characterization is pretty solid, the characters aren't bad and her mother is quite interesting. Writing wise, it's very detail packed. It does edge into "all loving saint like shoujo protagonist" territory a few times and she doesn't face a lot of "real" opposition. As an accountant in the past life, it does help her with her governing duties but her product line is a little too over top. Chocolate, beauty products, conditioner, dresses, the list goes on. It's not impossible to recreate but don't you have... more>> to have the knowledge on how to do create these products first? Her companions are also a little too godly: top tier swordsmen, skilled assassin-intel gatherer maid, grandmaster chefs, salesmen, etc etc. The weapons that the MC have are a little too OP to be truly believable. Overall, it's a pretty good read. It wasn't earth shatteringly lovely, nor did I leave my reading session with an overwhelming hatred for the characters; but it was still an enjoyable time. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Suddenly Became A Princess One Day
July 5, 2019
Status: v64c17
Very similar to Daughter of the Emperor, from the baby start to all powerful and tyrannical father, even the loving mother nurse figure. Honestly I think this one is much better in my opinion. Rather than literally following our protagonist from birth to adulthood, there’s a time skip to her toddler years where we see how her and her father interact and watch as Atty wears him down with ageyo. The characters are a little more well rounded, there’s more talk-back between her father and Atty due to them meeting... more>> when she’s a toddler, and you get an actual reason as to why he hated her originally.

differences between the two? This one has more mentions of magic, and rather than just living her life, Atty knows for a fact that she will die by her fathers hand if she does not gain a better reputation with him. Also, the “protagonist” also shows up from the original storyline, causing worry for Atty due to the fact that the protag was the cause of dead foe the original story’s Atty in the first place.

Overall, they’re both similar and both well done. It’s just depending on whether or not you can take the pacing. If a slower pace is alright, Daughter of the Emperor is fine. If it’s not then you’ll be bored to tears and be wishing you were reading this one instead. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
This series is very new so please take everything with a grain of salt. It’s an ok story with an original premise but I don’t think it’s to my tastes. MC is a college freshman who is also a gun/army/weaponry junkie in her past life! To avoid her destruction end, she enters the world of magic and is gonna blitz fate with her modern day weaponry!

Character wise, MC is a hyper-active, hyper happy loli whose obsessed with gun/modern weaponry creation. In a way, she’s a bit psychopathic (eager to shoot... more>> anything; be it targets or people.) in a good way. Since it’s so new, there’s really no one else to comment on, besides the fact that the first few chapters are world building so it’s a little boring and her teacher is very oblivious (wow an explosion? Massive fireball? You saw em in a dream? Ok).

I think if you liked the idea of a loli protagonist kicking ass with firepower in Youjo Senki, you’ll like this story. MC is a more hyper, childish version of Tanya and where Tanya is obsessed with being a good subordinate/end game retirement, Astrid (MC) is obsessed with creating/using firearms. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
The CEO’s Villainess Childhood Friend
August 14, 2019
Status: c110
It's very cute and fluffy, a lovely novel. It's a feel-good, light hearted novel, utterly optimistic in the MC's reactions and the way she triumphs over her enemies. It is absolutely shallow in plot or opposition, but what it sets out to do the novel does fabulously well. MC face-slapping her enemies is satisfying, the toddler is Meng/Moe incarnate, even the ML is cliche but still cool. It's the kind of novel you reach for after a long day, where you just wanna read something straightforward.

My gripe would honestly be... more>> the translator splitting up the chapters. Nothing against her, and I'm sure she's lovely but you can like the person and dislike their actions/decisions too ¯_ (ツ) _/¯ rant underneath spoiler cut.

Spoiler

don't get me wrong, she does a fantastic job and I understand she wants compensation for her time and effort for translating. I totally get/support that and I understand splitting long chapters up, even if it's just for the pure fact you want people to support you on patreon. What I DON'T appreciate is how damn short the chapters are in the split up, killing the momentum of the story. Every single chapter is split into three parts, and those three parts are so short it's annoying. If you're going to split a single chapter up, why not split it into half? Why is every single chapter basically just 1 page of writing? I can totally understand and agree with the decision to paywall chapters that can entice people to pay if they want to read ahead and slowly release them for free for those who can't pay, but the decision to chop up the story to the extent where we artificially boost up the chapter amount waaaay beyond the actual amount just for profit annoys the hell out of me.

[collapse]
<<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
A twist to your usual otome reincarnation stories, rather than following someone who was an outsider, we follow the original villainess who overheard her fate and despairs at what she has become and sets out to change. The translation is very well done and is overall quite enjoyable.

The story has me divided: on one hand I love how it’s a change to your usual plot line and that the character we follow is an original “in game” character who doesn’t get a “injury/sickness/accident/whatever” to explain away her sudden character change... more>> and must work to undo her damage and mend her faults. It’s refreshing to see Lily attempt to change her character, and work towards a happy ending with her fiancé.

On the other hand, sometimes Lily reads as a 7 or 10 year old rather than a 15/16 year old while her fiancé, Al, feels older. It could be the byproduct of Al being her mentor, but Lily’s demeanor is more innocent. It’s fiting as you can see why she went wrong do to her surroundings, but it’s a tad too innocent. Sometimes I forget the age of Lily while reading and get shocked at her age again. Since Lily is also a product of her surroundings, it is a little frustrating to see her work to change and yet no one who contributed to her faults (cold older brothers, indulgent parents) take any sort of blame.

It’s not a bad story, it has an interesting premise and if you’re in the mood for something a bit fluffy, this would be a good story to read. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Albert Ke no Reijou wa Botsuraku wo go Shomou desu
February 10, 2019
Status: c31
It's very good, although I would say this isn't really a transmigration/rebirth novel. The novel starts almost directly before the original game protagonist comes to the school rather than the typical age 1. It seems Mary was quirky/levelheaded from the start and then gets hit with the knowledge that in another dimension/life, she's a video game character.

Characterization-wise, Mary is quirky but loveable and her slapstick interactions with Addie, her butler, are a joy to read! She doesn't fall into "all loving saint like protagonist" territory, and her bumbling... more>> actions are hilarious. Addie is just as enjoyable, jokingly disrespecting his master while also indulging her whims. The original protagonist is quite cute and Mary's attempts at harassment fall short quite hilariously and only serve to bind the protagonist to Mary more.

On the subject of love interests, that plot line ends pretty quickly as they get coupled off immediately. There's no love triangles, no other options, the pairings are pretty much set from the beginning. The only wooing that really happens is mostly Mary inadvertently seducing the protagonist into friendship. There's no political intrigue, revenge, diabolical plans, etc. It's mostly just a very fun story of Mary trying to throw herself into a destruction end but from the beginning you can tell there's no real way that would happen.

If you're curious as to what the pairings are:

Spoiler

Addie and Mary are pretty much together from the beginning, even though they're not official until later on. The protagonist is also coupled off with the prince character from the get go.

[collapse]

overall, rather than a "died and reincarnated" its a "realized in another life they were a game" novel. There's no lamination of an old life, no true and sudden change in personality, the only "past life" knowledge she ever really gets/laminates on is stuff that happns in-game or was game related (aka merch from the game). It's a good fluffy novel that doesn't try to pull any surprises, and makes an enjoyable read. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
I Favor the Villainess
November 10, 2018
Status: c59
at the very shortest; it's pretty good and if you enjoy or want to see what a story written from a shoujo manga male lead's point of view, you'll like it. If you're familiar with Usui from school president is a maid (a shoujo manga), this story is what it would be like if we followed his POV.

Yes there are some holes in the plot and it does get a little confusing here and there if you can't suspend disbelief but it's a solid read. I think the stand out... more>> is rei's characterization honestly.

If I were to break it down, Rei is a woman who is written like a shoujo manga male love interest who fell in love with the protagonist first. A little flirty, cold to everyone else, she's very focused on her sole goal of supporting Claire in love and life with a disregard for all else. Claire herself is a "tsundere" who at first attempted to bully Rei but recoiled due to rei's abnormal reactions. The three princes who are capture targets fall to the side. They kinda feel like friends (except for one who feels a little like rei's rival for Claire's love) but kinda feel mostly there to move plot. Mish is kinda weak and honestly fades into the background very quickly. She's supposed to be rei's "handler" but she shows up only a few times and then is forgotten quickly.

Overall, I think your love of this novel depends on how much you like shoujo manga. If you do, you'll like this story because it reads very similar as long as you slide past the few chapters until Rei becomes Claire's maid. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Akuyaku Reijō ttenani o Sureba Yoi nda kke?
May 22, 2018
Status: Completed
It's not the worst story ever but it's not much as a stand out either. To put it bluntly, it's very much like death flag otome. The MC isn't as oblivious as Katarina, but inspires the same "catch em all" feel with all the boys and girls. There is a notable difference that everyone gets paired up, and that the original protagonist of the otome game is also a reincarnation. While there are some interesting plot points that caught my attention, Cardinal's skill set was a little too over the... more>> top to me. Extreme speed, genjutsu, martial arts, assassination techs, medical research, medicine creation, cooking, etc etc. She learns this all at an extremely young age, for no reason other to be used as punishment/threat throughout the story.

Minor spoiler, but the most interesting plot point would be the heroine (1st game) vs the hero (2nd game) show down side story.

overall; it's an ok read if you're looking for something extremely light hearted. It's not a bad story but it's also not one I would reach for again afterwards. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
The Scum Villain’s Self-Saving System
May 9, 2019
Status: c75
A really great story, with dynamic characters and plot. With this many reviews singing praises you didn't need me to tell you that right? If you liked MXTX's work (specifically if you came from Founder of Diabolism), I think you'll enjoy this one just the same. Maybe even more! In contrast to Heaven Official's Blessing and Founder, Scum villain is a lot more light hearted in a way. It's a more straightforward and easier to swallow down than HOB and FOD's flashback heavy, tragedy tinged odysseys due to the fact... more>> that we follow SQQ rather than LBH. SQQ's internal screaming is a joy to behold as well! Hilarious, dense but generally a good guy, I personally almost passed out at the one scene where the novel's prettiest female loses her veil for once and SQQ literally internally roars "TURN. TURN. PLEASE GOD. TURN AROUND AND LET ME SEE YOUR FACE, LET ME SEE THE WORLD'S PRETTIEST WOMAN". LBH's also a joy to read, as you see him guns blazing and demon king title well deserved! Until! He's alone with SQQ! And then you see his glass maiden heart and how much he truly loves his Shizun lol.

Overall, I think I enjoyed this even more than FOD because it lacked that slowly encroaching tragedy that breaks your heart. SQQ is refreshing, Scum villain as a whole is refreshing when faced with MXTX's heart wrenching tragedies. My only gripe is that I wished we had more time with LBH and SQQ as an oblivious teacher (whose trying to see the protag get with his harem girls) and the hard trying student (who wants to know why tf Shizun is so dense, stop looking at the girls and look at me!) <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Rain
January 21, 2019
Status: --
EDIT: in honor to show my appreciation to the late author, I decided to make an even more comprehensive review. May he Rest In Peace. Rain is your classic op swordsman in a fantasy world. In a way it reads akin to a classic fairy tale, our protagonist is bombastic, confident and has the power to back it all up. He's the champion protector of a princess who has her own secret powers, and looked up to by almost everyone. Setting and plot wise, it's a very lovely read. The... more>> characters are lovable, and the sheer swagger Rain has makes it hard to not admire him. The world that the author created is also very well written and immersive. The plot line could be considered a little cliche, as Rain and his gang build up their empire and proceed to fight against the demon lord who seeks to conquer the humans.

As well written as it is, it's not without it's faults. Starting with the obvious, it's a classic fantasy storyline that has tropes that have been beaten to death. Rain's so OP, sometimes you have to wonder why even bother with the rest of the characters when Rain can and will personally stomp his way through every problem. Because it was one of the first stories to ever use these types of tropes, it can get boring really quick.

Overall, it's good, but definitely shows it's age. Honestly your level of enjoyment would rest on whether this is your first novel or 39th novel. This rocked my world at the age of 11, not so much now at age 25. I still think you should give it a read, and see for yourself if you like it or not. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
While I wanted to rate this short story a 5, I had to rein it in and land this into a solid 4. First off, the translations are great and the story is quite good, as a short story. Claudia is pretty likeable, and the plot is quite solid. I think the characters besides the antagonist are all pretty well written for a 16 chapter story. The parent's are perfectly written as trash, I personally wanted to climb into this story and brawl the mother. And later on:

... more>>
Spoiler

Claudia turns pale instead of the dark skin she was born with from the blessing and everyone is much more accepting of her. Her reaction? Literally "What a pain. I don't want people doing a 180 degree turn and swarm to me." Complete with telling her mother and father to (mildly) eat sh*t once they try to cozy up to her. However I do wish she treated them even worse, I hated them so much...

[collapse]

that said, why not 5 stars? Well, the plots a little cliche and the antagonist, Amelia is absolutely idiotic. She literally runs around, calling people "a mob character", saying it's a story, that "I'm a saint", etc. who in the world older than 7 goes around blabbing and basically saying "I can see the future"?! She's paper thin and basically built to just make Claudia look good. That said, there seems to be a deeper plot that has yet to unveil, but please give this story a shot. Be warned though, plot moves at the speed of light because everything has to start and wrap up in 16 chapters <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
I’m the Heroine, but I Want to Hand That Role Over
August 12, 2019
Status: c54
TL;DR it's a decent shoujo novel, cliche but good. Read the rest below if you want more info but it's compared to Kenkyo the entire time. It's a solid novel that waivers between 3 and 4 stars depending on your mood. It's essentially Kenkyo's little sister, the premise is very very similar. From the all-rich kid escalator school to the "i was reborn into a manga!" And the dense yet not-your-typical-oujo protagonist. Even the first 20-30 chapters had me slightly slugging through them as it felt like Kenkyo, the cliff... more>> notes version (Heroine dakedo moves faster, she catches the eye of the "black bellied best friend" faster and more noticeably). Even the sis-con sibling is similar, though Yuto is her younger brother, and more transparent and forthright on keeping bugs from her sister. While they're very similar, they have key differences. The good:

- Heroine dakedo follows the heroine Rinka rather than the villainess, and rather than trying to avoid the bad end, it's more of a strict "I ship the villainess and the hero so I'm trying to make my OTP come true!!" And thus she avoids the hero at every turn. It gives a very interesting plot point when she
Spoiler

accidentally meets the hero anyway and he falls in love at first sight anyways

[collapse]
. I think would have been a very interesting story if she was
Spoiler

dragged into ending up with him rather than the black bellied best friend anyways because she couldn't fight the fate of the manga

[collapse]
, but it's a happy shoujo story not an angst one so alas, I'm sighing at the waste of such potential. - depending on your mood/feelings, it's Kenkyo lite, so if you feel like Kenkyo has too many chapters, not enough romance/slow, this might fulfill your need instead. The romance is more pronounced and straightforward, where kenkyo's so subtle you're shaking the screen because you want more action to happen already. The bad:

- Heroine dakedo's characters are decent, and Rinka is likeable but the characters sometimes fall flat or cliche. Everyone seems to just kinda be stuck in their role (MC is gorgeous but quirky, ML is a cold tsundere, etc etc). Kenkyo's Reika carry's her entire story, while Heroine's Rinka is solid but it's more dependent on the story events that make you wonder what happens next. - It's Kenkyo lite! While some characters have another person's part mixed in or changed (best friend was in love with the childhood friend instead of the hero, best friend is the one whose colder and cooler while the hero is sunny and warm, rival villainess is an Oujo typical character whose good friends with MC rather than a completely different character, etc) it feels very very similar. Escalator school, a sports festival, forced to join student council, even an aquarium scene! When I first saw the names, Rinka and Reika were so similar my first response was Oi!!! (°ㅂ° ╬) They even both have a huge weakness for sweets and are "perfect Oujo" looking characters but super goofy on the inside! That aside, it's not a bad novel and the translations are good so give it a shot. If you can tolerate the beginning, it starts picking up near chapter 40, where the fact that she's the heroine kicks in and branches off into a more original plot line. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Every Day the Protagonist Wants to Capture Me
May 5, 2019
Status: c65
One of the better "x raised y but turns out y is in love with them!" novels out there. While there isn't a super smooth personality transition/enemy to lovers change between the ML and newly transmigrated MC, it's still a very enjoyable novel. I personally enjoyed the fish puns/allusions based on the MC's name and the comment barrage from the readers!

MC is likable, but a tad dense in the beginning toward's ML's feelings for him. Trying his best to raise the ML nicely so he won't kill him in the... more>> future as planned, MC comes off as a little bit of a kuudere at others in story, but since we're privy to his thoughts, we see him flail about in his head to do his best. ML is very very sticky, sticking close right from the beginning and tries to catch and eat the fish that captured his heart.

plotwise, it's pretty good but the main focus is really just the relationship between the MC and ML. The background plot is your typical "trying to follow the plot till the end" story, with the MC sweating to make sure they reach a good ending. I will admit that I mtl'd to the end, and honestly? The ending was so anticlimactic I literally went into the side stories without realizing the main story was over.

It's not without it's faults but the characters are likable, the plot is interesting, and overall it's an enjoyable story. It's definitely one of my favorites that I have no problem rereading. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
YoriMei
YoriMei rated it
Half Prince
April 15, 2019
Status: v9c8
In my heart, the story is truly 4 stars, but with nostalgia filter on, its 5 stars. It's one, if not the original VRMMO stories, grandfather (mother?) of things like Sword Art Online.

Now, does it stand the age of time? Yes and no. If you were younger and/or starting out with novels, I think half prince is a great story to start out. Now if you're older and/or read a lot of stories and light novels? It's a snooze fest unless you're feeling for something kinda niche or you've... more>> read the manga and wanna feel the nostalgia.

Half Prince was written in 2004 and feels like it. Reactions are overblown, the kind of "beat you to death/bloody for angering me, hyperspace weaponry (for visual effect), :3 faces, OMG kawaii!"-esque feel you get from early 2000's manga/anime. We're talking full body faceplants, glomping, spittakes/spraying mouthfuls of liquids at shocking facts and actions. Honestly depending on who you are, this might work in your favor (nostalgia) or against it. Those who are sensitive, "woke" or touchy with gender/sexuality issues, you might have a hard time. It's a bit rife with "gay humor" situations (so either I look like a homo (guyxguy avatar played by a girl) or I actually become one?! (Girlxgirl playing as a guy), "Tranny" is thrown around a bit in the beginning (brother is making fun of sister), another acts gay because it's "interesting" in the beginning and gets beaten for it in-game for hitting on MC/stress relief. All of it is taken as comedy, this was written during the age of things like yaoi paddles so take it all with a grain of salt please.

Now, the MC, Prince? He's a "keet" (hyper, cheerful and a pretty nice guy (girl?)) who enjoys fighting. Power levels? He's OP but in the sort of way that's more about "I have OP equipment and know how to execute fictional attacks from games/novels/anime!". It does get explained as to why they have such godly equipment from the beginning, or even the fact why she can play as a guy in the first place, but it's done in a very.... cliche? Cheesy? Kinda way that if you're not good at suspending disbelief, it might be hard to swallow. Plot is a bit "prince and friends start their journey to becoming in game legends!" Before the 3rd novel gives it an overarching storyline.

Overall, would I recommend this? Yes, but only to certain people. If you've read the manga you can honestly skip the novel, a lot of it is very much the same though a bit better explained maybe. If you like SAO, early 2000's manga or just want a fun story to read you might enjoy this novel too. It might not stand the test of time since it doesn't age very well, but it's still a pretty fun story. As for the translations, these are some of the best I've ever seen. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 6