Report Review
11 Reviews


Xu
Xu rated it
I Was a Sword When I Reincarnated (WN)
December 13, 2018
Status: c296
The story has an unique setting, but the plot itself doesn't particularly deviate from the standard "isekai MC becomes an adventurer and does stuff", the worldbuilding is pretty good, and even though the story isn't anything special at least it's well told.

The Sword (MC) has more or less the personality of the average japanese protagonist, the type that acts a bit like an idiot (may or may not result annoying), but at least he's not a pushover. Not particularly deep though.

The wielder (other MC basically) on the other hand is... more>> unique, she's very laconic and has a goal which isn't a generic revenge plot or a "I wanna be the strongest". That said she also doesn't have a very deep personality and, outside her quirk of being laconic, she is pretty much your average musclehead MC. Also she could very well be male and other than her appearance, and maybe the reaction of the other character, nothing would change.

The side characters are generally intresting and not basic cliché one (the important ones at least), but don't expect them to be deeply characterized either.

Translation is good.

Overall it's an above average novel, but it's not so good that I'd recommend it to someone that isn't intrested in the genre (generic but well told story, unique but shallow characters). <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Xu
Xu rated it
Manowa
November 15, 2018
Status: c119
The setting is a pretty basic isekai, the wordbuilding and the characters are unique, but the story itself isn't really amazing and is better if read in a lighthearted fashion.

That said, it stands out because it doesn't fall in to the OP MC trope and the story manages to remain engaging.

The only thing worth criticizing imo is the way the characters act and react, don't expect realistic personalities/ways of thinking; it's not to the point of being so bad it's annoying to read though, as long as you don't take... more>> it too seriously.

The translation is better now that it was picked up by a new translator. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Xu
Xu rated it
Semi Datte Tensei Sureba Ryuu Ni Naru
November 19, 2017
Status: epilogue
This story is definitely worth reading.

It's short, and for the most part it kinda follows some classic Japanese novel tropes (except for the protagonist I guess), so it may not seem very noteworthy, even then, all of the character are very vivid in their description, and are memorable in their own way.

The protagonist in particular shows some nice growth.

The climax of the novel is what really makes it shine though; I don't get emotional easily, when it happens it's really only me getting a bit teary-eyed, but the last few... more>> chapters of this novels really make me sob like a child for the entire duration of them, it seems unlikely to get so attached to a character after only 7 chapters, but this story made me to.
The final chapter made me feel so hard, and the epilogue made me so happy, the tears of sadness became tears of happiness.

A couple of years passed after I read this, but on summers I get feels when I hear cicadas. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Xu
Xu rated it
I Said Make My Abilities Average!
May 22, 2019
Status: c42
It's an ok novel, nothing exeptional, nothing bad, a fun light read if you like the isekai trope.
Too bad the new translator is absolutely garbage, I'd rather read from google translate at least I have no reason to get annoyed at a bot's translation decisions.

This novel is not good enough to justify getting over the translation.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Xu
Xu rated it
Nigotta Hitomi no Lilianne
May 22, 2019
Status: c103
It's a very unique setting, with the story being told from a blind person's PoV, the world building and characterization is pretty deep, partially thanks to the extremely slow pace (be warned).

That's nice and all, and the story would be pretty intresting and heartwarming if the story was told from someone else's PoV (albeit the interaction with the maids would still be pretty wierd and unnecessary fanservice), too bad it's from the baby's PoV so we know he's actually a reincarnated old man, so all those interactions are straight up... more>> s*xual assault; and I don't have anything against ecchi or hentai/porn, but the context really makes it unbearably creepy to me.

If you can get over or ignore this "small" detail (and like slow paces stories), then this is an exellent novel. But personally I can't continue reading. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Xu
Xu rated it
Senpensekai no Madoushoshi
November 25, 2018
Status: --
Looks like a cute and fluffy story.

Although it's early to judge, the writing and the characters look like they might have something more than the usual cliché japanese webnovel feeling.

The translation is good as well.

I'll be looking forward to this.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Xu
Xu rated it
About the Reckless Girl Who Kept Challenging a Reborn Man Like Me
September 26, 2018
Status: oneshot
Great oneshot, a clear cut above the average novel in terms of plot and writing. Unlike some oneshots it doesn't leave you wanting for more - in a good way.

Definitely worth a read since it's not long.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Xu
Xu rated it
My Disciple Wants to Tease Me Every Day
May 22, 2019
Status: c11
It feels like the equivalent of a generic fanservice manga, in chinese novel form. With yandere + yuri in it.
If that's what you're looking for, then you've found it right here.

There aren't problems with the translation, and there isn't anything extremely bad about it, but I wouldn't recommend this work if you're looking for a good story and not just trying to satisfy your yandere-yuri cravings.

I would rate this a 2.5 stars, but I can't and I don't think it deserves being rounded up.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Xu
Xu rated it
Mochiron, Isharyōseikyū Itashimasu!
April 17, 2019
Status: c1
The writing of this story is kinda wierd, often there is no explanation behind the characters action, to the point where you might ask yourself if you skipped some chapters or something.

That's the only complaint I have though.

Overall it's a nice and cute story, the main characters are likeable, and the protagonist is pretty refreshing due to her "villainousness".

Recommended if you're looking for a light and sweet read.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Xu
Pretty standard slice of life isekai in terms of world building and characters, the writing itself is above average and the translation is good.

Recommended if you're looking for something of this genre, but it's nothing particularly amazing
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Xu
A novel that is completely unoriginal and doesn't stand out in any way.

Everything is cliché, which wouldn't even be too bad if it was well written or the characters were well characterised, since tropes becomes cliché when they are good tropes. But no, the writing is exactly what you'd expect by your average web novel: descriptions, word building, characters, everything is shallow and generic.

There's nothing praiseworthy about the novel itself, the translation is good though, so if you really absolutely love the OP MC harem isekai genre, have nothing to... more>> do with your time, and already read every other novel of this type them you could give this a go, since while incredibly bland it's still not unreadably bad. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report