Report Review
14 Reviews


XD
XD rated it
The Daily Life of Being the Campus Idol’s Fake Boyfriend
November 22, 2017
Status: c46
I've been reading Winter's summaries at https://wintertranslates. Wordpress. Com

It's a beautiful story full of fluffy moments and hilarious misunderstandings (not angsty torturous misunderstandings, so don't worry about that).

Favorite paragraph (other than the fluffy-sweet parts) :
Spoiler

Besides, he really was gay, so to act as lovers, he just needed to be himself. However, the problem was that he needed to fake-act as a gay guy on the foundation of fake-acting as a straight guy. This act-ception was the real challenge.

[collapse]
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
XD
Advance Bravely
October 16, 2017
Status: c16
Dropped it because

... more>>
Spoiler

ML is too much of a stalker for my taste. Everyone else seems to gush about his feelings or laugh at his "doting" actions, but it creeps me out. Poor MC is being tortured. Even his pet is getting tortured. How would you feel if you decisively dislike someone, yet find him RIGHT OUTSIDE YOUR BEDROOM WINDOW?! F--- creepy! And how would you feel if your cherished pet is being bullied by his pet? As in, ML PHYSICALLY INTRUDES INTO MC'S ROOM TO PLACE ANOTHER ANIMAL NEAR HIS PET TO BULLY IT!

[collapse]

It's an unhealthy relationship. I suggest that readers NOT copy this type of "wooing" else they get sent to jail. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
XD rated it
Ballad of the Desert
February 6, 2017
Status: Completed
A well thought-out story that had me crying and laughing (but mostly crying my eyes out). Every once in a while I remember this story and flip to a chapter (or look up a scene from the drama). I recommend learning the history of the characters first (some of the characters are historical figures, such as one of the main leads). OR, if you would rather delve into the story without any background on Chinese history, I suggest learning about them afterwards and re-reading the novel.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
XD rated it
Lord and Dragon
January 28, 2018
Status: Completed
Really cute. Very sweet. Super well done, especially since the author was only writing this one for fun as a side project and had another major story in the works.

Translator team did an awesome job.

Make sure you pay attention to the author's notes.

Too bad it's so short. I want more!
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
XD rated it
Dominion’s End
June 29, 2017
Status: v3c2
Yu Wo's a great author, and the translators at Prince Revolution are awesome as well. Updates are slow, but the chapters are long and there's a lot of nuances that are hard to directly translate. So yea, these translators are amazing.

About the story itself: It's a transmigration apocalypse story. There's a great cast with character growth (even the minor characters are well developed), a fun storyline that doesn't take itself seriously (MC keeps talking about how improbably certain situations are), and so many emotional scenes that made me tear up,... more>> made me giggle like a schoolgirl, made me laugh like a maniac, and even had me shocked for a whole minute (I had my hand covering my gaping mouth while not thinking because my mind was so blown).

Definitely a fun read. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
XD rated it
Side Character Transmigrations: The Final Boss is No Joke
April 16, 2018
Status: c119
Each arc has such great buildup, but the ending is just... mediocre? unsatisfactory? inadequate? Something to that effect. Face-slapping isn't as satisfying, but it is there for those who enjoy it.

I suggest reading this an arc at a time and giving it a few weeks before starting the next arc. If not, the MC's brash character and cheat-like abilities just become boring. I had to quit the novel for a month before picking it up again.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
XD
Nurturing the Hero to Avoid Death
September 2, 2017
Status: c4
Translations are great. Translator is doing a great job with edits and all. Story: meh as of ch4.

Author gives the MC too much unnecessary internal dialoge. Sometimes it feels like it was written just to get 2K characters. I just started skimming it because MC's dialoge is trite and bland.

MC is the typical clueless idiot type who is somehow blind to his own charm while definitely able to see other people's good looks. For example, (Ch1) older brother is so good looking, go explode... he's MC's brother and therefore... more>> there are similarities. Also MC just saw himself in the mirror and described himself. Three friends blush when MC smile and calls him beautiful. MC still stays oblivious.

So far, 3stars. I'll wait until more chapters before giving an actual rating tho. I'm still hopeful that this gets better later in the story. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
XD
Rebirth: Degenerate Slave Abuses Tyrant
July 5, 2018
Status: c27
Warning: Don't read Translator Notes if you don't want spoilers.

A good read thus far. The standard rebirth+face-slapping+revenge&reconciliation story, but with an intriguing back-story.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
XD rated it
Black Bellied President Dotes on Wife
August 25, 2017
Status: c9
Pros:
Spoiler

MC will fight! She's got a sharp tongue and a clever mind. I wish I can keep calm while scolding people like she does. She's definitely not an empty vase.

There are more than 1 "good" female characters!! Let's be honest, who here is disappointed when all other female characters introduced into a story are horrible people that only serve to exalt the main character? I was sooo damn happy that she has a best friend who is a woman! And the BF sounds super cute!

Writing and pacing are good. Translations are also good.

[collapse]

Cons:
Spoiler

Typical "you don't know you're beautiful, that's what makes you beautiful" song and dance (yes, I just OneDirectioned this review).

Typical "cold, blackbellied handsome man falls for beauty because she's different or something like that" routine.

Typical "white lotus female relative steals fiancee, heartless mother or father figure schemes against protagonist" drama.

[collapse]

But still giving it 5 stars because it's so much fun! I'll change my ratings as more chapters come out if I feel like the story dropped (like how HM started as a 4 star and ended as a 2 star for me).
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
The author is really good at making me cry. And Shen Hua (the translator) is really good at translating!

The author creates a wonderous juxtaposition of tragedy, romance, and comedy. Despite knowing how each arc will turn out, I still find myself drawn into each chapter and getting my emotions tossed around. I honestly cried like a baby then laughed like a fool within a span of five minutes.

Highly recommended, even if you don’t read BL.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
XD rated it
The Good for Nothing Seventh Young Lady
November 27, 2017
Status: c333
I recommend binge-reading after each arc is completed. There's so much filler in it that 20 chapters can be re-edited into 1 chapter without losing anything. It's frustrating how the author reiterates without elucidating on the current predicament/theme/idea.

Translation team is doing an awesome job though. If they were slow in translating chapters, I would have already forgotten this novel and dropped it a long time ago. I'm glad that they took over.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
XD rated it
Yandai Xie Jie No. 10
December 29, 2017
Status: epilogue 2
If the author let it end at chapter 24 I would have given it 5 stars. The translator's notes stated that the drama adaptation did end in chapter 24.

... more>>
Spoiler

Being able to turn a straight man gay or vice-versa is improbable if not straight-up impossible. (If the person was bi to begin with, then that's a different story). The open-ended-yet-sad ending of the drama made the story stronger and more impactful. The viewers would be haunted by the emotional turmoil. Could two incompatible people truly be happy forever? It's like oil and water; no matter how much you try, the two would eventually separate. Is Hang Hang better off without Liang Ze? Will Hang Hang find someone who can heal his broken heart? Will Liang Ze finally be able to understand people and how to interact with them properly?...

[collapse]

This is the opinion of someone who enjoys reading happy endings and actively avoids bad endings, so take that as you would. The fact that the ending is happy after building up such character development makes the story more forgettable. I suggest readers stop at Ch.24 for a day or two before continuing onwards to the end. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
XD rated it
Mob… Sore mo Waki Mob no Hazu Nan Desu Kedo!?
August 25, 2017
Status: c26
Dragging too much. Lots of exposition dialogue. Character interactions are boring or completely unreasonable. Long elaborate speeches. Over 10 chapters of just talking... so 3 stars for now. I'm not dropping it yet because I've heard good things, but thus far it's boring.

Edit: still boring. Lazy writing. Two stars.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
XD
XD rated it
Song in the Clouds
February 6, 2017
Status: epilogue
After reading the first book, the second book hits you harder with its brilliant storytelling and character development. Again, the author incorporates a lot of historical facts into the novel and is wonderful at leaving the reader guessing at what will happen next.

I suggest re-reading the book (after giving your heart some time to heal), just to catch all the hidden messages.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report