Report Review
17 Reviews


Wyntile
Let me tell you a short story, a story which very much needed to be the tagline to start this review with. I shall tell you the story in spoilers, just in case there are those who may complain about it, after reading such a marvellous tale.

... more>>
Spoiler

One day, there was a man and a woman. That said man and woman decided to one day make love to one another. The next day after the said pair did such act, the woman announces to the man that she has been made pregnant. The man and woman celebrate, afterwards the man decides on his next steps in life, now that he knows that he will soon be a father and the woman a mother. However, the very next day (yes, indeed the very next day), the man is notified by his friends, to his surprise, that the woman...

... has already given birth and holds a relatively healthy looking baby in her arms. As if to prove this wonderful news, the woman has came with the man's friends from behind them, and looks straight into the man's.... well I don't know, loving (?) eyes. The man was initially very shocked, but has soon later come to the terms, that, contrary to the common sense and previous knowledge he had thought that he knew... that he now strongly believed in his heart, that all of his future children would now be instantly born within a mere 2 days!

[collapse]

As we can see from this wonderful tale, we have this novel where the author has such wonderful storytelling skills. Where in this novel, it tells the story and adventures of a young God, as he is tasked by his superior God to restore a war and chaos-driven land to its former glory! So do not believe what the synopsis of this site tells you folks, this novel is not the story of your typical everyday-isekai-protagonist-who-gradually-becomes-more-and-more-overpowered, we have a story of a young protagonist who is forced to live and work in a such a wonderful world, with given powers which were not overpowered, none whatsoever!

So all in all, don't worry folks, the story of this novel is definitely a lot better than the story given out by "World Reformation Activities of the Dark God". While it unfortunately does has crappier translations than "Kumo desu ga, nani ga?", this novel has such an amazing story, where I simply felt like this didn't even need a rating at all! I just felt... that it was too much of an insult to give a rating to this absolutely perfect of a novel! *sobs* (Ignore the rating that I made above, couldn't update it properly).

On an end note, I would totally not recommend the novel "Haken no Kouki Altina". That novel is just waaaay~ to unrealistic and has such a predictable and boring plot and discardable character cast.

...

...

If you couldn't tell at this point, I was being sarcastic. Anime does have it's moments where creators like to gloss over ridiculous story moments, but it was just certain moments of the story where it grew highly unrealistic to the point I just couldn't take it anymore. If you want my real review, is that read until the point where the protagonist has just been ordained as a king. Nothing else is remotely interesting further than that. While the protagonist may have started out with little to no magic, it still remains the fact that he has been given broken powers in the first place, not overpowered ones. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
If I had read this novel before other kingdom building novels such as Release the Witch, Genjitsushuji no Yuusha, and In a Different World with a Smartphone, I would have likely given a higher favourability rating to this novel as a whole. Apart from the fact that this novel has serious problems in regards to its priorities in world building, this novel has it all. From overpowered protagonist to fantasy elements - Gods, monsters, heroes, fighting, etc.

Now what do I mean by priorities in world building? It's nothing big. It's... more>> just that the world in this novels seems to only center around Churches. That's it. While I do understand the whole narrative of this story focuses on the creation of the world, the perspective of this novel is too narrow in comparisons to others I have come across. Try reading Invincible Saint Salaryman - even in that novel where there is a central power that is dominated by a Church, they have other countries that are ruled by a different power.

Anyways my point is, even after 200 chapters in the reader gets no sense of any country names/boundaries, of any higher order rulers in the world apart from the Church officials, any non-church military powers, and so on. While I do like the fact that the author attempts to "better the world" through the Church, I would have honestly liked to see some more world progression apart from the Church, and more onto the world's citizens itself.

Characters in this novel aren't that bad, but again I would have loved to see more vast array of characters apart from the ones whose affiliations are with the Church. You have the indifferent OP protagonist, the heroic and chivalric leaders, the sly villains, the arrogant people that hold high positions and so on.

... I have no idea where I am going with this at this point, but here was my short thoughts on this novel so far. While it is heaps better than the novel Kumo Desu-ga in that there is plenty of human interaction with the OP characters, this novel doesn't particularly excel in any shape or form since it has a rather big weakness of world building. But heck, as long as you're the type of person who loves isekai/fantasy novels, then giving this novel a try wouldn't hurt. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile rated it
Dragon Poor
February 9, 2018
Status: c14
A solid 2 stars out of 5. Just remembering the crappy translation quality and bad story "Kumo Desu-ga" had me annoyed to no end. So rejoice! Since the translation group for this novel also did a popular Korean LN series called "Everyone Else is a Returnee", you don't need to worry about any bad translations.

If I were to put a short summary of my thoughts of this novel so far, is that Dragon Poor is an inferior version to another Korean LN called "The Main Character Hides His Strength". If... more>> you are familiar with that novel, then you will be aware that Dragon Poor uses a similar world system, where...

Spoiler

...a bunch of summoned people from modern Earth are forcibly summoned and trained to be the weapons/pawns of the fantasy world. Where unlike "MC Hides His Strength", this story starts with the protagonist and other Korean citizens being summoned and shows the protagonist's training in the fantasy world's military.

[collapse]

What I didn't like the most about this novel is that I have a hard time visualizing and imagining what this world looks like. Apart from being given barely any story/world exposition (like do monsters, adventurers guild, demons, exist?), I feel as if the author does a bad job trying to describe the surroundings/places of the world. The story progression is also slow as heck! While I don't expect every LN protagonist to be overpowered right off the bat, you'd think there would be a faster story pacing. Where 14 chapters in the story is still primarily focused on grinding, making me start to lose interest in the protagonist and this story as a whole. The author doesn't even bother using other summoned characters to its full potential, the military characters are portrayed to be ignorant and stupid - so don't expect much from any character.

Would I recommend this? No, since I will guarantee you that there are better isekai LN series better than this one. The world is boring, the protagonist is boring, the characters are boring, and the story is boring since (again), all I currently imagine is a dull grey world since the author has pretty bad writing skills. I would recommend giving "The Main Character Hides His Strength" a try if you haven't, since that novel takes a different take on summoned to a fantasy world troupe.

I may be reviewing this novel too early, but seriously - some people just don't have the patience to bother reading something that doesn't interest them right away. Or in this case for me, right after 3 chapters are read. So if a novel can't be interesting by over 10 chapters then, this simply isn't worth my time. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile rated it
Yuusha Isagi no Maou Hanashi
February 14, 2017
Status: v2c5
(Note: This will be more of a rant than a proper review.)

Given the art quality of the cover and the synopsis for this novel, it made me a bit interested to see how the story for this one would turn out. Considering that I am currently reading works like Tensei sh*tara Slime and Konjiki no Moji Tsukai and is waiting for new releases. But at this point, 2 volumes in and I have say that I would have to give it a drop for this one.

More than 10... more>> chapters in, I have yet to see any real progress of even a point to this story already. Granted, that other than the protagonist we have complete newbies from Japan who were summoned to the Demon Capital, the protagonist has spent this entire time doing relatively nothing other than fixing the Demon's Castle. I would have stuck with it more if the characters and their interactions were remotely interesting, but as of yet the reader is introduced to little girls, and for some reason they all hug the protagonist at first sight even if some were complete strangers. I've read and came across Princesses who were ignorant (e.g. Altina from Altina the Sword Princess), but never have I seen before girls that were completely whiny and useless upon first impression (demonstrated no real useful skill or ability as of yet). But I guess that's harem for you.

Story: Is rather on the slow side, where even though I only read the Demon Lord summoning phase, there was no real mention of the world and politics. Even yet, no comprehensive mention of the world's power system

Characters: Didn't leave a good impression honestly. Protagonist sure liked to spend his time leisurely in the castle despite wanting to save his first love, Onodera and his otaku nature creeps me out, the Elf Princess being in loli-form creeped my out by saying...

Spoiler

"Let's make babies!!! :D"

[collapse]

... the first time she was introduced, the other maid girl who (granted) was taught "things", and then there is the idiot Sucubuss Princess who for some reason is physically or magically weak all the time.

Conclusion: Would I recommend this? Personally no, since I am the sort of reader who needs a "point" or real progression to a story at least a few chapters in. Other than the initial twist of the protagonist being summoned to the Demon's side as supposed to the Human's, there is nothing remotely interesting to note in regards to story progression or characters. I would recommend works like Sendai Yuusha wa Inkyou sh*tai, who also presents a similar story of a former hero who went on a time-skip, or Konjiki no Moji Tsukai where the protagonist has taken survival matters into his own hands.

... But hey, if you're the type of person who has the patience to go through a slow progression story and cringy characters, then by all means I am not stopping you. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile rated it
Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?
February 24, 2017
Status: c124
Edited on: June 12, 2018

I had written a review for this novel over a year ago, but after having constantly referenced this novel in my other reviews, I wanted to change this so that I could better review this series as a whole.

My overall experience when reading this novel last year, was terrible. I'm not sure if another translator group has re-did the chapters that were terribly translated by one group, but back then I (and as well as some other readers probably), were forced to read very awful translations... more>> for a good portion of chapters since there were no other options then. After having to read many novels since then, I now realize that the group that did the terrible translations for those chapters were even worse than Google translate, so that was one of the key factors which turned me off from this novel.

Another factor about this novel which really turned me off was the story. Sure enough, the setting of a isekai heroine being reincarnated into a dungeon monster was interesting enough, given the heroine's "idc attitude", since personality wise she is honestly similar to me in real life. But the thing that really annoyed me was the fact that... (I'll put this part in spoilers again since last time someone forcibly edited one in)

Spoiler

... even after 100 chapters in, readers still get nothing but grinding and levelling up. Heroine doesn't make any interactions with "sentient" characters, doesn't make any long lasting relationships with any characters whatsoever. (Monsters being excluded from this of course). Reading about the heroine's evolution progress can only go so far without having my mind being bored as heck over.

[collapse]

And believe me, I have read series like "The King's Avatar", where compared to this novel the grinding in the King's Avatar took way more chapters, to the point I had to skim those chapters. But given the nature of that novel, at least the protagonist makes daily contact with humans and other characters, even though the protagonist also chooses to socially isolate himself whenever possible.

So if I were to make a decision of "would I want to give this novel another try?", I would easily say no. I am not going to waste my time reading 100 chapters of grinding again, if the heroine isn't even going to contribute to the world's main storyline by then. I know she does later, since I was so fed up to the point where I read the spoilers on the wiki, but my point still stands. If you're not going to get the point after A 100 CHAPTERS in... just why bother? <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile rated it
Dragon Maken War
February 23, 2017
Status: c60
This story I have to say (as of chapter 60) is very interesting. After having read various "Demon King vs Hero" fantasy world genres in light and web novels, I was looking around for stories which had unique elements incorporated into this troupe. And Dragon Maken War is definitely one of them! At least, in relations to one of the light novels I've been trying to read all week (Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu) I've managed to read through the chapters without much of a hassle since it was a... more>> very interesting read.

Story:

Right from the start of the prologue, in its literal first lines the reader is introduced to the concept where Demons and Dragons have merged to become a higher being called "Dragon Demons". (Yeah, I never really read the synopsis properly before starting this, so just this line alone got me hooked) Then as the story focuses on the POV of the risen hero from his slumber, it shows his life events many years into the future as he starts from the very beginning steps of regaining his body health back.

Some readers may initially feel that the story pace is a bit slow at the beginning, which I admit I sort of feel it spent a little more than a few chapters just for the protagonist to gain the basics of his body's strength back. But the interaction between the characters in which the protagonist meet were rather interesting and refreshing to read, as the mentions of the world concept (magic, kingdoms, etc) were as usual nicely integrated during this phase. I especially like the concept of magic and fighting styles this world had to offer, where the humans' use and warriors called "Spirit Order Practitioners" were very interesting to read about, in comparison to normal magics I've read across in other novels or manga.

The battles had a pretty good amount of action, where I loved the mind games and stealthy plays in which the protagonist employed in his battles in a new era. While the protagonist may have knowledge of complex skills, given his former life as a hero, he has to start from the very beginning, and thus he is not completely overpowered as Saitama or Yuu Yashiro (from Senai Yuusha) in his battles.

Characters:

The characters on the other hand, are not that interesting or appealing to me as of yet. It might either be because it's only been 60 chapters, or that I've come across characters that absolutely shone such as in the novel "Altina the Sword Princess"; there wasn't any characters which, apart from the protagonist or his old allies, that stood out to me. Partly because, as I agree with the protagonist's way of thinking, in that a good majority of knights, magicians, and warriors in the world is... well... you'll just have to find out for yourself and see why I'm putting this statement forth.

Apart from that, the characters in the novel follows the generic templates of enemies being arrogant, protagonist group being simplistic in nature given the setting of fantasy world. But surprisingly, given the amount of knight and noble characters which were introduced to us thus far, there weren't many conspiracies or "Noble prejudice" character moments that occurred, which was refreshing.

Conclusions: Would I recommend this novel? Absolutely! While this novel does follow the stereotypical route of "Hero vs Demons", except without reincarnation from Japan or Korea, the magic/fighting system and battles were a very interesting read! I love how the author took his time into developing an interesting magic system, and even if the first fights were considered "low level" in terms of the protagonist's eyes, it made me all that more interested into seeing how his fights would be like if he fully regained his former powers. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
What this novel is all about in a nutshell...

"I'm sorry Monette. I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry"

"It's not ugly, it's a kitty cat!!"/"Ohhh it's a cute kitty cat!"

... more>> "I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry"

"Ohhh hi friendsy friends! Roberston, ATTTACK!"

"I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry"

* Bodyguard goes into random moe mode for 15 minutes

"I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry"

* Constant narrations of Monette doing stuff that cannot be seen due to her armor.

"I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry, I'm sorry....."

........

Cue in 16 chapters later and the plot still hasn't advanced yet. Sure, the translations are well done. But while the chapters are rather lengthy, filling them with complete repetition have now annoyed me to no end. The tone of the first 10 chapters is very depressing due to the amount of times the two main cast apologized and how they carry themselves. For the novel's comedy, I have seen better and more fluid comedy attempts in anime before, so for me personally the Prince's "bad luck" events were not that funny. Giving this novel a drop. My motto when it comes to reading is, that, if you cannot get to the point within the first 10 chapters, it's not worth my time. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile
Tondemo Skill de Isekai Hourou Meshi
March 29, 2018
Status: c80
I just came off from skim reading chapter 80... This novel did have other heroes in the beginning right? When will we ever get to having at least 1 or 2 chapters perspectives on them? This novel should honestly have its "action" genre tag removed, as there is hardly any action going on, since the protagonist doesn't do jack sh*t and leaves all the fighting to his minions - to which that usually ends in a matter of a few short sentences.

... You can tell from my reactions above... more>> that this novel isn't a good read at all, at least imho. Unless you're the type of person who loves cooking or love reading about cooking to death in every single chapter, you won't get much excitement reading this novel. Yes, I have watched other slice of life anime such as Natsume Yuujinchou, so I do love my share of slice-of-life from time to time, but even for me this novel is boring as heck. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
My entire review of this novel in a few short words - "I love this story to death!"

Yes, this story in general ends up following the same isekai tropes as found in pretty much most Japanese LNs here on this site. And yes, as I have come across with other novels so far, the protagonist ends up starting his journey by entering a major city with the reason "I have no identity papers due to me coming from a small remote village~". But boy oh boy, ever since he first... more>> meets up with the Paladian Christina at the town's gates does things ever do get so exciting.

For those who don't know and are considering whether or not you should read this novel, this novel for the most part is essentially about a growing-up life story of a protagonist who chose to be a Healer as his main occupation. But although the protagonist has chosen specific skillsets for himself, he does not start out being OP as hell.

What I loved...

  • The interactions between the protagonist and other characters, especially with his friends, mentors and subordinates
  • The vast array of characters and their personalities.
  • Its various story arcs and its progression (Considering I always hated reading dragged-out dungeon moments *cough cough Kumo Desu-ga*, this was a huge factor for me)
What I hated...

  • ....
  • ....
  • ....
What this novel entails or follows..

  • Isekai trope
  • Overpowered characters
  • Protagonist ends up being dragged into a "heroic" destiny against his will
  • The protagonist making some form governmental policies, one way or another.
  • It says it has a harem tag, but honestly in comparisons to "Konjiki no Moji Tsukai", not much harem actively shows.
  • As a fair warning though, there is not much romance in this novel either.
  • Good translation quality
But overall, after having to binge read over 200 chapters of this novel, this novel has quickly become one of my top favourites apart from Haken no Kouki Altina, Release the Witch, and Genjitsushugi Yuusha no Oukoku Saikenki. I've had moments in light novels such as "Dragon Life" and "The Man Picked Up by the Gods" in where there were very annoying pacing issues - specifically having them skip many years without much explanation; so having to read a story where it shows a steady growing-up story of the protagonist from his child days, really brings a soothing touch. What I only worry about at this point is, that the updates aren't as consisent like Haken no Kouki Altina is, so over time I'm deadly afraid of coming to forget some characters over time. But oh well, that's the problem with waiting for consistent updates I guess. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile rated it
Konjiki no Moji Tsukai (WN)
November 25, 2017
Status: c276
This story, in terms of other isekai novels I read, is mediocre at best. However, like when I first started out reading light novels in general, Konjiki no Moji Tsukai is relatively a good novel to start out with.

At this point in time, it has been a while since I first started reading this, but overall if you're looking for a story with great adventures, then this novel is for you. In terms of story events this novel is nicely paced out, giving the protagonist room to slowly explore new... more>> regions and grow stronger by the day. Some may say that the personality of the protagonist, Hiro Okumura, is rather stingy and cold, but having read other novels such as "The Main Protagonist Hides his Strength", "The Lazy Swordsmaster" and so on... I love Hiro's personality. His actions always remain within reason, and it's just simply awesome to see strong OP characters snap whenever someone ends up annoying the crap out of him/her. Lol.

Keep in mind however, this novel is (or later becomes) a full-blown harem, so in between the serious story moments there may be a number of chapters specifically dedicated to fan-service or harem bits. I don't mind a little bit of harem myself, but at this point over 200 chapters in for me, a random chapter for pure fan service ends up annoying me by a bit. But yeah, this has been a short insight / review on the classic starter novel of the isekai trope, Konjiki no Moji Tsukai. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile rated it
Altina the Sword Princess
February 7, 2017
Status: v12 ss part2
Review as of November 2017 (Note - will also be rather long) :

When I just came off from reading the latest listed chapter of this series, marking off the end of Volume 10 I was compelled to write a review since this novel has been hands down one of the most refreshing and unique stories I have read in a long while. Well, at least when it comes to Japanese themed light novels. I don't tend to read Chinese wuhxia or whatever they call it since I have a... more>> personal peeve against Mandarin. But after taking a day to cool off from the hype the cliffhanger of the latest chapter has left me wanting, here goes!

STORY:

After coming to read various LNs from the isekai troupe, when I was looking for more light novels I honestly just looking for at least 1 unique aspect from this troupe by that point. Whether the character sets off to be a hero or does their own thing afterwards I didn't care, seeing as the basic outlines were the same.

Altina the Sword Princess however, is set in a historic non-magic themed world, where the protagonist Regis Auric has been born and raised in this world as a commoner - with absolutely no memories of any past life whatsoever. I don't know why a user on this page has stated otherwise, but even if this novel did mention science in a medieval world, it was attributed to the fact where the protagonist (being a book nerd) has come across reading scholarly material related to the concept.

Anyways, even though normally I am not a fan of reading historic setting related novels (being a fantasy genre fan in general), this novel nevertheless did not cease to amaze me with the various battles played out with a very good pacing, and in a manner which slowly but surely highlighted the strengths and intelligence of the great strategist that is Regis Auric. Given the events of the story that has played out until now, I have a feeling that this novel will not end until after at least another set of 10 volumes has been released. The reason I'll state down below in regards to its characters, but here is what I think of the story based on what has been panned out as of yet.

------------------------

Vol 1 to Vol 10: Birth of the great strategist, Regis the "Wizard" (Prelude or Part I)

Vol 11 to Vol ??: War versus Eternal Peace! Second Prince Latrielle versus Third Prince Bastian & Fourth Princess Altina! (Main or Part II)

------------------------

Overall this novel is written absolutely well in terms of pacing and character dialogue - and, as the other users have mentioned, the mechanics and logistics of military weapons, terms, and strategy. Unlike other novels such as Release the Witch, you don't need to be a military geek in order to understand the weapons or strategy used in this novel.

CHARACTERS:

For characters there were some pros and cons. The cons, in which has likely been already stated by the other reviews here, is that even though the title of this novel focuses on the princess named "Altina", it honestly has just left her in the dust in regards to her development as a character in general. The Fourth Princess Altina, as one will come to learn, is very strong physically. But otherwise as of yet, readers have yet to seen her develop as a character when it comes to leading an army and take charge as a military Commander. I personally won't count her off the list yet though, for as stated above that up until now, I feel that the events in the story has been nothing but just a big prelude to a long novel series. And it has dropped hints that the other royalty characters will (again, slowly) start to develop a good sense of their world in regards to its future and its politics. The good stories with many chapters will always end up slowly developing their characters after all.

The pros on the other hand, are very good. The novel focuses an ample amount of time to the characters, where not just to Regis, but even to the main antagonist characters of the series as well. Too much to the point where I have come to actually love the antagonists at one point. This was a huge plus for me. The reader will get to explore a vast array of characters, from commoners like Regis, to the stereotypical Noble characters, and then the side characters supporting the protagonist and the antagonists.

OTHER ASPECTS:

Romance in this series? There is romance indeed. But like with novels such as Konjiki no Moji Tsukai the romance in this novel is mostly all one-sided currently. It's not as if Regis is arrogant or anything, but given his personality in this series.... you'll just have to find out. There is some romance going on between the side characters at the very least.

World building? Nothing short of perfect. The premise of this novel is set so that in the current timeline, there is a shift going on in between the era from using only swords and horses, towards a new era of steam-powered technology and guns. And as one will come to know from reading the novel, the author has done his research of warfare extensively, to the point where he describes even the dimensions of the weapons used in addition to the descriptions of the forts, battles and weapons.

Translation quality and chapter length? OMG, when it comes to translation, skythewood is "the" most perfect group I have ever seen! And seriously, the length of a single chapter of this novel is no joke either, it's super~~~~~ long. You can obviously see the amount of effort they put into translating this.

CONCLUSION:

This has been one of those novels in which I spent nights binge reading. Overall, even if this novel does have its (rather) obvious flaws, I personally feel that the pros heavily outweigh the cons. This has been a comprehensive (and maybe to the point of annoying) review of my top favorite light novel series, "Haken no Kouki Altina" <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
April 25, 2017
Status: c143
*Feel free to skip to the end if too bothered to read this entire thing

-------

Personally I love over-powered protagonists. As long as the world and the events itself don't blow too off the proportion and manages to be consistent then I would not hesitate to dwell upon and see the adventures of the main character. I only wish that more of the popular works would be based on a female protagonist though. Works like Kumo desu ga was just an downright insult to any fantasy novels I've ever read, other... more>> than Sarah J. Maas's Female Assassin novel series.

Story & Rating: [4.5/5]

That aside, Returnee and Seoul Station's Necromancer have both brought out interesting stores I have read in such a long time. I might just be still relatively new to reading LNs/WNs (still intentionally avoiding most CNs), but I am no newbie when it comes to reading fantasy literature in print. And despite having read many fantasy stories growing up as a kid, these two works with their settings of "monsters using the system of dungeons to invade Earth irl" have honestly brought upon a profound change in my heart. And unlike it's other counterpart (S.S.N.) which later ends up having a dungeon system which I felt expanded beyond the scope of the story's reality a little; Returnee still, after 143 chapters manages to capture my interest. (Ever much so to the point where I've stayed up until 5am in the morning just binge read this series. *sighes*) I only wished that before going in, the synopsis on this page could have been better written - if the author himself ended up writing this, then well... I don't know what to say.

So overall, just for the refreshing story idea alone ends up earning a 4.5 from me. (A rating of 5 will always go to stories like Haken no Kouki Altina) And coupled with the fact that again, I love OP protagonist stories, reading Returnee ended up being a blast! If I hadn't read Kumo-desu ga prior to this, I might have complained that this story was one of those which took forever to get going - but in comparisons to Kumo-desu this story doesn't focus entirely on a single or multiple dungeons, and has a reasonable pace and story progression.

And unlike "the Lazy Swordsmaster", this series has plenty of fights and action that manages to build up the protagonist "Yu IlHan" in a reasonable manner, where even if he later ends up acquiring everything, he still sticks to his the fighting style he used from the beginning.

Characters & Rating: [3/5]

I agree with some of the reviews here which stated that the characters apart from the protagonist are bland. But man, try reading the Korean LN "Dragon Maken War", you'll see that this level of bland-ness is relatively nothing. In Returnee at least, as a reader I can get a feel for the distinct personalities, at least in the characters surrounding the protagonist. Their interactions with the protagonists were funny to read, sometimes cute even. Our protagonist, after having been left behind by humanity for many years, sure does know how to joke!

Grammar: [4/5]

Translation of this story was pretty good. The level wouldn't match skythewood's translation level for Haken no Kouki Altina, but I found that it was at least it's leaps better than the active group doing the translations for Kumo desu-ga! (Those who read this will know what I mean).

Conclusions:

Would I recommend it? Most definitely yes, where for one thing if you're the type like me and love OP characters, who gain their powers through reasonable means. Considering that on this site I've been reading nothing but either reincarnation stories or "hero from the past travels XXX years later" lately, Returnee has been absolutely wonderful and such an enjoyment to read! And I don't know what other people have said the protagonist, but I love Yu Ilhan, he has always manages to keep a level-head and never manages to get arrogant unlike other OP characters I've come across. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile rated it
Akuyaku Reijō ttenani o Sureba Yoi nda kke?
October 7, 2018
Status: c48
I don't know whether the author themselves decided to stop this novel at 48 chapters, or it had to end because this novel was axed. But if it was due to it being it was axed, I could see why it ended at where it did. I'll try keep this short since my normal reviews would be long as heck... and just really there isn't much to say about this novel. Also, just to avoid any confusion, I'm going to refer to Cardinal as the "heroine" here.

Pros:

    • Comedy
    • Overpowered characters
    • Romance
Cons:

    • No explanations whatsoever. Either about the world or about certain story events.
    • No world building
    • Rushed story events
    • Some genres in the story were hardly properly used. (Like the school life, or even heck the actual "fantasy" genre).
    • Weird names for some of the characters. (I mean seriously, what kind of parent names a girl "Cardinal"?)
    • Heroine's "personality" showcase
For example, a prime example of one of the cons are...

Spoiler

During the middle of the novel, a new female character that is a close family friend to the heroine is introduced to the story. How she was introduced was that her entire family of nobles were killed by a perp, where she herself was this close to being raped by that same perp, until heroine's family stepped in. Funniest thing is, not even once the story mentioned as to why her family was targeted to be murdered, as the story progressed to focusing on the "Tales of the OP Heroine".

[collapse]

As a fantasy genre fan, I hardly even realized that this world was one of many that held magic - due to the fact that it was hardly ever mentioned or even used at all by the characters. This was a huge setback. Another large setback of this novel was the heroine's "personality". I don't really care if she is the dense kind when it comes to romance, since it's not the first time isekai troupes has given that to us. But what really annoyed me was how freaking dense she was when it came to her reincarnation and the game's other reincarnated characters. I'll put this next part in spoilers again just in case.

Spoiler

There were many times where the game's other reincarnated characters mentioned right in front of Cardinal, about stuff like capture targets and the character's endings, but the heroine is so~ hella dense to not even realize then and there that there are other fellow reincarnated person right in front of her. I mean seriously, this just went to show how stupid and low of a character I've come across while reading LNs/WNs. I never played otome games before either when I first started reading this genre, but if Cadinal knows what LNs and "villains" are, I'm pretty sure that a normal sane person would've noticed that overhearing "but Cardinal was supposed to be a villain in the story that was supposed to be X or something!".

[collapse]

Another aspect of this novel I found to be really annoying was that...

Spoiler

... for some reason everyone around her is

forced to

accept Cardinal's rather... oddly giddy and "cuteness is life!" personality as the new norm. Thus making all other characters appear to have no coherent opinions and thoughts of their own, thus blindly believing Cardinal's way to be their own way.

[collapse]

So while I did like the author's meagre attempt to follow the route of highlighting the heroine's personality more as supposed to having the villainess-type character being manipulated by the otome game's events... the author did this and everything about the story entirely wrong.

Final Statements/Summary:

    • Translations - Decent, but there are obvious grammar mistakes made here and there
    • Story - Terrible and severely shallow with no depths whatsoever
    • Characters - Umm.... they're faithful mindslaves to the villainess/heroine?
    • Would I recommend? - No. Even if this is only a short 50 chapter read, everything I've stated above are the reasons why I would not recommend this novel.
    • Then what would I recommend instead? - "An Otome Game's Burikko Villainess Turned into a Magic Otaku". Everything bad I've said about this novel, this otome novel did correctly.
... Why did I do this last part in bullet points I wonder?... Well, I'm now finally done writing a review of this novel.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile rated it
Ascendance of a Bookworm
September 20, 2018
Status: c63
For the quality of the story, I'll give this novel a rating of 3 stars. I have honestly read worser novels than this, where at least the narration flow of this novel is decent. But the amount of frustration that I felt in reading this novel was just too real. Call me whatever you want, but as a person I seriously hate it whenever I see a character, in particular our heroine here, being insulted too much. On a day-to-day basis even. There's a reason why I tend to avoid... more>> tragedy and horror genres. This review is made at chapter 63, so some people may disagree with this review, in that some things may have changed.

Pros:

    • Certain characters' personalities
    • Interaction between certain characters
    • Decent character development
    • Great "town" building
    • Great translations.
    • No OP protagonists. (From what I'm aware.)
Cons:

    • Very slow paced, both time-wise and story-event-wise.
    • Amount of details sometimes, rival that in "Release the Witch". (Meaning too much, where the author expects readers to be experts on even the most complex of topics. Found myself skimming most of the production details since I'm not simply interested in them.)
    • While some characters are interesting, some characters in particular I found myself loathing to the core. And not in a good way.
    • ^ While I'm at it, no real antagonist or antagonist group is introduced yet, to challenge the heroine directly. (Even Natsume from the Yuujinchou series had some people who annoyed him. The GL's granddaughter does not count as one for me.)
    • As other reviews have stated, no good treatment / explanation of magic in this world. (As a fantasy fan, this is a huge minus for me.)
    • ^ Continuing from the previous point, heroine doesn't even bother to do anything about her condition herself. She DID state that she read light novels / fantasy novels in the past, yet all she does is complain about it.
    • No "world" building, or even little mention of some "continent" or "country" or "village" they're in. (What was the name of their town again? idk)
    • The beginning set of story events, where the onslaught of "heroine's severe negativity treatment" ensued.
... At this point I think this is it for now. Would I recommend this? Personally no. Even though this novel is different from the standard isekai genres which usually follow the adventurer route, I like my stories that are both well thought out yet casual at the same time. And for me, this novel was simply more on the heavy side, despite it's attempts at comedy through character interactions. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile rated it
Dragon Life
November 26, 2017
Status: c52
I was really tempted to give it a 2 out of 5, due to that one moment in this novel where the author suddenly decided to screw everything up (If you know what I mean, it's the "war" arc) - but considering the overall progression of the story to where I currently am at now, I decided to give it an average at best.

Dragon Life follows the usual style of isekai novels, but as the synopsis says, the heroine is a dragon instead of a human. After reading this, this... more>> novel is leaps better than Kumo Desu-ga (a novel in which I will never make sense of EVER) in both terms of translation quality and story content... where unlike other novels this one has romance. Heaps and heaps of romance. Given that all of the animal-reincarnated novels I've read so far are really boring, Dragon Life isn't one of those and is rather fun to read. But if you're expecting a novel where the heroine ends up being the top dog or use her powers all the time, then generally this novel isn't for you.

But man... I swear everything was perfect until the war arc. It's like the moment where the main character of a story ends up finally achieving his ultimate power after many years of training - but for some reason the author decides to suddenly write bad and present this milestone moment in the most crappiest way possible. *sigh* <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile rated it
HP1 kara Hajimeru Isekai Musou
May 28, 2018
Status: c25
I may be writing this earlier than needed be, but considering that I can't get myself to read past chapter 25 for some reason, I'll might as well write a short review now.

Measuring this novel in a scale, of based on the list of other fantasy/isekai novels I've read, HP1 kara is the second bottom novel on my list. With my worst read LN being Kumo desu-ga and right above this novel being Dragon Poor. Translations for the most part was rather clean and consistent, so there were no frustrations... more>> in that aspect while I was reading. And the story in this novel featured plenty/enough interactions between the protagonist and other fellow humans/characters, so I was less frustrated in that aspect in comparisons to Kumo desu-ga on a basic level.

Now apart from that, why would I say that this novel is on the bad side of things? Well, to be honest, the only thing that this novel had it going for itself, was the fact that the author did a pretty good job of telling the story from an external character's point of view. In this case, meaning the characters that will belong to the protagonist's "harem" in the future, aka the females; and as well as some others. But as for the protagonist himself? The readers hardly get any progression about him, as so far he still runs around the continent half-naked, not having made any interactions whatsoever with the people of this world. Again, I might be writing this way too early, but given the direction the author decided to take this novel so far, you might as well call this novel a "collection of short stories where monster girls meet the almighty God-like character" instead. While I don't expect all protagonists to be adventurers right off the bat, or enter any town/village right away... but dude, at least buy some freaking clothes or basic necessities for yourself. Aren't you ashamed? <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Wyntile
Wyntile rated it
The King’s Avatar
June 1, 2017
Status: c460
Reivew as of 460. I'm one of those people where ever since I heard the anime had aired, I was interested in seeing what this novel was about. (Haven't watched the anime since I wanted to read the full story more than the current 6+ aired episodes). And after binge-reading these chapters non-stop I am absolutely addicted to this novel. A few points though.

~ No spoilers!

Pros:

... more>> I'm pretty sure that most of these were covered by the other user review here, but here are some of my thoughts:

> Very elaborate designed game and explanation of class's skills and mechanics. I have played a few mmo games myself, but having come to read about the 24 different classes and the way certain characters use them are another thing on its own.

> Very interesting characters, indeed. Each has their own personality, and has at least 1 trait in which sets them apart from everyone else. And unlike other works such as the webtoon Noblesse in which instantly discards a character after a one-time intro and use, some of these characters just keep coming back!

(^ More importantly, Huang Shaotian FTW!? Am I right??)

> Lastly, stemming from the characters themselves which bring us such many hilarious events and battles that occur. Oh so many times. Ye Qiu does deserve to be called a top tier God player in the game as some of the tatics and gaming strategy he employs are simply pure genius! I don't know how many times I laughed my ass off whenever I see his interactions with his enemies and allies.

Cons:

If you're the sort of person where, take any superhero story for instance, wants the hero to reveal their true identity to at least one person in the story - you won't be getting any, anytime soon.

What I'm trying to point out here is that, the entire beginning portion of the novel (~300 chapters) mainly focuses on Ye Qiu's journey of his second coming, which in other words is him grinding his ass off as a new and unique character in the game. So things start to pick up around 300 chapters later for things to get really exciting and kicking-off in terms of plot, in which some readers may not find that entirely exciting. And often in-between where 2 major climatic events of the story are introduced, the story would become really grindy as it continues to show in detail the "adventures of Ye Qiu grinding while tormenting more people!"

(Though currently it stands I'm still only 400 chapters in at this point, so this view will most definitely may change).

Conclusion:

Would I recommend this? If you want a good laugh, but don't mind the story being too grindy a little bit at times, then most definitely for sure! One can always skim over the parts of the story in which drag out during the grind moments after all. Otherwise with how detailed the author makes the game to be from its classes, characters battles etc.. While being able to incorporate some simply hilarious inducing moments - as of yet Butterfly Blue doesn't fail to disappoint! <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report