Report Review
14 Reviews


Waffle
Waffle rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
February 18, 2016
Status: --
This is comedy gold. It also plays around with the ideas of ruthless protagonists in other Xianxia/Xuanhuan novels, and scrutinizes them heavily for their flaws. It also has romance. Don’t know why that isn’t in the tags, but either way, it is an amazing novel. I recommend it to everyone. 5/5. And remember, take some waffles with you when you decide to read it. (It’s dangerous to go alone, take this!)
36 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
Waffle rated it
History’s Number 1 Founder
November 23, 2015
Status: --
Amazing novel; in which the author subverts the general 'MC seen as weak, but really strong' commonly found in xianxia or wuxia novels, and focuses more on the psychology of acting strong and tricking people. I found this read far more entertaining than the majority of currently translated xianxia and wuxia, which just focus on power and generally have repeating elements. Although this novel also takes some of these elements; it admits it and even adds characters from other novels for added comedy and effect. Overall: Genius.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
Waffle rated it
Mushoku Tensei (WN)
November 23, 2015
Status: --
Great light novel; one of the first few I read, and definitely the one I enjoyed the most. The way the author develops the story and works with the concept of coming-of-age and mental progression is nothing short of brilliant. The translators also did a great job, and a "thank you" to them is truly necessary. Overall: 5/5
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
I agree with the majority of the other comments. At the start it was just amazing, and everything flowed. There was comedy, small bits of fluff, and more importantly, the author understood what he was doing. He introduced weaponry and described it well, he gave the protagonist the ‘weak but smart’ trope, and he basically made it a gem. Unfortunately, the whole slave selling thing ruined it. It just came out of nowhere, with the MC strangely not suspecting a thing. Overall, I would rate the beginning a 4.3, but... more>> because of how badly it went after the first 15 or so chapters, I downgrade it to about a 2. If you’re going to read it, take some waffles with you, and I wish you good luck. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
Waffle rated it
Full-time Anomaly
October 17, 2017
Status: c70
I'll be honest with this, there is most definitely a character that is a carbon copy in terms of scenario of the CEO in My Wife is a Beautiful CEO. That being said, her personality is slightly different, with the protagonist interacting differently with her as opposed to the MC of CEO Wife. This brings me to my next point: this text is not a copy of CEO. It differs in quite a few aspects, especially the MC's story and power, where he is not anywhere near as high-up on... more>> the strength chain as the MC of CEO.

Also, in regards to the point @urmomgogo addressed in his spoiler section (in regards to sense of money), please don't be retarded. It says that he earns 200, 000 per month not 20, 000. A 10 times difference, and later his income was raised to 500, 000. I'm sorry, but if that isn't a lot, then what in the hell are you on, especially considering the mean income for bodyguards in the US is 70k USD only. I've come to two conclusions, either you cannot read, or the translator mistyped and later corrected it. In either case, you really shouldn't have dropped the novel due to that reason, as not only is it ignorant, considering you didn't know the truth, but Chinese novels are well-known for screwing up maths every now and then, so you should've just ignored the isolated incident and kept reading until you confirmed that it's a constant screw-up (or in this case the opposite).

Now, onto the actual review since I got the basic rebuttals out of the way. It's okay. The protagonist later on seems a bit flawed in terms of his actions not matching his words or supposed character, but the issue isn't prominent at the start as we know little about him. Other than that, it's a generic modern day story, with a protagonist who has a badass nickname, and it's a quite enjoyable read, with a quick translation of good quality. I don't think it deserves a 5 as of now, but I feel that the majority of people who rated this a 1 star merely read a few chapters before rating it as they saw little difference between the characters of the two different novels CEO, and Full-Time. So, I'm going to just say this:

Don't be a sheep. Read it yourself, get past the first 20 chapters, and if you enjoy it, keep reading, if you hate it, stop. And if you want to rate it, read at least 50 chapters. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
Why was this rated so poorly? Seriously; I don't believe in rating within the first 10 chapters, simply because too much can change, but regardless, the novel so far is good and humorous... Why do people rate without even reading 10 chapters?
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
Waffle rated it
Hail the King
March 30, 2016
Status: --
Waffle has arrived to leave a review again. This one won’t be drawn out since the series is just starting up, but so far I just have two things to say:

1. This novel is (so far) amazing, and you should probably read it.

2. Translators... How you even manage to translate this novel to such a high standard even with the foreign Diablo terms simply confuses me... but regardless, you guys do the best damn job I’ve seen so far out of translations. Fast releases and good grammar; simply godsend.

Take some... more>> waffles with you when you go read it. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
Waffle
Martial God Asura
January 16, 2016
Status: --
This novel... I remember the days it was still on flowerbridgetoo’s site, and I would check daily like a devout follower on whether a new chapter was released. It was good. That good. Unfortunately the keyword is ‘was’. The first 50 chapters were bloody amazing and although it was mainstream, it was goddamn well written. But I quit 450 chapters in, because it became repetitive. Far too repetitive. The MC offends what we know as a huge power, he gets stronger and defeats them. Anyone he hates, he kills.

Anyone... more>> who looks at him wrong, he kills. Anyone involved with his enemies, he kills. I swear, this is like a serial killer’s wet dream. There is little to no justification to his killings, even small children in the sect that offended him slightly he will kill. I love bloodthirsty MC’s as much as the next guy, but tone it down a bit! If the MC is intentionally crazy and as such kills everyone, that makes sense, and I support a novel like that wholeheartedly, but unfortunately, they try to justify his killings and act as though he is righteous...

Another repetitive point is this:

Spoiler

The world keeps expanding! I know it is a common trope in Xianxia, and happened in Coiling Dragon, but it had scenes that build up to it! There is foreshadowing of such worlds in other Xianxia, but in this one they never mention any bigger world before it ‘expands’. At first he is the strongest in his sect, then poof, there is a whole province. Cool, now that I’m the strongest in the province, now what? Oh don’t worry man, we got you covered! Here an entire continent! Now that I’m the strongest in the continent, now what? It’s cool, we got the oceans and the entire planet!

The thing that irritates me about this the most is that this is only 450 chapters in... and it is ongoing with more than 2k... Seriously what the hell, how much 'expansion' are you going to do?

[collapse]
If you’re going to read it, just... take these waffles with you. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
Waffle rated it
Coiling Dragon
November 24, 2015
Status: --
It's over, and it was amazing. The book that introduced me to the xianxia genre, and also in my top 3, if not my favourite. Thank you to RWX for translating this novel and not stopping. A simply amazing book.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
Waffle rated it
Spirit Vessel
April 18, 2017
Status: c201
TL;DR, Right now it's an okay novel. I recommend reading it for those who have the time, and whilst it isn't the best right now, it does have potential to turn into a really interesting book.

Now, to explain as to why I judge it so:
The plot within the novel is very much driven by the interactions of the main character with others, and how others view these interactions. So far, all the arcs have been such. The main character's personality does change quite drastically from what you might... more>> expect a peak expert to possess, but this can be attributed to two things. One of these things is mentioned around chapter 180 or so, and is a pretty interesting reason; one of the ones that make me feel as though this novel has potential. I'll sort of explain what I got as the reason in the spoiler tag. Note that this is what 'I' think is the reason from the info in the first 200 chapters, and not confirmed.

Spoiler

So it's mentioned by the MC that a possible reason he (and he notices this) is losing control of his emotions, is because the devil bloodline within his body is stirring and may be causing him to no longer be able to hold himself back. So he ends up doing whatever he wishes, consequences be damned. After that chapter, he tries harder to hold himself back, so we may see some great development there.

[collapse]

The other reason would be his betrayal by his former lover at the beginning of the story, making him act quite... strangely... to women. Sometimes he is kind, sometimes he is a complete and utter douche, and sometimes he is just an ordinary bloke with regards to how he approaches women. This is another reason for my interest in this novel, as this is a harem, and so far we've got some interesting seeds of emotion planted within multiple women, not all being positive.

I do agree with @wargreymon when it comes to how the MC reacts to experts. He seems to be amazed by people who possess cultivations of the fourth realm, whilst he himself was at the 6th or 7th realm (can't remember), which is a tad bit strange. However, I don't think this affects the overall story too much, so I'm willing to let that slide without too much hassle. Another thing to note, is that the novel is filled with screw-ups of the MC (likely due to the reason mentioned in the spoiler). This can get quite irritating, but if you can push through it, it might become something good.

Despite these factors, I'm rating the story a four right now, because right now it feels relatively average (IET level). Of course, the key words are 'right now', and I will get back to this novel to change my review and rating in another 200 chapters, as I am about 90% sure that it will become a 4.5 star novel at least, or a rounded up 5 star. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
Waffle
Heavenly Jewel Change
March 6, 2016
Status: --
It’s pretty good. I stopped reading at around chapter 40, but that’s because I want chapters to accumulate before binge reading. It’s nothing amazing, but definitely not bad. As for @Aziru, his tag isn’t much of a spoiler since it’s only 20 chapters in, you can read it if you want. I just have a few points to say to him.

1. The MC doesn’t look ugly. He initially did, before the end of the first chapter... How much attention were you focusing on the novel?

2. TDG isn’t anything amazing. It’s... more>> okay, but that’s about it. The reason the majority of us like TDG, is because there are quite a few chapters translated and its start was strong, despite it falling to the inevitable xuanhuan/xianxia disease of good-to-bad, or the amazing category of slow-to-good. TDG is the former.

3. Very rarely do things look cool IRL, and Tang Xia San Shao is (or was at least) the highest income Chinese author on some famous site (Can't remember right now), because of the realism in his character's thought processes.

4. Flexibility is a core component of most martial arts; just the majority of xianxia/xuanhuan novels don’t bring attention to it, as characters there are naturally flexible due to one reason or another. In a more realistic setting, this action of raising your leg is insanely difficult.

5. A difference of 2 years, 3 years, and 7 years between those whom you think are in his harem... First of all, have you read any xianxia/xuanhuan other than TDG? In any xianxia where the character’s life spans increase, that is nothing. Also, even in a realistic setting, that amount of time is nothing to an adult; hell, even to a teen, the 2/3 year difference is nothing.

6. ISSTH is good. Don’t say people who read it are “masochistic bastards”. As I said above, xuanhuan/xianxia novels fall under one of two categories: Slow-to-good, and good-to-average/bad. ISSTH is in the first category, so is CD and to some extent ST. According to what others say, Ze Tian Ji is also in the first category. However, novels such as TDG, ATG, MGA, and the majority of Xianxia/Xuanhuan novels are of the second category. The second category gets novels famous quick, but after a few hundred chapters, people realise that they aren’t too good; and others that get better later on shine through strongly at this time, and up until the end of the series.

P.S. I’m not the greatest fan of Tang Jia San Shao, but his work is definitely better than the majority of other authors, and I personally think the reason why I’m not a fan is because only Douluo Dalu is translated pretty far in, and I don’t like it too much. However, his other novels such as Jiu Shen seem amazing just from the summary, so I’m making no comment about him being bad in any way.

Thank you for reading my rant, and take some waffles with you. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
Waffle rated it
Battle Through the Heavens
February 13, 2016
Status: --
Edit:

I had initially rated this novel highly, and quite frankly forgot about this review despite dropping the novel. Now that I found it, it's time for me to propose my updated views. The novel is quite boring, far too slow, and far too anticlimactic. It is foreshadowed and referenced at the beginning that the protagonist will take revenge against his fiance by displaying his strength after abandonment (a typical xianxia trope), but the actual revenge arc is one of the most boring things I have read. The fight is neither... more>> swift, nor is it slow, it is as though we are reading a basic fight that is just filler in a tournament arc. Honestly, completely terrible writing.

Even more tragic is the year this was written in (according to NU). For something written 3 years after Coiling Dragon and a lot of other novels, there is no originality, and the only enjoyment from this novel you will get is if you are new to reading Xianxia novels. I agree with @Clowred, the beginning was nice, but then again, that was due to its stereotypical nature where you could not go wrong. You can try it, but I don't think you will enjoy it. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
Waffle rated it
Against the Gods
January 16, 2016
Status: --
I found a factor common with the majority of Xianxia novels. Either the beginning is boring and makes you want to quit, but the rest is bloody amazing, or the beginning is beautiful but it falls off a bit after a while. Unfortunately, ATG falls under the latter effect. The beginning was just splendid, but it became less so as it passed a certain mark. Don’t get me wrong, the novel is still great, but it becomes slightly more boring after a while. Regardless, it is a good novel to... more>> read and is actually rated incredibly highly in my waffle-book. I give it about a 4.4 overall, with a 5 star beginning and a 3.95 star continuation. Unfortunately I can only post whole numbers so I am giving it a 4.

Conclusion: If you want to read a good, enjoyable novel that will keep you entertained for a while, read this one. Just don't expect it to be incredibly groundbreaking after the first 200 chapters. Also, take a plate of waffles with you. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Waffle
Waffle rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
January 7, 2016
Status: --
To be honest, the start of the novel is boring... but no matter what don't drop it. It starts off really boring due to the characters and knowledge of the reader and MC being developed, but after the second book, it becomes one of the -if not the- best novels ever made. So I say this now: Live through the first and second hundred, and you'll love it to death.

Take some waffles to hell with you, would you?
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report