Report Review
13 Reviews


Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
Tranxending Vision
October 1, 2017
Status: c15
My 31 year old hairy balls approve of this novel.

.

.

... more>> Why? Because I disagree Yung_Oath... someone who reads 2 chapters and decided that's enough to judge a novel.

When someone gets X-ray vision, the first thing you'll wind up doing, is look through clothes. It's a classic. Why avoid the obvious development? It would be weird if he didn't. He doesn't need to be portrayed like a saint-like superman. Not looking at a male with your x-ray vision is definitely a guys personal choice. I sure as hell wouldn't want to see some random dude naked either if I could avoid it.

There's no target audience for this. You're free to like or dislike. Just give it a try.

I hate it when people say you shouldn't read something. You can state your opinion, but don't say it like it's a fact. And anyone who says that a review should be objective, is lying as well. Every review will be tainted by a personal view.

Edit: Oh right, review. The spoiler tags just explains the vision power a little bit.

Spoiler

The left eye of our MC obtains superduper-vision powers after a freak accident. At first it manifests as the regular see-through vision, but not too long after it starts to include 'eidetic vision' (blatantly giving him eidetic memory). This is all within the first 15 chapters. I fully expect more powers to bloom.

(yes, I said bloom, since I already used manifest).

[collapse]

It's hard to see a proper goal of the MC yet, other than him wanting a little shop. But I suppose he'll see through it for us. Typical for these kind of novels, it quickly starts off with strife. And I'm sure the visionary author will bring up more issues for us to enjoy.

I honestly hope the MC will obtain a more clear goal soon, other than just muddling along. Since goal-oriented MC's are a lot more fun to read about than those MC's that just go kick up a fuss here and there, simply cause they can. <<less
95 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
Castle of Black Iron
January 12, 2017
Status: c276
The story is a post apocalyptic futuristic cultivation novel with a steampunk flavour.

Briefly summarized: The modern world as we know it 'changed' by something called 'The Star of God' and the world was set back to the early industrialized era. Meaning there's steam power, but no electricity. Tectonic plates also shifted and the world is no longer the same, countries and geography changed. The change was a Calamity, as many beasts and mutants rose up to power and devastated 'mankind's world domination'.

And the story of our protagonist is set at 889 AC (After Calamity).

The author does a nice job of building up the world, getting you into the story. Although it's a little vulgar at times, it's not offputting and it does set the tone to what kind of world... more>> Zhang Tie lives in. (Let's just say it's a 'hard' life)

The game element of the story doesn't appear until chapter 14. The cultivation system in this novel appears to be based on lighting up points in your body, a not unfamiliar system if you've read more xuanhuan novels. This is in line with traditional chinese medicine (meridians/acupuncture). The game element also has a rather familiar ring to it, as it's concept has been used often in other stories. Briefly put, the protagonist obtained a 'space' of his own wherein he can create his own world, for now filling it with plants, and he has to fulfill some conditions before he can make better use of it.

Volume 1 basically introduces the world and the cheat the protagonist gained.

So far I'm enjoying the story. It's really still in it's infant shoes (translation wise obviously). Other than thinking it's a fairly ok story so far, there's really not much else to tell. I do think you should give it a try, particularly if you like xuanhuan stories and don't mind the game element of it.

Edit: 30-9-2017 - I'm still reading. I wrote this review back when volume 2 was just about to be translated. I'm still enjoying the read. The MC continues to be a bit of a pervert, but it's really not highlighted that much. At least what's there doesn't really bother me. Not even the extended 'fun' he's had with numerous girls at one point. The author doesn't go into details much.

Every now and again he gets into serious trouble and manages to scamper himself out of it as well. So often there's plenty of action to keep yourself entertained and you're not bored to death by long endless cultivation details as there's often something simmering in the background and you just know something is going to happen. Granted, the author isn't very subtle about it either. Pretty straightforward really. But it's part of the fun.

The game elements so far haven't been very intrusive and it's plainly there to give the MC a cultivation/strength edge and something to work towards. Okay, I might be downplaying this a bit. It's a huge part of the MC's strength.
Spoiler

One of the main things of the MC's power trip is the little tree inside his 'Black Iron Castle' space, which gives him fruits to eat in return for the actions he has taken, consequently giving him substantial power-ups.

[collapse]
The MC has powered up substantially so far, so I do hope the Author can continue to make things thrilling. We'll see. I've definitely not grown tired of reading this so far. <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
Martial Arts Master
October 11, 2017
Status: c137
A Martial Arts Cultivation novel.

The Main Character/protagonist is an university student that started off late with his martial arts practice. He joins the university martial arts club, but at first not entirely with pure motives. He actually wants to woe a girl. The way the author slowly weaves the MC's motives and oppurtunity together in a realistic way, coupled with the advise of his friend, just to pursue his dream (s) is truly admirable.

It really gives you the sense of wanting to root for the protagonist. Both in his attempts... more>> to woe the girl and his goals in Martial Arts.

Granted, the protagonist did pick up a 'cheat'-like item to help propel his dreams forward.

Spoiler

He picked up a 'Jindan'. This helps relieves his fatigue and gives him tremendous endurance to keep going, both in practice and actual fights. It also has a few other nifty side-effects, but that's best left for when you're reading the novel itself.

It doesn't appear overpowered or overly useful except for getting our MC started on his journey to become stronger.

(Jindan = golden egg-like object. It's contained within the body. Most chinese novel readers will be familiar with this term.)

[collapse]

Martial Arts competitions (Tournaments) are prevalent in the MC's world. The MC's fights are actually detailed enough for you to imagine what the fight is like, but still leaves you wondering a bit... since not everything is explicitly explained. Some of the Martial Arts moves have rather flashy names (thank god they're not actually shouting out the moves as self-explanatory objects) . Personally I think the fights are well-written.

Originally I gave this novel 4 stars, but I find myself wanting to read more and more. As it keeps me entertained. I simply gave it a 5 stars. (might be effected by the many unjustified 1 stars as well)

If you're looking for an entertaining martial arts novel, that actually has some proper romance in it. This is the novel for you. The romance and interactions of the characters is what makes the novel stand out. It feels genuine. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
Titan Academy of Special Abilities
May 22, 2017
Status: c18
It's always cute when someone makes an early review and comments on how bad the grammar is, even though 9 out of 10 times it's because there was no editor yet. Since, you know, the story was newly translated.

The story is fine, just because it's not your cup of tea, doesn't mean it's a horrendous story. Personally I enjoyed it so far. It's about a girl who joins a 'special abilities' school, while she appears to loathe her entire environment. And 'presumably' she 'slowly' learns to... understand more about her... more>> own abilities and the people in said environment.

The thing I enjoy most about these type of novels, is the way people use their abilities and how they fight with them... In that sense I'm looking forward to what's to come, as the story really is still in it's beginning phase at the time of this review.

And yes, although it's not perfect. The story has become more than readable since it's been edited and doesn't deserve the kind of scorn that's been loaded onto it. A few sentence structures here and there are still a bit wonky, with perhaps a few typo's. But overall it's easy to read.

My advise, just give it a try... The chapters aren't long and won't take up much of your time. Then judge it for yourself. I hope it won't let me down in the future, so far it's enjoyable. :P <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
Lord of All Realms
September 30, 2017
Status: c50
It took me a while to realise this, but this Author just isn't for me.

Every single time he starts off a story that keeps me interested and I actually read quite a bit of it...

Only to wind up dropping it and discontinue reading it, and feeling reluctant to even try and read some more.

... more>> This happens to me with every one of his stories.

His idea's for stories are fine... his execution of them is just lacking. It's either the MC itself and the developments of the story or the lousy and not interesting enemies. Or actually pretty much all of them combined. It's simply no good.

So I hate to say this... but if it were upto me I'd probably advise you to not bother to read any of this Author's stories. There's always some issue that'll leave you dissatisfied. You're a more valiant guy than me if you can stomache so many... mistakes.

Of course, you should just find out yourself, but perhaps for some... this review can be their warning. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
Spirit Realm
September 30, 2017
Status: c237
It took me a while to realise this, but this Author just isn't for me.

Every single time he starts off a story that keeps me interested and I actually read quite a bit of it...

Only to wind up dropping it and discontinue reading it, and feeling reluctant to even try and read some more.

... more>> This happens to me with every one of his stories.

His idea's for stories are fine... his execution of them is just lacking. It's either the MC itself and the developments of the story or the lousy and not interesting enemies. Or actually pretty much all of them combined. It's simply no good.

So I hate to say this... but if it were upto me I'd probably advise you to not bother to read any of this Author's stories. There's always some issue that'll leave you dissatisfied. You're a more valiant guy than me if you can stomache so many... mistakes.

Of course, you should just find out yourself, but perhaps for some... this review can be their warning. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
Great Demon King
September 30, 2017
Status: c173
It took me a while to realise this, but this Author just isn't for me.

Every single time he starts off a story that keeps me interested and I actually read quite a bit of it...

Only to wind up dropping it and discontinue reading it, and feeling reluctant to even try and read some more.

... more>> This happens to me with every one of his stories.

His idea's for stories are fine... his execution of them is just lacking. It's either the MC itself and the developments of the story or the lousy and not interesting enemies. Or actually pretty much all of them combined. It's simply no good.

So I hate to say this... but if it were upto me I'd probably advise you to not bother to read any of this Author's stories. There's always some issue that'll leave you dissatisfied. You're a more valiant guy than me if you can stomache so many... mistakes.

Of course, you should just find out yourself, but perhaps for some... this review can be their warning. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
Dungeons Appeared in Real Life
August 23, 2018
Status: c0
So... I read the prologue.. Aka Chapter 0... and it literally explains why people no longer use guns.

I couldn't help myself but make this review just to counter "Baabaablack"'s ignorant review.

... more>>
Spoiler

And quite frankly it's hardly a spoiler, since it's a well-known reason for any dungeon-like worlds. The gun / firearms don't allow you to harness any powers when slaying monsters in/from the dungeon. So you need to use the so called "cold" weapons, such as swords/axes/knifes etc. It's pretty much the general reason to get rid of any science-based weaponry. So basically any weapon that requires you to exert your own strength is allowed, even a bow. Anything explosive and makes use of chemistry isn't 'allowed' (gun powder / bullet).

On a side note I always wondered about bows and crossbows. Bows I understand, you use your own muscles to align your power and coordination into a succesful shot. But crossbows make use of a mechanism to shoot the bolt. Which isn't unlike a firearm, the only difference is that the firearm makes use of an "explosive device", the bullet. I guess it's the 'chemistry' reason again. Answering my own question, yay.

No need to comment on this spoiler section. I'm just rambling. lol.

[collapse]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To make this a proper review I also decided to read chapter 1.

Aside from Chapter 0. The rest of the story reads like the farmers soliloquy. In other words you constantly read about his thoughts and actions.

The sentences are short and easy to read. A couple of sentences are awkwardly worded or improperly placed, but not to the point you can't understand what's going on. Just a minor irritation if you're a grammar nazi, otherwise it's okay.

It actually seems like a decent enough read to pass the time. So I think I'll keep at it. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
Chemistry
October 12, 2017
Status: c23
Surprisingly entertaining. Especially considering I never liked chemistry much.
You don't need to know anything about chemistry to enjoy this novel.
Some of the parts are magical rather than actual chemistry.

The entertaining parts come from the MC's interactions with others. This might sound vague, but you'll see.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
Isaac
February 28, 2019
Status: c12
The first chapter is pretty cringeworthy for various reasons, but you'll swiftly get an idea of the MC's character and after 5 chapters of inane war background story the 'real' story starts. By chapter 12 you start to look forward to what else this crazy MC's brain can cook up.

I just hope the author won't let me down. It's a possibility... After all... The prologue really was cringeworthy.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
God Of Slaughter
September 30, 2017
Status: c40
It took me a while to realise this, but this Author just isn't for me.

Every single time he starts off a story that keeps me interested and I actually read quite a bit of it...

Only to wind up dropping it and discontinue reading it, and feeling reluctant to even try and read some more.

... more>> This happens to me with every one of his stories.

His idea's for stories are fine... his execution of them is just lacking. It's either the MC itself and the developments of the story or the lousy and not interesting enemies. Or actually pretty much all of them combined. It's simply no good.

So I hate to say this... but if it were upto me I'd probably advise you to not bother to read any of this Author's stories. There's always some issue that'll leave you dissatisfied. You're a more valiant guy than me if you can stomache so many... mistakes.

Of course, you should just find out yourself, but perhaps for some... this review can be their warning. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
Thriller Paradise
April 12, 2017
Status: c49
Rather than a thriller/horror novel. This novel reads more like a detective.

The main reason is because the Main Character is constantly deducing things and coming to a conclusion. Another reason is that there's nothing actually scary going on, simply because our MC is never scared of anything. Which defuses a lot of situations. And then there's the fact that most situations are occurring inside a game, so nothing 'life-threatening' can actually happen.

So if you enjoy reading about a game and our clever MC solving 'things'. Then this is the novel... more>> for you.

I would like to add that there's plenty to enjoy about this novel, even if it's not as thrilling/scary as the title would make you believe. It's well-written and properly translated. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Vlaeghe
Vlaeghe rated it
In Search of a Scenery I’ve yet to See.
October 3, 2017
Status: c2
The description made me interested enough to give this novel a try.

The prologue wasn't bad (aside from diary being spelled as dairy continuesly) and it pretty much entailed what the description said.

Unfortunately chapter 1 and 2 quickly devolved from a drama into the typical feel-good japanese novel. Although 'the travelling' hardly started, the naive female MC gave off exactly that vibe.

It's too soon to tell how the novel will wind up, but quite frankly I was bored almost instantly. So I doubt I'll be able to persevere and keep... more>> reading till something more worthwhile happens. Of course, I won't tell you not to try and read. I always encourage to explore your own taste. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report