Report Review
27 Reviews


Varno
Varno rated it
Child of Light
March 1, 2016
Status: --
Nothing good comes from leaving your kids home alone. They can either start a fire or write the tragic piece of work that is child of light.

The story started off below average and somehow manages to go below that, the grammar is horrible, description aren’t there, characters are flat and their action are nonsensical and unrealistic (like when the mc’ s best friend ends up stalking a girl for years who threats him like sh*t, even though he has a hold class of females vying for his attention).

Wanted... more>> to write more but got tired of thinking about this sh*t. Take my advice stay away from this novel 0.5/5 (for effort) <<less
28 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Martial Arts Master
November 3, 2017
Status: c99
Reading this story, feels like reading a guide about relationships, and it goes in dept.

How to help a friend, what to say to a girl and when to say it. This title needs to be changed to something like ' Making friends, While wooing a girl and I am martial arts master'. Yeah it sounds Japanese.

Thirty three chapters of low quality fights (mostly by side characters), playful banter between men and an MC desperately chasing after a girl for no other reason than she's pretty.

Maybe I would take the romance... more>> in this story seriously if the girl actually had something special about her other then being 'very beautiful'.

She has a back story but nothing resembling a real personality, she's cute though so its forgiveable.

Anyway my real problem with this story is that it doesn't seem to have an aim other then building fictional relationships. He doesn't want to change his life with martial arts for any other reason than because he had the opportunity to do so.

Yusuke wanted to save a kid from getting run over, naruto wanted to prove himself to the village and Lou Cheng caught a fish! No character depth, no travesty and no reason to care for anything in this story but love and bros!

Campy sh*t. 3 out of 5.

PS: please know that I prefer loner characters and that should be taken into consideration. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Grimgal of Ashes and Illusion
March 13, 2016
Status: --
Grimgal put’s cliched characters in a realistic fantasy world and somehow expects to immerse you in it.

There’s some pretty big reasons this won’t work

1. The main character’s a *****.

... more>> 2. Side characters are useless and annoying. While most novels may have an annoying character, this novel manages to encompass every kind. From the lumbering-dumb-ass to a loud-mouth idiot to the quiet b***h that the author spends precious time (mine) trying to explain why she’s a b***h.

3. Their weak, seriously your gonna make a fantasy novel with weak main characters. How am I the reader suppose to enjoy it?How the hell are we gonna explore this world with a band of losers, lead by a *****.

The only redeeming thing about this novel is it’s quality, but perfectly structured sentences and a detailed world doesn’t make up for everything, 2/5. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Goblin Kingdom
April 1, 2016
Status: --
I'm not sure if it's the author or translator but this novel is difficult to understand, it's like reading and trying to decode at the same time. This probably happens because the author try's to pervade the story as deep.

This story is needlessly hard to read, so I can't recommend it.
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Life Mission
August 16, 2017
Status: c15
This story suffers from execution. The writing is sloppy, even though the characters are believable. The writer always seems to get in his own way; in a situation where it would be appropriate to describe the environment he's busy describing emotions, so we'll get an enemy walking from behind a wall, we didn't know existed.

There are so many ill timed info dumps in this story it ruins any tension that could be built up. Let me give an example. During fights we get descriptions of equipment, instead of a first... more>> hand look of a fight for life. This is a huge mistake in a action novel. Action should always come first, I want know his foot placement, which hand he's swinging. I want to know where they're fighting, because these things make it easier to picture the situation and if the story executes these things essential to their genre wrongly or in the wronge order and in even in a disruptive manner then this story cannot be anything more then mediocre.

3/5.

Edit: update. I've read up to chapter 42, I wanted to know if it got better, it didn't. But I did notice more problems. The story isn't focused on the main character enough, I've read so many chapters and the impression I have of him is he's a decent person, so not Chinese.

This would be a great story, but the writer is bad at telling it. It's like listening to someone tell a joke with a stutter; the prose in this story is so ****ed up it'll probably leave you confused or with a headache. This story is recommended to anyone who reads mtl, maybe they can decifer to enjoy it. 2/5 <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Shrouding the Heavens
May 30, 2016
Status: c83
This novel was a hidden gem for me considering I was stuck in a slump with nothing to read when I happened to find it. This is one of the few I can honestly say I don't have a clue in where it's going... I mean it started off with a group getting abducted by a coffin, yeah that's f**king awesome.

This is a group survival story in the earlier chapters that transitions to a cultivation story a little slower than some would like, I would like to advise some of... more>> the less patient readers to give it some time and it'll reward you with an immersive story that that shows the potential to be massive in scope and it even gives you something which xianxia are lacking; a main character that is decisive and gives a sh*t about others that aren't ALL girls or family members (they take that sh*t to seriously in china... and they keep losing their faces:) or even the occasional fat friend (cause they ran out of skinny ones... I like puns).

I might change this rating when I come down from my relief high (from getting out of that slump) but for now it gets a 4.5; I recommend this for anyone looking for a slow paced read, enjoy. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Rise of Humanity
February 21, 2018
Status: v1c103
This should be the number one novel on site. I will talk about the pros and cons.

Pros.

Well built magic system. The magic system is dynamic, a rarity in this genre; built by the author, although it shares some similarities with what is expected of the genre it is approached in way that works well in the setting.

... more>> Combat is excellent, kicks, punches, breaking the sound barrier and also-- for the xianxia fan-- psyhic powers to throw sh*t at each other.

The worldbuilding is nice and simple, laid out in such a way that it is easy to picture. While it hasn't been expanded upon yet, from what has been shown insofar I can remember nearly all of it.

The goal is in the title but there is a just-as-important subplot, so if you're into mysteries try it out.

Cons.

Character dept is lacking. They do have personalities but almost everyone's shallow. This isn't to a detrimental degree, yet.

Pseudo harem.

Really, I couldn't find much to complain about. 5/5. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Martial World
April 11, 2018
Status: --
I have read this since the begining of the translation, and I have dropped it.

This isn't good. It maybe for a thousand chapters but once he ascends? It drags. There hasn't been a likeable character since--and maybe--before. Though there has been 'cute' characters, or as I see them, the mentally re****ed; 40 and acting like a child and another is probably a-thousand-plus and is 'cute'.

Young master are around every corner so don't go to a restaurant with a girl. Okay? Every corner, every corner, every corner....

3/5.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Great Dao Commander
August 13, 2017
Status: v2c54
This is a low quality novel with nothing especially outstanding about it.

This will become apparent around the time of the first fight, there wasn't any explanation about how techniques work, they just work.

This story is so I boring can't even think of something good about it. World building, characters, and even depth (as in deeper meaning), something that this story hinges on is carried out in a half hearted manner. It lacks in seeming all aspects.

It feels... more>> like the author didn't put enough thought into the execution of this novel.

1 out of 5. It doesn't deserve more. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Ze Tian Ji
July 21, 2018
Status: afterwords
The best novel I have ever read. I love the poetic but somehow measured prose, the characters, the romance and the slow read of the novel. The main character is relatable. Beating out those supposedly reincarnated individually, in other novels, because of the sympathy that he shows. The side characters aren't forgotten. The same cast has been present since the beginning, they go the background, and come back again. The fights are epic. Powers are at a high mark at the lower cultivation levels in this novel, with a relatively... more>> lower ceiling, compared to others in the genre. Though it is a wait to the first fight, for me, it paid off, and they got even better. The plot and schemes. You will never know where this story is headed because, 'show don't tell', is adhered to. And it being so complicated makes the story shine with every unexpected reveal. 5/5. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Dominating Sword Immortal
July 6, 2017
Status: c256
I highly recommend this novel while it's execution may seem simple it is still a great novel.

Most characters in these novels need a major threat to get them to strive for strength, like maybe their girlfriend get's stolen or maybe their sect gets annihilated. These happenings usually leave the main characters jaded or crazy, willing to kill anything that moves. That doesn't happen here, he keep his modern ethics and morals, but dont be mistaken, he would kill anyone who tries to kill him. So in short we get a... more>> reasonable, and calm character.

Something that really bothers me is when a character behaves in calm manner their usually seen as having no personality, do you have to be childish or stupid to have a personality? Do you have to make simple mistakes to be consider normal? If so I don't want a normal MC, they seem like a waste of time.

I think it's time I told you why to read this novel instead of why other novels are clichéd.

1) It an xuanhuan novel that takes advantage of it's fantasy world, we see our main character travel and face unique adversity.

2) Side characters stick around, 265 chapters in the cast only increases but is never forgotten.

3) The fights started off good in this novel but something strange happened as the novel progressed, they got better. Then they were great and at this point- 265 chapters in- their-approaching EPIC.

If anything I wrote caught your attention give this novel a try, 5/5. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Dragon-Marked War God
May 25, 2017
Status: --
This stories isn't worth your time. I read the first chapter and the writing quality turned me off a little, me being tough and all decided to trugde through a few more chapters. Wild their might knot have bean any permanent damage done I feel I've lost some-thing. Kidding aside I'll show you one of the scenarios that made me drop this.

... more>>
Spoiler

The MC awakes in the midst of a kidnapping, he makes quick work of the perps, in the process he finds out that his brother is the mastermind behind this scheme (he's adopted). I'm gonna make this quick. A few days prior to his kidnapping the MC was set to marry the daughter of a wealthy family, with him being of one himself. Jealousy sprouted in his adopted big brother, leading him to develop said murderous plot. Armed with this knowledge the protagonist makes his return home and set's out for revenge. Long story-short he set's his brother up to marry in his stead. Organizing the marital agreement in such a way that his brother loses his status in the family, being married into the family of the bride instead and she's a body builder (for all of the faults of this story you have to admit that that's funny). Picking up her groom (literally) she carries him away.

Later in the night both brothers meet up to discuss what happened earlier (their father is secretly hiding in the bushes watching their verbal exchange) they eventually proceed to threatening each other, having already attempted once, his big decides to murder the MC and runaway, revenge and he won't have to marry the female-schwarzenegger, he says this out loud. Having already secretly become his brothers' equal in cultivation, the MC using his ultra-super-powers, walks up to him and snaps' his neck.

Having witness such a thing his father flashes over, standing over his recently deceased son. Can you imagine the emotions? His son, his little kid, he grew him up, fed him, taught him how to shave and now he's dead?! How do you respond to that, what would you say? This is what father dearest said. "Now who's going to marry the ugly girl?" Yep, read it again cause I'll write it again. "Now who's gonna marry the ugly girl". Years spent together add up too this one line, I think I care about strangers more.

I'll end this review how it started, don't waste your time on this novel.1/5.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Galactic Dark Net
March 31, 2016
Status: --
This novel really makes me feel, lucky I’ve been searching for a super hero tale all over the net and I found one on a site that usually only shows cultivation novels or jp junk.

This novel starts off with the potential to massive in scale–in terms of potential chapters and I look forward however much may come.

Edit: I've gotten far enough into this novel now to have a better understanding of it and it's a complete disappointment. It fails to do something that should be considered sacred to action novels........ more>> it conveys each and every fight in a vague over-view format, so instead of getting joint locks and punches, we get 'team china engages team 'whatever' and obliterates them using a pincer attack', I cannot support this kind of action novel-a novel that fails at the basics. The author should have done a story about tanks if he wanted to write a story about tactics, 1.2/5. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Wu Dong Qian Kun
March 4, 2016
Status: --
I’m dropping this.

The story started off good (even with it’s recycled plot) but over time starts to show more of those unbearable xianxia traits that miraculously keep’s the MC alive even thought he’s making dumbass decisions. (Spoiler alert) In one of the more recent chapters the mc’s searching for a beast for a refinement technique to toughen up his body, but some powerful group has monopolized the area he needs to search in, so MC figures that it’s worth risking his life offending these guys ’cause he’s got plot armor... more>> (the author gave a reason but this is the real one). He proceeds to sneak his way in, spends his time avoiding them for like half a day, until he spots a treasure. He decides to retrieve it even though he’s in a sh*tty situation (’cause of plot armor). He continues with this stupid side objective. But stops because he finds a beast protecting it, in his wise beyond reason mind he decides that this is a perfect chance to help his pet grow. The fight goes as expected (at least from the working minds perspective). The fight between two gigantic creatures draws the enemies attention what with all the big explosions, but the main character is unconcerned even though he spent all that time sneaking around, it seems because he got a gain that was not his original objective. This occurrence made me wonder about all the stealth in the beginning of this mission, if he wasn’t concerned about their presence why did he act the way he did?

This novel is not worth the read, because usually people stick with a sinking ship because of how great it was in the past but this novel has never been great and its going down fast.2/5 <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Renegade Immortal
September 10, 2018
Status: --
Poorly written and not successfully fleshed out.

I don't get the hype for this, it is boring. He does nothing exciting, it is slow, and really depressing to read. Originally, I read the mahwa, some years ago. The art played a part in drawing me in, without it, this story is boring.

He flies around, in places that aren't properly described, killing people we have no emotional bearings to, and insofar; that's it.

This may change in coming chapters, but I've had enough.

3/5
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
The Novel’s Extra
August 6, 2018
Status: c63
The premise is, the author falling into his own story, probably by way of a whimsical god.

While you may have seen this plot before, the execution of this novel is nice enough and true enough to the premise while being written at a satisfactory level to keep you reading.

I may have said that the premise holds true to expectations, but, there is a problem. Foreshadowing isn't done very well, there isn't anything of consequence for the reader to look forward to, because it done sloppily. The author straight up tells... more>> you what's next, but a certain twist in the novel may make the given information inaccurate and this leads into my biggest problem with this novel.

I do not care about a single character, after reading 50 plus chapters. Eveybody seems to be unlikeable and inconsistent. Despite being saved multiple times by the MC, most characters dislike him, rightfully so, as he goes above and beyond to be stand-offish and petty when given a chance to make ammends-thought it shlould be known this is purposefully done. It is still annoying.

Because of it's fast moving story, with little character progression and the intentional crippling of the mc's growth, 4.2/5.

Please, if any of you ever write's a story, make sure that the main character can use the magic system. It is very... I don't feel like cursing. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Divine Throne of Primordial Blood
October 31, 2017
Status: c100
I'll give you a concise interpretation of the story.

Very smart MC, uses deductive reasoning and usually keeps a cool and calm demeanor.

Most things are handled carefully and meticulously. So no stupid mistakes.

... more>> Characters have traits and not just the friendly ones, so when he kills a guy, he just killed a guy. Not a throw-away young master, though they are in this story.

Now for the bad. Mainly about the story and execution of action scenes.

The gap between power levels aren't rediculous, so one realm isn't throwing hills and the next aren't throwing mountain ranges (though if you want that read ANY of I eat tomatoes novels, fuk matts), skills, timing, planning and application matter more here, if your good enough you can jump realms to fight.

This all sounds good, but the poor or maybe dull execution hampers any emotional evocation the story would prompt from a reader.

Too many info dumps (show don't tell), too much small talk and way too much petty scheming (I just saw the political tag while writing this).

These things when done badly usually leave me feeling stifled and when I'm reading fantasy I don't want that. I want freedom and fun or at least I want them in a more serious story, not something based off of teen angst.

If the author 'showed' his world and characters more this would be less of a chore to read.

Last but not least. Being a 'look at the pretty colors' man myself, some of the fights are long and very, very, very boring. Lacking dept and flare. In fact they might actually be the weakest point of the novel.

My opinion is simple, this sh*t is boring and ignore those people describing this as 'fresh', they are just easily impressed with gimmicks. "Look! He's blind!" "How is that possible!?"

3/5. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
The Desolate Era
August 8, 2016
Status: v12c12
Desolate era is like a mash-up of xianxia and xuanhuan genres.

To me it would be better if it were one, instead of both. Im more bias towards xianxia, being a martial arts junky myself.

There are alot of stupid and ill conceived plot devices in this novel, many of which are quiclky made redundant in following chapters.

... more>> Cultivation methods that run out of use pretty quickly, divine abilities that are only relevant for one chapter.

In fact such a conception spawned this very novel.

Our MC used to be a saint in his pasted life. He was such a good man heaven choose to keep his memory in tact after reincarnation.

Despite having these memories he assimilates pretty quickly to this new world. Quickly becoming overly attached to his new parents and accustomed to killing really fast.

Maybe he only kills the bad ones. Pff, saint my ass.

Oh and luck plays very major role in this; especially in the later chapters, so don't start if you aren't ready for some asspulls.

Final verdict. Very action packed, shallow characters, childish world building (bring a calculator) and generic but fun.

Don't let all that tension in the beginning fool you it only gets worst.

3 out of 5. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Harry Potter and the Rise of the Ordinary Person
July 14, 2016
Status: c37
I've personally never read the real novels, so I started reading this without any prejudices and I can honestly say that this novel (or fan-fiction) is a very enjoyable read.

The story hasn't progressed far enough to give a proper review, but from what I've seen so far it's already made it onto my reading list. The MC (not Harry) is very reliable, he make's the correct calls in dangerous situations. Unlike the original works where-in they relied more on plot in frantic situations. This MC relies on hours of practice... more>> and research to resolve the situations (1) You might be thinking ''Didn't he just say he hasn't read the books, how does he know that they used plot armor". Well I have watched the movies.2) He might not deserve too much praise considering he's had the privilege of reading the books prior to actually being placed into the dire situations.)

All in all I'll give this novel a 4 out of 5 considering it's just walking in the foot steps of another (the author has already shown his determination not to deviate too drastically from the original work, so that may coax some of fanboys into giving it a try.) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Varno
Varno rated it
Lord Xue Ying
August 28, 2018
Status: c370
Lord Xue Ying and Stellar Transformation, are IET'S worst novels. And they both suffer from similar problems.

All of his characters are characters, never feeling human at any point in the story. They could represent a very simple ideal, at most: loyalty, love, feilty, and straightforwardness. If they weren't all hypocrits, idealism could be an excuse for their shallowness and, seemlingy recycled behaviour (and could, by his fans, be blamed on cultivation).

His stories are also recycled. Any of his main characters can be replaced with another and would show similar results... more>> and behaviours, in their new roles.

Sense completing so many novels, IET, still hasn't gotten rid of laughing and smiling in nearly all the sycophantic-like conversations. This is annoying.

And I really, for some reason, find it stupid that these guys can be loyal, to an undeserved degree, to their love interests. I blame it on the author, for not convincing me.

3.7 out of 5. I'm not reading any more of his stories. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report