Report Review
Report Reason:
21 Reviews


UsernameJ
This started out really good, actually good. And was one of the very few JPN stories that isn't just complete sh*t. Started out good, continued to be good, and then he completed the dungeon and it just went downhill. Fast.

Why? Because it's Japanese. Where incompetent boot licking MC's are apparently the only kind of hero. Literally the last few chapters have been nothing but him talking to people and saying over and over how he has no confidence to do anything.

Just complete garbage, don't bother reading because even though the... more>> start is good, you will just be disappointed. <<less
121 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Sovereign of the Three Realms
November 22, 2016
Status: c308
What DimensionalControl wrote is 100% correct. This story started out pretty good, but now the author's terrible writing has been revealed completely and this story is just a f**king piece of garbage.

The thing that makes me the angriest about this story is just how f**king repetitive the author is. The author's repetition makes me angry. The anger I feel reading his repetitive work reaches the heavens. Only a trash author repeats himself so much, worthy of only disdain.

Now imagine that level of repetition every other paragraph, spending an entire paragraph... more>> to do so. In fact it's so bad I'm convinced the author, to write a new chapter, all he does is write 10 lines and then figures out how to repeat himself as much as possible between those ten lines. Or he adds completely pointless sentences that don't add any new information at all.

MC learns a new skill by meditating. This new skill, learned by meditating, was learned. And it's helpful!

That's literally how this story goes. Such f**king hot garbage. It legitimately started out all right, but now it's just not worth reading. I'll give it 2 stars if only to set it above the even worse f**king garbage that are the jap stories on this site. Either do not start reading this story, or just drop it. It's not worth it. <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Release that Witch
November 2, 2016
Status: c124
This novel is easily one of the best on this entire site. MC is smart but not in the "I'm secretly a genius, watch me rule the world with my insipid intelligence!", more smart like "Slavery is bad because it harms humans and slows down the economy, let's get rid of it."

The writing is good, the pacing of the story is really nice. Characters are interesting and realistic. The world setting has a touch of mystery to it and we watch the characters do their thing while trying to figure... more>> out their place in the world.

Really good story, very different from a lot of other Chinese stories here. Definitely one of the best stories on this site, and absolutely the best non-Xianxia story I've read here so far. <<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
The Great Ruler
May 14, 2016
Status: --
Very similar to BTTH so far. Shares the same sort of decent aspect, which is an interesting cultivation method. However shares the same huge pitfall: everyone in the story is a special kind of dumb.

Makes it almost a chore to read, just like BTTH. Only read these stories after you've read all the other good stuff.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
December 9, 2016
Status: c70
Chapter 70 Part 3.

I read this all in one go. Before I read it I read the reviews, there's either "eh this is actually really bad" or "this is the best thing I've ever read". While this story isn't super amazing, it's actually pretty damn close. Amusing, avoids some common pitfalls, and has really good pacing.

All the people who give this a low review, the things they say are wrong. "Oh if he's read so many books why isn't he some freakish magical genius who memorizes everything and calculates everything... more>> instantly?" Uh, reading books doesn't make you smart. It just gives you knowledge. "Oh there was no explanation for X" yeah there was. Read it again. Why didn't Lita teach him Mana during the 1000 years? Because Earth had no mana. THAT'S THE WHOLE f**kING POINT.

For people who aren't retarded, this story is a really fun read. He sticks to his character quite well. I often want him to man up and take over the world, but that wouldn't make sense and he doesn't. The abilities are amusing, I wasn't expecting the pile driver to become an actual thing. The combat is a small part of the story, it's more a way of expressing his achievements and driving the story forward which realistically, is a good thing. He needs to kill tens of thousands of things to level up. How is that a story? "And he killed troll #87474" yawn.

All in all quite good, and I'm sad there isn't more to continue the marathon : ( <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Upgrade Specialist in Another World
October 20, 2016
Status: --
This story is bad. It's not terrible or awful or anything like that. I just find the way the authour writes to be so incredibly boring. The flow of the sentences is very dry, and any action sequence just becomes boring as hell. World building is boring. Character development is boring. It's all described in such a boring way that I dropped what was otherwise a decent story.

Oh yeah, and then the thing that sealed the deal. We hear about this MC, and how fast he's leveling up. How strong... more>> and gifted he is yadda yadda. Then what happens? He loses his storage ring to a common pickpocket. Are you for real? Total nonsense. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Demon King Reincarnation
March 14, 2016
Status: --
Are you the kind of person who likes to avoid thinking? Do you feel that thoughts make your life "icky"? Does the idea of being anything other than an immature retarded child just make you feel bad? If so, then please read this story. It is definitely meant for you.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
The Magus Era
May 25, 2016
Status: c132
Pretty good. All the negative reviews here are way off the mark. This story, if I had to put a rough mark on it. I'd say it's slightly worse than ATG. It's written in a similar style to ATG in terms of setting/characters talking/reactions and has a similar tone. The setting is pretty interesting though and really abuses Chinese loving super huge numbers. "He jumped a hundred miles away and punched. The punch created a crater hundreds of miles radius." which is always lols. The janky translating is kind of... more>> meh, but that's just nitpicking. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Dragon-Marked War God
May 16, 2016
Status: c87
Entertaining and amusing novel. The author understands the ridiculousness of the Xianxia genre and uses it to write a story. What makes this novel good, isn't that the character is ridiculously over-the-top. He has the best everything: the best knowledge, the best skills, the best tactics. What makes this novel good is that it realizes the character is just completely overpowered and that's the whole point.

The other good thing about this novel, and the thing that makes it distinct from others. Is that there is no more of this: "The... more>> MC is super smart and ruthless when he needs to be and nice otherwise. Oh what's that? This arrogant young master tried to rape the MC's sister and now that the MC has beaten him in a life-or-death duel, the MC is going to laugh at him and let him live? His shame is enough punishment?"

No f**k that, in this story the arrogant young master gets his head exploded with a fist.

The details in the setting in the world are decent, the cultivation path is kind of interesting. I don't think the setting is particularly creative like in World of Cultivation or ISSTH. However the frankness of the OP MC and the humour make this story roughly on par with ATG and TDG. Definitely a decent and amusing read. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
The Avalon Of Five Elements
June 8, 2017
Status: c50
Amazing. Good pacing, world makes sense, characters are humourous. Never heard of this story before, read it all in one sitting. Easily in the top 10 stories on this site, maybe even top 5 but it would be crowded. Read this story, there is no excuse. It's not overly serious, it's not overly comical. It's not overly ATG-like (if that makes sense). Reminds me a lot of God of Thunder and Instant Kill, those two are also really good.

This needs to be picked up again, it's so good.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Immortal
December 1, 2016
Status: c7
One of the best starts to any Xianxia I've read so far. This is promising but not in the TDG way of "oh this world setting is interesting I wonder how OP he gets" more promising in "I wonder what challenges the MC will face and what kind of plot the author's come up with".

If it stays as good as the first 7 chapters then this could be one that fits on the #1 shelf with the few other stories here.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Instant Kill
November 30, 2016
Status: v5c6
This story is quite good. The author's other work God of Thunder is also quite good.

Notables:
-Translation quality is excellent.
-Complicated cultivation methods wherein everyone doesn't magically know everything. "Oh hey cultivator from a billion billion years ago, of course I know you!" None of that stuff.
-Really really interesting 'cheat'. It actually makes a lot of sense and isn't a cheat at all.
-Pacing is really good, characters are relatable. Not too much detail, not too little either.

All in all an easy 5 star, and a solid recommendation to... more>> anyone who likes Xianxia/Xuanhuan stuff. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Beast Piercing The Heavens
November 28, 2016
Status: c187
2 stars because as bad as this story is, it's still better than jap stories.

Sigh, where to begin. First off this story is a straight 1:1 ripoff of Coiling Dragon, as far as world details go. The 5 families with a special bloodline who can activate an ability to defeat people stronger than them. The MC's bloodline allows him to "beastform" aka dragonform. MC has a magic ring that helps him stay alive. The evil manipulating Radiant Chur- er I mean Immortal City thing. Saint is the 10th level, presumably... more>> the MC will then leave his world and go past the Saint level.

Secondly, the authour is bad at writing dialogue. Like "Hey this is my first story" kind of bad. Characters talk too frequently, and say too much. It gets really annoying once you realize this, because then that broody guy who just kills people and trains talks like everyone else in the story "Anyways, oh I'm so sorry gosh." Literally. They literally talk like that.

Third: I'm writing this because I got to around chapter 140. The characters are just too stupid. MC gets completely f**ked over by his clan, just shrugs and goes "Oh I guess that's okay." Human army vs allied enemy army. Enemy army defends a mountain peak that's surrounded by 3 cliffs and has a small road as the only entrance. Human army says "We must win!" and attacks. And of course fails. Over, and over, and over again. Literally losing almost a thousand people and killing: a dozen. F**king. Retarded.

This has "authour's first story" written all over it. Being a CD-ripoff isn't even a bad thing to be honest, but everything else about this story just makes it a f**king disappointment. Do not read this story, it is ruined by nonsense conversations, stupid characters, and stupid situations. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Ancient Godly Monarch
January 1, 2017
Status: c281
This story has really picked up in the past 50 chaps or so. So much so that I now actually look forward to chap updates instead of before where it was just "Oh this has an update, I'll read it after I read all the other good stuff first."

I don't remember enough about the beginning to comment on whether it was good or not, but obviously it was good enough for me to stick with it thus far unlike garbage like Sovereign of the Three Realms or whatever.

Story is good,... more>> cultivation method is creative, characters are decent. MC of course gets all the beauties to fall for him but he's pretty dead-set on his main girl so far. It has that touch of mystery (What's going to happen in the long-run?) to keep it going, which is never a bad thing.

All in all worth reading. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
God of Thunder
January 1, 2017
Status: v8c16
I really enjoy how this author writes. This story and his other one Instant Kill are both very good. Good pacing. Good sense of mystery; cultivators aren't omniscient experts wherein every trivial minor sect has the history of the world for the past millions of years and all of this is memorized by everyone and everyone recognizes all obscure treasures that have been lost for hundreds of thousands of years.

No in these stories cultivation is difficult, and full of unknowns. The author also includes subtle realistic things. Cultivators eat 10... more>> times what a normal person eats. This connects cultivation with non-cultivators in a very realistic way. Cultivators can make wealth and have reasons to use it. None of this hypocritical "I'm an elder and above mortal desires yet here's my harem and I protect my mortal descendants" nonsense.

Good story is good, I recommend it. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Emperor’s Domination
June 21, 2016
Status: c52
All 50 chapters so far have been fantastic, if it can stay this way throughout the whole story it might rival ISSTH. This sh*t is tight.

[Edit] So it's been a while now and the story is up to chapter 307. I think it can keep the 5 star rating, but in my opinion it's more like a 4.5.

Enough chapters have gone by that the author has hit his stride, and now we really see the meat and potatoes of how he writes and what the story is about. The world... more>> setting is fantastic like ISSTH and WoC, but I feel that something is lacking a slight bit.

All these stories we read are really repetitive, that's just how it works. Wake up in the morning, eat food, go to sleep at night. Repetition isn't a bad thing, but I feel like there's the build-up to something the MC is going to do, and then the actual thing and sometimes it's just a bit underwhelming.

The previous arc was about the graveyard and he got the magic thing that no one else has ever gotten. Cool, neato. But now this academy arc and void gate stuff, eh.

Apparently he gets a wife that's super OP, but with the way the story is going we'll never know about it until the actual arc it happens in. There's no intensity to the build-up. That's the only problem I have. Still a good story though. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Tilea’s Worries
May 5, 2017
Status: v3c17
Had no idea what I was getting into with this. Apparently "misunderstanding comedy" is a thing? At first thought I would've figured this is not my cup of tea, was expecting more "oh great, another sh*tty jap novel." Nope, this is god damn hilarious and the "misunderstanding comedy" part is actually quite well done.

All-in-all actually a good read, and one of the better stories on this site. Only possible downside is that 'misunderstanding comedy' might not be your thing, but give this story a shot. It's genuinely funny.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Thunder Martial
November 27, 2016
Status: c35
Chapter 35 so far. All I can really say is this definitely has potential. Potential sort of like TDG. Start is interesting, pacing is good. Conflicts so far are actually sort of believable in the "wow everyone is kind of a f**king douchebag" way. Which does make sense, there's no grand techniques and flying swords and sects that f**king flood their lands with pills. Disciples of the sect bitch and scheme and steal for 1 or 2 pills, it's pretty low-key.

The pacing is good too, each chapter has enough to... more>> fill out the chapter and almost no annoying repetition. None of that "I'm clearly getting paid by how many words I write" repetition.

So far, I recommend it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Battle Through the Heavens
May 11, 2016
Status: --
Ah, BTTH. For some reason I never really wanted to read you. After reading stories on these websites for like 6 months, I finally was bored enough to read this. My verdict: not bad.

BTTH is actually alright, but it isn't nearly as good as some of the other popular stories (ATG, ISSTH, HJC, DE, etc). There isn't really anything outright wrong with it, but everyone in the story is just kind of dumb. A group of fighters waits until their leader is attacked and almost killed before taking action. An... more>> obvious plan somehow gets saved until the critical moment and then it becomes the genius plan of the brilliant MC. That kind of stuff. Fortunately it's at least executed sort of well so you're not just mad and saying "You're all f**king retarded."

The writing style of the authour also isn't that great. There's always a lot of repetition in these stories, so you just sorta have to accept it as a quirk of the genre. However how it's handled in BTTH is definitely a bit sub-par.

Because of these two issues, this novel is definitely not amazing. If TDG is 2, ATG is 1.5, and DE and ISSTH are 1. Then BTTH is 2.5 or a 2. Decent, but nothing amazing. Though the plot overall seems alright and the Flame Manta cultivation with alchemy and the heavenly flames is kinda cool. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
UsernameJ
UsernameJ rated it
Your and My Asylum
December 23, 2016
Status: v1 afterword
Writing a "smart" character is essentially impossible. Any "smart" character either becomes James Bond or Mary Sue: they always have the right answer, everything always works out for them, nothing is beyond their reach regardless if it's something they've done a thousand times or for the first time ever.

This story is of course, the same. Otherwise I wouldn't use the word impossible. However, this story does come somewhat close to what I imagine a feasible 'smart' character would do. Truthfully, it's not that the MC is smart or particularly talented,... more>> it's more like he picked a random skill in character creation that just ended up working well in his first dungeon. Like the ultra pointless "Zubat Slayer" but instead of Pallet Town he starts in a cave.

Other than my personal gripes with "smart" characters, this is actually written quite well and the personalities of the 3 characters are written in such a way that they feel fleshed out. The difficulty the MC has with the Earl is apparent, and while it's still "I rolled a natural 20 on every d20 roll" it doesn't have quite that feel to it.

I recommend reading it, it's different and interesting, and I hope there's more. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report