Report Review
18 Reviews


Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
Netooku Otoko no Tanoshii Isekai Boueki (WN)
March 22, 2016
Status: --
Light spoiler about the story till chapter 17:

... more>>
Spoiler

The boy finds a magical mirror that is connected to another world. The first chapters are about him going between the two world trying to take the chance to make money. Eventually, with the help of a native couple, he decides to become a merchant and he is introduced to the merchant guild. After asking around, he notices that the best way to protect himself is buying a slave. Then he meets a merchant that sells elves but the price is astronomical so the merchant ask him for a duel where he will need to win to get the slave for free. The duel is about making a political figure accepts a gift from the MC for her 50th birthday.

[collapse]
The world is an european middle age-like world with magic.

The first chapters are an introduction about the protagonist, how he understand that the mirror is a portal to another world, his first encounter with a native couple that eventually will help him build his new life in a town near the portal to his home.

It has a GDR feeling because the MC has various blessings and can get quests from the world (but those are not only his prerogative because even normal people can get a blessing and various quest).

He is trying to be a merchant, will he able to make that happen? Well at least he has various blessings that will help him along the way. <<less
44 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
It's not too bad, but neither is good. Too much details, I find myself skipping most of the chapters after chapter 7.

13 chapters and still 1 year old, and all the MC does is spamming his "Identify" spell. So at the start he dies, and reincarnates. The MC is not familiar with RPGs and similar concepts, so you'll have to learn with him every little thing. Characters are one dimensional, they take for granted that he is a genius. I mean if I were in a world where most of... more>> the people aren't able to read and my son was able to fluently talk when so young I would suspect him to be a monster. Especially so when he can do mental math and problem solving that some children in their teen wouldn't be able to do even in this age.

Not much to add, the translation is good but the story doesn't go anywhere. Don't really recommend it. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
Dragon’s Bloodline
April 30, 2016
Status: --
Review having read chapter 51:

I was looking for a strong female MC with a yuri tag and here I found it. However I didn’t like the description so I didn’t read it. Being bored I started this novel and I have to say that is good.

The story is about a male martial artist from Japan that is reincarnated as a female in a world with magic. I really like the novel however I sometime think is a bit fast paced. The MC, Ria, is of course strong and gets stronger... more>> as the story progress. What I don’t like is HOW she gets stronger. While I understand that is necessary, I found it a bit strange and if I were the author I would limit that. The initial Gift is already strong enough, in my opinion.

Read why in the spoiler.

Spoiler

The gift make her strong like a dragon, with all resistances and body enchantments. However after she conquers the fist labyrith, she is given a skill to make weapons. This skill is so OP that she can make normal weapons without materials (she can’t make magical weapons).

[collapse]
About the yuri: it’s stated early that she likes girls and she does nothing to hide it (she even said it to her father lol). However at the start, she only gropes her females friends. After chapter 30, she is a bit more forceful but there are no s*x scenes (r-15) or the like. She didn’t go that far, yet. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
Nidoume no Jinsei wo Isekai de
April 9, 2016
Status: --
It’s a novel where the MC dies from old age and is summoned by a goddess that ask him if he can help her by being transported to another world. After listening to her reason, he agrees and he finds himself in a forest with him in his former aspect of 18 years self.

Wandering around he finds 2 girls being attacked by 6 men and he helps them. They should be the girls in the illustration image.

The first 25 chapter is about him and the girls doing quests.

The MC is... more>> level headed so you will have a calm adult who doesn’t kill around without reason. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
Monster no Goshujin-sama
December 16, 2015
Status: --
the story doesn’t go anywhere and, while I liked the main cast, the main character has a bit of trust issue (or issues in general lol). I don’t really recommand this.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
Ore no Osananajimi wa Joshikousei de Yuusha
December 9, 2015
Status: --
It's my first time reading a yandere story, but there was a scene that made me laugh really loud.
like, really loud.
There isn't any NTR, and as said in another comment, the main female character keeps the harem safe.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
Overlord (WN)
July 19, 2016
Status: c13
So, I'm reading this and the light novel at the same time. What are the differences? The web novel is a bit more raw, and it's like reading a different story with the same characters.

This is because Ainz takes different decisions. He just doesn't care about being low profile, he doesn't lose his humanity at the start of the novel, etc.

Some characters like Albedo and Mare are not in the novel, however I don't really care about them even if I thought I would. I mean, there is no romance... more>> in the light novel so Albedo's character is only for the laughs. Since there is no progress with the relationship it just doesn't mattere if she is there or not. The same for Mare.

The light novel is also a wall of text, and while some can like it, in my opinion is a bit too much so I'm happy with the difference of the web novel.

It's like reading the story of the shield hero, but with the spear hero as the main character. Because you know the story but the reactions are different, it could be interesting to read both.

However you'll skip a bit of the chapters sometime since some parts are copy-pasted in the light novel. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
I Bought a Girl
May 6, 2016
Status: --
The title is misleading because it seems a r-18 novel, howerver it is about a man that give a slave child the chance to be a normal child again.

The main characters are the man, that won the lottery, and this young girl and the story is about their everyday life after he adopted her.

spoiler about the story (till chapter 8)

... more>>
Spoiler

So this man won the lottery and asks to his grandfather what to do with money because he too won the lottery and was filfthy rich.

The granfather says to his niece that he should try to make somebody life happier, if he doesn’t have something he really wants to do and gives him an address where he can buy a slave.

This girl is choosen totally in a random way, and after signing some papers he brings her home.

He is still working as a teacher in a highschool and then he thinks is a good idea to make her “daughter” attend an elementary school since she is a 9 years old.

What I don’t like about the story is the idea of the slave child. The author could simply make an adopted child without bring the slavery in the story, since it’s a bit silly how paperworks would be if it were all “legal”.

Another poor writing is about the fact he won the lottery and asks his granfather that also won the lottery.

Really? What are the chances?

Howerver when rating the novel I thought about the heartwarming feeling that tries to transmit to the reader, trying to not consider what made this story “less” believable.

However the writing is still not good as uchi no musume, so a 4 is good enough, in my opinion.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Edit: 2 December 2016

This novel is a good novel, however not a polished gem. At the start, we have the main character who is a fat rich kid, that understand the situation he is in and tries to improve himself knowing that he is reaching a bad ending. He slims down, he masters magic and blacksmithing. The problem is that he should be a side character of a game and his base stats are pretty much overpowered. I was a bit upset about the main character. He, who should have... more>> been a side character, had specs high enough to be the main character of the game. That was for me bad writing, because if he had to be a side character he couldn't take so much highlight, in my opinion. Then, in the second volume, the author decides to make him a wimp, while confronting a group of students. This problem is also in the 3rd volume.
The first volume is a solid 4. The premise is there, but it is still missing something. Then I read the second volume, the school arc. It is introduced the main heroine (of the game), the main hero (of the game) and the his future wife (of the protagonist). The atmosphere is good, the interactions between his friends are good, the plot moves forward. This volume is a solid 5, and I changed my initial review. However with the start of the 3rd volume, you can see that the author is having problems writing. He writes without a plot, he forgot characters that were introduced, some plot is moved too fast. You can say it has reached a point where the author knows that he can't just write anymore. This volume gives to the readers a bit of satisfaction, but there is a noticeable drop in quality.

At this point in time, the translation has almost reached the ending of the 3rd volume, and the raw have a few chapters of the 4th volume. However, these few chapters were written in summer, after 4-5 months where the author didn't write anything. Now, the author is missing again. You can see what I want to say. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
June 7, 2016
Status: c63
At the start of the novel, I really wanted to give it a four, because the lottery system it's not random at all but is used by the author as a way to move forward the plot, helping the main character when he is in difficulty. This is a flaw in the novel, because the main character is too "lucky". Howerver, I have to say that this novel is really good and reading more chapters I really think it deserves a five.

The story is about Zhang Ye, a jobless graduate,... more>> that wants to be famous. In the first chapters the lottery is used to help him gain a helping hand to get a job as radio dj. If I have understood right, the lottery can give him 3 different kind of reward. One is a totally one time "random" consumable, the second is the right to buy a consumable in a virtual shop that can be always bought if he has "reputation points" and the third is a skill. The plot is too linear at the start and is like this: MC has a problem => use points to try the lottery => gets consumable to resolve the problem => everyone is left in awe. Usually consumables are time limited, so once used there is a time limit. Another flaw in this novel is that the author doesn't understand the flow of time. It's no spoiler if I say that the time limit is often 5 minutes and in those 5 minutes happen too many things that is really weird.

The MC often wins while having too little time, with too wide gap from the second.

However, even with all this criticism, I want to say that the MC is funny, the story is funny and I have to say that it's a must read.
Another thing I want to add is that the MC is in a parallel world where famous works of our world doesn't exist so he use them to gain popularity. What I like about this, it is that I read things I didn't know existed, and I find them interesting since the author put them in the story nicely. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
I have to say that the description is a bit bad, and at first the novel didn't attract my attention. However after reading the prologue and the first chapter I have to say that it wasn't what I thought it was.

Reading further I have to say that it's well written and while it's a bit early to say that, the premise is interesting. It's a pity that the novel seems to be on hatius reading the COO here on NU.

The story is about a novelist that has published the first... more>> volume of his novel and is killed by a passing car. He wakes in one of his character's estates and decides to become the best villain so he can complete the novel as he wanted it to end. However I think that he is raising flags left and right and it won't end as he wanted, but we have to wait to see more of the story to be certain.

Before discarding this novel, I suggest reading at least the first chapter to have an idea of what to expect from it. It's pretty weird that it has so many "1s" in the rating. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval
Record of a Thousand Lives
April 12, 2016
Status: --
It's a story about a MC that can't really die till he defeats the Demon Emperor. After being killed 999 times, he revives for the 1000th and the story is like a "OP guy knows how to complete the main quest line because he already played the game too many times but he kind missed some sub-quest so he tries to see what happens if he does them" kind of story. Too little chapter translated to see if it's a good story or not, but it has a good start.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
Yamato Nadeshiko, Koibana no Gotoku
January 19, 2016
Status: --
The story is told with 2 POV. The brother’s and the sister’s.

The brother is in a phase where he is trying to deny is love towards the sister, because he can’t escape the idea that incest is wrong.

The sister however is trying to seduce him in any way she can and she also make rumors about them having a forbidden relationship to make the female population less interested in her brother. The family knows they have a bound too strong and while their elder sister approves, the mother gave a... more>> warning to the brother, saying that if they continue on that road she will take action.

I like the genre so I rated it pretty high, but you should note that the sister is manipulative and kinda blackmail him to stay to her side, saying she would spread rumors about what he did to her when they were younger. She has also some yandere tendencies like: betray my trust = your social life will end. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
There is no plot, just a mindless travelling between two places, where the main character just one-shot enemies while the girls who follow him are harrassed in various ways by him. You can either like or hate this novel, it depends how you would like to read about a main character that has no goal and likes to harrass female companions. There is some humour, but I don't really think it as funny.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
Monogatari no Naka no Hito
May 12, 2016
Status: --
The story isn't going anywhere, because there isn't a plot. It's a slice of life because it describes the life of this magician in a school where he spends the time learning about magic.

That is it. No more, no less.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
Kasou Ryouiki no Elysion
November 28, 2016
Status: v3 epilogue
The story is about the Taiga and Fuyuki, two siblings that help the imouto's friend Rui to fight bugs in a VMMORPG. We have both real life events and events in the game. The description is the plot of the first volume, and I didn't find it that interesting. I came to read this novel for the "Love Triangles" tag but notice that the genre is harem. The second and third volume are similar to the first, the plot is not all that different and the ending is not really... more>> good being it more open that I would like, it feels rushed. The incest is not very strong in this light novel but it is present.

The characters are pretty common, Taiga is a overpowered character, a bit dense, Fuyuki the typical siscon who gets jealous if the brother looks at other girls, Rui is a gentle onee-san, etc. I was generous with the rating because I was hoping for something more from this novel. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
Assassin Landlord & Beauty Tenants
May 19, 2016
Status: c44
I started to read it after reading a comment saying that it is a bit like the wicked soldier king. It's not as good as that novel, but the feeling is a bit similar.

We have the MC that is a retired assassin that become a landlord after buying a small villa. In the first chapter we are introduced three beautiful girls that become the tenants and he helps them in various ways without raising flags (There isn't the Romance tag infact).

Midway the author tries to nerf his ability to become... more>> invisible but give him more "raw" power, but he still has some difficulties with his enemies. The differences between this MC and the MC from WSK is that this one is a less overpowerd and a bit more of a playboy: fundamentally they are two different people altogether <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Upheaval
Upheaval rated it
The Prodigy Sefiria’s Overpowering Program
February 2, 2016
Status: --
I have read various novels where the MC is reborn and the story starts when he is still very young. Like with Rudeus Greyrat, the MC retains his ability to think even if only 3 months old.

He can’t read nor write in the new language and he is born in a poor village without cheat powers. However, like as Rudeus, he finds a book that contains spells: a grimoire. After some time, he understand somehow that spells have a syntax like those used in programs so he starts to learn... more>> how to use them.

The story has 18 chapters, and I think that is a bit slow. He is still 9 months old and nothing really happened.

The concept is nothing new, the characters introduced aren’t memorable and there isn’t a plot yet.

Since the length of the chapter is not much, I suggest to start reading the first 10-15 chapters to understand if you want to follow the novel. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report