Report Review
18 Reviews


Tykos
This novel is probably the most underrated novel of all time. Easily in my top 5. The story about a dragon growing steadily stronger and fighting loneliness that comes with strength. People keep saying this novel is bad because the main character tends to make stupid decisions, but not all main characters get reincarnated with cheats and judgement to breeze through every situation. The main character is not overpowered and simply wants friends and family, however circumstances always make him evolve into a strong and evil dragon to defeat his... more>> enemy. This is a story about someone who wasnt born overpowered, but worked to get stronger and with every upside there is a downside. A realistic story about a reincarnated dragon who wants to get stronger, survive and make friends.

PS: Dont listen to Azigards review. Dude, fighting goddess? It hasnt been revealed if she is even behind all this. And MC is struggling to survive let alone fight the heavens. You read waaay too many chinese novels. And you are upset because MC is rolling as a way of fighting. Well, sorry but when your options are limited you do what it takes to survive, the idea is original and it is refreshing to see that the first attack he used is still used later on. As for stagnant plot, that is a bit of a problem, but again realistic, it takes awhile to get stronger, rather than xianxia authors that pull trouble directly from their asses. And only 10 or so chapters are poorly translated

PPS: need faster uploads... <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
I Was a Sword When I Reincarnated (WN)
February 18, 2018
Status: c179
This novel has one thing that majority of japanese web novels lack recently - originality. No harems, No stupid and overpowered protagonist that cheats the system whenever he can. MC is more of a father figure and I am glad they chose that path instead of him simply creating a clone of himself and make him wield the sword. The female lead is also likeable and cute as well as determined. What I think this novel lacks is a rival for the female lead, a character that will make MC... more>> push forward even further as the father figure, since the girl hates losing. It would be nice if more attention is put into side characters and I hope that later on somebody who can fullfil the role of support, aside from MC, for the female lead would appear. But so far a great novel and I hope it keeps its originality <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
Heavenly Jewel Change
April 26, 2018
Status: c100
This novel would have been good if you replaced the MC for literally anyone. At first I liked him, I stayed for over hundred chapters and more and more, my good initial impressions turned to sh*t. The main character is not only an asshole, but is stupid as hell, inconsistant as hell and hypocritical as hell. The last one I can forgive since the theme is war, but still, it annoys the f**k out of me to see him treat girls differently for no apperent reason. The novel is trying... more>> to portrey him as some kind of a genius scoundrel coward, yet fails miserably. His cowardice is only shown for laughable situations which no one would be scared of and when the real fighting to the death is shown he somehow becomes a fearless hero, not to mention the most stupid thing is that his cultivation method kills him if he makes a single mistake and inflicts terrible pain whenever he makes a breakthrough. You could argue that he became less of a coward afterwards, but no, the theme is still there in later chapters to make things even more stupid. As for the genius part, that is even more stupid, everything he does is because he either lucked out or used plot armor. The most laughable thing is when I heard his reasoning in a few of his so called moments of greatness. The way he splendidly overlooks all possible reprecussions of his actions and only focuses on what is in front of him is remarkable. The only time he considers lasting effects is when it affects his freedom and even then his reasoning is ludicrous

Spoiler

Like when he decided to trade his cultivation method for God tier set of consolidating equipment. He refused because it would have chained him to the Palace. The only thing he had to do is say yes then take the equipment then cancel the deal if the problems arise in the future. Since he is a scoundrel I can hardly believe he would have problems with it. It is not like they forced him to work for them. The cultivation method is useless to them so you already offended them by cheating them. To not consider something so easy is beyond me

[collapse]

As the scoundrel part I agree 100%. Here is the part of the story that pissed me of the most.

Spoiler

The way he acts around Tian Er and Little Witch. Tian Er turned into Fat Cat (yeah, Fat Cat, MC's naming sense sucks) and used MC to boost her cultivation and tried to kill him in order to get stronger but couldnt do it because apperently his beast Tiger aura subdued her and made her fall for him. WTF?! She literally just said that she would have killed him in cold blood if his "aura" didnt affected her and he just brushes it off and adds her in his harem. As for Little Witch she is a part of a dying clan that was wrongfully accused of being heretics and forced to nearly extinction. The only one who can save her clan is MC and the clan uses everything to rope him in, even tried to force him to wear the seal that would have killed him if he betrayed the clan. And forced him to live a life of luxury full of women and anything he wanted. Sounds horrible I know. MC, of course, refuses and since they had no other choice they even decided to drop the seal and even give him the clans secret tehniques, but he still refuses. Why? Because Little Witch asked MC to take the dragon baby from her mother to train him, because that was "heartless". When I read that part I felt like I was reading a joke. Not to mention all the people MC killed that he didnt even know casually and then has the audacity to consider that girl heartless after she just tried to take some lizard baby and not even for herself, but for him blows my mind. Oh and before you ask, both the Little Witch and Tian Er are hot, so no discrimination on that part

[collapse]

Basically MC is a complete asshole and an idiot. The fights and plot are decent, as well as all other characters, but I simply cant stand that moron. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
Tondemo Skill de Isekai Hourou Meshi
February 17, 2018
Status: c47
This is the single most frustrating novel I have ever read. Main character is a pu**y and I mean a huge one. I dont care if the MC is cowardly, I can understand it, you are thrown into a new world and you are afraid of fighting. But this is too much, MC is partnered with the strongest beast in the world, can power level all he wants because Fenrir can make a barrier that protects him from everything, aside from the Ancient Dragon, and he is still scared sh*ttless... more>> when he is forced to fight, even when he is not attacked, he is scared! I can understand once or twice, but as the novel progresses he becomes more of a coward. There is no using wits to succeed, he can basically sell things from his unique skill and things Fenrir catches so there is nothing in that department either. This is just a novel about a gutless chicken who cooks for monsters and waits for them to do everything for him. If Fenrir wasnt here, MC would have died, because he would be too scared to walk on the streets. It was just a giant cringefest all around, the only upside is that the monsters are awesome, if something changes Ill pick it up again, but till then, I dont wanna see this novel again. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
Ze Tian Ji
May 4, 2018
Status: c779
The only regret I have about this novel is that 5 stars is the highest score I can give it. Of all the novels I have read up until now, this one is the absolute number one. Finally a main character that is not an arrogant asshole who thinks no one could reach his knees. The best part of this novel is its characters, and as someone who puts more emphasis on that when reading novels I have no complaints. Now, first a warning, MC is not like usual cripled... more>> genius characters out there, he needs more then 150 chapters just to start cultivating and most of the readers wont like that since he gets bullied a lot in that time, but to me the first 150 or so chapters were the best of the whole novel. At first, I was shocked. THERE IS ACTUALLY A CHINESE MC THAT SOLVES HIS PROBLEMS WITH WORDS!!! All other chinese novels keep saying how mature their MCs are and then they kill through all their problems for stupid reasons. But, the MC of Ze Tian Ji shows what maturity is all about, he ignores those that insult him and always thinks ahead. Even when he gets stronger he does not go back simply to kill the people who insulted him. That doesnt mean he is weak willed, he is often stubborn and does things according what he thinks is right. What I found the best about this novel is romance. Even though it takes awhile to happen, it made me puke rainbows when it came to it. What was the best part is that the female lead is actually more talented and stronger then MC so it is actually him who needed to prove himself to her rather then have her jump in his lap on the first sign of his awesomeness, which I found incredibly interesting and engaging. I could go on for hours explaing everything that is great about this novel. All characters have depth to them, villains and heroes alike, plot is great and always keeps you invested and all around I couldnt find a single complaint. I sincerely recommend this novel to everyone <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
The Dungeon Seeker
February 17, 2018
Status: --
KILL, KILL, KILLLLLLL!!!!! MUAHHAAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

Yeah, I just described this novel. Imagine in Arifureta when Hajime said that he would have degraded into a ruthless monster if he didnt meet that vampire girl. Yep, this novel is that "what if" scenario. And let me say: IT IS BRUTAL! No harem, no girls clinging to MC and admiring his strength (there is one later on, but not a harem and only briefly) and no escaping the dungeon. This is a full on dystopian dark fantasy where everyone is a psychopath, sadist or usually... more>> both. Rape, torture, murder, mind break or any other f**ked up sh*t. You name it, this novel has it. Anyway, the only reason I put four stars and not five is because I am not hardcore enough for this. If somebody says that LNs and anime are for kids show them this. Corpse Party's got nothing. This is 100 times more graphic and there arent even no pictures. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?
February 15, 2018
Status: --
A f**king disappointment. Nothing else, I liked it so much. The spider surviving in the dungeon, steadily growing stronger. I read the manga and had such great expectations, but everything went to hell. The side stories are basically a giant spoiler which break the plot completely. I was pretty pissed, but, hey, I thought that seeing how the personality of the character changes to the one of the side stories might be interesting, but no. She basically turned from a cutesy and strong spider to a Hitler in one chapter... more>> and the context was omitted completely. I stayed for a few more chapters, but that's it. The plot will probably connect later on, but I dont plan on reading a novel of 300+ chapters while playing tetris with plotlines and context. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
Ascendance of a Bookworm
March 22, 2018
Status: c68
This is a great story which shoukd be rated 5/5 if the main character wasnt a bookworm. It isnt even a bookworm at this point. She is a drug addict looking for a fix, the only difference is that instead of heroin, it is books. Yeah, I dont even know how to describe it better. But anyway, a great story that has a great plot and premise. If you look past the weird as all hell bookgasms and who knows, you might even find it funny so I recommend this... more>> one. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
February 18, 2018
Status: --
Everyone is an asshole. Just deal with it. This novel is about assholes, not evil people, just simply assholes. Kaitos companions - assholes, Minnalis's village - assholes, everyone in the kingdom - assholes. If you want a story about evil characters and dystopia Dungeon Seeker is better than this. Kaito is a guy who saved the world and killed the demon lord than was killed by the kingdom he saved and that made him pissed (well if you wanted to quell unrest after the war I think using the hero... more>> as the beacon of hope, instead of backstabing him would be a better idea, but royals are assholes so never mind). I think if your daughter and wife are getting lynched by angry mob, you wouldnt simply sent them to slavery without second thought like Minnalis's father did (but again he is an asshole) and if your best childhood friend just risked your life to save you, you wouldnt simply betray her right away like Minnalis's childhood friend did (but again she is an asshole). Bottom line is that you are evil if you do terrible sh*t because you enjoy it or because you have a good reason for it. When you do evil stuff for incredibly stupid and petty reasons (like the princess who hated Kaito as soon as he was summoned and procceded to betray him even after he saved the world or Minnalis's father and childhood friend who sold her and her mother to slavery without second thought just because beastmen are "despised" in their country), then you are an asshole. But the reason I gave this novel 3 stars and not 1 is because Minnalis and Kaito are just as pissed as I am (and the way they show it simply feels good). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
This novel isnt half bad. The thing that I like is that the main character is realistic. He thinks things through and acts accordingly. Some may complain that the main character is cut and dry, but all his actions so far were based on reason so he is actually pretty good. But the problem is everything else. Author made main character too overpowered too quickly. The same problem as Death March, there is apsolutely no suspence because MC will fix it right away and I get that is given since... more>> he was the strongest mage, but if that is so the author should focus more on side characters and main characters personal problems (like his lack of social interaction) rather then fights like in Death March. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
Douluo Dalu
April 27, 2018
Status: c183
Douluo dalu in my opinion is novel that is great for starters. It is entertaing and engaging and it shows what chinese novels are all about. But, if you have read more of the chinese novels before it. It becomes near impossible to finish. The author of Douluo dalu is one of the best authors out there. He makes great plotlines, believable villains, interesting and creative cultivation... However, there is one thing the author always messes up and that is the main character. Every single one is flawed in some... more>> way. This MC basically went insane around 150 chapter (I dont mean he turned into a psycho, Altough he did in sense, I mean he legitemately went crazy) and I dont blame him. This novel is basically made so every single tragedy imaginable happens to him. Also he gets all the power ups and by the time you get to the later chapters there is no one who can challenge him so the author pulled some from his arse. But, anyway Doulao dalu 2 and 3 are actually better and have not disappointed me (so far). To better understand the story you might want to go through this, but I personally think it is unecessary. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
Common Sense of a Duke’s Daughter
March 21, 2018
Status: c96
This is an amazing novel which deserves all the praise it gets so I am not going to bother explaining why it is amazing and I am just going to say not to drop this series just because asianhobbyist took it. Just watch it on other sites like lightnovelsonline and enjoy. This show is too good to be dropped because of some greedy translators
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
Dungeon Defense
February 22, 2018
Status: --
This is an amazing story of an antihero who strives to send out a great message to the world:

GIT GUD, CASUL!!!!

This novel is when somebody of the PC Master Race plays Dark Souls competatively with someone who plays only candy crush saga. Like, destruction and then humiliation. A guy gets thrown into the world of one of the hardest strategy games in existence with a difficulty set on LUNATIC (that is the name of the difficulty, yeah, I know) and with avatar of the weakest demon king in the game.... more>> And just casually mindf**ks anyone who stands in his way. There are a lot of people who are saying that he turned into a total psychopath in the second volume, but actually in my opinion MC became a lot more human in the second volume. The reason for his insanity is love. MC had fallen in love, and as someone who has a yandere blood in his veins (courtesy of mother dearest), he tries his best to understand the intent of his loved one which is for him rather difficult since the emotion is alien to him and since his loved one is just as f**ked up as he is, the result is rather bloody. To those that are feint of heart dont get into this novel and keep your purity and for those who love strategies and ruthlessness hop aboard. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
February 28, 2018
Status: --
An amazing novel. What I always hated about chinese novels is that MCs are too quick to kill. They show no remorse or any conflicting feelings. Most times it is because MCs killed a lot before the start of the novel so the sentiments are already gone. However, this novel shows the growth of the MC. When he first killed somebody, he felt sick and guilty. Some novels do that, but after the first kill MC can simply kill without blinking. In this novel MC shows discomfort for bloodshed and... more>> only after suffering through painful lessons does he start to grow coldhearted which makes him much more relatable and understandable. Most chinese novels just explain how the MC got betrayed in some half assed flashback to justify his actions, but this novel shows true character development. How the MC changes through various experiences and becomes a different person. If there is one thing I dont like about this novel, it is romance. I heard this author wasnt really good with romance before I started reading, but it is really bad. All that I understand about the female lead is that she is cold and beautiful which is mentioned A LOT of times and is clearly bullsh*t. The female lead gave treasures that saved MC's life for no reason. She basically talked with him 2 or 3 times both of which lasted about 2 or 3 sentences and gave him a few treasures in exchange for some cheap cosmetics and then we dont see her for about 80 chapters. Then suddenly she is shown randomly in some sect and it is shown that she still kept the cosmetics without using them or selling them (which is supposed to be romantical). I dont even understand why they brought up the cosmetics, since they were cheap and ordinary. Why would she even need to sell them? She was in a better sect so they are bound to have better cosmetics. Before that chapter there was no indication whatsoever that she was in love with the MC. At best she had the image of an older sister, at worst, she was a pawn the MC used to get through the Outer sect without getting into troubles. When they meet again author sets up some romantic mood that, if you read everything up until that point, feels so forced and unnatural, it would have been better if that was their first encounter and they both fell in love at first sight. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
The Death Mage Who Doesn’t Want a Fourth Time
February 17, 2018
Status: --
It is not bad, but what killed it for me is that every single friend MC has is under the effect of Death Charm, it gives of a feeling as if everyone is hipnotized by him. All around is an Ok novel, I personally didnt really liked it, but that opinion is purely subjective, I dont like MCs that live as if everyone around them is out to kill them and every person in the series is divided into three categories: loves MC like a god, is an absolute asshole... more>> with no redeemable qualities and those that are targets of revenge and nobody cares about their personality. This novel takes inspiration from chinese novels and I dont see that as bad, the plot is well executted and has many good points all around, if it is your cup of tea, you ll enjoy it. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
Against the Gods
December 22, 2017
Status: c127
What can I say about this novel? It's good, great even. I didn't read a whole lot, but I have praises and complaints for this novel. I'll put praises first. Great world building and plot. The action is also extraordinary. Yun Che's schemes are also a fun read (although quite ruthless and shameless). Power system so far also works even though it does follow the standard pattern. As for the complaints the only ones I have is ungodly amount of plot armour. I understand it is xianxia novel, but still,... more>> waaaay too much. Yun Che is at first shown as someone who has no power whatsoever and can't cultivate, yet he is constantly arrogant to extreme (some like MCs like that, some don't), which I can tolerate, but his arrogance should have killed him countless times.
Spoiler

When he swindled Xiao branch sect for their money, then left his own signature to spite them which almost got him killed for example

[collapse]
If you are making a "crippled genius at start" kind of story at least make him kind of low key. Also, how the hell can he be a genius doctor without equal at the age of 17. His master may be amazing, but I highly doubt that amazing. There is also a complaint that almost everyone has and that is that Yun Che always provokes and bullies his enemies and then is portreyed as a champion of justice after he beats them
Spoiler

when he provokes and offends all major sects in New Moon City and then when Xiao Luochang goes to destroy him, he says he didn't do anything to deserve his hate and that he'll destroy him first (which he does and, oh boy, it was fun as hell). True, the real reason Luochang wanted to kill him was because he wanted to crush Yun Che before he could treaten him (oh, the irony...), but Yun Che had no way of knowing that because he isn't a mind reader. At first when Yun Che said he didn't do anything to deserve his animosity, I thought he was being sarcastic.

[collapse]

But all things aside, this is a good novel and anyone who loves an MC who destroys anything that gets in his way (including women). This is a novel for you <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
Goblin Kingdom
February 11, 2019
Status: --
This is a great story with great world building and characters. It is essentialy motivated by chinese novels to the point that it really feels like reading a xuanhuan novel, but with a certain japanese touch to it. The main character is great but not overpowered, which is often the problem with japanese novels. I am glad that main character needs to work to get where he is. As far as re:monster similarities go, aside from both characters being goblins and kings, I see no further similarities. This novel is... more>> far superior in pretty much everything. Re:monster is just standard cliche isekai in comparison. The only problem I might have with this novel is that it centers around goblins, and that is because it feels unrealistic that the state of goblins was so bad before the MC appeared, since after evolving once their intelligence is already almost at the level of humans and even before the MC came they had a functioning society, taking in consideration how easily they can evolve (MC and everyone evolved to their limits in barely 2-3 years). And after that you just forget that they are goblins completely by how humanlike they are. I would have liked, if author used the setting of beastmen or elves, but I realise that I am nittpicking at this point. 5/5 great novel <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tykos
Tykos rated it
Otome Game Rokkushuume, Automode ga Kiremashita
April 19, 2018
Status: c62
This novel is like watching everyday life. It is really boring. The MC is a girl who was trapped inside the villanesses body and forced fo live through her mistakes over and over again and on the sixth try she suddenly got back her control. The novel itself isnt bad and MC is very realistic and her actions are understandable. However, she is deadly afraid of the capture targets because of the trauma she went through when she was in auto mode and as a result she always avoids meeting... more>> the capture targets which again is understandable, but that essentially is the entire novel - her avoiding the targets. The author keeps forcing the main character to meet the targets, yet once they do meet she only thinks about escaping and most times doesnt even talk with or just exchanges few words and that is it. She confronted one of the targets so far and for the next 20 or so chapters she kept repeating how scared she is and how much she regrets her actions. If the author wants the plot to move along he needs to either force MC to converse with the targets or completely eliminate the targets from the story or make them villians because so far the plot is just running in circles and going nowhere fast. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report