Report Review
12 Reviews


Tully
Tully rated it
Ark
October 20, 2018
Status: Completed
First of all, one should notice that most of those who rated below 4 or 3 were not even able to read even half of the novel. Yes, they were only able to see the tip of the iceberg. Fortunately for many, this is complete already therefore, you can appreciate the plot development much better. It's worth it, I promise.

Well I finished this already awhile back. I diligently waited for updates while it was still in progress. Now there's a Sequel called 'Ark The Legend'. I'm disappointed that a lot... more>> of people keep comparing this to LMS and Weed when they are clearly different. I'm a critical reader, I don't finish books based on character development, plot, etc. But I finished this book.

1. Good pacing. If you read stallion novels, you'd find out this novel is quite good--it doesnt rush. It allows for a normal pacing. The author knows how to prolong and shorten arcs. It's not perfect but it's better. I never liked fast-paced novels, with too OP characters. I'm a real novel reader, online and hardbound.

2. Ark has relatable motives. People in the comments under the chapters kept complaining about him being a scammer. At some point he is but this is not a transmigration novel to a game world. He's really playing a game. And Ark knows that. He emphisizes that to him playing is earning money for his family not leasurely like the others. You must read the novel in the context of the character, not yours.

3. The side characters are awesome. You'll see more of them in future chapters. But I really love the supporting line-up esp. His best bro hahah and let us not forget his pets. You'll be able to appreciate each of of their charms. And Ark treats them based on their character. If you think deep enough how to treat people, you'll understand why he responds harshly to one of his pets. That's why I really love the author, she seems well-read or someone with deep understanding of human nature.

4. Not much emphasis on romance. Which I think is good. Ark is very focused on his gameplay.

5. He's really hidden. Like I can't explain how awesome how he's truly hidden and how the reveal is so satisfying.

6. The antagonists aren't all disposable. You'll understand what I mean when you reach the end and read the Sequel.
Spoiler

Alan gets his bad ending in Ark but he shows up in the sequel. You'll see something surprising.

[collapse]

Well that's it. Just read level-headedly. Dont read on your own terms but based on the character's motives and personality. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tully
Tully rated it
Witch Questions and Answers
August 6, 2016
Status: c2 part2
I really like the premise of this story. It's a very heartwarming, fluffy and light read. It has a lot of potential and so far all the introduced characters are very likeable. The chapters are jampacked with surprises some that are not very surprising and some that made me flabbergasted. Just read and find out. Also the translation is very good. The only downside is the slow translation. I hope the translator continues this story very soon because I am looking forward to reading what comes next.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tully
Tully rated it
If You Are a Dodder Flower
June 27, 2019
Status: c34 part2
I can't help but say this is a brilliant portrayal of human nature.

  1. The MC is very self-aware. Out of all the rebirths and second chances I have read, I acknowledge that she is cut above the rest. Now, when I look back to those MCs, I feel kind of sad to realize how lacking in character they were compared to her. She's very simple, mature, realistic. She was never seeking revenge so the lack of dog-blood drama is a plus.
  2. The characters are complex. No one is good or bad, they are all greys. The author was able to portray how the treatment of a person depends on circumstance and identity. In reality, human relationships are indeed that much complex. That is especially true in the concept of rebirths or second chances. Your friend now can be your enemy in the rebirth.
  3. Pacing is great. The author knows what specific events and character realizations are appropriate in order to push forward changes in feelings and POVs--something I quite appreciate. Reading this book gives you a steady and quiet feeling much like the temperament of the MC and the Cao Family.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tully
Ah another treasure needing to be cherished. Woah sounded so perverted there.

Anyway. Here's the real review: This novel has great potential. The premise is good and the MC is likable, rational and level headed. No harem making here, only a villain trying to go down the beautiful path of villainy (my biasss). The translation is good and the flow of the story is smooth. I like how the MC, although being the author, doesn't exactly know everything that's going on since reality filled all the gaps in his actual novel.... more>> It adds the thrill. I'm looking forward to future translations :) <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tully
Tully rated it
At the Northern Fort
August 7, 2016
Status: --
This is one of the novels I'm always waiting for an update. I will just go and directly rate it 5 because I have no doubt that it has great potential. The lead is soooooooooo cute and adorable that I want to reach out and squish her inside my laptop screen. The the flow of the story is so smooth that you can easily visualize everything that is written. The translation is also good. The downside is the slow translation which I can't bring myself to complain since I'm following... more>> the light novels that the translator is focused on translating first which are "I'll Live My Second Life!" and "Kenkyo. Kenjitsu O Motto Ikite Orimasu"--both very good novels.

This is a very good light and feel good read :) <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tully
Tully rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
August 5, 2016
Status: c74
This is one of my favorite light novels for a reason. First, the translation is very good. The grammatical errors are minimum and the pacing and wording of the story is understandable and short. Secondly, the characters are fully fleshed out. The readers are given time to get acquainted with the side characters of the story even those with a minor role are either reintroduced or mentioned in future chapters. Unlike other novels where minor characters just disappear all of a sudden or die off from mysterious circumstances. The protagonist... more>> is likeable and the story is so heartwarming and funny that even if the romance is subtle you wouldn't really mind. I especially like how some of the side character's POV's are given and how the author still manages to maintain the mysterious nature of the male leads. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tully
Tully rated it
I Alone Level-Up
June 22, 2019
Status: Completed
Already finished this, including the side stories and truthfully, this is one of the best light novels I have read.

1. The plot is amazing and unpredictable to a certain extent. Everything makes more sense as you read more so it goes to show that the author made an effort. The side stories are golden haha The dry humor is amazing.

2. The character development is amazing for all characters involved. The MC becomes less emotional during the mid arcs but he retains his basic humanity. At first I was scared that... more>> he was going to be the trope scum MC but surprise, surprise, he did not. The author is a cheat, as he tries to brush Korean/ Japanese LNs stereotypes, only to pull back the next second. I managed to love all side characters.

3. There is no harem which is a plus for me. The romance only comes at the end, literally. The story focuses on the MC's desire to get stronger and protect the people around him.
To confused people and GainedWheat0:

Spoiler

To those who got confused about Esil. She's a demon king's subordinate. Therefore, she's probably just a "remnant" or a memory of Baran's army since Baran was already killed by Osborne in the Chaos world. Esil is a soldier and her family is a low rank, therefore they would have been dispatched earlier during the war in Chaos World. The fact that Baran got killed means those at the frontline died first. They were just probably made by the Architect.

[collapse]

4. One of the most touching endings and most relatable MCs.

Major Spoiler about the ending and the reason and implications:

Spoiler

The MC is someone who cherishes life, humans and his soldiers as well. So his decision at the end was true to his values and he indeed made the most easy decision for everyone but hardest on himself. The sides stories would help others to understand more but personally, if you're immersed to the story and know about loss you'd get his decision right away. Osborne respected that part of the MC because they both had unwavering loyalty and love for the people around them and self-sacrificial.

I respect how the author stayed true to his character's wishes. Jin-woo chose a life where people didn't have to lose anyone due to the gates or to the eternal sleep. Even if he chose to continue after, the loss and grief would have been immense. Normal people would still continue to die after the war since only Hunters are able to adapt in the new earth.

[collapse]

Anyway in response to the dilemma of most reviewers here. Solo leveling can be good or bad depending on the point of view of the reader. If it is the game element and standard weak to strong LN, this novel falls short. Simply because it eliminates the element of competition. However, if you read it as an actual novel, plot-wise, depth-wise, this novel stands out. The meaning of Solo Leveling is definitely not the one-layer definition of him just being the only one becoming stronger. As you read on, you get to realize it means being strong enough to shoulder everyone's burden. That is the ultimate definition of being strong. It goes beyond the coolness factor of having an OP, to the threshold of meaningful literature. Truthfully, alot of popular LNs here fall short of the true essence of literature. That is, literature must have a soul. Therefore, it has to be relatable, moving, alive, and meaningful. I've always chosen to only review novels who have essence or atleast the potential to have one. As a reader, I encourage everyone to dig deeper than the surface for this is truly a treasure. For example, the concept of him being chosen, the question of who is truly good or bad, etc. I find that this and Praise the Orc! And black haze share those qualities. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tully
Tully rated it
Can I Not Marry
August 7, 2016
Status: --
I'm the kind of person who drops a novel even if a small element feels wrong. I have rated this novel 5 because no matter how many times I've put it back because I got bored and almost dropped it, it revived my interest once again which is a very rare occurrence. For one I like the consistency of this novel, the personality of the characters are consistent till the end--yes even the male lead. I knew from the very beginning that he had a fishy personality. The female lead... more>> is a simpleton but amazingly I actually like her. Her airheadedness is likeable and not annoying like other characters (maybe because this is a Chinese novel (??)). I really found her funny and the male lead is not an arrogant prick that you would wonder why the girl falls for him. Not to mention the romantic and 'teasing' scenes really came across well---I felt the romantic tingles. I suffered from a lot of second-hand embarrassment from this novel. Ah Dudu really.

Somehow they are like a jig saw puzzle that fits perfectly together. I commend the author and translator for this novel. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tully
Tully rated it
True Star
August 5, 2016
Status: c114
To those people who are not into Boy's Love, this novel is still a very good read. Unlike other yaoi novels this doesn't really focus on the sexual acts but rather on the character development of the protagonist and everyone around him. I like how the protagonist is strong minded and calm which reflects his actual age. Although in later chapters there are times that I find that the protagonist's personality is inconsistent.

I also would like to commend how the author slightly deviated from the usual transmigration by having... more>> Fiennes acknowledge the important role of the original owner of the body, Feng Tan by wholeheartedly assuming his identity. I find it dislikeable when the original owners in transmigration/ reincarnation stories are just thrown away into the trash bin and incinerated when the MC takes a full attitude change. This is displayed by how the protagonist refers to himself as Feng Tan and not Fiennes. On the other hand the romance, in the side of the MC is still a mystery to me. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tully
Tully rated it
Ark The Legend
May 19, 2019
Status: Completed
Not as good as the prequel
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tully
One of the best horrow genres, surprisingly it is BL too.

So far we are at the first arc. I can't really critique it well unless I finish the first arc but so far the TL is doing a great job. The scenes are suspenseful and it gives you the chills that a horror genre should give. The interactions are quite comedic which is a nice touch, like a spring breeze. It helps diffuse the melancholic atmosphere. Moreover, you have to remember that MC is inside a "typical horror movie" so... more>> there are plotholes that even the MC points out. As a horror enthusiast, I'm looking forward how the author would tie the lose ends. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tully
Tully rated it
A Slight Smile is Very Charming
August 6, 2016
Status: --
I've already finished this novel in one sitting way back--that's just how good it is. What can I say? This novel is pure perfection. The female and male lead are perfect for each other--I absolutely love their interactions and the romance is not too abrupt but gradually heightens. I was very satisfied with the ending as well. Everything was sorted out well in the end. I really like how the female character is so composed, mature and wise while the male character is calm and nosebleed worthy. And lastly everything... more>> was written beautifully!

I really really recommend it! <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report