Report Review
24 Reviews


Timid
Timid rated it
The Godsfall Chronicles
January 8, 2019
Status: c120
Honestly, I don't like this much.

The MC is like a pogo stick, bouncing from one near death ass pull to the next.
    • There's the brink of death teleport to another place ass pull.
    • About to die saved by another character ass pull.
    • Almost dead and suddenly goes berserk ass pull.
    • Wounded, dying, but then it actually makes him stonger ass pull
    • Enemy doesn't finish him off ass pull
I've only read 100 odd chapters and yet all those things listed above have been used multiple times. The whole story so far has been the MC jumping from danger to danger, and getting his ass kicked. Worst thing about it is if he had enough time to kind of sit down and semi/cultivate for a while, he might be strong enough to not get kicked around by everyone and their mother.

But that hasn't happened.

Another problem is that every character other than the MC are horrible people in a screwed up world, and yet he's kind of a do gooder dipsh*t. The worldbuilding set up would be perfect for a scheming sociopath MC, or a meticulous planning MC to thrive in. Yet what we get is a kind of timid weak Naruto type. It also doesn't help that the other characters generally only start becoming likeable just before the author kills them off.

All in all this just isn't as good as the reviews indicate.
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
Strongest Abandoned Son
December 6, 2017
Status: c100
Some novels on this site with low ratings are real diamonds in the rough, with only slight problems bringing the average rating down. This isn't one of those novels, it's pretty awful. Complete amateur hour, EVERYTHING in the story hinges on miraculous coincidences. Every meeting, every plot point.

If MC sets up a doctor stand, one of the four charms he made is amazingly exactly the type needed to wake up someone he's never seen from her vegative state coma. All the characters he randomly meets and helps, keep on just... more>> running into each other for no reason at all. Even in a desert that no-one is ever supposed to go in. The 'desert of death' millions of miles big he keeps coincidentally running into people constantly.

I tried to give this a chance, but this author is soooo bad. Why would anybody bother translating his stuff? I don't get it. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
The Novel’s Extra
October 3, 2018
Status: c120
The early story is engaging and the plot is pretty tight. An author getting transported to their own created world is an interesting premise. It also gets extra points for making Kim Hajin initially a ill defined side character, and having him overcome the challenges from that standpoint. Also, the RPG type cheat system isn't too bad. Not hugely overpowered for the world.

That being said, my initial rating of 5 has dropped down to 3 by chapter 120. There are just so many plot threads that seem to be getting... more>> away from the author. For example

Spoiler

*Early on MC finds a dungeon that only he knows about, yet he's done nothing about it.

*He gets an evolving weapon from the dungeon that we see the stats of once, then never again. Despite the fact it would now have upgraded as it was a growth weapon.

*He's got a cheat that can look up anything, yet he doesn't use it to help his friends brother anonymously from the Demon Seed/Coma. Instead he has a one track mind to kill him to raise tension. Seriously, there's so many other ways he could have gone about this.

*The shop he's set up on the dark web answering questions could be interesting, and bring in new plot threads. So far it's pretty pointless, though.

*His replacing the original MC of the story as the Harem Master is getting a bit annoying.

[collapse]

Actually it's weird that my favorite bits of the last 50 or so chapters are the slice of life moments with his psuedo daughter and pet cat. It's too cute, and calming. Yet none of that has impacted the main storyline even the slightest, which I'm beginning to find pretty forgettable. I keep reading in anticipation of her meeting the rest of the characters, rather than whether he beats the Djinns or something. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
Chaotic Sword God
December 9, 2017
Status: --
Awkward, stilted writing and bad dialogue. Trying to read this is a chore, and a rating of close to 4 stars is flattering for this story.

Reading stories rated below 4 stars has been a mixed blessing. For every Martial God Asura or Castle of Black Iron that I really enjoyed despite their flaws, there seems to be 3 like this.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
Pursuing Immortality
July 3, 2018
Status: c80
This is all pretty horrible, although it starts off quite good. A loner type of guy working at a stall on a mountain tourist attraction in the modern world, stumbles into cultivation after saving a strange squirrel from a snake. Then it sets up some interesting world building.

  • A mysterious mountain valley.
  • Established sects that have lost their inheritance.
  • Animals and insects that are growing bigger and stronger as the worlds atmosphere changes
  • Incense that the MC creates starts to have mystic effects
All plot points that either get forgotten about, or ended in the... more>> most anticlimactic way possible. While the MC (semi) dates some random woman in some of the most boring scenes I've ever read. At this point you couldn't pay me to read this. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
A Will Eternal
December 25, 2017
Status: c326
Best story on this site, hands down. Has both my favorite main character, the best world building and the most authentic comedic moments of any Chinese novel. This is the only story I actually follow chapter by chapter rather than wait until a large backlog of releases builds up.

Situations frequently spiral out of control in ways that I can't predict and it makes this authors past work (which is pretty great) look dull by comparison.

Read it.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
Legend of the Supreme Soldier
December 19, 2017
Status: c150
I actually really like this author, my second favorite CN author behind Er Gen. This story (I'm assuming) must be his early work, since it's not good at all. It doesn't even read like it's from the same guy. Mind you, I'm pretty sure the translations on this are REALLY bad. So it's hard to tell how much of it is the fault of the translation. Sadly, this isn't even good enough to read as a time waster between better stuff.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
King of Gods
December 9, 2017
Status: c420
A pretty inoffensive cultivation novel, this is about as close to generic as it's possible to get. A main character who's perfectly serviceable. World building close to the industry standard. The usual early cheat item. Enemies who are... there, and have the usual jealousy/greed motives. This is roughly on par with True Martial World.

Most sections could comfortably slip into another similar story with only name changes.

For a new reader this novel may reach 4 Star, but for anyone who's read a lot of this genre (and seen it done better... more>> elsewhere) it's a 3 Star. The biggest problem is it lacks tension, by the time MC confronts people in a fight he's strong enough that it's pretty easy. The truly powerful people don't get involved due to 'face' and so he doesn't really have a challenge.

The one big sect he's going to face off with at some point is pretty passive. It's introduced early, but never seemed that menacing since there's no time limit on when they start 'world domination'. Frankly, they'll start moving exactly when the MC reaches the required level of power/connections that he can go back and deal with them, so I'm not looking forward to that arc. Currently it's worth a read, and may even pick up and become more interesting when the story ascends to a more powerful continent than the one he grew up in. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
Sundering Nature
July 28, 2019
Status: v6
I should like this, but I don't. The main problem is Li Yiming the main character. He's good natured and dumb as a brick, and is constantly being saved by plot miracles. Or a companion sacrificing themselves to save him, like a bad shounen Anime. Which is annoying, but not an absolute game changer. As the general writing and translation are quite good. However, he is constantly screwing things up and his very presence seems to endanger the innocent people around him. An entire city is wiped out because of... more>> him. Another city destroyed. Also, his friends and companions are screwed over royally by being involved with him. It's become a running theme that pretty much all the danger and death can be traced back to either bad decisions he's made, or just by him being there. It seems I can stand a MC who indiscriminately kills, or assaults a woman if it serves a plot point. But watching a good-natured fool inadvertently doing the same thing, or allowing it to happen really gets my goat. Who knew? <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
Ancient Strengthening Technique
December 7, 2018
Status: c15
I tried reading this despite the low review score. Hell, I like MGA despite it's score, so I thought 'how bad can this one be?'

Answer: It's pretty bad.

Due to one particular moment of abysmal characterization in the first ten chapters, I knew this story wasn't for me. Let's set the scene. The MC has always been unable to cultivate. Suddenly at the age of 8, he finds himself cured. He now has a normal body.

So of course his Grandpa who loves him suddenly thinks "Initially, Qing Shui had a very... more>> weak constitution, unsuitable for practising martial arts. However, if Qing Shui ever managed to recover, he would surely be stronger than average when compared to people of the same martial realm. If he grew up, he would definitely become an exceptional genius, and given how much he loved his mother, he would absolutely seek revenge in the future!"

... wait, wut? Am I missing something here...

Then the Grandpa continues to think "However, now that he had recovered and was able to practise martial arts, it was unknown. In the future, would it be a blessing or tragedy for the Qing Clan..."

Honestly, even the suspension of disbelief isn't enough to get around that logic. It makes no sense, and is just pure bad writing. Dropped. Dropped like a brick. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
Realms In The Firmament
June 18, 2018
Status: c960
It starts off fairly good, though unoriginal. A superior cultivator becomes a noble young master after he dies in an upper realm. Then inconsistent characterization and a frankly re****ed scheming plotline makes the next 300 chapters almost unreadable. It's not helped by some awful translations, the worst line being

"The round routed force made a credit!"

Despite reading that line a few times I have no idea what it means.

There have been some interesting bits in the story, as well as parts so bad I just started skimming chapters until something interesting... more>> happened. The MC is a crapshow. Sometimes the author tries to make him smart, other times he's painfully thick. Best exemplified by him killing a cultivator in his new life and taking their storage ring, then being amazed at how much wealth is in it. He then reminisces that in his last life he was constantly poor even though he killed tens of thousands of enemy cultivators... and it never occurred to him to take their storage rings before.

The story does pick up a little once it gets to a higher realm... but it takes something like 800 chapters to get there. I'm not sure it was worth it. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
Castle of Black Iron
May 22, 2018
Status: c600
Let me start this review by saying that this story has HUGE and blatantly obvious flaws. The most egregious being that nearly all the male characters (including the Main Character) act like the creepily perverted guys you find in Japanese anime. In fact let me quote the second paragraph in the story to give you a taste of what I'm talking about...

"Those upright chimneys, however, reminded Zhang Tie of his p*nis and the black smoke his seminal fluid. They polluted air like how the liquid polluted his underwear. Although he... more>> couldn't remember who was in his dream last night, for the third time this week, he could feel something sticky inside his underwear."

... that is in the introduction paragraph for our main character Zhang Tie.

No sh*t.

Aside from that, surprisingly this story does just about everything right. There is good worldbuilding in a steampunkish cultivation world. An interesting power system. The MC doesn't have everything given to him, and really has to work to distinguish himself. He has quite a few moments of real danger that he barely manages to scrape through with intelligence and instinct. No deus ex machina moments or ass pulls.

There is some great Hunter x Hunter exam type situations. The first being a semi-wilderness survival test after just entering the sect, that reminded me a little of Lord of the Flies. Behind the scenes there are political situations as various countries and organizations are in conflict with each other. There are no generic 'Young Master' style antagonists.

The big flaws that leave this with such a garbage rating aren't central to the story in any way. for example one situation that puts people off is

Spoiler

At one point out of nowhere Zhang Tie suddenly gets popular with the ladies despite being an awkward pervert. Then over the course of a couple of chapters he has s*x with hundreds and hundreds of women. It's the only time he even gets even a second glance within the first 400 odd chapters, and right after it's finished he goes to another sect to be the scrub newbie at the bottom of the barrel, and it's never really mentioned again.

These few chapters serve... just zero story purpose, and could quite easily be cut out

[collapse]

Honestly I love this story. It's got some of the absolute best and most interesting plotting and situations in the entire CN industry. Yet the author does his best to shoot himself in the foot, over things inessential to the actual story.

One commonly quoted reason for hating this (according to other reviews) is racism. Honestly, I don't see it. This isn't set on earth, he just sort of borrows bits and pieces from it, and none of the races and sects are explicitly stated to conform to any in our world. Just think of it this way. The author of this work has a small, almost miniscule p****. So he's overcompensating in the story to make the MC better than him in real life, including having slightly better talent because of genetics.

Easily the best story rated below 4* on the site. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
The Strongest Gene
April 7, 2018
Status: c300
Not bad exactly, more a misstep in the execution. By having the cheat rely on a constantly replenishing luck pool, it takes a lot of the tension out of the story. Any situation you know it's going to be resolved by an arbitrary number of luck points being deducted.

Also, Author-San... who hurt you?

I'm guessing he's been mocked/screwed over on some social media platform or forum, and this story is his frustration bubbling over. Every plot point seems to be resolved online, through the protagonists mad posting skills. Half a cultivation... more>> novel, and half Qidian forums. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
Forty Millenniums of Cultivation
April 7, 2018
Status: c149
It started out pretty good, but gets worse the more you read.

Frankly the cheese is strong in this one. It wants to be one of those face-slapping novels, but the author can't manage it so it all gets done in a cartoonish way. There's also a lot of unnecessary details all over the place. Not worldbuilding, more like 'why has the author bothered to include that scene?'

It's all done better elsewhere.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
The Avalon of Five Elements
March 11, 2018
Status: c590
I have to rate this as... somewhat decent?

Not his best work, but readable enough.

There are so many negatives though.

    • Be prepared for way too many explanations on a myriad of stuff. There's the complicated five element system most people use. The Blood system that's introduced. MC has unique Sword Embryo System to start, before pinwheeling all over the place and redefining his cultivation system every 100+ chapters, all of which has to be explained in detail. Food has a rating system. Equipment has a rating system. So... many... explanations.
    • MC is basically Zuo Mo from World of Cultivation, only toned down and less interesting. No other real standout characters either. Get ready for a lot of constantly ongoing jokes with "Iron Lady" and "Elemental Cooking."
    • Not much has happened after 600 chapters, and the world feels small. There's been no exploration of ancient ruins or pocket dimensions. Nearly everything has happened in two small cities. Even sword upgrades happen from someone giving him a high tier sword, rather than having to work to find/steal one.
    • A lot of different perspectives that don't bring a lot to the story. Also a lot of drawn out fights that have no real point.
    • Also, this novel has hundreds of characters. Good luck keeping them straight. I made an effort to keep track of the 20-30 most used ones so I had some clue what was going on. Too often you'd find a chapter with one character you don't remember interacting with other randoms, and then have to try to figure out who it is.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
January 12, 2018
Status: c650
Starts off really good, as the MC (who has an OP cheat) has to deal with others like him that resemble various CN protagonists. Then it goes off the rails for a while once it gets past the initial good bits. Becomes a bit too political and dry at the expense of story.

After that arc it does start to pick up into a really interesting cultivation novel. The type with a smart main character. Even if it has lost some of the originality of the beginning.

Supporting characters are a bit... more>> 2D, but it's still a good read. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
Master of the Stars
September 28, 2018
Status: c280
This started off pretty interesting, but on the whole is a dreadful slog to read through. The first 40 hours in the novel takes 80 chapters to pass, and these are LONG chapters. I can't believe I made it to chapter 280, and I'm regretting the waste of my time to get there.

The whole story is mental battles not physical ones. So there's not much real world action happening, it's a lot of ill defined made up stuff. Yet every vague detail is described at such excruciating length that it's... more>> hard to take. There is a story here that I had an interest in, but the writing style has made sure I'll never come back to this in the future.

One thing to note is this story to date has well over 400 chapters, but this review is the only one past chapter 110. Should have told me something. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
Monster Paradise
February 26, 2019
Status: c20
Two stars... mainly because I couldn't force myself to read far enough in the story to drop it to one star.

What a weird story, it goes into a lot of unnecessary detail on trivial stuff. Yet leaves out basic explanations on things needed for a coherent story. To be fair I think a lot of the fault rests with some really bad translation. Also missing is explanitory worldbuilding. 20 chapters in and I'm not sure if the MC powers are normal, or it's something he has to hide.

Some examples... more>> of the wonky translation.

A monster summoner is an "Imperial Censor" for some reason. His cheating system is called a "Goldfinger." A forcefield type skill is called "Blood power layer". Makes it hard to follow. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
Tempest of the Stellar War
November 7, 2018
Status: c80
A Chinese Novel that has all the hallmarks of a bottom class Japanese Mech Anime.

  • Overpowered Mary Sue main character.
  • Boring slice of life school segments.
  • Sudden and cringeworthy 'romance'
  • Story is going nowhere
Honestly, I don't see the point of this. I mean sure, I get that there's military training on various different worlds and MC starts off at a low rank one. So he's going to show off his ability to be the best Mathematician, Physicist, Martial Artist, Pilot and anything else he comes across.

But why?

What are they fighting? So far there's no... more>> alien race. There's no War. No invasion. No point for a military at all. I'm not seeing the logic here. Dreadfully boring. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Timid
Timid rated it
The Path Toward Heaven
September 17, 2018
Status: c290
It started off okay, but gets progressively worse as the story goes on. The lazy main character I actually liked, but he's hardly in the story later on. The main problem I have with this is the setting. It's in a cultivation world, but without any of the usual trappings. There are no secret realms to explore. No cultivation resources to fight for. No sect strength rankings to improve on, and in the 300 chapters I've read there was only a single fight that was somewhat satisfying.

It's a cultivation novel... more>> stripped of all the interesting bits you find in this genre. In the end, all that stuff is replaced by a lazy pace and LOTS of talking and scheming. From a huge cast of characters you're not going to remember outside of a selected handful of main ones. It's also missing any sort interesting antagonist, or situation to resolve so all those endless words end up feeling pointless.

I liked Way of Choices... didn't like this. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report