Report Review
12 Reviews


TheDarkness
TheDarkness rated it
Martial World
March 26, 2016
Status: c238
A lot of these reviews seem to think that MW and TMW (the hugely popular sequel to MW) are the same. Very similar MC's, similar plot, and it is by the same author so naturally it has the same writing style too. And they are right, at the surface level they are the same. However they are important differences that one might not notice at a first glance.

Let's start with MC's, btw this will contain minor spoilers for the 2 chapters of TMW (True Martial World) so if you... more>> haven't read TMW I don't know why you would read this review, but you have been warned. Yi Yun, the MC ends up stuck in a cave and finds this purple crystal card and it transmigrates his soul into the body of a boy in another world thus beginning the story of true martial world. Now this is important, because it is why Yi Yun and Lin Ming are fundamentally different characters. Yi Yun being thrown into this new world with no memories (a twist to the new world trope) is forced to figure things out as he goes along and ultimately develops the mentality of a wanderer, and you can see that completely in the way he acts in the current arc of TMW. Where as Lin Ming is born and raised in his world, and thus shaped by it. This creates a rather unique contrast between the two. While Lin Ming is not the same as the cookie cutter young masters be offends or fights, he still allows himself to be pulled into their pace and play their games. Although he beats them at their game, he is still drawn in. Yi Yun is quite different, he is trickster. He never plays a full hand, he is a true wolf in sheep's clothing. It is quite fun to watch, he purposely baits people into ridiculous circumstances only for him to come out on top with only gains. He is cunning and manipulative. Lin Ming is much more straight forward and to the point. Not to say that he is less intelligent, it is just not his nature. Another difference is how they approach and view martial arts, the martial way, wudao, etc.

Lin Ming only sees the martial way, while he seeks strength, strength comes with his progress and thus it is just a secondary to him. Yi Yun pursues strength, he wants to see the pinnacle of strength and thus goes about this using martial arts. Now keep in mind there is no right answer in how you go about this, but they are not the same. What Yi Yun is doing is comparable to mountian climbing, while what Lin Ming is doing is akin to hiking. While a mountain climber enjoys the whole climb, they ultimately have the end goal of reaching the summit. And that is the most important part. While hiking is different. While the route has a end, the goal is not to reach the end but rather to enjoy the hike along the way. That is the difference here, and it manifests itself in these characters. And don't get me wrong, I am not saying Lin Ming doesn't want to be strong, nor am I saying Yi Yun doesn't value martial arts. But just take a look at how these two characters deal with their adversaries. And you will see the difference. Now I could go on and on, but I have stated my opinion. Whether you want to take at face value or not is your choice.

Also I forgot to mention, this author really has issues with pacing, where he is either on point, or completely f*cking with the reader. So at times in either story, things drag-on for a bit. I noticed this less in MW, simply because we get more chapters daily. But once you are caught up with either of them, you might not enjoy where you are left off. Other than that, MW is really soild.

As the story progresses, I will make edits as I see fit. But other than that if you see this review is unchanged, it is completely intentional.

And if you have made it this far and have no clue what I am referring to that probably means you haven't read TMW. In that case I suggest you not only read this, but you read TMW as well. <<less
240 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TheDarkness
TheDarkness rated it
Ze Tian Ji
May 15, 2016
Status: c170
Now if anyone who reads this has read one of my reviews before. Chances are, you see me mention ZTJ somewhere. Of course this isn't my subtle way of stirring people into reading it >.>. Rather it is because I consider this work to be the bar for excellent writting in this genre. The author does extremely well with this work. Stoic MC, who is extremely humble and yet stubborn with his bottom lines. He doesn't care what others think about as long as he can live with his choices.... more>> That makes for an interesting story. While is this ultimately about defying fate, and become something greater, it doesn't go about it like most works in this genre. The MC doesn't start off with an OP ability, he isn't from the future, Nor does he inherit a super strong legacy from a dead god. He is just a sickly scholar. Above all else this is a story about people. And you can see that in how the author handles his characters. He spends countless chapters developing the cast, and making the characters much more relatable. This often leds to the plot being put on the back burner, and a pacing that is sometimes unbearable slow. (7 chapters in one fight. 7. F*ck me man) But I can safely say despite these flaws, this work is amazing. And if you can get into it, you won't regret it. <<less
97 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TheDarkness
TheDarkness rated it
Martial God Asura
April 29, 2016
Status: c720
I am going to be blunt, the MC is quite hot blooded. That makes for a high paced, morally greyish plot. The title says it all, martial god asura, key word, asura. Now this novel naturally paints the MC in a slightly better light than he is. And because he is strong and confident, he attracts ladies. Now if you can get past the rather simple plot, completely action based pacing and lack of morals by all characters (say for a few people, very few) you will have an... more>> alright time. If you can't, don't bother. Some people give a poor review, but that is simply because they could not suspened their disbelief (a key point to fiction) and often let their personal bias effect their reviews. Objectively speaking MGA is alright. It is not spectacular, the writing is alright, the author does occasionally foreshadow, and also slows down the pace for rather important plot points, but other than that it is go go go. Making the plot advancement seem a bit inorganic, and artificial. I would rate this about a 3 or 3.5. 4 is really pushing it, 1 is just really a bias by others. It isn't completely trash, so I don't think a 1 is fair, even if you didn't like it. It goes without saying you shouldn't read any one the 1 reviews as they are incredibly biased, and really paint the novel far worse than it has.

Honestly give it a try, by chapter 100~ you will know if you like or not. As by then, the MC is pretty set in his ways. <<less
28 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TheDarkness
TheDarkness rated it
Sovereign of the Three Realms
April 29, 2016
Status: c132
Honestly this is like ZTJ, except the pacing is bit better, the character motivation is more clear and the fight scenes are not horridly paced. Now here is a few things about STR, there is a lot of foreshadowing. In fact, other than ZTJ, this is the only novel I have seen mention something minor several times, well it seems minor, but later plays a role in the story. Now I could elaborate, but that ruins the fun. However there is a case of Deus Ex Machina, a bit later... more>> into the story, naturally I was a bit annoyed, but because it was in the beginning (about 100 chapters in) and it served the purpose of furthering the plot, I am not too mad. Now some people are going to think about one instance in the story, and assume that I am referring to that, they are wrong. That was foreshadowed, now for the select few who know what I mean, congrats. Now onto to the main topic, this novel heavily relies on the interplay between scheming and human interactions. And often makes the writing and characters deeper than other works. Now here is the issue, pacing. A lot of works in this genre have consistently fast pacing, with a few breaks here and there. However here is the thing, in order to further the plot, or develop characters. The author slows down the pace a lot. This is probably the biggest issue so far and honestly annoyed me a bit when etvolare used to release about 2-3 chapters week (on to that, the translation quality is on point). But with about a chapter a day, the pacing isn't so bad that it left me craving for more, like a drug fiend. I gave this a 5/5, honestly it is a 4/5, but I really like the story. It gets all the things I like, I just hope the author adds a bit romance. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TheDarkness
TheDarkness rated it
Perfect World
May 15, 2016
Status: c134
This story is interesting. And there is a lot of reasons for this. The first is there is real development. We get to see the MC grow up, literally, and thus can clearly see him mature and change. Now a lot of people are like "why did he suddenly become an asshole". Well here is the thing, A) he kinda always was one, B) he was really only nice to people from his village, C) we spent so much time in the village we assumed that he was a nice... more>> guy in general.

He isn't. I am not gonna say he is a completely irredeemable as*hole MC, because that isn't true. But he certainly isn't nice. Now the second reason is this setting. The setting is in kinda medieval world, filled with extremely power beings with powerful bloodlines and humans rely on Guardian deities and cultivation to survive. However not everyone has aptitude, and these guardians can be killed. This leads to a rather hostile environment where you have to be careful of your surroundings, as even gods can be killed. The setting breeds cynicism towards people you don't know. It is almost a dystopian sort of world. And that all makes things very interesting.

That is why I give it a 4/5

It is an engaging read, now is it a ZTJ or TTNH, no. Completely different ball park. But it is really good for what is. And the author clearly knows what he intended to write, as the story rarely strays from what it was intended to do. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TheDarkness
TheDarkness rated it
The Nine Cauldrons
March 25, 2016
Status: --
The entire first book is before he reincarnates,

However it contains heavy foreshadowing towards the path of cultivation the MC takes in his next life. As well as builds on the experiences of his previous life. It is essential a long prologue that is somewhat essential to the plot. Whilst I have not read the second book yet, I have read previous works from this author. And I have got to say, most people don't give him enough credit. IET works do leave certain things for the reader to connect... more>> the dots before the twist or event happens. It is nice how you can see somewhat where the story is going but at the same time not having it completely thrown in your face like you are a retard.

So for now I will give this work a solid 5/7

Jk

4/5

I will give an official rating (as I don't want to go back and change it.) when I am caught up. Now if you are reading this 3 years from now when this has like 7 or 8 books done and you see no edits assume that my opinion is still standing. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TheDarkness
TheDarkness rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
May 15, 2016
Status: c190
If you have read TDG, it is essentially the same intial premiss. God-like item, MC gets murdered, is sent into the past by the item, but no longer has it when he is sent back but they know where to find it.

However the plot of the two heavily diverges from there. This novel forces more on dynamics between characters, their goals, and how they deal with what forces oppose them. In this work, the MC realizes that in order to achieve what he wants, he will have to oppose destiny... more>> and rewrite history as he knows it. Although he is extremely smart and cunning, he doesn't know exactly what will happen. This is different from TDG, where the MC seems to know everything and anything, then shits everyone who opposes him. No, it requires a bit more finesse to do what Chu yang does. And as the plot moves along, we get to see into the thoughts and motivations of the cast making this story a lot more deep and memorable. While cultivation is an aspect of this story, when you talk about TTNH it simply isn't just story about how the MC essentially becomes god. So while the initial premise is a lot like TDG, the plot and characterization is much closer to ZTJ in the sense that is slow and meticulous.

Honestly if you have read my reviews, ZTJ is the standard I set for a great novel in this genre. It is the bar for me. And TTNH meets the bar, so I give it a 4/5 <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TheDarkness
TheDarkness rated it
In Different World with Naruto System
July 22, 2016
Status: c35
Usually I avoid writing reviews this early in due to a lack of depth into the story, however I decided to break that rule for this story. Despite what title might lead you to believe, the Author isn't trying to recreate Naruto, or any of it's characters. In fact so far, the story has been about inverting tropes in this genre. Let's start off with the MC, his motivation is different from most people in this genre. They just want to become godly strong to make sure no one can... more>> f*ck with them. This MC however, just wants to go home. Most MCs in this genre are portrayed as somewhat righteous. Ren however is am asshole. Not villainous, not morally bankrupt, but an asshole. Cocky too. And you can see it through how he interacts with some of his friends. Then there is how fights, where unless he needs to, he rarely shows his hand. Honestly, if it weren't for the setting, and how the characters interact I wouldn't think this was a Chinese novel. However the chapters are short and more often than not you are left with feeling you want more. Honestly I would describe this story as CSG with a less murderous and more accessible MC. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TheDarkness
TheDarkness rated it
Imperial God Emperor
February 5, 2016
Status: --
Here is the thing, some people compare this to MGA.

I don't think that is correct. Don't get me wrong the MC is ruthless and shit. But here is the fundamental difference between him and chu feng. The MC doesn't quite give a f*ck about the pointless power struggles and all that jazz. In fact he made it a habit to stay low key and not butt heads with people. Then someone started to f*ck with his friend and he is like "f*ck that shit" and just shits on everyone. But... more>> even after that he maintains a clear disgust for power struggles and plotting. I wouldn't say he is hot headed, as it his of thought is rather straight forward. So I think the more correct wording would be that he is tyrannical and overbearing towards to his enemies. And spares no effort in killing them if he believes them to be a problem. Which is a bit different from the psychopathic known as Chu Feng. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TheDarkness
TheDarkness
Tales of Demons and Gods
May 28, 2016
Status: c300
I heard someone say that xianxia goes one of two ways, either the beginning is amazing and it quickly falls off later. Or the beginning is absolutely trash, but what follows is amazing. For the most part this novel follows this tread. Great beginning, and falls of heavily. I am not going to say that this novel is not worth reading, as that would be a lie. However anything beyond 3/5 isn't right in my opinion.

If you are looking for a decent read to kill your time, then this is... more>> for you. But don't expect some SSS+ ranked novel. Some people come down a little hard on this novel, but I don't quite agree with their opinion. Honestly you just are gonna have to read it to figure out if it is worth your time. Just don't be deceived by the beginning of this novel. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TheDarkness
TheDarkness rated it
Chaotic Sword God
January 14, 2016
Status: --
Okay story. Not like super great, but not a bad read. Only issue is how the MC has this fetish for killing people by slitting their throats. Like just count how many times he does this.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TheDarkness
TheDarkness rated it
The Magus Era
July 22, 2016
Status: c189
A good novel in my opinion. I don't have a lot to say, aside from the beginning is confusing as balls. Takes a while for things to make sense. Just power through the first 10 chapters and you should be fine-ish. Well in regards to understand. Key points

-grey morality

-MC isn't necessarily a good person

If you can't handle either of these two things, don't bother reading this novel. In the way morality is handled in this series is essentially the same as MGA. Strength is morality. Now in regards to the... more>> actual writing, it is alright. Pacing is better than most novels in this genre. The plot is rather upfront. What you see is what you get with this. Personally I like it. Magus Era is about a 3.5, but I gave it a 4 due to my personal enjoyment. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report