Report Review
45 Reviews


TerraEarth
The worst webnovel I've ever had the displeasure of reading.

Uninteresting side characters. Boring, hypocritical, typical beta-jap MC. An atrociously bad RPG system. The check-list goes on and on. This story leans heavily towards the SOL genre and lacks anything that could come close to resembling a coherent plot (which isn't necessarily a bad thing, except the characters are about as interesting to read about as dragging your face through a field of mud).

MC becomes OverPowered in his new-found RPG-Isekai life by pressing a cheat button that destroys god-level monsters and... more>> dragons that he just so happened to be surrounded by on his arrival to the new world (how convenient!).

In this novel's game-system, every level-up nets you 10 skill points which can be invested into just about any skill you could imagine: from shoveling dirt to stitching mittens, washing dishes, parlor tricks, sword-wielding, etc. You name it - the skill probably exists. This system is incredibly lack-luster and unpolished. The impotency of the RPG structure is to an extent that it's impressively bad.

For example - when it comes to learning to wield weapons, instead of having a broader weapon specialization you are forced to invest into each skill (weapon) separately. In reality, wielding one weapon should give you a better grasp of wielding weapons in general, yet these nuances are glossed over in this low-level story. You might be a master with a sword but you'll still be a novice with a Katana in this world. Logic!

To make matters worse, every time the MC discovers a new skill possibility - regardless of how pointless or useless it is - a popup text will appear describing the skill that was discovered. Imagine reading a chapter when suddenly you are flooded with popups for random skills with no relevancy. Word-padding at its finest.

Since MC gained thousands of these skill points for free, he wantonly wastes them by putting them in anything and everything - no matter how silly or useless the skill is. As he is both stupid and careless and has god-mode enabled from day 1, no thought or care is put into building his character or his constituent skillset. Why even make it a game-themed world if you're never going to implement it properly - what purpose does it serve?

As if these points weren't bad enough, the readers will have the pleasure of enduring innumerable (and pointless) POV chapters. As MC meets and befriends other characters - many of whom join his party - the readers are constantly bombarded with alternative POV chapters where the author thinks it's clever to show us the same thing from different points of view when it doesn't lend anything to the story and only serves as pointless filler. But hey, at the end of the day that's exactly what this novel is - pointless, poorly-written filler.

If I could give this 0 stars I would but unfortunately there's no option for that. Have fun. <<less
248 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
I Reincarnated For Nothing
November 15, 2017
Status: --
After reading most of EER I have to confess that I am not a big fan of 토이카. The first few chapters look like they may be interesting but knowing this author, I'm afraid of this novel coming to involve a cancerous tumor of one-dimensional side characters latching themselves onto MC and telling him how glorious he is for half the novel (cough, Everyone Else is a Returnee, cough). If it does I will drop it. Let's see if the author has improved from previous works (he probably hasn't). I'm... more>> willing to give this a chance.

I will rate when more chapters are released.

-----------------------------------------------------------

Update as of c5:

1."You even know about the Demon world. Artpe is amazing.!"

2. Despite that fact, she passively accepted everything he said by saying, 'Artpe is amazing!'

3."Artpe is really amazing!"

4."Yes, I'm amazing."

5."Artpe is really really amazing...."

That didn't take very long, in fact this has been going on since chapter 2. All of these phrases were taken from just a SINGLE chapter. I can only imagine how bad it will get when more cheerleaders - I mean characters - are introduced to MC's party. <<less
120 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
The Second Coming of Gluttony
October 14, 2018
Status: c35
This review was made after finishing the latest chapter (c35) available at the time.

One of the strongest intro arcs I've ever read. Second Coming of Avarice is interesting in how it initially sets up the main character - it does it in a way where you can't help but feel invested into seeing where he'll turn up on his journey. Additionally, he has one of the more interesting powers I've read of and it fits in very well with the novel's theme of personal growth and development - which is... more>> a mainstay in all novels that involve RPG mechanics, or at least it should be! Though it should also be mentioned that although his powers of

Spoiler

foresight

[collapse]

are unique in their concept, the implementation falls short:

Spoiler

Basically, most of his ability's functionality serves as merely a warning bell to varying degrees; i.e. It tells him on a scale of 1-10 how 'bad' or how 'good' a situation is and you must invest massive resources and potentially training to unlock another tier. The problem with this is, if you know a situation is 'bad', it doesn't do you much more good to be able to differentiate whether it's 'bad', 'really bad', or 'terribly bad' - all of these outcomes are unfavorable and should be avoided! The scope is dimmed with this particular enactment and I feel that it was poorly carried out. The caveat in this situation is that the skill does have a lot of potential and it could potentially be redeemed in the future, we will just have to wait and see.

[collapse]

It is frustrating to see MC invest so much time and effort to -upgrade- his innate ability only to read on in disappointment on how the evolution and development of the skill is carried out.

I'm currently rating this at a solid 5/5 stars, however that may change later on. Although the novel had a strong start, I could easily see it devolving into the ranks of the countless riff-raff gutter trash that you can easily find strewn about on this site.

Reading the latter chapters past the introduction I can see the novel falling into many of the same trappings as other Korean novels; namely, the focus on class templates and mechanics (tanks, healers, dps, mage, etc.). It lends nothing to the story other than being an annoying reminder of how Korean writers just can't get out of a certain mold of thinking where they just have to implement a restricted class system. Why? Because everyone else does it, of course, on top of the fact that Koreans love their grind-fest cookie-cutter MMOs (please spare me). Japanese novels have the same issues with their Adventurer Guild systems (which are equally annoying, by the way).

Adventurer guilds are an issue precisely because they deter from the fact that adventurers are supposed to be free and uninhibited, fantasy and exploration should be the rule here, not bureaucracy and rigid structure hiearchies. For much the same reason, the korean MMO class system adherence detracts from the fluidity and freeform styling that you would come to expect from a adventure fantasy/isekai.

It's an issue because real (or fantasty-based) combat is best when mechanics are smooth and uninhibited by unnecessary fetters and restrictions and in the case of Second Coming of Avarice I could see my interest levels plummeting as soon as they introduced the class system along with their version of 'dungeon runs' complete with a partying system where aforementioned warriors/healers/mages team up to split loot and exp (Are you snoring yet? Because I am). I'd like to give this novel the benefit of the doubt but statistically speaking I'm overwhelmingly convinced that these particular story devices are more bane than boon and that they have always detracted rather than added to a novel's enjoyability. <<less
82 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
That Person. Later on…
September 3, 2017
Status: prologue
Imagine everything that is wrong with Japan's WN/LN industry.

Beta-cuck MC? Check.

Vapid and tiresome wish-fulfillment? Check.

Incredulous amounts of power creep? Check.

MC is a *****-slaying chick magnet despite doing nothing to deserve being so? Check.

Over-reliance on tired tropes and generalizations rather than actually putting thought and time into the world you're creating or the writing itself? Check.

Telling rather than showing? Check.

Phew lad.
66 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
September 27, 2016
Status: --
I have to admit that I'm a sucker for these kinds of novels (weak to strong, rpg elements, post-apocalyptic world, fantasy elements, etc.) and I will also admit that despite my low rating I did enjoy reading this novel due to my bias. Is it a good binge read if you're into all the above and don't mind if it's good for you or not? Sure, you'd probably enjoy it if that were the case.

However it should be noted that the novel, despite having a tinge of originality amongst its... more>> peers in the genre, is terribly unpolished. It reads like a rough draft that someone might whip up in a moment of inspiration. Things just aren't fleshed out or well thought through, the basic ideas and premise are there, so it still somewhat works as a story, but the story in its current state is in a bad need of fine tuning.

Just a few things I noticed:

Spoiler

Supposedly the 'monsters' are immune to the original rules of the world (physics) in that they are supposed to be immune to human innovation and science, being the fantasy creatures that they are. They even explicitly state that not even nuclear weapons would be good enough to stop them. However, the MC builds a pile-bunker (well within the reaches of human understanding/knowledge/physics might I add, nothing magical about a damn pile bunker) and uses it to easily squash and one-shot high-leveled mobs

[collapse]

Spoiler

MC spends only 250 years to read every single book in the world. On top of this he traveled to every country in the world and just about learned every single language. You have to consider that, even if this was possible, you'd have to be some kind of freakishly fast speed runner with a perfect memory and a incredibly powerful comprehension (i.e. You basically have to be a genius). Despite this though, the MC still acts somewhat braindead at times and you often question how smart he really is.

What's also hilarious is that he spends an additional 50-100 years learning how to be a blacksmith, because apparently forging swords trumps nukes. And apparently, learning how to become a master blacksmith takes a quarter of the time it would take to learn all the languages, read the books of, and visit the countries of the world.

[collapse]

Spoiler

There is no explanation, or hints about why the MC was left behind and thus unable to learn how to control mana. There is no explanation why the angel that visited him could not teach him mana control in his own world, or why building up his body when even nuclear weapons supposedly won't work against these mobs, what is a karate chop or a round house going to help? Basically the MC memed his way into becoming a proverbial Chuck Norris and now somehow he can compete with people that have powers that allow them to surpass nuclear weapons (checkmate, Gandhi).

[collapse]

The list goes on and on, but these are just a few for the record.

Did I enjoy binge reading this novel? For the most part, yes, though I did have to somewhat turn my brain off.

Is the novel bad? Unpolished? Not fully fleshed out? Yes, unfortunately it is. <<less
66 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
April 13, 2016
Status: --
MC constantly feels the need to remind us of how awesome he is in comparison to everyone else and even treats the elders as if they are fools for not being as awesome as he is. People (including the protagonist) need to keep in mind that Nie Li has had many fortuitous opportunities and has had a much, much larger lifespan than just about everyone he's met in his home city, so how does he feel the need to ridicule everyone so often? It would be like a grown man... more>> being reborn as a child and jeering at another infant for not being able to do linear algebra when it's so simple for him to do so. Maybe it seems like I'm nitpicking, but this sort of thing happens far too often, in nearly every chapter in fact that it completely irritates me and takes me out of the immersive experience.

On that note, MC is some kind of perfect omnipotent god that always gets things his way and never suffers any relative hardships due to how amazing and incredible he is. If you guys like stories where the resident Gary Stu never faces any challenge and always wows everyone around him because of how much of a stu he is, then feel free to pick up TDG. <<less
43 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
The New Gate
November 19, 2016
Status: --
Nothing happens: the novel. I'd personally rather watch paint dry than have to read this again. It wouldn't have been so bad if we were given some kind of alluring atmosphere to read into (something along the lines of a SOL perhaps). But nope. Two volumes in and I've concluded that reading this novel is a waste of time.

It makes no sense to me that the MC while being basically 3x stronger than the final boss at this point goes out of his way to try and just fit in... more>> - of course he makes sure to show just enough that everyone wants to fellate his er*** member, but otherwise it's a rather mundane and wearisome way of writing a power trip. It just feels like a chore whenever he 'shows off' to people in an attempt to get his ego stroked. But then you have scenes where he goes out and does low level quests like collect herbs for the entire day - but why? Why does he even need to register as an adventurer? He's practically a demigod at this point and can do anything and everything he wants to do so why does he choose to pick up weeds again pray tell? I don't understand it. He doesn't even seem to be concerned that he's trapped in this world, or if he's in some kind of danger as a result. It's a thoughtless, mindless approach to a story such as this. It's vapid to say the least.

Is it terrible? Not really, but there doesn't seem to be any kind of direction or plot or interesting characters or anything at all for that matter. <<less
41 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
Spirit Realm
September 20, 2016
Status: --
Has potential, but suffers from lazy combat syndrome, where fights usually just consist of people yelling out their power levels - "Ha, my artifact is lvl 5 but yours is only lvl 4.5! Our cultivation power level is the same, therefore you cannot beat me!" - that sort of grating drivel perpetuates deeply into this novel.

It started out interestingly enough and I'm hoping it picks up, but the lazy way that fights are choreographed as nothing more than comparisons of dong size / yelling contests leaves me skeptical.
41 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
Kuro no Maou
June 18, 2016
Status: --
It's better than Death March. However, that's not much of an accomplishment.

The novel gets side-tracked constantly. Every other chapter we have to read a POV chapter - usually about scenes we've already read about, or about people who we really don't care about at all (such as the unnecessarily evil bad guys). This kind of narrative swapping usually only works when there's an important side to a story that we need to explore for the work to flesh itself out, or if the characters that the narrative is switching off... more>> to are interesting and/or have interesting insights to offer about events in the story, however you'll find neither of these in these pov changes. They're written just like SoL scenes, as if we really need to know how the bad guys are getting along with each other, or what kind of jokes, pastimes and preferences they have. It's simply a huge joke.

On top of this, there is no tension in this novel. Would you feel suspense over a lion playing with a mouse? Because that's precisely what occurs in Kuro no Maou. We can't appreciate the character's progress and development when everything he does is in vain. Every single breath the protagonist takes, every 'victory' he wins, every time he alludes death, all of it is attributed not to his own strength and progress, but rather to his enemies choosing to play with him like a toy - just like the lion and mouse analogy. The bad guys literally let this poor sap off over 3 times when they had his head on a platter. They did this knowing fully well who he was and what kind of threat he poses to them. This just isn't very interesting to read in a story where 'heroism' is a big theme. The only way MC can win this battle if purely through 'luck' and 'laziness' on the enemies' part, which is a sh*tty way to write this kind of story.

I could go on and on but I think I'll stop here. <<less
40 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
Gate of Revelation
May 10, 2016
Status: --
Overall it's a interesting read, however it feels unpolished at times as there are a lot of small kinks and nuances that the author has not fleshed out too well.

Here's a few issues just to illustrate:
... more>>
Spoiler

1) The people who created/host this 'game' must have an incredibly high level of sophisticated knowledge/technology, however they fail to maintain their core AI and don't even notice that it has rebellious elements?
2) The 'anomaly' factor that the MC has become doesn't seem to be very difficult to reproduce in the first place, which begs the question: why weren't there more of them? Why is the MC the first?

[collapse]

Things I dislike:
- The pet system. Reminds me of Zhan Long's pet system which was somewhat boring and tedious to read about, especially when everyone can have one. Also, MC prefers keeping a weaker pet purely out of sentimentality when in fact his life could be determined by his pet choice... Hmmm idk about that.
-Skills. They're unreadable. MC has to just blindly guess what skills to invest in as the 'system' does not provide any description about their usages. What kind of design is this?
-Mc's skill. MC's skill is one of the worst, most garbage skills that i've ever seen. It's absolute sh*t. Supposedly it's a 'god' ranked skill, yet it's just so distastefully bad that I don't know what else to say.

If not for the above it probably would have been a 4.5/5 for me, but i'll doc a star. <<less
37 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
Long Live Summons!
May 2, 2016
Status: --
It starts out sort of okay but it clearly becomes evident that this series is disappointingly mediocre.

The world/cultivation system - The author has no idea what he wants the setting of this novel to be. He constantly shifts back and forth between different systems indecisively. In the end you get this kung-fu summoner a-la coiling dragon bastardization and the way everything is bound together feels sloppy and not very well thought out. So in other words, it tries to be a jack of all trades and ends up failing to... more>> do so. What's hilarious is that summons is actually inferior to other combat systems, like the innate system, which is funny given the title of the novel. Overall it feels like something an amateur thought up when he was drunk, just throwing every drunken idea he could think of and throwing it all together to create some kind of frankenstein-like monster.

The characters - I actually enjoyed the MC's antics, he is actually quite a funny guy (charming even). However, this becomes less and less relevant because the story becomes oversaturated with abundant pointless side characters and beautiful love interests who mostly only serve to dilute the plot and stretch things out. To make things worse, this obviously takes time away from our relatively interesting MC and what we get in return is countless arcs of babysitting/level raising. It almost feels like poke'mon; the MC has to get all the pointless side characters and takes it upon himself to raise them all up when there's really not much point since they'll never be as OP as the MC anyways, or even come close. It becomes tedious and convoluted and at some point I would say that half of the novel invests itself in exploring these (most of which are) boring extras.

The plot - It has some interesting stories that could be explored, but the narrative constantly gets side tracked (see above paragraph) and instead we get what feels like filler instead. <<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
Emperor of Solo Play
October 8, 2016
Status: --
Plot-wise it's okay. If you're a fan of world-building and game mechanics in general, this novel will leave a sour taste in your mouth.

What do I mean by this? To put it blunty, the VRMMO that the MC plays is completely garbage. Even if you put aside all the logistic impossibilities, such as the fact that millions of people play despite it being terribly, terribly expensive, the game in and of itself is very poorly designed. From a MMO perspective, the game lacks all sense of a congruous, breathing and... more>> living world. If you're into roleplay at all then you're pretty much gutted here since the only thing that matters in this game is killing stuff and getting loot. No real storyline, no real atmosphere, no sophisticated AIs, everyone summons their equips through a goddamn digital watch that oozes out gel which goes on to cover their bodies and then congealing into their equipment (what the ****?), etc. Don't even get me started into crafting, if you want to make equipment all you do is put all the materials into a box and shake the box and pray to RNGeezus. What kind of piss poor game is this? As a fan of MMOs I can't even begin to describe the travesty of a VRMMO that the author has concocted. It's quite impressive how bad he made it. As for the MC, long story short: he's re****ed. How he is so good at a game that requires strategy and planning while being as dumb as he is, I don't know. He's a pretty damned good fighter, but other than that he pales in every other category. Honestly you're better off reading LMS rather than this novel. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
The Man Picked Up By the Gods (Reboot)
June 15, 2018
Status: prologue 1
The characters are uninteresting and the setting is inconsequential, combine that with this novel's primary genre - being Slice of Life - and you have yourself a powerful sleeping pill in literary form.

The main character feels hollow and empty and spends all his time either researching slimes or inadvertently impressing everyone around him (oftentimes through his slime research, who figured?). The side characters are, to put it bluntly, even worse than the main character in this regard.

Having a restless time getting to bed? No problem. Simply open up a tab... more>> with "The Man Picked Up By the Gods" loaded and have yourself a ball. <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
NEET Receives a Dating Sim Game Leveling System
September 3, 2017
Status: --
Not a very good piece of work, although it was entertaining in the beginning at the very least. However, that feeling of fulfilling progression that you could glean from the earlier chapters is all but lost as the chapters roll by.

For one, the power creep that the MC experiences is far too fast. The author did not know how to pace the development of the main character's abilities so as a reader you are prone to quickly becoming numb to his accomplishments as the story progresses. A good author will... more>> pace out interesting developments so that they are not so close together such that you become overly familiar and indifferent to them, nor does he put these developments so far apart that the readers all but loses their interest in the intermission.

Secondly, the system that encompasses and facilitates the MC's advancement - the dating sim system - is poorly constructed. The requirements to unlock certain activities such as singing and dancing for instance seem awfully arbitrary and contrived. This extends to the entire system as a whole. It feels poorly and shabbily constructed. The author is hell-bent on making you, the reader, believe that he and his story are much smarter than they really are when what he dishes out to his audience is at the equivalent of a shoddy smoke-and-mirrors light show. All show and no substance. Don't pay attention to the finer details if you decide to read this novel as it will leave you with nothing but disappointment (and possibly disgust).

Thirdly and most importantly, the writing itself is poor. Characters are one-dimensional, meaningful plot developments are far and few between, the main character is a landmine of cringe worthy behavior and mannerisms, etc. One of the funniest parts is how flat and monotone the MC comes off as being. I can't help but feel disgust at the hypocrisy of the main character running around racking up affection points with the myriad snow-skinned fair maidens by bamboozling them about his self-fulfilling success story of how he went from zero to hunk-extraordinaire I-am-better-than-thou hero in the course of literally a week with the story of his success. He advertises himself as having reformed from being the fat, disgusting otaku that he was into Mr. Perfect through his virtue and self-reflection, when he never reflected on anything in the first place and all the work was essentially done for him by his cheat system. The author has the gall to sell the main character as being more than what he is: a shameless, clueless, hypocritical gary-stu self insert.

I'll give this work 3 stars because despite its shortcomings it can still be an entertaining read if you go through it quickly, for both the good and the bad. I recommend binging this if you decide to pick it up at all. <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
The Novel’s Extra
July 3, 2018
Status: c28
An incredibly refreshing take on a tired genre. I can't praise this novel enough - at least up until the latest chapter as of this review.

This novel is special in that you can really feel the impact of the protagonist's choices in how they cause the novel to unravel. Every decision that he makes not only affects the plot of the story but also how his character's stats will develop. It's essentially a well-executed, novel spin on the questing system (a similar example is seen in Advent of the Archmage,... more>> however AotA doesn't perform in this regard nearly as well as TNE does, in fact it doesn't even come close). Overall the gaming system is quite interesting and has a lot of potential.
A relevant (and hilarious) example of this is how the main character attempts to raise a non-upgradeable stat beyond human limits with his acquired 'bonus points' from the gaming system, only to have the moderator of the system stop him from doing so as his luck stat was becoming far too high - and too much plot armor is probably not a good thing! It shows that the author is self-aware but unlike others of his craft, he goes out of his way to smooth out those rough edges you would so often find left unattended in lesser works.

On the other hand, it also tends to rely on the 'class' system that you see perpetuated in so many novels and despite the praise I'm laying down for it, along with this tired trope and several others like it, it does have its fair share of issues that could potentially cause issues down the road. However, I will give it the benefit of the doubt and wait to see how the author plays it all out.

TNE goes against many of the tropes that you'll often see in CN/JN/KN novels. The MC has to make good decisions, he's not overpowered, he does not have "plot armor" but the decisions he makes can help him power through the rough spots and side characters are given just enough development and set-up such that the readers will invest their emotional capital into them. I'm hoping that these good times continue as I would hate to be disappointed. I'm slightly concerned about the power creep accelerating out of control. The Main character, despite not being OP at the start, does seem to be developing rather rapidly - which is a double edged blade as too fast of a development turns him into a Gary Stu whereas too slow of a creep makes the read less satisfying and more boring.

To conclude, allow me to share an excerpt to show how far the author is willing to go in regards to pushing his MC to the limit:

Spoiler

[Flaw. There is no semblance of danger for the main character and others. If the story continues this way, the readers would become bored thinking, "The main character will win anyways."]

"... This crazy motherfu... "

No danger? Of course, there was no danger. Readers didn't like extreme danger! This thoughtless amateur...

However, there was another line below.

[Makeshift solution. Even if things become a mess, increase the power of antagonists.]

[collapse]
<<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
Arena
October 3, 2016
Status: --
Surprisingly decent. Sort of. If you've read Terror Infinity then the premise is similar, but unlike TI, Arena is internally consistent and flows smoother.

For once I actually feel invested in the character's emotions, their interactions with one another, their motivations for living on, so on so forth. The characters aren't just throwaway stand-in roles, they feel vibrant and real. Heck, even the side characters are very memorable and dare I say it, endearing. There are some minor problems that I have with the story, but overall it's written quite well.... more>> A few issues I had:

Spoiler

Many of the abilities in Arena don't scale with training, which is somewhat disappointing since in a lot of other ways the world in which they live is essentially an RPG. For example, the MC's spirit summons (such as sylph) have a usage timer, however that timer doesn't increase as your proficiency with the spirit increases, neither does the strength of the spirit. Although the spirit summon is in and of itself a skill, you can't quite 'level' it up without spending karma. It's a minor point but I do feel icky about this. On a second note about spirit summons, it is a little annoying that the MC can't telepathically communicate with the spirit. It makes no sense to me why this isn't implemented.

[collapse]

Spoiler

MC gives in too easily to feminine wiles I feel. The moment someone starts flirting with him and he crumbles. I was honestly somewhat disappointed when after his entire team got killed off, one of the members even going so far to sacrifice himself to help him escape, the first thing he does is get himself seduced by some side character who really doesn't have much going for her. It's somewhat distasteful. I can't see this as being anything more than a fling but it seems like the author plans to flesh this relationship out more with how clingy and dependent he has become on her.
I feel that this is an especially big slap to the face to the reader, when just a few chapters ago the MC was holding hands with and bonding with a girl whom he was close to that fought in the arena with him. The girl that seduces the MC is only interested in him for shallow reasons whereas the other girl who was his companion was anything but shallow. She grew together with the MC and they had a good vibe going, so it left a bad taste in my mouth when as soon as she gets killed off he jumps into bed with this vixen seductress who has played with many men in her day (and enjoys bragging about it, even to the MC).

[collapse]

Spoiler

Some of the descriptions of the skills feel dumbed down. For example, when they explain the upgrading of a person's physical traits, they broadly categorize it as: level 1 (healthy male), level 2 (athlete), level 3 (soldier), level 4 (elite soldier), level 5 (beyond human limits). However I doubt that soldiers are more physically capable than athletes, for whom training their bodies is their job. Foot soldiers are usually trained in certain skills but I wouldn't place their physical prowess over athletes. I'm pretty sure that most soldiers can't outswim michael phelps, or outsprint Usain bolt, or outdunk kobe, etc. Just little things like this occur everywhere in the novel and it's somewhat annoying to see them pop up from time to time. It isn't a huge deal though so it's not too big of a setback.

[collapse]
<<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
My Death Flags Show No Sign of Ending
May 7, 2016
Status: --
It's not bad. I'm enjoying it for the most part and I'd recommend people to read this as well.

The premise is that the MC's soul is spirited away to another world and he revives in the body of a 10 year old boy. Coincidentally, the world in which he's transported to greatly resembles the setting and timeline of a famous RPG classic from his home world - which the MC just so happens to be well versed in, having played/beaten it over 10 times. What's interesting is that he takes... more>> the place of one of the stories' core villains. Countless hijinks ensue as our protagonist tries to maintain the chronological history that is supposed to occur in this world, things such as the hero meeting his companions and fighting the final boss, etc. Etc. At the same time though, he alters history in a way that allows his character - one of the core antagonists of the RPG story - to continue living, as he is essentially meant to die in the original game. As he manipulates events behind the scene he starts to slowly alter the course of history in interesting and humorous ways. In fact, it almost seems as if this time around, the 'villain' is the one who will be the 'hero' in this world.

However I do have complaints.

There is one thing about this novel that particularly irks me; the MC is forced to speak like his alter villain self constantly. Phrases such as 'it's nice to meet you' turn into 'you bastards should grovel at the pleasure of being in my presence' and essentially he comes off sounding incredibly obnoxious and grating to the ears. Ever encounter a villain in a story that really gets on your nerves because of how haughty and annoying their speech is? Well this basically creates the same effect. It makes no sense why the MC is being FORCED to speak in this manner, and it gets stale and annoying really fast when you have to hear him speak this way all the time. To make things worse his improper speech tick leads to all sorts of unnecessary misunderstandings and annoyances that don't add much to the story other than irritating the reader. MC comes off sounding like a bratty prick with a foul potty-mouth when his own personality is anything but that. I wouldn't have minded this 'tick' so much if it gradually faded away the longer the MC inhabited the villain's body, however after a time skip three years to the future, his speech habits have not changed. This creates a disharmonious dichotomy between his true personality and the role that was forced unto him, that of the villain.

Another complaint I have is that the protagonist seems awfully, almost robotically attached to the events of the original chronology of the game. Oftentimes, his motivations seem almost programmed the way he religiously tries everything in his power to adhere to the chronology. It makes sense that he's doing it so that his character doesn't die at the end of the story and that the hero can save the world, etc etc., but this doesn't mean that he has no time to relax or to indulge himself in anything else. He spends 24/7 of his time making preparations for maintaining the chronology or training and he does nothing else. He doesn't seem to particularly enjoy the world in which he's been placed - which is funny since this is supposed to be his favorite game that he's replayed over 10 times; you'd imagine a fanboy of this level would stop once in a while to admire the scenery around him, but nope. To top it all off sometimes the character feels inconsistent. For instance, despite having the mind of a 20+ year old university student, he feels genuine anger/rage towards nice, little girls for being 'naive'. Excuse me? Since when are 9 year old girls supposed to carry themselves like adults? In what world is this true? When you combine this with his terrible forced speech tick then it gets really grating on the nerves and it's a shame that it does since overall this is a enjoyable read, despite all the awful things I've said about it already. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
The Gate Of Good Fortune
May 11, 2016
Status: --
I've read most of what's been translated and it's been a good read. I think the novel could have been even better if the cultivation system was a bit more fleshed out. The 10x9 system seems a bit lazy and 'un-mystical.' Also, I feel that the author is a little too hard on MC-kun, especially when it comes to women, to the point where I'm starting to believe that the author had many, many terrible experiences with women.

Overall, it's a story about a modern man trying to fight his way... more>> out of a grim, despairing situation. If all you want is a sappy action-blockbuster where MC blows up sects and takes every pretty girl as his waifu, all of whom are heaven-defyingly beautiful and righteous and think of nothing else but the protagonist 24/7, then you probably won't enjoy this novel.

I personally enjoy the gritty atmosphere that the story brings. The MC is a real scrapper, despite him being a very 'normal' protagonist, you can really feel the courage and potential he has inside of him. I can appreciate that in a novel. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
The 'game system' of the world is developed poorly. Noone in the world realized that practicing magic from a young age can increase your mana pool significantly, but our MC did because he's such a special snowflake. People don't till their fields with animals, they do it by hand because of reasons. Apparently Rubber can be found, developed and mass produced by someone jsdf-turned-salaryman. Unecessary explanations about anything and everything litter the novel. Life itself is a grind, nothing profound or interesting about it (kind of defeats the purpose of... more>> having this world in a fantasy setting, don't you think?).

If you like rubber, poorly designed game worlds, lack of plot/progression and incompetent natives then go ahead and give this a go. To be fair though it is slightly better than death march. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
TerraEarth
TerraEarth rated it
Against the Gods
April 13, 2016
Status: --
This story started out amazing and for quite a time it was my personal favorite web novel.

MC was incredibly driven and focused, he had a goal and a plan and would stop at nothing to achieve his aims. He needed to resort to cunning and deception to achieve many of his goals, but when it is truly important he would not be afraid to stand tall for his pride. He was intelligent and competent and the world he was thrown into seemed to be full of potential for the future.

However,... more>> this does not last. About halfway through the currently translated chapters, all of a sudden the series loses focus. He ends up making silly, stupid decisions. The story gets bogged down by its endless subplots and MC losing half of his IQ points certainly doesn't alleviate this occurrence. All of a sudden, all the lofty goals he once had seem to be thrown out the window and placed on the side all for the sake of him fiddling around with beautiful women. It is disgusting how easily this man is side tracked by women especially considering the fact that he has important things to be doing that he needs to be attending to; he really has no time to waste. Oh but I forgot, now that the MC is some kind of big shot he no longer needs to wallow himself through the mud, he goes from an underdog to a perfect gary stu MC that has everything going for him and he can just put all the important things to the side to fiddle with his genitals and chase skirts because he can do anything he wants since he's such a perfect MC with the thickest plot armor you've ever seen.

Tldr; story starts out really strong and interesting, but becomes generic and incredibly disappointing as the story progresses. MC is a horndog and will put aside anything he is doing to fondle titties. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3