Report Review
32 Reviews


Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
The World Online
November 1, 2017
Status: c60
I don't get why this novel is rated so highly. Apart from the excellent translation it doesn't have anything going for it.

The characters are bland and undeveloped: I don't think it's possible for the characters to be more one dimensional. The MC is the most developed character in the novel and the only thing we know about him is that he dotes on his sister. He doesn't even react when he is sent back in time in an unexplained, mysterious way but just takes it as if it's something that... more>> happens daily. He's just like: "Aww yeah! I got sent back in time and I don't care why! I'm gonna go be the best now! Weee!". All other characters are basically just names

Writing style is yawn inducing: Every chapter is just MC built this, MC built that, MC talked to NPC #1, MC talked to NPC #2. It's more of a single player game so far than a MMORPG. Have you ever sat behind a friend and watched them play a game? That's what this novel feels like. Also, the MC only really interacts with NPCs so far and there's virtually no contact with other players which makes everything tensionless.

I see people saying TWO is a better version of Shura's Wrath, but that's not true at all. Shura's Wrath, despite its flaws, is damn interesting to read and does a good job of holding the reader's attention <<less
78 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Soaring of Galaxia
June 10, 2017
Status: c40
This author's Dao of Filler has truly reached unprecedented heights. Feels like a third of the text I'm reading is stuff like "Wow the MC is so amazing!"or "MC is super badass" and another third is the peanut gallery making useless comments like "Did the MC really challenge him?! Nooo wayy" and "There's now way the MC can do that!" etc. Seems like there's a crowd of bored people just follows the MC around commenting on everything he does. (Like seriously, do these people not have their own things to... more>> do?) Taking away all that filler and you're left with an unoriginal and uninteresting plot filled with cliches. Really can't justify giving this more than 2. Hopefully it gets better in the future. <<less
30 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Shura’s Wrath
June 19, 2017
Status: c460
Imagine that you're a buff man with a sledgehammer, and all around you are cute little babies crawling around. Surely you wouldn't do anything to hurt them right? They're harmless cute babies- oh don't they look cute crawling around with their little feet and hands? NOPE I'M LING TIAN SQUISH SQUISH SPLAT SPLAT.

That's basically how this novel feels like. You have a protagonist who's extremely overpowered from the start, and he gets exponentially more overpowered. It's basically a wish-fulfilment power trip. No complaints about that though, it was really fun... more>> to read... Until the Japanese arc. This is where the MC turns into a disgusting, hypocritical bully. He s*xually harasses a woman, and it's justified because she has something he needs. Then he kills numerous Japanese players (with 300% pain magnified) and blatantly goes back on his promises in public, and it's justified because they're Japanese. What the fck? What year is this? Dear author, did a Japanese guy kill your parents and rape your wife?!

Anyway I would give this 4 stars if you ignore all the nationalism but probably 2 otherwise. *barfs* <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
These Dangerous Girls Placed Me Into Jeopardy
August 18, 2017
Status: v2c50
The novel's premise is very unique, and has some of the coolest heroines. However, the timid, weak-willed, and irresolute MC really gets on your nerves after a while. The MC's interactions are incredibly predictable and frustrating because he's only capable of a few actions:

    1. try to run away
    2. wilfully ignore the unwanted behaviour of others
    3. submissively go along with whatever others want
Ugh, this was such a disappointment to read because I had so much expectation. The heroines and the MC's situation are so damn interesting, but this useless MC just ruins everything. The entire novel I'm just hoping the MC would do something: take a stand! Say no! Slap a hoe! Anything other than passively going along with what other characters want, but he just continues to disappoint me.
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Plundering the Dao of the Immortal Journey
July 24, 2017
Status: c20
The reviews of this novel are probably more interesting than the novel itself. It feels like the author is trying to be grand and deep with his writing in the first few chapters, but it just comes off as vague and weird. Vagueness does not equal depth! Almost nothing is explained and we're supposed to just go along with the strange premise:

... more>>
Spoiler

The MC has his "plum blossom" stolen by Master Xie. (I'm guessing Plum Blossom just another name for their ability? IDK it's not explained) He somehow only gives the flower and not the roots and was able to retain his ability, and at a critical moment steals energy from Master Xie. Then Master Xie kills him, and BOOM he's able to go back 10 years in time. He randomly becomes a game system and lets a random guy from earth take his body. What?! What am I reading? Is stuff being lost in translation?

[collapse]
<<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Living in this World with Cut & Paste
July 21, 2017
Status: c34
This is the kind of novel you read, and then forget about on the same day. There's nothing memorable about it.

Personally I couldn't enjoy this novel at all. The MC is just way too naive and malleable. I get that some stories are all about the growth and coming of age of the protagonist, but the MC here is like a piece of soft dough that gets kneaded by everyone. He doesn't seem to have his own thoughts, just going along with whatever someone else says. It's like he's an... more>> AI programmed to always respond "yes" to people. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Rebirth: How a Loser Became a Prince Charming
July 25, 2017
Status: c20
Feels like I'm reading a log of events rather than an actual story. Every chapter is just: This happened, that happened, MC did this, MC did that. It's like you're an observer in the sky, watching a bunch of people interact on the ground. There's no plot, no character developments, no anything for that matter.

The very first sentence of this novel should give you a good idea of what to expect in terms on quality: "Qin Guan was reborn and sent back eighteen years in time." Why was he reborn?... more>> Why was he sent back eighteen years? Not even the author knows. His mysterious reincarnation is never mentioned again. Apparently being randomly sent back eighteen years is very common. It must happen to everyone right? Maybe tomorrow I'll wake up and be eighteen years younger... <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Apocalypse Cockroach
June 17, 2017
Status: c70
Pretty generic post-apocalypse novel. This story doesn't really have anything that stands out, but it's not terrible I guess. It's fairly slow compared to others of its type and if you're looking for an overpowered MC that tramples everything (like the MCs from GDW/TW/etc) this probably isn't for you (this MC has very low presence). Similarly, if you're put off by gross things you might want to avoid this.

Spoiler

In particular there's a few scenes involving the MC's dirty smelly foot being licked and sucked and that was pretty fcking disgusting

[collapse]
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Evolution Theory of the Hunter
July 10, 2017
Status: c60
I was really bored, so I decided to give this novel a shot. The result? I got even more bored.

Novel mainly focuses on team battles, with his teammates getting a lot of screen time. However, unlike novels like Douluo Dalu which does an amazing job of developing side characters, ETH MC's teammates are so boring and underdeveloped I just ended up skimming any paragraph concerning them.

Let's talk about the MC. He's boring, in an annoying way (if that's possible). His internal monologue is like an angsty teenager with lines like... more>> "Sh*t! Sh*t! Sh*t", or "How dare he do that, I'll show him!!!". Makes me wonder how his female party member is so into him.

80% of the novel so far is just farming against monsters, and his party members sometimes commenting stuff like "Wow, MC you are so strong!" etc

I literally can't think of a single good thing about this novel, but it might get better later when the MC finishes farming. Still, I recommend not reading this unless you're really bored. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Red Packet Server
December 14, 2017
Status: --
The plot is juvenile and nonsensical and Yi Zichen (the mc) reminds me of those arrogant young masters in xianxia novels who eventually get bitch slapped by the protagonist. He's stupid yet very cocky, and literally everything is given to him by plot armor. Of all the main characters I've read about, he is definitely the most distasteful. All problems he encounters are solved by the random items he is given, and when sh*t really hits the fan, his lack of planning and intelligence shows as all he can do... more>> is grunt in rage (and be saved by plot armor). This is probably the most irritating MC of this genre <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Mai Kitsune Waifu
July 25, 2017
Status: c200
Novel gets really good if you're able to sit through 100ish chapters. Beginning is quite a chore to read. Pretty much 95% of the characters are annoying as hell when they're first introduced. It's like taking those overly exaggerated anime characters and putting them into a realistic environment.

... more>>
Spoiler

Some completely unrealistic characters that got on my nerves:

    1. Random police lady keeps on wanting to fight the MC when she realises he's pretty strong. Like she literally chased him around shouting at him to fight. This happens really, really frequently.
    1. MC and a few other people about to be killed by a serial killer. MC fights the serial killer and is about to finish him off. Then this strong ice girl appears and calls MC a murderer, while protecting the serial killer. MC explains to her that the person she's protecting is a serial killer who's killed many people, but she willfully ignores it and keeps trying to kill MC. What's even more annoying is according to some spoilers she's a harem member. *Eyeroll*
    1. The girl the MC used to like told her boyfriend (who's a gangster) to break the MC's legs, for ABSOLUTELY NO REASON, and throughout the story she keeps setting the MC in traps even though he was nice to her the whole time. What the hell?

There's plenty of other annoying characters that I just mentally bar out (*cough* almost all other characters). All characters behave as if they're high on stimulants and it seems like in this world any conflict, no matter how trivial, must lead to someone being crippled or killed.

[collapse]

The author's writing is really messy. There's always multiple plot lines going on at once, and none of them end cleanly. When one problem gets resolved, the root of said problems are never eliminated and they cause more problems. There's a few incidents where MC has no problems killing the antagonist's bodyguards and such, but leaves those antagonists alive (even when he's in disguise and can't be tracked). Very similar story to My Beautiful Teacher, which is by the same author. If you like one, you'll like the other. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Epoch of Twilight
July 22, 2017
Status: c290
MC is way too strong for the setting. IMO novels with a post-apocalypse atmosphere where people struggle to survive should have a sense of tension and desperation. However the MC is just too overpowered. It's like playing Amnesia: The Dark Descent with Superman as your character. MC has literally never met a person stronger than him, and he has never been in a truly desperate situation. If the MC's power level was cut by half then this novel would be much more interesting.

None of the characters are done well. The... more>> MC is not likeable or relatable. He wasn't very interesting to begin with, and as his "powers" grow, he becomes more and more machine-like. It's kind of hard to see him as the MC sometimes. He's also kind of a hypocrite: He does the good-guy inner monologue saying he still has his morals and stuff, but is a rapist. The other side characters are one-dimensional and I don't even know why the author made so many female love interests. They aren't developed, they aren't interesting, and they certainly don't contribute to the story in any way.

The world building is the only thing done quite well. The author manages to paint a very vivid and mysterious environment. It's a shame said world is occupied by such boring characters. Very average story in general, you won't miss out if you don't read it. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Apocalypse Meltdown
January 22, 2018
Status: c120
Story is all over the place and full of contradictions. MC's primary goal is to find his parents and protect them, but he prances around doing everything except that. One moment he's cold and aloof, and the next he's a charming and charismatic leader. Narrative says that eating zombie flesh will inevitable turn people into zombies, but MC constantly have zombie blood and flesh falling in his mouth with no problem (bro even if you spit it out some is gonna go down your throat). MC has no problems killing... more>> strangers who threaten him, but later he doesn't react when people shoot him and his team. Translation quality jumps all over the place, with the worst of it being almost like pseudo-MTL. Not really a good read <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Immortal Mortal
December 3, 2017
Status: c230
Where are the guns?! There's cars, ships, aliens, aircrafts, BUT NO GUNS?! Why is everyone waving swords and shooting arrows? In one chapter the MC states that if an arrow (shot by a mortal) landed on his head, he would die, so clearly guns would be pretty useful. Man I don't get these pseudo-modern cultivation universes. Everything feels so forced

Oh yeah, around chapter 100 you learn (for the first time) that the MC has a mustache. So uh that's about the level of visual information you get
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Not your typical JP harem novel. Although the premise is unoriginal (guy gets betrayed, but is given a second chance), the execution is very very unique. The villains in this JP novel are not left off with a slap on the wrist and a scolding. No, no, no, none of that easygoing stuff here. The MC is like one of those crazy dudes from a mindbreak hentai.

... more>>
Spoiler

He tortures the princess who betrays him, by repeatedly breaking and healing her fingers. Then he rapes her, brainwashes her, and kidnaps her.

He also turns one of his enemies from a man into a woman, and had him raped by his subordinates. Pretty original stuff eh?

[collapse]

This is one of those novels where you shouldn't think too deeply and just turn off your brain to enjoy the ride. (The author contradicts himself quite a few times lol) It's quite different from most JP novels, and can be enjoyable if you're into this stuff, but is not a well-written or deep read by any stretch of the imagination. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Hedonist Sovereign
July 18, 2017
Status: c50
Basically a wish-fulfilment power trip. MC is handsome, rich, and has a powerful background. He is forced by a mysterious system to do certain actions, most of which involves picking up hot chicks. All of his enemies are basically stepping stones, and the MC is glorified as he defeats (embarrasses) them.

Although there's tons of love interests, I feel like so far at least they're all done very well. It's the cliche "MC solves heroine's problems and she falls for him" thing, but nonetheless it's quite satisfying to read. In particular,... more>> there's many adorable moments between the MC and his former fiancee. Hopefully the heroines don't devolve into one-dimensional "I love MC!" characters in the future.

Translation quality and speed is very high, so props to the translator! If you enjoy novels by Mars Gravity (ATG, Heavenly Star, Shura's Wrath, etc), then chances are you will like this novel as well. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Warlord
July 6, 2017
Status: c105
This novel has a very similar atmosphere to The Dark King. They both have the same translator and the translation quality is quite high. However, I feel like TDK is much more interesting and attention-holding.

Things about the novel that bugs me:

    • MC seems to have no goals of his own. The moment the novel started he gets tied up with a female character (who gets basically no character development) and he runs around helping and saving her.
      Spoiler

      When she "dies" his goal turns into making money so he can clone her.

      [collapse]
    • After the first female character is out of the way (read spoiler), BAM! He takes in another "helpless" female. MC is like a damsel-in-distress magnet or something.
    • Interactions with these females are incredibly shallow considering the amount of plot they hog up. Hopefully it gets better in the future
    • MC's female companions are left alone constantly in this world where rape/murder/etc are commonplace, even though he doesn't really have a choice.
    • Light NTR with the first female character.
      Spoiler

      She gets her tits groped and sucked on by one of the MC's enemies, and she gets groped again later by mercenaries. MC saves her and there's no penetration but it still leaves a sore taste in my mouth

      [collapse]
Things this novel does well:

    • The post-apocalypse atmosphere of Warlord is done very nicely. Extremely similar to TDK, which I loved
    • Fight scenes are cool and not exaggerated, and there's a very real sense of tension.
    • MC's mysterious past and powers
Honestly, if you want to read something mature with a post-apocalypse setting, just read TDK. Warlord and TDK feel so similar but unlike Warlord, TDK's MC actually has his own agenda and isn't just some infatuated bodyguard. TDK also has better world building. Take this review with a grain of salt though, since there's only 105 translated chapters and the story might get godlike later when the MC gets more powerful and the mysteries surrounding him are revealed. So far 3/5
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Single Player Only
June 28, 2017
Status: c60
The description is extremely deceptive. After reading it you may think this is some wish-fulfilment story where the MC goes around picking up chicks, and you couldn't be more wrong. There's none of that stuff here. SPO mainly focuses on mystery and exploration. The MC is trapped in a strange, urgent circumstances, and he struggles to survive in a foreign world. Everything in SPO is glazed with a delicious layer of mystery, every paragraph pulling the reader deeper.

Each character the MC meets is someone with their own story- there are... more>> no cookie cutter arrogant young masters or jade vases. Also, although there aren't many action scenes, each one brings a real sense of tension that is difficult for the reader to remain indifferent to

One of the most interesting novels on NU, definitely worth a read. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Tarlos rated it
Plundering the Heavens
July 8, 2017
Status: c70
PTH is absolutely addicting.

Sick of hypocritical MCs? Get yourself a dose of Fang Xing. MC is like a evil version of Zhao Little Fatty from HJC. He's a villain, and he doesn't pretend otherwise. He scams, steals, blackmails, and bullies, in the most shameless and comedic manner. He's weak, with no background whatsoever, but manages to play stronger cultivators like hand puppets.

There's no lame cultivation filler (grrr I'm gonna sit in a room and cultivate until my d*ck falls off, blah blah heavenly dao blah blah meridians blah) in the... more>> chapters so far. The story so far revolves around the MC's interactions with other people, and his earnest efforts in earning scamming cultivation resources. I've read tons of xianxias, but I've never seen the combination of shameless + evil in an MC yet. Only problem with this novel is that there's not enough translated chapters yet :/ <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Tarlos
Imagine if bashful woman holds a man's hands under a beautiful tree and says "I love you" and then kisses his lips. Awww, isn't that sweet and romantic? Now replace the man with a 5 year old child and the woman with a 200 year old granny. Suddenly it's a lot less romantic.

Okay, that might have been a bit of an exaggeration, but it's pretty close to what happened.

... more>>
Spoiler

Within 2 chapters of meeting a "heroine", the MC makes her fall in love so hard that she promised to be his lover when he grows up even though he's only 5 years old at the time, and she's well over 200 (she's an elf though so that makes it normal? Lol hell no)

[collapse]

This novel is slightly above average I guess. The characters are kind of cute (I guess?) but the "humour" is really repetitive. As for plot, there's really not much up to where I've read. It's basically a slice of life with training and eating food. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report