Report Review
17 Reviews


Talyn
Talyn rated it
Chu Wang Fei
March 29, 2016
Status: --
An absolutely wonderful read! The female lead is very smart and independent but not arrogant. Although the romance started a bit slowly, the title gave away who the main male lead would be – the handsome and enigmatic Chu Wang, Chu Fei Yang (who was actually still a Chancellor/Left Prime Minister at the start of the novel).

I love “Chu Wang Fei” like I love “To Be A Virtuous Wife” in that the female leads don’t dwell too much on their ‘past lives’ and tried their best to live a happy... more>> fulfilled life in the new environment. Both stories are great in their own way!

“TBAVW” focuses more on the responsibilities and challenges faced by an unfavored daughter who married into royalty, and only briefly mentions the political machinations her husband may be involved with. In “CWF”, the husband is not royalty (thank goodness) and female lead is more actively involved with her husband’s plans in various ways...

Although the translations are updated at a good pace I couldn’t wait and decided to brave the Chinese version >.< I'm not sure how much I misunderstood here and there but I finished it and plan to order the physical book online just for the sake of having it on my shelf! XD <<less
36 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
Man Chao Huan
April 5, 2016
Status: --
Great funny story! The female lead is extremely smart, but also extremely laid-back. She has a strong independent personality but is willing to depend on others in return for a comfortable life. She seeks to live peacefully - a life where she can sleep whenever she wants for as long as she wants, and be fed well whenever she's not sleeping.
She is unwilling to get involved with anything.... unless it concerns money XD She's not greedy, but she's really good at accounting. Literally.
The romance starts quite early and... more>> develops steadily. The MC has a cool head when it came to the relationship since she is well aware that polygamy was the norm in that time period. It can be said that without male lead, there would be no story, due to the MC's 'turtle' attitude to complications - avoid them. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
Female Warrior
January 5, 2016
Status: --
Omg! I hope the author finishes with the full story soon ><
This is a great prequel/teaser to the actual story of the 1st generation of the Twelve Holy Knights. It's a short read... too short! I'm left with an expectant feeling that the full story will be very very awesome XD However, it has been so long since this prequel was published and so far there's no signs that the full story has been written ~disappointed~
Still, it's a good read with lots of fun moments, similar to the... more>> Legend of the Sun Knight. Speaking of the Legend, I've recently reread a bit of it and realised that after so many centuries the traits of the original knights have been exaggerated to cause much grief to the 39th generation..... ~ROFL~ <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
When A Snail Loves
January 5, 2016
Status: --
So far (c50) the plot has moved along steadily following various cases. The romance aspect seems slow but I feel it has been progressing at a pace suitable to the personalities of XuXu and JiBai.

Other than the relationship between the MC and male lead, I also like the way the MC and her brother interacts. The MC may not be expressive with her feelings but still shows her concern in her own way; and her brother understands her so don’t really pressure her to be more ‘normal’ or interferes with... more>> her life. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
December 24, 2015
Status: --
Thank you for the Christmas posts! :D

I love this story! It’s so funny how the MC can be really mature and really silly at the same time. I check for updates everyday ^^

It has a light atmosphere so far and has no romance yet (c35), probably because the MC & friends are still quite young. I'm sure there are more happy and fun moments to come.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
Yu Ren
April 5, 2016
Status: --
Not one of my favorites, but still recommendable for an interesting light read. The female lead is very smart. Unlike Chu Wang Fei and To Be a Virtuous Wife, modern knowledge / attitudes were mentioned / included in more aspects of the story. The romance is quite slow, and the main male lead is not obvious from the start. The story starts off quite light and becomes more serious around half-way through, though the challenges the MC face are not antsy to the point of being blood-vomitingly depressing / frustrating.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
Wedding Night Late Ten Years
January 5, 2016
Status: --
A good story with a solid plot and happy ending. Leaves a pleasant impression but not something you'd keep thinking about for a long time. Not much angst or frustration and can be considered a light read.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
A light-hearted story with a very happy open ending :) It's funny how she unintentionally stole the thunder numerous times all the while misunderstanding the 'harem' members who tried to give her hints about their feelings.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
Mulberry Song
January 3, 2016
Status: --
I cried. I wondered what possessed me that I thought to pick up a tragedy. Yet I do not regret it. I actually felt refreshed afterwards like the calm after a heavy rain.

Still, I’m glad it’s short; the author is quite talented to be able to build so much emotion in so little words.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
When He Comes, Close Your Eyes
January 5, 2016
Status: --
Despite having low EQ (or maybe because of it? ^^), the male lead did quite well to capture his love :D I love how he's not afraid of voicing his feelings, although sometimes he creates awkward situations, it actually ends up being very sweet <3

The MC is also a great lady to be so patient with him, and very brave to walk alongside him considering the dangerous nature of his job.

There are a few disturbing moments and some scary moments where I wondered how things will be resolved happily... but... more>> thankfully this is not a tragedy. ~phew~ <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
January 3, 2016
Status: --
Can be absolutely hilarious at unexpected moments :D The MC may seem a bit slow or silly but is actually quite smart when she’s serious. In some ways her master is much more clueless than her, even through he’s very powerful and very serious... and that’s what makes it so funny XD
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
Gentleman Free-Flowing Cloud
January 6, 2016
Status: --
Very short story; there were many aspects that I want to know more about i.e. it can easily be lengthened which may make the plot more interesting...

Not really a waste of time to read, but not likeable or memorable. Maybe take it up to pass the time while waiting for your favourites to be translated?
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
Black Belly Boss, Don’t Run
January 6, 2016
Status: --
The MC is a bit naive though not stupid, and she tries hard to stick to her own ideals when it comes to her job (which is good). It's hard for a good girl to outsmart someone as cunning as the male lead, but the best plans can still backfire...

Quite a quick plot, sometimes frustrating (poor MC XD) but nothing overly dark/sad, funniness as expected of a romantic comedy.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
The main couple had very colourful lives XD... some of which ended surprisingly quickly. The plot flowed quite well overall; it’s interesting that the advantage switches between the MC and the male lead, since the male lead seems to be of a much higher league in terms of power and heavenly ranking.

Enjoyable as a comedy but has its serious moments too.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
Sansheng, Wangchuan Wu Shang
January 3, 2016
Status: --
The MC had to overcome various difficulties and we get to know the male lead better along the way. Quite a short story overall but is just right for a quick read. There are some funny moments too so the plot was quite enjoyable to follow.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
To Be A Virtuous Wife
January 3, 2016
Status: --
The author conveyed the changing feelings of the characters quite well.

I like how the MC and her husband can (eventually) understand each other’s intentions without outright discussion... The MC actually had to put in a lot of effort from the start to gradually gain his respect so it’s gratifying that he’s smart enough to notice

They’re both very cunning but don’t try to interfere within the other’s domain (territory? XD). I feel that together they have no real competition, a true power couple!
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Talyn
Talyn rated it
Gu Fang Bu Zi Shang
January 3, 2016
Status: --
It’s heart-wrenching (almost heart-breaking) but you’re left with a bit of hope each time... The leads are so stubborn in their own ways ^^’

I usually stay away from tragedies but since starting this I was compelled to follow the MC and hope for the best ~sigh~
Can’t wait for the next volume!
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report