Report Review
23 Reviews


SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
Akuyaku Reijou wa Danna-sama wo Yasesasetai
February 5, 2018
Status: c7
The synopsis doesn't do this story justice; it seems like the story will be a bunch of light-hearted fluff. However, both the MC and ML have issues that they slowly decide to work through for their own sakes (rather than for the unhealthy shoujo justification of doing anything for their potential love interests). Surprisingly, there are also some mysteries, mostly political, ongoing and alluded to.

In fact, I find the MC and ML back stories rather dark and cried more than once. They're hearts are in the right places!!! I am... more>> eagerly awaiting for the MC to be vindicated and for some hearty face-slapping, but this story could easily go the tragedy route.

Don't get me wrong; although this seems more mature than the typical shoujo, it still hasn't crossed over to josei territory. There are more light-hearted moments than dark, the latter was naturally increased as we get to know more about the characters. The author does an excellent balancing act between actual plot and romantic moments. The side characters are also interesting and their interactions with the MC are superb.

Definitely recommend and good luck to the translator/s! <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
January 21, 2017
Status: c200
Unbelievably good read, as evidenced by the high rating and glowing reviews. I could rave about almost every aspect of this novel, it is that good. However, I'll summarize the elements that especially appealed to me that haven't been reviewed to death by others:

1. This story has heart. Yes, the MC is hilarious and her reactions to her progressively more ridiculous reincarnations are the best. However, her genuine care for others are what provide the stakes for the novel and make it poignant. Because even if she reincarnates right after... more>> dying, she will be treated like a stranger by the friends and family from her previous reincarnation (with one exception). Even with the exception, her relationship is subtly changed because of the physical differences of her reincarnations and the circumstances of her deaths. 2. The MC stays true to her basic character of a modern woman. She's a mature woman who empathizes with others' pain and knows people can be redeemed, thus life is precious. She tries to fix the world because that is her job, and she is the best equipped to do so. How she thinks and speaks (and especially insults) is also logical and suitable for an educated person. Of course, her modern sensibility towards s*x is also demonstrated at appropriate times for maximum comedy. 3. There is a plan. The arcs are created by the genius idea of using light novel tropes to create conflicts. For instance, the trope of an OP character. What happens if that character doesn't have the right morals to use their cheat/s responsibly? Conflict will naturally ensue when they use their powers selfishly. All of the arcs are tied together by the efforts of the MC in all her various reincarnations, while the MC tries to uncover the mysteries behind her reincarnation abilities. Even when the MC is only aware of the arc conflict, the author gives hints that something more is brewing behind the scenes. These elements may seem super basic, but the author's approach makes them masterful. Of course, there are plenty of other superb aspects of this story that are covered in other reviews, so read on! <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
The Hero Suddenly Proposed to Me, but… (LN)
January 22, 2017
Status: --
I've read the manga up to chapter 6, the WN version to chapter 6, and the LN to chapter 2. Honestly, I wish the translators would decide on only one version and focus on that one so it can get released faster, but that's just me being greedy. The MC is a wonderful "straight man" (aka tsukkomi). I love how she stands her ground and thinks for herself despite the hero's best efforts (which, since he is max spec'd is a considerable accomplishment). Unfortunately, the hero seems to be devolving... more>> into a yandere, but I'll still read it since I currently have no idea how she'll be able to avoid the danger he represents. Even if it futile, I'll probably still enjoy learning how she matches wits with him. While this premise is refreshing and competently executed it's somewhat a guilty pleasure since I can't help feeling sorry for the MC. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
My Fiance is in Love with My Little Sister
April 1, 2018
Status: c46
HOLY ****

Just got done binge-reading this story from the beginning. Yes, I cried almost the entire way, as evidenced by my pounding headache no doubt caused by dehydration. Yet I'm still choosing to review this rather than go and drink some water.

I started reading this story for the angst, all the while desperately hoping for some kind of HE resolution for the MC (even one that involves no ML). But this story is so much more than a romantic drama... don't want to ruin the mind-blowing slow burn revelations, but... more>> just know that this story is completely unique. If you are reading this for the expected shoujo or josei romance tropes - don't.

Just enjoy this persevering bawl-out-your-eyes mystery ride with a heart-wrenchingly tragic yet likeable MC. Not sure how all these mysteries will be resolved, but I know I'll like whatever other curve-balls the author throws out. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
¥1 Trillion Wife, Buy One Get One Free
April 30, 2017
Status: v1c17
Rated 2 stars solely for the kickass MC. This starts off with the typical drama - nice girl finds out she's been betrayed by her friend and her boyfriend. Except this MC only looks like a stereotypical nice girl - she has enough backbone to stand up for herself and even deal with her sh*tty family situation.

Without her, I would have rated this one star because all the men are just disgusting. They treat women like objects, mostly so they can relieve their desires and then discard them. Of course,... more>> I suppose the title is a pretty big warning sign of the author's bad taste. If this follows the stereotypes then the male leads will try to redeem themselves to appeal to the MC, but I'm tired of such shallow stories.

There is also a rather significant plot point that requires suspense of rational thought - the fact that she never discovered the identity of the father of her son. There is even one point where she mentions she saw his picture in the news, but she didn't bother paying attention? Also, a talented professional would make a point of researching major players in their industry.

So, no. Sorry to the generous translator - I love the MC, but I will not be continuing this. Wish you the best! <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
Amazing MC and political intrigue plot. Realistic and mature, the villains have power and aren't stupid, which just makes the face-slapping that much more addictively satisfying. Side characters are well rounded. The main draw is the MC, though. Her deducting and comedic timing is SO on point!!!

WARNING: after a few chapters you may also find yourself worshiping the Empress in the comments section.

Interactions with ML will make you: tense, smile, and laugh. The romance is a slow build until the second part (after the time skip in c122). The ML... more>> seems like a typical OP character, but there is a lot of build up for his mysterious back story which is intriguing. I very much like that the ML has a healthy respect for the MC and vice versa.

I've read a lot of historical Chinese transmigration stories, and this story is easily one of the best. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
Honestly, it is still quite early to write a review, but I'll update later. First, I hate when female MCs are super emotional and don't bother to think ahead for themselves. I understand that they were raised to adhere to the strict and dubious standards to be a "proper lady". But it takes extreme stupidity to be more concerned with modesty than self-preservation. If I hadn't read Sansheng I wouldn't be willing to trust in the author and would drop this. Second, it's a bit difficult to tell from the... more>> summary, but there are two MCs: the Demon King and the Orchid Spirit. Given the title I'm pretty sure the romance will be between the two of them. However, both are sharing the Demon King's body, which makes this potential romance very strange. Expect this to be more on the comedic rather than the romantic side, so I'm willing to just enjoy the ride. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
Wonderful slice of life and cute romance, where the protagonists fall deeper in love with each other over time. Although the Feminine Male Lead tag is used, the only really feminine thing about him is his appearance. I feel it's s*xist to consider his empathy and consideration towards others "feminine" since these traits are obviously not gender-specific, and are usually aspects of good leaders. The female lead is a natural seducer, which makes her uncomfortable since she is an upright and caring person that takes her relationship with the male... more>> lead seriously. Wish the male lead was more confident and acted on his impulses, since the female lead is especially cute when she finds herself treated as a woman. But that's just my inner fan-girl talking. I ship them so much!

The side characters are also well developed, and their romances are pretty cute too. The author has this amazing ability to make every character, even mob characters, seem like real people with their own motivations and personalities. Probably because the world building, especially the cultures, are described so well.

Also educational about how to survive, and even thrive, in the arctic. The best slice of life romance I've ever read! <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
The General’s Little Peasant Wife
September 16, 2018
Status: c75
Finally dropping this story because there is nothing about it that holds my interest. Everyone's entitled to their opinions but reading through some of the 4 & 5 stars they even admit the GLARING DEFICIENCIES:

1. BRAINLESS CHARACTERS the villains are too stupid to believably live and they are incapable of the basic human instinct of self preservation. Most of the story focuses on them and how they get shown up by the FL. FL seems to be following most of the stereotypical historical transmigrated super OP tropes. Just because you... more>> humiliate uneducated poor people with disgusting morals doesn't make you smart and morally upright. One aspect that made this story unique was the fact that a couple transmigrated together, but that was thrown away by the author after the first few chapters.

2. BORING yes the first few chapters are okay and seem to fulfill our expectations, but dozens of chapters after and the primary focus is face slapping, secondary focus is side character interaction, third focus is trade, etc... Romance is extremely background and quite frankly boring. I personally like slow build romance because it is fluffy and realistic. Somehow the entire premise of the story is set up to provide my ideal slow romance, but the writing is so bland that it manages to miss the mark entirely.

3. PLOT ARMOR makes an already boring story more boring. See other reviews for more. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
Honestly, it is too early to leave a comprehensive review of this story. However, I wanted to offset the horrendous reviews to let this story and the translators' hard work have a chance to shine.

I've read a lot of transmigration, reincarnation, and shoujo tales. I can generally see things coming a mile away, so what keeps me engaged in these stories are the characters. The little details that flesh them out as actual personalities rather than stereotypes, basic logic that allows them to interact like normal people rather than OP'd... more>> plot-armored caricatures, and some humor that demonstrates the author's wit are must-haves.

This story has all these elements and more.

Intriguingly, the MC has not only transmigrated from modern times, she has also reincarnated. However, what really hooks me is her cleverness and realistic emotions. Yes, she saves the ML who tortured and killed her. However, she isn't a saint; when she helps him get rid of the poison by making him vomit she feels gratified to see him miserably throwing up. She's not helping him because she's forgiven him, she is logical enough to realize that at that point he is an innocent child. I also appreciate that she is grateful for her third chance at life and doesn't want to waste it with bloodthirsty revenge. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
My guilty pleasure. There are so many reasons I should stop reading this story: the ML kidnapped and raped the MC, the villains are shallow, the story follows all the stereotypical reincarnation tropes... but I just can't help rooting for the earnest MC. BUT the ML is honestly in love with her, so much so he can turn into a yandere if she triggers him. BUT the villains can scheme reasonably well (even if their motivations are shallow), and engender no sympathy from you when they get their comeuppance. BUT... more>> the stereotypical scenarios are well done, and sometimes the MC can surprise you.

The setting is also intriguing. Although it is set in modern times there seems to be xianxia elements? Not many, but I assume it is to help set up for later parts. Side characters aren't too annoying and are relatively interesting. The comedic straight men around the ML are even amusing. Each side character has a purpose and advances the plot. There are some mysteries to keep you intrigued as well, but the MC's revenge is the main draw.

In short: a solidly well written stereotypical second-try-at-life revenge story with occasional surprises. Though a potential yandere, the ML is purely in love with the MC, so the romance is real albeit a bit twisted considering their past life. The MC tries to live and find happiness to the best of her abilities without being a cringe-worthy Mary Sue <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
I've actually read ahead, though some of the chapters from Google translate were just garbled garbage because of all the specialized terms in the particular rebirth scenario. However, I still puzzled through to get the gist of the chapter ahead because this story is THAT GOOD.

As always, the main draw in any novel I read is the MC: Shi Sheng is badass. Yet, she is strangely emotionally vulnerable in her inability to empathize much less fall in love, with anybody other than the ML. Obviously this flaw is due to... more>> an interesting back story, however I don't think we are privy to it until the last few chapters which serve as a side story/prologue. Which is fine, since it annoys the hell out of the annoying (in an I-love-to-hate-you kind of way) side character System.

In the meantime, we get to enjoy her burn-the-world attitude and superior face-slapping skills. It should be noted that although she is often described as arrogant and unsympathetic, she takes care of her friends (their term, not hers) and subordinates/worshippers. She obviously keeps a moralistic bottom line by taking loyalty seriously. Take note: MC is not a saint, and there is some pretty graphic violence and killing (sometimes prompted by the MC).

The romance varies per arc, through the baseline for the romance in the first seven or so arcs is pretty low. Then it shoots up and gets exciting. My current favorite is the Cultivation World arc where the MC has ice veins. I love romance, but what kept me hooked is the unpredictability of the MC which results in hilarious shenanigans that culminate into satisfying face-slapping. There is an excellent balance between comedy and tragedy that makes this an unforgettable read. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
Pleasing Start-Over
December 19, 2018
Status: c14
First off, I’ve read and enjoyed several stories of this genre (Quickly Wear Face of the Devil, The Reader and Protagonist Have to be in True Love, and etc...) and have even re-read a few of them because I’m such a fan. However, this story might have the major elements of those stories but none of the heart which makes those stories great. In fact, there are several aspects of this story that are ethically problematic and made me uncomfortable:

  • Dubious s*xual consent
  • MC has OP god-like powers which he uses to tamper with people’s subconscious minds to manipulate them
As a fan of the genre I am still willing to overlook these two points, but frankly, I don’t like the MC or ML enough to do so. These two points occur almost... more>> immediately at the start of the story and the character are described like cartoonish stereotypes rather than believable people.

Wish the translator/s luck with this one, but it is a definite miss for me. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
Unruly Phoenix Xiaoyao
August 31, 2017
Status: c42
Yes, the MC and her interactions are funny (just read the other reviews to know more). Kudos for having a female MC that isn't afraid to have s*x or talk about poop.

In addition, the male lead and court intrigue are very believable. So often novels like this simply make the male lead OP, with OP servants, that deus ex machina any supposedly intelligent/complicated revenge plots. In this story, the male lead has to constantly adjust for the chaos that is the MC, in addition to planning and communicating with his... more>> subordinates. The villains also plan and enact logical traps that would work if the MC was not so abnormal.

Best be warned though: this novel is not afraid to go into gory details of torture and the states of various corpses. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
Scapegoat Sister Vs Second Prince
January 22, 2017
Status: c9
The beginning is good light hearted fun with the MC's overwhelming passion for plants. Once she realizes her feelings for the love interest it quickly devolves into a typical shoujo, where her reactions and thoughts are easily predictable and thus much less interesting. Recommend if you like shoujo romance.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
Sinister Ex-Girlfriend
December 12, 2018
Status: Completed
Highly recommend if you like serial transmigration and true love type stories. The other reviews pretty much say it all, but here’s some additional 2 cents:

I especially like that the MC and ML have flaws and that there is character growth as well a logical progression of their relationship. The MC in particular does some serious self-reflection to move forward from her past trauma – which is fully explained and satisfactorily resolved in the final arc.

The author does an excellent job revealing the psychology behind characters and why that leads... more>> them to certain actions in a very concise manner. Multiple times the narration of the MC notes that a small change in the details of a situation can lead to completely different outcomes. This makes the writing more nuanced as the characters, even the villains, are rarely purely good or evil. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
Picking Up a General to Plow the Fields
January 22, 2017
Status: c22
Didn't want to review until the mentioned General shows up, but at this pace it's probably going to be a while. The reason for the 3-star despite the sensible female MC is for all the other characters. Every villain thus far have been one-dimensional bullies, easily provoked and consequently manipulated into either embarrassing themselves or doing what somebody with even a nominal amount of human decency and common sense would do. Annoyingly enough, these bullies are usually older women.

The saving grace is the MC. She's got a good head on... more>> her shoulders and genuinely cares for her new younger siblings, which is cute. Also, her agricultural knowledge is a nice addition to what would otherwise be a typical reincarnation story. Her knowledge isn't OP, and she explains agricultural techniques which I find interesting. Good for a light-hearted shoujo, but I'm getting a little tired of the formulaic confrontations. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
I've read and enjoyed several transmigration with system and one true love type stories (at least twenty) - however this is only the second story in which the MC tries to reform the villains rather than mindlessly wreaking revenge upon them. This fact lends nuance and credibility that is usually sorely lacking in these types of stories. It is also the most common tsukkomi I find myself thinking when I'm reading these stories. In fact I've dropped stories in the genre precisely because I've been made morally uncomfortable by some... more>> methods an MC used to push a villain to hell, as if a person's sucky motivations or your own recollections of the same treatment justify torture. Anyways, I'm happy to say this story does not do that and the MC and ML are able to be cute and happy together without relying on the suffering of others.

I agree with many of the other reviews that the first arc was problematic, but it manages to save itself so don't worry. Get through the icky bit and then MC and ML interactions stay sweet and funny.

After reading the beginning portion of Death Progress Bar from the same author I'm quite confident that this author particularly excels at characterization. Even side characters act and react believably - even if you don't understand their motivations at that point it is always apparent that there are background reasons you simply do not know. Of course, that is assuming you are paying attention to the details which can be hard when you are waiting on translations a week apart (not criticizing the translator, just stating the capabilities of my memory).

Of course, one of the common ways these stories fail is with a disappointing conclusion, which I haven't gotten to yet. I'll update when I get there, but just wanted to give kudos to the very solid and enjoyable writing and story development. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
A Guide to Raising Your Natural Enemy
December 20, 2018
Status: Completed
Very cute and nice for a short read. Extremely similar to In the Future My Whole Body is a treasure, though the internal struggle against MC's phobia of snakes makes this story much more amusing IMO.

Side characters feel like after thoughts and are used to make things more convenient. Don't get attached because there are quite a few loose ends that won't be tied up.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SublimiSomnium
SublimiSomnium rated it
The Earth is Online
January 25, 2019
Status: Completed
I enjoyed every aspect of this story, but here are some highlights:

  • Characters (even side characters and villains) operate like realistic individuals
  • MC and ML are cute together and have a healthy relationship
  • The plot (especially setting) has been thoroughly thought out
  • Story arcs are engrossing and paced well
  • The writing is clever – we’re given enough clues to figure things out on our own (if you’re clever enough)
Other notes:

  • The romance is discrete and a bit awkward but it works better in the background rather than a focus in this story anyways
  • Be prepared for loose ends. Nothing major, but I’ll be thinking about them for a while... mostly I just want a sequel
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report