Report Review
9 Reviews


Spite
Spite rated it
Emperor of Solo Play
June 13, 2016
Status: c25
The MC is the best of the best in the biggest VRMMORPG. He is betrayed by his closest mates and forced to quit the game. He is subsequently hit by a car and awakens 4 years in the past. He vows this time to rise to the top and do it without relying on anyone (solo).

Review after 25 chapters. The writing remains excellent. The translation top notch. Is easily reads better than 90% of the self-published English novels on Amazon. Pace started out a little slow but I personally don't... more>> think taking 10 chapters to explain a gaming world and character background is unwarranted.

MC is immediately likeable. Arrogant but not over the top. Admits to having no skills other than gaming but admits to no equals within the gaming world. The game is well thought out and leaves tonnes of room for PVP, PK, and epic questing. No love interest and I am unsure if one fits here.

I was disappointed to find out this series was complete in 193 chapters. It is still early but I would use Shura's Wrath as a comparable with much better writing and translating here. <<less
60 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Spite
Spite rated it
Reincarnator
May 3, 2016
Status: --
Either it is a terrible translation and I mean absolutely awful or this author doesn’t deserve that name. Stilted, non-sensical in places, no emotion of any kind felt or expressed by any character. You keep wanting it to get better and it just doesn’t. After 80 chapters my head just hurt too much too continue. Somewhere within this catastrophe a good novel exists but this author can’t possibly bring it out.
48 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Spite
Spite rated it
I’m in Hollywood
January 28, 2017
Status: c997
New translation is such an improvement. Extremely well done. Prior translation looks like pure MTL.

**Edit**Currently at end of published RAWS 997
... more>>
Spoiler

Novel is like I'm Really A Superstar except completely set in Hollywood of late 80's and 90's and without magic gimmicks (at least so far). Chinese director who has failed to make it big dies and is reborn as an 18 year old American in Hollywood 30 years in the past. Soon becomes famous screenwriter, author, actor, director. Becomes enormously famous and wealthy and dates a series of A list actress hotties along the way. Sounds like pure wish fulfilment? Yep. Sound like good wish fulfilment? Yep. Light hearted entertainment and lets be honest who doesn't love to hear about Hollywood and its goings on. Enormously fun.

This is an insider look at Hollywood. Author has done a tonne of research into the Hollywood of the 90's and makes the various characters seem real. The cast is huge with almost all of the who's who of Hollywood coming into play to one extent or the otherr Cruise, Kidman, James Cameron, Julia Roberts, Michael Eisner, Steven Spielberg etc. Etc. Makes you want to take the day off work and read 300 chapters. Oh wait that is what I am doing. Makes me actually smile in a goofy at times while I read it according to my wife.
If you are looking for the New Yorker dont read this. If you are looking for a consistent fictionalized hollywood super success story full of fun and babes you come to the right spot.

[collapse]
<<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Spite
Spite rated it
Killing Grounds of Gods and Devils
May 10, 2016
Status: c60
Review after 60 chapters. Remains very entertaining. Very similar to God and Devil’s World except the MC hasn’t become an egomaniac (at least not yet) who is the only character of any substance and the only one that does anything. Has all the positives of the early chapters of GDW without the ridiculousness of the later chapters where the MC becomes an inhuman killing machine.

The dialogue, thinking, and actions of the characters are actually realistic. I don’t know why 8psycho thinks that 1st and 2nd University students are in their... more>> twenties but in fact they would be 17, 18 perhaps 19. They act appropriate to their age and the fact they have landed into a scary and strange situation.

I am really looking forward to where this series goes. I highly recommend it up until now. I also love the translation rate. Hope it stays at its current pace. Took them 22 days for 60 chapters. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Spite
Spite rated it
Shadow Rogue
April 18, 2016
Status: --
Many of the illogical parts of this series that people complain about can be avoided if you just add 10 yeas to the apparent age of the MC. If he was 28 instead of 18 a lot of peoples complaints would disappear. But I feel there are a lot of bandwagoning complainers out there. Remember tonnes of the Xianxia novels out there have 12 and 13 year olds kicking 30, 40 even 200 year old enemies buts. How is this different. As for game mechanics, this is a novel not... more>> a 4 year in the planning MMORPG. Does it have epic loot? Monster battles? An OP MC? All good then.

Overall the series is a very entertaining vrmorpg. Light, fluffy. A likable MC. I am disappointed that the current translator has dropped it. I hope a good translator picks it up soon. The reviews are overly harsh.

Compared to Shura’s Wrath it is a 4.0 to SW’s 5 and that is quite a compliment

edit-- hurray it was picked up by a new translator the day after I posted this. Just saying. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Spite
Spite rated it
Virtual World: Unparalleled Under the Sky
May 3, 2016
Status: --
Thoroughly entertaining vmmorpg. Very similar to the other two Virtual World web novels. Only fault, which has been mentioned a number of times, is the cold manner in which he deals with his boss who clearly carries a flame for him. I hope and expect this will be resolved in future chapters.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Spite
Spite rated it
True Star
June 16, 2016
Status: c108
Tonnes of reviews expressing why this novel is absolutely one of the best written and most enjoyable out there. I can add just a few comments.

I can tell you that the MC makes you feel like you should be a calmer, warmer, more intelligent and witty person. His manner of overcoming obstacles pleases at every turn. Also who doesnt like (phony) insight into the world of the rich amd famous.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Spite
Spite rated it
Martial World
March 19, 2016
Status: --
Every bit as good as True Martial World. Translation is excellent and super fast. 3 to 4 Chapters a day.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Spite
Spite rated it
Virtual World: The Legendary Thief
April 18, 2016
Status: --
Again the written reviews here are way too harsh. This is an entertaining VMMORPG novel. If you like that genre you will like this novel. It’s not as good as Shura’s Wrath but it is nice light entertainment. It is easily as good as Ark.

As for those that say the girls have no judgement, etc. Duh. Its a harem story. Like 50% of translations out there.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report