Report Review
17 Reviews


Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
Paradise of Demonic Gods
September 19, 2016
Status: c40
So. This is a rather interesting mix of reality blended with VR games, where reality has essentially connected with the game world. And, we have an MC that has been
... more>>
Spoiler

Betrayed.

[collapse]

It's hard to say anything definitive about this, but it seems interesting. I'll edit this as more chapters are released (probably after the initial promised 30 chapters). Not much has happened so far, but the writing is certainly of high quality, and the characters are at least believable.

[edit]
Okay, now around 40 chapters in. It's kind of nice to have a main character that isn't always trying to keep their abilities under total wraps, and also to have someone who doesn't just kill with impunity. All in all, the MC has become rather matured. I am starting to become rather curious though as to how his revenge will finish. I just hope the author doesn't suddenly give him a
Spoiler

(This isn't an actual spoiler, it's just discussing something that DID happen in the book, and something I hope WON'T happen in the book.) Life extensions, since the MC is only supposed to have a few years to live, and that would take away the pressure from the story.

[collapse]
<<less
37 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
The Sword and The Shadow
February 6, 2018
Status: c31
I personally saw the tags Harem/Action and decided to check it out. Glad I did.

While the story is nothing ridiculously revolutionary, it is still interesting. Our main character is an orphan, and as many orphans do in medieval-esque settings, he became a thief. Sadly, our thief was in the wrong place at the wrong time, which led to him being caught (by an extremely strong individual at that).

However, he didn't get apprenticed to this person, nay! He instead is jailed, and shipped off to be a slave!

... more>>
Spoiler

He escapes of course

[collapse]

By the time we finish with the short portion of the story that is up until the leaving from the ship, we realize there is something... unusual about our main character. Personally, it is this bit of unusualness, as well as the main character's rascally nature that keeps me going. If I were to compare the main character's personality to a well known character, I would have to use Zhou Weqing from Heavenly Jewel Change. Albeit, this character is a bit more of a coward initially. I hold hopes for him getting better
Spoiler

especially after seeing his Determinator/Superpowered ultra focused state from chapters 28-31

[collapse]
.

If this doesn't sound like it's for you, I would wait until around chapter 50 to give it a go, but at least our wonderful translator gave us 31 chapters at once to cut our teeth on, and thank goodness they did, since it gave us a glimpse of what to expect in the future.

TLDR: If you enjoyed Zhou Weqing's personality from HJC, give this one a go. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Simply put: Think Akame Ga Kill, where Esdeath and Tatsumi are the final couple. That's what it's shaping up to be so far in terms of romance. (Granted, the "Esdeath" in this case is on the good guy's side) The translation quality is legible, but there are grammatical issues here and there that can make it slightly uncomfortable to read, but nothing major, and you can easily understand it. There is filler text here and there too, so there is that as well. The story itself focuses on a princess... more>> who was betrayed by her ministers trying to rise back up in rebellion with help from our MC. I will update this review after I read some more. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
We Live in Dragon’s Peak
February 12, 2016
Status: --
Be warned: THE MC IS A SHOTA AND A SCAREDY-CAT. That being said, this was at chapter 22. I hope he gets better. Not asking him to be on the level of yun che, but it'd be nice if his balls dropped a bit. Outside that, the story is amusing and semi-original, the tler is funny (but his tl notes are distracting AF) there is action, there is a***oles, and HERE THERE BE DRAGONS! I'd give it 3.5 or 4 outta 5.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
Shen Yin Wang Zuo
May 21, 2016
Status: c336
This is a a really interesting story to read. The MC is in a monogamous relationship with someone that is akin to a childhood sweetheart. The action is good, the MC is definitely not a wimp, and is actually a high level genius. Granted, it's not to the extent that he has story-breaking powers of op-ness, but he is strong enough to stomp at his level. He also is one of the more hard working protagonists, and despite being slightly naive in some aspects, he is, in general, quite intelligent.... more>> The big bad's in this story are also not one-dimensional, and have an interesting personalities <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
The Crimson Dragon
May 29, 2017
Status: c39
This story was painful. I went in, thinking, cool reincarnated character that became a dragon. Dragons are cool. NOT THIS DRAGON. The MC is a bonafide idiot, and more tempermental and unreasonable than most Wuxia/Xianxia MCs that people complain about these days. At one point, he decides to kill a perfectly intelligent sentient being for no reason other than being curious enough to prod it needlessly, when he could have left it well enough alone. He's also quite arrogant, loving to ignore and trample on those weaker than him, but... more>> is also a bit of a coward who will run away when things go south for him, cuz he thought he could handle them and got arrogant only to get his ass kicked. I stayed hoping the MC would wise up, but he never did. Hell, 30+ chapters in and we still have no ****ing clue what his goal is other than being a more powerful than usual but overly stupid crimson dragon with no real life goal. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
Worldly Stunning Blade
July 18, 2016
Status: c3
I don't know why so many people are giving this story a bad rating. The story so far is relatively average, although, to be honest, its only 3 chapters in. All I can say to those who gave it bad reviews, and those looking to read this is, there is only 3 chapters out so far. Give it some time, and try again when there is ten or so chapters. There hasn't been anything that has occurred yet to warrant such a bad rating.
1. The MC is not an... more>> idiot
2. He is not a super good looking guy (yet?)
3. The translator is doing a good job
4. Almost nothing has happened yet in the course of the story.
I will update this review as more chapters are released. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
Bleach: Secret Intentions
February 24, 2019
Status: c100
I enjoyed this enough to actually read the mtls (shocking right?)

So, this story IS NOT a harem, it's a strictly monogamous relationship. Who the female lead is is pretty apparent.

The story begins back when Rukia and Renji are still kids in Rukongai, the year before entering Soul Society's shinigami school.

... more>> MC doesn't really get any hacks, but they do have the typical genius, weaker to stronger thing going for them, with a stroke of innovation here and there (read as applying known science to abilities).

The main character is a genius, but not to the extent that he's unheard of. Toshiro Hitsugaya is still ahead of him in that regards.

The progression moves fairly quickly early on, as it is a fanfic under 300 chapters. It's fairly well written and flows without too many outstanding logic flaws.

The story stays fairly accurate to the original flow of events until around chapter 60, then it starts to diverge in typical fanfic ways, by having the MC fix past tragedies.

All in all, a pretty good fanfic read, if you don't mind artistic licenses. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
Modern Weapons Cheat in Another World
March 21, 2016
Status: --
Read to the Most recent chapter
Good story, but whoever put those similar recommendations on this page needs their head checked. 4/5 of those recommendations are for a different audience entirely. That aside, this is a nice read, and an actual Yandere Harem.

Edit: Thank you to whoever fixed those recommendations. Story is still the same great yandere harem ^.^
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
One Piece Invincible
October 10, 2018
Status: c4
Another fanfiction! Personally, I've started to get into fanfics a lot, but only if they are good.

This one is kind of ehhh so far though. MC reincarnated (mysteriously, no explanation, just bam, we are there), has a system with 3 main abilities (Devil Fruit, Pills, and something else), and is apparently a towering... 1... meter... tall! (about 3.28 feet btw).

Not a lot of effort is put into the setting, we start out in the same village Luffy grew up in, but the fluidity of the story is okay-ish, if like... more>> reading slightly edited MTL. A lot of terminology and sentence flows are dropped, but if you don't mind that, it's not a bad read. I'll change my star rating if the story gets better later in terms of quality of reading.

TLDR:

Story: 3 (nothing super original, aside from
Spoiler

ability to have unlimited devil fruit powers

[collapse]

TL Quality: 3 (edited MTL level, missing terminology, from what I can tell, I hope the TLer can get an editor, so they can give them a hand)

Characters: 3 (nothing unique here, but I'm not very far in yet)

Overall: 3 (being a bit generous tbh, that one person that runs around on NU giving new stories a default 3 star actually got it accurate this time) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028
Santairiku Eiyuuki
July 21, 2018
Status: v1c2
IT'S REVIEEEEWWWWW TIMMEEEEEEE!!!!

Seeing as only a few chapters have been released, I'm not going to rate it. However, my tentative rating is: 4 stars.

The Good:

... more>> The translator is generally grammatically correct.

The story has it's comedic moments

The Bad:

MC has a penchant for getting dragged along with the flow, as long as his childhood friend eggs him on

Quite a bit of timeskipping

Lack of worldview so far, we only know a bit about the current country, and a neighboring enemy country

Some faulty logic going on at times, but nothing gamebreaking yet

Childhood female friend already has MC henpecked

The Ugly:

MC is reincarnated, but lacks the maturity that comes with it (story says at one point he has the maturity of a 12 year old)

The MC is described as being in a dying country, but they are apparently still well off

The MC is a king, and only has all of 3 adults and 1 childhood friend supervising them, when they are like a 12 year old king.

Welp, let's see where this ride goes from here. I'll update this as the story progresses. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028
Tales of Demons and Gods
July 10, 2016
Status: c124
So, MC reincarnates, gets a super cheat, cuz he has all this cultivation knowledge. Great. What does he decide to do with it? Be an a***ole to anyone and everyone that even looks at him or (who he considers to be) his future wife. As for the future wife, he's like, "OH NOES, I DON'T KNOW HOW TO WOO WOMEN, SO I'M GOING TO BE AN ASS TO HER, AND TEASE HER CONSTANTLY, BEAT THE sh*t OUT OF THE FATHER SHE LOVES, AND DESTROY ANY MALE WHO EVEN THINKS HIMSELF... more>> WORTHY OF HER ATTENTION!" I mean, he basically becomes what you would expect if the lead character ever decided to go yandere for someone. I mean, sh*t, he doesn't even give her the right to choose who she likes, something that most other xianxia MCs dont do to their love interests. Serious kudos tho to the translators, everything is translated well. I just can't. ****Ing. Stand. Nie Li. He is like a God Mode Sue with the mentality of a 5 year old. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
Super Devouring System
August 12, 2019
Status: c15
A cliched read but still good. Meant to rate at 4 stars, but oh well.

Biggest issue is that the initial translator did a good job, but the latest translators spam unedited MTLs, which made me lose motivation to read this.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028
World Defying Dan God
July 4, 2016
Status: c124
While others may complain at the speed that the story progresses initially, personally, I find it rather enjoyable. To those that have issues with it, sorry, but not all of us enjoy reading 60 chapters discussing how the MC is powering up, and reaching the next level, or going over one concept over ten chapters that can basically be summed up in one sentence of "He understood something new, and so got a lot stronger". The story is definitely an enjoyable read, but be warned, the MC doesn't like taking... more>> sh*t, so he behaves like Chu Feng, and Yun Che, however, he isn't like Horny-Che, and knows how to keep it in his pants (He actually tries to be rather faithful to his first waifu at this point in the story). <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
So What If It’s an RPG World?
March 9, 2016
Status: --
Okay, currently at the end of volume 7, when writing this review.
It's... an interesting story to say the least. My issues are as follows:
-Holy sh*t the author is a hard-core lolicon: he (the mc) currently has a harem including quite a few of em ... more>>
Spoiler

Yandere non-blood-related imouto, a yuri loli, 2 tsundere lolis, one of whom is a princess, and the other a transported person like MC, a mechanical loli (she is a shikigami, that gained its own consciousness, in the form of a loli)... that's most/all I think...

[collapse]
5 at least
-The author can't decide if he wants the MC to be good or bad or neutral, the MC is all over the damn place, sometimes smart, sometimes stupid, sometimes cool, at (all) times dense, at times cowardly, oft brave... it can be a pain
-author can't decide if he wants the protag op or just strong... acts like he made the protag super op at times... only to have him struggle with random mobs at times... and he never lets the MC hit his max potential.. 7 volumes in
the pros:
-it's interesting
-the protag is interesting
-the story compels you to keep reading (just ignore how much of a lolicon the author is, and you'll be fine)

All in all, not a bad read. 4/5 <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
Return of the Swallow
May 25, 2018
Status: c10
Wow. Just. Wow.

This story has a lot of detail, and definitely had a lot of effort put into it from the get-go. Thank goodness the translation team is an experienced one, or this story would be a train-wreck! All in all, great translators, good storyline and plot, lots of wit an cunning.

My problem: NO ACTION! SHOW ME SOME BLOOD AND GUTS FLYING AROUND!

Other than that, this story has nothing wrong with it.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Skoll028
Skoll028 rated it
Sovereign of the Three Realms
May 25, 2018
Status: c845
Definitely an enjoyable story. Like many other Wuxia novels however, there are a lot of dumb young master moments, and the power grind is pretty annoying.

One of my only complaints is that it always feels like the MC is way behind everyone else in levels.

Still, an enjoyable read, and a friendly translation group makes the story a worthwhile time investment.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report