Report Review
12 Reviews


SisConEcho
SisConEcho rated it
Mushoku Tensei (WN)
October 16, 2018
Status: Completed
Better than most LN. This is my favorite literature that is family friendly. Some of the bad reviews are on how he was hikikomori scum on earth and never bothered to read further.

It's only if you have a messed up life, that you would truly value a second chance. Plot was well planned and thought out. The world building alone was better than log horizon. All the characters have good development and growth. Side characters are actually meaningful.

They have their own lives, their own story, and are not mere puppets... more>> of the MC.

MC is humble, yet not beta; Complacent, yet not OP; logical; yet not genius. A beautiful balance. The ending I really like but might not be suited for everyone's tastes.

Spoiler

The story is about the life of a person, and doesn't solve all problems. It's great that the world does not only revolve around the MC, as I might to get to see more from this world in the future.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SisConEcho
SisConEcho rated it
Welcome to the Man-Eating Dungeon
October 16, 2018
Status: c69
There's plot, growth, and development. MC is not OP, magic is balanced. I came for the smut, stayed for the story. Highly recommended if and only if you're desensitized to regular stuff. roflpwned said it best, it's not for everyone. You gotta have some hardcore intense tastes to like action this one, even I got some of my boundaries pushed.

MC is not some beta with OP skills. Think monster hunter or dark souls where enemies are stronger than MC in someways. He's also not... more>> a calculating genius nor evil mary sue. Rather, he's practical, down to earth, and logical, which I can't get more out of from this genre. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SisConEcho
SisConEcho rated it
X-ray Is More Than I Thought
October 19, 2018
Status: c89
My brain is so engrossed with by the plot, character development, and writing, my brain took all the blood from my jin jin even tho I was trying to fap. Finally got off on the 8th hour with the help of a hot bath. Now I just need some sleep......

Update: so it changes to a battle novel later, if you don't like those, I suggest you stop after finishing the (spoiler) arc.
Spoiler

dog taming

[collapse]

This book is so good that I'm "trying" to read the raws
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SisConEcho
SisConEcho rated it
Chikyuu Tenseisha no Koroshikata
October 15, 2018
Status: c75
The other reviews will tell you how the story goes. Me, I just want to hunt down the Author and pay to get the rest published.

I don't mind OP characters if they're done logically. But too many protags in LN are illogically powerful. This novel points out many of the ridiculousness and flaws in transferred to another world tropes, and gives life and meaning to the neglected characters in other stories. It's almost like the satire of Konosuba, but with more mature stuff in it. I'd compare this to what... more>> Deadpool is doing with the superhero movie genre.

5 Stars as it's something fresh compared to many bland stories rolling around at the time of this review. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SisConEcho
SisConEcho rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
February 8, 2019
Status: v6
Review based in LN raws

Dispite being average in plot and writing, I found myself reading the raws for the romance.

The people who wronged the MC is not some random idiot with no motivation character wise and the romantic subplots is much more compelling than the main plot itself.

romantic subplot spoiler.

... more>>
Spoiler

While the main girls around the MC are decent character wise, those in his memory are even better, if ur planning to read please don't open the next spoiler tag

[collapse]

Warning: contains spoilers for yet to be translated stuff

Spoiler

demon lord is best girl (from sad memories), sister is second best (more in vol6). I mean they are not present in the main plot and yet it is so beautiful

[collapse]

Brief summary and main gripe

Spoiler

his enemies have gained something from MC and others first round, so he gets them back through mental and physical torture

MC is pretty inefficient for not taking money off corpses (trader had like so much money and MC just melts the coins) and not stealing back magic from magician dispite having the means to before swording the magician to death

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SisConEcho
SisConEcho rated it
Inside the Cave of Obscenity
October 19, 2018
Status: v3c1
I came here coz Tensei sh*tara Slime Datta Ken was a bit lacking in "Slime" and character growth.
This Slime here faces more meaningful challenges and side characters are a bit more developed as far as ero goes.

I'm rating it a 3/5 as word choices and phrases get pretty repetitive, and the plot advances very slow.
I may be too harsh as I see great potential with this writer in storytelling but am left feeling even more empty due to the want for more story and development.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SisConEcho
SisConEcho rated it
Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken (WN)
October 16, 2018
Status: c185
Warning: I heard the LN is much better than the WN, the review only pertains to the WN.
Edit: The LN and Anime are far better than the WN

Pretty generic, waste of premise, tho might be coz I'm too old to enjoy these. Problem is not with having too many characters, but in not taking the time to develop said characters. There is a lot of growth in terms of power, but the execution is forceful. Basically, the MC is too OP, hence there is not enough room for growth... more>> in spirit (aside from 2 occasions). The execution of the anime is way better just by having emojis on the slime's face.

Spoiler

Aside where that one time, he was almost killed, now that was the best chapter due to the challenge, quick thinking, planning. Also, where his friends die, that had weight and impact on the plot.

[collapse]

I almost never say this, but this series should move slower, so that the characters and the MC can have more character development, meaningful challenges, and growth aside from power creep. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SisConEcho
SisConEcho rated it
To Be a Power in the Shadows!
February 10, 2019
Status: c176
So good that I'm trying to read raws, they come out pretty frequently.

The story is a huge gag. MC is an idiot like Saitama, don't take this seriously. Saitama trained so hard he lost his hair. This guy trained so hard he lost his common sense (there's an arguement that he is a genius and his subconscious does all the work for him).

I can't stop laughing. I was burnt out on LNs until I started reading this. Read the first ch of the manga before reading this. It sets the... more>> proper mood to reading this. Reading raws atm, they come out pretty frequently

Contain spoilers for yet to be translated chapters

Spoiler

so the side characters like 666 and super sub plotlines like black tower are not wasted but utilized later really love it as it shows some planning involved by the author

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SisConEcho
SisConEcho rated it
Skeleton Knight, in Another World
February 9, 2019
Status: v3c5
It might have been a decent LN for kids in the 2000s, but being pampered with the selection of novels we have now, I can not give this a higher grade. The only merit is that this series is completed and completely translated. Kudos to TL.

... more>>
Spoiler

Imagine yourself, saving 10 hostages worth 10, 000 gold each, for a payment of 10 gold from elf girl. Then you gift the elf girl a top tier sword, a powerful magic stone and 3 giant bags of gold, some rare wolf tails. What does MC get for all that? He got the right to act like a beta manservent for doing more tasks for the elf, and elf still ain't giving MC any love.
Also, if you save a princess, at least great her so you can obtain benefits later, for example, information or a house which both the MC knew he needed

[collapse]

Basically boring and simple story telling, with a MC that thinks small, have no charisma, and worse of all lacks motivation. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SisConEcho
SisConEcho rated it
Nobunaga’s Imouto is My Wife
February 9, 2019
Status: c15
For a period piece, it is pretty light-hearted. While people do die, (coz what did you expect from this period), this is one of the rare stories that will not leave you depressed. Came for the R18 tag, stayed for the story.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SisConEcho
SisConEcho rated it
Dungeon Defense
January 25, 2019
Status: v5
The humor is dark, real dark, and there lies the charm. The translator Shalvation does a beautiful job using less common words and phrases that gives a bit of Medieval feel to the setting, and does not take away the Asian stuff which adds to the story.

Character Dev is crazy good. Do read this if ur a bit messed up in the head.
I just wish the Author would release vol 6 soon
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SisConEcho
SisConEcho rated it
Sword Art Online
October 16, 2018
Status: v7
The Good: The character designs are really superb.
... more>>
Spoiler

Suguha best girl

[collapse]
Also Mother's Rosario arc, that was great writing.

The Bad:
Author is definitely not a gamer, should have bothered to do research on the gaming industry or MMORPGs.
Spoiler

on the gaming side, the author doesn't even attempt to understand MMORPGs, there is some surface stuff he got right, like how grinding and stats are important and stuff, but recovery rate higher than damage output? that would rely on defense as well, not just the recovery rate.
The worst part: reaction time is king? What a joke, he obviously knows nothing about gaming. Gaming, from shooters, fighting, RPGs, to strategy, is like chess, it's a exercise of the mind, a battle of wits... You don't win chess by moving faster. Log Horizon understands gaming much better.
on the business side, the number of sales don't add up to even a fraction of the modern games we have now might make sense for traditional media, but games? any AAA title under a million sales is a huge failure, the limited release also makes no sense from a business point of view, due to the marginal cost of addition sales, there is no point to limit sales, no publisher/shareholder would allow for this. given the miserable sales, it's a wonder how the developer did not go out of business be4 the series even begins

[collapse]
SAO has decent premise, but lacked the guts to follow through.
ALO is just bad taste.
GGO is meh, there are good parts, but overall... meh <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report