Report Review
17 Reviews


Sinking Ship
Sinking Ship rated it
Summoned Slaughterer
November 19, 2016
Status: c70
MC is a straight homicidal maniac who's only character motivation is killing (strong) people - but really he'll kill anyone. Fine, we can roll with that right? But then the story is just a mess of problems.

1. The setting is laughable to a point of unreality. The people he is killing are supposedly humans but they're just SO DUMB. And it's funny because the author is working off this typical WN template of a world (with adventurers guilds and mustache twirling evil nobles and whatnot) but then expects us to... more>> swallow that no one has ever thought-up a tactic more complex than 'mass the guys up in a line and charge'. And the inconsistency is glaring, like how can you have a society where people can and do wage wars but every military commander in the history of ever was moron? You can't have 'evil-conniving nobles who are constantly scheming below the surface' and also 'idiots whose only ability is to tell a guy with a spear to go poke someone'. The setting is filled with all these seemingly mutually exclusive elements because the author started with this generic fantasy world template and then just adjusted everyone to moron-level so the MC could seem really smart - without giving any consideration to how unreal is makes the setting feel. Why is there an adventure's guild but not a merchants guild? So MC can fire off a quip about it duh.

2. MC is really poorly characterized because he never faces any sort of adversity. All of his interactions with other characters are 'Help me or die' only what sort of help and for how long changes. Because he's mega awesome and strong nothing can challenge him so he just wanders around killing whatever. It's a story more or less completely without tension because only side characters can die and you don't really care about them because - remember the premise now - all MC does is want to kill things. No adversity = no possibility for growth, all we have to go on about MCs character is his internal monologue which is always just 'I sure like killing things'. In the story I have read thus far he has never shown any degree of giving a sh*t about any of the other characters except to lecture them a bit before he kills them sometimes. And when he gets flustered talking to a girl once or twice. Because you have to write for your audience I guess?

3. So the setting sucks, the MC is boring with no possibility of growth or change, really the only thing left to carry it is the fight scenes and the side characters. I skim the fights so no comment there (he always wins remember) and the side characters seem to mostly exist to show off how cool MC is, or to reappear a bunch until you get slightly invested in them so they can be killed.

This came out a bit harsher than I intended but whatever it's an ok way to kill an afternoon if you can find it in you to overlook the various gaping plot-holes and just enjoy the premise of 'there's a really strong guy who wants to kill strong people in a world of people made of tofu (including their brains) '. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
Sinking Ship rated it
The Dreamer in the Spring Boudoir
May 21, 2019
Status: c300
Other people have covered how much of a scum the male lead is so I won't touch on that too much - just suffice it to say that even after 300 chapters he's still an unlikeable garbage human being who has no understanding of how human relationships work. The fact that he eventually comes around to "loving" the female lead actually makes his character worse not better since he is completely unable to give up any of his scumbag ways even after falling in "love". 300 chapters in and I'm... more>> not convinced he regards the female lead as a human being.

... but I digress. The most unlikeable part of this novel - for me - is that it's a novel from the losers POV. In the sense that everything the female lead strives for (at least up through chapter 300 chapters) she ultimately loses or fails to achieve. There are no victories. There are small little triumphs that are always, inevitably, walked back and swallowed up by the torrent of sh*t the author drowns the protagonist in. She muses multiple times in character about how the rival female character has an unbreakable main character halo that results in all of her little victories getting walked back and nullified. And then that is exactly what happens. Over and over again. Any time something good happens for her, anything she tries to accomplish, all of it gets walked back or subverted. She does things that seem good for her and then they come back a hundred chapters later to bite her in the ass in ridiculous and overblown ways. It just feels like she's always. always. always. losing.

all in all not a very enjoyable read <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
Sinking Ship rated it
Levelmaker
October 1, 2016
Status: v1c21
I would like to give this a lower score but it's pretty much exactly what it says on the tin. The MC just singlemindedly focuses on leveling up throughout, the fight scenes become a tiny bit better written further in (the first ones are like 'I hit the thing and it died') but I can't call them well written. Honestly I skimmed the last 5 chapters or so hoping for something to change (another character maybe?!?!?) but nah. It's just reincarnated MC wakes up in fantasy land immediately casts off... more>> all the trappings of civilization he previously enjoyed to wander around hunting wild dogs, eating their meat, sleeping on the ground, and of course leveling up. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
So clearly I didn't get very far in before losing interest, should have paid attention to the reviews already up... Don't make my mistake!

So to summarize my issue - the premise doesn't get used at all. In five chapters a few random slice of life school events happen and the fact that the MC is a magical demigod is irrelevant to all of them. Any time it seems like it might come up it gets glossed over completely.

...?

You see the issue?
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
Sinking Ship rated it
I Said Make My Abilities Average!
October 6, 2016
Status: c23
It's so much fun to read! Well actually the first few chapters are kind of a drag establishing the setting. But once that's done it's all about this mega-OP girl trying to act 'normal' and offending / terrifying / befriending everyone she meets along the way.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
So the first, most obvious, problem with this story is that it is very wordy. The chapters are longer than they need to be probably and a lot of the time it feels like the translator didn't quite understand what he was translating but just sort of went "eh, f**k it" and uploaded anyways. I'm not complaining about free translations - just warning that sometimes things are sort of incomprehensible in a way that feels like its because the translator didn't understand it anymore while translating than you do while... more>> reading.

The second BIG problem can be summed up like this. In chapter 1 the MC is 5 years old, in chapter 45 he's 6 (or maybe 7?) while his sister who follows him around is 1 year younger. MC kind of gets a pass because of reincarnation but all the female leads are just normal 5/6/7-year-olds. The author handwaves it by saying that they're "geniuses" but... no. That isn't enough of an explanation at all as anyone who has ever been around a five-year-old can tell you. It doesn't offend me or anything but it's just so stupid to have all the main characters under 10 years old. Plus it hits all the typical isekai story beats like they aren't all toddlers (girls get kidnapped and beaten up by grown men, girls 'love' MC, girls have heroic determination to do things other than nap time...) basically it's really stupid if you ever stop to think about it for like half a second.

There's also a lot of nonsensical plot elements (MC is abandoned at 5 because he has no skills even though he's like a literal god with a sword and makes zero attempt to hide that fact) but eh, it's isekai it gets a pass from me in that department. It's actually pretty okay in the generic isekai sense and the MC is a lot better than other similar MCs because of his mentality. Just try to never remember that the whole cast is barely out of diapers. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
You know, in isekai the setting is usually the weakest link of all the story elements. Things break down if you give them an iota of thought. There's this boilerplate "template" that 99% of isekai follow that doesn't actually make much sense if you compare it to human history - but that's fine, it's fantasy, you can handwave a lot away with that magic word. Fantasy.

But this novel has some truly next-level terrible world building. It's like the author deliberately set out to make the most unbelievable nonsense possible as... more>> the foundation of his fantasy world and then just passes it off completely straight-faced. Other reviewers have gone into the specifics of the nonsensical elements of the setting, so really I'm just preaching to the choir here, but I still feel obligated to leave this review. Because it really is Just. That. Bad.

As for the generic "become strong, collect girls" isekai plot we all know and love... well, it is what it is. Familiar. It's serviceable, but nothing really novel or anything. However, trying to "enjoy" the plot will require you to willfully ignore the terrible world building and that is a... difficult thing to do. But it's not impossible I suppose.

At the end of the day, if you like the genre, then you might be able to like this too. But I would recommend thoroughly exploring your other options first. Death March is up to volume 17 at time of this writing and it's more or less the same thing. Or Gun-ota if gunplay in fantasy land tickles your fancy. Or any of the ones in the recommended section. Or you know, any of the other millions of similar isekai out there. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
Sinking Ship rated it
Tensei Shoujo no Rirekisho
October 2, 2016
Status: c42
The story is nice, if a bit sad. People complain about the world-building but *it's fantasy* anything goes you know? And I'd much rather read a new take on a fantasy world than tolkienworld (JP edition) no.18992 where the elves are pretty the dwarves like beer and MC likes slaves.

That said it does strain credulity a bit, just the sheer amount of sh*t the MC does before she's even 10 years old is absurd. It's obvious the author wants the main character to be doing *important things* but wants her... more>> to be young too. I mean she's 8 months old when she first introduces new tech to her peasant village which is ridiculous. But other than the fixation on cramming decades of life experience into as short a time as possible I don't have many complaints - the setting is interesting and unique and despite what some of these other reviews say, pretty internally consistent and believable.

All in all a good read - just wish there was more! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
Read this novel if you want to get angry. In the novel the female lead is forced to choose between the abusive rapist male lead and the slightly less abusive significantly more manipulative male lead - two real winners in short. While the actual intended male lead is the one who doesn't literally lock the female lead in a cage and rape her all the time (and thus the marginally better of the two choices) that doesn't actually make him a very likable character in my books since that is... more>> an extremely low bar to clear. Also the way the secondary male leads various heinous tortures that he inflicted on the female lead are described in loving detail multiple times at different points throughout the story is very uncomfortable for me, the reader, especially since nothing (as of chapter 110) ever comes of it.

All the horrible sh*t the secondary male lead did seems only to serve as an explanation for why the female lead is a fragile PTSD ridden flower. Admittedly, the female lead's PTSD is a rather unique character trait that is written fairly intelligently but reading about someone who is always a bouquet of flowers away from total mental collapse isn't as fun as it may sound at first glance. Usually, in these "I've been reborn!" types of novels the main character reincarnates with drive, purpose, and a burning desire to get revenge on the people who harmed them in the past but this female lead... has none of those things.

Instead, she keeps living and working in the same city and the same industry as her abuser. Her only goal seems to be to quietly earn enough money to separate from the industry so she can move away (or something?) but of course before she can do that she catches the eyes of the two predatory male leads. And she seems to have no desire for revenge or to uncover the truth of her own death while her biggest worries are alternately traumatic PTSD flashbacks to her time in the heinous rapist character's torture dungeon and also "why does she still feel love for the heinous rapist character"? While those sorts of reactions might be realistic from the perspective of an actual victim of s*xual violence and kidnapping and all sorts of other horrible sh*t, they're kind of irritating to read about. I, as the reader, wanted nothing more for her to gouge the asshole character's eyes out with a rusty spoon after being forced to read about the various horrible tortures he inflicted but she, as the main character, only worried about why she still loved him so muuuuch.

So yeah, like I said at the top, read this novel if you want to feel angry. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
Sinking Ship rated it
Exclusive Property: Mr. Mu’s Favorite
May 17, 2019
Status: c2
Is it really so hard to write a romance where the ML isn't a rapist? I only bothered to look at this garbage because the top rated review said that he wasn't. But guess what? I read 2 chapters in and, surprise surprise...

I just don't get it. Why is it such a high bar to clear
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
Sinking Ship rated it
Transmigration: Of Mysteries and Songs
May 1, 2019
Status: c30
If you want to read this novel, the first thing you need to do is read the title. I mean really read it. Let it sink into your brain. Because that's what the story is about.

If you go in reading expecting this to be like "the typical OP female MC reincarnation" story then you will be disappointed. Because the story is less about face slapping and hugging golden thighs and more about... well... "mysteries and songs".

I gave it a 3 because I went in expecting the more typical fare (with... more>> the super OP MC going around face slapping and whatnot) but came out disappointed - it's not really fair since the title warned me and all but it's how I felt about it. So now I'm writing this review to warn you, other potential readers, read the title! That's what the story is about! Even if it has to bend the rules and subvert what a reader might expect from an ancient society to make things work... it's ok! Because the title told us that was what the story was gonna be! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
Okay so other people have mentioned some of the obvious negatives. The story is pretty cliche (death > transmigration > cultivation/beast taming/pill making > revenge for the old bodies owner). The story is a pretty slow burn (it takes a long time for anything like "revenge" to happen). The MC comes out really strong in the first few chapters (as in she kills a whole bunch of people) but then is really passive for the 90 chapters after that which leads to a bit of a feeling of let down... more>> expectations.

But all of that is tolerable. What really ground MY gears reading this story, the problem that cropped up like every other chapter, is something that's in the title. You see it says "Phoenix against the world" right? And at the start that seems kind of on point - her whole family is evil and hates her and wants her dead, her fiance abandons her for her sister, random people spit on her in the streets or whatever... we all know the drill. But the more you read the harder it is to believe in that premise (that everyone hates her because she's a waste or whatever). Because she lives in a place called "The Princess Prefecture". And she is the "princess" of the "Princess Prefecture." Even her father is just the "prince consort" and all of her sisters and brothers are concubine born. As in she's literally the only one in the entire place with a direct bloodline to the emperor. The emperor that apparently cares about her? And the empress dowager? And a bunch of other random members of royalty? Like she has a huge, atypical for this kind of story, amount of social backing in the setting.

Normally in these female MC gets revenge type deals the characters have very little social capital and/or wealth so that they can be the underdog. And while the MC here definitely starts out as the underdog (you know with all her crazy evil relatives and whatnot that get frontloaded in the first few chapters) the more you read the less it makes any sense. There's literally a scene a ways in where the emperor like pulls her aside in front of her evil family and is like "hey, are these guys d*cks?" and we get treated to a bunch of internal monologues from the family about how "oh, I wish I hadn't always treated her as if I was a literal cartoon villain because now if she rats me out we're all going to die" and then she doesn't rat them out because of pride or whatever but you get my point? Like (at least at the beginning of the story) she is not at all "against the world" rather she has a huge amount of support and backing and the only reason that she went through all this hardship is because the other characters are all literal lunatics working against their own interests by acting like crazed cartoon villains instead of any semblance of what a reasonable human being might act like.

It really pulls me out of the story when every time the evil stepmother/sister does a bad thing to the MC I just sort of pause and think to myself "yeah, there's no way anyone who wasn't actually literally suicidal would do something that stupid, given the relative social positions of the two characters" but they do do it. And then they do it again the next chapter. And I guess eventually they'll probably have something horrible happen to them for doing it but I still just sort of question why they would do it in the first place. Is having even a tiny bit of nuance to the villains of a story too much to ask? Hell, I wouldn't even ask for nuance, just having them behave in ways that weren't actively self-destructive for no appreciable benefit would be enough.

edit: it's different from typical suicidal baddies because even if the MC weren't hiding her powerlevel their actions would STILL be suicidal just because of all her many many powerful friends <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
The biggest problem (that many other reviews have also touched on) is how little conflict there is in the story. The typical rising action > climax > falling action story structure does not exist at all in this novel. It's more like climax > climax > climax. A problem appears (the hero is banished and set to be killed!) and then instantly resolved (a chat box asks him if he wants to wipe out all monsters within a hundred miles and he selects "Yes").

And it's not just fights or dangerous... more>> situations. It's everything. He meets a girl in chapter 4 or 5. One chapter (maaybe two) later they're married. There is no build up to anything at all ever. Things just happen. And in between the momentous life events that get ticked off like groceries on a shopping list (wife CHECK house CHECK job CHECK) there are a continuing series of non-challenges thrown at the MCs feet for him to casually walk over. The writing style sucks all the "story" out of the story. It feels more like a list of bullet points getting checked off than a novel.

Also I'll mention that MC is married by chapter 10. The novel has "MC loyal to love interest" tag. The novel is also (currently) 540 chapters long. So it's not like the author didn't have time to build up and flesh out a proper relationship... they just didn't. Instead, the meat of the story seems to revolve around "humorous" side characters and descriptions of challenges that last for a chapter or two before being instantly resolved in a single sentence by the MC or his entourage.

It's not a very engaging read. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
Sinking Ship rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
December 25, 2015
Status: --
Super cute and fun to read, no OP super powers just cute plebs doing cute things.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
Sinking Ship rated it
The Beautiful Wife of the Whirlwind Marriage
June 15, 2019
Status: c80
This one is pretty good. Like someone else mentioned there's no rape or hitting or any of that other weird baggage a lot of C-Romance novels have, which is great. The leads interactions are fun and cute and all in all, it's a pretty easy read.

There are some things that drag it down a bit though. The inciting incident is literally the female lead drugging the male lead (unintentionally) followed by the male lead's grandfather forcing him to marry her. The whole thing is very rushed and nonsensical but I... more>> guess at the end of the day there aren't many ways to have two perfect strangers married to each other in modern society so I suppose it gets a pass. (I don't understand why the leads always have to be married to each other from chapter 1 in these romance novels - isn't proposing usually supposed to be romantic?? - but that's neither here nor there.)

The other big drag is that pretty much the only reason the ML marries the FL and subsequently falls in love is that she is the only woman he can physically touch? He has some "illness" that makes him sick whenever he touches a woman - except for the female lead. I mean, it's good for the FL and the ML to have some special connection that no one else has but otoh why does that connection have to be physical touch? It makes it feel like the whole relationship is based on the purely physical aspect which is... not great, at least in my opinion.

But if you can look past that stuff and just enjoy the day to day antics between the two of them it's a pretty fun read. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
Sinking Ship rated it
Bone Painting Coroner
May 24, 2019
Status: c100
The story is kind of interesting. Much more "mystery" than "romance" though. I gave it a low rating because right now the formatting through (at least) the first 100 chapters is busted. I peeked at the stuff being released right now (chapter 450~) and the formatting seems to be fixed but the early chapters are almost illegible thanks to a complete lack of (or a severe underuse of) paragraph breaks. It's unfortunate.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sinking Ship
Sinking Ship rated it
The Bathroom Goddess
October 9, 2016
Status: --
Jesus it's so good. B-but where did my day off go?!?

Seriously though it's a well-written and well-translated little story that will make you smile and cringe and tug at the heart-strings a bit before wrapping itself up beautifully and completely. It's nice to read something so self-contained once in a while compared to endless web-serial type stories.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report