Report Review
83 Reviews


Shio
Shio rated it
The Lazy King
March 27, 2016
Status: --
The cover doesn’t really portray the content of The Lazy King. There’s no way Liege would be that energetic. The Lazy King is revolved around a demon lord that govern sloth. Revolved around, because the MC really didn’t move at all (most of the time), and all the action were done by the demons around him. He is the center that connect all the character, yet he wasn’t the center of the story. A really interesting read.

10/10 will recommend
79 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
Apocalypse Cockroach
November 4, 2015
Status: --
------ up until ch 26------
I was expecting a person that reincarnated into cockroach in zombie filled world. What I found was The Walking Dead, Chinese ver. Quality wise this is your standard zombie apocalypse story, but other animal beside human also slowly got infected by the virus. The human zombie were able to evolve and gain brighter strength/agility, while several animal zombie were shown to have magic like ability.
63 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
True Star
October 27, 2015
Status: --
As a fan of BL, this is a blessing from god. There's plot, there's logic (real life logic, not yaoi logic). It was very well written with a cool headed, mature character. One of the rare novel where I really like the story because of the main character instead of supporting character, even if he's a little bit gary stue-ish.

The problem? None of the love interest is decent. Sure they fit the tall, s*xy, rich, dangerous troupe. I just don't really get their feeling and strong attachment for the MC.... more>> Sure, it's written that his personality was radiant, kind, and other adj that you attach to your usual protagonist. Yet the only one that seems to really click with him was Charles. Kill the Lights is cuter in term of romance. <<less
43 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
It’s been a while since I last seen truck-san. Are you well?

This is your usual reincarnated to otome game character story. The difference is that the main character this time is a man who reincarnated into hidden character. I love male PV in josei/ shoujo, and since the other otome series with male MC is more focused on family issue rather than romance, I’m happy that this one is more focused on romance.

Edit after c28
To put it simply, the MC think of the protagonist from game and the rest... more>> of the cast as moron, but he & Angelica themself are idiot couple. ヽ (´¬`) ノ. Actually every character in the novel is. Note that while the majority of the novel were told by Kyle, several events were told in multiple perspective. <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio
Falling Dreams of Fang Hua
July 21, 2016
Status: c43
Quote from TL-site (etvolare's)

" To the reviewer who was sad about the "unfinished ending" in the raws, don't worry. That's an incomplete site; the full raws are available from my link in the FDFH table of contents page here on volareTL. In addition, I've also tracked down an extra epilogue that the author put in another one of her books... but we'll get to that in the finale. 😉"

So rejoice people! This story have a proper end.

Move to the review: it's a nice story. Being a romance... more>> novel, it doesn't put emphasis on cultivation or action. But when we do, our MC has more than enough to protect herself ;). All characters are written nicely. The early part of the story focused on slice of life- comedy, while the second part is more serious with tragedy undertone. <<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
Semi Datte Tensei Sureba Ryuu Ni Naru
December 29, 2015
Status: --
It’s refreshing and funny. Unlike the usual human reincarnation, this time it’s a cicada that reincarnated as dragon. Both the dragon and cicada memory mix, and gave birth to a dragon that roar ‘min min’ and only eat tree sap lol.

A dragon that sing like a cicada.

A sacred tree that takes mother/wife figure

A pitiful hero that ended up taken by the (cicada) dragon.

The story revolved between those three characters. It’s sweet and heartwarming. I recommend this novel for those who are looking for light and short novel
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
Kamisu Reina wa Koko ni Chiru
December 26, 2015
Status: --
I am at loss on how to describe this one. You could say that this is dark, considering it touch the idea of suicide and rape. One could describe it as “a work that touch the symbolization of abstract being and the mind of human race”. Another would describe it as “Whoa, emo.” But regardless on how people might describe it, Kasumi Reina wa Koko ni Chiru is certainly different from your usual LN.

Kamisu Reina wa Koko ni Chiru consist of two volume, with each chapter consist of several short... more>> stories. All stories has different protagonist, but all revolved around one being called “Kasumi Reina”.
Spoiler

a being that is created from concept of beauty, which ironically drive everyone who saw her to kill themselves

[collapse]
In term of personality, I think Reina is similar to O in hakkomari. Both are detached from the world, aside from one person. (Kazuki to O and the girl from first story to Reina). The synopsis and tag are pretty accurate in this case, so read them first before reading. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
When A Snail Loves
December 2, 2015
Status: --
If this is not the definition of cute, I don’t know what else is.

Xu Xu is downright adorable, without being a klutz or overly dense. Her EQ is pretty low (that’s how the author describe her) and is often oblivious to other people feeling, but she did realize those feeling. When her brain is not too focused on cases, that’s it.

Ji bai (male lead) is sensible and is direct with his feeling. Best part? He gave some space to Xu Xu and respect her opinion. Both Xuxu and Ji Bai... more>> are able to separate their feelings and work, a rare trait in chn romance novel.

It’s a great read for those who enjoy romance. My only regret is that the story was not yet finished when I picked it up. Now I have to wait for updates ;-; <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
If there's something lacking from translated otome-based novel in general, it would be romance. Other novel protagonist are either too busy escaping his/her bad end, too dense to create proper romance, or are still too young for a relationship. It's otome game, where's my sweet romance moment (#`皿´) /

Reincarnated into Yandere Otome Game, while not having too much rabu~rabu~ moment, have one of the best relationship among the novel that I've read. You could really see Wolf and Lycoris's closeness, and how they influence each other's life. The MC is... more>> aware of the feeling around her (and not only love related) and act properly. While I am not a big fans of yandere, I have to say that they are a good thriller source.

+ points for the illustration. I really like Lycoris and Wolf's design <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
Utsuro no Hako to Zero no Maria
November 29, 2015
Status: --
If you could wish for everything, what would you wished for?

The premise of ‘wish granting that turn into tragedy’ is not something new. It has been used over and over again. What made Hakkomari different from the rest is, probably, the amount of ‘concept’ it absorbed and that most wish maker got what they are wishing for. The theme of each volumes are:

On the fist volume, days that kept repeating.

... more>> The second volume is about another taking another's body.

Third and Fourth volume = battle royale.

Fifth and Sixth = revolution

Seventh volume is the closure that ties all loose end. I was kind of disappointed with the ending (I don’t really support the main pairing), but overall, it is a nice read. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
Gong Hua
October 27, 2015
Status: --
For those who have known Yu Wo from her other work, I could vouch one thing. Gong Hua is nothing like her other translated work at all. The writing style was so different that I had to double check the author's name. It doesn't mean that Gong Hua isn't good. It is excellent, just a little bit different.

Yu Wo herself said that she wanted to write different kind of story, and Gong Hua is her most ambitious project. In this case, I could say that she did a good job,... more>> even though the story is completed in 4 volumes instead of the original 6 volume. The world in Gong Hua is fast and unique, and yet it feels familiar at the same time. Those who like her sense of humor might get disappointed though, as the story didn't have room for her usual comedy.

Definitely a must read. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
Apartment for Rent
December 26, 2015
Status: --
Bizarre is probably the best word to explain this novel. The landlord is a pervert, but he’s different from other LN pervert protagonist. It’s more to the mix of insanity and fetish rather than 'research' material. So let me just say this first. If you are looking for echi or light comedy, you won’t find any here. Second, do not read this if you have faint heart, and it is not advisable to eat (especially red meat) while reading. Why did I rate this as 5? Simple. Because it offer... more>> a way of thinking that I’ve never imagine before, even if it is repulsive. The character is complex, and the interaction between tenants bring some wonderful details. Read the tag and summary carefully before deciding to read this series or not. If you can handle it, I see no reason to not try this novel. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
Half Prince
November 16, 2015
Status: --
Half prince is... funny. Actually, the best way to know whether you will like 1/2 prince is simple. Read 1-2 chapter, drop it if you didn’t found the comedy to fit your taste. Because the comedy, style, character, they all will remain the same for the whole 9 fvolumes. Prepare for some deus ex machina and a lot of plot armor. I didn’t think of it as the absolute best novel in universe, but I find several scenes to be funny. Quite a decent one to pass time.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
Outaishihi ni Nante Naritakunai!!
October 11, 2016
Status: c10
Hehehe
It's cute~ Definitely not one with mind blowing plot. As dysry described, the male mc's character are a bit questionable, but the MC personality make it up for me. She's cute and is the type to take action in order to reach her target.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
Ghost Hunt
July 8, 2016
Status: v8c11
Hands down, this is probably the best LN I've ever read. It's a perfect blend of horror, disbelief, and drama.

Usually, in horror story, the author would insist that every case will be related to supernatural existence. However, Ghost Hunt takes into account the disbelief toward their existence and blend it into the story. Not all strange occurrence is caused by ghost, and at the same time, not all exorcists are fraud. The story is realistic & well written, all character are memorable, and several adaptation exist if you want something... more>> with more graphic (the novel is superior though). Romance is there, but is not the main focus of the story. Interaction between characters are entertaining. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio
Hunting for a Delicious Wife (After)
April 15, 2016
Status: --
Stalker vs the poor victim, round 2.
.
..
Sorry, I just can't help it. I dislike the male lead, so reading this sequel is kind of like watching thriller movie. Imagine waking up in the morning, and found someone who you were running away from sitting beside your bed. It's scarier than watching a horror movie.

It's kind of sad that the MC was portrayed as a white rabbit whose destiny is to be eaten by the big bad wolf. I just got a feeling that the story would have... more>> been better if the MC were given a chance to escape from Mr. Good Guy. As long as you have no problem with the stalker male lead, this novel is pretty decent. There are some sweet moment, and I really like the side character. E.g: Lin Yu Fan. It's a waste that the side character didn't appear more often. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
Ossan (36) Ga Idol Ni Naru Hanashi
May 1, 2017
Status: c12
This novel should have been titled "36 years old uncle idol: how everything works out just fine after I lost weight".

No fight, no misunderstanding, understanding family, meeting the right people and opportunities, plus his personality is perfect. The mc's luck is similar to xianxia's protagonist plot armor, but since this is a heartwarming jpn story, there's no enemy or face smacking. Not bad, but nothing too memorable either
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
Lightning Empress Maid
March 9, 2017
Status: c44
Your enjoyment in reading this novel is pretty much based on how much you could tolerate the narative style. The main character is OP, so much that the antagonists are pretty much useless. While the mc's enemy pop up once in a while, what keeps the plot going is the mc's master. The comedy is very japanese like, so you might not like it if you dislike misunderstanding/violence type of comedy. As for the narative:

Nanaki used to be one of the five emperor you know. Nanaki's friends is a god, so he's strong. Nanaki who's friend is a god is also really stong. What? Shio speak strangely? Ummn, I see... Then I think it's best if you didn't read this novel. Pretty much all sentences are written in Nanaki's 1st person perspective like this you know.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
Baccano!
December 21, 2015
Status: --
One of the most complex and interesting light novel there is. The story in Baccano revolve around a set of immortals, ranging from the year of 1705 to 2000-s. Which is crazy. Be prepared to remember huge number of cast, multiple character view and epic story. The first arc of Baccano! The Rolling Bootlegs (1930) mainly follow the story of Firo, a young cammora member as he get entangled with mysterious organization, thief couple, and alchemist. One thing lead to another, and this character lead to another, and you get... more>> a set of almost immortal character you can’t bear to separate with. Narita-sensei really play a lot with perspective here, which could be seen from the Grand Punk Railroad arc. The conclusion and feeling you got from side-A and side-B are really different. Then when you think it all already finished, it comes back 11 volume later with Another Junk Railroad which completely change the story all over again. It’s a sheer madness. Madly good.

11/10 <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shio
Shio rated it
The King’s Avatar
December 20, 2015
Status: --
I'm too lazy to write a new one, so I'll just copy paste my review from MU

Compared to other MMO related novel that focus on fantasy, QZGS stood out as the only one with e-sport atmosphere. You really could feel that the author is knowledgeable in game mechanic. The story didn't rely on luck/cheat/op equipment/impossible game setting to made MC as the strongest *cough*Zhan Long*most MMO LN*cough*. Ye Xiu is strong because of his abundant skill and experience in glory. This is not a story about genius who strive to... more>> be the very best, but about a fallen champion who try to reclaim his rightful throne. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 5