Report Review
12 Reviews


Shinygold13
Shinygold13 rated it
Return of the Goddess
February 18, 2018
Status: Completed
A fairly good story almost like Hidden Marriage but not quite as the MC's character is more somber or dare I say, melancholic? This personality stems from a heartbreaking past and unlike Hidden Marriage's Ning Xi whose reason for entering showbiz ... more>>
Spoiler

is to fulfill her dream to be an actress

[collapse]
, this novel's Ning Xi used showbiz as a tool
Spoiler

to gain justice for her mother's death

[collapse]
. One can even draw a comparison between the two protagonists with RoG's MC a more calculating individual than the MC of HM.

Now, even though I wrote that these two novels are alike but this similarity is only in the atmosphere or the overall vibe that they delivered. That feeling that there is more to it than just what is in the surface.

The characters are well-developed and the pace of the novel give each a personality that is distinctive and realistic. There is also the right amount of fluff which balances the mystery-like part in the latter half of the novel. Another thing to note is the ML, I love how the author portrayed his character. He really is a doting man to the point that I know without a doubt that he will always, and I really mean always, stand by MC's side.
Spoiler

He, himself, admitted that he will be happy to be used by MC and later on, confessed to the MC that even though he wants everyone to know that she is his woman he doesn't want others to say that she is hugging his thigh --to which the MC joked that she is not hugging his thigh, she is hugging his waist

[collapse]

Lastly, this is an entertaining read that is not a waste of time. One of the good modern/showbiz romance novels in novelupdates that I gladly recommend to those searching for a worthwhile novel of the same genre. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shinygold13
Shinygold13 rated it
Little Prodigal Alliance Head (and Cook)
October 22, 2017
Status: c34
I'm the kind of person who is partially influenced by ratings. Partially because personal interest always trumps whatever views others have of a certain subject. For example, in NU, I usually don't read novels with a 3.9 and below rating, even a 4.0 is already treated with a cold-shoulder but this time PAH's rating is completely thrown out of the window for 2 reasons. First, the genres because I don't read love stories of homos*xual couples as the main plot. Knowing there's only a shounen-ai subplot tag heightened my interest... more>> since reason no. 2, the synopsis, is intriguing to say the least.

So I dove in and did not regret it.

Personally, I think the reason this got low ratings is probably because of mismatched expectations such as it being a BL but finding out in the later chapters that... it's not. Now, I can't vouch for sure that the later chapters will be amazing because at the moment of this writing, I'm only on Chapter 34 but what I've read so far impressed me enough to give a review.

The premise of the story focused on a transmigrated woman masquerading as a man and this disguise is not as flimsy as the usual gender bender facade e.g. bindings around the chest. Aside from this unique circumstances, our MC also did not inherit the previous body's memories and so, she has to wade through the present affairs without any inkling of the invisible bombs she might trigger with her modernist mindset. You might think the comedy tag is because of her ensuing dumb actions and the usual cutesy look to earn the ML's love such as what happened in The Eunuch is Pregnant but that is not the case here. Indeed, our beloved MC is a fish out of the water but what she lacks in information, she makes up in wit and utter shamelessness. She's not a genius yet the brilliance of her mind makes her a formidable opponent against those who wish to bring her down.

To conclude, PAH is a unique gem befitting a five star rating and if you find yourself hesitating, why not try this little beanbean? After all, there's a lot of overrated novels out there that deliver a minimal storytelling and a bland protagonist. Since the translation is excellent and the story flow is paced well plus a character you can actually put your shoes in, this is a guaranteed entertaining read. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shinygold13
Shinygold13 rated it
Perfect Secret Love: The Bad New Wife is a Little Sweet
September 26, 2018
Status: c1652
Yes, I know, many people here who have read the 1000+ chapters are disappointed, ranting about how everything seems senseless. To be honest, that's what I felt reading the later chapters of Hidden Marriage too. Thank God the raws are already completed or else I can't connect what's happening anymore. Unfortunately, Perfect Secret Love is NOT finished yet so please, hold your horses darlings. This is a serial and may even take more than Hidden Marriage's 2100+ chapters so, unless you know the ending, you can't judge it harshly yet.... more>> The author is in the middle of finally, FINALLY, showing us the plot hiding behind all those before 1000+ filler arcs. Some of you may not have noticed it or chose not to notice it but from the start there are already hints here and there, hints that are sparsely thrown in the glitz of the showbiz trope Perfect Secret Love initially introduces us.

I became intrigued with Perfect Secret Love because I love the mystery behind the two leads, why is SYH so possessive? Why can't he let go of YWW? So many whys and it is slowly unravelling. One of those questions I have also centers on YWW because I remember in the early chapters that she had a dream
Spoiler

of blood and running away and violence in general

[collapse]
and also how she died in her past life. These things became buried after awhile as we focused on her success as Ye Bai and the family drama and to be honest, the whole showbiz thing, when I look at it, it seems like a filler arc.

In the latest chapters, the question behind SYH's obsessive love and his overprotectiveness is finally being answered! YWW is more than what she seems and all those random characters we met actually has a deeper role. I admit, I also have my WTF moments especially
Spoiler

when it is revealed that YWW is not really YWW but the sister of Nameless Nie and that she had a child with SYH but SYH didn't know because she disappeared from his life for ten months and when he accidentally reunited with her, she is in a horrible, bloody state. By then, he took her away from the Independent State and to China where, because she's suffering from PTSD and doesn't want to remember the hell she went through to the point of hurting herself, SYH decided to hypnotise her, changing her memory to that of the real YWW who is already dead. And made her live as YWW as she forgets her former infamous life. Frankly, the hypnotism part is the WTF moment

[collapse]
but then again, this is fiction so, suspension of disbelief.

So, what is my point in this whole review? My point is to wait for Perfect Secret Love to finish before judging it harshly because that is the crux of webnovels in comparison with published novels. We get to see and read the process AS it is written not AFTER it is written and if you are not satisfied with the former, why the F are you reading a webnovel? My plea is that let us withold judgment and just enjoy the rollercoaster ride because I, for one, am excited where Perfect Secret Love is going,
Spoiler

although, I'm annoyed at SYH right now because his charade of denying he is SYH in front of YWW to get her to return to China -they are in the independent state- is getting on my nerves and YWW deserves none of it especially when she is wading blindly and miraculously surviving

[collapse]
<<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shinygold13
Shinygold13 rated it
Broken-Winged Angel
March 25, 2018
Status: c55
The premise is promising but the execution was lacking. As a person who reads smut, even dark ones, I never shy from anything taboo and the idea of this novel is truly enticing, so exotic in fact that I read this while waiting for my flight and here’s my verdict:

  1. Too much time skip
  2. Narrative seems to be summarized probably in order to fit its 56 chapters (though this may just be my own perspective) but it IS still a good narrative, it’s just that I could not immerse myself fully and at the same time, couldn’t experience the emotions/actions supposedly being shown by the MLs
  3. Quality translation! This is commendable (I wouldn’t mind reading other books that will be translated by this group)
  4. Insufficient character development and why, for me, the ending seemed hurried.
  5. The MC’s emotions and actions are spot on as I find myself agreeing with her POV, her struggles and the overall realistic feel she oozes (the author must have experienced this, read a lot of books of this genre or a very down to earth imagination)
P.S. It’s in first person
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shinygold13
Shinygold13 rated it
National School Prince Is A Girl
October 8, 2017
Status: c379
Currently using google translate to read this book. It's hard to read with the crappy translation but all in all the humor is spot on, the romance is slow but heck, reading about Qin Mo 'eating vinegar' trumps that deficiency by a lot. Ah, this is why I love gender bender so much especially when the reveal hasn't happened yet.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shinygold13
Shinygold13 rated it
Reign of the Hunters
August 29, 2018
Status: Completed
So, I sacrificed many nights just to finish MTL this and in fact, I’ve just closed the browser of the site where I was reading Reign of the Hunters.

To be honest, I love it. I love the characters, the world, the romance, and the plot. The thing is I feel like the author had abandoned some of her ideas halfway because after reading, there are still some loose ends in-game... more>>
Spoiler

The quest about Elf King Dole (introduced from the start but no end), The Epic Quest’s end?!

[collapse]
. There is also a moment that the plot switched suddenly near the end that it made me question where the heck the author is taking us and at the 400+ Chapters, tbh, it became somewhat depressing. Man, it was so melancholic that I wasn’t ready for it to end, not to mention, it was wrapped up just like that. I really, really, see the potential for more chapters -Ugh! I’m so frustrated of webnovel endings! Their endings don’t leave me as much satisfaction as published novels-

Anyway, I’m a generous person so despite my rant, this is still a five star. Reign of Hunters has a good foundation and it carried itself well but seemingly flopping slowly near the end. This could be because the author wants this webnovel to end already or maybe she has forgotten the foreshadowings she established and abandoned her initial plots. Whatever the case, it ends with a somewhat sweet note between two hunters. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shinygold13
Shinygold13 rated it
The Rebirth of the Malicious Empress of Military Lineage
March 18, 2018
Status: Completed
Well written, well-paced, and well-developed characters. There is no chapter wasted and every scheme works like well-oiled cogs inside a gigantic machine. What I love about this novel is that it reached its agenda without any detours and ended in a suitable amount of chapters, never lengthening it for the sake of views or other external factors. The author seemed to operate under this perspective as well and even mentioned that they never quite expected the amount of tickets they received for a particular chapter when they didn't ask for... more>> any in the first place [in the raws]. For me this is commendable because it shows that the author knows where their novel is going and it showed.

重生之将门毒后 is both character and plot-driven and as a reader, I couldn't ask for more. If I must give a distinction, I'd say that the first part is focusing on plot with the reader being introduced to key characters -which is why the romance is low-key here- and also with the author laying down the foundations for the more character-centric second part. Foreshadowing is abundant here too, most are heartwarming and others a bit tragic.

The ongoing theme of 重生之将门毒后 is the notion that in this universe, two people are fated to meet and not necessarily fated to be together because in the end, it is up to them to develop this destiny. It was shown in
Spoiler

the past, when MC gave a red string bracelet to ML while drunk; the present and the future, when she was in a coma

[collapse]

Not only that, the reason behind her rebirth was actually rationalized here so yes, this is really a great novel and I highly, highly recommed this [even mtling]. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shinygold13
Shinygold13 rated it
Endless Love
August 19, 2018
Status: Completed
To be honest, I really find ASD, the female, detestable. I was pissed with her indecisiveness. Most of all, I hate, hate, hate it when a person enters a relationship without even confirming her own feelings, and this is what happened. That moment when ... more>>
Spoiler

ASD suddenly found herself in a relationship with another man when she is feeling anything but affections. It's even debatable if she ever held a bit of like before Zou You became her boyfriend. What's more, ASD comforted herself with thoughts like she'll love him soon enough or she will cultivate deep affections for him now that she's in a relationship. THAT, that is frustrating! Why? Because that is a great disrespect to yourself and to your partner. Not only that, it's clear it is going to fail which ultimately means you wasted your time... time that you should have used in a far more beneficial ways

[collapse]
This is the greatest flaw of her character, I presume, and the author did try to resolve that when ASD finally came to the conclusion that
Spoiler

she's in love with QWE

[collapse]
but for me it wasn't enough. My frustrations hasn't been fed with a good amount of character development for it to be satisfied.

Nevertheless, the comedy did pull off and eased my annoyance... to the point that I wished there wasn't any romance at all and just plain gaming. Anyway, I do think that the romance between ASD and QWE is good but it needs a bit more substance because the earlier chapters, I clearly sensed a hint of dislike from ASD and the transition between dislike to like and lastly, to love wasn't fully shown to me. Frankly, the extra chapters, written in QWE's POV, and the depiction of ASD is way more likeable than when I'm reading ASD's POV but I guess that is the crux of 1st POVs; you see and feel only one person and you don't get to know what kind of person that person is in other's eyes which made those extra chapters all the more endearing because you can see how QWE fell in love with ASD.

Overall, I like it especially after ASD became decisive and firm. The events leading up to their eventual confession was fun to read and I wished the author added scenes in-game too when they are officially together because I know how much those friends of QWE are rooting for him from the start of ASD's appearance in WOW. Their journey was a long one but it wasn't as angsty as it seems to imply, it was good but it was a necessary growth for ASD as well as a way for QWE to reconfirm within himself the love he had nurtured for so long.

Welp, it was hard MTLing this but it was worth it and I hope someday someone will translate this because even though it's not the best, it's still good and entertaining. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shinygold13
Shinygold13 rated it
The Crazy Adventures of Wu Gate
April 4, 2018
Status: c32 part1
I expected a funny ride but cried buckets instead. I don’t want to say anything more but it’s a very good novel. Highly recommended!
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shinygold13
Shinygold13 rated it
The Two-Faced Venerate Emperor
February 7, 2018
Status: Completed
A good novel full of twists and turns. Even though I finished this with the help of google translation, I still got the gist of the majority of the plot.

My only complaint is that the ending left me hanging although it seems like it is the ideal ending considering all the events that transpired. A wish there’s a side story to atleast give us a glimpse of their future but sad to say there’s nothing.

To be honest, the ending only left me with a feeling of sadness and a tinge... more>> of frustration because after all the things the main couple went through, it ended with ambiguity between them and it is up to the readers to imagine what will happen next. In short, it is an open ending with a slight hint of a happily ever after. Disappointing, really.

Despite this, the whole cast of characters are quite interesting and the author does not hold back in tugging your heartstrings. Be warned, there will be lots of character deaths in both sides.

Lastly, Fate plays a major role here. Everything is -mostly- predestined. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shinygold13
Shinygold13 rated it
Hidden Marriage
January 27, 2018
Status: Completed
I plowed through this book with google translate and even though I missed some nuances but the general plot and humor of the novel were well-received. I have mixed feelings to be honest, why? It's because I completely love it but I feel that the ending was a little lacking. Majority of this feeling stems from the open-ending of a particular couple (?) -trust me, you'll understand that question mark one day- Aside from that, I am quite excited to read them in English.

Hidden Marriage is a fascinating read, full... more>> of laughter with a dose of angst. The plot is a bit complex and wide, usually the hints dropped are unraveled hundreds of chapters later which sometimes poses a problem since it is difficult to remember where you read this particular information. There is no lack of lovey-dovey moments and fluff -I still want more, gah- What I particularly love about c-novels set in modern times is the social media interaction and Hidden Marriage is full of it, reading them is an exercise between frustration and indifference, fascinating nonetheless.

Lastly, I wish to immerse myself more in this universe but as they say, good things must come to an end. This was a fun and wholesome ride, one I won't mind revisiting again.

Have fun! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shinygold13
Shinygold13 rated it
You’re Beautiful When You Smile
September 19, 2018
Status: Completed
I mtled this months ago and never got around to leaving a review, until now that is. First, let me warn you about the ending... yes, a reviewer from above already spoiled it and it is true. It’s almost a downer ending because there’s no extra chapters or even an epilogue.

Aside from that, it is an amazing novel. The romance is subtle, no outright love at first sight kind of thing. But there is what you call as chemistry between the two leads which is why their interactions are so... more>> funny that it sucks you in, make you crave for more. Fortunately, the eSports didn’t take a backseat, in truth, it served as another form of development in the two leads’ relationship. From respect to trust and, the end game, to love; a healthy foundation, if I may say so myself.

The first part is full of laughter while the second part is full of sugar so any shippers out there will definitely be satisfied with how our ML finds ways to be with the FL in secret and before that is his “courtship”.

Remembering it today still gives me the tickles! Definitely one of my faves. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report