Report Review
12 Reviews


Shikaz
Shikaz rated it
Martial God Asura
May 20, 2016
Status: c500
This is a very poor novel, it had potential, but while cultivating, it took the wrong step and become a cripple.

That's how I would describe this novel. It started out with an interesting story, but it just kept taking the wrong, most boring steps as it progressed.
It's been quite some time since I dropped this, but I still remember the story clearly, but yet, the characters I don't, which tells you just how memorable they are. First off, this is a harem, a real harem, as in he actually... more>> f*cks them, not just talks with them, but the girls themselves have zero personality, they're simply there to be his s*x dolls for whenever he needs to wet his willy.
They have no goals besides following MC around and it's just so sad and boring reading about it all. There's simply no "love" in MCs world, besides "willy-wetting", which is displayed by randomly raping as punishment, yes, that's right a MC that actually r*pes, kinda cool, but then again not. It's like he can only think with his d*ck sometimes.

The MC have no morals of "right or wrong", it's more like whatever he feels like. He has so many inconsistencies because of this and no real personality, since everything goes.

I dropped this mostly because of the tasteless harem which it turned into, since the combat was al right, but predictable and overall generic as it kept the same patterns every battle, but still enjoyable read.

But this novel has too many problems, and MC just adds fuel to the fire; Retarded, hot-blooded, stupid-trying-to-be-smart, twisted morals, ruthless, I mean, you could go on.
Simply put, this story revolves around the MC, glorifying everything he does as right. I'd be O.K, with him raping and killing mindlessly, if there was actually a reason for it, instead of acting like an animal all the time, it's just boring and lazy fetish writing.

Overall this novel has ton of problems, but the harem and the barbaric/Viking MC that pillage, r*pe and kill everything just comes of as a mindless animal without any sort of control, there's no character to build from that.

2/5, originally I'd say 1/5, but gave it some mercy points, since I did like it somewhat until the harem and the mindless animal MC became. <<less
84 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shikaz
Shikaz rated it
God and Devil World
May 16, 2016
Status: --
This Novel had such potential, because it starts out extremely great, but slowly it deteriorates and simply becomes horrible.

The beginning is about the outbreak of the zombies and the newfound powers the MC gains, powering up, rescuing and meeting new people, it was a great beginning.

Then it took a dive for the worse. In the beginning, a few people that the MC met had unlocked some power, roughly the same level of power, or slightly less than MC, which is fine. But later on, anyone besides MC becomes utter garbage,... more>> and they just follow him around, leeching.

The zombies are mutating at a quick rate, getting stronger as the story progresses, putting some pressure on the people and the MC to get stronger, but what does the MC do? He starts his own Harem empire.

It's so utterly stupid. MC starts out as a rational human being, with some decency and a few goals (find parents, getting stronger etc), couple of chapters later he forgets it all and f*cks whatever moves and the story drifts more towards his Harem. It later comes out as almost bragging about the girls that the MC bangs, when really the only reason they sleep with him is because they don't want to die from zombies, but the MC takes it as it's his f*cking personality and charisma that gets him laid and that it's only natural that they sleep with him. If the side characters wouldn't have been so f*cking useless he would never had gotten laid, but alas, it makes me mad when such a potential rich story is ruined like this.

I don't know if this is some power trip or fantasy that the author had when he made this novel, but is sure comes off as that. I generally liked this story, up until the harem part. I really dislike harem novels in general, but can suffer through most of them, but this one is the worst I've ever read, it's horrible. Couldn't continue to read it after that, so dropped it.

I'd like to rate it 1/5, but since I really liked up until his harem empire, I feel like at least deserves 2/5. Poor novel, but had potential, but got crippled and wasted away.

Summary: Great beginning, but slowly turns the MC into a virgin-loving harem king, whom f*cks everything that moves and does whatever he wants. <<less
81 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shikaz
Shikaz rated it
Coiling Dragon
May 15, 2016
Status: --
CD has a very special place in my heart, which is why I'm also a bit bias towards it, being one of the first Xianxia I read.

This is an amazing piece to begin with if you're new to Xianxia, reason being that it's a complete translation, no need to wait a day, or week for a new chapter. Just binge through it all.

What really makes this one great is the relationships the MC has with different characters, which just helps flesh out the personality of the MC. This story should've... more>> been a bit longer in my opinion, to focus a bit more on certain characters, because this story suffers greatly from ignoring certain character for quite some time, until they become necessary for the story again, which is a bit sad, because many of them has been a great part of the story, until they're not. It makes it feel a bit rushed.

The world, the adventures, everything is extremely well written, it's such an amazing joy to read, and you just wish you could experience something like it while reading it, it's simply amazing. CD has its flaws, but I'm uncertain if it's because I'm bias toward it, or that it's just simply that good, that I gave it a 5/5. The non-bias part in me would like to rate it at 4/5, but in the top tier of 4s, because I feel like there's the possibility it could've been even better with more chapters, exploring characters, adventures and romance more.

UPDATE:

So I've read CD again, for the second time. Why should you read this? Because I Eat Tomatoes, the author is simply a genius at tugging at your heart strings, and making up likable characters and creating an amazing world, which shares the same universe as some of his other works. Of course reading it a second time, you notice some of the flaws.

In general all of I Eat Tomatoes works revolves around "Luck" which can be noticable in CD quite a bit, but I didn't find it overly so, except for a few cases, where luck simply is the only thing keeping the MC alive, but I can let it slide, since I can't come up with a better way of making such a rich and interesting story to begin with.

Also, the fighting becomes more or less the same at a point in the story, but the Author has still done a good job at keeping it interesting, but it does become predictable as it gets closer to the end. The most serious "flaw" this novel faces, though, is still the abandonment of characters, as most are really well written and introduced and to just forget about them is really the big flaw of CD. Getting a conclusion of what happened to some characters at the end would've been the cherry on the top for this novel.

This is still one of the best written novels out there, and I can't recommend it enough. <<less
65 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shikaz
Shikaz rated it
Child of Light
May 14, 2016
Status: --
The main character is very naive and childish throughout the whole story and can't seem to stick to a personality, but changes to whatever the author wants him to be.... And he isn't the sharpest knife in the kitchen, so to speak.

The story is supposed to revolve around magic, but it’s seriously flawed, casting take ages, and enemies just stand there waiting. It’s like a turn based RPG game. Even though close combat “Qi” like energy exist which makes warriors OP, but never really fully utilized, because “magic”. The combat... more>> is very predictable because of this, which kinda makes it boring.

Now all of this might sound pretty bad, but it was a solid 3/5 or even a 4/5 before Volume 9.

You had two potential love interests in this story, but the MC falls for one of them and taking in his innocent and “pure” character he stays as friends with the other potential love interest, which is fine, because nothing happens, you know, until it does.

Spoiler

The MC is truly in love and says he would never betray her or be with anyone else, ever. But Lo and behold, it turns into a harem. Love interest nr 2 keeps nagging MC, telling how much she loves him, and he just caves in, totally going against his “pure” and honest character. MC says that he might never love Nr2, but she can at least “be with him and Nr1” What the f*ck!? It seriously doesn’t make any sense at all, I guess the author wanted a threesome, and this was as close as he could get.

[collapse]

Anyway, TL:DR: Don’t read this if you hate childish, naive, stupid MC and stupid harem, which goes against the very characteristics of the MC.

I had enough of the rage inducing story, so dropped it.

The rage you will accumulate from this novel can become quite great, but it can still be enjoyable at times, hence the 2/5, but definitively in low tier of 2s.

If you got nothing else to read, I mean literally nothing else, give it a try. <<less
38 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shikaz
Shikaz rated it
True Martial World
May 15, 2016
Status: c420
This is a good novel, alas it can be a bit slow and I feel like it tries to over-explain certain things, dragging it out for too long, but I still enjoy it a lot.

MC is pulled into this new world from his previous one, by a "magic purple crystal card" which gives him the power to control and see energy of the world, which will bring him huge benefits as the story progress.

He's extremely lucky, but most of this luck is due to having the power to control energy,... more>> making things that are impossible, possible. Which just makes his lucky breaks more believable than most other novels out there.

MC is calm, collected and more reserved type of character than anything else, he's from Earth, and is a grown man thrown into a child's body, so he isn't your average ruthless MC, but more of an Earthling trying to adapt to a savage world, which he does a pretty good job at, even though the MC could be explored more, by having him interact more with people, creating a friendship or the like. MC comes of as a really lonely person because of this.

The power-up structure is really easy to understand in the beginning, you got your realms and levels between them (low, mid.. Etc) but it gets a bit more complicated later on as the realm or level of power is not really specified for certain characters, but I believe we'll get an explanation as the story progress.

If you're thinking about romance, this have the potential for it, but no romance, as of 420 chapters. There's two, or three potential love interests so far and I hope it doesn't turn into a Harem, but it doesn't seem like that's possible, as it doesn't really collide with the personality of the MC.

This is a good novel, it's not the best, but it has the potential to become a great one. It just lacks in meaningful relationships and "feelings" in certain areas for the MC for me to make this a 5/5.

Anyway, this novel is definitely worth reading.

UPDATE:

Or, so I would like to say.

I've dropped this around 580+ mark. Reason being that it kept getting more and more drawn-out and explaining things that seems quite meaningless, or bleak. And the powerlevels are simply never clear-cut, it's either powerful, or not powerful, or inbetween, which simply gives you no clue or what to expect, in a bad way. I might pick it up again though. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shikaz
Shikaz rated it
Chaotic Sword God
May 20, 2016
Status: c465
First off, I really, really like this novel. But why do I rate it so low?

Well, this novel is like a mindless action movie. The scenes, the action is fantastic and the terminology is great, but the story isn't really there.

The MC is supposedly "smart", but all he does is offend and kill people of other powerful people, making him run until he kills said powerful people, rinse & repeat.

If he just could keep the killing down a bit, that would be great. But then again, everyone is so offended... more>> in the story, that it is impossible to resolve any matter, other than killing.

What I really like, besides all this action, is that the MC is OP, but at the same time, he gets his ass kicked, but comes back stronger than before. I believe this is what makes it great. It's like watching a superhero movie, so you just want to come back and see what Jian Chen is going to do next and how he's going to overcome it this time, even though it gets repetitive, you still love it.

What brings it down is the story, or the lack of story, I should say. There is a story, but it's just briefly explained, but because he's still too weak when it's introduced it just gets put on a shelf till later. So the first 420+ or so chapters, it's about him cultivating and killing people endlessly, so you forget about any story that was explained shortly in the beginning, but after that the story is slowly coming back now, but if it's done wrong, it will just come as the next big thing he needs to overcome, so we'll see.

Overall this is a average novel, or slightly, just slightly, above average. I prefer my MC smarter and less ruthless, but it's still just mindless fun to read this. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shikaz
Shikaz rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
November 1, 2016
Status: --
I really liked "I’m Really a Superstar" in the beginning, enough to consider giving it a 5/5 rating, but as I got futher into it, I found more and more things I disliked about it.

The plot is very interesting and it's all well written, which is the really strong point of this novel. But all of this gets really repetitive as you go futher into the story.

The story follows the same theme over and over, with little variety and predictable outcomes, but don't get me wrong, it's still good, but... more>> it does bring the overall enjoyment down a notch.

Overall the MC isn't that likable, for me at least. He's overly arrogant at times and it can be really annoying, as his ego is so f*cking big it's difficult to imagine what would happen if his "cheat" disappeared, as he has zero talent besides his "cheat". The romance is utter garbage. It's modern era with harem theme, but the "harem" comprise of him groping the females as they tell him to stop doing that. It's just feels weird reading this, and pisses me off, somewhat.

MC's "romance" has a "japanese beta male MC" feel to it, as the females kick his ass all the time, and outsmart or degrade him in some way. The romance part of this novel really brings it to its knees, as it's totally unnecessary and just feels awkward and weird as the MC proceed to grope them, totally unwanted. This could easily been a 5/5, if the MC just wasn't so retarded. It's an average story all combined, but it's very different from the usual wuxia/xianxia theme, which makes it feel fresh and new. If the MC would've had a better personality, this would've easily been a 5/5 for me, but alas, you can't always get what you want. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shikaz
Shikaz rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
October 20, 2016
Status: c278
This is one of the very few novels that really deserves a 5/5, granted not "top tier" of 5s, but none the less still a 5.

I had my doubts about this novel when I read the description. MC seemed too cold and heartless for me to like this, since I do like stories with followers that have character, charisma and isn't completely useless all the time. (I Eat Tomatoes, his works for example)

I was wrong and right at the same time. There's no side characters that are "followers" of... more>> MC that follows him around, but this isn't a bad thing, not at all.
It fits his personality. He isn't overly cold, he got "friends" but usually it's a mutually beneficial friendships; Example being s*x friends.
Normally I like romance more, but it's done in a very great way here, as his personality is a bit... well lets just say it fits.

Once he splits up with his "friends" and acquaintances, they're not totally forgotten afterwards, as some do pop up during the story once or twice again, but you wont feel that need of "I wonder what that character is doing now" because of the how they were represented during the story.

His presonality and logical mind grew on me as I kept reading this, and even though there's not much of a story line besides watching as he grows stronger and figures sh*t out, it's still enough as all the terminology of powerleves, abilites and such is explained in a very unique and interesting way.

All this and his powerful AI-chip that adds another flavour to the mix, makes this one of the greatest novels so far.

How this story develops and pushes forward will be a very interesting thing to read. At 278 chapters, I can only recommend this novel. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shikaz
Shikaz rated it
Battle Through the Heavens
May 15, 2016
Status: c406
This review is mostly based on what I like about BTTH from my own personal taste.

The story starts out al right, crippled genius turns into genius again and with a bit of help from a spirit in his ring, he embarks on his journey for power to settle a "minor" dispute between his ex-fiancée. Nothing special, but it was O.K.

It takes a dive for the worse after that though. The spirit in his ring helps him with basically everything. The MC is never really in any danger for his... more>> life, because his spirit/teacher gives part of his powers or/and takes over his body whenever he's about to die.

Now that would've been fine, but he uses his teachers power all the time, fighting people way stronger than his real strength, which just makes it boring to read.

I guess the author kinda figured that out though, since MC's teacher have a "restriction" to make it less convenient for the MC to use his powers later on (around 380+ chapters in)

It just comes of as lazy writing. Another gripe I have is MC's heaven defying luck. For example, if MC gets something precious and useful to increase his strength, it usually comes with other benefits, such as hidden effects later coming from said precious object, or if there's a tiny chance of something occurring taking said precious thing, it will happen, because of luck. This keeps occurring during the novel and it just keeps getting more and more ridiculous as the story progress.

Now, for romance, I, personally hate Harems, and the author has made it possible for it to take that route, because several love interests coming up numerous times, but nothing has ever happened between them, which I'm kinda glad for, since he's still weak and should focus on cultivation instead.

The MC... He's your average calm and collected character, but never think things through really, because OP teacher is behind his back and lady luck, so it never really builds up to any interesting risks or of the sort because of that and becomes super predictable as to what's going to happen. There's not much to say about him, he's not complex in any shape or form. But despite all this, he's still a very likeable MC and is a very solid one.

Overall it's an average story 2.5/5. Not bad, but not great either, just average.
Edit: I'll be updating this Review as the story progress, so maybe it becomes better, maybe not. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shikaz
Shikaz rated it
Martial World
May 14, 2016
Status: c209
The MC starts out as your average joe training martial arts, with slightly better than average talent. Because of certain reasons, he starts devoting all his time and effort on martial arts and cultivating. The story would be pretty boring if it kept that up, so with little luck, he manages to get a treasure, which helps him on his martial path with his mediocre talent.

This MC is truly, true to his personality and being still a teen, he does make mistakes and learns from it. He acts his own... more>> age, even though he is a bit more mature than most teens, it isn't overly unrealistic so. As many other MCs in this genre, he's calm, collected and good at critical thinking, but not an arrogant, genocidal maniac. He just want to get stronger, see how far he can get, what he can learn and achieve on his martial path. He's not overly OP in the beginning, but quickly powers up with luck and effort, making him quite unparalleled on his own level.

What I like about this MC, is his pure goal for strength and peak of cultivation/martial arts. There's no revenge plot, or the like. His "heart" for martial arts is what drives him forward, wanting to see what lies next, which makes it quite refreshing and exciting to read.

Interactions between MC and side characters isn't the greatest, as the story focuses more on his martial path/ cultivation that anything else, so it suffers a bit, but you do have a few love interests introduced, but nothing is explored in any details yet. Hopefully it doesn't turn into a tasteless harem, but very unlikely, considering his heart for martial arts, cultivation and personality it's almost impossible, unless the author changes it.

The power structure is also easy to understand and it's translated beautifully, it's a joy to read.

As of right now, 4/5. It's good, but nothing mind-blowing. The fights, terms and explanations for techniques is what really makes this story good and drives it forward. With more interactions and friendships, this could be really great.

I'll be updating this review in the future, as this is one of the best, current novels I read. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shikaz
Shikaz rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
October 16, 2016
Status: --
To me, this wasn't bad nor good, just average. What you got here is an MC which, in my opinion gets too much hand-holding.

What's special about MC? He's not that noticable. That's all, hence "God" forgot to include him on a list, which in turn made him being stuck on Earth, all alone and for some reason, God decided to give him special treatment just because of this, sending an angel to guide him and the special treatment continues. Why though?

It's like the MC is the "chosen one" and everything... more>> is handed to him, there's no luck, fight for treasure or the like. Shortly after the humans come back to Earth, he gets another Angel to help him out because his previous angel had basically said so, even though she had (assumingly) low status amongst her peers, and for some reason God agreed with this?

The hand-holding is strong and tons of special treatments for the MC, I just couldn't get into it, since it was all given to him on a silver platter.

And the MC's own special ability to be "concealed" is pure bull, as it works in any way possible as the author sees fit. Being unnoticed one second, the next not so much. It's all very inconsistent, as it has no definition of what it can, and can't do.

The biggest gripe I have wíth this novel is that, the MC is supposed to be the biggest genius considering his time spent training /reading ALL THE BOOKS IN THE WORLD and his mental age of 1k+ years, but none of this has really changed him much or is reflected in his actions. 1000 years is a long ass time, it's bound to mature or change a person, but not this MC, Nope.

This novel is quite average, it still feels fresh though, but I see nothing to really elevate the novel above the average mark. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shikaz
Shikaz rated it
Sovereign of the Three Realms
May 17, 2016
Status: c134
This novel has tremendous potential, but it's hard to give an accurate review of it, since only 134 chapters have been released as of this review.

The story isn't progressing fast nor slow, I'd say it's going at a reasonable pace. The MC is a reincarnated immortal, with millions of years of experience, so him being OP is an understatement. What differs this MC from most, is that, while he were an immortal in his past life, he never had the talent to practice martial arts and cultivate, because he was... more>> born a cripple, only to become an immortal thanks to his father being one of the strongest existences to exist. Now being reincarnated, he gets the chance to practice martial arts/cultivate.

MC being a cripple in his previous life, while still being born of high status and immortal. After the reincarnation he's not arrogant or think of himself as better than regular mortals, being a cripple previously probably mellowed him out. (Lol)

The interactions between MC and side characters are done great so far, having some actual meaning, while I do think that many, or most of the characters introduced in the beginning will be "brushed off" sooner or later, I do believe it will be necessary as he grows more powerful. Lots of politics and power struggles in the beginning and "fights between mortals", as MC is still weak. It's basically just the foundation for the story, these 120+ chapters.

The MC is a very likeable character. Calm, collected, scheming, smart, dignified and not ruthless without a reason, this is the MC if you give a summary of his personality. He isn't sex-crazed like so many other MC out there, but seems to keep some standards and integrity. I doubt this will turn into a harem, from his personality, it doesn't seem likely at all.

Overall, there's not much yet to say about this, except that it's good so far. Easy power structure to understand and a real enjoyment to read. Nothing earth-shattering have happened yet in the story, or anything that would make me really give this a rating better than good, 4/5 is were it's at, for the moment. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report