Report Review
23 Reviews


Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
November 21, 2017
Status: c225
I'm very picky when it comes to "reborn" novels. The advantages of having our world's knowledge are often overblown, and random "super unsuccessful failures of society" or "shut in loners" can suddenly build railroads, save a country from economical crisis or cook every possible gourmet dish (even though they mainly ate convenience store foods in their previous life). Even if they are born/transported in the worst conditions possible, they eventually become existences far superior to everyone else.

Well, that is not the case with Reika. Just because she read a lot... more>> of manga about rich girls, doesn't mean she has any advantages being one. Most of her common sense cannot be applied to the new environment and she doesn't remember more about school than most adults after 10-15 years. She has things she likes to do, but that doesn't mean she is good at them. She has to make an effort to become friends. And, because of that, she is very relatable.
But she is not a "constant comedic failure". She might not be perfect, but she is loved for a reason. She has plenty of good points (and strong points) and even though she is terrified of confrontations and generally avoids them, she can also stand up for others and bring peace (even if by force).

Another point that often makes me cringe is when plot is sacrificed for the sake of some cheap love story, leaving you with unanswered questions and a sappy end. Only 1-3% love stories have plot that would still be interesting without the romance.

Reika-sama, on the other hand, actually sacrifices love for the plot. In a good way. Because she is not in love with the guys (like everyone else), she can see past their outwardly brilliance and meet their human side. "Normally", they would fall in love with her for not treating them like idols, but instead they just see her as a weird and funny acquaintance. Moreover, in the latest chapters

Spoiler

Emperor genuinely falls in love with his "destined one" even though Reika didn't bully her (well, other girls did, but their relationship was the cause, not the result) - which I think is very sweet, because they weren't pushed together by circumstances and simply liked each other who they are.

[collapse]

And, of course, even though I was used to crappy translations (and thankful for them, too), reading this novel brought me pure joy, it was so neatly translated that I sometimes forgot it wasn't written in English. <<less
56 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
I’ll Live My Second Life!
February 22, 2018
Status: c125
Since the translation was removed by the time I found this novel, I sent it to my "to read" list without even trying to read it. But something about the picture or the description, or perhaps something I've read in the review kept me interested in this novel, so I've finally decided to read it. Or rater, listen to it. I can't read Japanese, but when google translate reads it out to me, I can understand almost everything.

And I'm sooo glad I decided to read it. It is exactly... more>> what I wanted for a long time. And it's hilarious, with the right amount of sweet, fun, interesting, and heartbreaking.

So, let me list the things that made me so happy, while trying to avoid spoilers.

  1. Realistic abilities.
    Just because she decided to become a knight, doesn't mean she is good at it. There never was a moment where her abilities felt unnatural. And when we start to see her talent, it has nothing to do with knights and swordsmanship! But she uses it well XD
  2. Kids don't save the world.
    While there are certain things happening behind the scenes, the MC doesn't get to participate in the most of it yet. Why? Because she's a kid. Because she's still an apprentice knight. Because adults around her are cool and can do their job without depending on a teenager. When she DOES get to join, it's because the mission is considered safe enough, or because a certain characteristic of hers is needed for it. That's right, not a skill, but a characteristic.
  3. It's not even about her.
    The "main conflict" is not about her, and only starts to involve her after about 100 chapters. The story of the *spoiler* is very sad and beautiful, and in most novels it would be the story of a main character. But it isn't, and that makes the world in-story feel so much bigger than just MC's life.
  4. The spotlight is shared.
    While the story is mostly about Fii, very often she isn't the one who stands in the spotlight. In most cases, it would be her role to show of the results of "special training" or fight the battle that decides it all. But that is not the case and very often her participation doesn't actually change much, as she is still far weaker than those around her. She does get her moments, though.
  5. The main focus of the story.
    While the "plot" advances in the background, handled carefully by capable adults, the story focuses on Fii's hilarious antics and shenanigans. Being an apprentice knight isn't easy, especially when you can't sit still for a single minute without doing something stupid. I really like how the author prioritizes certain things over others -
    Spoiler

    the fact that the fight over dormitory's "masculinity ranking" got more chapters (and more drama) than the swordsmanship tournament between 2 dormitories says A LOT.

    [collapse]
  6. The MC's personality.
    Fii is adorable, energetic and quick to make mistakes. She is also quite a tomboy and fits perfectly in a herd of rowdy guys. She likes having power over others and doesn't hesitate to fight dirty, but knowing her past, it is completely justified. And, despite being a tiny tyrant, in the end, it's impossible to hate her. Not even the guys who suffer from her tyranny can hate her for long.
Anyway, I really love the story and hope that more people will find a way to read it. But now I must go back, I have 70 more chapters to read. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
Mochiron, Isharyōseikyū Itashimasu!
April 29, 2018
Status: c32
This was exactly the novel I wanted for a long time!

Although some situations are needlessly exaggerated, all in all it is a fun and refreshing novel.

I really like the idea of "ojou-sama" heroine who easily gets along with commoner girls and really values commoners. And the super-smart, black-bellied family. And the prince who finds the "heroine" girl annoying and has zero interest in her.

But most of all, I like the fact that she is not some reborn Japanese schoolgirl, with modern day knowledge and common sense. She was born... more>> in the same world as every other noble, had access to the same books and information as every other noble. And yet, she (and her family) achieved much more than other nobles, because they were very smart and hard-working (even though in the novel it is only said that they are very smart, they couldn't have achieved all that without a ton of hard work, and we can clearly see how hard-working Yulias is) . Despite having fairly low noble status, they were very rich and no smart person would pick a fight with them. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
Young Master Quan, How Have You Been?
January 17, 2019
Status: c112
What got me interested in this novel was the "warfare" between the leads.

He definitely has the physical advantage - locking her up, forcing her to work as a servant, having her call him "master". However, she has the psychological advantage - she looks down on him and mocks him first, then kisses him passionately and looks at him like he's her most precious person, then reminds him that she is an actress and he shouldn't believe her, then asks him to... spoiler

That, coupled with the fact that he has no... more>> idea what were her motives for saving him, is enough to drive him crazy.

Also (in response to another review, even though I know I shouldn't do it)

Spoiler

Yes, he did almost choke her to death, but the circumstances were completely different. In fact, the "no one was allowed to enter" part was absolutely unrelated to it. The reason he lashed out was because she accidentally stepped on the picture of his deceased lover. And judging from what happened before that, it was the only picture in his possession. But even then, he probably wouldn't have done it if he was not already furious enough to hit his good/best friend before she walked in. He was already emotionally unstable, and then he saw someone step on the thing he "cherished the most". Obviously, he lost his mind. I am not trying to justify his actions, but compare that to "almost killed her when she mistakenly entered a room" and you might see my need to add the clarification.

And no, she is not "weak to him and has no power" just because he had the advantage for 17-18 chapters of a 283-chapter-long novel. Just look at how she toys with him in the chapter 21.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
How To Die As Heavy As Mount Tai
June 10, 2019
Status: c55
What sets this novel apart from the sea of similar novels is the ML and his relationship with the MC.

Male Lead is powerful in each world, but he is never overpowered. He does not have the power to help MC with his missions or change the fate of the world. In every world, he lives by the world's rules.

Even though his love for MC is burned into his soul, it does not mean that he wants to sleep MC as soon as he sees him. His process of falling in... more>> love is different every time, but so far every time felt very natural. For example, in one arc he had a crush at first sight, but was so straight and dense that he did not realize two men can be in love with each other until about the middle of the arc.

Their relationship is very natural, the 'overbearing gong chasing a somewhat unwilling shou' trope is thrown out of the window. Instead, MC often takes initiative to do the intimate stuff (which is barely present so far) and ML's pride doesn't suffer from having submissive titles like MC's 'Queen' or 'junior disciple'. He does not feel the need to be constantly dominant in a relationship and treats MC as his beloved equal, not as a 'cute little wife'.

For me, male lead can make or break a romance novel, no matter if it's BL or BG. Main protagonist is the person who is supposed to act the most in a story. However, a lot of authors ignore that, and let the male lead do all the protagonist-y acts, while having MC swooning and blushing on the side (unless they are too busy being tsun). This novel is like a breath of fresh air with a male lead who is a devoted love interest and not an omnipotent plot device. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
Heart Protection
December 2, 2018
Status: c51
Although there are only 24 chapters translated so far, I really like what I have read and I expect it to be a very good novel. (Update at ch.46. - It only keeps getting better!)

The characters are interesting, and everyone has their motives and reasons. Some are horribly twisted, some I just can't agree with, but so far no one's motives felt far-fetched or unbelievable.

Yan Hui, the main character of the story, is not kind-hearted or just. But she won't hurt others unless - 1) she needs to do... more>> it for her survival/safety OR 2) they hurt her first.

She has very deep gratitude towards her former shifu and does not doubt him. Although it might be a bit irritating (especially when all clues point to him), but I was moved by her loyalty. And, as seen from her flashbacks, it's not just blind trust, but rather something that was formed over time in response to his actions.

Even though she grew up in a demon-killing sect, she has no prejudices against demons. In fact, she treats them and humans equally - hurts those who hurt her, help those who helped her. "For feelings, as long as both parties are willing, then it's fine. Who cares if it's xian or demon. As a bystander, who am I to say who should like whom?" - although she talks about love, but from these words it's obvious that she sees demons and cultivators as equals, even if demons are her enemies.

The male lead is very interesting too. I won't talk about him, because I don't want to spoil anything, but this much is not a spoiler, I hope. Just in case I'll put a spoiler tag, so you can decide if you want to see it

Spoiler

Even 24 chapters in, he is not in love with Yan Hui. He uses her, he needs her, he sticks to her. But he still isn't in love. He will obviously fall for her, but only when it will make sense, and that's what makes me love him.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
I absolutely loved the story, even despite the pain that google translate brought me.

In my opinion, what made the story so great was the correct choice of main character.

"Unfavored consort captures the heart of the cold-hearted emperor by letting him see that she is the only pure soul in the palace and he comes to love all of her flaws, spoiling her and ignoring/dismissing all of his gorgeous (but wicked) concubines" - such a standard premise suddenly becomes interesting when we see it from the emperor's point of view.

His journey... more>> of falling in love is very real and very satisfying to read. And what's even better is that his struggles doesn't end by him realizing that she is the apple of his eye. He seriously hurt her, and she will not fall in love with him just because he dotes on her with no bottom line.

In fact
Spoiler

Even in the last chapters she is scared to the point of kneeling and breaking down in panic because she does not believe that he isn't using her

[collapse]

The empress character is just a good. She can take care of herself, but she is not a super-human. She feels fear, but is not moved by fear. She tries her best to secure herself and her family a safe life, despite the fact that her family is a thorn in emperor's side (though, it's no longer true after he falls in love with her, but she doesn't know that).

In fact, after the emperor turns back into a human, it should be obvious that she will have a good life (he protects her well). And yet, her struggles never feel futile, and I couldn't help but worry about her. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop
I Just Want to Be in a Relationship
July 22, 2019
Status: Completed
Perhaps the only reason I gave full stars was because the previous novel tore my heart to little pieces, and this novel was like a healing ray of sunshine.

The premise is interesting and rather unusual, but the execution is mediocre. The whole story has a slice-of-life filter put over it, and a lot of important moments are just skimmed over, as if the author is afraid to write any serious conflicts.

One example is

... more>>
Spoiler

Early on, MC told ML that "sometimes 'no' means 'yes'" because he rejected him and then regretted it. Later, near the end of the story, ML used this phrase to take advantage of MC when he wasn't 100% willing.

Instead of going with this overused 'gong attacking the protesting shou' trope, the author could have had ML taking every 'no' as a 'no' and MC learning to say 'yes' when he means it. Just this little change would have added so much to their relationship!

Honestly, this is the only part that I actually disliked. Sadly, many BL novels like to have one person weakly protest the whole way and then be unable to move the next morning, as if the relationship where both parties are on board with it and no one is hurt are some kind of disgusting apparitions that no one wants.

This novel had so much potential to be different. But it wasn't.

[collapse]

Apart from the points that disappointed me, I really like this novel. Just because it could have been better, doesn't mean it wasn't good. I'd give it 3.5-4 stars if it wasn't for the fact that I really needed something sweet and light and this novel was just that. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
You’re Beautiful When You Smile
December 15, 2018
Status: c36 part4
I really love the main leads of the novel!

The female lead has adorable moments, has her own strengths and weaknesses and isn't a "token girl" in the game world. She can be petty, but she never starts arguments "just because", she can be childish and unreasonable, but she admits her mistakes. Even when she falls in love with male lead, her world still revolves around games, her cat and petty grudges. And even though she bickers with ML (and very often it's his fault too), she still respects him as... more>> a player and her captain.

The male lead is surprisingly "human" so far. He is an amazing gamer and he always looks cool in front of his fans, but he isn't that "overbearing-mister-perfect" that is so popular in Chinese novels. And even in the games, he is not a one-man-team. "Perfect is the enemy of good" - but he is not perfect. Instead, he is very, very good. His strengths and weaknesses are very natural and he never feels like a "superior human being" - even if he pretends to be one, when talking to FL. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
Why Not Soar Your Majesty
May 3, 2018
Status: c36.1
This is hilarious! So perfect! I probably scared off my neighbors - it's 10 am and I was laughing the whole night.

If there is a flaw to this novel, it's the fact that the game, the guilds and the players don't exist in real life.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
At the Northern Fort
January 20, 2018
Status: c13
This is BEYOND adorable! Uuu, I want to hug MC so badly... though, she definitely wouldn't let me.

Contrary to the description, though, it's not a girl in a fox cub's body. It's a fox cub with the memories of a girl.

The adorable fox part of her holds the reins, and the reincarnated girl part only tries to find excuses for what was done.
And this is one of the best parts about the story. It protects her from falling into those overused tropes for reincarnated people, and even though
... more>>
Spoiler

she might be OP when she grows up (spirit, daughter of the OP spirit)

[collapse]
she definitely won't be saving nations or introducing crop rotation and every kind of cake to the ignorant masses anytime soon (I hope?) <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
You Boys Play Games Very Well
May 7, 2019
Status: c83
I swear, you will want to adopt these two bunny muffins by the end of the novel (if not earlier). This novel is so sweet and refreshing!
Charm points:

  • ML is not an overbearing CEO, he's ambitious, determined, sneaky, but certainly not almighty.
  • MC is quite strong in what he does, and discovers a future for himself. He is inspired by ML, but he gets to the top with his power and charm, he isn't dragged up by ML (ML only helps him create a few opportunities)
  • The ML's crush is believable, he didn't just wake up one day and decide 'I'm gonna harass a white lotus from now on'.
  • Even when MC dances on ML's palm, it's all very in line with how university students would behave - no manipulation, no pressure, just dorks being dorks.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
The story is sweet, cute and fluffy, but I often feel like the cute Villainess has the least amount of screen-time of the 6 main characters. She is talked about a lot, from many points of view, but she herself talks or acts 'on-screen' a lot less than you would expect from a female lead. Kind of like Sleeping Beauty, who only had 18 lines in her own movie. Because of that, her personality is not very developed so far.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
Go to Hell, White Lotus
June 8, 2019
Status: Completed
Very cute novel. MC is energetic, oblivious and a bit of a coward. ML is a Great God in game, but his feelings are very human, he does his best, but sometimes it's not enough. Even though he says a few overbearing things like *spoiler*, he never forces MC to do anything he doesn't want.

The only thing that I was dissatisfied with was the ending. I feel like this novel could use one or two chapters of sweet and fluffy things to soften the heavy stuff before the ending (it's... more>> a HE, don't worry). <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
April 25, 2019
Status: c176
The overall story and individual arcs are good, but second and ninth stories are simply works of art. I wish each of them got developed into a proper 100+ chapter story.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
Wagamama Onna ni Tensei Shita yo
January 20, 2018
Status: c32
Although my complaint is also directed at every other world-traveler/reincarnator novel, this time too, I was very frustrated. The fantasy world's people are too dumb!!!! I get that traveling to a less developed world, you'd want to be their Da Vinci, but at least pick a time period and stick to it! You can't make a 19th century world, where people don't know things invented in 16th century! Well, you can, apparently. But it disappoints me every time.

... more>>
Spoiler

And she doesn't even need that to be an outstanding person! She has an amazing ability and amazing magical power. She doesn't need to invent sweets to make them for her son.
In fact, it would be so so so so SO much more interesting to see her work hard to improve her reputation, instead of having everyone fall in love with her instantly because of a cake or two.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
The good part: The female lead is cute, interesting and lovely, the male lead is gentle, strong and handsome. The worlds change every 25-30 chapters, so there are many settings.

The unfortunate part: The female lead might as well be an object. From her 'families' and 'suitors' to her ML, everyone is dying to make sure she is happy and comfortable (except her enemies, who never succeed anyway). Even when she is in extreme danger, she remains passive and waits for a saviour. Her whole existence in the novel can be... more>> summarized with the conversation in chapter 17 (minor non-plot related spoiler) :
Spoiler

System: "Host, someone had already made a counterattack for you. (...) In this world, you only need to be quiet, and become a beauty who is doted on."

Gu Shengyin: "... What's the meaning of me coming here?"

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop
The Founder of Diabolism
April 20, 2019
Status: Completed
Some people are hesitant to read this because it's BL. Well, I absolutely hate zombies. First, I'm extremely squeamish - even the mildest descriptions of rotting flesh can completely ruin my enjoyment of the novel. Second, I am very scared of all dark supernatural creatures. Even vampires and werewolves beloved by teenage girls are too terrifying for me. So, when it comes to zombies, both fear and disgust are enormous. And, as I was reading, some scenes left me too disturbed to eat or sleep for many hours.
But despite... more>> that, I couldn't stop reading. It was simply too interesting. I even feel that reading it once and watching donghua was not enough. I will read it again, as soon as I mentally prepare myself for the zombies. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
MC is a pure creature that did not experience 'life' outside of the missions. He doesn't understand love, he doesn't know despair, he simply does his best to complete the mission of the supporting male lead. Through the first several worlds, he doesn't really connect actions to emotions, so he diligently tries to act as close to the script as possible, even though the scenario has changed and his actions will be seen completely differently.

It's quite entertaining to observe how he slowly develops his own personality and learns to make... more>> his own decisions.

Also, 'female leads' have personalities worthy of female leads. No ugly jealous witches. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Shadowdrop
Shadowdrop rated it
Hello, Mr. Major General
June 4, 2019
Status: c150
tl;dr: Author can only make main character stand out as smart by making everyone else completely stupid.

Mary Sue is usually a 'perfect' character - no matter what you can do, she'll do it BETTER. But what if an author ALSO wants her to be a 'cute, innocent little uni student, who sometimes makes mistakes and needs to be protected by prince charming'? Well, if the author does it poorly, you get this novel.

There is a good example from around where I got fed up and dropped (150-ish?). A team of... more>> best lawyers, a really elite, cream of the crop team, didn't (possibly couldn't) check if their client is a legal adult or a minor. And she felt entitled to call them and their proposals 'trash', for that reason. The author could not decide between 'best in the world' and 'utterly incapable' lawyers, so decided to go with both. I was neither impressed nor amused by how she felt way superior than those poor doormat characters, just because she knew her own age.

Basically, if you expect engaging battles of wits from this law student, don't bother. The author is not smart enough to write that. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report