Report Review
42 Reviews


Senethari
Senethari rated it
Ascendance of a Bookworm
August 2, 2016
Status: --
This series makes my brain lock up and start to smoke. The premise isn't any better/worse than other reincarnation/rebirth novels. The writing isn't any better/worse. If you like the slower stuff versus action, it may be for you. It's kind of nice that the MC's goal isn't vapid love or getting laid or getting laid for the thousandth time. My issue is, as a book lover, I can't find any aspect of the MC that translates to "bookworm" unless it's supposed to be literal.

Another reviewer said the title should... more>> be "Ascendance of a Book Fetishist", and I couldn't agree more. As she's flitting through the story sing-songing "Aaaah, I want to read a book", she doesn't ever seem to mention what she wants from them. Does she want a character to inspire her? A history to enlighten her about her new world? A poem to distill her turbulent thoughts? Does she want to learn about something? Anything? When she finally finds a book, does she even ask anything about it? She asks the shop keeper if she can touch it, specifically, if she can *rub her face* on it. The fantastically expensive, hand-transcribed, super-rare, finally appearing book... can she rub herself on it? No... That's okay, mister, I wouldn't let her near my collection either. I'm really hoping that sticky stuff was bookbinding glue residue.

But MCs have had weirder quirks, right? She's also pretty selfish, condescending, and, ignorant of things you'd think a well-read adult would understand. But once again, it's that bookworm part that eventually made me twitch and quit once the seizure passed. Unless I find out later she's *actually* a bookworm that reincarnated after being crushed under a pile of books by the squeamish japanese megane-chan who massively overreacted to the sudden appearance of a bug eating her library, I think I'm done with this. <<less
70 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
The Simple Job of Only Perishing to the Hero
August 6, 2017
Status: c9
I'm really enjoying this one so far. I get a little tired of "I reincarnated as the strongest [ noun or fantasy job title], but I decided to live leisurely by [inane hobby] instead." It's not that those stories are bad, but every once in a while I wonder if there's a support group for stressed out gods who have nervous breakdowns after screaming "I gave you a second chance, why can't you do your damn job!" for the six billionth time.

This reincarnation is getting his sh*t done. He's a... more>> schemer, he's malevolent, and he's the new demon king, all without losing the polite smile you've come to expect from exdead expatriates of the Japanese persuasion.

Want. More. <<less
49 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
Finest Servant
August 31, 2016
Status: c5
I tried. I really tried. I'm a big sucker for historical fiction, and I don't mind the "magically transported into the past" trope that shows up in every third story. I like antiheroes for the most part.

But pretty early on, after we read about how successful the MC was with all sorts of modern women, he goes on to gripe about the one woman who didn't fall all over him, the daughter of his boss. ... more>>
Spoiler

"If not for her father’s sake, Lin Wanrong would have long rape and kill her, and then rape her again and kill her again."

[collapse]
She didn't destroy his career, ruin his reputation, or kill his dog... She just didn't seem to like him.

And while his reaction to her is the most shocking, he just gets more unpleasant from there. He looks down on other guys who aren't as good at playing the ladies. He looks down on the ladies for not falling all over him because they want pretty boy scholars. He finds the prettiest boy scholar and decides he's got to be a Thai lady-boy, and gets super homophobic, then... well... it's just bad. Bad predictable plot writing with a bad MC as a travel companion to go along with it. Dropped. <<less
45 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
The Adonis Next Door: 100 Days of Forced Love
December 29, 2016
Status: c21
Aaand... We're done. The first time they met, the guy must have performed miracle surgery to save her family, her dog, and a bus load of orphans after they were all injured in a dramatic gory conflict between drug cartels. I imagine there were explosions. And decapitation. Bullets everywhere. Because otherwise there is no way she could see a man who could treat a human being like this as a good man, especially if this person was supposed to be in a business relationship with him. (Be... more>> my fake wife is still a partnership, after all.) This isn't love, this is Stockholm syndrome.

Original review below:
I have *no* idea what's going on 3 chapters in. Start of story, they're already together with no mention of how, and the relationship is *bad*. If you're looking for the super pamper overbearing husband part, I'd suggest waiting, because it has IN NO WAY reared its fluffy head.
-
8 chapters now, and if some fluffy doesn't happen soon, I'm going to have to drop. Granted, the chapters are short, and there has to be a rock bottom before soaring like a phoenix, but I just don't see why she likes the guy. I mean, there's cold and then there's abusive. A sociopathic killer would be more charming... Plus yandere points <<less
33 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
I've got alarm bells going off... Chapter 2 and our MC is explaining banditry to the surviving Knights of the overthrown Kingdom. Note: he's not trying to convince the honorable chevaliers to Robin Hood guerilla fight a way back into power (though there is some of that too), he's talking about basic goddamn strategy on where to set up camp and what a bandit group looks and sounds like. If these Knights are so clueless they have to be taught the basics by a high school kid, I'm... more>> terrified of the next few chapters. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
Akuyaku Reijō ttenani o Sureba Yoi nda kke?
July 7, 2017
Status: c13
I love it. It's cute. It's really, really bad, but it's cute.

There's no depth. The characters, the world, the plot... 2D all the way. The chapters are short and if there were kaching sound effects every time she charmed another character, it would sound like you'd just won the jackpot at the nickel slots. It's not that the development is shallow, more like it's on fast forward, with the author assuming the reader is a veteran of 10, 000 villainess reborn novels.

And I think that's what I like about it.... more>> Not that I wouldn't read a more developed 10, 001st villainess novel as well, but when I'm craving a moment of reverse harem sweetness with no drama, and I have all the previous novels to draw from for more mental context, this is a perfect, tiny treat. <<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
The Villain’s White Lotus Halo
May 27, 2018
Status: c8
Edit: I was ecstatic to see more chapters. The promise of comedy gold seems to be intact as his halo and his role appear to be interacting... Poorly. (Your words say 'villain', but your halo says 'take me, I'm too innocent to be left to these wolves'.)

Original still applies: The MTL is only two steps shy of gobbledygook. Why is this important? Because with only five chapters out at the time, I wanted MORE.

The premise is unique. He doesn't want to not be a villain. He doesn't want to... more>> be Best Villain. He just wants, after n-reincarnation to have a real character. If he were an actor, he'd just want a named character in the credits and a few lines. And some newbie salesperson has utterly ruined that dream, opening (I'm hoping) comedy gold.

Review again after more chaps. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
Konyaku haki? Yoroshī. Naraba, fukushūda
February 10, 2017
Status: c17
Great gods of engagement, this novel is stupid. It's like a demented soap opera on fast forward, and half the fun is imagining the spin-off parody genre that's going to spawn where some mob character eventually facepalms himself into a brain injury that presents as unstoppable homicidal rage. Every time a character makes a stupid decision, he'll leap out of the background and beat them to death with whatever is at hand. I predict he will probably be a butler. With that said, I can't stop reading this... more>> train wreck, and it's a glorious mess. Don't expect elegant vengeance or even to know what the hell is going on. But you might want to bring popcorn. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
The title is so overdone, I'm not sure if this was supposed to be a parody or a trope-a-palooza joke, but it's a fun read so far. Whether the author is taking the genre seriously or not, it's got enough of the old standbys to make this a great pick for either a Chinese Novel drinking or bingo game.

Super-awesome-dangerous-hot-modern woman? Check!

Dies? Check!

... more>> Reborn into the body of a betrayed ancient legitimate, but somehow disregarded daughter? Check!

Disfigured by people who should have been kind and loyal? Face slashyslashy check!

Ready to start some sh*t on behalf of her host body's unresolved regrets? Double check!

Wait, scratch the drinking game idea. Someone's gonna die of alcohol poisoning. But I'm sure my point is shining through. Originality is probably the only thing a reader isn't going to find in this story, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. I'm a big girl, and I know what I like.

Revenge novels, well-translated? Check! <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
Father, Mother Escaped Again
July 17, 2017
Status: c13
Well written, translated, and hilariously funny unless you read into the deeper implications of their relationship. If "trigger warning" is actually a warning for you, skip this one because the disconnect between the tone and the actions will probably ruin your day.

... more>>
Spoiler

So starting off, let's get it out there, the MC is raped. Often. She even says it herself. "Violated." And I am not normally okay with rape as a comedic prop.

BUT, here is why I still enjoy this story as of ch 13.

So far, the tone is completely light hearted, silly fun with a racy thrill. I can definitely see it being made into a comedy romance anime. There's not a single serious anything anywhere except to serve as comedic foil. The MC's objections and reactions are more along the lines of being pursued by an over enthusiastic Saint Bernard than a woman who has actually been violated.

If the tone ever becomes serious, I'd have to revaluate. (In the same way that Tom & Jerry cartoons might stop being comedic if they show the horrible 3rd degree burns Tom suffers when Jerry irons his tail.)

Add to that the way the incidents aren't described in lascivious detail, and I feel that 1) they aren't some misogynistic hate fantasy of the writer and 2) they aren't that important to the story. They could easily be swapped out with her being turned into the insomniac bishie's unwilling teddy bear for the same effect.

[collapse]
<<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
At 36 chapters, I liked it enough I went to the MTL for more. At 100+ chapters, I was in love with the main character. At 150+ I was getting a squicky vibe from all the love interests, but I still can't bring myself to put it away. Rather than gush and gush about what I love (or hate) here's a list of what's different. If these check your boxes, you're in for a treat.

  • She has reincarnated more than once, and in different time periods, though the story doesn't dwell on the past much. At least, we don't get huge info dumps. The story flows smoothly.
  • Her rebirths have actually resulted in *gasp* a mentality that chooses against taking revenge. She's no pushover, though.
  • Past conflicts are written as the culmination of circumstances and choices (karma) rather than "chars are either on the protagonist's side or they're a big bag of d*cks".
  • MC does a lot of the usual transmigration stuff, but it's the first time I've felt like a character put thought into consequences.
  • MC is not twitterpated. I like that word. Twitterpated. (If you're looking for the usual love plots, this may actually cause you rage.)
Note: This leads to a series of yandere chapters where even a psycho-lover like me was annoyed. It's only s*xy if doki-doki, otherwise, it's just... more>> a heart attack. Frankly, I'm not sure this kind of thing is something a couple gets old and laughs about.

Spoiler

Hey, remember when we were young and you drugged me when I was asleep to keep me weak so I couldn't leave and then nearly raped me a couple times? Man, I had to escape during an assassination attempt when the fu was in disarray. I had to flee the country to get away from you and your emotional attacks. Good times, good times.

[collapse]

Truly, I don't know how that love is supposed to work out, but she is so strong, so fierce, and so real that I want to keep reading for everything else. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
Adorable Creature Attacks! Cuteness Overload!
July 17, 2017
Status: c12
The synopsis sounded like great fun, but I'm not really seeing any sign of it in the actual story. I'm not sure how to describe this other than the usual transmigration story presented as a complete farce (literal).

While there does appear to be a larger plot lurking in the background, the characters and chapter-to-chapter happenings are completely without depth, and their actions are without consequences except when necessary for comedy. So, taken in the same vein as other stories in the same genre, it's stupid. It's vapid. It's face-palm-induced head... more>> trauma with a side of rage aneurysm.

BUT - rather than take it seriously, I prefer to read it as brain candy. I can imagine this as a cheesy play put on by the king's fools. Sure, it's missing a lot of the deeper characterizations that make a piece great (or good... or... decent) but frankly, sometimes a girl just wants to watch the mummers make fools of themselves and get rowdy in good company.

If you, dear reader, can turn off your brain long enough to at least reach the comments section of each chapter, then you might enjoy this... whatever the hell this is. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
Kusuriya no Hitorigoto
June 30, 2017
Status: c18
Really enjoying this so far. Maybe because of the mixed backgrounds -Ancient Chinese harem setting, Japanese author- while all the trappings are there, we aren't beaten to death with all the usual tropes. (Admit it, as much as we love those stories with the sassy, brilliant woman in the harem and her romantic lead, the handsome, arrogant, domineering black-belly etc, it can get a little formulaic.)

So yeah, she's a pretty girl, and she's a medical genius, and there's a guy who's so gorgeous, it should be illegal, but... more>> their interactions are funny without being over-dramatic, and she gets along alright in the world of the palace without everything being a matter of schemes and oneupmanship.

I look forward to more translations with delight, especially since the MTL of japanese peppered with chinese terminology is about as readable as toddler babble or divinations using chicken entrails. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
Man Man Qing Luo
July 19, 2017
Status: c4
I enjoy this story, and it's a shame there's not much translated yet. While it follows the standard "Crap, I'm an adult, modern female stuffed into the body of an ancient China kid!" storyline, there have been some key differences that give it a new flavor :

She's not actively picked on, so her home life is only reasonably unreasonable, versus other stories where it seems the protagonist is dropped into a pit of hangry vipers suffering from some mutant strain of sociopathic rabies. (After a while, don't you start to... more>> wonder how the whole society hadn't come crashing down yet?)

She actively hides her talents, working for a solid C average. Behind the scenes, she has plans, but that's no reason to rock the boat.

And the best part is that her mother is a strong ally in this plan. She's proud of her genius daughter, but she isn't pushing her to be noticed, show up the others, and get married to some walking ego just to support her own face.

I am in no way looking down on any of the other Rebirth genre stories, but I always like well translated, well written pieces that show a new take on things. I can't wait for more! <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
Zhui Xu
December 12, 2016
Status: c5
This hits a lot of the plot points you've read before: successful MC is betrayed in the modern era, dies, is reincarnated into a good for nothing ancient Chinese character that had just been married to a really talented hottie. What makes this story interesting and a great read so far is that the MC is male, marrying into her family. He doesn't have cheats, and he doesn't use his modern knowledge to become the strongest under heaven, make alltheguns, or all the other super powered... more>> reincarnation tropes. Non spoiler synopsis? When you've reached the top of the world by clawing and scheming and see the landscape is a barren wasteland, you take your second chance. Pass up the temptation of ego and power. The life of a husband in name only is a good one. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
Wangye’s Maid is the Sect Leader
September 27, 2017
Status: c8
I really wanted this to be good, but it's so not my cup of tea, it's not even a liquid. If you like comedy where the MC plays the straight man and the butt of the comedic character's wacky actions and gets no sympathy from anyone, then this is for you. For me, living in that world would seriously have me wondering if everyone else were mind controlled by the comedy character. His Narrative Fu is just that strong.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Slow updates, long chapters, well-translated, and well-written. It's not the traditional otome reincarnation story, and if you want romance or capture targets, then come back later. 97 chapters in, she's still only 7, embroiled in political and economic intrigue, grieving, and close to breaking. With that said, I love this story, and I keep forgetting it's a reincarnation or game setting. When I read, I'm just rooting for a girl trying so hard in a world that's so much darker than a child should... more>> ever have to see.. And I keep coming back for more every update. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
The Servant is Formerly the Strongest Assassin!?
February 10, 2017
Status: prologue
I'm withholding judgment until more chapters are translated, but I'm left with two lasting impressions:

1) Pretty generic intro. I realize it's probably meant to be over the top since he's the best of the best, but without any good descriptors (not the fault of the translation), it comes across as tropey and my brain started to wander off down snarky corridors. Leading to...
2) This has got the worst league of assassins, ever.... more>>
Spoiler

I mean, if you're gonna kill a guy for being too awesome, maybe you shouldn't do it by openly throwing a bunch of lesser guys at him. You're f**king assassins, folks, poison him. Send him out on consecutive missions and when he comes home exhausted, blow his house up while he's drunk after the promotion party. Send him on an impossible mission and have the target kill him or have him suicide when he fails. Don't waste your own resources and put yourself in the room with God's favorite knife, all in the name of removing one potentially destructive influence. It's infuriating.

[collapse]

Honestly, I read this kind of thing for the payoff when antagonist A makes a move against Love Interest without realizing Butler is actually Not so Former Assassin Will Gut You with Your own Tie Tack. As long as that comes about, all is forgiven. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari
The Wolf Lord’s Lady
January 24, 2017
Status: c12
I realized something reading a different story where the overall feeling was "waiting for the other shoe to drop", WLL is the silence after the other shoe has well and truly dropped. By the time story really starts, it's all over. All the frenzy of battle and calculation, the passion of forbidden love, and the spies in the dark that lead to revolution. The villainess (?) reborn has stopped in that silence. She doesn't want revenge or even to actively change and make up for her sins. She's a... more>> ghost in more ways than one. And somehow despite the bleak writing and a completely internalized MC (which I usually hate) I am eating this up with a spoon and wearing my new masochist badge proudly through my tears. It's a rebirth story in more ways than one, a reverse Cinderella, that moves quickly and with very few exceptions is written and translated beautifully. If there's an ounce of empathy in your soul, bring tissues. Weeping, honest to dog, weeping will occur. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Senethari
Senethari rated it
The Path of the Cannon Fodder’s Counterattack
January 29, 2017
Status: c5
A new take on the rebirth and revenge stories, and I like where it's going so far. Ever wondered about what happens to the Also Rans in a harem novel? Here you go! Except in this case the heroine isn't a pure hearted angel and the childhood friend that came with her from the modern era isn't going to forgive and forget. I got impatient and started reading the MTL, and it's developing nicely, both along the revenge and romance plots. I'm looking forward to reading the fully translated... more>> good stuff! <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3