Report Review
73 Reviews


ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Stellar Transformation
March 27, 2016
Status: --
No offense, but I’m really sick and tired of all the bad reviews. Compared all those novels with fast starts, huge revenge schemes, and stupid tropes... I like this one way better.

It’s unique and I love the emotional scenes in the beginning (okay, maybe not emotional, but compared to other xianxia it was). Sorry if you don’t like the fact it’s slow, but it’s these types of novels that build up the characters and trudge through mud puddles that I like.

So he makes mistakes, but compared to other xianxia... more>> it makes sense. Other xianxia protags are so stupid you wonder how they made it out of primary school. They are twisted with a one-track mindset. It’s irritating, and that’s why l love this novel.

I have to admit though, binge reading is better for those who think it’s slow. I personally loved the beginning, but for those who think the beginning is a drab... at least you can binge read all of it (it is on volume sixteen now... so...).

I love how good he is with his family, and how he doesn’t hate his father or siblings, and understood the circumstances. I love watching him grow and how he got to where he is now. I also love how there is no harems, and the female characters aren’t walking boobs.

Also he gets strong at the beginning because wants to show his family that he can help. He wants his father to be proud of him (thus in my opinion is really sweet). This reason changes later on when that part of life ends. And for those of you think his first reason I'd shallow, compared to all out revenge or wanting to step over everyone else this reason is not anywhere close to being shallow.

And another thing. Compared to other xianxia he can be Considered to have at least high school intelligence. Mga's protag is struggling to form a fetus, and wdqk's protag is somewhere in elementary or middle school. The only reason st's protag may seem stupid is because of the slow development.

Anyway this is my personal opinion. Again... sure you think it’s slow or you think the MC is stupid, but think of it like tmw. Slow starts sometimes lead to amazing novels. Fast starts like mga usually lead to repetitive crap.

Hope you read and soldier through. <<less
95 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
The Great Ruler
January 15, 2016
Status: --
EDIT note near the bottom 😃

The story is quite better than a lot of other xianxia and it isn’t stupid (maybe a little boring). There is a lot of mystery around his past and it isn’t just like let’s dump everything on the reader (wdqk). The romance is slow and he only loves one girl who he already had a relationship with before but didn’t meet again til chapter 142. Mu Chen has an extremely likable character. He is actually smart and knows his limits. Not extremely arrogant (he’s handsome... more>> though *winks) and he isn’t a flat out jerk. It might be a typical xianxia novel to a lot of people, but hey, it is xianxia.

Yes it's slow, but I actually understand the concepts in this novel compared to a lot of fast paced ‘I want to get stronger because of insane luck’ novels.

The sweet thing that’s between Mu Chen and Luo Lu is so cute. It makes my heart flutter because it isn’t all perverted or rated r. Seriously the romance makes sense in this. It wasn’t just put a random pretty girl in it and make a romance based on lust (mga).

I know it might be slow but it pays out because there are less plot holes. And what a lot of people think are plot holes are supposed to be explained as time goes on. The author is not just going to dump everything on you like a lot of other xianxia. This keeps the mystery factor and it keeps the story going. I can’t stand how other xianxia stories go and reveal everything. No great back story. You know everything within a few pages and what you don’t know is a pothole or it isn’t mentioned once in a couple tens or hundred chapters.

Hope you read and don’t mind my extremely long review. (Right as of chapter 164)

EDIT 😑😉😑😉😑😉😑😉

OKAY. I'm starting to understand the irritation with the slowness and lack of development, but I'm gonna stand strong on my views. I like it. And everyone has a right to their own opinion. (just try not to ruin it for others) <<less
54 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Shinwa Densetsu no Eiyuu no Isekaitan
April 30, 2016
Status: --
I'm glad there is no harem tag (as of yet), and it seems like a very good story. The beginning shows promise. Looking forward to how this will develop. (Hopefully it doesn't go downhill)

... And of course. There's a harem tag. I need to stop making early reviews. On the bright side... It's not too bad of a thing... It's a bit generic now. OP protagonist. Harem. Summoned hero...

BUT it isn't as flat as it sounds. The characters are actually a bit rounded out. A bit.
48 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe
Dark Blood Age
April 12, 2017
Status: c100
In all honesty, after reading keklel's super long review, my excitement in reading this novel dampened quite a bit.

Of course I went ahead and read the already translated chapters (toughly thirty). This is what I came up with.

The MC is a bit... Like every other typical Chinese novel MC. But when you first read it, it isn't that noticable. You might think he's a nice guy, a stupid guy or just a bit weird and a loner who looks at the world with fish eyes.

With these few... more>> chapters I haven't quite reached the despair that keklel felt when he read five hundred chapters, and I really hope it doesn't turn out as bad at his extremely long and detailed review said... But then again it was an extremely long and detailed review. It was most likely 99.999% accurate.

UPDATE:

So I went and read a little more and honestly? Keklel is getting closer to being right but at the same time the MC isn't that bad. The action is pretty good. I like the fact that the MC is somewhat kind (even though I think he is an idiot). Though he has an issue with revenge....

It doesn't really hold my interest... But try it. It's your choice. I'm just afraid to reach five hundred and end up like Keklel... <<less
44 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
My Daoist Life
April 30, 2016
Status: c44
UPDATED

The premise is great, and I find myself already falling in love with the MC... ^-^

...

I was not expecting this, but it still remains a very good novel. You get to see how the protagonist slowly enters into the supernatural world and improves the financial states of him and his grandfather while also protecting what he holds dear. 😉
34 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
God of Crime
August 22, 2016
Status: Completed
Finally FINISHED

I'm a little disappointed the story ended. The author had so much ammo that he wouldn't have run out for an extremely long time. He left so many loose ends.

I loved the story (even though some characters were flat), but I wish everything hadn't ended so fast. I wanted more. I've never been so satisfied yet unsatisfied with a novel on here in awhile. But I assure you it was worth the read. 😊

... more>> Old edits/reviews below

EDIT: I'm so glad it has updated. I've never had a main character in a go-back-in-time novel not return cold hearted. Usually they become apathetic. He cares about other people. Not just his sister.

Not sure how this will change in the future, but I do hope he at least keeps a little of his current optimism. I don't care if it turns darker as long as he doesn't lose his morals.

Edit2:

The MC is still a good character. He still has morals, but you can start to see the signs of him truly becoming the God of Crime. It is very nice to see this change happen.

There are some funny moments and I love the relationship he has developed with the police. I am secretly hoping that when he goes to university and becomes a detective or something as a cover for his activities too. (That would be awesome)

Edit 3:

Well... He's grown a lot. By chapter ninety you already have a clear picture of where this is going. It is sort of like detective Conan and kid and how kid does all of this amazing thievery while being chased by the police.

Except this one is way more interesting in my opinion (though, I love detective Conan... I just hated the fact he never aged and it got so looooong)

FINISHED!!

It's done... Oh my goodness. Totally worth it. *Squeals*

Please read <<less
28 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Monarch of Evernight
November 29, 2016
Status: v2c8
Okay. I understand what the previous reviewer was talking about with the orgy. ... more>>
Spoiler

The orgy shows up at chapter thirteen (If you don't like that type of stuff - I don't - skip it). Just skip it. The orgy is of little importance to the overall plot. I personally hate that scene and I had to stop reading, because it seemed badly done and a bit too far for my tastes.

[collapse]

Despite this I really like this story. If you don't like the mature parts, I highly recommend you skip it.

There are parts that make you cringe at times - again - it depends on your preferences.

Overall this story is fairly unique, though a bit on the dark side. The MC is a thin and underfed child in beginning. His actions do not make him a wussy. His later actions enforce my point.

Certain parts remind me of The charm of soul pets (you may not see it in the beginning), but at the same time it is completely different. At least try and I hope you don't let one bad review stop you from making your own opinions. I had a different opinion before, now I'm sort of on the limbo. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Martial God Asura
January 30, 2016
Status: --
As said in some of the other reviews mga got repetitive and the MC is the definition of a bipolar serial killer. He needs serious help with his temper issues. I despise the fact that the author makes it seem as if Chu Feng is justified in everything he does. It ticks me off to no end.

I stopped reading ages ago. I read up until the early 100s. Recently I was like I should try reading it again. I go back... then after awhile I start skimming... then I... more>> start skipping... then I quit. It made me want to slap the MC so hard.

I don't believe his needless killing is justified. I can't stand reading xianxia with jerkish main characters and even jerkier side characters. It sucks and I can't connect with those types of moral standards.

The beginning or first seventy chapters were great. An absolute five. But now the most I am willing to give is a two. At Best. A two. I would give it a one but the beginning was amazing. Those days on FlowerBridgeTwo's website were amazing. Which was like.... a year ago. I think.

I discovered it at like ten-twenty chapters. Began to read. Got addicted. Got slapped in the face. Quit. I know xianxia has some pretty twisted morals, but Chu Feng beats them all. I can not relate with such a horrible MC. He's probably worse than his antagonists. Sometimes I feel their actions are more justified. While the mc's actions are based solely on revenge and greed.

I mean he believes that if someone tries to get revenge on him it's not justified, yet when he tries to get revenge on someone else for something he caused it's justified.

This is probably the worst review I will ever give. I normally only give reviews on novels I really like or I feel I need to put some word into. Mga just crushed me. Literally.

EDIT: mga is now one of my bottom standards for xianxia novels. I applaud all of you who throw away their personal prejudice and connect with mga world's logic.

I understand that this is based on the logic of ancient china, but that doesn't mean I have to agree with it. Thank you mga for giving me your wonderful beginning. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Throne of Magical Arcana
November 25, 2016
Status: v1c59
EDIT

(I never expected it to have such a wonderful blend of things I like. Music, magic and mystery. Oh my)

at the bottom

The premise isn't the best, but it gets the point across. I love the idea. The guy get reincarnated into another boy's body in this magical world and the first thing he experiences is the burning of a witch.

... more>> Honestly it doesn't seem xuanhuan, but I promise you it is a Chinese novel. The idea isn't exactly unique, but it holds my attention.

The translation isn't the best, but it is readable.

It really needs more chapters. Glad it began updating recently. I don't have much to go on. *Sighs* I tried.

Edit:
Spoiler

the MC is crafty. Extremely crafty. He disguises himself as a sorcerer and succeeds because the ridiculous amount of knowledge he knows. (They call him professor *squeals*

He also is learning to play the piano (which he conveniently introduced into the world while helping his music teacher). He's moving up one step at a time. 😊

[collapse]

I was not expecting such a nice story. It is extremely promising. The MC is thankfully not as boring as I first thought he would be, and the magic and knight system idea makes sense

it fits more into this story than a lot of others.

What really attracted me was the fated lovers tag. No harem (I'm guessing). This is the first time I've seen such a tag for a story (I'm pretty sure there may be others that deserve this tag that don't have it), and I'm excited to see the direction it goes <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
M E M O R I Z E
November 19, 2016
Status: c50
UPDATE AGAIN: and now it's not updating and I feel like crying... ugh. -_-

UPDATE: it is now updating consistently. Woohoo.

EDITED:
Okay. I really love this novel it reminds me of reincarnator (and I love that series). I love the comrades he's received. I'm glad he isn't a loner. I don't know why, but loner main characters tick me off (Maybe it's because they are all about me me me).

Edit: It began updating again, but now it's been a month and no updates have been made. *Sighs*
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
The Amber Sword
February 1, 2016
Status: c104
I love this story because the MC actually struggles. The mixture of gaming and western fantasy is extremely interesting. The female’s in the story have weird personalities and the males aren’t as two-dimensional as you might think at first.

Overall a four but a five because I really like the concept. l’m going to refute melfar’s words on the fact that there is nothing wrong with MC crying out to mother marsha, it’s part of the story and the author’s religion does not matter. Just reading five chapters then completely thrashing... more>> the novel isn’t exactly going to help anybody. The novel only has a few gaming elements as he’s the only one aware, and the author isn’t retarded for giving girl’s guy names and guy’s girl names. It’s his style. (If you feel offended by this sorry.. But I really would prefer you right a review based on the story and not on how stupid you think the author is. He worked hard.

EDIT: I still believe this story is unique, and it pains me to read all those low ratings just because they believe the story is horribly written or they don't like the game system.

I personally don't mind it, but for all of you guys who do, just ignore it and you'll realize how incredibly thought out the storyline is. The game system may be trash to some people, but the story itself is amazing.

EDIT:
I still hold onto my earlier words. There are a few characters I want to slap in the face though. This story has so many ideas built up that I'm pretty sure it won't run out or begin repeating stuff anytime soon. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
My Death Flags Show No Sign of Ending
April 17, 2016
Status: --
If you want me to say anything, fat chance. Read all the other reviews.

One word? Brilliant.

I've been reading since the story was only translated to three chapters, now it's at twenty-two.

I'm about to cry. It 100% deserves its high rating, and I shiver for an update. It's well paced and the MC has a calculative personality.

(I seriously just repeated everyone else's review... -_-)
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Rebirth of an Abandoned Woman
October 24, 2017
Status: c100
EDITED Feb 16 2019

EDITED Dec 2 2018

This is a beautiful read. I wasn't expecting it to be so simple, yet complicated. I'm extremely pleased that the protagonist did not go the whole ruthless, let's kill all my enemies, I'm the most amazing ice queen route. I got sick of that a long time ago.

She is practical and tries extremely hard with the resources that she has in her hands. She is hardworking, gentle, but very skillful and observant. I love this type of MC a lot. She shows that being... more>> overbearing won't always be helpful.

She shows that being respectful and mindful isn't a horrible thing at all. There is nothing wrong with knowing your place and using it to your advantage.

Spoiler

As an extra note I must add that the MC falls in love with the ML slowly overtime. As of chapter 90 she is still in the process (...). And the ML slowly falls for the MC without realizing it. When he does, it is very satisfying. It is very realistic in my opinion.

I would like to add that though you may feel frustration about the ML being deceived by the other girl and not realizing it... You can't exactly blame him. He grew up with her. He never once was shown her evil and cunning side. The ML also realizes that he is being deceived overtime. It is extremely fulfilling when he does realize.

Contrary to what others may think the MC is extremely capable. Could you do any better in her position? The ML isn't weak but adhering to his previous emotions of devotion to not only his cousin but the rules of the society they live in. If you make it past this point the relationship between the ML and MC becomes very trusting and loving.

[collapse]

I am very pleased. I do have a secret wish that the translator speeds up a little. ;) 😄

Please do not drop it just because you think it is slow. Slow stories are often the most fulfilling.

And yes, the antagonist is an annoying hypocritical backstabbing idiot. If I was to say one thing that may have lead to her twisted character it would have to be

Spoiler

her useless, drunk, no-good, rotten, sleaze bag father

He only appears briefly though... before dying.

[collapse]

By nineties the ML has become ideal and has now

Spoiler

fallen in love with the MC and realized his cousin's true nature and it is so satisfying.

[collapse]

But there is a new annoying problem

Spoiler

his sister and her useless manwhore husband

[collapse]
<<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
9 Heavenly Thunder Manual
March 30, 2016
Status: --
I have to say that the novel has its stereotypical moments, but I don't believe it deserves all the 1/5 ratings. So it is average, but it isn't too bad compared to a lot of trashy xianxia out there. I actually think it's a bit unique because of how the author incorporates it into a modern setting.

Anyway it is your choice whether or not you read, but I do want to say that a 1/5 is a little harsh. A 3/5 would make more sense. And even if the beginning... more>> does seem random, I sort of liked it enough to give it a 4/5 for adrenaline, but a 2/5 for the mash up. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Romance of Dragons and Snakes
April 6, 2016
Status: --
Okay... I admit. When I first read the title I thought it was going to be about another cunning and ruthless female lead and a bunch of romance. Then I read the first three chapters and I was like... wait.

This is not what I was expecting at all. I love it, and I hope the story continues to defy my expectations.

... seriously though. The title is so misleading. I don't feel like going into detail so look at the extremely long review by rdawv somewhere below mine for details (rdawv's... more>> review is extremely accurate) :-) <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
This is unbelievably cute. 😍 the MC and the ML both have facial paralysis so the outcome of the MC trying to woo the ML is cutely unfruitful in the beginning.

Picture : your cold wife of three years decides not to divorce and instead is being.... Nice?

The ML is worried. Extremely worried. And the MC can't figure out what she us doing wrong. 😂
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
Ultraman – Only Want To Protect You
October 16, 2017
Status: c100
Update: the translator changed. It's still not great, but it good enough to read. This is a pretty good novel. I forgot to update this a long time ago, but now that I have the chance I will. This is actually decent. I love the fanfiction aspect (I'm actually going on a hunt for more fanfics cuz I enjoy it).

For a more detailed review read another. I don't have time right now to write more. :/ sorry

... more>> Old review:

this novel seems like a good story. I'd rate it a four but...

*sighs* I'm not a fan of rating a story based on the translation, but this translation is incorrigible. I believe a majority of the one star ratings are because of the unreadable translations and not the story itself (which I don't usually approve of, but for this I completely understand)

I applaud that the translator put out this story for us to see, but it doesn't appear as if the tlr tried at all to edit it for our understanding and convenience. *sighs again* please get an editor or try fixing the formatting issues.

Other than that? Thank you for at least introducing what seems to be a decent story. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe
At the Northern Fort
November 25, 2016
Status: --
It's interesting.
It's cute.
It's smooth.
It's fluffy.
It's funny.

I like it. The MC is so cute (not that I didn't expect that) I don't have much to say that wasn't in the summary or in some other review, but the story floes and connects.

Enjoy.
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
B Group no Shounen
November 25, 2016
Status: c15
The MC just doesn't want trouble, but as every Japanese MC ever he attracts trouble like the plague attracts death.

Honestly I wish he'd just give up and become popular again (he is wasting his highschool experience), but hey... It's not my life. Very slice of life, the main girl is just --

Just read. *Sighs*
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ScotlandForsythe
ScotlandForsythe rated it
The Card Apprentice
June 1, 2016
Status: c12
😘Ratings out of five😘

Concept: 5 (cultivation technique is really unique, if you can call it that)
Main character: 4.5 (I like the mc's attitude, and for now there doesn't seem to be any mental issues)
Side characters: 2.9 (A bit shallow and typical, but their aren't many chapters yet)
Style: 3 (A bit average, but the story makes up for it)
World: 4 (ties in with the concept, a good take on the heiarchy)

Not many chapters yet, but it has potential. (I meant to review... more>> this ages ago, but I kept forgetting...) 😑 <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 4