Report Review
25 Reviews


Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
Goblin Kingdom
June 30, 2017
Status: c80
First of all, I don't know what people are complaining about. It's in no way similar to Re:Monster. The author of Re:Monster made a huge mistake granting the MC an OP skill with loosely-defined boundaries (consigning himself to a hell of skill names and descriptions). This novel is much more realistic with the leveling up (although it's still pretty fast).

What makes this so much better is that it's much more hot-blooded. Someone said it was like Kingdom, and I totally agree with that statement. It really emphasizes warrior spirit. As... more>> a plus, all the sexual stuff is generally avoided within his kingdom. Even when the author brings up the other goblins, he doesn't really go too in-depth about what they do.

All in all, a solid read. Definitely much more interesting than the typical monster reincarnation novels (and a lot of the JP novels out there). Translation is also on point and easy to read. Believe me, there are many more novels that have crappy translations, so I'm glad I didn't have to read in between the lines for this one. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
June 4, 2016
Status: c13
Relatively interesting twist to the "redo" genre, but not to the point where its jaw-dropping. However what made this novel worth reading so far is the vengeance aspect.
... more>>
Spoiler

So far the MC makes good use of the understanding he gained of the world during the tutorial to take complete advantage over the other characters (ex. The shady dealer, princess etc.) Unlike some vengeance stories, this MC has no qualms in killing or thoroughly torturing those he has a grudge on. It's a bit similar to Shield Hero but he's definitely a lot more ruthless than the shield hero.

[collapse]
His personality does a complete 180 from when he first started thats for sure. A good read; however there is only 13 chapters translated. I have high expectations for this one. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
The Dark King
March 30, 2017
Status: c371
Definitely an interesting read. Much different than the typical cultivation novel, although its really irksome how he seems to be applying for everything.
... more>>
Spoiler

In other words, he's going to be a Hunter, Knight, and Architect and god knows what else. But it's still fun to read. What I don't understand is why people are complaining about the darker parts of the story. There are some valid points, but it's much simpler to take it with an open mind. Explanations for the following:

1. Let's just remember the premise here. This new world seems to have some resemblance of order, but really, if people don't want to let them know things, then they probably won't know, especially if they're grunts (read: scavengers). So like typical grunts, the higher ups will send them out with poor equipment. Because grunt --> kept in the dark and fed sh*t. After all, they aren't as important as the hunters and they technically aren't supposed to be in any danger. If you think about it in another way, they're literally workers that are trained to grab anything they might think is useful and run away from monsters without fighting them head on if they do show up. Because they literally can't.

2. The part where he has to integrate the parasites from the young splitters? People are pissed off that their scythes are cut off and he's practically keeping them as livestock? Let's say he doesn't cut them off. Why in the world would he make things harder for himself? The author spends a good chunk of the chapters explaining how dangerous a splitter is, both young and mature. Not to mention it's a legendary beast. So I don't see the problem with nipping a problem at its bud. It's just suicidal if he lets them keep their scythes.

3. Prison arc? Prisons aren't ****ing rainbows and sunshine. So there's no reason to expect the MC to be treated well when he's thrown into a den of wolves. As dislikable as the arc might be, it was a super integral part of the change in his personality. He no longer trusts anyone without making sure he has some way to control them first.
TL;DR Scavengers are grunts that don't actually have much invested in them. Cutting off the scythes of a legendary beast that can **** you up is probably a good idea. Prison arc isn't pretty. Deal with it or skip it.
Let's remember that this MC isn't a good guy.
Romance is shallow as sh*t here, not to mention he seems to have sworn off on love. Probably won't be any of that for a while.

[collapse]

Honestly this novel is a little jumpy, but it's still a good read. Translator does his/her best to keep it true to the raws. Kudos to that. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
The Amber Sword
June 4, 2016
Status: v2c43
Beautiful story. It completely deviates from what Chinese novels are usually about.
... more>>
Spoiler

This story seems to be a mix of Chinese, Japanese, Western and even Korean elements. Although the equipment system is a little confusing, if you reread it a little bit it becomes much more understandable. I cant say that the characters are unique either, but the action in the story is very good.

[collapse]
Though I can't say its completely unique, but the writing style is completely refreshing. After reading so many Chinese novels with the same crap occurring over and over again, this novel is like rain after a long drought. (Like california's situation xD)

I also really want to thank the translator wolfie for doing such an excellent job. Completely out of my expectations. I read the raws a bit and found it to be of a much lower quality than the translated work. You could even say wolfie literally reworded the story so that it flowed smoother. Good job wolfie!

All in all, this is definitely a novel that is worth reading and following. Give it a shot. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
Pure Love ✕ Insult Complex
November 29, 2016
Status: c53
I honestly was surprised when I saw all the one-star reviews. Perhaps the story just didn't click with those people, or they just don't really understand how intricate it is? This novel is definitely a good read. It's on a completely different level compared to other R18 novels.
... more>>
Spoiler

The MC is most assuredly not just a wimpy piece of garbage who one-sidedly desires and rapes his "love" interest. That's the type of MCs that other typical R18 novels have. He's just another broken toy thrown aside by garbage parents (especially the mom) and is taken in by other equally broken toys who are trying to live life as happily as they can, doing things they want to do. Each and every one of the characters introduced, even casually, are tied in to the story. The author meticulously develops the main cast and reveals bits and pieces of trauma experienced in the past. The MC is also a key component for helping the rest of the group recover some of their sanity. Perhaps he does get everything delivered to him on a silver platter, but nevertheless he is an integral part of the group.

[collapse]
It does require quite a bit of reading though, probably at least 30 chapters or so before the main plot starts to show. If you want a simple R18 story read Kininaru or something. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
A Step into the Past
July 12, 2016
Status: Completed
Definitely well-written and riveting. Translator and staff did a fabulous job. First time I read this it gave me a huge shock. The action may be lacking compared to the political plays and wooing women, but it definitely was well thought out and realistic.
... more>>
Spoiler

Just to warn you, the MC will do nothing to change history. In fact it is specifically emphasized that the MC is unable to change history no matter how much he interferes. It will end up exactly as the history books say in the 21st century, its just the author took liberties while filling in details in between major events. So don't get too angry over the fact that the MC is NTR'd over the empress, Zhao Ya, Zhao Ni, Mei Canning, and Shan Rou (in fact Zhao Ya's death was probably was the most emotional event other than the ending) Do remember that this is set in an era where if people don't have power, they will be trampled straightforwardly by people who are powerful. Women are livestock to be traded, virginity means nothing really, lives are treated like sh*t, people can and will die, and you are guaranteed to feel constant angst over a lot of events in the story.

[collapse]
Once you reach the ending, you will realize how masterfully the author maneuvered all of his extra details and events so that it would fit perfectly with the timeline. It's a good read, but be warned there will be constant feelings of angst and frustration. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
July 1, 2016
Status: c197
Absolute masterpiece. As someone mentioned before, the premise is really similar to TDG. However, unlike TDG, the execution of the story is beyond words. With an MC who can actually think for once and come up with some pretty mind blowing strategies, TTNH is looking to be a really good read out of the myriad of xianxias that are out there currently.
... more>>
Spoiler

the aphrodisiac was savage AF, rip assassins

[collapse]
Excited for more chapters, and from the reviews it seems like it won't be another repetitive xianxia. Fingers crossed for that. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
Skeleton Knight, in Another World
June 4, 2016
Status: v2c5
So I read this one hoping that it would try to distinguish itself from overlord. It did a good job on that.
... more>>
Spoiler

the MC is a skelly with OP equipment who still possesses a modicum of humanity, though he is not adverse to killing much like Ainz. Ainz starts off relatively generous, but as you read on he becomes more and more ruthless to enemies against his guild. In this story, the skeleton knight just tries to help out whoever is in need of help since all he has is himself and not a guild.

[collapse]
It's not too dark, and its a relatively decent read. You do have to question the author's logic sometimes though. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
Science Shall Prevail Over Magic
June 4, 2016
Status: c7
It's a decent read so far. Be warned, MC is ridiculously overpowered.
Spoiler

MC comes from a futuristic world, but I found the explanation of the futuristic world to be a little confusing. There's also not a very clear goal right now since he just got transported to a different world.

[collapse]
It's pretty promising though, and the translators are doing a good job making the story flow well. Hopefully this one turns out well.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
Possessing Nothing
December 14, 2018
Status: c71
Great story, but don't get baited by reviewers saying this guy is average through and through. Ever heard of "all men are created equal?" Absolutely true for 90% of humans (rest are geniuses and talents), except that those 90% also start at different points in life. His "start" (or restart) is anything but average, and the rest depended on a few chapters of hard work.
Spoiler

Also, the author tries to drive in the point that he's average by introducing tons of geniuses, each one more genius than the last, so it's easy to get tricked by his circumstances. If you compare him with the rest of the No-Classes, he got a great restart. You can fake talent with experience, and he got plenty of that with the years he spent climbing up to C-rank. He might not remember minor events in the future, but it's the major events that really matter anyway.

[collapse]
It's a great read nevertheless, so give it a try.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
December 14, 2017
Status: Completed
This.... unfortunately, there's not much to say.

It may have been a 5-star novel for the first 800 chapters or so, but Er Gen loses his touch later on. A good author knows when to stop beating a dead horse. Quite disappointing, but then again, this sort of situation isn't uncommon.

It is a good introductory novel to Xianxia though, so if you are new to reading it is worth a shot.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
Sisters Violated Many Times in Dream and Reality…
December 12, 2017
Status: --
Pure and simple NTR. The story itself is straightforward and does what it is supposed to do. Although I don't like this genre all that much, I don't want to be narrow-minded either. Don't blindly give low ratings because it's NTR.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
My Wife is a Beautiful CEO
October 8, 2017
Status: Completed
Really good story. Read through all 1664 chapters and really enjoyed it. Plenty of plot twists (and one really surprising one) but it was all worth it in the end. Hope the author comes out with another one like this!

Some spoilers:

... more>>
Spoiler

My favorite members of the harem would be Cai Ning and Jane. In terms of of knowing Yang Chen the longest they would be near the top, with a few exceptions. Oh Athena wasn't too bad either. Honestly the MC was frustrating at times but it is one of the finest harem endings I have ever read. Other harem novels fall way behind the mark.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatte Iru
June 24, 2016
Status: v11
Overall a very good read. Probably the best I've ever read, and I've read a lot of novels. Originally I thought "romantic comedy? Gdi more of this sh*t, " but honestly the romantic part isn't very emphasized as I thought it would be ... more>>
Spoiler

of course until you reach volume 11, then the tension really gets going (kek actually three girls gunning for one guy, even loners can be potential harem protagonists)

[collapse]
Best part of this series is the interactions between the characters. MC's monologues flow beautifully and there's a lot of "reading in between the lines" going on in almost every interaction, to the point where you just automatically analyze every character's lines. The story is also very realistic and relatable; almost everyone can sympathize with one or more of the characters in this story. Props to the translators/editors though; I think they really managed to capture and improve upon Watari's semantics. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
Magi’s Grandson
June 4, 2016
Status: v3c43
So the beginning of this novel was quite good. Premise was interesting, MC was relatively humble but also overpowered, and the magic made sense since he basically incorporated chemistry concepts. That ends pretty quickly.

This seems to be less of an "action" and "shounen" novel so far and more of a "slice of life" with multiple moments where I just want to puke because seriously, do you really need to emphasize that "shin has no common sense" in every paragraph? I understand that his lack of common sense is the whole... more>> selling point of the novel, but really, the tropes in this one is overflowing.
Spoiler

The interactions between Shin (MC) and the female lead were interesting at first but quickly got boring. In other words, other than Shin, the side characters are literally NPCs. They contribute nothing to the story. The prince is relatively interesting due to his black heart, but other than that, the characters are just there to leech off the MC. So if you are into stories where the only character that is doing anything is the MC then this is the story for you. Character development is nonexistent. MC still lacks common sense, side characters have a bland character type slapped onto them and they stay that way (i found the prince to be interesting though).
Oh yeah and generic villain who spouts villainous lines but gets defeated in a few minutes. Artificial creation of demons/devils, you know, generic villainous plots like that.

[collapse]
IMO, this novel already blew itself up when it spent literally 3 volumes on nothing but school life and "o MC is powerful AF" while the fight scenes are just "wow you finished them so quickly as expected of the magi's grandson." What action and shounen?
Spoiler

the grandpa, who was a famous magi, literally has no presence in this story. This novel should be renamed "The Guru's Grandson" because the grandma has more presence.
Heck there's not even any emphasis on magic developing or anything really. Just vague chemistry concepts that people in junior high can understand.

[collapse]

That being said, it's not unreadable because the translators have done an excellent job. Just that the story itself is barely passable. If you have read most of the good novels already, this is a good story for you to read to pass the time. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
God of Music
December 24, 2018
Status: c111
There's been a lot of comparisons between God of Music and Top Management, so here's my take on this.

God of Music is nice to read, but it's much less "personal" compared to Top Management. In TM, the MC has a heavy hand in bringing up his original group, plus he sticks with them for a very very long time. In comparison, GoM swaps the people the MC is in charge of extremely quickly. While that isn't a bad thing necessarily, it was only interesting for the first 70-80 chapters. After... more>> a short time skip, things become confusing due to certain events, and it isn't as easy to follow or read anymore. It sort of loses its unique spin on managing groups. The author completely forgets about the MCs rebirth after 40 chapters or so, and disregards it for the MC's almost cheat-like ability. It's completely frustrating to see how he breezes through situations without any difficulty. There's almost no tension, since readers all know that it would be resolved because of his skill.

So it's not a bad read, but I didn't really enjoy it as much as I enjoyed Top Management. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys
Against the Gods
June 13, 2017
Status: c821
People complain about the numerous cliches that are present in this story. Furthermore, they complain about how repetitive it gets, and how each new arc he enters he ends up doing the same thing: saving beauties, slapping the arrogant, surpassing the limits etc.

However, this story isn't about uniqueness or original plot ideas. Instead, the execution of these cliches is on an entirely new level, to the point where you can claim the masterful manipulation of emotions using unoriginal plot devices a unique point of the novel. Simply put, Against the... more>> Gods implements common storylines that possibly hundreds of other novels use, but Mars does such a good job of it that it's easy and fun to read.

Originality in novels doesn't mean sh*t if it isn't written well. I cannot count how many times I've read something interesting only for it to fall short because the author doesn't know what he/she was doing. He/She couldn't keep up the quality of each chapter and made sure information stayed relevant and easy to digest.

tl;dr Mars is a good author. He likes to make his MCs OP but it's still quite the emotional rollercoaster ride. Better to read a solid novel like ATG instead of a sh*tty one. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
MuvLuv Alternative Schwarzesmarken
June 28, 2016
Status: v7
So seeing as no one actually wrote a review for this, I guess I'll give it a shot. The anime has covered all seven volumes and this is technically complete.

The summary gives almost no information about what goes on in the story so here's mine:
... more>>
Spoiler

As mentioned above, it's about the East German Army's 666th TSF Squadron (tactical surface fighter) known as the Schwarzesmarken, a super elite unit that fights Betas on the front lines (they usually carry out laserjagds (laser hunts) in which they go to the back of enemy lines and kill the laser units that basically overpower human forces if they aren't eliminated)

Now on to the more important stuff. At this point in time it's 1983. Basically, to summarize the setting of Schwarzesmarken, it's the Cold War with BETAs added into the mix. Germany is split into the West and East, with the East receiving most of the BETA attacks and the West flourishing. It's a relatively dangerous time for the East, especially since there are a lot of conflicts between political parties. (Guess what kind? Lol you got it. Communism and capitalism and all that stuff) And then you have the soldiers who are dedicated to fighting for the sake of the country and the people. That's the 666th squadron. With the BETA threat looming over them, they have to somehow beat them back, show the world (the UN) that East Germany is just as strong as West Germany, and clean up internal conflicts so that power is rightfully given to the people. In other words, it's less about the BETAs and more about the internal political conflicts that are destroying East Germany. The stuff about ignoring allied distress calls is kind of extraneous since it really doesn't change much of the story.

[collapse]

On to the actual review:
Spoiler

We have our beloved MC Theodore Eberbach (just love the naming sense) who is a member of the 666th. He's pretty much apathetic to everything, especially since a few years ago his mom, dad, and his little sister were killed by the Stasi (aka the secret police, you know, the ones that go around killing people and make the party look good). So why is he fighting for them? I don't know, and he doesn't know either, at least in the beginning. He fights, and along the way he meets someone who changes his views on the war, Katia Waldheim, and later finds out that his captain Irisdina Bernhard (who he thought was a heartless informer who killed her own brother because she was a loyal dog of the Stasi) was actually part of a resistance that is attempting to overthrow the current government. He decides to fight for the people, they win, etc.
However, theres a good amount of tragedy mixed into this.

Spoiler

he finds out that his sister is actually alive, and is a spy who joined the 666th in order to monitor Irisdina the captain to see if she's treasonous (lol she is). What's worse is that the little sister (Lise Hohenstein) has been in love with Theodore ever since they were kids (since theodore was adopted) but boom, Theodore was NTR'd and his sister was used as a toy by the Stasi (and by toy I mean the sexual kind).
including the sister there's 10 members in the squad, and by the end only 3 of them are left. (This had the potential to become a harem with the captain, the little sister, and katia, but they shut that down real quick. Neither the captain nor sister survives)

[collapse]

The character development was relatively simplified, and a lot of things were exaggerated but the tension in the story kept me on my toes, especially since the author threw a lot of curveballs. But is it a fantastic story? Not really, but its not bad.

[collapse]
All in all, it was a good read and you can probably give it a shot if you can read Japanese since no one is really translating this right now. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
Nejimaki Seirei Senki – Tenkyou no Alderamin
December 10, 2017
Status: --
This novel is one of the finest novels I've ever read. Definitely in the Top 10 for a reason. But I ended up dropping it anyway because

... more>>
Spoiler

Really are you sure???? This is a really humongous spoiler that you really don't want to read unless you're really far into the story. Gotta be sure, there's no turning back! Yatorishino Igsem dies (and in Ikta's arms too, blocking bullets for him). It was super heartbreaking that after all they've been through, the author chooses this. Well, I guess that just means the ship for the princess is sailing for sure. Or not at all.

[collapse]

Give it a read. You will definitely like it. If you can read Japanese I recommend getting the rest of the novels since translations have died down. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Scaethys
Scaethys rated it
Kujibiki Tokushou: Musou Hāremu ken
September 24, 2017
Status: --
Reading this, I would have to say that this is just another typical harem story. Super OP protagonist, lots of women, solves every problem easily, etc. But I guess the one redeeming feature is how competent all the women in his harem are so I ended up giving it a 5/5. Because every single other ****ing harem story has competent women who suddenly become worthless in front of the MC's eyes. Seriously. Having that alone, the novel deserves a 5. At the very least, it won't be too boring.

It's nice... more>> to read a novel like this from time to time. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report