Report Review
Report Reason:
76 Reviews


SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
August 2, 2017
Status: c6.10
Almost all the reviews here are screaming that the novel is awesome. I agree.

Okay, sure it gets repetitive, but that's the formula! Just like how Pokemon games usually follow a similar plot.

The love between MC and the male lead is sweet. Sometimes mature, but there hasn't been anything super graphic between them so far... (I dunno, the TL says the next chapter is sorta... kinky...) The MC's always pretty in a feminine way and the ML is usually the dominant possessive type. It's funny since the MC found the ML... more>> through certain aspects of his character.

Spoiler

Smokes, dominantly possessive, over a certain height, and handsome. It's interesting that the ML's soul has being following the MC without remembering that they're lovers or anything. MC only realized at the... 4th story?

[collapse]

The premise behind the story is interesting. I wouldn't mind reading it even if there was no romance. (not a fan of romance novels in general, but whatever) I'm wondering whether we'll get to see the confrontation and the final reveal. We probably will.

I admit that side characters don't get a lot of characterization, but they still get a decent amount.

MTL, but it's of high quality with fast and complete releases. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
The Avalon Of Five Elements
January 21, 2017
Status: c42
(My first review, whoo! I've finally made an account...)

I was sorta unsure whether I would want to continue reading it in the first few chapters, but it quickly caught my interest. It's been a while since I've found something as interesting as this. The author has a lot of other novels that I enjoyed too.

I'm sure other people have said this, but the characters feel real. Their interactions are also well-written. One of the mc's friends is different from what I feel is common in other novels.... more>>

Spoiler

It's Loulan, a Sand Golem, that I feel is super awesome. His interactions with the MC are awesome. Their first battle together... uwu I dunno, but I feel that he'll eventually die or something... it's just a feeling.

[collapse]

The irony in the story is funny. The fight scenes are detailed. More importantly, the setting is different from most cultivation novels. FWH is labeled as a sequel for WOC (brilliant novel, btw), and you can really understand why it is. Spiritual power went POOF, but they still have elemental power~~~ MC is also untalented, but he's innovative (the tag haha).

Spoiler

I could've sworn there was a reference to WOC too... Was it Wei Sheng who was briefly mentioned? Eh.

[collapse]
<<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
The Human Emperor
August 19, 2017
Status: c178
So far, it's the best 'Second Chance' novel I've ever read. Well-written and interesting.

I was totally hyped to read it months ago, and when I continued reading, it was still just as good (maybe better) as before. It might be a slow novel (I dunno, I feel it's fine...), but it's good.

MC's currently flawless. Hasn't done anything childishly (at least not on purpose) and hasn't screwed up. That might be an issue for character development, but there's no way he'll be perfect. He hasn't messed up YET, but he doesn't... more>> always perfectly achieve his goals. (20% completion lol). The MC isn't OP yet. He's definitely getting there though. Lots of talent and teachers. Training camp seems to be coming soon! Also, I find the MC interesting as a character even though he hasn't faced any major setbacks. Good portrayal of a character. Hmm, MC's a hardcore patriot (morally righteous too...), so I wonder why it's named The Human Emperor. Well, I guess the racism tag is because the MC fights for his country against its enemies. I don't really think that the story really deserves all the negative connotations of racism. MC interacts fairly with some foreigners (allies).

There's an explanation for why the MC received a second chance. Interesting system.

MC doesn't really have any cheats beyond knowing sometimes vague details of the future and valuable skills (that he has to train in and develop). He does seem to have a bit of plot armor and luck though.

Side characters are interesting. Can't wait to see more of the MC's family. MC's future masters are going to be fun to interact with. Also, the politics are actually not boring. I don't really like political stuff, but the politics are decently understandable and not utterly dull. The MC gets the most focus though. Some side characters might show up less than you like. I don't mind though. The MC's interesting enough for me, and new characters I like always show up. There aren't dumb enemies either, besides the ones that are supposed to be dumb (young kids).

The MC isn't all-knowing. He's encountered some mysteries that he didn't know about. He also hasn't become absolutely dumb because of silly stuff like women issues. There hasn't been much romance.

A really satisfying read. Totally worth the 5 stars. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
I am the Monarch
August 5, 2017
Status: c164
I like this novel. It might not have a lot of 'hype' inside, but there's a slow simmering burn of expectancy.

It's a kingdom-building novel. That's probably the most apt description I can give. The title says it all. Lots of setting up foundations for a kingdom and battles.

However, Roan hasn't become a monarch yet. Starting from a commoner soldier, he's going all the way up. He hasn't failed much yet and everything's going well, but I feel that something's eventually going to go really wrong at a crucial point.

The MC... more>> 'steals' and 'corrects' others' fates and does his own thing. He isn't passive. Unlike most generals/monarchs in novels, this dude's a good guy. He's morally righteous and wants to be a monarch for the people. He's ruthless on battlefields though. Doesn't leave potential threats. He's pretty smart for a dude that didn't do much in his past life. Good at fighting too. Strong, but not completely OP.

The battles in the novel are interesting. The fights are too. I find the way Roan interacts with mana to be interesting. It's not focused on a lot (the story's mostly kingdom building or war/battles), but in the future there will definitely be some important arcs focusing on mana.

Spoiler

(slightly tsundere) Potential water spirit king candidate following the dude. Not annoyingly though. Oh, and the reason for his time-travel was mentioned vaguely. I hope MC finds out all the details.

[collapse]

Small complaints I have: the characters accept MC way too easily. He's seemingly conquering them without much trouble. They like him way too much for not too many reasons sometimes. However, this issue disappears eventually and happens strongly only at the start. Heck, I might be too sensitive and overreacting. Also, I might not sure how well characters are characterized... I think readers don't learn much about them besides a few character traits that represent them. That's understandable since there are sooooo many characters in the story though. Lots of land and allies. Don't worry, the characters are enough to make emotional readers cry, so they're decently characterized enough. I just feel like the MC gets way too much spotlight, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. The side characters are adorable though.

Last thing: romance is really shaky in this novel. It's not focused on now, but in the future there will be development probably.

Spoiler

The seemingly main girl is nice and all, but the reason for Roan and her to fall in love is kinda meh. It's fate???? What the... At least they don't immediately decide that they're in love and swoon together, but still. Their romance is interesting though.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
Against the Gods
July 26, 2017
Status: c848
It may be generic, but it's good. Yay for OP MCs!

The hype at certain parts was really awesome. Almost too much hype.

... more>>
Spoiler

My favorite arc is the one when he reunites with his parents and saves everybody there.

[collapse]

I just love certain characters. Also, there are some slightly funny moments. Lots of angsty parts though. The MC gets chased and nearly killed a lot. It's not unbearable, but still. Cliche. The tournament was cool!!!

The thing that stands out the most to me is the MC's interactions with women. Yes, the harem. It's a decent harem, in my opinion. The girls aren't obnoxious; a lot of them are really cool. There might be an issue with how the MC almost always gets every valuable girl, but at least he treats his harem members decently. He might be slightly perverted, but it's not super noticeable.

Spoiler

As in he took the opportunity to ogle and lightly touch some random virgins when helping them.

[collapse]

MC's master is interesting. I'm wondering how they'll continue to interact. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
The Legendary Master’s Wife
July 11, 2017
Status: c208
An awesome novel (even for people that don't really like BL). There are a couple of MATURE scenes, but it's not too bad.

... more>>
Spoiler

I think they're pretty much together though, so that might change...

[collapse]

The MC is not the sharpest knife in the drawer. He feels really average in terms of personality and intelligence, which is realistic???

The side characters are awesome... maybe even better then the MC? *runs*

Brief moments of humor lol

Good translations. Fluffy contracted pets.

OP co-MC. You Xiaomo really hasn't done much by himself, but it seems...

Spoiler

there might be more action for him in the future? He's going to a school where he'll learn skills to use with his soulforce.

[collapse]

orz <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
The King of the Battlefield
June 30, 2017
Status: c102
A really good novel. I'm totally hooked.

Necromancer developing OP MC. Not absolutely cold, but he's pretty ruthless.

Although the story seems kinda dark, I feel like it has a greyish tone. Like there's hope. I like that.

The world is designed well. Lots of mystery and cool details.

Characters are interesting and memorable. It might seem boring at the start, but it gets much more interesting quickly.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
Elqueeness
June 29, 2017
Status: c50
It's such a shame that it's been dropped by the translator.

I find the characters funny and memorable. I also haven't seen this kind of premise before. I really enjoy reading this story...

It's one of my favorite Korean novels.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
The MC is a troll~~~

... more>>
Spoiler

Not really a spoiler, but he's clearly a dude that got transported over from "our" world. A hardcore gamer/adventurer who plans out everything almost perfectly. His one fail so far was hilarious though.

[collapse]

He's confident and has the brains to be so. He's the type that helps his people become epic. So far, Wang Lu isn't OP, he's just strong in a different way. Lots of strategic planning and trickery.

His interaction with his Master is hilarious. They're not Master and Disciple in the traditional way.

The important characters are not flat. They're interesting and different.

The sect elders are funny~~~ <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
Red Packet Server
May 9, 2017
Status: c40
I'm getting a vibe like The Lame Daoist Priest has. The writing style and humor seem similar.

The premise is super interesting! I enjoy the brief flashes of brilliance, but I hope there are more interesting scenes. Granted, I'm only at Chapter 40 and this just came out, but it doesn't seem to be the most awesome book out there. It's certainly good though! The translations are awesome.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
It's too early to rate it as a 5. Maybe later?

It's not the most interesting thing. The premise really interested me, but I became slightly disappointed when reading. It's a decent novel, but not full of hype.

Lots of religion bashing. The gods (except for the MC) are the baddies. The Light Church has a lot of idiots.

The MC is OP, but he's being hindered by his love for humans. His character isn't very detailed. It's literally: fillial, human-loving, not too perverted, OP, a god, and normal. He's nothing really interesting... more>> in the story. He's okay. The characterization in the story isn't the best. World building is kinda interesting.

I have no idea where this novel is going to go. To me, it's just a light comedy/almost slice of life. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
Virtual World: Peerless White Emperor
August 4, 2017
Status: c155
My favorite Virtual Reality novel!

It's super funny and the characters are idiotically so. They're still "talented" though, so they aren't totally useless.

OP MC. Really. In game and out of the game. The game is the focus, but there is clearly a story going out in the outside world. Some people have special abilities outside too! It's a future modern reality with martial arts and special abilities.

... more>>
Spoiler

Experiments in creating humans, terrorists, super powerful groups, etc. Oh, and MC's cooking is the best part of the story. Maybe.

[collapse]

Not much romance, but that's for a reason. There's an annoying running gag related to one girl, but the story is worth it. I don't find her that annoying anyways.

The luck in the story is weird. It's amusing.

MC's bro reminds me of Shi Hao from Perfect World, but dumber??? Sorry, Lele. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
Isekai De Rippa Na Inu Ni Naru Houhou
July 31, 2017
Status: c35
Fluffy and cute. It's a simple story.

The reasons to fall in love with the MC are kinda... uhhhhh sudden?
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
Undefeated God of War
July 17, 2017
Status: c594
I really like this novel.

Okay. The MC is dumb, whatever. He's smart in battles, and that counts a lot. Heck, he even learns battle strategies. In other times, his "stupidity" is used for comedic relief. But he isn't utterly dumb. MC goes through a lot of changes, and doesn't have a harem. The MC's strongest attribute would be his thirst for victory. Oh, and he acts more like a hoodlum or gangster than some young master. Nouveau riche~

Side characters are awesome. Gotta love Bing. Their reactions, skills, and personalities are... more>> awesome. The smaller side characters are memorable.

Plot twists are awesome. Also, MC's mysterious background doesn't get revealed until after Ch. 500-ish.

Spoiler

There are TWO MCs! A fool and a little fool. :D

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp
World of Cultivation
July 15, 2017
Status: c670
One of the best novels I've ever read.

The MC is unusually special. Gotta love this dude. MC's background is still a mystery. His powers are pretty varied, and he's internally messed up unlike other perfect MCs. Ah, there's another dude (foils) that's just as MC-like.

The side characters are memorable. Character development, woo! The pets are adorably annoying. No real harem so far. Gotta go for the best girl. Also, the ancient fossils are always entertaining.

... more>> Long battle scenes with lots of buildup. They're awesomely done!

This story is also very funny. Watch out for Lil' Cliffy~

The translator and editor sometimes have funny and insightful comments on the story at the bottom. They make me laugh as much as the actual story.

Plot is good. Lots of battalions/minor politics. The relationship between the three races (yao, mo, and xiuzhe) are interesting. It's rather amusing for everyone to wonder which the MC is.

JINGSHIIIIIIII <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
July 13, 2017
Status: c124
Good story. The MC's laziness makes everything a bit slow, but it progresses decently enough.

I like the characters and how the world is built.

I just don't really like the maid. She was okay... but I think she's gotten kinda annoying. I almost put 5 stars... but I couldn't take the moments where the maid is focused on. Maybe it's 4.5? Dunno.

World:

... more>>
Spoiler

MC was the hero from a modern fantasy world being attacked by demons, but he died and got reincarnated in the world "above" it, a more magical world that's less modern. The plot connects the two worlds, so I think that's cool.

[collapse]

Maid:
Spoiler

Started out as the victim of experiments with OP magical power and a limited lifespan. Got picked up by the MC and changed to a maid. It bothered me how when the MC told her to keep things quiet, she blabbed them anyway (to one person, but the news sorta spread). I get it that she was uneducated and young, but still. She also screwed up in a serious situation later... I kinda facepalmed at her idiocy. (MC was trying to hide his identity, pretty much did it, and then she spoiled MC's efforts...) I know this sounds like a rant, but I seriously tried to like her... and failed. The whole arc where everyone was focused on her 'impending' death bothered me.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp
Tales of Demons and Gods
June 29, 2017
Status: c454
A story where the MC lifts his friends and allies to new heights.

The MC is the center. He's really important for the entire universe and for all the worlds.

OP MC, but he isn't OP enough for his big, bad enemy. Heck, no one has been enough for the enemy.

... more>> The story might feel generic, but I like and enjoy the world the author has built. Everything is pretty detailed and stuff from before links to the future.

The characters aren't really flat; they're interesting enough.

MC is shameless??? and tricks people. Hehe. He sorta builds a harem... but he's only truly interested in one girl. The harem??? isn't obnoxious or flat. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
Monarch of Evernight
November 1, 2017
Status: v2c21
Good story!

Not too dark, although the tags certainly are. I'd rate it around The Charm of Soul Pets' darkness level, maybe a bit more. Just don't think too deeply about it.

Pfft, everyone's mentioning the orgy, so I'll talk about that too! Seriously, chill. It's not even detailed (nothing super mature so far, readers only know that s*x is going on, not the details) and it's not even important to the story. Just reinforcing that.

MC's not a wimp either. C'mon, he was five. I also think the author was trying to... more>> stress the 'purity' of the MC in a trash environment. Later on, he is ruthless and bold. Not dumb though. He's a pretty solid MC.

Not a lot of deep character interaction though. People die kinda quickly. All those side characters I liked... RIP.

World is interesting. The ways to fight are cool and the multiple races have interesting customs, abilities, and interactions.

Potential romance, but no solid female lead yet. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
Galactic Dark Net
October 29, 2017
Status: --
This novel's world is brilliant. It's never-ending and awesome. So many races, planets, and objects.

The MC... is okay. He felt like a Gary Stu once he became a genius and capable of doing almost everything he laid his hands on. Not annoying, but I kinda lost the feeling of suspense. He's OP and talented in many aspects, although he doesn't always win against stronger opponents 1v1... he usually calls in the army by then or gets lucky.

Ah, MC gets really lucky. Really lucky. His personality is extreme.

Basically, I got bored... more>> of that after reading 300 chapters in a row, but then it got interesting again with more mysteries! The book has a lot of them. Also, the world got so creative and straight-up weird and shocked me. XD Liked that!

There doesn't seem to be romance (beautiful female lead in the tags already lol) but MC has a bunch of beautiful women (explains the tag, anyone he'll probably end up with will be beautiful) around him. Not exactly love-loving him, but definitely attracted to him in various ways. The girls aren't very annoying, so that's good.

Side characters... not the most memorable always, but they're fun to read and can be quite derpy sometimes.

The hype is so-so because it feels like the MC will never utterly lose. Got predicable. Gets stale after a while in the middle, but picks back up. The author's writing style (or how the TL typed it out) is quite simplistic, but there aren't any major flaws.

If there were half-star ratings, I would give it a 4.5. Fun, but not the most epic. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
SayMrrp
SayMrrp rated it
Limitless
October 18, 2017
Status: c108
It's not the most awesome novel ever, but it's good.

I like how the setting/world is special. I haven't seen a mix of futuristic, modern, and ancient times before.

MC's a genius with a cheat. Thus, he is OP among his age and can fight higher levels. He also powers up quickly. His personality seems to be of the standard nice MC that's ruthless to enemies. The side characters are interesting, some of them were unpredictable and MC's 'pets' are fun.

MC's love interest seems to have vanished from the story though. She... more>> isn't annoying, just not characterized absolutely well. Then again, I'm only about one hundred chapters in, so there's still time.

I'd say that the best thing about this story is how special/unusual the world is. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 4