Report Review
13 Reviews


Samoubyt
Samoubyt rated it
Heaven Official’s Blessing
April 5, 2019
Status: Completed
3.5 stars because they focused so much on MC and ML that you could turn this into a slice of life without any issues. No need for all this ‘gods and demons’ stuff. They barely even gave that any actual importance.

No significant world building, cute side characters, God’s are as abundant as grass (despite being emphasized as a super rare occurrence), super powerful demons that can’t even beat ML....

... more>>
Spoiler

Mingxiong deserved more than being forgotten after his arc!! He was such a great character, and they just threw him away....

The demon cousin shouldn’t have been so useless! I hate him but goddamn, he’s one of the 4 great demons yet he’s so shitty? Not even a redemption arc??? The author clearly only made him a famous demon because he’s the MC’s cousin.

[collapse]

I honestly dislike the MC’s personality. Especially some of his actions, which were the epitome of stupidity.

Spoiler

Lmao you go around resenting your collars but you legit go asking for 2 instead of 1? What’s this, a buy one get one free sale???

[collapse]

ML was ok. He’s really dedicated and nice to the MC, but he doesn’t stand out that much. Just like any other chinese ML does everything for MC and loves him forever because..

Spoiler

He told him not to kill himself for him, that’s like literally it. Which, apparently, is strong enough for him to become a super demon to protect him? Yea sure, sounds legit.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Samoubyt
Ok, no. I can’t handle this ML anymore. His attitude is so horrible sometimes that I really can’t stand him. What a shame, I really was looking forward to reading it too!

If you like sociopathic, puppy dog only to MC, sometimes violent ML. Then you’ve come to the right place.

Really not liking this stories ‘MC raising ML since childhood’ thing. Especially since MC saw him as a son. It might have also been implied that he felt weird about him having a puppy crush.... emm.

Didn't read for long, nor do... more>> I ever plan to. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Samoubyt
Samoubyt rated it
My Wangfei is a Man
February 16, 2019
Status: Completed
It could've been better.

Trigger warning for M-preg and consent issues... (and at the same time too -sigh-)

Bonus points for switch!MC and ML who's not weaker nor has any feminine traits. An equal relationship is great.

... more>> The story itself was kinda bland, not really a deep sort of story. I literally just finished it and nothing left a significant impression in my mind.

It mainly focuses on the MC and ML's romance, with the politics and serious stuff taking a backseat.

It's a shame I found MC too unlikeable.

The beginning gave a great overview of what you'd expect of these two, one being an infatuated honest man and the other a cold but kind prince. But they never really developed and remained kinda flat.

MC was a crybaby who kept acting on selfish impulses and didn't really learn from his actions. ML was a bit better, but he became boring after a while.

I honestly have a hard time believing their love. MC's actions show more lust than love tbh.

Spoiler

Is love purposely drugging someone (who you don't even remember) and raping his vulnerable body? Then you want another child so you trick him by swapping his medicine and impregnating him??

This behavior is nasty. Pregnancy shouldn't be decided by 1 person in the relationship, especially when you're not the one who's getting pregnant!!!!!

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Samoubyt
Samoubyt rated it
War Prisoner
January 25, 2019
Status: Completed
First half was amazing! Second half was a tragedy (no, not the genre. I mean the story itself).

MC was an extremely amazing character. Prideful, intelligent and had strong willpower. He was even a great general! After being tortured in various ways he still retained his sanity! Really powerful~

.... Then he became a stereotypical damsel in distress with the IQ of a fish. -sigh-

I appreciate a general who's soft on the inside, but this guy is just ??? Hey, dude, isn't he a GENERAL?? He's probably seen people drop like flies,... more>> killed, helped strategize against enemies, they even stated how amazing he was as a general... So, how the hell did he end up making so many emotional and illogical decisions?

They really nerfed the MC to make room for tragedy. (Tho the real tragedy is how the story progressed from there)

20 something chapters of melodramatic crap that could've been solved within a single chapter if MC just opened his damn mouth. (you know when you expect a "ha I knew your plans all along!" scene and the bad guy is humiliated??? That doesn't happen here, sorry. It gets more disappointing after the problems resolved)

Spoiler

That goddamn bit*h who put him through hell was about to get her punishment, and he!!!stopped!!!!!IT!!!!!

She planned to cripple him for life and kill him off, with no remorse, and he just lets her go!

And the people around treat it as a good thing. She even walked away coldly and someone remarked that she's actually feeling grateful on the inside??

(╯°Д°)╯︵ / (.□.) she should choke on that gratitude and die!

[collapse]

ML was also really disappointing. He even let MC suffer??? What kind of male lead are you????? Is the crown on your head made of trash paper????? Where's the all powerful king who can easily subdue his subjects??

In the end, it was entertaining but disapponting. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Samoubyt
Samoubyt rated it
Thousand Autumns
September 3, 2019
Status: Completed
Now this is what I call a GOOD novel!

Interesting characters, good plot, and a great MC and ML. What more could you ask for?

This is a cultivation novel that uses martial arts and sword cultivation. It does what many other bl cultivation novels don't do, which is actually explain or actively use their cultivation.

MC starts off weak, naive and soft. But actually learns from these experiences and grows as a person. He keeps a kind heart and stays true to his ways, but learns to be firm and doesn't hesitate... more>> to destroy people who would continuously oppose him... Except ML, but that's only because the guy was useful and later on too strong to be killed. His people saving him was rather annoying because those characters barely even appeared again.

Spoiler

I hated that he took in those disciples. Except for the royal kid who was talented and smart, the other two just seemed like a waste. Is he gonna open an orphanage disguised as a martial arts learning center??

I got really annoyed when he mentioned that he preferred an honest heart over actual talent. An honest heart isn't going to run your sect in the future dude. I don't think he plans to nurture talent >_>

[collapse]

ML is really great. If you've ever seen the 'insane' tag on a ML... this one will NOT disappoint you. He really is crazy, and his personality isn't destroyed for the sake of romance either. There's no 'love at first sight' or 'obsession at first sight' cliches. He really is as demonic as you'd expect a demonic sect leader to be. His personality and his views of the world are very unorthodox. Lots of funny scenes with this guy. I will say tho, he is an asshole.

If there are a few things I'd like to complain about...

- Romance is super slow.

Don't expect instant romance or any form of romance for a while. They only start interacting regularly after a lot of chapters, which was kinda annoying, and they work on trusting each other first.

Spoiler

With how ML continuously betrayed and hurt MC, and the way MC harbored intense distrust and barely tolerated him....I honestly don't think they're a very compatible pair. They still don't seem like a compatible pair even after all that. They learned to trust each other and love each other, but they haven't talked about those betrayals and ML very much would like to forget his past actions instead of apologizing. Hm.

[collapse]

- Extras don't really seem like extras.

Yes there's fluff and whatever. But some of them hint at future events, which is a little confusing since the novel already ended.

- The ending was rather abrupt.

Dont let this stop you from reading. There's enough fluff in the extras to make up for it.

Spoiler

They just ended it when a certain ML showed that he was alive after defeating the main boss. It literally ended the moment he spoke. -sigh-

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Samoubyt
Samoubyt rated it
The Legendary Master’s Wife
February 21, 2019
Status: c713
If you're looking for a story with amazing world building, this is it.

Dear lord did I never dare hope to find a BL Xuanhua novel that had an interesting world. Unfortunately, the price it paid was the quality of the main characters.

They just don't do it for me together. Power imbalance, the uncomfortable consent and the serious disrespect MC gets... um.

... more>> I feel bad for MC and I couldn't tolerate how disrespectful his own contract beasts were to him. It doesn't feel good to see the MC get insulted at all.

The whole cultivation thing was honestly going well too but ended up becoming super rushed. Especially when x level requires 10000 years to ascend and MC advances twice in like....a year maybe.

I recommend skimming past the school arcs because nothing remarkable happened, and they're useless because all students are self taught. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Samoubyt
Samoubyt rated it
Feng Yu Jiu Tian
February 3, 2019
Status: --
Very nice as a light read.

The translations turn to sh*t after volume 3 so I dropped it. It gets better, as others said.

I really enjoyed the MC and ML's relationship. Just remember to forget how the ML treated the original owner of MC's body.

MC also topped ML. Which is already 99.9999% better than any other pairing out there. (side eye the previous treatment......)

... more>>
Spoiler

How do you fall in love with the face you tortured, humiliated and r*ped repeatedly? Who even knows. And apparently ML did it to the point where the prince killed himself via knife + bathtub. @[email protected] side eye to the horizon....

[collapse]

I'm kind of surprised by how much hate MC is getting. I didn't think he was too childish (except for the weird horse obsession..) but some of his actions kinda gave me secondhand embarrassment. (The showing off intelligence parts...I'm sorry MC but the author just can't pull it off very well..)

The plot itself is entertaining. But things go too smoothly, especially when..
Spoiler

The uncle came back to kill ML and it was portrayed in a serious way. But then ML killed him at the climax.... and he died and the rest of kingdom accepted it I guess.... Then they went to say sorry to his wife in the enemy country, assuming she'd make a big deal.

They also treated it seriously, and it was going well until MC showed off his math skills and the princess forgot her husband. -sighhh-

Are there any REAL problems??

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Samoubyt
Samoubyt rated it
Rebirth of a Supermodel
February 2, 2019
Status: c161
Not bad! Though it made me realize that show biz really isn't my thing.

If you enjoy photoshooting scenes, this stories got a LOT of them.

If you also enjoy OP, super talented, perfect MC and ML then this is the story for you. The relationship is also very good!!!!! MC is an active partner (+100) and both are rational and treat each other fairly. (+100000)

... more>> The descriptions of MC's modeling/photos [email protected]@ Unless you look at magazines it's very hard to picture what MC looks like..

'Super handsome icy and pure' etc in the eyes of his fans... but my eyes can only see a wall of text.

Basically, the author never uses body language.

Ill drop this story just because the next 100 chapters might be as repetitive as the past 100. I only made it this far cause of MC and ML's cute interactions. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Samoubyt
Samoubyt rated it
Sickly Tyrannical
January 25, 2019
Status: --
First things first, I stopped halfway through.

This story would be more enjoyable if the MC wasn’t so... accepting. Even before it became worse.

Spoilers maybe, idk what counts.

... more>> MC clearly shouldn’t have been a psychologist because he can’t even recognize Stockholm syndrome, even when it (literally) hits him in the face.

He also knew ML was messed up, and still allowed him to get closer. Sorry sweety, you’re not the MC of a BL romance novel. Your love won’t magically reform this psycho demon into a loyal harmless puppy.

Also, the suffering he should be feeling just really feels casual sometimes.

Not enough mental torment or resentment either. There was only 1 good scene... -sigh- So much pain, yet not enough fear of the ML.

Though the brainwashing from the ML cronies was pretty obvious.

Guy: You must understand, he’s been abused and traumatized his whole life!

MC: I understand. I’m also being abused and traumatized right now. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Samoubyt
Samoubyt rated it
Lovable Package
February 21, 2019
Status: c30
First of all: Don't expect a very deep story!!!!! (It's like half of FoD's general plot idea, but shoved full of shallow mindless fluff)

This is a transmigration (set the ML and FL together, no ooc restriction) + same ML in every world novel. But heavily focuses on the MC and ML's relationship and just ignores the world.

MC is a weak (mentally, emotionally and physically.... yikes) crybaby (literally) and ML is a... well, I'm sure he has a personality somewhere in there.

MC keeps having memory wipes because of the system,... more>> which could explain the utter lack of character development.
Spoiler

They spent who knows how many centuries in the first world! I REFUSE to believe that MC didn't mature at all! I feel sad because they could've done something with this, like make the 2nd arc Mc's personality change slightly and become more mature with every world... -sigh-

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Samoubyt
Samoubyt rated it
Sharing Rain and Dew
February 3, 2019
Status: Completed
Very cute short story!

I recommend it to everyone because you don’t lose anything since it’s so short.

Spoiler

ML is a freaking genius at the end. ‘Scattering evenly’ yup. He scattered the harem evenly across the country lolololol

Critical hit to MC’s heart!!!

[collapse]
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Samoubyt
Samoubyt rated it
Ban Lu Qin Jun
February 3, 2019
Status: Completed
It started out fine, but ended in a somewhat mediocre way.

If you like a casual short story with some dramatic angst, this is good for you.

I dislike angst for the sake of angst, and this story has it. I cried and felt really bad for MC, then I stopped halfway and went WTF.

... more>>
Spoiler

Your man pretended to be a lady, and you're pissed but you don't wanna leave him. So you keep him at home in a private area.... then proceed to f*ck xxx amount of women and show how happy you guys are next to his prison home. Then he tries to kill himself and you start confessing and begging for forgiveness???

ML's dad was the only logical character in this entire story. He deserves a medal for trying to send MC away from this scum abusive gong.

[collapse]

ML is some serious scum tho. (Really??? Prostitutes before you marry and when you found your 'one true love'??) Thanks to him I now know what scum gong are like. MC was also a crybaby weakling, not sure if white lotus or just extreme self pity.

I really wanted MC to die so the angst could be satisfying, since ML deserves to weep. Or for MC to dump ML after meeting a better person...-sigh-

The translation quality was about 7/10. But misgendering MC after the gender reveal... ummmm. It might be the authors fault (他vs她), but it still peeved me a little.

It also irritated me a lot that MC had to pretend to be a woman even after the gender reveal. Not only that, but the ML even stated that 'cutsleeves are already an ancient thing' but still insisted in having him wear women's clothing all day. @—@ <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Samoubyt
I really like this! Very interesting plot too! Pacing could be a bit faster though (or maybe it’s my impatience talking?)

Finally, a king ML who’s not arrogant trash :,) He even has a sense of humour!!! (Omg!!!)

Too bad the system made me drop the story like a hot potato.

Having a strict no-ooc rule is one thing. (personally hate it...)

Electrocuting your host like a dog is another thing.

Electrocuting your host because ... more>>
Spoiler

rejecting unwanted sexual advances from lustful strangers is OOC??????

[collapse]
Thanks, but no thanks.

Anyways, I’ll change the rating if I ever pick this up again. I recommend it to those who like FOD or scum villain because it reminds me of those two. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report