Report Review
28 Reviews


Sae
Sae rated it
Peerless Martial God
November 19, 2016
Status: c485
There are so much I wanna say but, after escaping to some other novels with my brain in a mushy mush after almost 500 chap of this one, I forgot most of it. Anyhow lemme scrape up what I could remember (more like couldn't forget no matter how much I tried).
This novel, like many not so decent xianxia out there, has stupid crowd who have no job other than crowding around for good stuff to watch, and even more stupid villains who have no backstory and nothing to do... more>> but piss MC (and only MC) off. But why is this one so much badder than others that bad becomes its identity? Like if you want to read a bad novel, you go to PMG. Don't get me wrong, like no brainer xianxia is a genre, PMG makes its own genre called "bad", and there are people who want it. Like me, once in a blue moon I want something bad, I would go to these no brainer and "bad" novels.

Ah well back to PMG. First thing you will probably notice is the writing. No flow, jumbled paragraphs and jumbled events. Feels like a kid with a xianxia fantasy just writing down whatever comes to mind. However, a very remarkable thing is that after around 90 chap the writing got better. It flows better and there are more explaining, like the writer learned as he went. Even though the writing is still somewhat naive and immature, it's not intolerable. Now with that out of the way,

Cultivation? What's that? Just breakthru breakthru breakthru to higher levels, what those levels signify? Nothing, nada. It's like I have 2 apples you have 1, so I have more. There is nothing else to it but to tell you who should be stronger.

The feature of the story is OP MC going around screwing "villains" repeated 9000 times. There are 3 types of villains:
1. How dare you exist, you are trash, die!
2. I have heard of you, you are trash die!
3. I don't know who you are, but you are trash, die!
After MC was known as a genius and as the son of 2 geniuses, villains stop their trash song, but look down on him/overestimate themselves all the same. After MC killed them they all regret but too late, "because they are already dead" (various excerpts from PMG). Pretty much whack a mole, same and no end.
But what makes them even badder than other novels' villains? They bring stupid to a new level, that is, saving faces by doing shameless things. For example, to save faces from losing to MC, they gang up on him, which causes them to lose another kind of face. Also, they talk a lot, all nonsense that you would begin to doubt if logic and reason ever existed.

As for MC, decent kid but later turned into a hypocrite preacher, though not too many times to be overly noticeable (I think?)

One time is when he looked down on those who use an unspoken school rule to reserve cultivation rooms, and erased their name to get the room for himself. After killing some peeps who came at him, he used that same rule to reserve all rooms under his name though he only needed 1. Lol? Another one is when MC killed a dude to take his treasures, reason: "he's weak so he's gonna be killed by someone else if I don't anyway". Okaaaay lol?

Now I don't mind reading about anti hero or hypocrite MCs as long as the novel itself is clear about its MC type, but this novel raises MC up as a great guy and excuses the bs he does with nonsense double standard logic, my pet peeve right there.

Anyway back to MC. After a while of reading and passed the decent stuff, MC is all about: shameless! You trash! Die die die! That's right, peeps stopped calling him trash, but he missed it so much he now uses it to call others. And by 3 dies, I mean 3 dies. During fights he would say multiple "die"s to one villain, but you see, they can only die once, sooo.. Imagine the irritation *sigh*

Not to mention the fights are not already that good. Besides a bunch of techniques shouting out which is pretty easy to imagine, there are only this and that types of qi shooting around.

Now what else? There are some good ideas here and there like MC's family secret. After it resolved though, there is nothing, it's just plain bland. Family interactions? Terrible. Wellll it's fine MC is not even their true son anyway. Any family stuff there is is like floating clouds to my memory, nothing good enough to remember.

One good thing is the romance with the main girl. Interactions and development are undoubtedly better than many out there. But of course, the author ruined it by shoving more beauties who have nothing to do but follow him, up his butt. Even though he is sure that he only loves one, he is obliged to receive others' feelings and let them be with him.

The only good character regarding character building is the Second Prince. He stands above the rest of the world population in terms of intelligence.

That's it. No more redeeming quality. No humor, not much of deep emotion. Or may I say that the only redeeming quality is the consistency of the badness so far, so bad that its point of existence is to be bad, you can't even cringe at it. <<less
58 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
Dragon-Marked War God
October 9, 2016
Status: c137
Things that make me cringe (so far) :
... more>>
Spoiler

1. The ugly girl who has a good heart (she cried seeing her supposed husband dead) is considered 'not only an eating machine but also there is something wrong with her mind' like wow so if she's not pretty then she can't even feel sad? And then MC saw the incredibly pretty girl his heart immediately moved and he felt sad seeing her sad, like just seconds after they just met. Regarding judge people by appearances, MC is not so different from those villains and side characters (who also judge him from his appearance).

2. Past MC was a cultivation maniac with no love whatsoever now he saw the pretty girl and fell for her right away, to justify it author dropped a line 'now this life he wanted a normal life'. Umm please take a good look back and tell me what's normal about anything you've done so far.

3. Formulaic 'get OP magical pet and heavenly OP beauty' before the real adventure.

4. Rinse and repeat nonsensical offended enemies who conveniently throw themselves at MC for the tiniest trivial (or none at all) reason just to be turned into blood and gore.

5. Passerbys, watchers and villains blabber long and nonstop how MC is too reckless arrogant fated to doom (even monsters mock him with their eyes orz) then after he wins they either praise him or regard him as genius/demon with charisma. Everyone blabbers the exact same thing over and over and over. Also too much 'you dare to hurt/kill me?' and then 'please don't kill me' 'u can't kill me'.

6. Treasures fall a little too conveniently into MC's party. They are tailored for his party members to lv up like waaay up up and exist in wherever MC goes when they actually don't have any reason to be there at all.

[collapse]

Other than that, so far the story is pretty fast paced with decent cultivation technique. MC regards friends, enemies and innocent people clearly and deal with them accordingly not just kill kill kill no matter who accidentally get involved. His mindset has been firm and fairly consistent.

After reading a bunch of novels with awkward and immature writing, I have to add that this novel has better story telling than many (minus the repetitive trash talks from crowds+villains), with a good amount of humor as well as fun sass from the main character troupe. <<less
39 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
A Record of a Mortal’s Journey to Immortality
October 23, 2016
Status: c212
Review as of c212: 4.5/5.

My first point: If you want action packed fast paced and/or a genius with (a) heaven defying treasure (s) and luck then don't bother with this one because it's as far as can be from what you want.

Minor
... more>>
Spoiler

The story is about a kid who can't be anymore mediocre whether in looks or talents, got dragged into the cultivation world and step by step climbing up in power while bitterly trying to preserve his own life by making use of a treasure that does not increase his cultivation talent at all. The first hundred chapters as a form of prologue is slow, but the "slow" is just right. You can't expect too much from an all-round average kid, even being able to improve at his current stage is already a feast for someone like him.

What makes this novel worth reading:

1. There is this saying about the more hollow the drum, the louder it sounds. People with low intelligence and low talent are the best blabbers. I always think that the cultivation world where only power speaks volume, nonsensical verbal arguments from every opponent is too much too unrealistic. This novel precisely avoids that. In a world where danger lurks everywhere, where there is always someone stronger or has better treasures than you, it's easy to lose one's life. Even no matter how much backing one has, if they die then that's it. If everyone is a hollow drum, then Jianghu is nothing but a joke.

That's why it's delightful to see that the majority of characters (enemies included) are NOT brainless idiots with foul mouths that spout 5+ line paragraphs. When there is a need to fight they fight. Everyone (even demonic beasts) priorities their life and has certain degree of guard against any opponent even if they are stronger in power. Heck yeah that's more like it.

2. As mentioned MC is average in everything, even his personality (he is no villain nor hero). His treasure is prolly the only thing that makes him worth writing a story about. However, the spotlight shifts to him thanks to his incisiveness (one example would be his low resistance to beauty but refusing to suffer for it). He absolutely knows how to THINK. From the clever use of the treasure to making the right choices in tough situations, by constantly activating his brains he is able to stay alive and still withholding the bottom line of his principles.

This incisiveness doesn't come out of nowhere, but painstakingly learned from the first 100 chaps that meticulously built up his foundation knowledge of the cruel cultivation world. It's fun to see him grow and facing challenges with his own wit rather than resorting to glaringly blatant plot armor or deus ex.

3. No useless fillers so far *throws confetti*

Why you might find it boring: pill pill pill tool tool tool. That's the most of it for powering up so far. However it's only sensible. His treasure aids in pills, with his talent he won't get anywhere far without pills, and wouldn't survive long without good tools. Think of this as contribution to his intellect though, knowing how to use tools is a talent for survival. Not seeing much of fighting techniques is a little sad for me, but no OP shiny fancy name actions that kill in less than a millisecond is also good. I do hope to see good techniques later on though. Anyhow, I would like to conclude this by referring back to my first point.

[collapse]
<<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
My Fiance is in Love with My Little Sister
January 22, 2017
Status: --
Came here and leave this review to strongly recommend this novel and also suggest you to hoard some chapters before reading if you do decide on it. I'm never one for angst and usually run far when I catch just a sign of it, but this one is a magnet. I happened to click on ch4 (from the raw site) and from the first line to the second to the next, I was already pulled in and had to read through the rest of the available chapters. I'm no masochist... more>> yet I fell for this angst (and God forbid, a tragedy at that ;w;). That's just how incredible it is, like a bad drug for your heart but can't help but crave for it, and at the same time developing this anticipation that it would turn into something, either better or worse.

The author knows what they want, they built MC as the narrator and stick to her character without the slightest deviation. No explanation, no pleasing the readers, everything just purely MC's viewpoint, her experiences, her emotions. The writing is simple narration but engaging, relatable and bathed in feelings (the majority of them being ominous, dark, hurting, angst, angst and angst, which you may end up feeling the same). The focus is MC's growth while gradually unravel the happening around her.

Tag says villainess, MC's actions thought may appear so, put in any other novel and viewpoint, she may just be one, but she is undoubtedly not. She is no single minded devotee that wallows in none but her own angst and hopeless love. Her feelings and emotions towards other characters (for example Al at ch4) are described to a genius level. She also knows her own dark side.

If you came here for one of those grievance return taking ruthless revenge on everyone or seeking a glorious turnaround, this novel is not it, but you might just find yourself staying nonetheless for one of the best time loop reincarnation stories here. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
Running Away From The Hero!
September 12, 2016
Status: c4 part2
Refreshing and brilliant with great humor. MC was thrown into a new world with absolute no cheats, buffs ot ability to use inner energy/magic, yet with hardwork and the clever use of his brains he studies the arts of fighting and analyzes people to survive. The lack of background also provides more room to wiggle and develop the story later.

Reading from MC's pov, he appears inferior to others (especially his students with insane cheats), but he is not. If you actually pay attention to the details,
... more>>
Spoiler

He spended enough time to be more adept than anyone at magic so he can counter it, he lays foundations and sets traps on every possible battle ground to gain advantage and easier take control of the situation, he helps the organization flourish with his intellect, he developed a survival-above-all instinct and created his own art of the sword to cover his no cheats weakness.

[collapse]
he was able to make it pass age 40 in a dangerous environment where he is surrounded by "supermen", made a name for himself and his opponents don't look down on him.

Regarding MC's villainy, the story is based on him trying to survive by becoming a villain so if you are uncomfortable with the child abuse no matter the circumstances, then it's better to not touch this novel at all. But if you do try to see the circumstances,

Spoiler

He trains kids for an EVIL organization, in which there will be no doubt kill or be killed situations. If MC is not firm (which he once was and the kids didn't listen to him at all), then he is of no use as an instructor, and he is already kinda useless for other purposes because no magic no cheats to begin with.

[collapse]

Spoiler

Furthermore, before being selected by an instructor, the kids already received training, and they know what kind of stuff they will have to face in such organization. They have their own motives and are by no means weak. Heck, they even tried to kill him from the start. Even if it's just for his own good, MC taught them every trick and attitude needed to survive, and the bat (s) he uses to beat people are enchanted so the beaten's body gets stronger afterward.

[collapse]

So far the novel has been well done for its theme, 5/5 from me at c4 part2. <<less
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
At c121, all I can say about what I've read is: A twisted 'romance' put into a xianxia world with a female lead. Like many leads, she is a heavenly talent with heavenly luck, but for the focus is the 'romance', none of this talent or luck is put to work therefore making this a 'shoujo', not a cultivation novel by any means.

The relationship is, well, either you like it or hate it, then either you try to stomach it (hoping it would get better) or you can't. The 'romance'... more>> is intense with emotion and steamy forced actions (from the male lead) so if you like it then you really like it and vice versa. I guess it's similar to 50 shades of grey in this way.

Unfortunately, I fall into the "hate it with a blazing passion" category thus dropping it at c121. I'm writing this review to tell you why and hoping to save those who are irked by similar things as me from wasting their time and vomiting their blood of anger.

Spoiler

Female lead:

- So called broken-hearted ice cold assassin who actually does know how to use her brains yet continues to be pushed around (emotionally) by the 'male lead' and her contracted beast, and also the love rival (s).

- Even the simple tactic "use others' knife to kill an enemy" that she used is consider shrewd and assassin-worthy. Ummm??? That's like the basic of the basic.

'Male lead' (yes I say this with a disgust) :

- Extremely talented and described as "devilishly and charmingly" (the phrase is used so many times that I regret not couting it to laugh (or cry) at the exact number of times I had to see it). Whatever body parts and actions of his mentioned, they are praised over and over. Once or twice, or even ten times, I can deal. However, it's too taxing to encounter this every chapter. Is the main lead really the girl, or she's just a channel for the author/reader fangirls to experience the male lead's 'love'?

- He suddenly fell in love, and acted doting, only reason so far is that she is the same as him, cunning, planning, cruel, can kill with a smile. Please don't tell me he hasn't met any girl like that in the cultivation world, because so far all the female antagonists are also like that.

- He is mad all the freaking time when MC is unpleasant towards his forced advances like??? That's why I call it "twisted". He does nice things, say sappy lines, but also forces romantic actions on her (no she doesn't ask for it, she's simply physically powerless).

- He brought MC to a dangerous place while she's powerless, left her alone during the most critical time, forcing her to fight for her life (especially from his childhood sweetheart's scheme), then scolded her for making him worried by disappearing? Orz. Then he didn't believe her words and broke her heart again.

- The sh*t hits the fan (also where I drop this novel) is right afterward when he guilt tripped her into caring/having feelings for him using his own life. First his subordinate blamed her for injuring him while he was still weak (from fighting for his childhood sweetheart yes). How the hell was she supposed to know he was injured? Also she wouldn't punch him if he didn't force kiss her, twice. Then he forced her to use his knife to 'vent' on his body, psychologically control any shred of emotions she had. Yes he succeeded, she couldn't vent sh*t, and had to say that she forgave him. Then he collapsed, making her feel guilty and frantically worry for his life. The author drops a line from her pov: "She wouldn't dare to hurt him again". GJ author for ruining the female lead. Really, is this how you treat your MC???

Other characters: no one has a brain, everyone is the same.

I would say the leads are stupid too but that would have been unfair to them because they are not intended to be stupid, it's just that the author failed to make them smart and mighty.

[collapse]

TL;DR: I started for a good xianxia with female lead, however found out the main point is actually the romance, the kind of which involves lead characters whose personalities and interactions I can't bear to make myself stomach.

Waittt so why did I give it a 2-star??? You're right it shoulda been 1 but I feel like I have been unfair to stop and rate at c121 out of 7700+ chapters so yeah bonus 1 star for any possible good bit that I never have the patience to read. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
The King’s Avatar
November 13, 2016
Status: c502
Warning: long review from a passionate gamer.

I've never been more eager to give a 5 star, this one truly deserves it. That is not to say this novel is without flaws, but regarding its genre - the MMORPG gaming - it's absolutely one of the best. I approach this novel from a gamer's perspective and it leaves me satisfied enough to ignore things like MC's shabby real life.

First is the game itself. An online adventure kind of game with 20+ classes is very complicated to completely experience through even playing,... more>> let alone just reading about it. To understand the comprehension of pro players is even harder. TKA has done everything within its allowing scope to deliver this to the readers. There should be hundred upon hundred of skills, but the noteworthy ones have been explained and used over and over for the readers to get used to it and imagine the fighting better. Also the aspect of boring questing, grinding and dungeoning to the a little more complex PvP and PKing were honestly depicted. Game world building, even though a few number of locations throughout over 500 chap is understating for how big this game should be, it prevents the readers from being overwhelmed.

Now if you say there's too many skills, or the leveling is boring and repetitive, then I'm sorry because that's just how this kind of game is. And the novel has already been merciful enough to tone it down from reality. If you are a gamer, then you would know how many more skills and how much more boring grinding there can be. The novel picked a number of skills to get familiar with, and also skipped a whole bunch of grinding and dungeoning in the later part after giving the readers enough feels of the game.

Even the real player gathering like the All Star event is investedly described, giving a more complete look of the game. Also all sorts of behind the scenes struggle are brought out, a little dramatic in my opinion but this novel is no reality and the game of ten long years is not even considered old, so the drama of this scale is fitting. The problems the pro gamers face show how harsh the pro gaming business can be. Now what's absolutely brilliant about this game is the MC. He, in my opinion, is perfect. Not as a person, but a pro gamer. With everything regarding to the game, he is level headed, practical and filled with hidden passion. Grinding is boring? Absolutely. But it's an essential aspect to any starting character. He just does what must be done. If even we are bored just reading about it, see how terrifyingly patient he is to persist through it all over again, and he makes it fun.

Ten years of loving the game and growing with it, there's nothing he hasn't experienced and it shaped his natural flares of an expert, a teacher, a leader. He effortlessly deals with all kinds of people. Grudges? Conflicts? "Face"? All holds little meaning, as long as he gets to advance in the game, he would take any chances of using the (even unfavorable) situations to his benefit. Push him out he keeps going back to it. He loves the game so he keeps at it, simple as that. As he said, there is no highest but there is always higher that he can go.

Others are busy concerning themselves about how 'righteous' a God player like him should act to their image of him, he himself does not. He schemes deep and clever. Even for the so called dirty aspects like trash talk, PK, scrapping, tricky fighting, he takes them to a professional level. He runs around and unintentionally spices up everyone's gaming life. I have nothing but love and admiration for this MC.

(So yeah plot??? What is plot at this point? It's straightforward as can be, just a guy climbing his way back to the top. The only thing is HOW he is gonna do it against the various types of obstacles throwing his way).

Next is the character troupe. Gosh almost everyone is fleshed out and has a distinct personality. Even though many don't have much appearance time they still leave a deep impression, we can already get a feel of their character as the novel would switch from the view and thought of a character to another in a natural way. The righteous, hot-headed boss, the stubborn and steel nerved Tang Rou, the quiet and devoting Mu Cheng, the always worrying guild leaders, etc. Some are even outright unique (and ridiculous) like Huang Shao Tian or Steamed Bun Evasion. Also their interactions is solid gold, natural with all kinds of great (good or bad) chemistry. For me no other novels so far has topped this.

A bonus, but also what I love the most is the constant humor. Dry humors are casually thrown everywhere. MC's handling of people, characters' speeches, interactions and reactions, funny dilemma of situations, just everywhere. It's so much fun and hooking to read. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
Mulberry Song
October 22, 2016
Status: Completed
The type of story that's not one word wasted, the scenes, the characters and their feelings vividly depicted.

What had me the most however is not the beautiful, bittersweet love story, but the MC's personality.

She told the story in a nonchalant manner, sometimes included flashbacks, occasionally express her emotional takes on what she saw while being next to him, yet we can clearly see how deep the Emperor's love was. Not only so, through her matter-of-factly narration, it was her character that shined even more. Strong-willed yet tender and understanding, having... more>> to suffer severely yet never giving up, always patiently waiting but don't think of it as a big deal.

One of the best story I've read, and never have I seen such a cute, adoring and awe inspiring female lead. One of those that you wouldn't forget. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
Martial World
November 10, 2016
Status: c511
As of c511, rate 4.3/5

One of the better novels here. OP MC thanks to OP starting treasure, we can easily see from the foreshadowing that he treads on the destiny of endless luck and opportunities that come with great risks. That's why it doesn't feel fast and overwhelming, the risks are... definitely very risky.

Also thanks to the writing that elevates the situations and makes you impatient to know how he's gonna overcome the situation, while it may feel dragged out for some, this is what makes the novel a... more>> good read. Rinse and repeat? Yes but done very well in different places thanks to good world building. It's not your fast paced level up and beating dumpstard enemies every 3 chapters. Fillers? Yeaah but if you actually read through them all they are much more better than just obvious facts. There are some things repeated that if you see you should just skip.

MC is a sensible, adapting and rational kid. Good cultivation technique and techniques overall, every knowledge he obtains will be put to good use. Fights are of above average quality.

I normally dislike harem coz they're usually nonsensical like the stupid villain hoard in the same novel, but this harem don't at all annoy me. Not saying that the romance is exceptionally good, but it's more decent than many out there with okay interactions. Over 500 chap and only 2 women, so it's not a stupid harem to show MC's might.

Now to villains, they actually fell short for this novel. They are just bad, stupid or unreasonable. They are jealous of MC, then drag in more bad and powerful villains to deal with MC, meh.

All in all, a good read unless you prefer fast/no brainers. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
Our Second Master
October 23, 2016
Status: Completed
The other reviews have done this story justice, however I personally love it so much that I can't help adding my two cents.

When I read this I picture MC's narrative in a monotone. She was able to (unintentionally) be dense, cute, sarcastic, funny and compassionate in a completely matter-of-factly manner as she told the story, and still managed to stir up emotions. I just have a soft spot for this kind of narrative.

The changes in the male lead and the flow of story is commendable and smooth enough. Short but... more>> satisfying read.

Anyone notice how the old granny Feng was completely forgotten though? 😂😂😂 <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
To Be A Virtuous Wife
October 19, 2016
Status: Completed
Definitely a great novel of its genre, whichever you would categorize it into. There is a fine balance between romance and noble/imperial life struggle, though it is more lighthearted and easy on the mind than other disadvantaged female reincarnation stories. The novel is straightforward, laced with humor and subtle philosophy, only 123 chap yet many moments are pure gold, I didn't regret a second of it.

There are no overly, obviously 1D dumb characters that put up a headache of prolonged nonsense verbal arguments. Many characters are realistic and some even... more>> delightful, those who appear simple are not really simple, befitting the era setting. The lead couple are smart people who excel at acting and hiding their true capabilities. Their interactions are thus interesting and spark great chemistry.

Minor
Spoiler

The MC is clear-headed, open-minded, charismatic, adapting and knows how to care for herself. She has a firm mindset and not afraid to live as freely as she could because 'the worse is just death'. She manages people skillfully and never goes out of her way to slight more people and create never ending cycle of enmity, nor actively trying to climb the power ladder. That's why she is lowkey, not showing off her might yet still greatly respected and able to enjoy her life though being a member of the imperial family.

The male lead's character can be considered pretty decent for the era and also for someone with the prince position. He is also capable yet even more lowkey, because he is the type that secretly scheming, and he is very good at it. The story being not from his pov also contributes to this. I eventually got to see how he is fitting to be a ruler, a skilled flirt but I never held him highly in the matter of romance and reading the MC's heart. However at c104, I realized that I underestimated him greatly. After that he gets better and better.

[collapse]

The translation quality is thumbs up great, the translator is thoughtful and pleasant. The author leaves a good impression. 5/5 for everything. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
Ark
November 16, 2016
Status: v12c6
5/10. Usually I would finish a completely translated novel in one go, but I managed to lose my interest and reading this became a chore until I can't take it anymore, and it upsets me because I'm not even halfway through. This novel is one of those that can be considered okay, but also somehow not okay because it's simply lacking. Starting out great and fresh and even endearing, but the story and characters gradually becomes jumbled and messy. There are too many aspects to focus on, that's where things... more>> get unmanageable and nothing ever shines in the story.

Let's not even mention the real world where MC plays 20 hours and practices martial arts for another several hours a day (and no you can't play this vr game while sleeping) ; where everyone around him, except for his mother in the hospital, is dragged into the game no matter their jobs, age, financial status, etc. In an unbelievable way. That's right, let's just try to ignore all that because this is gaming novel.

Now to the game. SO REAL it is a new world and a second life for everyone, I doubt the team creating this world could have done this in one life time, no wonder they all went a little wrong in their head. But it's still a game. No matter how real there should still be reminder of it being a game but the novel is losing it. All characters are shown to be invested in this game as if it's their main life. Skills, leveling, stat, all faded into the background while everything turns into endless power struggle. Game elements are less and less of a role. Tactics? Glossed over and called A-1, B-4, etc. But who knows what they look like.

The one thing responsible for this is MC. It's like a standard Korean comedy drama. Irl the game company has power and could easily find out his identity but kept being made to fail for dumb reasons. Side characters are given decent screen time but they gradually become revolving around him. The merchant "friend" for example, initially a good character, turn an annoying existence to meet hardship and cause troubles, then becomes expectant, reliant on MC and then completely be used by MC.

Now to MC himself. Idek.
He is smart, persistent and very focused on his goal which is great. Even if everything he needs is there to conveniently solve his problems, at least he shows clever grasping of opportunities and eloquent reasoning, planning as well as persuasion.

But he is also an immature double standard hypocrite. I don't mind reading a novel about a bad guy or even a hypocrite, as long as the novel is clear about it. But this one is not. Others used him, he cursed and hated and grudged, but he also used others. Alan is two faced and MC hated him for that, but MC has been acting two faced since the start of the game, say one thing but think another. Our MC is always raging and cursing too, so much maturity for someone who's supposed to have played lots of game and experienced lots of hardship in real life.

That aside, MC loves gaming, or so he should and we should get some joy reading about him playing, but he turned mad making money. Whatever he does, ultimately it's money money money. I don't blame him, he desperately needs money. But to use his mother's condition to keep increasing the money he needs skyhigh in the span of just 1 year, and then use his need for money into his motivation of playing the game is ruining the novel itself, because we all realize after all his mother is of no role for the novel but a reason to drive MC to play game, ugh (I think my mind is going circle, but tldr, that's just crappy). Now beside his greed and shameless scheming which were fun but got old fast, the story is heavy beyond necessary.

Plot? Plot holes? Loose logic? I can't even pay attention at this point. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
Coiling Dragon
October 6, 2016
Status: Completed
I'd say CD is a decent passing time. One of the good parts is MC is mostly sensible and clever-headed, sometimes inexperienced but realize this weakness and strength. Another pleasant aspect is the concept of face where those with much stronger power won't lower themselves to kill others unless circumstances, and there is no 'I hate you so I grab to threaten/kill your whole family' either.

However I can't get my head into it at all. I don't feel excited, moved, or have any anticipation towards the MC's development after the... more>> first few volumes. I ended up skimming through while having this shallow feeling. Besides the few usual antagonists being flauting (background) power 'You dare to kill me? You can't kill me or you'll regret it' and stuff, the interactions between characters are sometimes bizarre and have me baffled, the training and techniques are vague and glossed over resulting in bland battles (or maybe I've read too many cultivation novels before this one that I set my bar too high). Plot? Long multiple spoler rants ahead)

Spoiler

Linley goes to school? More like meeting, eating and drinking with his good bros, training by himself in the mountains, goes to class in one or two sentences but no one knows what he actually learn in class. He goes out into the wilderness training and killing while still being a student, then goes back and goes out some more until he gets powerful enough to leave school.

First venture, Linley meets a classmate with few others. Me: oh group train! But nope. Bandits kill some (including that classmate killed by the boss). Linley kills all bandits leaving the boss and flees even though his beast Bebe could have killed that bandit boss??? Me: oh author uses this to abandon group train plot, cause that boss never mentioned again. And later Linley encounters corpses killed by human and wonders why human kill human and realize: greed is so terrible. Ummmm didn't your classmate (and yourself almost) got killed by human just now also? Why you only ponder about that now?

While in school, Linley dates a girl and gets all heart-broken by her (cause she out of nowhere avoids him and goes out with her childhood friend). Then Linley makes a breakthrough in power thanks to that heartbreaking exp while his good bro tries to make the girl's life miserable. Also in the following events she encounters sh*tty situations and has to ask Linley for help while her guy (who actually genuinely loves her) is made into a bad guy. All was so over the top that I actually thought the author has personal issue with this kind of failed relationship.

When little Linley was all enthusiastically "I want to be a magus!!!" but when grown he automatically is a magus by keep growing his spiritual level, learns skills by reading once and focus on his warrior power instead. Magus ability is rarely used and easily falls out of importance in the first 10 or so books, then in higher level they conveniently becomes 'profound laws' to train for deities.

Relationship building and interactions? Eat chat laugh occasionally help each other out over time and we have a deep relationship (asides from family love). Romance? The main girl fell for him since tiny teen (interactions barely/not described at all as for why she fell for him) then waited 10 years for her chance and bam love. Marriage? Wedding day is big guests visiting and the pair entertaining guests. If that's all there is to my wedding I'd kick everyone out the street and slap myself out of love.

Linley also accidentally releases a powerful magical beast Dylin who led hordes of beasts to destroy cities later (and this accidentally rescues Linley from jail, haha karma). The beasts also destroys Linley's hometown and kills everyone there. Later Linley and Dylin becomes good friends.

Where there is trouble or special event (especially those related to Linley's acquaintances) there is Linley just in time to solve it! An antagonist says something like "This Linley is everywhere" and I cry because dude someone finally gets it. I feel like I'm reading a xuanhuan version of detective Conan.

I think I need to stop now my mind is getting boggled.

PS: I think the later part where Linley goes to higher plane is where the story gets better, or maybe I'm just numb to it.

[collapse]

Completion thought: The ending is a little weak. I'm glad I read this novel after Stellar Transformation, that's why I'm able to enjoy the ending a bit more.
Spoiler

Funny how the final antagonist actually got the right idea about breaking space and stuff, but in the end unable to execute it.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
A Mistaken Marriage Match: A Generation of Military Counselor
September 12, 2016
Status: c24
The characters' thoughts, actions and especially interactions never fail to make me laugh, especially the way MC handles others *cough*Mu Yi*cough*. She is strong-willed, interesting, badass and very smart.

She is certainly dense but not to the point where she is oblivious of everyone's feelings *spoiler on untranslated chapters*
Spoiler

She is just too set on returning to the modern world to consider romantic feelings. However when the time calls to confront it (Suling's feelings for her), she does so in a straightforward manner.

[collapse]

Definitely one of the best novels on my list.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
The Bathroom Goddess
January 1, 2017
Status: afterstory part1
Don't know why I held off reading this masterpiece for so long, but once started couldn't stop and finished it off in one go.

I'd call it a classic mythic chain type of story, however it's also unique because you don't see many of this type in the LN/WN world. And a welly, cutely, adorably and nicely done at that. A modern lady helping out the fantasy world through the bathroom window, with tightly connected and well thought-out events and relationships. Brilliant MC who is open minded, warm hearted and knows... more>> how to solve problems even if she appears a little clumsy. Nice characters with their own pov stories. Intriguing story telling that each chapter closed will leave you wanting to know what's next with the item she got. Plus the casual, witty humor. All blends very well together it's outstanding. My only little gripe is that I would reaaallly like to see some romance with one of the guys because hey all of them have their own charm so irresistible, and the way they call her goddess/witch/angel/mystic is sooo cuteee *ahem*

Spoiler

Story starts off with MC praising the greatness of the bath, so incredibly accurate and well written that as a Japanese I couldn't help but say hell yeah. Then the weird event and trade happens, and ends with both calmly part ways I was like 'guys, guys????' and then MC examines the window and finally says 'wth happened?' I was like 'MY POINT EXACTLY'. Anyhow I was totally pulled into the story, so good.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
Sansheng, Wangchuan Wu Shang
October 23, 2016
Status: Completed
When I read stories that included the word "fate" in them, I'd analyze the story and then think "nah not really". This novel though, the word "fate" is definitely the only word for their meeting. There is barely discernible romance development, because there is only the fated meeting, and then unconditional love from MC. The plot of the couple's trials was built beautifully around this fate. It was very well done.

Probably due to both leads being originally immortal and the MC's carefree and patient nature (she only ever focused on... more>> the male lead), I couldn't take the tragedies seriously. After finishing the story, all I can feel is the cuteness, fluffiness, warmheartedness and stubbornness of their love, albeit a dash of grief for what happened during their three lifetimes. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
The Magus Era
November 9, 2016
Status: c166
As of c166 (a good stopping point before the beginning of MC's life in the midland because I want to save it for after more chapters are out), rate 8.5/10.

(To my utmost dismay,) many nowadays regard "typical" xianxia to those no brainer novels with nonsensical plot and slaughter where villains are all retard. Well, this novel is NOT one of them. There is one IMPORTANT point before you embark on this novel: the world is at a very ancient age, built on pure fantasy that borrows some history facts... more>> (people name and stuff). In this world the strong rules while the losers either die, submit to less favorable situations or become slaves which is the main thing. This applies to conflict types ranging from personal to tribal, clans and races, no exceptions and very consistent. There is no such thing as "innocent people that happen to be born on the wrong side", life is decided right at the moment the side you belong to wins or loses. Such primitive cutthroat world can be hard to stomach, and if you are uncomfortable by it, then steer clear because this is the foundation world of the entire novel.

Now to why I like it so much. I'm very picky with details, while there indeed are loose ends and holes, this novel is one of those with little details that delight me the most.

Let's get some bad points out of the way first:
Spoiler

1. Fast start, vague line between different level of power (for both people and weapon rank) initially however they will be described a little more clearly as the story goes.
2. Big measurements. My only advice for this huge world type of novel is that you disregard all the numbers. If there is something hundreds of miles long, a snake for example, just ignore the actual length and imagine a snake as big as your imagination allows.
3. Loose ends such as an enemy's storage bracelet was mentioned with MC's desire for it, however after the enemy died it wasn't mention. Another is that Jiang Yao (another enemy) want to catch MC alive to access some ancient Magus King's place for its treasures, but after get rid of Jiang Yao, MC paid no heed for this mystery ancestor's place. Dunno if the story will mention it again in the future.
4. Frequent encounters of bad people and perfect timing of troubles, a little too many for my taste but I can understand many readers of xianxia like it when MC fights more than rests.
5. Dues ex, however not the type that come and go after conveniently saving MC. They actually still playing a role.
6. There are unexplained things (ex: the old man in MC's spiritual space) but until finishing the novel to see if they get explained later, they can't be considered flaws yet.

[collapse]

Now the good stuff in my opinion:

Spoiler

1. MC: a straightforward and smart kid, likeable, if you can read about this harsh world then you can see that he is a pretty good kid. He is OP from the start, but the author balances it by showing from early that this OPness is so far nothing for this world. Even the art of borrowing/unify with the strength of heaven which might sound impressive, while it's great, it's not considered an impossible feast.
2. Cuteness details here and there. The big fat furry bear rubbed against MC, the pair of snakes wiggled playfully off his ear, the simple minded mountain god who is happy just by being with its friend despite the situation where it has just become a slave, etc. The world is brutal, but there are people and moving moments that put a smile on your face. What's more, our MC would also smile and appreciate such moments.
3. Side characters when appear will at least get decent screen time. There are some unique characters, for example, like Man Man (Even though I'm annoyed with her personality, but it's reasonable why she acts the way she does, seeing as she is a 10 yr old pampered kid with dragon strength and giant hammers in her hands. She makes a consistent and good character). Villains also have many types, greedy, lusty, or just weirdly hysterical, it's fun to read.
4. There is good humor mixed in. The characters sometimes react or converse in a strangely serious but comical way. Maybe because I'm very sensitive to this kind of humor that I got a great laugh throughout the story.
5. A good show rather than tell of techniques. For example, MC doesn't have many technique, the one he uses the most was described that you can both imagine it and feel its simple yet artistic beauty (especially if you know the stuff that the author uses to relate this technique to). Fights are not abstractly, but clearly described (if you can ignore the big movement measurements).
6. The world is built magically. There are bloodshed but there are also beauty. Some places are wild while some give relaxing feelings with nice people. As MC levels up he learns more about the history of humankind. As he journeys, explores and enjoys what he sees, meets people and ponders the philosophy out of this simple world, I can actually relate to him.
7. The author while building such a world, still keep their common sense through the narrative or MC's thought that makes me go lol so true. For example, when MC fights enemies that keep recovering in a diabolical way: "Ji Hao had fallen into an arduous situation". Or when Man Man beats up the 7th prince slaves (who did nothing wrong) because of the 7th prince, MC thought "those poor women". Such is the way of this world, but coming from a more modern world, MC still knows what is reasonable and what's not.

[collapse]

It's all these little delights that compel me to give a 5 star despite some flaws, because I honestly think the low rating is undeserved. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
Kamisu Reina wa Koko ni Chiru
October 21, 2016
Status: Completed
After the first one or two chapters, you can already have an idea of who/what Reina really is, thus her "name" is unimportant to how people "die". However by giving her a name, a certain identity, it effortlessly linked the whole story, making this identity the central importance to developing the story. Be it the characters, their thought process, their philosophy (which you might or might not agree with), or their different manners in heading towards their "death" (or "salvation"), there is definitely a lot to muse on.

This novel series... more>> is like Reina herself, you have to personally see and ponder over it to perceive it. It can be either challenging, fun, heavy, or all of that, to read. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
Shen Mu
January 12, 2017
Status: v3c2
Never have I dropped a novel so quick. Probably because I expected a good xuanhuan and this just isn't it. And I was so hooked from the synopsis and all.

Either you love it or hate it (very much), which can be decided from the focus and concepts, so do yourself a favor and read the tags and reviews before trying. (Tho I think the male protag is perfunctory, because plot aside, the cover pretty much reflects who is in the "spotlight"). Sadly it isn't my type.

I don't know if this... more>> will change in the future volumes, but I won't push my luck and waste my time. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Sae
Sae rated it
Wedding Night Late Ten Years
October 24, 2016
Status: Completed
There are some good stuff, but overall very bland story telling. There's a lack of flow, events are unremarkably described, simply solved and just kind of stumble out one after another.

Female lead strong-willed and wise. Male lead is crude, country bumpkin-ish, spent a good deal of his life in the army but most immediately after coming back he turns 180 degree into someone experienced at shameless courting. He has an impressive, firm mindset towards love. However both don't leave a strong impression. My favorite character is only the grandma.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report