Report Review
17 Reviews


Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
World of Immortals
May 29, 2016
Status: c141
Okay, so what's good about this novel? The beast taming was really got me into this novel originally. I loved how the MC treated the animals he meets on this island that he is on. He doesn't slaughter his way through them nor does he become a kind of king of them, instead he befriends them or convinces them that it's a better idea to keep him alive than dead.

The story follows the MC who has entered the world of immortals. You know how a lot of CN's have a... more>> higher realm? Well in this story the higher realm is basically for people who reached the peak they break free from that realm and enter a higher plane and do this by breaking space itself. Now the MC in this was present when someone did this as he was being chased and he saw a chance and entered the portal this person had created and ends up on an island that is a place filled with legendary and extinct animals for the mortal realm. The main aim for the MC in this novel is simply to survive. He's on an island where everything is either stronger than him or cannot be caught by him so he has to integrate himself into the island. Some plot points I do like is how the person chasing the MC which forced him into his circumstances was one of our favourite peerless beauties. Their feud is key as both will stop at nothing to kill the other. Which is nice to see.

The island the MC itself is a key plot point which is still slowly being unraveled to us, some things like how it's full of dragons which are all sealed. Don't think they're a pushover though as it's only their qi which is sealed they can still dominate through how absurdly powerful their body is.

To conclude this novel is damn good and a must read. For a nice bonus is the lack of a cheat item so far. He finds some resources yes but nothing that sticks out as a cheat plot item.

EDIT as of chapter 141:
So I figured I would update the review for this damn good novel, the main reason for the update is that now that they are off the island and on the mainland it feels like the dragon island was a prologue where we were introduced to the key characters as well as some of the mysteries of the world itself.

Our MC Xiao Chen left the island with 2 beast companions, I say companions instead of contracted beasts or something as that's what they feel like, they are just as intelligent as humans and Xiao Chen is basically forced to be their nanny as they do their own thing and piss off people who have some of those sweet plants that they eat.

TL;DR? My review still stands and this novel is still definitely going strong and worth a read <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
I once read someone describe this novel as a true reincarnation story and I'm inclined to agree with them after some consideration. The reason being is that It's not some grand plot behind the reincarnation nor is there a big plot about a great evil. Its just about a guy trying to get with the girl he likes.

Its a excellent slice of life novel that I would recommend to anyone who wants a nice slice of life novel
20 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
Toaru Majutsu no Index: New Testament
April 25, 2016
Status: --
For people who have read the first series, this takes everything that made it good and turns it to 11. The only thing that would MAYBE turn people compared to the prequel would be the focus on kamijou throughout or other people for a novel instead or the triple protagonist we had by the end of to aru majutsu no index. That’s not to say they’ve disappeared they are here and are busy dealing with their own stuff but are still in the plot.

This has hands down the best MC... more>> character development I’ve seen where he forced to confront everything about his ideals.

This series follows from the events from the first series and we are dealing with factions fully getting the spotlight both the magic and science side as the first series was focused on the Christianity towards the end this time we are dealing with Norse magic.

If you loved to aru no majestu no index. Read this series.

If you haven’t read the first series I would then get back and agree with me on how good this series is <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
Zhu Xian
February 23, 2016
Status: c134
You know how you have that one series you can't wait for? That one which leaves you a pile of feels after reading it? That is this series for me.

I read this after I just of how the MC of another Xianxia has just massacred a bunch of people and the awe everyone has over him.
I read this for the real human relationships that develop in this series.
I read it for the portrayal of "good" sects and "evil" sects.
Read it.

The main problem with the series is the... more>> complete lack of editing for the first chunk of the story. So expect a lot of errors on par with an MTL then the new translator changed all the names. Get past this which can be a problem I admit. And you will have read my favourite Xianxia <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
Chaotic Lightning Cultivation
May 5, 2016
Status: --
Review as of chapter 18:

I am quite enjoying this series. Its very good to read for me due to how well written it is, the author spends just the right amount of time describing things and events have flowed in a pretty standard direction that while nothing new is nice to read this author do.

The cheat artefact in this case is a bead, in this series everyone at the first stage they fuse with an artefact and the MC fused with the pearl left for him, its a very good... more>> artefact that breaks down items down to their raw materials without any impurities using some soil and releases the energy making the space contain more energy making it better to train in, it can also be increased in size slowly through absorbing other storage devices.

All in all a nice read that is good and something I'm eagerly waiting for the next chapter <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
Inch of Radiance
April 27, 2016
Status: --
Giving this novel a solid 4 out of 5. Its a damn good xianxia with a I want to say interesting MC but more the world is what has me enthralled more than anything else. For me this novel is IET's most underrated novel being translated think modern world but the cultivation of a xianxia still exists. So that means past a certain level which the MC passed a while ago guns mean nothing. The MC has tragedy occur to him I won't spoil which makes him go screw this... more>> and now he's getting help from a devil immortal who was a general back in china a few centuries ago.

All in all a good novel that should be instantly loved by any IET fans. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
Renegade Immortal
May 29, 2016
Status: c248
This is the story that put er gen on the map and reading this you can see why. The story follows protagonist wang lin as he goes from a mortal to a cultivator and the life he leads. The world of xian ni is very much a kill or be killed world which wang lin figures out very quickly.

The story is very good at tragedy and makes you feel for wang lin and all his struggles. Don't expect too much plot armour in this novel, every struggle that wang lin... more>> ends up he solves with his wits if nothing else and makes a refreshing read to not see some random senior show up to save him.

To conclude. I would read it but wait a while as the current translator at this point is re doing the story from the beginning while continuing where the previous translator left it. So he still has some chapters to go before he's completely caught up with himself, however, there are still 100+ chapters on wuxia world so feel free to get started!

Some flaws I spotted though is the weird way that people interact. Expect a lot of sneer/shocked inwardly for people talking to each other. Also lets not forget how every technique is powered by qi that is spat out. Yeah that's weird <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
World Customize Creator
July 8, 2016
Status: c87
This novel was good for me due to how methodical it felt? I can't put it any other way as reading the novel was enjoyable for me as the cheat in question was interesting.

We follow Tagami Yusuke as he is transported to another world with the ability to freely customize any equipment and give it special features dependent on the quality of the material, combat wise he's more of a trapper who manipulates the environment around him for trapping people or enchanting rings to increase his strength and things, the... more>> ability in question is what made me like this as it make's him powerful but not directly but instead makes him incredibly valuable for nations and groups as shown in one chapter for example where with all the materials present he instantly builds a castle. What kingdom wouldn't want that?

The other main plot point for this series is how there are two distinct kinds of people, those who can manipulate the elements and those who can't think avatar, with all the different elements and the MC, is called the evil god as his power belongs to none of the elements and is instead it's own thing, which makes him the proposed evil god, who will cause great change to the world, so a lot of people want him for varying reasons but he's a simple guy who's staying where he is to help out the country he's in,

Can't think of other things to say other than this is a well done transported story with good political side to it and not much fighting but well done fighting with clever tactics. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
Goblin Kingdom
December 23, 2015
Status: --
for me this feels like what I wanted from RE: monster, it's about a human reincarnating into a goblin dealing with those problems and trying to carve himself into the world.

while this does feel like RE:monster for those who have read that it feels better to me as it focuses more on the Main character.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
January 13, 2017
Status: c22
I wanted to like this novel.

I mean I really did and I do kind of like it. The concept is solid enough. But the elephant in the room with this series is how the cheat in this world basically kills anything the MC achieves as null and void. He basically got a library that if he sees someone do a single martial art. It complies a complete history of the person alongside what they practise. What level they are at and all of their flaws. So ANYtime the MC is... more>> being a teacher he's just reading what's in this Deus ex machina library said about the person. That and this suffers from standard set up of, HEY YOU I BET YOU CAN'T DO THE THING. *2 minutes later*

HOW DID HE DO THE THING TWICE AS WELL AS ME. HE's CHEATING. This happens 3 times by the way.

To conclude: this is about a guy pretending to be a wise sage of a teacher that just has a cheat sheet <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
May 15, 2016
Status: c657
Okay, I'm writing this now after looking at the insane amount of people who kind of ignore anything about this novel that isn't awesome.

I won't describe what's good about it simply because you have A LOT of other reviewers who have done all I could say and more. So as someone reading it and hasn't dropped it I will some of the problems with this series. Firstly if you have read any of er gens previous works you will notice how he straight up copy pastes ENTIRE SETTINGS AND ARCS... more>> into this story. The next complaint? Get ready for a lot of snorting. The fights have two modes. Either the MC can completely dominate the opponent/s blow for blow or the exact opposite and he can barely survive the encounter. This is not as bad early on but really shows its head in the fights past a certain level in his cultivation. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
This is an excellent reincarnation story due to how the reviewers said below the focus isn't necessarily on the MC and his skills but rather him as a teacher.

It's a mature read that feels nice to read and I can't really say any more about it other than it is a nice read that deserves a littler more love than it has currently.

So yes read it you won't be disappointed if you go into wanting to read about a teacher connecting with his students and slowly building a reputation for... more>> himself and students <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
This a damn good LN to read due to how real the relationships feel and form. Also, I have never read anything that captures a cynical loner's thought process better than this novel. That sounds bad buts It's really nice to read how the MC meets with and interacts with these people and slowly builds a relationship with them. He changes them through the interactions and they change him in ways I won't spoil.

All in all I would recommend this novel. Also the anime was a good adaption so feel... more>> free to watch the first 2 seasons then come back here to read the later parts of the story <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
World Defying Dan God
May 29, 2016
Status: c88
So this novel... well if you want a standard xianxia I would say go ahead and read it. The only real unique thing I like about this how the MC is practicing both the good and bad ways for cultivating. he's using both devil and immortal skills which is nice.

Nothing else really to say. the MC was trash found a ring with two beauties in it who gave him divine veins letting him cultivate and them he begins the journey to become the best. like no one ever was
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
World of Cultivation
May 29, 2016
Status: c259
this novel is an excellent slow read. So don't expect any kind of fast paced action. Hell it takes quite a few chapters before the MC even has a fight with someone.

the plot follows zuo mou a farmer cultivator with amnesia and a frozen face who grows herbs for a sect. We follow his journey as he begins to find out why his face was frozen and he has amnesia. Pretty much everything good about this novel has been said by the other reviews so I will just add what... more>> I like about this novel.
Spoiler

like in bleach the MC is currently practising the three main ways of reaching the peak, those are strengthing the body, cultivating the consciousness (the soul) and finally the sword. His real talent however lies in formations which we find his talent for is top tier unlike for the sword which is what he started with.

[collapse]
we've got the good old spirit with him, though this one is stingy and loves torturing zuo mou which is a refreshing change. To conclude I would read this. The vast amount of chapters out currently and how consistent the translator is with the chapters (1 a day) makes this a joy to read alongside everything mentioned by me and what other reviewers have said. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
Wu Dong Qian Kun
May 29, 2016
Status: c343
Honestly? This novel is OK. Its the kind of novel that does everything right but I could never find the thing that really made it stand out for me. The beast companion? CD did that and a bit better in terms of bromance. There is a cool kind of side type of power called mental power that is basically the magic of the world. Its nice but again it never felt too unique.

I'm not saying this novel is bad. Its written by one of the top writers for CN's so... more>> the quality is excellent the fight scenes tense and the dialogue is good. But I read this novel mostly because of how the clear goals are. The MC sets himself a goal and begins the journey and completes some side objectives to help with the primary objective but always complete what he set out to do and that is what I like is how focused this novel.

So yes I would recommend this novel for people for two reasons, the first reason as explained above but also for the quantity of chapters released and the consistency of the translators ensures that they won't run out anytime soon. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rreelentless
Rreelentless rated it
The Man Picked up by the Gods
February 20, 2016
Status: --
not my favourite series but still a nice read.
if I had to say why it would the lack of any real conflict though despite this it is still an very well written I would recommend to people
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report