Report Review
40 Reviews


Rosver
Rosver rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
December 1, 2016
Status: c410
This was fun at the beginning but become rather tedious and nasty as it continues.

The most atrocious element of this story is the protagonist. He is just a really horrible person, but, the story supports him. It is a form of plot armor, so to speak. He constantly attack other people and the story just justifies it. He sexually assaults women (yes he does) and the story makes it out as if it was OK. There is one in the earlier chapters where he is given the power to give... more>> others misfortune and thus they get hurt, embarrassed, electrocuted, injured, etc. And the story says it is all alright. Well, it might be "alright" but it would not make the protagonist likeable.

The other characters are almost just as bad. They are all very flat. The good characters like his relatives are mostly annoying and the bad characters (villains) are morons. The plot is really very repetitive and somewhat weak. Some moronic character appears and causes conflict in someway (usually by belittling him) then he slap their faces by producing the works from his world and presenting it as his. Then he receives praises and acclaim. This formula is then repeated over and over and over.

The worst part of the plot is, because he is just plagiarizing the works, you can't really contribute the success and praises to him. He doesn't deserve the praises he received. You can only attribute the praises to the work themselves and the original creators, not to the protagonist himself. This is not good considering that our protagonist isn't that likeable in the first place. At least we could like the protagonist for his great talents, but we can't.

Another problematic issue with the plot is the lack of tension. The story is setup so that he can not fail. He can undo time, become invisible, get ridiculous amount of luck, get skills without effort and so on. He can practically do anything.

And of course there is the goal, the reason why our protagonist is doing all of this. He wants to become famous. I don't need to tell you how shallow that is. A goal like that just can't carry a story very far and it shows.

The only element that drives this story is humor and they aren't the high quality kind. There is also a lack of variety to the humor which is mainly of over the top reactions and schadenfreude. Oftentimes the humor can be very dumb. I even believe that the Tom and Jerry cartoons has more variety in its humor than this. Its humor can quickly become tiring after being repeated far too often.

The story also depends on its humor solely for its driving power. I mean, if you read this, you will not be reading it for its characters, or for adventure, or for thought provoking commentary, etc. You will read it for the laughs. But then, the humor is mostly cheap and dumb, which makes the whole story, that only have humor its driving factor, rather cheap and dumb too.

I give a one and a half star mainly because it can still be entertaining in its dumbness and shallowness. Though, it might soon get tiresome as it doesn't really have anything to offer. <<less
105 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
December 2, 2016
Status: c65
An inconsistent story that lacks direction, populated with characters that are barely interesting, and filled with forgettable adventures. It just makes lots of noise that just becomes wearisome the further it goes.

An abundance of plot holes and unexplained materials, combined with randomness of events makes for a story that lacks momentum. You can't feel that something big is in the horizon that the story is heading to but instead we got these random unconnected shenanigans that doesn't really pay off. Most just doesn't make sense nor do they provide developments... more>> to the story or character. Things just happen without any reason.

The characters have some interesting qualities, but they also contains qualities that ruins them. The protagonist for example. He is said to be very strong, reads all the books in the world, learns variety of languages, learns a lot of skill and even got help from angels. But he is also very dumb with very shallow aspirations and pretty much only interested on his own well being. The characters just doesn't have much to offer to the story.

And the setting is really inconsistent and underutilized. Adventure is out there, but our protagonist lock himself in his workshop. Really? There are monsters to face, powerful people to meet, crisis to solve but out protagonist is occupied with his hobbies?

And when the protagonist do comes out looking for adventures, random stuff would appear. So random in fact that the angels, that must be totally bored being stuck with him, has to constantly explain whatever the heck they are encountering now. Every time our protagonist walks out, the angels will spout exposition for anything to make any form of sense. Without the exposition, the setting is more illogical and random than Wonderland from Alice in Wonderland.

This is just some incoherent random piece of work. The author might literally just be writing what comes to mind to come up with something as garbled as this. <<less
90 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Miracle Drawing!
December 15, 2016
Status: c2
I really dislike the protagonist. Whiny, uncreative, unimaginative. He whines and whines and whines... That was just wow. He is incredibly annoying.

The first chapter have our protagonist in a a museum that he has visited many times, tens of hundreds of times. He only paid a cent and all he did was complain that the artworks are not fresh or new. He have seen all of them before. There are paintings by Goya to Rembrandt, works from various era and culture... 'it was all predictable, boring and not new' he... more>> thought. All I can think was "My God! How despicable you are."

And in there we have this:

"He believed manhwas, animations, game illustrations, and vintage artworks were all pieces of art, but the society around him didn’t think the same." - *Expletives* Did he really ask the society? Did he asks everyone if these are pieces of art and he got no as answers? Or did he expect that he can make a manhwa drawing and sell it for millions of dollars like some Leonardo's masterpiece?

"‘Dammit. What’s so wrong about drawing whatever you want when you want to?’" - Nothing. What is wrong is that you expect everyone to like whatever you draw.

"But even he knew the truth. Drawings drawn like that weren’t worth much. Jinho sighed once again as he counted the dates." - Shit! You where just sketching. Sketches always never worth much. And what had he drawn by the way:

" At first Jinho drew the outline of the statue in front of him, and then drew on top armors and weapons from his mind, creating a peculiar drawing." - What? I try to imagine it and it turns out awful. It is not difficult why other people don't like your work. You just have a bad sense of aesthetics.

Then in chapter 2, he passed out drunk and the painting he was working on magically finished itself. And the description was:

"The brushstrokes were highly precise and clean. If he were to judge it would be one of the highest grade he had ever seen.

It was as if France’s Monet has came back to life to borrow his hand, and coated the hues onto the canvas."

-Are you for real? Monet has brushstrokes that are highly precise and clean? Are you talking about Monet or a robot?

And 'highest grade' nonsense are you talking about? Are you really able to judge the quality of the brushstrokes? If those brushstrokes are the highest grade you have ever seen, then those brushstrokes are even better that Goya's and Rembrandt's? Better than those masterpieces in the museum? - Loads and loads of crap!!!

And in the previous chapter you are complaining that those masterworks are predictable and boring, then now you used those same masterpieces to exalt your own work? Uh! The gall of the writer...

I was expecting a story that would present to us the world of art. Its history, its culture, its diversity. To appreciate Art and its importance to our lives.

Instead, we are told that the masterpieces and art from various cultures are predictable and boring. Such disrespect!

Meanwhile, the protagonist's lame sketches is presented as something that needs more praise and should have been more expensive. How narcissistic!

I have never come upon a story that brings out in me such anger and hatred. This fiction defiles history and prehistory to feed its massive ego, self-importance and narcissism.

There is wish-fulfillment, but this story went far beyond that. This deserves to be erased from existence!

And I hate the translator for making me experience such a vile abomination. I rather watch Food Fight! and Where The Dead Go To Die than read this excrement.

And author you can't write shit. How can you expose the world to such shameful and atrocious writing. You have no shame! <<less
58 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Reborn – Super Chef
April 3, 2018
Status: --
This story is retarded. Unbelievably stupid.

At first it sounds like your typical transmigration story but focused on cooking... and then you encounter the world the story is set in... It is idiotic! It is stupid! It is retarded!

Get this: the parallel word developed a virus (named vegetarian virus. Stupid name I know!) than makes animals produce proteins that is poisonous. If you don't realize how stupid this concept is, let me spell it out for you.

... more>> The very fist warning of the stupidity of the concept start with this paragraph:

This virus does not directly hurt human beings nor does it wipe out all the animals. But this virus can make the animals' body produce a complex protein. And this complex protein is poisonous to human beings!

Okay that doesn't sound so bad though I have numerous issues with it. Like how can it be specifically poisonous to humans and not other animals? How could a virus makes a body produce this complex protein? Why didn't they just produce an antidote to render the poison harmless?

It sounds dumb already, but alright, I can go with that... But Oh! It gets even dumber!

This virus is difficult to destroy, and had wiped out over a third of the world's population. It also caused some of the carnivorous animals to go extinct. For people who love to eat meat, the virus is a source of despair.

Come on! A third of the world population died because they can't eat meat? Surely they didn't starve themselves to death because they wont eat vegetables, or grains, or fruits, or bread, or nuts, or tofu and numerous other things they could have eaten? Billions of people died because they are idiots! This premise already becomes stupid.

Not only is the protein poisonous to humans, it is poisonous to the animals too! The author tried to have an escape clause by saying that only some of the carnivorous animals go instinct. But think about it. The plague has lasted for 80 years. If all the animals are poisonous to eat, how is it that these carnivorous animals escape extinction?

About 2 years ago, scientists finally managed to overcome this problem. They developed a vaccine for this virus, and begin to inject these vaccines into animals. Finally, meat is once again, safe to be consumed.

Oh! Someone created a vaccine... now how about those wild animals? Did they inject them too? The rats? The rabbits? The moles? The pigeons? The frogs? Snakes? Fishes? The billions and billions and billions of animals around the world? No? Nothing?

Just think, how is a creation of the vaccine helps with anything? The vaccine would only work well if all the animals receives it. And vaccine is for prevention, not cure. Even with the vaccine, the infected animals would remain infected.

After the vaccine had been developed, many people had found that they had forgotten how to cook these meats. A countless number of recipes had also been lost to the ravage of time.

What? How hard is it really to roast or fry meat? And the recipes are lost to the ravage of time? It was only 80 years! The cook books can't have such short lifespan, can they? Heck! We even to this time documents aged thousand of years old and yet this parallel world can't preserve such culturally important information in the modern times? Just... Come on! I don't know how to cook but I'm sure I can get adequate skills by reading a cookbook and practicing. Really! And people buy this story's idiocy?

And of course. If meat is inedible, then all those business dealing with meat are going down. Think about it. Millions of cows and pigs and chickens and turkeys and quail, and those other animals domesticated for meat... what do you think the owners are going to do with them? Surely they won't release them to the wild? Can't guess? They are all going to be butchered and thrown away! You can't make money from them and it is dumb to care for these billions of animals just because. So, not only are carnivores going extinct, these domesticated animals are going bye bye too, or at least, become really rare!

But guess what, after two years when the vaccine was invented... meat is available again in the market! And at a very cheap price at that! Do you really think that the market for meat would recover just like that? Why would anyone care for pigs, or cows, or chickens and other animals when you know that almost no one is going to buy it? In fact, almost no one knows what to do with them! And where are they going to get these animals anyway. 80 years of no one caring about them and raising them, they should have been gone! Do you really believe that large farms would still exists after 80 years of the disaster?

The story just keeps getting dumber and dumber.

But the greatest gripe I had about this dumb premise is the extinction of carnivores. One of the function of carnivores is pest control. The snakes, the cats, the eagles, the hawks, and other carnivores all gone because of some idiots created vegetarian virus (again stupid name). Now imagine, there would be no more carnivores that would control the population of pests! Rats, mice, rabbits, pigeons, etc. We would have a plague of pests of biblical proportions.

Okay. In essence, this vegetarian virus should result to an catastrophe or even apocalypse. Really, after reading what the virus is supposed to be about, I expected a post apocalyptic world where everyone is starving because meat is inedible and pests overrun the whole world. That should be the logical result of this.

It is quite clear that the author devise such astronomically stupid contrivance so that he could put his protagonist into the position of being the only human on earth who can cook meat properly. This story's premise is so stupid that it is quite unbelievable.

And you who give this story five stars... No! I can't accept your decision! Like come on! Are you really that blind to this story's faults? Just a little bit intellect would make you realize that the whole story is one big plot hole! <<less
50 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
The Black Card
September 15, 2017
Status: c22
Okay. It starts rather well then it failed to keep my attention.

I think I know the problem though. The premise is just not suited for a very prolonged story. Read the description... Does it sounds like something that could last for 1100+ chapters?... No!

The best form for the premise is a short story or at most a novelette. It is a perfect premise for a short fiction.

Or if the author wants to stretch it really long, then it could work as an episodic serialized story. A collection of stories of... more>> various people that are affected. Something like Hell Girl or Pet Shop of Horrors. With Hell Girl, the premise is about a website where you can access at midnight where you can use to send someone you hate to hell. Pet Shop of Horrors has this shop where you can buy exotic animals except that it comes with strict terms that results to serious consequences if broken. The premises are similarly suited for short burst.

Also like Hell Girl and Pet Shop of Horrors (both of Horror genre), Black Card premise is really suited for Horror, and this is where this story fails terribly. It is Horror material right there! It instead opt to be Slice-of-Life and Comedy and destroying any tension and potential the premise has.

As a Comedy, its humor is really weak. NU doesn't recognize it as Comedy, but seeing how often the story tries hard to be funny, it should be one... Just that, it is not funny at all. The author just can't do comedy.

As for the Slice-of-Life it focuses on the MC using the expensive products he buy and the lifestyle he now had. It is easy to see how repetitive and boring it is. Not to mention how it conflicts with the nature of the premise. Any slice-of-life moments this story have is redundant because they don't connect to the plot and conflict. They become fillers to stretch out the plot. And the worst thing is, the story focus on this. He buys something, and a chapter or two is devoted for that. He buys another thing and another chapter is devoted to this new thing. And so on. It is just boring.

The author could have opt for Horror-Comedy as all the ingredients are already there. Instead, the story is forced into an incompatible genre where it just becomes boring, pointless and repetitive.

At least, I didn't find this story insulting or infuriating so far. Just really really poorly executed.

Edit: Woah! There is this Redmi targeting my review. I shouldn't be doing this but... Oh well:

  1. I didn't say it falls into the horror genre. What I say was, the premise is better suited for horror.
  2. I'm a He and I never find any of the humor here funny. And only serviceable? Well, still good for you. At least you find it serviceable. Horror and Thriller do overlap that many says that they are the same thing. Though I think Horror fits better because of the outcome. You'll lose body parts weekly! Come on. That is horrifying! Just imagine loosing a hand or an eye! And that happens once a week! There can be Thriller elements, but the premise is clearly Horror!
  3. Integral? Yeah... Sure... Whatever. If you believe so. Yes! Surely these can't be summarized because something like buying a phone, or eating lobsters, or buying clothes has such deep and intrinsic connections to the main plot that the main plot becomes incomprehensible if these are summarized. A chapter has to be dedicated to it because they so so important!
  4. That is the only weakness you see? You have such a low standard.
Though, I'll change my rating from two to one because somehow a person like Redmi that doesn't have much of a discerning taste could find a flaw that is worth rioting for. <<less
50 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Masked Knight
March 9, 2017
Status: c26
It is awful. It is full of stupidity that it makes me wonder if the author is smoking drugs or something.

The MC is a retard. His actions are so dictated by idiocy that you wonder why he didn't die the moment he was born.

And the other characters aren't any better, they can be just as bad or worse than the MC. The only feeling I have for them is frustration and dismay. They make decisions that is so stupid and incomprehensible that they might as well be monkeys instead of... more>> humans. That way, their actions would make sense.

Maybe it is because of 'comedy' why these characters are brainless idiots, but, their stupidity isn't even funny.

And the story is retarded. The Plot just consist of the MC and other characters doing stupid things and making stupid decisions that results to stupid outcomes. I just can't understand what is happening! There is suspension of disbelief, but disbelief is the most appropriate reaction to this story. There is just no logic in it, or common sense.

The story is also very inconsistent with the details. They constantly contradict each other. The descriptions is very much useless.

Like, in chapter 3, the MC was in a horse shed. It was very dark and the MC is having a hard time seeing what is in front of him, but, he easily see the crossbeam which should have been in an even darker area of the shed when he got trapped. To top that, while he was hanging from the beam, he was able to see the face... and breast... of the girl bellow like it is was as bright as day. Was the girl glowing or something? Does the MC have magic eyes that can see girls in the dark?

Then, later, the girl shoots the MC with lightning bolts, our MC crashed into a wall and almost break it... but no one (like, the guards) noticed the commotion and the horses aren't affected or disturbed. I mean, hello, lightning, that is like bright and loud, then the MC slams onto the wall, that is also loud. It happen again later. The MC was kicked by a horse and crashed through the wall of the shed... and again, no one notices and the horses are undisturbed with all this loud noises and destruction. Is everyone deaf? Or is crashing through walls silent? Or the author just can't keep the details straight?

You also have to wonder why our MC doesn't suffer any serious injury after that. Hit multiple times by lightning bolts, slammed into the wall, kicked by a horse, crash trough the wall... and it seems all he get is bruises. He can probably hide in a refrigerator during a nuclear bomb explosion and he'll survive unscathed.

I just can't make sense of any of it. Does the author lacks experience with the real world? Is the author high on drugs? Or the author is a five year old?

Nothing makes sense! The MC is stupid, the other characters are stupid, the plot is stupid, the setting is stupid. Everything in the story is unadulterated nonsense.

To appreciate this story, I believe that you really have to turn off your brain, or you have to be someone who appreciate nonsense for the sake of it. Anyone who is even slightly critical or can't just can't turn their brains off for a prolonged period would only be frustrated. <<less
43 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
The Crimson Dragon
April 15, 2017
Status: c27
Alright, I have up to chapter 27 and it did become worse.

The MC is frustrating. Said the author: "A normal person." No! He is a retard. I honestly could not see the protagonist as a normal person. Author, is this what a normal person is to you? Or do you even know what a normal person is?

Then the author said: "He, however, did not inherit the brutal... nature of the Dragon tribe" and that is a lie. These later chapter clearly shows it. The author is dishonest... or the author... more>> is also bad at making descriptions, take your pick. Whatever it is, what you got is different from what is advertised.

The other characters are no better. They are one dimensional and dull cliche's. There is barely any effort to develop and flesh them out.

In the first dozen of chapter or so, we really got no plot. Nothing of importance happens. We all just read about the protagonist eating and growing up.

Then, it seems that the author realizes the apparent lack of narrative stakes and plot, so the author added one. And, God! It was botched up. The protagonist becomes even more retarded and easily manipulated. He killed intelligent creatures... just to look cool, I guess. The plot is incoherent and very anticlimactic. And, strangely, with a plot, it becomes more tedious to read. No wonder the story lacks any plot at the beginning, the author is just awful with plots. A twelve year old could do better.

And the storytelling, it was bad when nothing actually happens, but now that something important does happens, it seems that author's abilities are strained to the breaking point. It is atrocious. There is no flow. The prose is a joke. The humor is distracting and unfunny. The POV is broken. The attention keeps shifting from one character to another. The pacing is horrid. Descriptions are absent... And other elementary mistakes. Mistakes that any responsible authors knows how to avoid. How could something as badly written as this ever get published? Or maybe, the atrocious writing is the translator's fault. Whatever is the case, the writing is one of the worst I ever seen.

This story is just awful. Everything is just done wrong. Is this some self-published title? Did the book goes through a screening process? Is this the first draft?

I kid you not. This story is as bad as those terrible fan fictions that float in the internet. It even has the feel of one. Terribly written characters, absence of description, terrible prose, garbled plot, messy POV, OP protagonist, etc.. Nothing is done right. It is nothing but an embarrassment. <<less
36 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
December 1, 2016
Status: c91
There are the words "Tale" and "Reincarnated" and "Lord" in the tittle. You would expect that this story would give your a great fast paced adventure of a character that would utilize his memories from previous life to shake the new world. Sorry, but no. It is the opposite.

Fast paced adventure it is not. For dozens of chapters, this story starts with what could essentially be called as backstories. It even has backstory of a backstory. It could easily lull you to sleep. Then the MC is called away, and... more>> all these backstories turn out to be pointless. Huh! Thanks for wasting my time, author.

Now. the protagonist. Tales? Reincarnated? Lord? Sounds exciting. Must have a great protagonist here... Not!

My biggest issue with the protagonist is that he doesn't really feel like a modern man. He is not modern in any sense. He morals, mindset, behavior, values... Everything about him is just the same as everyone around him. He is 'modern' in name only.

Now, this become quite a handicap. Without the contrast between him and others that should have existed, the protagonist is incredibly bland. When the protagonist is the same as everyone else, there is just no way he would stand out. But the, judging the MC by himself, he is still a bland character. He has nothing outstanding, unique or interesting at all. Anything that is from his 'modern man' aspect is wasted and doesn't have impact in the story while his other attributes are generic and is done far better in other reincarnated stories.

One thing for sure, you won't read this story for the "Reincarnated" aspect. The MC might as well be not reincarnated at all if the author is just going to waste it or sh*t on it.

And all other characters are just as dull. There are efforts to spice them but they are really just gimmicks and has nothing to do with the story or character. Any of these attempts will soon be forgotten.

And the setting... generic. Read any medieval fantasy based stories and you'll pretty much get it.

And the plot... 90 chapters in and I'm pretty much bored. I don't really know what the story is supposed to be. It takes too long to tell its story. First dozens of chapter was backstory and the next dozens of chapters was a dull trek home, and I lost my interest. I already read two books worth of boring and nothing happening, thank you.

This is one boring reincarnation story. The characters are bland, the MC is bland, the story takes too long to start and is instead filled with pointless things, and the pacing makes you fell into bored stupor in its utter slowness. It is one "Tale" that I don't have any interest in reading. <<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Transmigrator Meets Reincarnator
October 24, 2017
Status: c218
I realized that the story is just wasting my time.

The plot is just allover the place. It is so episodic without any unifying element. Each chapter feels like an entirely different story from the rest. 200 chapters later and feels like nothing of substance happens.

Each various story-lines introduced are poorly managed. The Romance is stuck with the male lead sent far away with almost no contact. What kind of pathetic "Romance" is that? There is this foodie element added in that is just pure filler. The family drama is lame... more>> since it is populated with pathetic characters (especially the females). Everything else is just filler. The worst thing about the plot is that it has no overarching story that ties everything together. Whatever story you have here is just random and has little to no connection to each other.

And the pacing... so slow. The story is just chock-full of fillers and padding. Chapter after chapter of irrelevant stuff while whatever story-lines it has stalls. It is just day after day after day, chapter after chapter after chapter of nothing.

The characters are really bland and flat. The MC is an apathetic idiot whose main quirk is that she cooks godly food that would get anyone addicted. The male lead is sent far away and nowhere to be found for the most of the story. The other character are caricatures with a depth of a spoon. Taken together, the characters are bland and is just played for their one quirk till they are wringed dry.

We barely experience the setting. The most you can get is some generic backdrop that will just fade away to nothing.

*****

After getting as far as this, my interest with this story disappears. Transmigrator Meets Reincarnator is just devoid of substance. Even the premise given by its title barely matters. The transmigrator and reincarnator it alludes to has almost zero interaction with each other.

This story is just like cotton candy. Sweet and fluffy but is just mostly air and devoid of nutrients. And as with cotton candies, many would gladly consume it, but for anyone seeking something more fulfilling, this is not it. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
The Dark King
February 12, 2017
Status: c401
The author's poor craft is finally catching up.

I initially give this a high rating for being somewhat enjoyable and for having a fast translator. However, like many novels, the quality of the story nosedived as it goes.

The biggest sin this story has is that it doesn't give any of its story arcs any form of satisfactory conclusion. It keeps starting various plot arcs and subplots then ditch it or sh*t on it. It even seems to forget previous events and goes into totally new direction like everything before this doesn't... more>> happen. For example, what happen to Splitty? Splitty was given so much hype. It even have a save-Splitty pseudo campaign. Where are all of it? GONE!!! This story is nothing but pure frustration. I keep going on hoping that it would finally give even a tiny bit of closure and release. Nope. It is shitty the whole way.

And the character... I barely remember most of them. They are so bland, flat and forgettable that even after reading hundreds of chapters, could not recall any them aside from vague impressions. The one I do remember, except the MC, I remembered because they so goddamn awful. I never want to see them ever again.

And finally, the poor storytelling and writing skills. It is just so bland and mechanical that I keep finding myself spacing out for the lack of stimulation.

I've read various manuals, from mobile phones to washing machines, which most find not worth reading, but they are more satisfying read than this! At least with those manuals, you'll learn various things about your devices, this story however is just leading you nowhere.

A total waste of time. 400+ chapters of nothing. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Become a World Boss? No Thanks!
April 7, 2018
Status: --
This story just doesn't work at all.

What I hate most with this story is the comedy. No, not because it is a comedy, but of how terribly executed it is. With comedy, there is a need for a straight-man. Someone who is serious to contrast and bring the humor forefront. In this story however, everything is just silly. Without the contrast, the silliness is just mundane.

And many might think that being silly is funny. No! Silly can be funny, but being silly does not mean it is funny. There is... more>> an art to it. The author has to bring out the funny side of the silliness, or of anything really. It is to make us look at things and make us see it in a funny way. The author didn't manage to do it, I don't think the author even tried at all. The author just inserted something silly and expect us to laugh at it without doing anything about it. That is not how it works. This is usually done by having a straight man. It is the straight man's job, usually to react to it, to bring out the laugh.

The main character... I don't know why but most writers here who writes comedy doesn't know how to write a funny character. They seem to think that a funny character is a silly character or a stupid character. How wrong they are.

Just being plain silly doesn't make a character funny. There is more to it. One thing that is needed for it to work is honesty. If the silliness feels forced, it wouldn't be funny. And this is what our MC is, forced to be silly. I even think that if he has remained serious, the story would have become funny. Yeah... humor is just like that. Sometimes the opposite of what you expect is funny because humor depends a lot on surprise. If you can see the joke a mile away, it wouldn't be as funny as when it blindsided you. Also why a joke stops being funny after you see it a few times because it wouldn't surprise you anymore. It become familiar.

The plot... EH? What plot? Is there a plot? No there isn't! What a shitt* story. It can't even tell an actual story! This is another problem with these comedy writers wannabe. They seem to think that plot is optional. NO it is not! The worst thing is, it is supposed to be an Adventure story too. Really, remove that Adventure label. Adventure this story is not.

Setting... Meh! Author is so occupied with comedy that setting is thrown out the window. You might as well forget about it.

*****

This story is pathetic. The author believes that he is the best comedian ever that everything else about the story is just ignored. Character? Plot? Setting? Dialogue? Theme? Style?... Who cares? And for the comedy? You are more likely to laugh watching paint dry. Not worth reading at all. <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
A Monster Who Levels Up
November 20, 2017
Status: c92
It was fun at first... then... bleh.

The protagonist's ability to turn into monsters are really interesting, and at the beginning it was. It was quite fun to see the protagonist playing around with his abilities while keeping it hidden from other people. It is very close to a "secret identity" super hero tropes to be a subversion of it. That was fun when it lasted.

Then the story just stops focusing on that. What we got instead is a storm of cliché: beauties lusting at the protagonist, cringe-worthy "romance, " OP... more>> abilities gained left and right with barely any effort, protagonists gains popularity and political power, stupid villains, ungodly amount of luck, coincidences and contrivance, etc.

Just... MEH!

Come on! Author, are you out of ideas a dozen chapters in?

And the execution isn't that good either. The use of clichés and tropes are straightforward without any creative take.

There doesn't seem to be any overall conflict at all. It is all slice-of-life-like as the story just meanders and going in no particular direction. Things just happens, that is all.

*****

There is just nothing new or creative in this story. It is just a collection of the common and tired tropes and clichés. There doesn't even seem to be a story in it, just things happening without any story-progression.

Overall, a very unnecessary story. It really has nothing to offer. It does nothing but just exist. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Game Market 1983
May 29, 2017
Status: --
It starts okay, then it just becomes really slow and boring.

The story starts by focusing on the video game elements and the video game market. The protagonist makes games and deals with the market.

Then, the tone and story suddenly shifts. It is not about video games and the market. It is about romance and bromance and daily life. The story now is about walking and eating and talking and chatting and other mundane things.

... more>> Eh? What happened?

The characters are rather bland. Many are based on real people, but they don't really have the personality of the real person they are supposed to be, nor do they feel like real person. The character are the most common stereotypes and cliches.

The blandness of the characters are especially apparent in the meandering slice-of-life story the story has become. We are bombarded by their cliche interactions, and dull and uninspired dialogue.

The worst thing is, the story is supposed to be about video gaming in the era of retro gaming, but it was thrown out to tell about the snooze-inducing life of the numerous bland characters.

A story that starts okay, then meanders pointlessly around throwing away it premise and populating the story with dull uninteresting characters.

If you love retro games, read the first 2 or 3 dozen chapters, then stop. If you like slice-of-life stories look for another story to read cause this one sucks at it. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Realms In The Firmament
March 26, 2018
Status: --
It was quite good at the start, then it went downhill fast.

Really! The story has a great setup. The protagonist was awesome and likeable, the protagonist's goals are lofty, the setting is expansive, and the beginning was excellent. It has great stuff right there. But what did the author do? Waste it all! The protagonist becomes more and more idiotic, the protagonist's goals are undermined but idiotic developments, the setting becomes nonsensical, the story progression is a joke. It was such a waste of potential.

Garbage. Just garbage.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
The 5000-year-old Herbivorous Dragon
April 1, 2018
Status: c4
Eh... Okay, this is comedy and a web-novel... my expectations is rather low and I still end up unsatisfied.

Comedy is really difficult to pull off and I rarely see it done well here. This is one of those comedy novels here that is not funny at all. Well, the situation has great potential for humor, but the author relies on low denominator jokes, often slapstick and schadenfreude, without a creative take or actual understanding of comedy. The jokes are delivered in the most unfunny way possible. The author is often... more>> desperate and keeps pointing out the jokes in the hopes that you will notice it and laugh at it. The thing is, if you have to point out your jokes, then you failed.

So, the humor fails, what about the story... It was boring as well. It don't even feel like there is a story at all. The characters just talk and talk and talk. If something happens, then they'll talk some more, then op girl solve it with a wave of the hand, and they'll talk some more. Why can't everyone just shut up!

And the characters, they are paper thin. The dragon is a wimp and the girl is an over powered idiot that is it. The worst thing is that the story is mainly about the interaction of the two. It is all about the dragon being a wimp and the girl being an idiot.

Well, it is a JP web novel about a dragon. JP + web novel + dragon often equals to awful and this one is no different. At least it is harmless and inoffensive, therefore two stars. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Gourmet Food Supplier
March 4, 2017
Status: --
A very fun story to read. However the MC somewhat makes it a bit less interesting. The MC is just not the right kind of character to carry the premise. He has very little interest in cooking, he barely interacts with the costumers, he doesn't care much about his business and he doesn't do much anything interesting. This becomes very detrimental in chapters that focus on the MC. Those chapters are palatable at best, completely flavorless and bland at worst. He often comes off as an annoyance.

The most fun you... more>> get here comes from the costumers. They are varied, colorful and interesting characters that just brings in the fun. The chapters that centers on those various costumers is where the story the shines the most. However, even then, there is this unfortunate fly on this heavenly fried egg rice, the MC often disrupts the experience with his nasty appeal. I virtually erase his interruptions in my mind.

The concept is really good and you can see it, especially when the story focus on the costumers and their various reactions, but the MC somewhat tarnishes the overall experience. I suggest that you skip the chapters where the MC is the focus for a more wholesome experience. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Skeleton Knight, in Another World
December 4, 2016
Status: v4c4
Not good enough. It doesn't seem to know what it wants to do and keeps meandering.

The story's best aspect would have to be the storytelling. The writer is really good in immersing you in the story's world, character and events. The elements are well balanced to give you that immersive experience.

The setting is another of the story's strong point. There are magic, magical creatures, various settlements, etc.. There are a lot of fantastical elements and the story is quite successful in letting you experience it. We travel from place to... more>> place and get close to with the fantastical world.

Still it has major flaws that really dims your enjoyment. One thing that you would notice after reading further in is that it has a serious case of sagging-middle syndrome. Sagging middle is the condition where the middle part of the story lost its way and doesn't carry the momentum of the beginning part. A common symptom is when the story wanders around and doesn't seem to know where it would go. Events happens with little relationship from each other. At worst, the story becomes episodic. The only thing that connects the events together are the characters.

Another issue I have is the story often inserts humor to the detriment of the story. A huge part of a chapter or a whole chapter would be devoted to slapstick and comedic situations. That is alright I guess, but I'm not really into that kind of humor. I don't really find them that funny.

There is also the rather lackluster characters. They are not that flat or boring. It just that, there could have been more. They could have been more complex, more varied, more substantial. So far they are okay. Not great, not good; just okay.

It could have been done better. You can't help but wish for it to have something more. Some more character depth, more action scenes, more coherence, etc.. Doesn't contain much of anything to be a satisfying read. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Daddy Fantasy World Restaurant
March 4, 2018
Status: c11
2 stars. I really like the idea but the execution is horrible.

The pacing is terribly slow. Eleven chapters, ELEVEN chapters and the restaurant isn't even open. Read the description. That is the story I expect to read. And what the story is so far? The restaurant still closed. F**k!!!

The food description is terrible. Like, read this:

"Michael also placed a spoonful of fried rice into his mouth. The soft, tender egg favor was infused into the slightly harder rice, creating a perfect harmony. As well, the taste of various ingredients constantly... more>> bombarded his taste buds."

Terribly generic!

And the characters... Oh God! The characterization is horrible. It is as generic as the food descriptions. With have this two characters so far: a girl and the MC. The cute lovely girl that is just that! Cute lovely girl without actual character. The MC is generic and bland! He is more like a setup than a character.

And the writing is so weak. Descriptions are so generic. Prose are often very vague. Dialogue feels so forced and stilted. It just not pleasant to read.

*****

This is so poorly written without any skill. An average fan fiction has more finesse than this.

At the least, the ideas are fine, but the writing just takes away anything good about it. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Lv1 Skeleton
November 19, 2017
Status: --
The title doesn't really fit the story at all. Level 1 my ass.

The story actually starts really well with an interesting situation and atmospheric setting. It really feels like it would be a solid take of the reincarnation story... then the story deteriorates into random and often nonsensical plot-lines. Numerous incoherent developments happen with very little logic and sense behind them. It feels like the author is just writing whatever comes to mind. Sure, there are lots of things happening all the time, but it doesn't feel like there is... more>> any actual "story."

The characters are forgettable. All of them sucks as a character. The main character has no personality and his motivation change every chapter. There is this pixie (?), I can't remember exactly what creature that was, but god she is annoying. The other character are either bland or pointless.

The game-like level up system is a mess. Come on! An exponential point system? The author is such an idiot.

******

This story is just really messed up. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Rosver
Rosver rated it
Coder Lee Yongho
December 6, 2016
Status: c103
I started okay, then just become so boring.

I've studied Computer Science and has experience, so that cheat debugger is very interesting for me. And it was very great at first as he explores the power of the debugger.

Then he decided to stop using it because it is stunting his development as a programmer. I go... WHAT?

It's a debugger! How is something like that be stunting you! Are you really going to find all those bugs from a program with millions of lines by yourself?... Why are these supposedly "smart" protagonist... more>> so prone to making extremely stupid decisions.

And now you are getting bored to death as the impossibility of the task of debugging the software manually become apparent. We are given details of Lee working out his problems without the help of his cheat. Then what the heck is the cheat for? The author might just as well write about a normal person if the cheat isn't going to be utilized anyway.

Then we are bombarded with technical details of computer programming.... If you are not versed with computer programming and computer science, you'll be bored by the details. If you do know these things, you'll be bored because the story is just wasting your time.

And the characters are so damned boring. Lee Yongho, you are the most boring protagonist I've ever meet. The other characters are boring as well. And the worst part? The story decides to focus on them. For character development or some shit. That would have been great, if the characters aren't hellishly boring!

This is an epitome of boring novels. It just becomes more and more dreary as it goes on. My head has gone numb from reading all of it. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report