Report Review
10 Reviews


Riveted
Riveted rated it
Martial World
April 4, 2017
Status: c803
800 Chapters read... and I'm finally dropping this novel. I simply don't have the heart to go through with reading the same plot points over and over and over and over again. The young masters are arrogant. The patriarchs are unable to see reason. The MC's neck must be stretched out on the chopping block, but his opponent's cannot be. The beautiful women could cause the downfall of many kingdoms. The essence is revolved to its limit, breakthroughs are made in the nick of time, and the MC never fails.... more>> The MC is going to be killed, and then he kills, and then he's *really* going to be killed, and then he kills, and then he's courting death, and then he kills, and then there's nobody left so he moves on....

Don't get me wrong: I can take this to an extent, but for this novel I really feel like the author is simply doing a copy-paste with the same scenarios and dialogue but with different scenery. I read through Coiling Dragon. I'm reading Desolate Era, I Shall Seal the Heavens, and Skyfire Avenue. Every one of those novels has something unique to them that keeps me interested. This novel just feels so... boring.

If you're looking for a novel simply to pass the time with, then have at it. If you want a novel that's has its own unique experiences, or pushes the genre in any way, then look elsewhere. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Riveted
Riveted rated it
Absolute Choice
February 27, 2017
Status: c212
I really wanted to like this novel. There's a whole lot of potential in it, but after about 60 or so chapters it just kind of fizzles out. I was in love with it around chapter 50, where I feel like the author finally just found the place where his characters could be themselves.... and then the rest of the plot moved on to pointless fights between side-characters, and everyone suddenly having misunderstandings thinking that the MC is doing s*xual things with every girl that he so much as glances... more>> at. It doesn't help that even after 200 chapters, I can only barely understand the MC himself. I can't connect with a character that follows no logic in how situations are dealt with.

The gimmick of an "Absolute Choice" really interrupts the flow of the novel too. It's going along at it's own pace, and it's getting exciting, and the MC is making it though challenges, and then the Choice shows up and forcibly moves things into a different direction. It's incredibly jarring.

When the name of the novel itself is actually one of the bad points about it, I really can't recommend reading it. <<less
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Riveted
Riveted rated it
Emperor’s Domination
May 8, 2017
Status: c1986
Edit as of Chapter 1986 - Feb 7, 2019:

I am, against all odds, still reading this novel. The translator has stayed relatively consistent in his release schedule, and the longer the novel goes on, the more the author gets rid the weak points that were mentioned earlier. At this point he's pretty much brought the overarching story to be his main story-line, and the novel is much better for it. It also helps that we've seen enough of his history at this point to appreciate how he treats others. I... more>> still can't give it full marks, but I'll change my rating from a 2/5 to a 3/5; it's a slog to get to the good parts, but it's worth it.

-----------

Original Review - Chapter 480 - May 8, 2017:
I might have given this novel a 1 star rating, except for a single reason: The author can write an extremely good overarching plot line. The problem is in the details, and that the details exist at all. Every part of the backstory of the MC, and all the characters and places related to him are laid out quite well.

He was effectively a cursed immortal, who spent millions of years in the background behind the top powers of the human race as they fought to carve out a foundation in the cultivation world. He raised geniuses into top level existences, researched the mysteries of the universe, made plans, and set aside treasures, until he finally managed to break the curse and revert his body back to that of a 13 year old ordinary mortal, with most of his memories intact. We follow him as he starts cultivating from scratch, regains his old treasures, raises up a declining sect that he once helped create, and sets his sights on going against the power that cursed him.

Sounds fantastic doesn't it? And as long as the author sticks with the history of these major characters, and the great events of the past, it is fantastic. The problem is that the novel should have been about that history, with the ending being his successful rebirth as a mortal, but instead it's about what happens after, and spends most of its time on the interactions of extremely minor characters who simply want to kill the MC because "reasons."

Out of nearly 500 chapters in this novel, I've skipped probably 30% of them outright, because they are simply fluff pieces that say how great these certain side characters are, the background of their sects, and how they are all related to each other, the introduction of the artifacts they are using to do battle with, and how heaven defying they are. They aren't worth reading, because the author simply makes them arrogant sons/daughters of heaven that antagonize the MC, and are then killed before the end of whatever arc they are introduced in. That's it. They simply exist so that the MC can kill them; they don't actually advance the plot at all.

I also suggest skipping anything that mentions how cultivation works, because MC is OP and can apparently ignore any difference in cultivation levels. In that same vein, you may as well skim over the fights themselves, because there is absolutely no suspense in any of them. I've also been wondering how the landscape is still any kind of "beautiful" when any random genius landing outside of the gate of a sect destroys the neighboring mountains, not to mention the actual "heaven shaking" fights themselves.

There's also this weird thing where author goes all out to describe how beautiful these women are, and how their chests seem to be heaving all the time, when the MC explicitly states very early on that he has absolutely no interest in women.

So why am I still reading this? Because I'm bored, and following the above rules allows for me to see enough actual story to stay interested. <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Riveted
Riveted rated it
Swallowed Star
December 15, 2017
Status: c715
This is a novel that I want to love, but I can only say that I like it. The first main arc of the story is set out really well, and has a unique setting for this genre. Humanity is sort of on their last legs, desperately trying to hold on to the few fortress-like cities that they have left, and exploring a revival of martial arts, as heavily mutated animals have taken over the rest of the planet. The author really brings you into this world, and it's fun... more>> to watch the MC make his way through it.

For the most part, I also enjoyed the fight scenes, which I typically don't for these types of novels. They don't go on for dozens of chapters like some other novels do... (*cough* Martial God Asura *cough*), and the author actually drums up some decent reasons for why these people are fighting the MC. I also really like how the author tries to keep things to a somewhat realistic level for distances and numbers, at least when things happen in the real world and not the virtual one. People landing in front of the city gates don't randomly take out myriad mountain ranges; they simply land, kind of like how your friendly neighborhood cultivator would.

Now, for problems I'll start with the plot itself. It's actually decent for that first main arc, but then the story moves on
Spoiler

from simply being on Earth to *gasp* the MC find out that there's actually a whole universe out there

[collapse]
chapters on all the basic genre cliches. You get the explanations of cultivation levels, the way the governments works, the rules for the areas, various cultivation techniques, popular people in the area, fancy treasures to take note of, multiple auctions, and multiple tournaments..... and during all of that, there's an "old geezer" stereotype telling the MC everything he should be doing, and exactly when he should be doing it. I very nearly didn't make it to the end of all that. I was about to drop the novel entirely (and probably would have if I was attempting to read through that arc at the daily rate), until a new arc set in and the MC actually started doing things for himself again. Decisions to make, challenges to attempt, legacies to find, political maneuvers to outmaneuver, etc.

On to the problem I have with the MC: He ends up being given horrendously OP things, with virtually no strings attached, time, and time, and time, and time again. The first time? Fine, I can buy that. We wouldn't have much of a story otherwise if the character wasn't special somehow. The problem is that the author doesn't stop. It just gets to the point where they start piling up the background, and the author just pulls them out of his pocket whenever it's convenient.

The small complaints I'm not going to bother with, but the last large one I'll bring up is the constant state of flux of the cultivator power levels. It starts out where power level A are the common folk, level B are the ones making their way up the ladder, and level D are the guys at the top. Then we get to level D and we find out that no, it's actually that level D are the common folk, level E are the guys making their way up the ladder, and level G are the guys running the show. Then we get to level G..... and you get the picture. It's always mentioned that the level the MC is at is the level of the "cannon fodder." Seriously? Is it that hard to stick with a constant power level system? This is one of those things where I wish more stories in this genre would take after Warlock of the Magus World. That story had 9 levels, and you knew from the very beginning exactly where you were on that scale, and what authority you had at any particular level. Make the story smarter, not just longer.

Even at the end of all that, I'm still actually keeping up with the story for now. Hopefully the author keeps up with these more well-written story arcs as the book moves on. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Riveted
Riveted rated it
Nine Star Hegemon Body Art
January 16, 2019
Status: c235
I'm dropping this novel after 200+ chapters. The MC spends almost all of his time fighting, and the rest of it is pure cliche, almost to anime levels. "Fighting to protect your friends is the only thing worth fighting for" etc. By the time I got to chapter 200, I was skimming the book more than reading it because there just wasn't much there. Some chapters completely repeat themselves two or three times just to get the word count up.

By wuxia standards, probably the biggest flaw in this novel is... more>> that there is no growth in the character. He starts with a set of memories not his own. He doesn't learn any new tricks. He doesn't learn any new moves.

On a social level, the MC is basically an arrogant "young master" (even though he's not) and every girl he meets falls head over heels for him.

The only reason I bother to give this 2 stars instead of 1 is because it's at least semi-coherent, and it doesn't go off on racist rants. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Riveted
Riveted rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
March 10, 2017
Status: c444
What do you get when you take Tony Stark, stick Jarvis in his head, and drop him into a world of magic with just the clothes on his back? I imagine you would get something rather close to this novel.

We follow the MC as he uses his super powers of extreme data collection and analysis (via an AI chip) to overcome his foes through superior planning and experimentation. Wait, that sounded boring didn't it? Let me try from a different angle.... ehem: We follow our beloved MC as he forgoes... more>> honor, morality, and even his own emotions in order to survive an absolutely ruthless world of magic! The grandstanding before fights is virtually non-existent (well... okay, maybe not "non-existent, " but it's down to paragraphs and sentences instead of entire chapters) the dialogue in fights is terse, the fights themselves take up less than half of the novel (incredible, I know), the political structures are actually somewhat believable, the plot armor is akin to plot cloth, the MC actually knows how to handle his interactions with women, and he also plans ahead!

There are no relationships here in the standard sense. The MC handles everything according to debt, repayment, and return on investment. I find it completely refreshing that the MC actually has contingency plans for if and when things don't go according to plan; he simply doesn't go do things and then expect for his own strength/master/friends/lucky chances/sudden breakthroughs/fate/deus ex machina to get him through whatever the fallout is... unlike some *other* novels. The novel itself tends to poke fun at those novels, and even dedicates an entire arc to the satire of the genre, which I very much enjoyed reading.

To top it off, the translation is done well, and the chapters are plentiful, and the releases fairly regular. If you're looking for something different from the standard wuxia fare, I would strongly suggest reading this novel. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Riveted
Riveted rated it
The New Gate
September 2, 2016
Status: --
It's an interesting setting with a rather fleshed-out world and entertaining characters, but each volume only has 3 or 4 short chapters, and the translation is really rough. On top of that, the translator is only able to do one section of a chapter every two weeks, so even if you are interested it's better to wait until a much larger portion of the story is translated before diving in. I regret starting this.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Riveted
Riveted rated it
Terror Infinity
June 30, 2016
Status: v15c2
I'm thoroughly impressed with this book. The plot is unique, the characters are diverse and have legitimate motives, and the author pulls few punches. Knowing the movies that the characters enter is a plus, but it's not completely necessary, as the author usually finds a way to explain the movie plot as they go through it.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Riveted
Riveted rated it
Stellar Transformation
June 30, 2016
Status: Completed
Spoiler

I finished reading it, but I probably shouldn't have. There are so many things missing at the end of the book. Important characters that we are introduced to who never even see another mention in the book, Long term characters that do nothing. Fights and reasons for fights that make little sense, and above all the MC doesn't even really do anything. He get lucky, he waits, he gets lucky again, he waits, and suddenly he's strong. After the first couple volumes, this guy attains nearly nothing on his own. Even his cultivation just goes off and does its own thing without him understanding why.

[collapse]
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Riveted
Riveted rated it
Praise the Orc!
October 10, 2017
Status: Completed
This really reminds me of Legendary Moonlight Sculptor, except that (for the most part) the author doesn't meander about with a bunch of pointless "side-quests." The world is very well done, there is a conclusive ending, and the author left himself a doorway to potentially continue the world with another book later on. There are still questions about the world left unanswered, but that's okay, because this book isn't about the world, it's about the MC trying to make his way through it. He doesn't have all the answers, and... more>> neither should we.

I would like to point out that the summary at the top really does this book injustice. I was expecting some sort of cliched "I'm going to protect my sister by travelling everywhere with her, and not letting any man touch her" etc, etc.... and it had virtually none of that, for which I am very thankful.

There are still some parts that I skimmed over, and I feel like the book could have done with some more interactions with people that the MC knew in the real world. It would have been nice to have explored the world a bit more as well, because it just felt like the MC was simply moving from one massive fight to the next with no breaks in between.

Overall, I'm rather impressed with this book, and I can recommend it to anyone looking for a VR or Fantasy novel. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report