Report Review
108 Reviews


ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
September 23, 2017
Status: c164
This is absolutely one of my favorite web novels right now. Riley struggles with PTSD from being the hero in his past life, and his history is portrayed realistic. It shows all of the suffering he had as a hero who carried everyone's expectations in his previous world. He also developed a very strong loathing of humanity, although I'm not sure if he realizes it himself.

... more>>
Spoiler

He lived in the modern world, but demons and magic became real one day. The only way to kill these things was to use a new concept called skills, and culture changed greatly. Even so, the world was destroyed more and more every day. When Riley was born in his previous world, he first held the holy sword at three years old. From then, he trained and trained to kill the enemy destroying the world. He did as he asked in his despair. He killed humans and demons. In exchange for saving one town, other people would die. When the people said they were better off without him, he left them alone, and they still died. No matter what he did, people blamed him. He died fighting the demon king, who treated him more respectfully than most of the humans he met.

Since the modern world turned into a post-Apocalyptic setting, the most emotional struggles he had were against humans themselves. Since everything went to Hell, crime and chaos became prominent. I believe he first kills a human when he is seven. His teacher raped his sister, so he eventually hunted down and killed his own teacher. His "best friend" actually plotted against him and murdered his parents, and he chose to chase and kill his best friend once he found out years later. The priestess he served cursed him to be unable to commit suicide. It sounds like a warped blessing until you learn that she was extremely corrupt and guilty of any number of crimes. By forcing him to live and obey her bidding, he witnessed and participated in atrocities under her command.

He truly saw the worst of humanity. As he died, his only goal was to rest in peace. When he was reborn against his will, his intention was to do anything to avoid living such a hateful life again. Like one of those reincarnated-into-a-villain series with MCs who try to avoid death flags, Riley does everything he can to avoid hero flags. He fulfilled his duties before, and he wants nothing more of it.

[collapse]

He lives his life according to his goal, which makes him come across as extremely lazy. He also sleeps quite a bit, but we learn this may be related to his overpowering abilities. Although he plays the role of a lazy character, he is perfectly willing to take action and clean up the mistakes of others--he just won't let them see his actions.

The action, comedy, drama, and fantasy in this series are all great. I especially love the combat scenes, which are well-written and exciting. The character development and revelation of secrets is both charming and funny. I am really looking forward to which actions and inactions Riley chooses to make in the future. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Every Day the Protagonist Wants to Capture Me
September 20, 2017
Status: c4
I've only read four chapters so far, but each update cracks me up. Chu Yu enjoys reading a web novel called Supreme Sword Immortal until a canon-fodder villain who shares his name gets killed off. He retaliates by writing a negative review, stating that the Chu Yu of the WN has his name but not his intelligence. The next thing he knows, he awakens in the body of the WN's Chu Yu and is in a life-or-death struggle to get the readers' ratings up.

His plan is to survive by becoming... more>> a valuable brother to the WN's main character, Xie Xi. Unfortunately, the WN's Chu Yu has abused Xie Xi for three years already, and Xie Xi absolutely fears him and hates his guts. When Chu Yu starts helping him, Xie Xi naturally responds with paranoia and a sharp sword at the ready.

Chu Yu has to slyly help raise Xie Xi while being wary of readers' reviews and fighting for his own life in the Xianxia setting.

So far, it has been very funny, and I look forward to every new chapter each week. The action scenes aren't half-bad either. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Seirei Gensouki ~Konna Sekai de Deaeta Kimi ni~
September 23, 2017
Status: c85
I thought the set-up of the initial plot was interesting, but then a harem was forced in. Worse yet, the MC is extraordinarily chauvinistic. When training others, he is extremely harsh on the boy and extremely light on the girl. He doesn't even realize how incredibly disrespectful and biased he is being. Not to mention, he is this ridiculously OP Gary Stu with a secretly amazing heritage and vast knowledge of machinery and agriculture. Even though he doesn't have passion for much of anything, he can do everything. Not to... more>> mention, he can easily speak most languages in this world. His culinary skill is world-tier. I think he's also supposed to be fantastically handsome, too. He is a jerk and clearly showed that he has no romantic interest in most members of his harem, but they still yearn for his affection years later, even when they haven't seen or heard a word from him during all that time. Of course, all of the girls get along, too.

Of course, everyone who isn't part of the MC's harem or his friends and allies can be considered to be petty villains.

There isn't any real challenge or threat. No excitement. No character growth.

This WN could be saved by side characters, but even they are no good. Their personalities are even flatter and more minimal than the MC's. I cannot think of any winning points for this series. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Murabito Desu Ga Nani Ka?
September 24, 2017
Status: c14
The twist at the beginning was kind of interesting, but the MC has a surprisingly emotionless and unsurprised reaction to it. He also goes through unreasonable power-ups early in the story, which really cuts down on any excitement it could have.

... more>>
Spoiler

He becomes completely favored by the dragon king once he joins up with the dragons, too.

[collapse]

The action isn't exciting or clever at all so far. There isn't much sense of adventure or fantasy. The battles feel like they're being completely skipped over. Where is the suspense? The mystery? Any comedy? The opening pulled me in, but I lost interest again soon after. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Founder of Diabolism
September 23, 2017
Status: c24
This is a horror/supernatural/mystery/action/comedy series with all sorts of undead things crawling around and jumping on people! Definitely my kind of story. Even better than that, it is smartly written with clever plot development and cases to be solved.

To be noted, the MC is SHAMELESS. Absolutely SHAMELESS in all caps. This is important, so I am repeating it twice. I've seen the saying that so-and-so is shameless in other Chinese series before, but the MC here is the definition of SHAMELESS. He is always getting into trouble and is very... more>> active in it. He is a hysterical joker, who is always screwing around and messing with people. He makes me laugh so hard, I think I have fallen in love with him.

The other characters and their interactions with him are also great. I haven't seen any weaknesses in this story thus far.

If you are looking to read a supernatural ghost mystery series that makes you laugh until you cry, look no further. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Throne of Magical Arcana
October 11, 2017
Status: c149
This is an excellent fantasy series that is well-balanced in many aspects. It has great adventure, fantasy, wit, drama, action, mystery, and character development. Lucien yearns for knowledge and begins studying magic, even though that can get him persecuted. His is clever enough to save his life and to attract plenty of trouble as well. It is great to see him grow through his struggles. Although he starts getting involved with music as a coincidence, it gradually becomes something important to him, which was very nice to see develop.

The side-characters... more>> are well-done, too. They each have their own goals, ambitions, and betrayals to deal with. Everyone struggles with their own dilemmas and the consequences of their decisions, including Lucien. Although he is considered to be a genius, he is not a Gary Stu and plenty of his own mistakes, which really makes the plot develop. He does not yearn for fame, a harem, or revenge, so he's a very refreshing lead to read about. He is polite and clever without arrogance.

The biggest weakness I noticed is that the story starts off pretty slow in the beginning. The story picks up more once Lucien starts learning how to read.

I strongly recommend this series. Once I got past the beginning, I stayed up late several nights until I caught up. I just couldn't pull my eyes away from the story. I enjoyed reading it while listening to classical music, even though I don't normally have any interest in the classics. Making me take interest in something I never cared about before is definitely a noteworthy feat.

Anyone who likes fantasy or music should give this story a shot. This beautiful series really stands out. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Scum Villain’s Self-Saving System
September 23, 2017
Status: c21
The MC wakes up as Shen Qingqiu, a nasty teacher that the original Luo Binghe grew up to torture to death. He must act in-character as Shen Qingqiu while trying to preserve his life. To avoid his death flags, he decides to become the MC's ideal teacher and starts spoiling and favoring him.

This naturally results in jealousy from the other students.

As the MC is completely oblivious to Luo Binghe's affections, it's pretty funny to see how he misinterprets all of Luo Binghe's actions. Luo Binghe definitely hints at liking Shen... more>> Qingqiu early on in the series, but Shen Qingqiu only sees it as Luo Binghe trying to build his harem.

I am really looking forward to the actions the MC must take in order to stay in-character and continue the plot lines without being eliminated by the system. The future betrayals that must occur will risk the MC's fate on the line.

This is a fun action/comedy/Xuanhuan that is well-worth trying out. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Dominion’s End
December 3, 2017
Status: v3c6
This is a very exciting fun-to-read zombie apocalypse series It felt pretty slow-going until special abilities appeared, and I was worried that it was just going to be a standard zombie apocalypse. The characters are all distinct, the comedy cracks me up, and the action is well-written. I really love the bonds between the siblings. The gender confusion is pretty funny, too.

When I started reading, I could not stop until I was completely caught up. I stayed up several hours later than I originally planned because I couldn't put it... more>> down. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
I considered dropping this early on but stuck with it after reading the reviews. It's a quick and easy read. The chapters are short. There's no problem reading through an arc in a single sitting.

Although the idea of an MC counterattacking the canon fodder's counterattack is somewhat interesting, the novel so far is generic and lacking originality. The characters are completely flat and seem to exist only for the plot. None of them thus far are interesting in the slightest. This novel has yet to stir up any emotion with... more>> me, whether it's feelings of wanting to support the MC or take down a villain. The romance is weak, and I can hardly ship the main pairing.

This series isn't terrible, but it doesn't have any strong points thus far. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Spearmaster and the Black Cat
September 22, 2017
Status: c72
This story starts off slowly, but it focuses on training and becoming friendly with the family the Shuya encounters. It makes sense that he trains to become stronger before setting out in the world. The pace picks up after that, and the story has some nice, creative fantasy elements. I love all of the adventure and gore.

However, there are a few critical weaknesses here...

  1. BOOBS. What is with the MC and BOOBS? He literally identifies several of the female characters by their breasts and doesn't pay any attention to the men. If the translation team didn't leave editorial comments in there making jokes about how completely fixated the MC is on BOOBS, I think I would've dropped it long ago. Shuya literally spends several chapters in a row mentioning BOOBS or feeling up women before a chapter shows up where he doesn't.
  2. Shuya himself isn't very smart. Several different events have happened so far where he just OPs his way through them. It doesn't require any clever strategy. He even lets the humans take advantage of him without trying to do anything in retaliation. When women try to kill him, all he does is flirt with and feel them up (this is not always consensual) and possibly have s*x with them.
  3. The start of the story is weak in how it abruptly makes him this OP creature without challenging him to develop on his own or anything. The greatest character development I've seen so far is when he stops trying to have s*x with everyone hot woman he encounters. Although there is a central plot, it comes across as weak and unfocused most of the time. Shuya is taking his time very leisurely.
The highlights of this series would be the cat and some of the side characters. I like how the writer brings attention to Rollo frequently and seriously treats her as... more>> a leading character instead of some kind of pet or minor character. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Dragon King’s Son-In-Law
August 24, 2018
Status: c4
There is a strong pedophilic vibe in this series. The main character is a college student while the character who is presumably the female lead is a middle-schooler. Worse yet, all of the boys at the college act like they're attracted to her, and she might not even be old enough to be a teenager yet. The MC appears quite unintelligent and lacking common sense in the beginning, so I can't really see this turning into anything useful. The writing is horribly weak. The little girl is a entitled ungrateful... more>> brat with no appeal. I really can't see anything to like.

I was so disgusted, I had to drop the series early on, so I don't know if it improves later. Usually, I give series a chance for several more chapters than this, but I saw that there were no reviews here and felt I should warn potential readers. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
So far, there have only been the set-up chapters, so it's hard to see how this will turn out. The MC is a hard-working villain who wants to do his role well, and I respect him a lot already. He's not being manipulative or nasty like many Xianxia, and he actually comes across as an honorable villain thus far, which is quite refreshing. He tries to keep himself at a distance from others, but the halo keeps making him charm people instead, which will royally screw over his plans. The... more>> hero appears to be a good guy whose past is not as unblemished as he pretends it is, so it'll be interesting to see what is revealed about him from here on out.

The past events are not as clear-cut as they would first appear, and even the MC doesn't know exactly what happened in the details of his current role's villainous past. It'll be interesting to see what is discovered about this and other mysteries. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Path of the Cannon Fodder’s Counterattack
September 23, 2017
Status: c56
The hatred is real. Xiao Ling and Mo Qi hate each other with a passion and go to great lengths to kill or screw each other over. This is not some half-hearted hatred where they stop last-minute, so it's really nice to see such ruthless characters in action. That said, Xiao Ling is a total softy to anyone who isn't Mo Qi, which is one of his charm points. He is cunning and full of expression.

Unfortunately, now that he is no longer overshadowed by Mo Qi, Xiao Ling has accidentally... more>> seduced a couple of emperors. Seeing as his objectives are to 1) kill Mo Qi and 2) escape with his life and testicles intact, this is a huge problem.

This is a very funny series, so I recommend it to anyone who likes comedy.

However, I wish Xiao Ling and Mo Qi had more time together, and we got to see more depth from Mo Qi's character. I'm not cheering for any romantic couples either. I like seeing Xiao Ling free and causing trouble on his own.

Spoiler

We also hardly know anything about how these two were in an "accident" that sent them to the past. Are they from a sci-fi future, where things like time travel and magic-like things are possible? Are they actually fantastical creatures that only recently developed the ability to fall through time? Are the two of them destined to be reborn together again and again? I hope the series answers these questions in the remaining chapters. We know hardly anything about their lives before falling back in time.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Tutorial Is Too Hard
September 21, 2017
Status: c88
This is absolutely one of my favorite web novels right now. The action, comedy, suspense, and writing are fantastic. I hesitated to start the series because I was concerned it would progress slowly and give overly-detailed lists about skills and statuses every chapter. I have never been more delighted to be wrong. This adventure series focuses on Lee Ho Jae's life-or-death struggle in this chamber of death called the Tutorial, and he chose Hell Difficulty. Unlike the people on other difficulties, he is isolated from other humans and only has... more>> the forum to rely on for social contact. The loneliness is real, and the despair hits him hard when he notices it.

Sure, he becomes the strongest person as far as we know, but his struggle is believable. Some floors aren't too terrible for him, but he is definitely risking his life and sanity every step of the way. The suspense is great. Each floor shown has been unique and different from the others. I love the creativity.

The alternating present time and flashbacks is done very smoothly. It is fun to compare the current him who is struggling against being trapped on a floor and maintaining his mental state back to the him who was proceeding through the Tutorial but only starting to realize he wasn't quite normal.

Characters die for real, and crimes happen in this world. People adapt in response to it, so it's interesting to see the Tutorial culture develop, too.

Some reviews commented that Korean archer he's assisting is a Mary Sue, but she has complained about the ridiculousness of the Tutorial and is proceeding more slowly than she could be. We've only seen things through her perspective a few times, so I'm looking forward to see her again. We really don't know too much about her at this point, and there's still a good chance she could be killed off... After all, they don't call it Hell for nothing. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Sinister Ex-Girlfriend
November 2, 2018
Status: c19
With the summary, I thought this series would be something I could get into. However, the pace of the writing is off and difficult to follow. Years just pass by without showing anything in detail, even at the beginning of the series. The writing is weak. There is a lot of telling with very little "showing" for what is going on in the series, and it's not written in a way to invite the reader into it at all. It seems to improve as it goes on, but I don't... more>> know that I'm patient enough to wait for that improvement.

Although characters have their own personalities, there is little reason and development behind them. There is no depth, and the reason for some of the over-the-top personalities is weak. The logic behind the plots and sneak attacks of various characters is weak and full of holes. Although logic is very important to me in a plot, it can be made up for as long as the comedy is good. Thus far, there is zero comedy in this series. This series was tagged with the comedy genre at the top of the page, but I haven't seen a single drop of it thus far. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Need to Propose to Seven Men What to Do!
November 1, 2018
Status: c34
This is a very funny BL involving an MC who paints himself as a white lotus shou when he's actually a cunning, heartless gong who is playing with all of the ML's heart strings like he's in a dating sim game. Initially, everything is predictable and fully within his control, but he learns the hard way that even he does not know everything about this world he had created.

The MC is very likeable. He is hard-working, passionate, and honest about what he wants. He keeps a firm mental barrier between... more>> himself and those he is pursuing. It's interesting to see how each character develops following certain events or interactions with him. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
I’m Not Shouldering This Blame
October 17, 2018
Status: c92
There are many novels out there featuring transmigrators and giving their perspective as they are reborn in new worlds. This does the opposite: the MC is one of the book characters, and hoards of transmigrators have invaded his world. Being a transmigrator is definitely not always a good thing and often leads to trouble and despair. Not to mention, the family and friends of the original characters want the transmigrators to go back and return their loved ones to them. It's quite a refreshing take.

This is a sci-fi/horror/action series with... more>> a dash of BL thrown in halfway through the series. Even if you don't like BL and want to skip those scenes, you won't miss out on much. The world-building, plot development, and character development are all excellent. The MC's ability is hilarious, although it becomes terrifying later on, it's always great for a laugh. The setting is intriguing and described well. Although the transmigrators have knowledge of the original storyline, all of their actions have royally screwed things up, even for other transmigrators who are trying to predict what's going to happen next.

Spoiler

The Black Abyss begins based on what they have told the MC and ML about. They originally had no plans to create the organization but began it later to protect ability-holders who weren't connected to the government. They are overall good guys who protect their members, minimize damage to their surroundings, and avoiding killing or stealing other people. As far as we know, they've never even killed a human. In the books, they were this fearsome organization that fills everyone with dread, so the government, who knows the truth, will even threaten to send their prisoners to the Black Abyss for interrogation... Not knowing anything, those people spill the beans because they're terrified of the book's version of the Black Abyss. The leaders of the Black Abyss are good guys who generally protect the weak and only fight those who attack them first. Don't attack them, and they're pretty nice.

Instead of being enemies with the Chinese government, they actually work together and rely on each other quite a bit.

The book's protagonist has nothing but a gang of transmigrators around him trying to gain his favor and control him. Although a couple of people try to do that with the MC and ML, they're generally too chicken to try taking advantage of the "villains."

The monsters of the other world show up ahead of schedule and confuse all of the transmigrators' timelines.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Sage Who Transcended Samsara
August 4, 2018
Status: c73
The Sage Who Transcended Samsara is written by Cuttlefish That Loves Diving, my favorite Qidian author, and so I checked it out. I was not disappointed! The MC is a guy who transmigrates into the body of someone who appears to be a former aristocrat. The first mystery is this body's identity, and the MC doesn't even know his real name. Like the other web novels by this author, this one has two main genres. For this series, they are Xuanhuan and mystery.

Like his other series, this one starts off... more>> by establishing the setting during the first few chapters before shocking readers with a twist in the genre in chapter 8. The battles are exciting, the character development is smooth, and I love seeing the characters train hard to develop new skills (or else die).

The mysteries that have appeared thus far are intriguing and not straightforward, even leaving the MC at a loss until he gradually uncovers clues one by one. Murder and thievery abound, but the motives of those involved are not always clear. The suspense keeps me on the edge of my seat, and the life of the MC at his temple is sometimes just as deadly and threatening as his tasks in the World of Samsara.

The plot is still unfolding like a walk into the mist with me never knowing what is about to jump out around the next corner. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
So far, this is following the original pretty closely. I'm looking forward to the changes in future chapters and, of course, to the completion of the series. This is laugh-out-loud hilarious with its ridiculous over-the-top scenarios of training from Hell--and the personality changes that result for those who survive.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Jellyfish
June 7, 2018
Status: c18
This is a funny, light-hearted modern-day monster Xianxia acting slice-of-life series that doesn't focus on romance as being the base of the story. Instead, it focuses on the whole cast and their shenanigans and interactions as well as their individual developments. The MC is a fox who has been moderately successful throughout his life and works as a third-rate actor. The jellyfish is a creature who has been alive as long as Earth has, and he's working as a transparent bodyguard for the fox while struggling through college entrance exams.... more>> Another actor is a cultivator who has put a bounty on the fox's head when he was out of the country, and yet another cultivator is a young girl trying to mix with modern humans while working as an actress. The are other actors, directors, and staff members as well--and some of them are normal humans wondering what the heck is going on.

There are many other funny characters, and they are hilarious when brought together.

Each of the characters has his or her own weaknesses, making their interactions even more engaging. There is no excessive face-slapping or painfully arrogant characters often seen in Xianxia, which is a relief. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 6