Report Review
84 Reviews


ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Every Day the Protagonist Wants to Capture Me
September 20, 2017
Status: c4
I've only read four chapters so far, but each update cracks me up. Chu Yu enjoys reading a web novel called Supreme Sword Immortal until a canon-fodder villain who shares his name gets killed off. He retaliates by writing a negative review, stating that the Chu Yu of the WN has his name but not his intelligence. The next thing he knows, he awakens in the body of the WN's Chu Yu and is in a life-or-death struggle to get the readers' ratings up.

His plan is to survive by becoming... more>> a valuable brother to the WN's main character, Xie Xi. Unfortunately, the WN's Chu Yu has abused Xie Xi for three years already, and Xie Xi absolutely fears him and hates his guts. When Chu Yu starts helping him, Xie Xi naturally responds with paranoia and a sharp sword at the ready.

Chu Yu has to slyly help raise Xie Xi while being wary of readers' reviews and fighting for his own life in the Xianxia setting.

So far, it has been very funny, and I look forward to every new chapter each week. The action scenes aren't half-bad either. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
September 23, 2017
Status: c164
This is absolutely one of my favorite web novels right now. Riley struggles with PTSD from being the hero in his past life, and his history is portrayed realistic. It shows all of the suffering he had as a hero who carried everyone's expectations in his previous world. He also developed a very strong loathing of humanity, although I'm not sure if he realizes it himself.

... more>>
Spoiler

He lived in the modern world, but demons and magic became real one day. The only way to kill these things was to use a new concept called skills, and culture changed greatly. Even so, the world was destroyed more and more every day. When Riley was born in his previous world, he first held the holy sword at three years old. From then, he trained and trained to kill the enemy destroying the world. He did as he asked in his despair. He killed humans and demons. In exchange for saving one town, other people would die. When the people said they were better off without him, he left them alone, and they still died. No matter what he did, people blamed him. He died fighting the demon king, who treated him more respectfully than most of the humans he met.

Since the modern world turned into a post-Apocalyptic setting, the most emotional struggles he had were against humans themselves. Since everything went to Hell, crime and chaos became prominent. I believe he first kills a human when he is seven. His teacher raped his sister, so he eventually hunted down and killed his own teacher. His "best friend" actually plotted against him and murdered his parents, and he chose to chase and kill his best friend once he found out years later. The priestess he served cursed him to be unable to commit suicide. It sounds like a warped blessing until you learn that she was extremely corrupt and guilty of any number of crimes. By forcing him to live and obey her bidding, he witnessed and participated in atrocities under her command.

He truly saw the worst of humanity. As he died, his only goal was to rest in peace. When he was reborn against his will, his intention was to do anything to avoid living such a hateful life again. Like one of those reincarnated-into-a-villain series with MCs who try to avoid death flags, Riley does everything he can to avoid hero flags. He fulfilled his duties before, and he wants nothing more of it.

[collapse]

He lives his life according to his goal, which makes him come across as extremely lazy. He also sleeps quite a bit, but we learn this may be related to his overpowering abilities. Although he plays the role of a lazy character, he is perfectly willing to take action and clean up the mistakes of others--he just won't let them see his actions.

The action, comedy, drama, and fantasy in this series are all great. I especially love the combat scenes, which are well-written and exciting. The character development and revelation of secrets is both charming and funny. I am really looking forward to which actions and inactions Riley chooses to make in the future. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Seirei Gensouki ~Konna Sekai de Deaeta Kimi ni~
September 23, 2017
Status: c85
I thought the set-up of the initial plot was interesting, but then a harem was forced in. Worse yet, the MC is extraordinarily chauvinistic. When training others, he is extremely harsh on the boy and extremely light on the girl. He doesn't even realize how incredibly disrespectful and biased he is being. Not to mention, he is this ridiculously OP Gary Stu with a secretly amazing heritage and vast knowledge of machinery and agriculture. Even though he doesn't have passion for much of anything, he can do everything. Not to... more>> mention, he can easily speak most languages in this world. His culinary skill is world-tier. I think he's also supposed to be fantastically handsome, too. He is a jerk and clearly showed that he has no romantic interest in most members of his harem, but they still yearn for his affection years later, even when they haven't seen or heard a word from him during all that time. Of course, all of the girls get along, too.

Of course, everyone who isn't part of the MC's harem or his friends and allies can be considered to be petty villains.

There isn't any real challenge or threat. No excitement. No character growth.

This WN could be saved by side characters, but even they are no good. Their personalities are even flatter and more minimal than the MC's. I cannot think of any winning points for this series. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Throne of Magical Arcana
October 11, 2017
Status: c149
This is an excellent fantasy series that is well-balanced in many aspects. It has great adventure, fantasy, wit, drama, action, mystery, and character development. Lucien yearns for knowledge and begins studying magic, even though that can get him persecuted. His is clever enough to save his life and to attract plenty of trouble as well. It is great to see him grow through his struggles. Although he starts getting involved with music as a coincidence, it gradually becomes something important to him, which was very nice to see develop.

The side-characters... more>> are well-done, too. They each have their own goals, ambitions, and betrayals to deal with. Everyone struggles with their own dilemmas and the consequences of their decisions, including Lucien. Although he is considered to be a genius, he is not a Gary Stu and plenty of his own mistakes, which really makes the plot develop. He does not yearn for fame, a harem, or revenge, so he's a very refreshing lead to read about. He is polite and clever without arrogance.

The biggest weakness I noticed is that the story starts off pretty slow in the beginning. The story picks up more once Lucien starts learning how to read.

I strongly recommend this series. Once I got past the beginning, I stayed up late several nights until I caught up. I just couldn't pull my eyes away from the story. I enjoyed reading it while listening to classical music, even though I don't normally have any interest in the classics. Making me take interest in something I never cared about before is definitely a noteworthy feat.

Anyone who likes fantasy or music should give this story a shot. This beautiful series really stands out. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Murabito Desu Ga Nani Ka?
September 24, 2017
Status: c14
The twist at the beginning was kind of interesting, but the MC has a surprisingly emotionless and unsurprised reaction to it. He also goes through unreasonable power-ups early in the story, which really cuts down on any excitement it could have.

... more>>
Spoiler

He becomes completely favored by the dragon king once he joins up with the dragons, too.

[collapse]

The action isn't exciting or clever at all so far. There isn't much sense of adventure or fantasy. The battles feel like they're being completely skipped over. Where is the suspense? The mystery? Any comedy? The opening pulled me in, but I lost interest again soon after. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Scum Villain’s Self-Saving System
September 23, 2017
Status: c21
The MC wakes up as Shen Qingqiu, a nasty teacher that the original Luo Binghe grew up to torture to death. He must act in-character as Shen Qingqiu while trying to preserve his life. To avoid his death flags, he decides to become the MC's ideal teacher and starts spoiling and favoring him.

This naturally results in jealousy from the other students.

As the MC is completely oblivious to Luo Binghe's affections, it's pretty funny to see how he misinterprets all of Luo Binghe's actions. Luo Binghe definitely hints at liking Shen... more>> Qingqiu early on in the series, but Shen Qingqiu only sees it as Luo Binghe trying to build his harem.

I am really looking forward to the actions the MC must take in order to stay in-character and continue the plot lines without being eliminated by the system. The future betrayals that must occur will risk the MC's fate on the line.

This is a fun action/comedy/Xuanhuan that is well-worth trying out. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Founder of Diabolism
September 23, 2017
Status: c24
This is a horror/supernatural/mystery/action/comedy series with all sorts of undead things crawling around and jumping on people! Definitely my kind of story. Even better than that, it is smartly written with clever plot development and cases to be solved.

To be noted, the MC is SHAMELESS. Absolutely SHAMELESS in all caps. This is important, so I am repeating it twice. I've seen the saying that so-and-so is shameless in other Chinese series before, but the MC here is the definition of SHAMELESS. He is always getting into trouble and is very... more>> active in it. He is a hysterical joker, who is always screwing around and messing with people. He makes me laugh so hard, I think I have fallen in love with him.

The other characters and their interactions with him are also great. I haven't seen any weaknesses in this story thus far.

If you are looking to read a supernatural ghost mystery series that makes you laugh until you cry, look no further. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Dominion’s End
December 3, 2017
Status: v3c6
This is a very exciting fun-to-read zombie apocalypse series It felt pretty slow-going until special abilities appeared, and I was worried that it was just going to be a standard zombie apocalypse. The characters are all distinct, the comedy cracks me up, and the action is well-written. I really love the bonds between the siblings. The gender confusion is pretty funny, too.

When I started reading, I could not stop until I was completely caught up. I stayed up several hours later than I originally planned because I couldn't put it... more>> down. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Spearmaster and the Black Cat
September 22, 2017
Status: c72
This story starts off slowly, but it focuses on training and becoming friendly with the family the Shuya encounters. It makes sense that he trains to become stronger before setting out in the world. The pace picks up after that, and the story has some nice, creative fantasy elements. I love all of the adventure and gore.

However, there are a few critical weaknesses here...

  1. BOOBS. What is with the MC and BOOBS? He literally identifies several of the female characters by their breasts and doesn't pay any attention to the men. If the translation team didn't leave editorial comments in there making jokes about how completely fixated the MC is on BOOBS, I think I would've dropped it long ago. Shuya literally spends several chapters in a row mentioning BOOBS or feeling up women before a chapter shows up where he doesn't.
  2. Shuya himself isn't very smart. Several different events have happened so far where he just OPs his way through them. It doesn't require any clever strategy. He even lets the humans take advantage of him without trying to do anything in retaliation. When women try to kill him, all he does is flirt with and feel them up (this is not always consensual) and possibly have s*x with them.
  3. The start of the story is weak in how it abruptly makes him this OP creature without challenging him to develop on his own or anything. The greatest character development I've seen so far is when he stops trying to have s*x with everyone hot woman he encounters. Although there is a central plot, it comes across as weak and unfocused most of the time. Shuya is taking his time very leisurely.
The highlights of this series would be the cat and some of the side characters. I like how the writer brings attention to Rollo frequently and seriously treats her as... more>> a leading character instead of some kind of pet or minor character. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
So far, there have only been the set-up chapters, so it's hard to see how this will turn out. The MC is a hard-working villain who wants to do his role well, and I respect him a lot already. He's not being manipulative or nasty like many Xianxia, and he actually comes across as an honorable villain thus far, which is quite refreshing. He tries to keep himself at a distance from others, but the halo keeps making him charm people instead, which will royally screw over his plans. The... more>> hero appears to be a good guy whose past is not as unblemished as he pretends it is, so it'll be interesting to see what is revealed about him from here on out.

The past events are not as clear-cut as they would first appear, and even the MC doesn't know exactly what happened in the details of his current role's villainous past. It'll be interesting to see what is discovered about this and other mysteries. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
I considered dropping this early on but stuck with it after reading the reviews. It's a quick and easy read. The chapters are short. There's no problem reading through an arc in a single sitting.

Although the idea of an MC counterattacking the canon fodder's counterattack is somewhat interesting, the novel so far is generic and lacking originality. The characters are completely flat and seem to exist only for the plot. None of them thus far are interesting in the slightest. This novel has yet to stir up any emotion with... more>> me, whether it's feelings of wanting to support the MC or take down a villain. The romance is weak, and I can hardly ship the main pairing.

This series isn't terrible, but it doesn't have any strong points thus far. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Path of the Cannon Fodder’s Counterattack
September 23, 2017
Status: c56
The hatred is real. Xiao Ling and Mo Qi hate each other with a passion and go to great lengths to kill or screw each other over. This is not some half-hearted hatred where they stop last-minute, so it's really nice to see such ruthless characters in action. That said, Xiao Ling is a total softy to anyone who isn't Mo Qi, which is one of his charm points. He is cunning and full of expression.

Unfortunately, now that he is no longer overshadowed by Mo Qi, Xiao Ling has accidentally... more>> seduced a couple of emperors. Seeing as his objectives are to 1) kill Mo Qi and 2) escape with his life and testicles intact, this is a huge problem.

This is a very funny series, so I recommend it to anyone who likes comedy.

However, I wish Xiao Ling and Mo Qi had more time together, and we got to see more depth from Mo Qi's character. I'm not cheering for any romantic couples either. I like seeing Xiao Ling free and causing trouble on his own.

Spoiler

We also hardly know anything about how these two were in an "accident" that sent them to the past. Are they from a sci-fi future, where things like time travel and magic-like things are possible? Are they actually fantastical creatures that only recently developed the ability to fall through time? Are the two of them destined to be reborn together again and again? I hope the series answers these questions in the remaining chapters. We know hardly anything about their lives before falling back in time.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Tutorial Is Too Hard
September 21, 2017
Status: c88
This is absolutely one of my favorite web novels right now. The action, comedy, suspense, and writing are fantastic. I hesitated to start the series because I was concerned it would progress slowly and give overly-detailed lists about skills and statuses every chapter. I have never been more delighted to be wrong. This adventure series focuses on Lee Ho Jae's life-or-death struggle in this chamber of death called the Tutorial, and he chose Hell Difficulty. Unlike the people on other difficulties, he is isolated from other humans and only has... more>> the forum to rely on for social contact. The loneliness is real, and the despair hits him hard when he notices it.

Sure, he becomes the strongest person as far as we know, but his struggle is believable. Some floors aren't too terrible for him, but he is definitely risking his life and sanity every step of the way. The suspense is great. Each floor shown has been unique and different from the others. I love the creativity.

The alternating present time and flashbacks is done very smoothly. It is fun to compare the current him who is struggling against being trapped on a floor and maintaining his mental state back to the him who was proceeding through the Tutorial but only starting to realize he wasn't quite normal.

Characters die for real, and crimes happen in this world. People adapt in response to it, so it's interesting to see the Tutorial culture develop, too.

Some reviews commented that Korean archer he's assisting is a Mary Sue, but she has complained about the ridiculousness of the Tutorial and is proceeding more slowly than she could be. We've only seen things through her perspective a few times, so I'm looking forward to see her again. We really don't know too much about her at this point, and there's still a good chance she could be killed off... After all, they don't call it Hell for nothing. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
So far, this is following the original pretty closely. I'm looking forward to the changes in future chapters and, of course, to the completion of the series. This is laugh-out-loud hilarious with its ridiculous over-the-top scenarios of training from Hell--and the personality changes that result for those who survive.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
September 23, 2017
Status: c30
Unlike other revenge stories, this one doesn't do it in half-hearted measures. Kaito's hatred is real. Yes, he has hatred toward the people who have yet to do all of the things he hates them for, but they have definitely done things worth being eliminated. He goes back to level one but still has a great deal of strength and knowledge from his previous life, which leads his adversaries to initially underestimate him. The flashbacks of his memories really add color to how he became so consumed with hatred.

The female... more>> lead, Minaris/Minnalis, is not all right in the head either. Even so, she is heading toward her goal seriously and patiently. These two are definitely diligent on their training and future plans.

The revenge is creative and fun to read. Although Kaito is no longer heroic, he still has some of the morality associated with one and legitimately struggles with ethical dilemmas as they come up. The first moment he questions his revenge comes as quite a shock to him and triggers some levelheaded character development he never anticipated. This is something that many revenge stories tend to glide over, but it is taken seriously here.

I'm really looking forward to what other crimes his enemies have committed and how he plans to start his revenge against each of them. The adventure, action, drama, comedy, and pure crafty wittiness are well-worth reading this series for. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Friends with Benefits
September 23, 2017
Status: c31
This is a dark, mature series with plentiful yaoi scenes, but it is still interesting if you skip the s*x scenes and only focus on the drama and relationships. It is dark and focused on the criminal and business worlds.

... more>>
Spoiler

A sleezy character shows up for a while and causes some tumult in the beginning. The MC hooks up with him a few times for fun. Later on, he brings down the mafia and reappears as a serious business owner. I guess you could say they thought they were playing with a kitten, but he actually turned out to be a tiger in disguise. When his brother is imprisoned for his crimes, the MC seduces their arch-enemy in order to save his life and also get some cheap revenge on the bastard. Since he is quite skilled at business, he becomes an irreplaceable member of the staff.

[collapse]

The thing I like most about this series is the strong friendship between the sworn brothers who will give anything for each other, whether it be their lives or every juan they ever earned. This trust, compassion, and loyalty is the most fulfilling part of this series and what keeps me coming back. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
So far, each arc has a smooth, cohesive plot. The first arc was well-written and felt like a movie script. The second major arc is still in progress, but I have high hopes for it.

An entire classroom of students are reborn as monsters in a foreign world. They have no idea where they are and have to struggle to survive as they adjust to their new abilities. Unlike a lot of other fantasy reincarnation stories, there is no helpful stat system or cheats to explain their abilities or how to... more>> do things. They struggle and squirm and figure out things by luck and chance. Of course, the class hierarchy is thrown upside-down as everyone's looks and abilities are different from before.

They have to discover how they were sent here and how to return home. Not to mention, they need to learn how to use their abilities and possibly return to human form.

Some reviewers have complained that the MC is very gentle, accepting, and forgiving.

Spoiler

Later on, we learn that he is just very empty and has no passions of his own, which is why he was turned into a skeleton. It seems their personality flaws from before reincarnation heavily influenced the monsters they were turned into. In order to become stronger, they have to face their flaws head-on and work to change themselves. This will be great for character development as the series continues.

[collapse]

This is an entertaining adventure story with a large cast, but each character has an individual personality. The comedy and action are good as well as the decisions each cast member makes. It will be interesting to see how things turn out in the end. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Dragon King’s Son-In-Law
August 24, 2018
Status: c4
There is a strong pedophilic vibe in this series. The main character is a college student while the character who is presumably the female lead is a middle-schooler. Worse yet, all of the boys at the college act like they're attracted to her, and she might not even be old enough to be a teenager yet. The MC appears quite unintelligent and lacking common sense in the beginning, so I can't really see this turning into anything useful. The writing is horribly weak. The little girl is a entitled ungrateful... more>> brat with no appeal. I really can't see anything to like.

I was so disgusted, I had to drop the series early on, so I don't know if it improves later. Usually, I give series a chance for several more chapters than this, but I saw that there were no reviews here and felt I should warn potential readers. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
August 19, 2018
Status: c176
First and foremost, this series is addictive and hard to stop reading. I recommend not starting this series until you have several days off work in a row, so you don't have to suffer working on little sleep like I did... I thought I could just read one arc a day and then stop for a break and go to bed. I was wrong. Hopefully, I have more self-control while rereading it. (That said, I will definitely be checking out the author's other novels!)

I absolutely love all of... more>> the characters and their character development. All of the characters, even the side-characters and the enemy characters, have secrets to their personalities and backgrounds. I love how the MC makes himself to adapt to the original personality of each person he possesses. Each arc is well-designed, and they don't drag on. They cover the plot and give a give an epilogue. It would've been great to see full-length novels for each for him, but the the next story is good enough to catch my attention again and again. Although I would have liked more of an epilogue at the end, I also have fun imagining the galaxy-dominating careers of the main characters, and I find myself satisfied.

The true setting is basically the Matrix. The MC lives in a sci-fi world
Spoiler

where the greatest AI in the galaxy has rebelled. Like in It's Not Easy to Be a Man After Traveling to the Future and some other sci-fi series, people have soul power, which is essential psychic strength and superhuman ability. The AI imprisons those connected to its network and sucks out their soul power to fuel itself, forcing humanity into a war against machines where many of their strongest members have already been captured and are going brain-dead one by one. Although we don't know the details of the other trapped victims inside the AI, it forces the MC through countless worlds to break his will and drain his soul. His soul force is extremely high, so he is able to endure until he manages to hack the system controlling him. He then willingly enters these worlds to steal power from the AI and save his life. During the process, he encounters his love interest, who is also at war with this AI.

[collapse]

The plot came together much more wholesomely than I expected. It definitely builds up as it goes on, increasing the tension in the second half of the arcs. There are some funny errors in logic and knowledge, such as regarding both technology and medicine, but the story was still plenty of fun to read. The writing is well-done. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
I have read Gu Yun's book, Zhou Qing's book, and this one. However, this one is my favorite by far. The MC cracks me up at every turn. She is definitely Gu Yun's daughter. Although she knows a lot from her upbringing, she does not have the experience that Gu Yun started off with, so it is a lot more fun watching her grow and make mistakes and learn on her own.

There are plenty of action scenes, mystery, and a bit of fantasy, which makes this a really exciting read.... more>> Several of the side characters are more fleshed out than in previous books, so the writer has come a long way. The comedy is much stronger than previous books as well.

If you like action-adventure stories, this is one definitely worth checking out. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 5