Report Review
146 Reviews


ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
September 23, 2017
Status: c164
This is absolutely one of my favorite web novels right now. Riley struggles with PTSD from being the hero in his past life, and his history is portrayed realistic. It shows all of the suffering he had as a hero who carried everyone's expectations in his previous world. He also developed a very strong loathing of humanity, although I'm not sure if he realizes it himself.

... more>>
Spoiler

He lived in the modern world, but demons and magic became real one day. The only way to kill these things was to use a new concept called skills, and culture changed greatly. Even so, the world was destroyed more and more every day. When Riley was born in his previous world, he first held the holy sword at three years old. From then, he trained and trained to kill the enemy destroying the world. He did as he asked in his despair. He killed humans and demons. In exchange for saving one town, other people would die. When the people said they were better off without him, he left them alone, and they still died. No matter what he did, people blamed him. He died fighting the demon king, who treated him more respectfully than most of the humans he met.

Since the modern world turned into a post-Apocalyptic setting, the most emotional struggles he had were against humans themselves. Since everything went to Hell, crime and chaos became prominent. I believe he first kills a human when he is seven. His teacher raped his sister, so he eventually hunted down and killed his own teacher. His "best friend" actually plotted against him and murdered his parents, and he chose to chase and kill his best friend once he found out years later. The priestess he served cursed him to be unable to commit suicide. It sounds like a warped blessing until you learn that she was extremely corrupt and guilty of any number of crimes. By forcing him to live and obey her bidding, he witnessed and participated in atrocities under her command.

He truly saw the worst of humanity. As he died, his only goal was to rest in peace. When he was reborn against his will, his intention was to do anything to avoid living such a hateful life again. Like one of those reincarnated-into-a-villain series with MCs who try to avoid death flags, Riley does everything he can to avoid hero flags. He fulfilled his duties before, and he wants nothing more of it.

[collapse]

He lives his life according to his goal, which makes him come across as extremely lazy. He also sleeps quite a bit, but we learn this may be related to his overpowering abilities. Although he plays the role of a lazy character, he is perfectly willing to take action and clean up the mistakes of others--he just won't let them see his actions.

The action, comedy, drama, and fantasy in this series are all great. I especially love the combat scenes, which are well-written and exciting. The character development and revelation of secrets is both charming and funny. I am really looking forward to which actions and inactions Riley chooses to make in the future. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Every Day the Protagonist Wants to Capture Me
September 20, 2017
Status: c4
I've only read four chapters so far, but each update cracks me up. Chu Yu enjoys reading a web novel called Supreme Sword Immortal until a canon-fodder villain who shares his name gets killed off. He retaliates by writing a negative review, stating that the Chu Yu of the WN has his name but not his intelligence. The next thing he knows, he awakens in the body of the WN's Chu Yu and is in a life-or-death struggle to get the readers' ratings up.

His plan is to survive by becoming... more>> a valuable brother to the WN's main character, Xie Xi. Unfortunately, the WN's Chu Yu has abused Xie Xi for three years already, and Xie Xi absolutely fears him and hates his guts. When Chu Yu starts helping him, Xie Xi naturally responds with paranoia and a sharp sword at the ready.

Chu Yu has to slyly help raise Xie Xi while being wary of readers' reviews and fighting for his own life in the Xianxia setting.

So far, it has been very funny, and I look forward to every new chapter each week. The action scenes aren't half-bad either. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Seirei Gensouki ~Konna Sekai de Deaeta Kimi ni~
September 23, 2017
Status: c85
I thought the set-up of the initial plot was interesting, but then a harem was forced in. Worse yet, the MC is extraordinarily chauvinistic. When training others, he is extremely harsh on the boy and extremely light on the girl. He doesn't even realize how incredibly disrespectful and biased he is being. Not to mention, he is this ridiculously OP Gary Stu with a secretly amazing heritage and vast knowledge of machinery and agriculture. Even though he doesn't have passion for much of anything, he can do everything. Not to... more>> mention, he can easily speak most languages in this world. His culinary skill is world-tier. I think he's also supposed to be fantastically handsome, too. He is a jerk and clearly showed that he has no romantic interest in most members of his harem, but they still yearn for his affection years later, even when they haven't seen or heard a word from him during all that time. Of course, all of the girls get along, too.

Of course, everyone who isn't part of the MC's harem or his friends and allies can be considered to be petty villains.

There isn't any real challenge or threat. No excitement. No character growth.

This WN could be saved by side characters, but even they are no good. Their personalities are even flatter and more minimal than the MC's. I cannot think of any winning points for this series. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Great Worm Lich
February 24, 2019
Status: c20
The translation is very confusing at times and often uses words that have completely different meanings from what is intended. For example, not a single worm has appeared twenty chapters into the series. Instead, there have only been things like lizards, snakes, and centipedes, which are definitely not considered "worms" in English. One reader commented that the translation is supposed to be something like Gu, which is prominent in Asian horror novels involving evil magic creepy-crawlies and would make more sense than "worm." Another confusing detail is when a broken... more>> limb gets mixed up with an flesh wound or an amputation. A broken arm is much less of a problem than an amputated one, and these are two very different meanings in English. That said, it is possible to figure out what the translation was probably supposed to say.

When I first chose to read this novel, I expected to see an MC who died with worms crawling over his body before he revives as an undead lich or something. Thus far, there are no worms, and the MC is very much alive. I assume the "worm" part of the title is a translation error, but I don't know if the "lich" part of the title means that the MC will die and come back as a lich later on or if this is also a translation error.

The story development is confusing, which doesn't help the odd translations. It picks up after the first ten or so chapters. The logic is skewed all over the place as far as characters and development go, but part of that could be a cultural thing.

The culture is very interesting to read about and is the only reason I am still reading this series. I'm not sure how long it will keep my attention, but that is the only reason I have chosen to read so many chapters.

The MC isn't likeable so far and hasn't shown much depth. He has shown some development, so hopefully that will continue to be interesting. A cop has played a prominent role so far, but he is basing his judgement of guilt or innocence purely on his gut instinct and not evidence. There are cases I've read about where an officer has forged evidence because he "knew" the suspects were guilty, but they were proven innocent later. Naturally, the officer in question went to prison. The cop in this story is like that, and he's incredibly annoying and sullying the name of investigation. Then again, this is China, so I'm not sure if they prefer following feeling over reason as part of their legal system, unlike the one in my country. Otherwise, none of the side characters have been particularly likeable or worthy of attention.

Although the cultural details are interesting, there isn't much information about the world background itself. The storytelling is messy at best, and there's no clear summary regarding "wizards, " who are more like evil sorcerers or witches in this setting. I'm not sure if any clarification will be added later. So far, there has only been a detail dropped in once every several chapters, so the system of magic or voodoo or using familiars or whatever exactly is supposed to be going on here doesn't leave any basis for the reader to understand it. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Murabito Desu Ga Nani Ka?
September 24, 2017
Status: c14
The twist at the beginning was kind of interesting, but the MC has a surprisingly emotionless and unsurprised reaction to it. He also goes through unreasonable power-ups early in the story, which really cuts down on any excitement it could have.

... more>>
Spoiler

He becomes completely favored by the dragon king once he joins up with the dragons, too.

[collapse]

The action isn't exciting or clever at all so far. There isn't much sense of adventure or fantasy. The battles feel like they're being completely skipped over. Where is the suspense? The mystery? Any comedy? The opening pulled me in, but I lost interest again soon after. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Throne of Magical Arcana
October 11, 2017
Status: c149
This is an excellent fantasy series that is well-balanced in many aspects. It has great adventure, fantasy, wit, drama, action, mystery, and character development. Lucien yearns for knowledge and begins studying magic, even though that can get him persecuted. His is clever enough to save his life and to attract plenty of trouble as well. It is great to see him grow through his struggles. Although he starts getting involved with music as a coincidence, it gradually becomes something important to him, which was very nice to see develop.

The side-characters... more>> are well-done, too. They each have their own goals, ambitions, and betrayals to deal with. Everyone struggles with their own dilemmas and the consequences of their decisions, including Lucien. Although he is considered to be a genius, he is not a Gary Stu and plenty of his own mistakes, which really makes the plot develop. He does not yearn for fame, a harem, or revenge, so he's a very refreshing lead to read about. He is polite and clever without arrogance.

The biggest weakness I noticed is that the story starts off pretty slow in the beginning. The story picks up more once Lucien starts learning how to read.

I strongly recommend this series. Once I got past the beginning, I stayed up late several nights until I caught up. I just couldn't pull my eyes away from the story. I enjoyed reading it while listening to classical music, even though I don't normally have any interest in the classics. Making me take interest in something I never cared about before is definitely a noteworthy feat.

Anyone who likes fantasy or music should give this story a shot. This beautiful series really stands out. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Black Tech Internet Cafe System
April 2, 2019
Status: c58
This story consists of an MC in a Xianxia world allowing the people to play virtual reality versions of games in our world. The story consists of people threatening to destroy his shop for having such high prices, then of people trying to buy his computers, then giving in and dragging more people to play with them. Every chapter or so, this cycle repeats. It's funny at first, but it gets redundant and repetitive.

The MC doesn't have much development or show much about him other than he likes playing games.... more>> This is also true for the other characters but with some trashy family drama common to Chinese novels thrown in.

As for story development or world background, there really isn't much more than what I've said.

Another weakness this series has is when it makes shocking comments about girls getting easier gaming modes or needing to avoid horror and gore games. This is jarring and throws me out of what I'm reading. I love horror and gore. I've dissected human cadavers and assisted with surgeries on living people. What does being a girl have to do with anything?... Of course, even I have to admit that the female characters in the world of this web novel are even more annoying than the male characters, which is really saying something.

Anyway, although this is entertaining at first, I'm not sure how much longer it can keep my attention. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Ring That Defies The Heavens
March 1, 2019
Status: c10
Kudos to the translation team for being able to focus long enough on translating such a poorly written novel. As far as translation issues go, the only odd thing I've noticed is that "Orc" might be "Beastman" in the beginning, but the author doesn't give us any information to clarify it.

The story is so badly written, it's easier to read it as a satire, but it's still really bad. The MC has no depth whatsoever and is like a kid with ADHD who has no goals or biological needs or... more>> anything. He's overpowered in only the first few chapters. Plot holes are everywhere, even just in the first ten chapters. There are barely an explanations about anything that's going on. There are many moments which will leave you wondering what exactly the creator of this series was thinking.

Although there is a game setting, very few details and descriptions are given about it. The dialogue with NPCs is absent. There is no action or adventure described. The story just says the MC does things or kills something. If you are here because you like action, adventure, gaming, or comedy series, this is definitely not for you.

I don't know what strong points this series has, but I don't have the patience to try reading it any longer. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
A Wizard’s Secret
February 14, 2019
Status: c12
I have endured reading the first twelve chapters of this, hoping the story would improve or get a move on. Significant sections of the chapter describe women's breasts (including the MC's sister's and a young girl's who gets molested by the MC's friend) or legs, but faces and attire aren't described. Why is there a hot water tap in a castle? Do they even have running water? Isn't this a medieval setting?

The writing is incredibly redundant, reminding us about the MC's memory problems every couple of paragraphs. The explanations for... more>> the setting aren't clear, and the MC hasn't investigated his background or anything. His friends never wonder why he's acting so unlike himself.

The plot holes are so extensive that I can't bear to read anymore. Not recommended.

There are also missing words by the translator filled in with "..." <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
I considered dropping this early on but stuck with it after reading the reviews. It's a quick and easy read. The chapters are short. There's no problem reading through an arc in a single sitting.

Although the idea of an MC counterattacking the canon fodder's counterattack is somewhat interesting, the novel so far is generic and lacking originality. The characters are completely flat and seem to exist only for the plot. None of them thus far are interesting in the slightest. This novel has yet to stir up any emotion with... more>> me, whether it's feelings of wanting to support the MC or take down a villain. The romance is weak, and I can hardly ship the main pairing.

This series isn't terrible, but it doesn't have any strong points thus far. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Scum Villain’s Self-Saving System
September 23, 2017
Status: c21
The MC wakes up as Shen Qingqiu, a nasty teacher that the original Luo Binghe grew up to torture to death. He must act in-character as Shen Qingqiu while trying to preserve his life. To avoid his death flags, he decides to become the MC's ideal teacher and starts spoiling and favoring him.

This naturally results in jealousy from the other students.

As the MC is completely oblivious to Luo Binghe's affections, it's pretty funny to see how he misinterprets all of Luo Binghe's actions. Luo Binghe definitely hints at liking Shen... more>> Qingqiu early on in the series, but Shen Qingqiu only sees it as Luo Binghe trying to build his harem.

I am really looking forward to the actions the MC must take in order to stay in-character and continue the plot lines without being eliminated by the system. The future betrayals that must occur will risk the MC's fate on the line.

This is a fun action/comedy/Xuanhuan that is well-worth trying out. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
The Founder of Diabolism
September 23, 2017
Status: c24
This is a horror/supernatural/mystery/action/comedy series with all sorts of undead things crawling around and jumping on people! Definitely my kind of story. Even better than that, it is smartly written with clever plot development and cases to be solved.

To be noted, the MC is SHAMELESS. Absolutely SHAMELESS in all caps. This is important, so I am repeating it twice. I've seen the saying that so-and-so is shameless in other Chinese series before, but the MC here is the definition of SHAMELESS. He is always getting into trouble and is very... more>> active in it. He is a hysterical joker, who is always screwing around and messing with people. He makes me laugh so hard, I think I have fallen in love with him.

The other characters and their interactions with him are also great. I haven't seen any weaknesses in this story thus far.

If you are looking to read a supernatural ghost mystery series that makes you laugh until you cry, look no further. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Quick Transmigration: Fate Trading System
December 24, 2018
Status: c21
I'm excited to see a decent yuri series on here. There are plenty of yaoi and het series available, but yuri is like a mythical unicorn. The MC is an assassin who has learned things in the modern-day world. She is not an OP protagonist who is also a master of ancient poisons or bizarre face masks or body-changing magic, unlike many other series, which is a true delight. She is intelligent and calm.

The story is still in the first arc at this point, but it's been interesting so far.... more>> The protagonist is clever and works hard.

My biggest complaint thus far is that the set-up and opening are weak. The MC's history is summed up rapidly without showing the readers what her life was really like or making us feel her motivation.

For now, I'm rating this series as a 4/5, but it has a potential to reach a 5/5 based on how it closes each arc. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
ABO Cadets
October 9, 2018
Status: v1c9
I honestly do not understand the positive reviews. Perhaps I dropped the series too early to see how it improves. Both Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil and How to Die as Heavy as Mount Tai are good series that include alpha-beta-omega dynamics, so I thought I should give this series a chance.

In the beginning the setting is weak, and the characters are flat and uninteresting. The action scene was weak and the battles don't make a whole lotta sense. Although this is supposed to be a sci-fi, it's... more>> not using that element to its fullest, and the science is weak. Rape, s*xism, and boys flirting with each other is not enough to make series good. The smut itself is weak, and it looks like that is supposed to be one of the highlights of this series. It needs to have a good plot and character development as well.

First of all, the science is weak.
Spoiler

Hormones are secreted by glands. In that case, the easiest thing to do to prevent a person from becoming an omega would be to remove those glands and then supply the person with supplemental hormones to make up for what the body is lacking. Since it's sci-fi, there might not even be any scars left behind. Instead, these characters go through the trouble of using medication. Even then, the MC is not aware that he's supposed to be an omega, which is a significant failure of the mother. Kids often don't take their medications, even more so than adults. How are you going to convince someone to take a pill every day at the same time without fail without explaining what its purpose is? Even then, this medication is just something the so-called doctor brewed up on his own. It hasn't undergone any clinical trials and doesn't appear to have been monitored for side-effects or interactions with other things. For all we know, this medication could cause his hormonal or immune system to fail or make him develop cancer. Even then, no one informed this kid that he was a guinea pig.

The mother has failed in her duties to explain the true situation to her son. We know that she is "sickly" but don't know what from and don't know her true reasons for doing what she is doing. She has no character depth.

For some reason, they are allowed to have pets out and in the open. Did someone manage to cure allergies? It really doesn't make sense for this to be allowed. Pets are often not obedient. Even if they are, they could send someone into anaphylaxis by just being near them.

This "dog" then sneaks his way through a scanner while pretending to be part of a white sweater. Since when does a scanner care what color you are? As long as you have bones, you should definitely show up, even with our modern-day technology.

[collapse]

Even with the key detail of the plot not making sense, I was willing to try blowing it off as "magic medicine" or something like that. The battles were what really bothered me.

Spoiler

When the enemy general shows up and takes control of the MC's ship, no one dies. No one is killed off as an example. Then, the "good guy" General Rosen shows up and saves the day without losing a single soldier, completely making the scene lose any and all suspense. For the enemy general, he seriously wasted all his time and fuel to come up here and say hello. Isn't that a waste? Shouldn't he have at least predicted that his opponents would try to fight it out with him? Shouldn't he have at least put a high explosive on board just in case this situation occurred? Better yet, if negotiations failed, he could blow up the ship and then flee. If they didn't chase them, then he got to kill some of the enemy anyway. If they did chase him, then he could use that opportunity to lure them into an ambush. Instead of planning things out, he is immediately taken by surprise and skiddadles away like a startled spider without doing hardly anything at all. All he does is poke Rosen about his former crush and hurt his feelings a bit. He gets very smug about this, too. What the hell? Is this guy really a general? Was it really worth coming all this way just to annoy this guy? Wasting all the time, money, and soldiers doesn't make sense for such a simple hello.

[collapse]

Even then, the battle isn't described in detail. If the plot is nonsensical, at least give me some exciting action scenes! How can you have a story in the military without any action scenes?!

Then, there is the flashback from nineteen years ago.

Spoiler

Ling Yu abruptly goes into estrus. He's one of the few characters in this series so far who has demonstrated any sign of intelligence, so props to him. He actually anticipated that his medicine would fail and took some preventative measures. He had someone else command the battle for him and locked himself in an isolated cell. If it were handled a bit better, then no one would necessarily have to know he was an omega. Even though he isolates himself, Rosen goes out of his way to enter the cell and rape Ling Yu, taking extra care to mark and impregnate him against his will. Rosen claims he is doing this for Ling Yu's own good since he would otherwise be an omega in a prison. Even so, taking these risks and avoiding bonding with an alpha or doing any of this was what Ling Yu decided. Ling Yu preferred to go to prison and do his time rather than becoming a birthing machine, and this is entirely his choice to make. If Rosen had handled this properly and covered it up well from the beginning, all this would be unnecessary, and no one would know the wiser. Ling Yu could flee without going to prison or hiding his gender. Instead, Rosen took advantage of Ling Yu's time of weakness to essentially enslave Ling Yu to him, completely destroying all their years of trust and friendship. He treats Ling Yu as an object rather than a person. Did Rosen honestly expect Ling Yu to still like him after he violated him to such an extent?

Naturally, Ling Yu could trust him no longer and knocked Rosen out before fleeing and presumably faking his death, which is quite sensible. Rosen is broken-hearted? It wouldn't have turned out this way if he weren't a rapist. He deserves all the suffering.

During all of this, Rosen is completely neglecting his duties as a general and irresponsibly leaving it to others. Ling Yu already told you "no, " dude.

Anyway, Ling Yu was a tough person in the military and was fairly high-ranking. Yet, he got out of prison and put on house-arrest. In spite of all that, he escapes extremely easily. Do criminals in this world not even have ankle bracelets to track their position like the ones in our world on house arrest do? If you tamper with those things, they go off. Since this is a sci-fi world, I would expect these devices to be even more advanced and possibly located under the skin to monitor the convict's vitals and status of this pregnancy.

[collapse]

The plot holes are strong in this one. Everyone needs an upgrade to their IQ and some enhanced character depth. I need more plot, more sensibility, more logic. This kind of plot has been done many times before and doesn't bring anything new to the table. I don't see any strong points that other people mentioned. It could just be that this is a series people either love or hate, but I can't see any reason to like it thus far. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Dragon King’s Son-In-Law
August 24, 2018
Status: c4
There is a strong pedophilic vibe in this series. The main character is a college student while the character who is presumably the female lead is a middle-schooler. Worse yet, all of the boys at the college act like they're attracted to her, and she might not even be old enough to be a teenager yet. The MC appears quite unintelligent and lacking common sense in the beginning, so I can't really see this turning into anything useful. The writing is horribly weak. The little girl is a entitled ungrateful... more>> brat with no appeal. I really can't see anything to like.

I was so disgusted, I had to drop the series early on, so I don't know if it improves later. Usually, I give series a chance for several more chapters than this, but I saw that there were no reviews here and felt I should warn potential readers. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Dominion’s End
December 3, 2017
Status: v3c6
This is a very exciting fun-to-read zombie apocalypse series It felt pretty slow-going until special abilities appeared, and I was worried that it was just going to be a standard zombie apocalypse. The characters are all distinct, the comedy cracks me up, and the action is well-written. I really love the bonds between the siblings. The gender confusion is pretty funny, too.

When I started reading, I could not stop until I was completely caught up. I stayed up several hours later than I originally planned because I couldn't put it... more>> down. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
There are only a few chapters translated thus far, but it's pretty cute with an interesting set-up. The MC is murdered and becomes a cat monster in the unfinished BL Xianxia webnovel he was writing. The ML was reborn in the past and chooses to correct the mistakes of his past life and get revenge on those who wronged him, using the knowledge of the future to his advantage. Remembering that his treacherous, unfaithful lover/cultivation partner from before bought a black beast egg from a street-side vender which then hatched... more>> into a ferocious Nether Bird, he goes to that same vender and buys a black egg. However, a chai cat (domestic cat) pops out of the egg instead, leaving the poor ML flabbergasted and without the all-powerful cheat pet he'd been expecting. Even so, he takes the little one as his companion to ease his broken, wounded, and lonely heart. Along the way, he begins to realize that this little house pet might not be as weak and useless he looks at first glance.

The MC is sensible enough to get things done and doesn't lose his IQ with the reincarnation. He's pretty likeable. Although the ML is a bit warped from his past trauma, his sweetness and loneliness makes me pity him.

I have high hopes for the series. There are only five chapters out thus far, but I hope future ones keep it interesting. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Trash of the Count’s Family
December 21, 2018
Status: c93
This is a charming adventure/comedy/fantasy/action/fluff series that is good for some lighthearted reading. The MC is funny and charismatic, and, as some reviewers have said, can even be classified as a tsundere. He says he only wants a peaceful life and wants to be lazy, but he works hard to make a good life and to take care of his people. He says he's heartless and doesn't like certain things, but he still takes care of those in need while pretending he has no feelings for him. Even when he... more>> realizes he's gotten on the path of what he might consider a main character to be, he still continues his actions without looking back.

His companions adore him despite his cold demeanor, and it's really cute to watch. Although there is drama related to the plotline, it's not focused on the MC seeking revenge at all cost or going mad or anything like that.

If you're wanting a fun shounen read full of action, adventure, and cute critters, this is a fun one to check out. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Sinister Ex-Girlfriend
November 2, 2018
Status: c19
With the summary, I thought this series would be something I could get into. However, the pace of the writing is off and difficult to follow. Years just pass by without showing anything in detail, even at the beginning of the series. The writing is weak. There is a lot of telling with very little "showing" for what is going on in the series, and it's not written in a way to invite the reader into it at all. It seems to improve as it goes on, but I don't... more>> know that I'm patient enough to wait for that improvement.

Although characters have their own personalities, there is little reason and development behind them. There is no depth, and the reason for some of the over-the-top personalities is weak. The logic behind the plots and sneak attacks of various characters is weak and full of holes. Although logic is very important to me in a plot, it can be made up for as long as the comedy is good. Thus far, there is zero comedy in this series. This series was tagged with the comedy genre at the top of the page, but I haven't seen a single drop of it thus far. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ResidentialPsycho
ResidentialPsycho rated it
Need to Propose to Seven Men What to Do!
November 1, 2018
Status: c34
This is a very funny BL involving an MC who paints himself as a white lotus shou when he's actually a cunning, heartless gong who is playing with all of the ML's heart strings like he's in a dating sim game. Initially, everything is predictable and fully within his control, but he learns the hard way that even he does not know everything about this world he had created.

The MC is very likeable. He is hard-working, passionate, and honest about what he wants. He keeps a firm mental barrier between... more>> himself and those he is pursuing. It's interesting to see how each character develops following certain events or interactions with him. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 8