Report Review
Report Reason:
14 Reviews


Reitian
Reitian rated it
Counterattack of a White Lotus that was Reborn into an Apocalypse
September 9, 2017
Status: Completed
Spoiler

What? The protagonist is actually a rare gong/seme/top narrator?


What? The first thing he did after transmigrating was to check for his abs?


What? How many freaking tags does this novel have?


Oh, there's so many details, but they're all resolved and they fit together beautifully.


What? Why does this feel like something I wrote myself?


What? I liked it so much that I became the translator?


Therefore this story is a must read. The idiot protagonist was hilarious and his reactions were surprisingly rational and believable given the situations he finds himself in. Although I called him an idiot, he wasn't stupid and knew how to make the most of his surroundings. The most amazing thing was that the MC immediately circumvents the transmigration theme by throwing all the details of the book away and concentrating on saving his own ass. All those "what"s in the introduction aren't for show. While I was reading, I was surprised pretty often. Even the characters themselves found the world weird but engaging. There were support characters who were fleshed out so well that you had to wonder what happened to them while they were off screen. The action scenes were intense, and if you're lucky, there may even be some "action". In a world where everyone is ready to betray each other, the MC and ML's love was very pure and heart warming (it also warmed other things, if you know what I mean (͡° ͜ʖ ͡°).

[collapse]
38 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian rated it
Reborn Only to Love You Again
September 3, 2017
Status: Completed
Hello. Translator here. I picked up this story because it painted a beautiful image. The author has a unique writing style and did a good job tying up loose ends (though there were a few frayed ends where the author missed some details but those weren't TOO important, I'll point out the discrepancies). I'm not sure what exactly the author meant when they said this story wouldn't be "abusive" in their introduction, but I cried several times while reading. The pacing was perfect and you could really see the progression... more>> of the main character's relationships. What I really respected was that some characters resurfaced later in the novel but they didn't feel redundant because the situation had changed since the last time you met them and it was a great use of conservation of detail. The only thing I didn't like was that the story ended a bit abruptly. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
October 11, 2017
Status: Completed
When I first started reading, I thought, oh, this seems interesting. However, the longer I read, the more invested I became. This story is one large story encompassing 15 smaller ones. However, you shouldn't forget that the MC's original world also counts as a world (for 16 total) and I may be wrong, but I believe there are 3 extra worlds and extra H in the printed version, but that's a different story.

I thought the first story line was alright, but I was hooked from the second story because I... more>> admired the author for touching on so many different subjects. The author/translator would have to look up so many different subjects such as the terminology painters use, and the feeling portrayed during war or when passionately playing music. Just the sheer amount of dedication and the details make this story worth reading and it far surpasses the stigma of the yaoi category. It's extremely addicting and I want to congratulate the translator for all of their hard work.

Spoiler

The plot starts to get more intense (as if it wasn't already) after chapter 9, when the MC starts visiting stronger worlds. The author also starts mixing up their formula and the stories start referencing each other, so it's not as if each arc is completely independent.

I always looked forward to what the new world's settings would be and the identity of the ML, not to mention how the MC will mess up the original story line. It's interesting to note that the story will give you hints on what happened in the original plot but keep you guessing on how the MC will turn the tides (even if you know he'll still win in the end). Although the MC may seem overpowered, there are times he's backed into a corner as well. But no matter what, he always keeps you guessing.

The author always points out the character flaws in the protagonists of each world the MC goes to, showing that even if they're the protagonist, they're not perfect. This is highlighted with part of the series' nickname "Turning Black to White, " a twist of the saying "Turn White to Black, " which usually means twisting the facts, often for malicious purposes. Here, the MC is twisting the facts to save his cannon fodder/villian counterpart in each world. However, that's not to say that our MC is perfect or always the victim either. He himself knows that he's kind of an asshole and the author doesn't attempt to hide it at all.

The main story line encompassing the entire series shows just how much the MC fell in love with the ML. For example, after the first world, the MC mourned ML's death for a long time before jumping into the next world, but after realizing that he would meet ML again, he starts immediately jumping into the next world. I've seen people complain that the main story line didn't have signs of showing up, but even in its absence you can infer some things.

There's so much I could say about this series, but I think I've covered the main points. For those of you who really want to know, here's a list of their counterparts in each world. As for what it means, or the setting, I'll let you find out yourself, or you can look at the spoiler forum.

Spoiler

  • Legitimate Young Master x Mob Boss
  • Autistic Painter x Adopted Brother
  • Scholar x Crown Prince
  • Gold Digger x Boyfriend's Uncle
  • Landlord Ger x General
  • Singer x Producer
  • Concubine Ger x 6th Prince Son
  • Super Model x Producer Fanboy
  • Genius Doctor x Soldier
  • Fanatical Priest x God
  • OP Omega x Misunderstood Alpha
  • Waste Cultivator x OP Master
  • Company President x Mafia Boss
  • Hidden Twin x Disabled Clan Leader (Uncle)
  • Emperor x Treacherous General
  • Genius Hacker x Future President
[collapse]
[collapse]
<<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian rated it
The Founder of Diabolism
July 23, 2017
Status: Completed
Once I started reading, I could not put this story down. I feel like anyone can read it, whether they like BL or not. I read in Vietnamese, and there were a few blips in translation, but I could tell that the author put a lot of effort into the story. Every detail seems to have been resolved. Something that pops up in chapter 11 would be explained in chapter 111. It may be hard to get started if you don't know much about the setting and also because everyone... more>> has 2 or 3 names. I have a giant page of notes with everyone's names in both Pinyin and Vietnamese with relationships notes as well as a mock timeline (laughs).

The relationship between the MC and ML was very natural. I especially liked that they were on equal footing on each other with no power struggle. They looked out for each other with moments of both tenderness and hilarity. If you're looking for something spicy, you won't get it until the end. I had to stop myself from skipping ahead because I knew that the development of their characters would make it even more worth it (and it was TOTALLY worth it).

Spoiler

The confession scene was hilarious and after they finally acknowledge their feeling for each other, they start showing off so much PDA even the final boss gets distracted.

[collapse]

The support cast was also really well fleshed out, to the point that I had to look at certain characters completely differently after learning certain details. I think rereading the story again with this fresh perspective could cause you to reinterpret whole scenes; that's how far ahead the author thought.

It was a beautiful story and a roller coaster of emotion. The suspense put me on the edge of my seat; the situations the characters experienced caused me to cry at least 4 times throughout the story; some parts even scared me out of my wits, but even in the most intense moments, the author could cause me to break out in laughter. Although it had a happy end, I was a bit sad to see it end. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian rated it
The Reader and Protagonist Definitely Have to Be in True Love
October 26, 2017
Status: Completed
Absolutely amazing. This is exactly what I look for in a novel. Not only did it have a complex and well thought out plot with great pacing, the character development was steady and believable. I loved that the plot actually ventured on a dark path and I enjoyed the grotesque descriptions. There was action. There was adventure. Most importantly, it was consistent. Sometimes I feel like halfway through BL novels (specifically), the author gives up on the plot so the main CP can get together. That doesn't happen in this... more>> story. Everything about it was intense, especially the romance. The attention to detail not only wraps everything up nicely, it weaves and threads the piece together.

Spoiler

The pacing was so smooth that while I was writing notes for this review, I had to stop and think, "Man, what really happened? I don't think much has changed since x happened besides y." However, I would then realize that while I was distracted by the building romance, there were other things going on, or while I was absorbed in the action scenes, the characters would break through to some important detail. I just didn't notice because everything just felt too natural.

The H scenes were written extremely well. Most authors either skim over the scene (damn those crabs and curtains!!), or write something really generic. However this author actually did their research into the anatomy of some of the forms and again, the attention to detail is amazing. Small, almost insignificant, interactions between the main CP will be brought up in a way that just really lets you feel the love, and it builds up into a mountain so sturdy, even the limits of space and time can't hold them back. I loved that this was a world made exclusively for the main CP even though it likes to throw trials and tribulations at them. Hell, even the title says so. When the world itself is rooting for you, you know it's gotta be good.

[collapse]
<<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian rated it
Who Dares Slander My Senior Brother
August 30, 2017
Status: Completed
What impressed me the most was that the world building and the plot were inextricable tied to the romance, as if the world was made for their romance instead of the romance just being an afterthought. The story borrowed a lot of elements and cliches from other novels but the author somehow wrapped them together in a very satisfying way.

The story worked surprisingly well as a mystery novel. When you think you know what's going on, everything you know turns on its head. All the major plot points were... more>> resolved, but near the end there are a couple of details the author (or maybe it was a translator error, I'm not sure, I read this in Vietnamese) got wrong as well as a couple of unresolved details but those weren't important.

The main couple was really cute. In the first half, the MC follows the ML around but the ML was also trying really hard to seduce the MC.
Spoiler

Which bastard said this was fluffy ah? After chapter 20 it got progressively darker and darker (the story even warns you in chapter 1) before picking back up in chapter 60. ML has some yandere tendencies and there's a bit of bestiality.

[collapse]
I thought they were a relatively reversible couple.
Spoiler

Even though MC is the bottom, ML was technically his wife and ML is a crybaby lol. ML even started to get scared and insecure when MC showed his potential to become stronger than ML.

[collapse]

I was a bit shocked that... basically everything that happened in the novel was the result of someone being gay... <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian
Let Me Tease You
August 3, 2017
Status: Completed
I had some mixed feelings about this novel. It starts off with a good intro and world building, picks up a bit once they ... more>>
Spoiler

get to the human world

[collapse]
then slows down again when the story drops a lot of background information on the reader, and finally picks up at the end again. It felt like there were random details that you could piece together, but then the story drops an explanation on you and it feels a bit redundant.

The absolute best thing about this novel is the banter between the System and the MC. The MC is pretty smart. While he's limited by certain rules, he finds ways to work around them, which lead to some really funny and awkward situations. The ML is super chill but he loves to flirt with his little beauty.

The MC and ML's backgrounds both suited them well but somehow I didn't feel it was weaved into the story very well. It was THERE but somehow I felt when it wasn't specifically needed, it kind of got pushed to the corner of my mind to gather dust, until it got dusted off for the plot.

The characters are all unique, and add to the flavor of the story, but I wish we got to see more of them in the ending. The author also makes a halfhearted attempt at the end to finish up all the tasks.

Spoiler

We never actually get to see the moment JiYuan is finally freed from the system, but we can guess that he is freed in the last chapter.

[collapse]

Spoiler

The lack of explicit s*x scenes made me feel frustrated, not only because it would cut off RIGHT WHEN THEY DO IT, (IS THIS CENSORSHIP AH?) but also because I felt for a really long time that Ye Junchi was one-sidedly chasing JiYuan and that just didn't feel fair. I felt like maybe in bed JiYuan would act a bit differently and I really wanted to see it. Later they have cute scenes together that make up for it and shows JiYuan really did fall for Ye Junchi, he just has to show his love gradually because of the OOC limitation.

[collapse]

Final thoughts: Started off strong, dragged on, 7/10. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian rated it
The Devil’s Origin
September 26, 2017
Status: c84
WARNING: HIGH s*xUAL CONTENT

The story is very unique, with a lot of thought and research put into the anatomy of each monster. It's amazing how the author considered the unique characteristics of each monster to form their unique personalities and backstories. I really respect that after so many monsters, each one feels refreshing and unique. I was also surprised that this wasn't just a fantasy about having s*x with monsters; not all monsters are friendly.

I also like that it has a bit of philosophy and touches on subjects such as... more>> pollution and, well, the end goal of world peace for both sides.
Spoiler

For example, I loved the portrayal of the hero. He isn't a bad guy just because he's the natural enemy of the demon lord and kills monsters. The hero has his own troubles. The demon lord tries to understand him so that both sides can attain peace, and the hero, who fell in love at first sight, falls even hard for him.

[collapse]
It shows that while this is 95% smut, the 5% of world building helped make the world immersive.

The author occasionally writes a chapter where you see all the major monsters collected so far, so if you like one, chances are, it'll pop up again. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian rated it
The Path of the Cannon Fodder’s Counterattack
July 7, 2017
Status: Completed
I couldn't wait for the English, so I read this in Vietnamese and I really liked the way it was written. It was a very addicting read with a good story flow that always made me want more. I admire that the author gave hints where hints were needed and tied up all the loose ends. However, it seemed like the MC had a different personality for every arc and was a bit of a doormat. The female antagonist also had weak character development. ... more>>
Spoiler

I wanted the MC to end up with the love rival instead of there being a stupid excuse like "the MC's body responds only to the ML." At a certain point in the story, the ML's character development took a back seat to the LR's very smooth and well paced development at the time, making me feel disjointed and root for the LR instead. And the MC's background of coming from the future seemed to only be there so that he could have knowledge of gunpowder but... really? Wasn't he an art student?

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian rated it
[Online Gaming] Love You 59 Seconds
September 14, 2017
Status: Completed
While yes, this novel may be a bit bland for some people with its lack of conflict, but the novel is intended to be light and fluffy. It nails everything it set out to do, and for accomplishing its goal, I give it five stars. However, in my opinion, the plot started out at a very good pace, and then suddenly everything escalated and the plot flew along like a roller coaster with jet-packs on steroids. It also had quite a bit of unbelievable scenes that made me want to... more>> shoot the part of me that continuously rings the "suspension of disbelief" alarm.

The greatest selling point of this novel would be the nostalgia it gives. Who else played games in college while ignoring their homework and worrying about their budget? I also met someone who I eventually married online (online only), and this story made me smile fondly in remembrance of the time I ran into the wall because of a bug and my future husband rescued me LOL.

This side characters all had their own personalities, but they were a bit lacking in depth. They only supporting the main couple on their journey together, not interacting past that. It was a bit like a cliche Korean movie in some aspects.

Spoiler

What with the fiance and the father doesn't approve subplots

[collapse]

Overall it was completely satisfying. I feel like it's the kind of thing I would read ever once in a while out of nostalgia on a cold winter day. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian rated it
Hua Hua You Long
July 24, 2017
Status: Completed
One of the stories where you either like it or hate it. I came here for the smut, but was pleasantly surprised to find a semblance of plot thrown in. However, I felt like it was thrown in a little too late.

... more>>
Spoiler

I feel like Lu Cang liked Jin's face too much to justify forgiving Jin for everything he did, but I was impressed at the scene where Jin broke down and cried while clinging to Lu Cang. I was also surprised that Jin let Lu Cang poke his chrysanthemum in the end. It was a bit repetitive with Lu Cang leaving and Jin going to get him twice, but I guess that shows how much Jin loved Lu Cang......?

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian rated it
Mo Flower
July 24, 2017
Status: Completed
Although the story went from present to past and back again, it flowed beautifully. It was a simple story that was easy to follow and left me with a refreshed heart like a light spring breeze. I admired how the title of the piece expressed the theme and was woven into the story. I liked that there wasn't much drama and angst, but that the characters seriously took the time to consider their feelings. When they came to terms with their feelings, it felt very natural. The parallel of the... more>> relationships between the seventh prince and the eunuch and the emperor and his beloved added depth to the story. The support cast all had unique personalities and were very playful. The author's interjections were also very fun. The dirty bits weren't overwhelming and were in just the right place. Very satisfying read. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian rated it
City of Endless Rain
August 19, 2017
Status: Completed
This story sent shivers down my spine. I really liked the premise of the story and the pace with which it was executed. Although I could roughly guess the direction, the suspense kept me on edge. I felt the MC's complicated situation was explored thoroughly. The side characters did a good job of complementing the main characters without overpowering them. My only regret is that the author didn't fully explain the ML. Yet I also liked how much mystery it added to the story and freedom to imagine it gave... more>> to the reader. I feel like the epilogue is up to interpretation, but no matter what, the themes of the novel are very accurately portrayed by the title. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Reitian
Reitian rated it
Cold Sands
August 1, 2017
Status: Completed
Beautifully written, the prose was poetic, the relationship bittersweet. The story was surprisingly realistic, portraying the despair found in war time very well. I was impressed by the depiction of details such as wartime rations and refugees. The characters were written with a lot of effort. For example, the more I learned about the main character, the more mysterious he seemed. The author's depiction of the character's emotions is this story's strongest point. It twists your heart, sometimes leading you on, making you hope for a happy end. The ending... more>> itself was also not a forced happy ending. Instead it felt like a natural result of the characters' choices, which causes your heart to ache, but at the same time, accept it. The extras wrap up the story very well; the supplementary extras were in just the right place. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report