Report Review
39 Reviews


Redmi
Redmi rated it
The Strongest Dan God
April 8, 2016
Status: --
This is similar to BTTH, but much better because there are no romance where the MC is followed around (secretly?) by a closet yandere heroine. Being already OP as alchemist also really helps.

Now waiting to see whether the storyline will match the better settings though.
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Damn, I usually never give a hoot to Mills & Boon jjwxc novels, but the synopsis above simply screamed "READ ME YOU FOOLISH SEASONED CN/JP/KR XIANXIA/ISEKAI/FUSION FANTASY NOVEL READER!". So here I am, reading my first jjwxc novel. What could possibly go wrong right?

I hope Qidian et. Al will realize how important first impression is. And where else it should be done? Of course, it is in the synopsis!
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
I Reincarnated Into a Vending Machine
January 9, 2017
Status: c43
What I learned from this novel:-

... more>>
Spoiler

1. The land of the deviants that is Japan, has plenty of weird vending machines. So much weirdness; the one that sells used panties is one of the normal ones.
2. The land of the deviants that is Japan, also has weird people like the author of this novel that writes about a beta MC that loves vending machines so much, he reincarnates as one when killed by one. Pun not intended.
3. Despite obvious limited mobility, MC do get involved in many adventures, such as helping to defeat a bandit group and also single-handedly slay a dungeon level's boss.
4. Using the fact that in the land of the deviants that is Japan, has plenty of weird vending machines, the author skillfully choreographed some crazy action sequences that actually allows the MC to succeed in those adventures mentioned above. And the author successfully done so without breaking suspension of disbelief or venturing to deus-ex-machina territory.
5. This is because this novel has plenty of slice-of-life chapters where the MC flaunt off many forms of weird vending machines that only exists in The Land of the Deviants.

[collapse]

All in all, this is a solid 5-star novel, which is a rarity in Japan. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
World Defying Dan God
May 18, 2016
Status: c77
One thing I learned from this novel is that I find out I like a series with fast pacing. This is also a novel with one of the best alchemy sub-plot out there (better than ISSTH, PMG, BTTH et. Al.).

The harem sucks though, because the girls are falling over for him way too easily than hookers in Bristol. Or ATG for the matter.
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
True Martial World
May 15, 2016
Status: c386
This is one of the weaker xianxia/xuanhuan novels in my reading list. The storyline is very predictable, even more so that your typical on-rail xianxia/xuanhuan titles like Peerless Martial God. Example:

... more>>
Spoiler

When the bad guy says that he has a gem that will allow detection of monsters-in-human-clothing, I on-the-spot predicts that the MC's sister will be caught. No need to show my facepalm. Jpg when that exact same scenario happens in the very next chapter.

[collapse]

Say whatever you want about PMG, but its MC is better than the this novel's MC too. Another thing I've noticed is that the author does not take kindly to mistakes and plot holes that has been pointed to him.
Spoiler

At the part where the MC got jailed as bait, I started to complain when the scene where he took things from his spatial ring when he is about to escape happened. My complain is why the spatial ring has not being confiscated when he was jailed.

Apparently, I am not the only one who noticed one of the biggest discrepancy in xianxia/xuanhuan web novel history, because he have to use an author note in the next chapter to defend this event. The excuse: Strong person does not take small fries' belongings then he/she kills them.

The problem with that reasoning is that the bad guy (the strong person) did not kill the MC (small fry). Instead, the MC is jailed. In other web novels, even the worst ones, all jailers will strip their prisoners of all visible weapons/equips/et. Al. Before putting them behind bars. But not jailers in this novel.

[collapse]
<<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Dragon Ball Z: Attack of Raditz
January 13, 2019
Status: c10
There are a fair few CN novels here that are parodying JP's IP portfolio, and this novel is one of them. I usually just skim through the description and user reviews and I will go 🤮🤮🤦‍♀️🤦‍♀️🤮🤮🤮 and decided not to read them. But today, on a Sunday where there is nothing worthwhile to read, I stumbled upon this novel.

No user reviews, and a single one-star rating. Then I read the description about Raditz being the MC and I say "This is interesting" and went ahead to read it. 10 chapters... more>> later, all I can say that this novel actually has a great start, vastly helped by the fact that a sinicized Raditz doesn't treat Earth like Chu Feng treats a clan/sect that has slighted him.

Moral of this review: First impression is very important. Therefore it is imperative to have a very good description for a novel, to give it a fighting chance to reel in jaded veteran webnovel readers that will go 🤮🤮🤮🤮😭😭😭😭🤢🤢🤢 at the slight hint of a 'Japanese Pansy Main Character' (JP MC) or a 👿👿👿👿👿🤬🤬🤬🤬😡😡😡😡CN MC that will go ☣☢☣☢💥💥💥💥💥💥 just because someone sneezes within 5km from him.

Merely translating Qidian/17k et al. Supplied-synopsis and settling with it is fatal, because it has been proven by multiple dissertation papers that said Chinese people are simply hopeless when it comes to writing synopsis. As of writing, the CN novel that has latest newest chapter is City of Sin, translated by WuxiaWorld. Needless to say, for me to even read that, I will rather clear my huge Martial God Asura backlog before I will even consider starting that novel. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
I Got Reincarnated And Mistaken As A Genius?
July 28, 2016
Status: c6
This story requires an inordinate amount of suspension of disbelief. Else it will be hard to reconcile the discrepancies between the POV of the MC and the POVs of the rest of them.
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Yandere Megami No Hakoniwa
September 22, 2017
Status: v1c5
  1. This novel has a MC that, after being reincarnated into an adult form in planet Yandere, has:
    1. Immortality.
    1. Attracts yandere within certain radius to him.
    1. No yandere around? MC can also turn any morally-upright female humanoids into one just by sneezing near her.
    1. MC, while quite OP, cannot raise his hands against any females to put them to their proper place.
With this combination, expect a lot of materials for male:r*pe, male:gore et. Al. Tags in sadpanda parlance. Stimulating

scenes are depicted quite well too. Yandere characters in this novel does their role jobs properly, no beating around the bushes here.

Need to wait for about 50 chapters to see if there is any plots; that's how slow the pacing is.

11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Paradise of Demonic Gods
November 6, 2016
Status: c69
What appeals to me about this novel is the MC's character set up where he has his lifespan reduced and all sentiments not related to revenge were stripped away. This means that the readers all know how this novel will end:- At the end of the 5-year period, the MC will channel Chu Feng as he sweeps his sword across the Divine Continent for seven days and nights, moving 90, 000 miles through the starry skies, unhindered. He will slay saints and buddhas in Heaven, slaughters demons and devils in... more>> Hell, sweeping away all the grievances in his heart, before fading away like a firefly. Therefore what is left in this novel is MC's journey to that end, and from what I have seen so far, the author have not screwed up yet. I don't care really what path the author will take to the ending, it should be OK. What the author must do is to resist the urge to modify the MC's current character setup. No lifespan extension, no restoration of feelings of love, kinship, and friendship; even the ability to procreate. With the perfect MC's character setup, which results in a small world to work with, all the author need to do is to write a moderate-quality storyline to fill them up and it will keep my 5-star rating.

edit March 2018: It seems that many other reviewers has a lot of complaints about MC's character setup. Apparently they forget that that the MC become just like that because of the obtained 'cheat'. I have read somewhere that the MC did not change at all even at the end of the novel. Which is a good thing. This MC is crueler than Chu Feng, which is another good thing. And of course, this MC CAN'T r*pe even if he wanted to. This is worth a 🌟 by iiself. The story kinda sucks though, therefore I put this novel in hiatus until only 100 chapters or so left untranslated. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Soul of Searing Steel
October 9, 2018
Status: c39
This novel features an MC that smashed his way through all problems and crises with absolute violence and lack of finesse. Expecting an 'Everything according to keikkaku' character is an impossibility here. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ To this novel because the author does the unconventional thing and put a character that is usually a side-character to a hero in an isekai novel as the MC.

What could possibly go wrong here?
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
I Became a Hero in a Pandemic
July 19, 2017
Status: Completed
A zombie apocalypse novel that actually has a plot that is accompanying the usual 'plot'. The former is actually quite decent; the latter, not so much, which showcased the author's mediocre skills on that area.

Aya-chan best daughter. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

edit at completion: THe ending is terribBAD; no consecutive ⭐⭐ chapters at all.

edit again: Ok, the novel does end with a ⭐⭐ chapter, therefore ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ for this novel.
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
What is a Yandere?
February 11, 2017
Status: c17
From what I have read for now, this novel has two good things going for it:-

1. The violence starts very early, unlike the two yandere-themed novels I've listed in the 'Recommendation' list above.

2. Ecchi things are minimal or done outside the view of the readers. So is the violence.

... more>> No.1 means that character developments suffers quite a bit though, especially for the rapist. I overlooked this because with some skills, the author should be able to fix this.

===
edit at c17:-
This novel has lots of technical flaws, but god damn, sh*t sure hits the fan. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Divine Brilliance
April 25, 2019
Status: c21
Want to see the most unreliable synopsis in Novel Updates? This novel has it.

Did you see the phrase 'God Emperor' in the synopsis above? If you think 'God Emperor' is what the MC would have become at the end of this already finished novel in China, then you got it seriously wrong.

Actually, 'God Emperor' is the name of the VRMMORPG the MC is playing right before he was transmigrated into a half-monster character in the game world. And he only transmigrated 10 years (or is it 15?) before the game's... more>> timeline started, and not 10000 years.

Therefore below is the far more accurate synopsis for this novel:-

Zong Shou is a player of the VRMMORPG 'God Emperor', and one of the 'Seven Emperors' within the game. For an unknown reason, presumably a fated encounter with Truck-sama, he transmigrates into a weak body of a monster princeling. Zong Shou with his half monster body, such a weak body constitution starts his journey in such an era where talents were aplenty. Struggling to stay afloat in such a merciless environment, to rise up above all and to lead a life where he is surrounded by beauties.

One thing that surprised me that unlike many other novels that has its MC transmigrates into an RPG game world in a pre-game timeline, such as 'Summoning the Holy Sword' and 'The Legendary Mechanic', there are no game elements here. Therefore this novels feels more like a xuanhuan than a fantasy world. The author will spend every chance he got to remind the readers that 1. MC is in a game world, and 2. That in that game in his prior life, MC's game character is very overpowered. This actually helps the author construct a more plausible and believable plot armor for MC as the MC slowly become stronger and mow down his enemies.

One thing I don't like in this novel is the game's power level structure is very complicated, it is up there with Emperor's Domination in term of complexity. Whether it is worth it to buy SS when this novel inevitable goes premium remain to be seen. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
God Emperor
July 11, 2018
Status: c373
The author likes his female characters to have plump breasts. And so do I. This autobiography of Kekkistani Eternal God Emperor Donald Trump Zhang Ruochen runs just like your typical xuanhuan novel. No arrogant young masters and mistresses are spared, not even the weakest ones (ones that are like, 6 years old?). No signs of the misogynist tendencies by the MC yet, but I can wait. A certain plot device made famous in Martial God Space and Xian Ni is also here and MC is quite smart when it comes... more>> to obtaining serious amount of money by using his past life knowledge.

Edit: After reading a couple hundred of chapters more, I can safely said that this novel is what will happen if a JP isekai novel author tried writing a long-run xianxia/xuanhuan novel. The author nailed the xianxia/xuanhuan tropes relatively well, but not the characterization of the MC. If you want to find out how an isekai JP MC (reincarnated/transmigrated or not) acts in a xianxia world, this novel will get you started. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Gist of the novel - Our JP salaryman MC that hates humanity reincarnated into a fantastical parallel world set up in the era between the two world wars as a female dark elf. Her cheats are enormous amount of magical power and ability to read people. Combined with her previous memory, our dark elf Hitler plans to conquer the world before shipping the Jews humanity to the chambers.

Leaving only a world that consists of elves and dwarfs. And maybe goblins and orcs to balance things out.

A solid novel if you... more>> ask me, for obvious reasons. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
NEET Receives a Dating Sim Game Leveling System
July 13, 2017
Status: c13
There is only one reason why you should read this novel: the MC possessed the most OP cheat you will ever find in a web/light novel.

... more>>
Spoiler

The save game system, assuming that it has infinite slots and he saves regularly, allows him to return to the past with only loss of character stats as penalty (this is assumed, else if this penalty did not exist, then this cheat become even more formidable). Plus it seems that MC can save without any save points, and can reload at will.

I hope that, in the event of the MC sudden death, he cannot reload his way out. Else, this cheat practically will make him invincible and immortal at the same time.

[collapse]

Plus, this is a Chinese novel, therefore the possibility of a beta MC will be low.

I don't think the author actually intended it to happen, but the parallel world setting this novel has is actually excellent; much better than Absolute Choice, and is up there with Infinite Stratos and Chrome Shell Regios. I hope this author will actually utilize them to the fullest with a storyline that befits it. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Release that Witch
January 27, 2018
Status: c210
What this novel so desperately needs is an AI system/chip ala Warlock of Magus World or When A Mage Revolts. Without such systems, all you can see is how an engineer suddenly acquire talents in disciplines he obviously has never learned on Earth such as micro-economic theories, mass-scale agricultural methods, socio-political systems et. Al.

If only the MC has such systems, the author can then concentrate on writing stories about saving witches, warring with other royal siblings, going against the church and monsters et. Al. Instead, what you will see here... more>> is constant breaking of suspension of disbelief. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi
Summoning the Holy Sword
April 24, 2019
Status: c87
The process leading to this review:-

    1. Stumbled upon this page.
    1. Saw the 'incest', 'r*pe' and 'polygamy' tag.
    1. I say 'Oh boy, this would be fun' and starts reading this novel.
    1. ???
    1. Started to write this review.
I have read until the latest free chapter, and I can safely say that you shouldn't expect a Chu Feng in this novel. MC isn't exactly an 'Everything according to keikaku' character either, with him relying more on his knowledge of the future instead of his supposedly abilities as the no. 1 player of the MMO game he has been transported into.

But what makes me go

is the fact that there is no sign at all that the tags I mentioned above are true. There is no sign that MC is going to have an incestual relationship, and it seems that MC is more in danger of being r*ped then being the rapist himself. Only the polygamy thingy seems to be close to the mark, but some of the characters here doesn't subscribe to 'Sharing is Caring' mentality...

Is this worth buying SS? Definitely a NO!
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Sonohi Sekai ga Kawatta
December 14, 2018
Status: c25 part1
When you have dialogues like “Aaaaaaaaaaaah ♡ I’m sorry I’m sorry I’m sorry I’m sorry ♡ Naaaaaaaaaaaaaaa ♡ I’m sorryyyyyyyyyyyyy ♡“ you realize that this novel is not about the R-18 scenes, because they sucks. See that 'yandere' tag there? That, and also with a 'mystery' equivalent tag, are reasons you read this novel.

After all, I want to know how far the MC can push it when he stick it in crazies. Because there are only two outcomes for this novel, if the author ever wants to finish it. The... more>> MC lives, or he sees the boat. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Redmi
Redmi rated it
Seirei Tsukai to Shinjuu Tsukai no Shounen
August 14, 2017
Status: v2c20
⭐⭐⭐ rating from me. Why, you ask me? That's because, as of v2c20, the novel has your typical pansy JP fantasy male protagonist. The 'pansy'-ness factor is what grates me the most about the MC. For example:-

... more>>
Spoiler

In the v2c20, any sane, reasonable MC with eyes for upholding justice and protecting the masses from pure evilness, would have put the princess to its proper place, especially when the MC has the moral high ground; royalty be damned. But noooooo, this pansy MC yields only an inch and the resourceful princess then takes a million miles.

[collapse]

Actually maybe it isn't the MC, but the author having brain aneurysm.

The story itself is actually OK, the pacing is a little bit on the slow side. Do not get your hopes up for a decent harem romance here; remember that the MC is a pansy. Even a couple of the girls has more spine than him. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report