Report Review
27 Reviews


Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken (WN)
April 11, 2016
Status: --
I really enjoyed the novel, though I must say I've got a few problems with it.

The MC is a good guy, the same cookie-cutter hero. Yes, he is in a "villain's" body but still he is righteous for those around him. The story is great and enjoyable, except for small exceptions it is not complex at all, like most light novels from Japan. What I don't get is the author:

... more>>
Spoiler

The author has really made some weird decisions, making the MC gender-less, while having a romance tag? The MC doesn't interact romantically with the females at all. Heck, he even got a Great Sage title for being virgin at 37, but he is born gender-less? Also the author is inconsistent with his rating (violence, s*x etc.) The author is clearly against violence and murder. Some chapters/arcs the MC kills a lot of dudes. But others the story is made for kids, hit 'pet' dragon rampaged in an entire country in the past, but luckily didn't kill anyone? How is that even possible, a giant dragon rampaging without taking a single life, it's extremely weird and I stopped reading after that. Also the author put in pointless s*x-references with Hinata and her partner. The MC doesn't get any action, why would you only let one side character get actions?

Enough rambling by me.

[collapse]

The story is good overall, don't take that romance tag seriously, and the seinen tag is inconsistent. Enjoy the story 3/5 for me. <<less
34 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Juvenile Medical God
March 25, 2016
Status: --
Stopped reading it after it moved, I just don’t believe all 3000’ish chapters will be translated. The humor is good, and while I like that the MC fancies his teacher, he is a scumbag that tries to build a harem. The novels has a unique vibe and the modern day Martial Cultivation and actions is pretty cool.

Edit: What is up with all these Tags: Battle, Money etc. Come on, it's an action novel build in a modern city. Ofc. There will be money and battle, damn. Plox remove some of... more>> the uneeded tags <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
I really liked the start of this WN. It is rather unique, well written for the most part.
BUT!

The author destroyes the pace of the novel. If you read it you will know what I mean = (.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Tempest of the Stellar War
April 14, 2016
Status: --
I must say I am in love with this novel. The first 12 chapters from bagelson really kicked the translation off. I hope that the translation speed will be fast, from those who will pick it up. The novel is a modern take on cultivation/military action novel. The interactions between the characters are awesome, the story has so much potential!
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Conquer God, Asura, and 1000 Beauties
August 22, 2016
Status: --
EDIT! I've decided to edit this review as the further chapters has changed my view on the author and the novel::
first of all I will change my score from 5 to 3.

--- New review 50+ chapters read ---
While this is a great novel and it can be very poetic and give great insights on life I will have to say that the execution of the novel makes one wonder if the author has a mental disability and/or is schizophrenic. As you read along you can kinda feel that... more>> there is a grander plan to it all, but as you go along it is a complete clusterf**k the author randomly gives poetry and gives nonsensical flashbacks / daydreamery, he can sometimes kill the pace of the story by making up random situation which will promote the character of the MC. While this novel is VERY different with the 4'th wallbreaks of the MC and the totally random plot line I must say that the author has a great imagination, although the execution isn't the best it is still worth a read if you want something new. The story is also very funny at times and the characters are quirky and humerous. --- Earlier review 25 chapters read ---
I've really enjoyed the start of this novel. The MC is extremely cunning and uses every tool at his disposal for his progress. It is really great how he tricks people with his "Knowledge". This is a comedic turn to the normal world transportation type of story and it can have a great future. I would recommend this story to others. However, not many chapters have been translated yet and it doesn't look like it has that many chapters in COO, so we might have to wait a while to see it's potential. XD <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Absolute Choice
April 16, 2017
Status: c341
Let's just say that this novel is very special. The author truly has an affinity for chaos. The pros of this novel are as follows:
- decent character interaction/development; even if it's because of the author's chaotic plotlines.
- pretty nice cultivation/action the MC is unique in the aspect that you don't really know what he is capable off. The abilities in this novel are also interesting and fresh, even if sometimes silly.
- Innocence: the MC is probably the most innocent MC you will ever see in a Chinese... more>> novel. It's not that he is weak minded or dumb. He is decently cunning and sometimes extremely smart.
- Mystery: The characters are all mysterious, most are not what they seem.

The cons:
- plotline: the author is a real people pleaser, as evident in the many author notes. The author mixes the plotline up in sometimes extremely silly ways, just so that the plot isn't 'cookiecutter'.

Pros/cons (depending on the person)
- Chuuni: some like chunni and others don't. I don't, therefore, this is a big negative at least it was at the start, as the MC seemed overly innocent/naive this just seemed to be too much of a one-sided character. This, however, gets much better later on.
- Chaotic: The story won't go as you predict. The author has gone out of his way to make sure that the story is as chaotic as possible while still having a coherent plotline. You can predict some things, however, most will likely be changed or mystified in ways you can't yet imagine.

This novel is not for everyone if you as a reader can get past the first dozen chapters then it gets really awesome and interesting. It is pleasant to see the MC solve problems in truly 'imaginative' ways.

It really is interesting to see where this story goes! <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Pure Love ✕ Insult Complex
September 9, 2018
Status: c543
To those giving this novel a review without even reading 100 chapters, haven't even grasped the basics and complexity of the characters in this story.

This story isn't about epic battles, huge confrontations, epic mind battles. No this is a slow paced romance slice-of-life novel with a shake of mystery and deception. It is an ero novel, no doubt about it. But it is so much m0re, tbh. If it turns you off the skip the ero and just read the interactions instead. This is a story of characters and their... more>> development. The story starts out with the most scumbag of scumbag mcs, a little piece of whiny sh*t. But he will grow into the greatest man that has probably ever lived. The guy is a psychopath, and that should be noted. However, it is a truly captivating story with many great and heartbreaking moment. It is both sugar sweet at times and depressing at others.

What I can say though is that the author is a genius developing characters, even if that is the only thing he really is good at.

it gets 5/5 of from me, because I believe it does more for the ero genre than pure porn and it stands out from the crowd as a somewhat polished jewel. It is a full-fledged story that isn't total garbage. Maybe amongst another genre, it would score lower, however, it is truly one of the best in its category.

I hope you enjoy the read, it is very much worth it!
Be warned the author does manipulate the reader heavily, etc. Hating characters and the settings. It is all part of the plan, trust me! <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
True Martial World
April 15, 2017
Status: c955
First of all. I rate this novel a solid 4/5.

This novel is well built, it has interesting world building and the adventures of the MC is pretty interesting (mostly because of the worldbuilding). This novel has a good mix between action, interaction, and filler. However, the pace can sometimes become a little weird, an example is boss fights or just major confrontations these fights can last anywhere in between 5-30 chapters. As a reader, it is exhausting when the author tries to keep the pressure going for 20 chapters straight,... more>> this is not a major drawback and isn't really that big of a problem with the story. The main reason for me that this novel doesn't have a higher rating is because of two things.

First of all the interaction between characters and the "Romance, harem" tags. This novel is by no means a romance novel, to be honest, the romantic interaction between characters is so minimal that you get the feeling that the MC and the love interest (subject to change) are togeather because of convenience and not love. There is next to zero flirting or hotbloodedness, which is expected when the love interest is developed, I would actually go as far as to say that the author couldn't handle the development of the love interest. The main love interest had a pretty good introduction, but now she is literally air, she supports the MC, but she is just behind him. All of this ties into the 2nd tag, there is zero hints of any potential love interests, of course, we know who they are (mostly), but except for some interaction and quirkiness, there is nothing. One could argue that it is clear who the potential harem candidates are, but the only clues we have is that the only characters that are somewhat being explored are girls. Don't expect this novel to have an amazingly developed cultivation system, although the cultivation system has a lot of 'dao' and nuances. The MC only really powers up to further the plot. His chosen powers are also all over the place, most novels already give the MC an affinity early on, however in this novel, we get that at the start, but then it is sidetracked so much that it is mind boggling. However, this novel overall is still amazing it is filled with adventure and power. This is best to binge because of the pacing issues, but man the author really knows how to turn on the pressure. It definitely is an exciting novel and I hope that you will check it out! <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
God Of Slaughter
September 15, 2016
Status: c0
This novel started out, different, not in a bad way but rather good. Though it all went to sh*t when he gets out of the forest. While it is entertaining the author just made up his mind to temporarily remove all the character development and introduce new characters for the MC to interact with...

The power system is also very weird and imagining the effects doesn't really feel epic, but rather disgusting! while the MC is kinda OP his power system is extremely weird..
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Against the Gods
October 28, 2015
Status: --
This has been my favorite WN for a long time. A great story with a MC who is not stupid and really OP. =D
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Zhan Long
June 30, 2016
Status: c509
This novel is very much a tease. This novel follows the carrot-on-a-stick model that many Japanese LN also utilize. We as readers are being teased with showcases of the amazing martial prowess that the MC has in real life, but in the Virtual world he only gain a slight perk, Truly disappointing. The Romance/Harem goes nowhere it is simply a tease, there is a bit of development between the main heroine and the protagonist, but it is lack luster and not very interesting. The game world is also too restrictive,... more>> the combat could have been made so the MC could actually utilize his martial prowess, but this is nearly a turn based rpg type VRMMO. Although it is explained as a nearly turn-based RPG. The Author explains the combat as a normal VRMMORPG should be, but because of the restrictions of the turn-based parts, the MC cannot use his martial prowess to it's full potential, all he is left with is his quick wits and soldier mind. Also while the Heroine has a supernatural power? It breaks my heart when the author tries to make the a character interesting by breaking the rules he set himself. It is true that some people can somewhat achieve the power that she has got, but clearly not to the godlike extent that she has. It doesn't take the brightest mind to understand that her power is clearly too overpowered and unbalanced, while the MC's gear gets nerfed at some point because it is OP? The author is not really consistent with the content that he introduces, which is understandable as the novel has to be interesting and fresh (which he doesn't achieve very well). The good parts of this novels is progress of the MC and his team (/Guild) as they level up and gear up for /harder challenges and event. However this is also pretty repetitive. If the reader wants a more clear view of a competitive I would suggest reading 'King's Avatar' instead. However, ZL is a very light read and comfortable to binge read, it might not be the most unique novel but it does what it sets out to do well. The fights are awesome and grand, while the overall combat tactics is pretty well explained and doesn't hinder the pace of the story too much. I will give this story about 3/5 simply out of respect of the writing quality of the author, because he actually set out to do an action packed novel with a fast pace. And it has indeed been achieved, it is not obscure in any way. A quick reminder is also that this is VR novel, which not many authors has accomplished in the past (to be truly representative of the Gaming community in real life.) Although the author didn't accomplish this it is still fairly well done and deserves the attentation that is has achieved. While it will never be the best, it is certainly not horrible either. Have a good read! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Shura’s Wrath
October 30, 2015
Status: --
The genre of this novel is definitely: action - Litrpg - romance/harem. Most of the action takes place in a VRMMORPG game with our protagonist, who being a former infamous top player who isn't know very well by others. Though there is a lot of 'sidestory/filler' outside of the game world, which absolutely isn't a problem. The first problem with this story is the MC, expect the plot armor to be strong in this one. The MC is handed goodies everywhere, although he has to work to get it. He... more>> is also handed tons of responsibility and often gets in hopeless situation. The MC is OP and is only opponents are figures that are boss class monsters in game, kinda like raid bosses in other games, which one absolutely shouldn't be able to solo like that. The 2nd problem with the story isn't a problem with the story itself but with the translationspeed, this novels packs a lot of cliffhangers and waiting 3 days for another release gets tiresome, especially because the chapters aren't that long. The reason for the LitRPG tag is because it can't be considered to be a true game, sometimes the author introduces thing into this game world that isn't supposed to be in a game, like event where character can't recover (etc.). This novel is great if you are looking for a read where the MC just stomps other players with a special kind of ferocity. His only opponents are the PVE environment of the world so don't expect too much PVP, as the MC is super OP. The novel should be rated 18, there are some s*x scenes and some could be considered 'incest'. However it doesn't take away from the quality of the work and if you are like me then the romance scenes doesn't hurt at all. This novel also has the tag harem so you can expect at lot of flirting and so on in the future.

The Romance is also quite early so you don't have to wait for a million chapters before the love interest (s) are introduced, which is nice. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Skyfire Avenue
October 30, 2015
Status: --
Read this novel because it's different, there is a good chance that you will be addicted.

This novel is pretty unique, the main point is that it follows a format that is different from the normal xianxia style, and generally the way Chinese novels are structured.

The main thing about this novel is that it is kinda 'mystery' genre. We don't really know the story of any of the characters. But that is further explained as we go along. However, don't expect it to be quick, we don't really get that much... more>> backstory and most of it is worldbuilding and a bit of filler. The fillers, however in this story is pretty well done, most of it is filled with interaction between characters or around a certain subject like wines, meats, gems whatever goes (as long as it's classy). We start with Zeus (Lan Jue) he is a man in deep grief over the death of his partner in life. Certain events happen and these events kickstart the novel, we follow Lan Jue as he explores old, new relationships, and of course all sorts of cultural stuff.

Don't expect too much action/leveling up. This novel is all about the worldbuilding and interaction between characters. There is some action; with and without mechs and it is pretty cool. However, as we haven't progressed with the character it doesn't really matter too much about these abilities.

This novel gets 4/5 - the reason is that the story really drags on, later on. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Very Pure and Ambiguous: The Prequel
January 1, 2018
Status: v2c170
I've read this novel as a developer I feel insulted, it's simply not possible to rewrite win95, especially without core block for the kernel. The same with the schematics for the Pentium chip, man...

But for a quick wish fulfilling read it was enjoyable... At least in the begging, later on, the Author loses overview and doesn't explain details, as if he is rushing to finish, Mind you, this is around chapter 200 with 535 chapters to go, I can't even imagine the end.

There are also some severe plot holes (ofc.).... more>> An example is... he dies, he grieves. He wishes that if he had one more chance he will get all the girls he lays his eyes upon. Eh, what? Why not wish for your ACTUAL crush, damn you stupid.

As seen from the harem tag he will get more girls, + his main girl... I think this is shameless, and I actually like Harems in novels, as it makes the story more interesting with conflicts and a way to keep characters close to the spotlight, and ofc. for the "plot". Just not in this one, it's used as a plot device more than once, just to redo clicheés for different characters. Anyway the first 100-150 chaps are enjoyable, even if ridiculous. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Gate of Revelation
July 8, 2016
Status: --
I like the novel, though the genre is a bit weird, though the translator/author mentions that it isn't infinity it certainly feel like it. The main characters break the 4th wall quite often and bleeds from other works (star wars etc.) happen in the primary story line. The main downside is that the foreshadowing happens too soon and that the MC gets introduced to an impossible task that we as the readers can't find realistic at all. What I would say that this is a normal virtual reality story that... more>> is jumbled up with an original from sites like RoyalRoadl. Not that it's the genre it posses, but the progress of the plot certainly feels like it. Great story overall, just a bit weird genre, that is all. XD <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
First of all, I like this story. However, there are multiple problems with it. The attitude of the MC is happy go lucky which is fine, he is not dense and is the hero of girls. The problem is that the MC is perfect, what he lacks he gets in magical abilities. The characters are set in stone and are introduced as lovable but stupid characters, in short, they lack depth. The chapters are very short and it made me wonder if this story was actually a draft or skeleton... more>> for a light novel.

There no next to no descriptions of the environment or characters. One of my main problems with this story is that it should basically be a fap story, and it is introduced in a way that the MC will at some point have s*x with his 'slaves' but the author is afraid of a R-18 rating. Wait what? The author made a s*xual harem story for kids? The translation is a bit below average, the overall translation is good and revised without any major error, though many of the sentenced seem kinda flat and dull. Might just be the author though. Overall I can't give it more than 2, 5 - 3. The story really seems to be the rough sketch of a normal ln. The story could be good but it really lacks flavor, it wins it's audience with a fast paced story and fan service. Btw it took me about an hour to read all the translated chapter... (114). This is a manga in text.. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
The Alchemist God
November 25, 2015
Status: --
In my opinion this is the best of "Shi Luo Ye"'s works.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz
Dungeon Defense
September 23, 2016
Status: c0
This novel is really great! It kinda has that Overlord feel, while keeping it a bit more shameless than the usual Dark Fantasy / JP light novel. These pace of this story can be considered fast and the volumes are well separated so they doesn't really overlap except for the primary plot-line. The MC is a capable, intelligent and a true psychopath! He is lazy when he can, but he will act when required, for new readers don't be bothered by the fact that the MC hinders the advancement of... more>> the story with his laziness, he makes up for it!

The romance / Harem of this story is extremely twisted and not in the sense of death or NTR, but simply the fact that the characters has a weird and special view on 'love'.

It's a fantastic read, but the only thing I will say is that it is nearly impossible to follow the pace with the titles on location/time/date before a phase-shift. Sometimes you can mess up the chronology of the story if you aren't careful. I did that in the end of the 2nd Volume!

Cheers have a good read! Oh and do keep in mind that this isn't really an action novel, I know it says so in the tags, but there truly isn't really action it is just politics and strategy! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz rated it
Swallowing the Heavens
July 8, 2016
Status: c30
I would highly recommend this novel. This novel is about a man who has everything a mortal can desire and end up losing it. He will try to regain his honor and by doing that he will fight on a more grand stage. The Theme of this novel is Daoism with a great amount of mythology and cultivation. The characters are distinct and through the protagonists thoughts we get to know these characters. The only problem with this novel is the antagonists, they aren't really a threat to the protagnist,... more>> it might seem like it, but they can't beat him intellectually or potential. But even then characters are different and I for once can remember most of the side characters.

The translation speed isn't the highest, though it seem to be catching up to a few releases pr. Week.

Again I recommend this novel and I hope it continues to progress and expand in therms of world building and interaction with characters! Also good for once to see a cultivation method that isn't just meditation! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Recklezz
Recklezz
Ancient Godly Monarch
April 28, 2016
Status: --
This novel is a work, by the same author as PMG. That is to say, don't read this novel if you look for complexity and compelling plots. This is an action novel, filled with the thrill of the hunt. However, the characters aren't that well done, but the story is still very enjoyable. I would recommend this novel to anyone who likes other Xianxia type novels. It doesn't do anything new, but the theme it carries, it carries fairly well. Enjoy.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report