Report Review
57 Reviews


ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
Instant Death
December 4, 2017
Status: v2c14
Transported to a world full of assholes, the op MC murders anyone who comes after him with bad intentions. A satisfying tale of unforgivable assholes being stomped.

Honestly, the mc's a tool. All the character development goes into showing how much of an asshole the side characters are before stomping all over them. It's actually really satisfying.

However, at c34 the translator changes, and the story becomes a barely readible mess.
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
The story summary probably has more content than the first 30 chapters will.

Chapter Summary

Ch 1. The MC is summoned with his class. Time passed, 0 minutes.

... more>> Ch 2. The MC checks his status. Time passed, 3 minutes.

Chapters are extremely short and cut at awkward times. The first 2 chapters might be a page long together, and are both during the same scene. In fact, I expect this 1 scene will take 8 chapters to complete, where other stories would do it in 1. This is destroying the flow and cohesion of the story.

At present, this story is below average, but subdividing chapters will likely cause the author to repeat details and parts over and over again, and it's all but guarenteed to grow worse as time progresses. While "how trashy" this story ends up remains to be seen, this story will enevitably end up bad. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
Why Did You Summon Me?
May 11, 2018
Status: c141
Update ch. 141

[email protected] this ecchi waifu Bull $h1t. There was about 15 chapters of good action when I updated last time, so I didn't really mention it, but the ecchi waifu crap is GROSSLY overused. When action scenes aren't happening, 1/2 of each chapter is focused on describing about the female characters in some SOFTEST-core provocative situation. It's like reading a tween's journal entry about the one time they saw a page from a lingerie catalogue. Adding onto the problem with jokes bogging down the story, and 2/3rds of every... more>> chapter is just wasted ink (excluding the rare action chapter where only 10% of a chapter is wasted.)

If the author skipped 90% of the repetitive ecchi BS and halved the number of jokes, this story would be less than half as long and twice as good. It's honestly bogging down the story to the point where I'm going to stop reading altogether. There's a good story buried under all the SOFTEST-core ecchi crap, maybe even a great story, but the overuse of ecchi scenes and jokes is LITERALLY RUINING THIS NOVEL.

Update ch. 124

Stuff's been happening since ch. 60, but nothing really outstanding. They've left the school around ch 110, but it's temporary, and the cheap harem element and s*xualization of every female character continue to cling to this novel. If a female character's of note is introduced, you can be sure the first thing the author will describe is how big her tits are.

There's some amusing humor, but nothing exceptional, and it's mostly the type of humor that sidetracks the plot rather than contributing. Honestly, the humorous moments are thrown around so much that it's probably doubled the story's length. The story and character development are largely neglected in favor of jokes and humor, but the humor is used too often, and is largely mediocre, thus losing most of its impact. The overuse of humor has choked the life out of this story.

I'm going to keep reading simply because the translator posts a chapter every day. It's not great, but I don't mind reading it for 10 minutes a day. However, I doubt many people will enjoy binge reading it.

Review at ch. 47 below

This novel is just wasted potential. It had some unique elements, but is currently in the process of devolving into a typical "OP MC School Harem" novel.

However, the real problem is the MC's objective. The writer gave the MC a long term goal, but no short term goals except to make money in preparation for their long term goal. Without short term goals, there is no payoff, and the novel's narrative feels like a flat line as a result.

I'm at c47 and nothing of note has happened since c1... <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
An opening so plain it hurts. No attempts at believable motivations, obvious logical holes, and a plot I'm willing to bet I can guess the next 100 chapters of based on the first 2 chapters.

His party members betray him because... eh? I mean, they blame jealousy. However, it just doesn't make sense. You join this person's party and pretend to be his friend/family/love interest for THREE YEARS in order to kill him because you're jealous? Not just 1 person, but THREE people who were unrelated prior to joining his party.... more>> I mean come on!!!

Then there's the whole point that they're killing off the strongest hero BEFORE killing off the demon lord. Firstly, this makes NO SENSE. Secondly, I can already tell you, a main driving plot of this story later on is going to be "without the strongest hero, the Demon Lord is free to wreak havoc, so please come back and be a hero." Then we'll have some drama about not wanting to come back and BLAH BLAH BLAH. It's too obvious!!! <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
The City of Terror
May 7, 2018
Status: c3
Sigh. Another one?

There are a ton of CN fantasy apocolypse novels, and they're all the same. MC has a military/assassin/time reverter/underdog identity, giving him an advantage over others. People backstab people in a dog-eat-dog world. MC begins gathering a party/building a nation.

Spoiler? The author or translator will inevitably drop the story because there's no end goal to the story and it's just kind of chugging along and growing stale.
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
Lv1 Skeleton
October 17, 2017
Status: c50
The best way to describe this story is mediocre. It isn't bad, but there's nothing really special about it either. Most chapters have some time skip where the MC grinds a newly acquired skill to maximum immediately in the middle of a chapter, and adding in the actual time skips, it feels like the author is trying to rush through his own story.
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
A Wild Last Boss Appeared
November 4, 2017
Status: c10
Despite the premise of a player being transported into the body of their op character in a game world turned real, the story focus itself is actually something different. Due to the fusion of memories between the player and the character, this novel is more about a tyrannical, but fair leader returning to explore the world after disappearing for 200 years and finding that since they were overthrown, the whole world's basically fallen to ruin.

It's fun, interesting, and seems to be building up to something.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
Trash of the Count’s Family
October 12, 2018
Status: c37
Wow. This is a novel where the MC is subtle and clever without the author stopping for half a page to explain things. Of course, that means you might miss some clever moments, but I personally prefer this. The author doesn't tell you, he shows you.

Having said that, there's a lot of people claiming the opposite. However, they seem to be missing the point. The story isn't about the hero's original journey, although the MC mentions it a lot. It's about the MCs careful social manipulations.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
A poorly written soft core fetish novel about a loli succubus and her adoptive "Daddy."

No matter what other reviews say, the author's focus isn't the story. They're practically tripping over themselves to rush through the opening and get to the fetish content, which isn't good for story telling. Additionally, if you've listened to the cringy dialogue of a porno, you know what to expect from the novel overall with how forced everything is.

Content aside, just it isn't written very well.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
Night Ranger
November 7, 2017
Status: c735
Rather than telling you how awesome the MC is, the writer actually shows you. The combat in this novel is much more interesting than other novels as the MC uses simple tactics and creativity to outmaneuver his opponents, (without having to spend half a chapter explaining the process,) rather than just relying on a superior stats or raw power. This story is 90% action, but the action is done well and keeps me interested, something that most high-action stories fail to do.

However, the story itself is very basic. The... more>> Apocalypse is going to begin in 6 months and the MC needs to power level in that time in order to survive. Thankfully, the author is sticking to the main storyline and progressing at a reasonable pace, so the story doesn't feel slow or padded out.

However, the ending is rather inconclusive. It's not terrible, but not great. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
I've only finished the 1st chapter but can't bring myself to continue, so I'm going to review this novel to inform other potential readers, but I don't think it'd be fair of me to rate it.

You know how some characters sometimes do insane, out of character, self destructive things for the purpose of plot convenience or contrived tension instead of any reasonable or rational exercise of thought? The MC is reincarnated as the main villain of a visual novel and every time he enters a "scene" from the game, he... more>> loses free will and is forced to act out the scene of a villain who does pointlessly evil things because he's evil.

Honestly, characters doing insane things for plot convenience or contrived tension is one of the easiest ways to ruin a novel for me, and that's apparently one of the major sources of tension in this novel. As such, I just can't bring myself to keep reading. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
An Unyielding Wind
July 5, 2018
Status: v1c9 part2
This story is superficial. Everybody's either the mc's mortal enemy, or a lifelong friend willing to sacrifice anything for their relationship with the MC, and it all seems to be decided at the moment they meet the MC. Honestly, watching everyone fall into these extremes made me disenterested. (Discontinued reading)

"Oh no, this person turned out to be your new mortal enemy, just like half the people you meet... What a surprise?"

"Oh yay, this person turned out to be a true ally, willing to fight beside you regardless of... more>> the odds, just like half the people you meet... What a surprise?"

Can we get some motivation please? Nobody seems to gravitate towards these extremes for any discernable reason. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
Arena
June 25, 2018
Status: c131
The beginning is extremely strong. 5 star strong easily for quite a while.

The MC starts off as "strong for a beginner, " but not op. He has to make tough decisions in order to survive, and some of them are morally questionable. Despite his strength, he can't overwhelm his opponents and has to outwit them. Additionally, even though he has MC death immunity, his companions do not, and there's a real sense of stakes and tension.

The problem is, after he meets the elves, all the novel's strong points are thrown... more>> away. The MC becomes op, can curb stomp enemies, no longer needs to plan or think, gets easy choices without any moral conundrums, and gets op companions who have no chance of dying.

The MC became bland and the story became bland.

Finally, the real life stuff sucks. Money = Love in Korea I guess. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
Valhalla Saga
November 30, 2017
Status: v37c3
The best web novel with norse mythology I have ever read. If you like norse mythology, you will like this novel.

Keep in mind, most of the characters are norse warriors and the culture follows suite. Don't go into this novel expecting a korean lore or feel.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
The Tutorial Is Too Hard
November 21, 2017
Status: c132
This story starts off following the MC's struggle to survive. However, because of his nature, he quickly gets ahead of the curve and it instead becomes a story about the MC pushing himself to the limits. However, the tutorial itself is designed to test the MC, so instead of it becoming physically challenging for the character to survive, it becomes a story about him struggling with loneliness, depression, and a degree of madness.

The character does become OP, but that begins to work against him. People are afraid of him, adding... more>> to his isolation during the few times he even gets to interact with others.

The story is told as a flashback, with the author snapping back to the present in order to forshadow things or talk about the outside world. It allows for some really nice moments. As an aside, the story shifts focus like a traditional book, never focusing on 1 aspect to the point of boredom. Additionally, the writing/translating is top notch. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
My Pet Is a Holy Maiden
November 19, 2017
Status: c52
This story has a 4 1/2 star opening before it settles into mediocrity. The relationship starts off with the MC being weak and the Female lead being strong, which was interesting. I was looking forward to the male MC being the damsel in distress for a change. Then the MC gets OP all of a sudden, killing the dynamic along with most of the things that made this novel unique.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
November 3, 2017
Status: c289
This novel starts off as a typical Japanese (transported to fantasy world) story, and proceeds to act very similar. Similarly, the MC starts off as a typical OP Japanese-transported-to-a-fantasy-world character, and proceeds to act like one the majority of the time. However, there's an underlying story element that sneaks up on you that changes the whole thing as you continue to read and retrospectively changes the context of a lot of the story as it's revealed. However, it's subtle, so it might take others longer to notice it. Honestly, if... more>> you can't deal with the typical Japanese MC for a LONG time, I don't think this series will be enjoyable for you.

Don't read the spoiler if you can avoid it.

Spoiler

The MC is a ticking time bomb. He's pretending to be a typical Japanese MC and isn't even aware that he's something else entirely. However, more of his true nature is being revealed as time goes by. Events drive sudden character developments by the MC, leaving nearby characters unsettled and caught off guard by his sudden growth and insight.
Although it took a long time to get there, at a certain point the MC started to make me pleasantly uncomfortable. Though highly unlikely, this MC gives me the feeling that depending on what stimulates his development and whether or not he's pushed into a corner, any character who isn't his direct subordinate could be reduced to a bloody mist with little to no provocation.

It's like a psychopath with more power than god living the life of a common person because that's the only way he's ever lived (in Japan,) and the moment he realizes that he's a psychopath, the world will end.

[collapse]
<<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
The Devil’s Evolution Catalog
September 9, 2017
Status: c322
Strong start, but it got really repetitive after the MC enters hell (Like chapter 30...) 90% of the content after this point is the same, and it takes entirely too long for the MC to progress. I was invested before, mostly because I'd already gotten past the worst part, but now that the TL is coming back after a long wait, I can't bring myself to start it back up.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
ReadsWebNovels rated it
I Was a Sword When I Reincarnated (WN)
August 6, 2018
Status: c123
The story's flat. No peaks or tension. 95% of opponents are weaklings who could never pose a threat to the MC, yet all of the problems can be and are solved using brute strength.

It's another meandering directionless slice-of-life story.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ReadsWebNovels
A breath of fresh air. It's the same world and rules as a typical JPN fantasy novel, but with realistic logic. This may be the strongest opening to a novel I've ever read.

Can't fault any part of the story to this point except for personal preferences.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3