Report Review
19 Reviews


Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
Shura’s Wrath
October 22, 2017
Status: c570
I'm sorely disappointed by this series. It started out well and I had great expectations of it from the start but as the story progressed... Anyways, I'm probably dropping this series.

The value of suspense in the story is greatly lowered by how cliche the results are.

Here are a few more imitations (parodies?) of why I'm dropping this:

The story has no sense of plot mapping.

... more>>
Spoiler
  • Ling Chen wipes his arse.
  • Ling Chen takes a sh*t.
  • Ling Chen has an ultimate OP ability that allows him to reverse the order of his actions called 'Breaking the Laws of Causality'.
[collapse]

The main character depends too much on his luck rather than ability. There's no excitement at all, as a reader, I've subconsciously developed a line of thought that the MC won't die anyways. Surely there another 'miracle' again waiting just around the corner.

Spoiler
  • Ling Chen sees a big red button with the words 'Please don't press this button'.
  • Ling Chen will not be Ling Chen if he doesn't press the button.
  • Ling Chen presses the button which was supposed to destroy everything in a nuclear explosion within a hundred mile radius.
  • Miraculously, due to a strange virus that infected the advance system that was suppose to trigger the explosion, Ling Chen instead finds out that he gained an absurd ability called 'Main Characters Privilege'.
[collapse]

Another example of the above scenario?

Spoiler
  • Ling Chen is being chased by his landlord because he hasn't paid his rent.
  • Ling Chen tries to fight back. But the landlord is too strong. Ling Chen is about to lose.
  • Passive ability 'MC Privilege' activates.
  • The Divine Truck of Comedic Relief suddenly appears and hits the landlord.
  • The blood splattered truck disappears into the horizon, but not before dropping one of its cargo.
  • Ling Chen opens the cargo and acquires the item 'MC Plot Armor'.
[collapse]

There are a few glaring plot holes which have been skipped and overlook. I don't even know if the story is focused on the Virtual Reality tag or the Xinxia tag. There's a lot more I want to say but sadly, that'd be something like insulting the author? One those are the mentions of *cough cough* shameless *cough cough* pirates. (Dunno if he was being a hypocrite...)

I'd recommend this story if you're interested in overly childish scenarios that are probably unrealistic in real life. In short, it's gotten too deep into fantasy and fiction.

Spoiler

Bullsh*t ability of being better than anyone else in wielding different kinds of weapons, even being able to sync a spear and a sword, two completely different weapons to become an absolute killing machine.

[collapse]
<<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
I find the story hilarious and funny. I don't know if that's because of my sadistic tendencies. You can enjoy the novel if you have apathy, cut off your emotions from affecting you or you just came for the f*p material though. Overall detailed scenes and pretty much enjoyable.

It's fun. I say, it's not only masochists who enjoy good NTR.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
Seoul Station’s Necromancer
September 13, 2017
Status: c185
The MC is a psychopathic muscle headed jerk who is no better than a villain. The people are supposed to see him as a hero yet he has no redeeming characteristics except for his OP powers. The MC is dumb and does what he does because he has the power to do so. His personality is the worst.

But what's worse than the trashy MC is the way the author tries to justify what he does.

... more>>
Spoiler

I even wonder how he survived Alphen with how dumb he was.

If he did not have the power to see through souls, he'd probably be a clown unable to see through the simplest tricks.

[collapse]

The character's actions justify his character not other way around. The MC is immature. Did I mention the MC is dumb as a rock?

The suspense buildup is dismally stale. The comedy isn't even funny.

A huge part of what makes a story interesting are its characters. I regret having read this but I have motto to read things through to the end. I had high hopes that the MC would go through a bit of character development (duh, this is supposed to be seinen? The MC's, personality hasn't changed from chapter 1 to chapter 185), I am sorely disappointed.

It was a waste of time reading this. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
The Strongest Guild Master Founded a Nation in a Week
February 10, 2018
Status: c109
Disappointing.

I'm repeating what some other reviewers said. It's similar to Overlord. ... more>>
Spoiler

An Overlord rip-off.

[collapse]

This story is not for serious readers. If you wanna read, then do it if you have time to waste. In other words, its a waste of time. It's not that good, plot 2/5, characters 2/5, and world building 2/5. I was hoping for some interesting developments but nada~. I gave the story a chance in case in would become a little better on the later chapters but... oh well.

There's nothing new that you haven't seen already if you've read a few stories with game elements, transported into another world, and OP protagonist tags on it. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
Release that Witch
August 10, 2017
Status: c202
The story has been enjoyable so far. Aside from the main plot, the interactions between the characters has been interesting. I'd call the story progress as slow with 4 volumes only covering about six months or so in the story.

But aside from the slow progress, main character's character development and sometimes annoyingly clustered info dumps, this story is one of those rare jewels. The 'Kingdom Building' tag is not exaggerated. The main plot can keep you addicted with it's intricacy.

I've only so far up to vol. 4 but I know... more>> my 5 rating won't change. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Okay, I admit to the other reviews saying that the MC is annoying as f**k. The MC is a disgusting hypocrite, an idiot and a coward. But the interesting world building more than makes up for it in my books. The story isn't the first to try to take up the concept of a non-human MC trying to find a way to get along with humans (though finding lesser success than his counterparts), but that in itself is rare.

I have high hopes for the stories character development seeing at where... more>> this is going at. The average rating of 3-3.5 is quite harsh in my opinion, it should at least have a rating of 4. But well, most people can't tolerate a 'bad' MC. If you can, then you might find the story enjoyable. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
Bringing The Farm To Live In Another World
March 7, 2018
Status: c279
I've read this story was hoping for an interesting read but...

I don't know what to say any... does the author even know anything about 'real' farming? It's all so stupid.

... more>>
Spoiler

The MC needed corn seeds. He needed a special function/power in order to get the corn seeds. What the actual f**k? This...

[collapse]

Reading this made me want to puke. It's a like an 8th grader trying to write down his fantasies. I don't even know where he got the idea that rice grow on trees. Are you even Asian? (Well, southeast Asian... where the staple diet mainly consists of rice.)

The story is full of plot holes. This is one of the stories I've truly regretted ever reading. Period. If you know some things about real farming, you'd feel insulted reading this. Seriously. Reading the story made me want to vomit a few times. Maybe its my body's natural reaction to something extremely repulsive (when I find human excrement unpleasant but not that unbearable to look at). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
M E M O R I Z E
February 15, 2018
Status: c57
It's a good read until chapter 51. Zenith Novels stopped translating and the novel turn to sh*t. It's worse than mtl.

I'm hoping for a continuation of this though. Overall, the story is good. The pacing is a bit too slow with an event spanning several chapters. The characters are decently written.

... more>>
Spoiler

A minus for me is I don't quite get the MC emotional standpoint. There are also a few contradictions in his character. If he is a purely rational rather than an emotional type of person, his decisions aren't supposed to go this way. That's what I felt on some parts of the story.

[collapse]

I'd recommend this story if only they would continue updating it. It's fairly good, I thinks it's better than 'Dungeon Hunter' but not quite as good as 'King of the Battlefield'. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
Legend of the Great Saint
April 8, 2018
Status: c130
The story is great. Discusses certain philosophical views on things, makes the story really interesting read. I'm of the opinion that this story might turn out differently from other CN novels but the last few chapters are dissuading me of that notion.

Hope I'm wrong though cause I am enjoying reading this. The only downside is the update speed.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
The Death Mage Who Doesn’t Want a Fourth Time
September 26, 2017
Status: c79
Aside from overabundance of info dumps about food and cooking, the story is actually good. The revenge and betrayal tag doesn't wear off even past the latest chapters (unlike a certain story... Shiel- *cough cough* Hero). Please don't lump this story with that trash. The plot is slow but it certainly is entertaining.

It's been very interesting so far.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
A Monster Who Levels Up
February 10, 2019
Status: c155
The story was good only on the first half of the story with the MC having a definite goal. I think the story progressed to fast with the MC having little to no challenge reaching what he needed to achieve his first goal.

... more>>
Spoiler

Also, one of the parts I didn't like about the story was the romance bit. The MC could have chosen either or any of the two girls he first met he just had to... Well, that's just my opinion anyway.

[collapse]

Even then the story is still good though with an unsatisfying ending. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
Isekai Tensei Harem
May 9, 2018
Status: --
I'm here for the ero. I found the ero. The plot's nothing to write home about. A typical ero novel but it is at least a bit more detailed than some.

Can be useful to ward of boredom at least.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
Rakuin no Monshou
April 11, 2018
Status: v12 afterword
Took me a while to read the last few chapters. But this story is a rare gem. The seemingly simple plot overarching to create a beautiful complex story full of very interesting characters. Seriously. I've started reading this story when it was first translated and up to it's 12 completion completion gave me quite the fun reading.

The ending is a bit lacking, the author could have written a few more interactions between the MC and the male lead though at the end. Well, more or less its an open ended... more>> story?

Spoiler

If there were a few side stories I would have wanted to know what happened to Hou Ran, maybe more details on what happened to the other minor characters like Lady Marilène of Helio. Maybe even a few ideas on what happened to Orba's mother. The author wrote them off as dead but I couldn't drop the inkling that maybe... dunno.

[collapse]

The MC isn't OP but neither is he a weak. The other characters also added more spice to it, I even think the female lead is just as interesting as the MC. Overall, it was a good read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
Ouroboros Record ~Circus of Oubeniel~
March 7, 2018
Status: c20 part1
The story in itself is unique.

The main character is someone who experienced death and has developed a phobia of dying. In order to prevent his own death...

... more>>
Spoiler

He performed 'inhumane' experiments on slaves he bought.

[collapse]

If you aren't bothered the dark introduction and the cold reception from other readers calling the MC a psychopath then read on. I found the story quite fun and addicting. The author's ability to build up tension and the unusual plot differentiates this from other generic 'reincarnate into another world' genre stories.

The MC is actually hard to hate if you truly understand human nature. You'll find his actions rational and realistic. Well, specially the realism in it. It's what drew me in though, even in a different world with magic and all that. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou (WN)
April 15, 2018
Status: c305
The story was neither good nor bad. Well, after the first volume I think it would became a little bit more interesting but noo~. It turned out to become an average story with an average OP MC.

... more>>
Spoiler

If the MC followed the revenge obsessed route then it would have turned out better me thinks. Instead the MC becomes a prick who thinks he lives for himself. Seriously, if the author just stuck to that it would also have been good but how come by plot convenience he meets a legal loli vampire that he would come to treasure as a friend/lover. It was just too fast. Isn't the MC just a pu**y who can't stick to his own ideals. He says he'd live for himself but suddenly he 'adjusts' to that too fast. It's f**king disappointing.

[collapse]

If you're looking for a light read, I guess this would do. Just don't get too deep into the story, you'll just get disappointed. The story is not for some serious reading but something you can read if you are bored and got a bit of time. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raubtier
Raubtier rated it
Slave Harem in the Labyrinth of the Other World
February 3, 2018
Status: v7 illustrations
  • The story is well written with consistent characterization.
  • There are a variation of side/supporting characters. Each character is well developed with unique individual personalities.
    • Spoiler
      • Roxanne - The main heroine and the MC's first slave. Docile, talented and has 'great melons'. I have to emphasize the 'great melons' cause I'm sure you'll get sick of it once you start reading the story.
      • Sherry - Second slave, has 'small lemons', the rational voice of the party and a Master Smith.
      • Miria - It's the cat-eared character nyaa~. No! Why the f**k does she not add nya~?! Simple minded onee-chan (self proclaimed) ?
      • Vesta - Dragonkin girl, she's supposed to be tall. And has massive melons.
      • Rutina - Elf-slave, of course you need the elf. It's a fantasy novel. You need an elf. An elf is a must in fantasy novels. All fantasy LN's that don't have elves must be purged by the inquisition! Die you heathens! Heretical non-elf lovers must be burned at the stake!
      • [collapse]
  • MC is strong but not to the point of being overpowered.
  • Although story has slow overall development, it is detailed and descriptive enough not to make it look bland.
  • -

    • Generic betafag MC, with perverted tendencies
    • I'd say 50% of the story of full of the MC's perverted thoughts, paranoia, cowardice and other annoying beta-like tendencies seen in most trash LN/WN.
      • Spoiler

        Seriously, almost half of the story is filled with how the MC wants to grope either Roxanne or Vesta's melons. But the worst part is, it has no 'M' or 'Adult' written lemons or limes. Dang it! Useless!

        [collapse]
    • There is no suspense/tension ('Action' and 'Adventured' tag has betrayed me!) in the story.
      • Spoiler

        Although the MC is strong enough to advance to higher floors, he is too cautious. I can deem it acceptable from the standpoint of a modern person. But seriously? His mentality should at least have change a little from continuously fighting against monsters in the labyrinth. Buuut nooo! He is being a fcking coward. When you compare it to a game it's like an ultrageared Lvl 99. Lunar Knight farming a level 21-24 instance dungeon. Who does that?

        [collapse]
    1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
    Raubtier
    Raubtier rated it
    The Book Eating Magician
    August 28, 2018
    Status: c400
    Finally finished it.

    I must say it was a satisfying read. But I'm downgrading the rating from 5 to 4. At the latter half of the novel, the story makes a few very unrealistic scenarios. I won't mention them since I know this novel has the 'Fantasy' tag but it still annoys me.

    The MC is at least bearable. Likable but not quite there yet.

    ... more>>
    Spoiler

    He was being an indecisive pu**y for the most part of the story but with each victory he gained a bit of confidence along with fame and power. I just don't find most of his fights satisfying. He has a lot of abilities, so many in fact that I don't think he was pushed to the brink enough to use all of them. He did use most of his abilities on his last battle but I still find it lacking. It would have been preferable to see an MC with few skills but has creativity enough to use it in different ways.

    [collapse]

    Overall, the story was great. <<less
    0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
    Raubtier
    Raubtier rated it
    Risou no Himo Seikatsu
    July 16, 2018
    Status: v7c3
    This is another good story ruined by a 'bad' MC.

    Seriously, the world building is excellent, the concept is unique and the majority of the characters are very much likable (except the MC).

    This was a 5/5 until Vol6.

    ... more>>
    Spoiler

    I am seriously starting to doubt whether the MC really is a modern person (lol). On Vol 6, he has refused to take concubines on the premise that it is what he desire. He is so averse to it that the author had to emphasize on that point multiple times. Most males would have entertained the notion of multiple partners at least once in his life. Well, unless he is from a closed of countryside town that has costumes and culture centered around monogamy, a town where most people have a very conservative outlook on the relationship between male and females.

    This has seriously annoyed me. It doesn't sound realistic to me, which a majority of the novel was. The MC is 'unique' in a bad kind of way. No, call him weird. I'm not quite sure if he was a modern Japanese male or a 17th century devout conservative catholic. The MC's outlook on concubines for the reason of political gains is just wrong. I don't know how to say this, but even if the MC doesn't have a shred of ambition hasn't thought of repercussions of his 'SELFISHNESS'?

    Frankly, I find it retarded even if he was dedicated to the female lead... *sigh*, okay enough of that rant but I just had to take this out.

    [collapse]
    <<less
    0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
    Raubtier
    Raubtier rated it
    Invisible Dragon
    May 5, 2018
    Status: --
    My eyes! Iiiit buuurrns! I don't even know why I tried reading this, 50% boredom, 45% curiosity and 5% of various others reasons?

    A real life experience? This story gave me cancer! It even gave my PC cancer. This just shows how awesomely disgusting it is? After reading this story, it made me realize how mediocre and normal I truly am. This story will make you realize just how truly vast yet so narrow this world is. It made me itch all over wishing for the end of this world that... more>> has birthed such an abomination.

    Truly, this work of art might never be surpassed. <<less
    0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report