Report Review
35 Reviews


Raphael
Raphael rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
May 18, 2016
Status: c123
I freaking love this series. I mean currently this is my top must read novel, it excites me more to see this updated than to see ISSTH's updated not that I don't love the latter but is just that the flavour of this story is more to my liking. Anyways to get a bit of the description in I'll say the MC is coldblooded, not in the way most xianxia MC's are, he simply puts his future advancement ahead of everything as he should in a world based on strength.... more>> Lot's of people seem to be put off by his coldhearted ways usually about the fact that he treats his friends, but I mean come on he never said he was close to them most of what I got from him was a detached kind of friendship in which he doesn't expect much from them and hopes they don't expect him to jump in front of a truck to get em. Also the story feels like it's at the very start, maybe because it is but as of 123 which is where I'm at and where he finally breaks through to official Magus rank it gives me the feeling that only now will we get to get off the prologue or something. I mean I loved things up to now but they have been alluding to the fact that the world is super big and where he is at is kind of like the backwater for magic practitioners, so I'm eager to see how he will interact with the world with his newfound power. Anyways I truly like how the world is about magicians and stuff because I kinda prefer those over cultivators because I guess they feel more mythical? But regardless this is more my cup of tea and here is hoping the story keeps on like this because I really like how it develops each new chapter =D <<less
48 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
In Different World with Naruto System
July 7, 2016
Status: c10
Not something I like, maybe some do but I feel it is just fan fulfillment rather than a well thought out story. Actually just feels like it's pandering to Naruto fans who want an even more OP character than the blonde MC from the manga and by itself is nothing.
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
The Death Mage Who Doesn’t Want a Fourth Time
May 28, 2017
Status: c32
I haven't read JP novels since an ice age ago, in fact the last JP novel I remember reading was Campione! And that was so long ago it must have been at least over 3 years, after which the series was dropped or stopped updating or something. Anyways my point is I just don't bother with JP novels anymore because of the glaring flaws with the MC's and the generic plots, I know I know not every novel is like that, just most of the ones I tried to read,... more>> but anyways this one has caught my attention pretty solidly so I really want to enjoy this one, and so far it has satisfied me, from the novel's story to it's MC to the translations which are of a very good quality in my humble opinion. So here is me hoping against all else for this series to remain as interesting and enjoyable as it has been so far =D <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
The Amber Sword
December 20, 2015
Status: --
Just read the TL’s long message at the start of chapter 39 and I got to wonder how was it that the series had such a low rating here. Not really saying this is amazing work or ground breaking but I would rate this a 4.5/5 nine times out of ten so I figured I would hop here and leave a bit of a review on my thoughts of it and give it a rating to help it along.

So where to start, the series is not exactly new work. MC... more>> wakes up in a world that resembles a game he was a beast in previously and proceeds to use his mastery over the game and advance knowledge to climb to the top and become badass, all the while having one or two pretty girls falling in love and correcting all the evils of the world or something to that effect. Now while this is nothing new the series does stand out on its own right, having a half descent plot and I personally feel something like “hook, line and sinker” when I read a series in which monsters grant XP, characters level up have skills and get drops from killed enemies, so from the get go I was partial to the story based on just that, however since then I have come to enjoy it for others reasons main among them is that the MC I not totally thinking with his **** (like JImmy Valmer was when he released the Add, hehe good reference) also the story does a good job of explaining what is going on most of the time. All in all I personally feel that this story gets a 4.5 out of 5 but since there is no halfway here I’ll just give it a five and hope it earns it later on, as for readers coming in and asking if it’s any good I recommend you try out the first 2~3 chapters the story kicks into action pretty quickly so you will get a feel for what it will be like early on here. Anyways hope that helps, peace out. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
Goblin Kingdom
March 8, 2017
Status: v1c25
Kinda disappointed with this, I mean it's not bad but it's not quite what I expected or wanted. I liked how it started, MC is savage ruthless and ambitious, great characteristics to have if you are a Monster MC, but then he lets the Saint's Charm thing get to him, I mean I was loving how he was rebelling against the 2 gods but he allows himself to be charmed? I understand the girl is useful but he clearly is letting her have too much control. I don't understand why... more>> he is saying one thing "I won't allow destiny to control me" and doing another "hey lets get this chick to grow to like me so and then in the future be forced to face off". Also it was fine how he started appreciating his most loyal followers but I think he went too soft too fast.

Anyways hopefully it dashes expectations in later chapters, but as much as I've read so far it doesn't seem like the kind to try it's own unique thing. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
Lord Xue Ying
October 22, 2015
Status: --
Interesting premise have not seen a main character that uses a spear in quite a while, hopefully it picks up a bit of speed but regardless is a good read when you have read mostly everything else to date =D
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
Re:Monster
October 24, 2015
Status: --
lol when was this added here =D been reading off the wiki since forever and before that from the google docs =D good series I think it was my first of the gaming style series before that I only used to read japanese novels like MKnR or Campione! This novel is a good opener for the genre.

EDIT: nvm my first rpg like novel was Mushoku Tensei
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
Martial God Space
October 31, 2015
Status: --
I see some reviews and I personally must say I love this series specially as of late with the main character increasing his strength every 3 chapters and facing off some baddies, anyways a bit of spoilers here but as of Ye Xiwen entering the main school the story has progressed pretty well and I can almost see the future volumes involving fights with demonkin and our MC going to their world with his shiny mirror. So yeah love the series and this with Peerless Martial God are 2 of... more>> my favored reads despite them not being anything new or unique. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
Mushoku Tensei (WN)
October 24, 2015
Status: --
Best story ever and probably the first LN I read can't remember. Also one of the few LN I have read that I know has been completely translated and in an amazing fashion I mean this might be the best translated work I have ever read is like the translators just knew everything the author wanted to say in English beforehand they just did an amazing job have I mentioned how amazing and clean their translation was? =D
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
Returning from the Immortal World
May 28, 2018
Status: c24
I honestly wanted to give this a chance, I really did. The concept was fresh at least for me having never read anything about people returning from a world of magic/cultivation after getting teleported or whatnot. Yet I started reading and was sorely disappointed. Only managed to make it to chapter 24, but I'm already giving it a score in the negatives.

MC spent 10k years in a cultivation world and managed to reach unimaginable levels yet once he comes back he is re****ed in so many ways. At school he... more>> acts like a dumbass, when confronted he acts like an idiot, every step he takes is a wrong one. He doesn't even need his advanced cultivation knowledge, one would surmise that by living 10k years one would develop some advanced wisdom but for some reason this guy is worse than an immature 10 year old.

Regardless I won't go into detail because it would be too long for me to try to push my frustrations of this novel into the review suffice to say I think I've read all I can take from this novel, and it offends my tastes enough for me to give it a 1 star. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
God of Thunder
October 9, 2015
Status: --
Interesting work I like the primitive feel you get when reading this because of the whole hunter society at the beginning but I'm also feeling that it is just because the characters are living in the hill and the world is not as savage as the main character first perceived, hopefully the story stays interesting and the grandpa doesn't bite the dust too soon I'm starting to really like him. =D
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
Demon’s Diary
November 14, 2015
Status: --
I really like what this is turning out to be so far (chapter 30) it is by no stretch groundbreaking but I like how the series took a plot everyone uses and added a little bit to it like that island. Can’t wait for some of the secrets that the story has been building up so far to be revealed. I give it a 5 star when it should be a 4 because it is my hope that the series later on lives up to it since there are some... more>> great looking plot points scattered so far. I recommend anyone who is reading Eternal Life and likes it because it has a similar story but also to anyone who likes cultivation stories because this is a fairly standard one that everyone will most likely like if they are into this genre (which lets be honest everyone here should be =D) <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
The Strongest Legend of Dragon Ball
May 6, 2018
Status: c934
So I kinda liked this, read up to around 80 something and figured it would take ages to wait it out on current translations, so I went to the bane of all translations. That's right I read it on lnmtl, what can I say it wasn't a pleasant experience and it kinda felt like a kick on the balls, but I powered through and finished it. All I can say is that the story follows the DB universe pretty closely even up to Super and there will be some GT... more>> cameo involving universe travel but I won't get detailed because of spoilers. Anyways it's a fun read and the story is fairly well paced so hope you all enjoy it. My one gripe with it is the very end but you guys won't get it till you read it yourselves so yeah. Hope you all enjoy it since it's a good story and well made. =DDD <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
Harry Potter and the Secret Treasures
May 6, 2018
Status: c79
Kinda picked this up after finishing just about everything else I was focused on and caught up to stuff I dropped before.

What can I say, I liked it. I'm usually not a fan of fanfics but this one struck gold, I'm aware some people just don't like this kinda stuff and I get them but somehow I really wanted to read more. Unfortunately from the looks of it seems like it's stuck at 79 and may not move ahead since few people pick stuff like this because it doesn't get... more>> many readers and the current translator just stopped without saying anything, at least if they did I missed it entirely. Anyways point is I like it, think it's a decent story and I was hoping to get more of it, specially since it left off at a pretty good point with
Spoiler

MC getting suspicious looks from Granger after she picked him up as a cat and was taking him to a bath which he swiftly ran from but then he saved the *** brigade at the train from the dementors and his patronus was the same animagus cat he transforms into and a chapter later him and hermione are reading bout dementors and the patronus and learn that the patronus takes the shape of an animal close to you and she just gives him a look but he swiftly tells her not to think too much about it lol

[collapse]
really wanted to find out what happens after that spoiler =D <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
This started out decently until the dragon tried to befriend humans then it turned to sh*t in my opinion. I mean I get that he is lonely but he seems to forget he is a dragon easily and the fact the he just walked out in front of armed people just demonstrates how lacking in foresight he is. Then we have merciful adventures who let a potential fortune walk away because a girl in the party (which I don't believe because adventurers aren't supposed to be such gentle people)... more>> asked them to, I would think the senior guy accompanying them would be smarter. Anyways seems there will be some moments in the future which will irritate me greatly so I dropped it after that event. Good luck to anyone reading it and hope they like it better than me. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael
I Was a Sword When I Reincarnated (WN)
November 2, 2015
Status: --
This theme (of reincarnation as something like an item or a monster) gets more and more broad yet for some reason I feel it shrinks with every new novel...
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
World of Cultivation
October 25, 2015
Status: --
Yeah this is pretty different to other cultivation stories out there, I’d go so far as to say I personally don’t think I’ve read anything similar so far. The story starts out as literal cultivation and that made me laugh for a bit since I did not expect to read a web novel where the word cultivation would be actually used for literally cultivating crops =D

Anyways lately the story has been shifting more to the actual xianxia and wuxia feel which I like as the main character is becoming... more>> a bit more interested in gaining strength in cultivation (spiritwise). Indeed hopefully it keeps going like that since the slow pace suits this story just fine. So yeah good overall story with quite a few mysteries and some sure to be awesome future reveals, I suggest people who don’t mind a slow start and like xianxia to try it, bear in mind the character is not OP and in fact he seems to be a scrub in the grand picture but not an ordinary scrub so yeah look forward to it’s future chapters. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
Murdering Heaven Edge
November 13, 2015
Status: --
That description, does not at all describe what it's going on in the novel at all, so for fellow readers interested I suggest reading chapter 1 before making any judgments.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
Ancient Strengthening Technique
November 11, 2015
Status: --
This does not look like all the other xianxia ever. It is not filled with cliches depicted all over other WN’s. Also either the TL needs an editor or the one he has needs to recheck his work at least twice over because some sentences are badly written.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Raphael
Raphael rated it
So What If It’s an RPG World?
October 20, 2015
Status: --
Holy guacamole everyone who has commented has just cheesed this series. As far as I’ve read the story is in the comedy which granted is not grandiose but it has its moments no need to make an ant hill into Mt Tae. Regardless to new readers I suggest you give it a try to see if you like. Edit after reading most of Vol. 4 : So yeah apparently the other review/comments were right after volume 3 the story gets all mangled and goes all over the place. I mean... more>> (a bit of spoilers here) what happened to the devil king that was a player or what happened to the zombie ice elf nee-chan or for that matter what happened to the whole Undead Holy Angel storyline they were doing at the first half of the volume? <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report