Report Review
15 Reviews


Railman
What happens when you mix the bloody domineering/overbearing elements of a chinese novel and a flimsy ass, (as much as I hate saying this) beta with no backbone japanese type mc?

This godawful excuse of a novel.

MC is a scaredy cat right when you need him to be brave and a merciless tyrant right when he doesnt need to do anything

... more>> the inconsistencies are off the charts that you might wonder if the author was high on something righting this sh*t.

and yet.. You just cant stop reading this train wreck. I must admit though that the world building was at the very least. Average.

not release the witch type world building but at least the author did a little bit of research. <<less
44 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
I Will Quit the Entourage of the Villainess
June 14, 2017
Status: c20
Inconsistencies Inconsistencies everywhere

Only gave 2 star for the translator. Although chapters are short, sometimes extremely short, it was translated at least above average.

First of, grandma you're a 40 year old woman, act your age, or at least be mature enough to not get flustered over a 5 year old's smile, and the one who acts like adults were the kids (specially the prince). How come a 5 year old kid is knowledgeable about the shadowy nature of nobility's? Even if its minuscule information a kid not even old enough to... more>> leave their mother's side will never comprehend such dark things. This author have some pretty bizarre outlook on society. <<less
34 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
Evil Emperor’s Wild Consort
November 28, 2017
Status: c354
Oh boy, where do I start.

Ok other than the fact that this novel is extremely, EXTREMELY generic, the author seems to know nothing about wuxia battles.. Please for the love of god stick to the romance genre, you might catch some niche audience that is new to reading incredibly misogynistic characters.

I was going to write 10 full page essay rant but lost interest half-way so im just gonna list it down:

    1. Stupid villains, so stupid that you'd think library of heavens path villains are geniuses
    2. MC rarely fights and always relies on her reverse harem squad, and somehow always gets bullied by literally just standing in the middle of the street author barely explains anything, maybe MC has really punchable face? Idk
    3. Fights are lackluster just some whirlwinds and sword clashing, a grunt or two from time to time but most of the time its just dialogue after dialogue mocking the MC's stupidity and ofc ending with MC or her squad beating their asses
    4. An endless cycle of hate filled chapters over and over again, you rarely get a breather
One that has truly annoyed me

was the way our MC tends to say something but do the exact opposite, inconsistencies are everywhere and plot holes will suck immersion and your life away like a glaring big black hole
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
Chongfei Manual
October 2, 2017
Status: c18
I consider myself an open minded person, I know that when it come to love age doesnt really matter, hell, I know 1 or 2 real life married couples with 7-8 year difference in age but I cant get my head around the idea of a 9th grade student flirting with a kindergarten, now it might have been a lil bit better if the male lead wasnt acting like your generic domineering, cunning character, but oh boy when he does the things he do it just gives me the creeps.

Another... more>> problem is the MC, we know she had a redo and is supposed to be quite knowledgeable for her age but I find myself pitying her younger sister more than her, she seems to be effectively using her knowledge and innocence to sow discord but never used it to gain favor and "NEW" allies, it feels like im watching an anti-protagonist in the making. So many problematic scenarios would've been easily avoided, now she's left with more enemies to deal with in the future, but hey you gotta keep the novel going right author?

The father, oh god, the father is probably the scummiest person in this novel, I just want to strangle him and cut his phallus just to end everything.

But hey, at least the novel is well written and the translation is probably above average 2 stars, plus another star for not torturing the readers by not fully translating the novel and leaving a bunch of footnotes at the bottom *looking at you chu wang fei*. <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
Crossing to the Future, it’s Not Easy to Be a Man
January 8, 2018
Status: c81
Unique and interesting indeed, only problem is the author re-structure words and sentences on chapters to fill into other chapters, its not really much of a problem but it becomes glaringly obvious on later chapters, you can easily skip 3-5 sentences even paragraphs and you wont miss anything from the plot..i mean they even have 10 chapters for a single enemy confrontation which can be easily summarize into 4-5. In conclusion, a unique and interesting novel ruined by greed.

Oh also there should be a shonen tag included there. Felt like... more>> im reading a japanese manga aimed for kids <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
Why Not Soar Your Majesty
January 31, 2018
Status: c14.1
This novel failed in comedy, (which is its biggest selling point) big time

At the early chapters I found it humorous, sporting the traditional stand up comedy formula, a straight man (tsukkomi) and a funny man (boke) , only at a bigger scale.

Unique and refreshing. However, you'll notice that the author relies too much on slapstic comedy, and as the story progress it becomes repetitive.

... more>> Joke= MC does something stupid ->ML gets annoyed-> beats her ass albeit justifiably -> everyone beats her ass-> rinse and repeat

There's few conversations that actually makes me laugh, like how MC is a female pervert and will do anything to see the ML body naked, although overtime, even that gets repetitive. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
The Anarchic Consort
January 1, 2018
Status: c33
Utter insulting, this novel is comparable to a bowl of water soup, bland, generic, tasteless, and ultimately pointless.

If you're new to this kind of novel you might enjoy this but if you're a veteran like most people here you'll be wasting your time.

  • Ice cold freezer Male lead (AGAIN), well at least he's not an a**hole
  • People's ability seems to pop out of nowhere for plot convenience
  • Everything is barely explained
  • MC has no goal whatsoever, the author seems to just wing it
  • Cultivation was not explained well and is somehow just there, existing, I dont know its a bit r*tarded
  • "Comedy" part is just these bystanders not believing our Male lead is acting differently when talking to MC, ex. "gasp, ice cold freezer is the most beautiful, glorious, talented, person in the entire kingdom yet this MC is talking to him like that! Unbelievable!", there emotions range from, exasperation, flabbergasted, aghast, appalled, dismayed, horrified, bewildered, confused, dazed, overwhelmed, agape, awed, open mouthed, wide-eyed, etc. (Source merriam webster), yeah that's basically there job. To stroke the Male lead's humongous phallus
In conclusion, this novel feels like what a 15 year old's wet dream would be. I cant even count how many time I have fallen asleep while reading the chapters, it seems to have effectively cured my insomnia. Only reason I gave it 1 star is because... more>> the translation is good and the release are consistent. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
Nigotta Hitomi no Lilianne
March 25, 2017
Status: c120
Out of all the age regression/slice of life novels, this might be the best one, good pacing, adorable characters, and excellent translation. So why 3 stars? Well this novel suffers from "not fully translated" virus, to keep the general feel or moe. Its annoying when translators try doing this kind of stuff, I mean yes japanese language and expressions are well known but how about those people who doesnt have a single idea what a neeee neeee.. Means, this kind of translations are the blight of light novel world. The... more>> other thing is the pacing starting from chapter 40 had turn atrociously slow (?), the whole chapter is wasted on explaining the whole cast dresses and how they look and the content is just 3 to 4 paragraphs long.

UPDATE

I take it back, this is soft core porn, and its hella creepy reading a child not even 3 years old literally molesting her maid. WTF <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
June 25, 2017
Status: c73
Look at that, 5 stars across the board.

So what does make this novel standout among the reincarnated female MC genre? The refreshing unorthodox MC, which is silent, timid but pure in all aspects, not domineering but still not a push over. Its like watching the slit eyed character like brok, gin or lau play the leading role.

We all know timid and silent types were usually looked down upon by other novels but thats what make this novel shine even brighter cause the cast actually appreciate her. Only thing I don[t... more>> quite like is how often she gets injured and how a chapter revolves around that, its ridiculous but kinda negligible <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
Jiang Hu’s Road is Curved
February 23, 2017
Status: Completed
Probably one of the best romance novel here in novelupdates, its unique and has a good plot, we rarely see chinese romance that doesnt over praise the male lead as "clean as jade", "most beautiful man in the world", "even gods pale in comparison", etc. Even though the plot twist is a little slopy, predictable and was not explained clearly (one part translation problem), still doesnt lower the excitement you get from reading this awesome novel.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
There is something called too much slice of life or "fuwah" "fuwah" elements (for me at least) that the setting seems to adjust by the characters standard, resulting to extreme inconsistency that you might not notice, specially when you're on a Japanese novel reading streak.
Example:
... more>>
Spoiler

The town is toooo peaceful, even for a slice of life standard, a girl getting lost in the streets on a medieval settings with nobels/adventures/swords setting you might expect something to happen to her, but no, she just meet a couple of kids and go home, the most infuriating are the adults, the author want to emphasize how mature the kid is for her age that they forgot how childish the adults are, they seem to dump every single responsibility to kid every time they wrong her and that's just the beginning.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
January 2, 2018
Status: c350
Woah! I made it to 350! What an achievement, considering how excruciatingly painful reading every chapters were. Seriously though, spare yourself some dignity and never read this. Its repetitive, repetitive, repetitive, did I say repetitive? Yup thats all this is a 500+ chapter sh*tfest
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
Perfect Secret Love: The Bad New Wife is a Little Sweet
December 17, 2017
Status: c76
Edit: and yet another translator gets #f*** by Qidian, (Im sorry Lotus translations, this is all I can do) seriously never support there reviewers, they are biased and will rate anything 5 star even if there's only 5 chapters, read reviews here instead.

Huh... honestly, im speechless.. I was about to give the harshest most unbridled review I will probably ever write and tear this novel apart but I was tongue tied after the end of the most recent chapter (76)

At first glance you'll see your generic chinese romance... more>> novel tropes, S class A--hole male lead, bubbly yet headstrong female lead, stupid villains, etc, and even though these elements are prevalent throughout almost every chapter, the author actually doesnt tell you everything, sure he/she might hint a couple of circumstances here and there, and you'll probably think that the end doesnt justify the means (mostly the male lead actions) , you'll soon realize the circumstances, even though its hard to swallow, actually are logical (still hate the male lead tho) .

What I like the most about this novel is the female lead, you'd think that she's a woman with little to no backbone, probably has a bdsm fetish and is stupid beyond belief, she's actually quite cunning.

-1 star for over praising the male lead walking corpse/fridge as I like to call him

-1 star for the generic villains <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
The Eunuch is Pregnant
June 27, 2017
Status: c200
For me there are two kinds of reincarnated female MC novel, the one that caters to any gender, and the one that caters to female readers, this particular novel is the latter.

as a male, my gender never hindered me from reading anything I consider a good novel, but this novel in particular excessively praise the male lead like he's the god among st men, I personally dont mind if its just a few chapters but jesus christ, its like a quarter of the novel is about how perfect, incomparable... more>> and beautiful this male lead is. Its not just annoying its cringey as ****, its like reading the female fantasy of a horny 18 year old.

Dont get me wrong this novel is mediocre at best so I wont discredit it by giving a the lowest rating just because its not my cup of tea.

UPDATE

Alright, I know this update is a total contradiction to my previous review but it actually got better, they toned down the phallus stroking also the quality and plot increased a lot. p.s pls read this novel in the official website theenuch (dot) com, other website have stolen a bunch of translators works, please dont support them <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Railman
Railman rated it
Swamp Girl!
June 14, 2017
Status: Completed
Although the plot twist and other parts of the story seems rushed and underwhelming, its a fairly good read. Absolutely recommended if you're a sucker for fantasy/female protagonist novels.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report