Report Review
23 Reviews


RAGA
RAGA rated it
Gentle Beast
March 4, 2018
Status: c55
Current: (c24)

Great flow. The world building is excellent and the characters are set up (background/development/personalities/etc.) far better than what I have come to expect to see from a cn web novel. Much recommended for others to read.

... more>>
Spoiler

What I love greatly about this is that, even though the ML isn't incompetent by any means, the ML is clearly handicapped at the beginning of the novel. So the MC is the one who manages to save the day by relying on her wit and ingenuity to get through most of the obstacles and troubles the ML and MC encounter. The author at least attempts to keep the MC's abilities and reactions believable. The best part, imho, is that most of the times those attempts are done well enough that a reader can buy into them too.

The other thing is that the MC's and ML's interactions are the best! There's not really any romance so far because of the ML's situation:

The MC thinks the ML is a child but treats him like a pet because (1) he has yet to reveal his true form to her and (2) his injuries forces him to resign himself to her treatment. This leads to some extremely funny moments, like her trying to determine his gender or taking his temperature the same way we would a cat's. His poor dignity lol!

The ML decides to tag along with her because she saved him first and she's going to a place he thinks will cure his own problem. It's cute to see him slowly warming up to her.

[collapse]

Update: 3/4/2018 (c37)

Still going strong. The story's character developments and timeline structure is commendable and keeps the each arc from feeling episodic. The author manages to keep to the "rules" set in universe, which allows the reader to be able to feel the weight of the MC's/ML's previous actions in how they develop their path.

Spoiler

Especially so with the ML, who the author shows to be NOT human. This is one of the best aspects the author creates with this story. The author clearly defines the differences between the beastmen and humans and the differences in the various beastmen types. Through various interactions the MC has with different characters, we get a better understanding of how a human's common sense wouldn't match with someone from a different species and way of life.
This rule of non-human behavior colors the ML's character-development as his affections for the MC grows. Although it's refreshing to see an ML who doesn't immediately fall for the MC, it's even more so to be able to observe how he falls for her. Usually, stories tend to show why we, the READERS, would expect the ML to fall for the MC, but rarely do we see the ML's POV of how and why he fell in love AS he's falling in love. His uncertainty and confusion, as his feelings battle with his sense of normalcy, give his character more depth than what we usually see with any ML.

And props to the author for having the MC stick with the goal of finding home. She's in a totally different and more hostile world, where she doesn't truly have a reason to expect a way back home. But instead of giving up and coping with how to settle, the MC holds onto the slimmest of hopes that she might be able to get back and perseveres. She continues to keep trying despite setbacks. Readers are able to see when her spirit strains but, nonetheless, never breaks, and we're able to empathize with her because of how believable the author makes it. I love how the author can realistically showcase the strength of hope without making it seem like something that would only happen in stories.

[collapse]

Update: 4/13/2018 (c55)

Can I just say how much I ADORE the author's ability to build up a truly believable romance? Nevermind, I'm saying it. What's even better is how the author spins the romance while correlating it perfectly with the character growth of the couple. It's just a beautiful thing to read.

Spoiler

I also adore how much perseverance and resourcefulness the MC has. The author makes sure to not make her OP and gives her abilities pretty solid foundations. I continue to be impressed with the author's characterization of the MC, in how empowering she is on her own. She finds out that her original plan of going home is no longer available to her, but doesn't let that stop her from finding a new path. She also continues to rely on and develop her own abilities to get her out of rough situations instead of just waiting for someone to come save her.

I also love how the author subverts the MC's "space" and prevents it from being a typical deus ex machina. Instead, the author actually cares to explore its mystery and makes it a plot-point in the story.

I'm also impressed with how the author is able to illustrate the changes in the ML's behavior in a way that doesn't seem forced or out of character. He still has the traits of being overly independent, impatient, almost cruel/cold, and arrogant in himself, with both his race and his abilities. But he's developing the ability to have trust, patience, and understanding in the MC to a degree that it's also affecting his previous stated traits. I like how the author shows that the MC didn't "fix" the ML, but merely influenced his perspective of the world. The ML's new outlook in turn causes his character developments.

[collapse]
<<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA rated it
Shini Yasui Kōshaku Reijō to Shichi-nin no Kikōshi
January 15, 2019
Status: c100
I really like this, but I'm disappointed that I didn't wait until the 5th arc was through before I started reading through this (waiting for chapters isn't fun ;_;).

Basic summary:

MC isn't a transmigrator but a reincarnator, so she's always Erica, but when she was 8yo (when the story begins but years before the game begins) she remembers her past life as someone hopeless with love who enjoyed playing otome games. MC realizes that the world she reincarnated in was the last game she played, but she only completed the first... more>> 2 parts of the game before she died. Each part of the game connects to a different capture target and raises a death flag for the villainess, Erica (aka the MC). So Erica makes it her goal to use what little knowledge of the game she remembers to find and destroy all the death flags! However, easier said than done.

My opinion:

World:

Everyone says that the world building is great, and I agree.

Spoiler

The death flags and world politics are intertwined in a way that its not some shoehorned coincidence that all these different characters are targeted for some catastrophic event. So far, the reasoning seems to be that a particular character is targeting all these people for a greater scheme. It even goes into why Erica has so many death flags beyond being the "villainess"--she's in a unique position, by virtue of her lineage and status, that connects her to a potential exploitable weakness of each target.

[collapse]

Characters:

The characters are really fleshed out and well-developed. Even though the author tends to make each character a brilliant master in at least one aspect of their abilities, each character has their own flaws and weaknesses to avoid making them too OP. And even the brilliance of the prominent characters fit in with the plot.

Spoiler

The "villainess" aspect of Erica is rather debatable though. True, her mother was of questionable character, but both her brother and father seem to be well-respected. Erica apparently has a arrogant resting-b*tch face but she doesn't have any notorious deeds to her name prior her remembrance of her past life. She technically only ever gets hate from the people of Hafan--her fiance/first capture target/potential love interest's country-- but she's pretty liked well enough by people she meets in other countries. Actually, she's really well-liked by the first capture target and his family too.

[collapse]

Relationships:

The characters relationships are great as well. I like how even though this is mostly from Erica's POV, we get to see how other groups are all working on different points of the same problem. Erica doesn't have all the answers and doesn't know everything going on; likewise, these other groups have only part of the puzzle to work with as well. It's fun to see whenever the different groups make a connection to each other and gain a better understanding of what's going on. This has the added effect of fleshing out the world a bit more beyond Erica's comprehension of it and allows the plot to have more space to properly grow.

Filler:

There also isn't really much filler (however, I'm on the fence of whether I like that or not ^^;). Each scene and interactions of each character is used to further the plot. Unfortunately, that means that there are very little fluff scenes used for the sake of fluff. Usually, that means when these scenes occur, it's to further the plot or give insight to what the characters are doing and thinking, which will also connect to their role in the plot. I mean, it's a relief to be able to read each chapter and not be derailed by pointless tangents, but I wanna see more of the everyday life of the different characters too!

Overall:

Definitely recommended for people who like plot, mystery, and reincarnation-otome game villainess. But impatient readers please note that the translations up to c100 puts the reader at the start of the school story arc (where the otome game begins), the series is still ongoing, and only 5 arcs (c100 is near the start of the 4th arc) are currently out (or 4 arcs are out and the 5th is being put out soon--I don't remember--point is that I don't think the author is near done to completing this). <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
July 27, 2017
Status: c26
Welp. I'm sold. This by far is one of the most funniest things I've read in quite some time.

Basic setting: Modern-day, 28 year-old computer programmer suddenly finds herself transported into another, but typical, xianxia world as a peasant. By sheer accident and shortly after arriving, she is discovered to have an incredibly rare cheat ability, which lands her the position of disciple to an extraordinary (in many sense of the word) and powerful master.

Why I like this (numbers aren't meant to convey any given order) :

(1) the MC retains... more>> her modern sensibilities, which sometimes causes her to react in a way that conflicts with the "common sense" of the world and lands her into VERY amusing situations that we, as modern readers, may wish other MCs from similar genres would react the same to.

I'm super glad to see that someone, who's lived the majority of her life (in both worlds) in the modern world, doesn't have SUCH an easy time conforming to others' way of thinking. I get irritated that authors sometimes use such conformity to show off how "clever" their MCs are, such as inflicting torture as a "light punishment" to show off power/status or having the first instinct be to KILL for some slight against them. I mean, it's hard enough to even convert one's eating habits (such as becoming a vegan), do you really think a person can so easily toss out the very values that created the entire foundation of who a person was before!?

Plus, the MC's values, abilities, and attitude are easily relatable, so the reader may continue a feeling of personal connection with her, even as she progresses through the plot.

(2) The humor is great. The MC is a modern person with modern "common sense" and she's stuck in a world that has a very different "common sense." Plus, the MC can be a bit thoughtless, crude, and petty. That and the fact that her master is tens of thousands of years old, with his own "common sense, " and has barely any interactions with others, much less someone like the MC, makes for great humor.

I read and love the transmigration/reincarnation/fish-out-of-water genre because I find great comedy in the clashing of worlds. I mean, why bother writing under such genres if you're not going to use it, right? Just have the MC be from THAT world if the story isn't going to do even that much. This series gives the exact kind of humor I look for under this genre.

Spoiler

Because of his age and isolation, the master is almost as out-of-touch with the world as the MC and the story plays on that to great effect. So some parts of the story is like a time-traveler from the past meeting a hero summoned from a different dimension XDD. Misunderstandings galore.

[collapse]

But that's not to say this series doesn't know how to be serious when it needs to be. In fact, the transition between the story's tones is very well done. The situation for comedy/tragedy/drama is presented clearly to the readers, so the reader shouldn't feel disoriented from any shifts in the story-line.

(3) The background and explanation of the world is relatively short and concise and is given when needed, so the reader may understand the world without the story's plot becoming lost for the sake of world-building.

(4) The side characters aren't a bunch of 2 dimensional support characters that only exist for the MC's benefit.

I really love the depth this author gives the characters. Even while they're integrated with the main cast, they all have their own goals/dreams/dilemmas separate from the MC's. They have distinct personalities, which corresponds well with their unique character backgrounds. Plus, their personalities and actions are consistent, so the reader is never left trying to rationalize why a person acted in a certain way.

Spoiler

By the way, I especially adore the spoiled little Wang. I'm not usually a fan of tsunderes because many tend to be extremely bratty with very little redeeming qualities to make up for the former. But this character has enough dere and other personality traits (such as nobility, bravery, diligence, respectfulness, and loyalty) to make up for any tsun characteristics. In fact, I'm actually rooting for him to succeed and find happiness.

[collapse]

So yeah, I'd tell anyone who hasn't decided to read this series yet to go ahead and pick it up, especially if any of my reasons listed above are appealing reasons to. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA rated it
The Bathroom Goddess
October 30, 2017
Status: Completed
Wow. Just wow! The thought-process that went into a relatively short and lighthearted story is just AMAZING! Well done to both the author and the translators who worked on it. Just EVERYTHING that was a part of this story all has a bit of brilliance to it.

Would read again! Definitely recommended.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA rated it
Wife is Outrageous: His Evil Highness Comes Knocking
September 24, 2018
Status: c148
I like the MC here, even if she's not such a cunning OP character. She can be somewhat thoughtless of her situation at times actually. But she is "reasonably" skilled and the author does her justice in how she works to become stronger in a way that's believable.

... more>>
Spoiler

Though, I'm not sure why the author gave her a high-level/highly regarded special ops background when she doesn't really have the skills to back it up. Doesn't that position require an innovative mindset/ingenuity to assess and operate in various highly volatile situations? At her level, it'd be more believable to have her have been a regular soldier instead. She does seem to have the whole spirit of being comrades-in-arms down pat.

[collapse]

However, I share the same opinion with another commenter about how disagreeable the ML is. He's just-aargghh! He's enough to make me pause reading this, so I might just wait for the translations to be finished before picking this up again.

Spoiler

When he stole the MC's possessions, I honestly saw red. And while I know he doesn't owe the MC anything, neither does he do anything to actually warrant any sort of true affection from the MC. He continuously deceives her, stole from her, repeatedly looks down on her, and knowingly kills her friend/comrade in arms. So far, he's done NOTHING to prove himself worthy of her love, and if she comes to hate him or starts a relationship with someone else first, I would say she is more than well within her rights to spurn him.

Since he is supposed to be the ML, the author better not make it easy for him. The only way I'll be able to accept him is if he truly suffers to earn his HE (as in, not making it easy to win over the MC). He has a LOT of crow he'll have to eat at this point. As of chapter 148, all he's doing towards this end is digging a deeper hole pit chasm he'll need to climb out of. At least have her SLAP his face once!

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA
Jellyfish
May 19, 2018
Status: c16
It took a very special mind to mesh the elements of this series all together and somehow make it work. The setting is probably one of the most unusual I've read and Lord Jellyfish is by far the most unique take on a character. This almost reminds me of Spirited Away, with the aspect that extraordinary beings are doing pretty mundane tasks, but instead of being centered around a bathhouse, this is more global and modern, more like the epilogue of Yu Yu Hakusho.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA rated it
Screen Partner
August 6, 2018
Status: c31
If you're wanting to read something high in both fluff and smut, look no further! This is both super sweet and extremely hot~ The story flow is nice enough and I'm pleased with how it handled some of the usual cliches (or I should say, how the author avoids some of them).

The plot is pretty straightforward and the focus of the story remains where it should be, considering the length of it. The translator did an excellent job as well.

Definitely recommended for people who like this genre and want a... more>> quick, sweet, and uncomplicated pick-me-up to read. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA rated it
Let Me Tease You
December 1, 2017
Status: c59
I really like how the characters' relationships develop in this one. I was worried because the MC is forced into a "role" that is VERY different from his real personality, but the author manages to make it work quite satisfyingly. I think my only gripe about this is that there's certainly areas where the author could've expanded the story a bit more, especially at the end, but we'll see how the extras wrap things up.

If it did end at c59, it's not a bad ending, but it does leave you... more>> wanting more ^^ <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA
Unruly Phoenix Xiaoyao
October 29, 2017
Status: c58
This is a lighthearted novel but one of the things I love most about it is that it gives me exactly what I want from a parallel dimension/time travel novel: real conflict between people of 2 different cultures.

I don't mean that when an MC sees something greatly different from their set of value and then choosing to either change the culture or comply with it. Or when a character reflects on the others' values and come to some sort of inner resolution. I mean that when people from both cultures... more>> (
Spoiler

an example here would be the MC and ML with the value of humans and human life

[collapse]
) were communicating/arguing and were coming to a compromise and/or accepting the other's mindset. They both walk away, even if not agreeing wholeheartedly with or totally understanding the other, but able to see where the other's point was coming from.

I love that. I love it when the author makes an effort to show a struggle of values by characters, whose backgrounds are so diverse from one another but somehow they wind up on the same side, especially when the struggle isn't easy (and it shouldn't be). I think this is one of the strongest points of this series, besides its humor and character interactions. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA
Eight Treasures Trousseau
July 24, 2017
Status: c13
I'm one of the few souls who hasn't read To Be A Virtuous Wife. I have it on the back-burner for a later read but I've been growing a bit tired of all the calculating/scheming/black-bellied female MCs stuck in a situation where it seems everyone is against them and wanted something from the same genre but different. I'm not saying that I don't adore the aforementioned story tropes (because I do), I just wanted something, well, different. And after reading the comments by ljin75651 and willwiz, I decided to give... more>> this a try because

Spoiler

it seems that the conflict in the story isn't something stemming directly from the MC but is more centered around the ML, with the MC not trying to get involved, and

[collapse]

the MC's personality and her reactions to her situation were enough of a twist to get me reading the first chapter. And so far, I haven't been disappointed.

Spoiler

In fact, the biggest reason I like this story is because ONLY the ML seems to be black-bellied while the MC seems largely unambitious. She has a pretty cushy life (compared to others around her) and doesn't seem to wish to exert more effort than she has to. I'm interested to see how that plays into and contrasts with all the conflict the ML is in. And speaking of the ML, I'm really liking how ambiguous his feelings towards the MC are (so far) and can't wait to see where and how things change between them.

[collapse]

I'm glad I took a chance on this at the very least. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
May 18, 2019
Status: c295
In many ways, this is silly, and in more ways, it's just fun~ This was a fun read. Definitely recommended for readers who like the transmigration genre but with a non-blackened MC.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA
Kusuriya no Hitorigoto
May 14, 2019
Status: --
Only found the manga version of this and it blew me away with its smart and practical (though eccentric) MC and realistic setting. In fact, all the characters are very well-done in terms of characterizations, motivations, reactions, etc. No one was a caricature of a personified stereotype or single-trait 2-dimensional person. Sure, some moments (mostly for slight comedic effects) were sensationalized in a cliched manner (like how people might go gaga over someone's beauty or how the MC goes gaga over questionable substances), but there really weren't any real mob... more>> or cannon-fodder characters.

I definitely recommend the manga for people to read.

So, I'm looking forward to reading the novel version of this even more, especially as the written version tends to be the best form of a work (in my opinion). <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA rated it
Spring Trees and Sunset Clouds
September 19, 2018
Status: c53
Spoiler

Uuuhwa~ This story hits me right in the feels. The narrative of the MC's struggles to overcome his traumas (he experiences things like depression, severe PTSD, existential crises, suicidal tendencies) after being burned to death, reborn, betrayed, tortured, and left for dead is exceptionally well-crafted. I'm actually a bit surprised that I haven't come across any other stories that take a deeper look into the existential side of finding yourself alive again after death. The MC's despair over the value of existence after living two extremely different lives and the pain of living even after essentially dying twice really struck a cord with me over the contradiction of a person's coexisting fragility and strength.

Luckily, there's a lot of fluffy moments and some comedy to balance things out. The ML is so wonderfully loving and doting, to the point where I can see why the MC turns into a tsundere around him. All that sweetness being tossed around, someone needs to rein it in. The ML is sooo sappy, he was probably a tree in his last lifetime.

[collapse]

The summary might be a bit misleading. If any new reader is expecting a grand scheme/fight for the throne, this really isn't that type of story. This is a story about a man's struggle in finding meaning to live. TRIGGER WARNING: emphasis on the Trauma tag. Discussed more under my Spoilers above.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA rated it
Lord and Dragon
March 5, 2018
Status: c20
This really felt like I was reading an old-time fairytale. Most of the background plot is told to you rather than character-experienced (though there are some moments the character's involvement will allow the reader to observe the plot). The interactions of the main couple was the focal point of the story and their interactions were very cute ^^ So much fluff!
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA
Genius Doctor: Black Belly Miss
February 20, 2018
Status: --
This is a fun story to follow, and thankfully it has clear arcs in the story-line that makes it easy to remember where you leave off. Because it's so long, I have to take a break between each arc in order to finish the rest of my reading list ^^"
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA rated it
Waiting Until 35 Years Old
June 17, 2019
Status: --
Oh yeah, definitely read this as a fictional story. Because it was already completed and the chapter were so short, I didn't really bother reading the summary and only took note of the Tragedy tag (I'm not a fan of tragedies but don't mind reading if the story is short and the rating is high). I read through the whole thing in less than 20 minutes. I only read the summary after reading the author's note to read this as a story.

Looking at this as a story alone, this is... more>> a sad introspective piece on how, after finding and getting together with the love of his life, the MC can't stop loving and hoping for the ML despite the fact that the pressures of society just won't let them be together. The loneliness felt throughout the story is heart-wrenching in itself.

It's a quick read if you're not really that into the tragic genre, but a nice one if you are interested in any way.

Spoiler

The summary/backstory does make it 1000x sadder though

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
After reading this far, I read spoilers:

... more>>
Spoiler

Finished the 1st arc and it made me really feel sad for both MC and ML. Although it was non-con, it actually played out the tragedy of the lost of friendship and unrequited love, which made the non-con aspect easier to read than if the MC just accepted everything. (But with my reading preferences, non-cons aren't exactly a challenge for me to get through either). However, I couldn't stand it if all the arcs were like this, so I went ahead and read spoilers. Luckily, the ending makes up for it and I'm told that the 2nd arc is really sweet.

Further spoilers about arcs and ML: There's only 4 arcs and they're really long. I'm told the 2nd arc and 4th arc make the relationship worth reading. The relationship focuses on consent in the 2nd arc and it's mutual by the 4th. The 3rd arc's description is kind of weird though. And yes, ML is the same person for all arcs

[collapse]

After being spoiled, I definitely want to read the next arc and will see how I feel about it afterwords. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA
Grabbing Your Hand, Dragging you Away
December 6, 2017
Status: c65
I really enjoy this MC, much more than I thought I would. We see things from her POV (her side monologues are the best), and she's clearly extremely perceptive, even the small things she notes in passing, she uses to play a larger part later in her analysis of the events and people around her.

... more>>
Spoiler

I am 20 chapters into this and my OTP is the MC and Ying Lu, and I don't even like yuri. F*#@ the rest of them, those two are the only ones so far who deserve to be happy and I want them to be happy together, along with Xiao Hei.

[collapse]

Edit: (12/8/17)

Spoiler

Now at chapter 65, another reviewer said this, but it's true: the truly wonderful people are all the siblings. I also agree that the MC should just gather her twin, Ying Lu, He Xing Yan, and Bai Wei together and run off to a happily ever after with them, along with Xiao Hei and Xiao Bai. They're the only ones who deserve happiness! Although I do feel some sympathy for He Lian Chen, I don't like how he treats women.

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
RAGA
RAGA rated it
The Male Lead’s Villainess Fiancée
June 14, 2019
Status: --
Nah, not for me. If it wasn't for the distracting picture format (and yes, I know that it's a problem with the raws and not on the translator, who does a good job btw), I'd probably stick around to read more of it because while it's rather unoriginal and somewhat bland in terms of plot and character, it's cute enough on its own if you like the genre. But for people who can't stand the chat box/almost text messaging format, the story and characters don't make it worth the effort... more>> to ignore the format. ¯_ (ツ) _/¯ <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report