Report Review
8 Reviews


Premonition
Premonition rated it
Transmigrator Meets Reincarnator
September 16, 2017
Status: c660
Just finished reading this novel, it has a few characteristics that will not appeal to all men, such as physically weak female MC, drama, not many fight scenes. But despite all that I still gave it 5-stars as there aren't many novels that are this fleshed out and refreshing to read.

Here are 5 Reasons to read:

  1. Lots and lots of food
  2. Fresh plot points/twists
  3. Plot moves at a good pace
  4. Relatable characters with different personalities, not all good people stay good forever.
  5. timebun's translation quality is fantastic :) <3 xoxo
85 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Premonition
Premonition rated it
My Wife is a Beautiful CEO
April 7, 2016
Status: --
Yang Chen is an orphan with a long past, throughout the novel there will be glimpses into his past that will gradually give the full picture. At the beginning its mostly drama until he begins using his powers to fight. He will walk the path of chinese cultivation after some time and make lots of enemies.

His harem gets pretty big but its not like he is totally beta, he is not afraid to touch them and he does unlike some JP protags. He just wants to make them happy, while... more>> making himself happy at the same time.

There is an interesting fictional take on the 12 gods of olympus which is as weird as it sounds but works out pretty fine towards the end.

The author slides in quite a few fun pop culture references like drift like Initial D's Takumi! Or Hack someone into pieces like in the movie Psycho! Which is rather fresh compared to many novels. <<less
38 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Premonition
Premonition rated it
Heavenly Jewel Change
May 26, 2016
Status: c302 part3
Among the many TJSS novels I've seen, this is my favourite. I find that TJSS spends way too much time on adolescent years and it hurts the reading experience.

HJC has many elements, there's the initial army arc, school arc, tournament arc, army arc again, and so on. But they never feel out of place and instead feel well planned. Motives of the MC are very clearly shown and the comedic elements make this a blast to read.

The translation quality is great, but I think the name should be Heavenly Pearl... more>> Transformation instead. I could barely believe this is the same author who wrote Child of Light. <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Premonition
Premonition rated it
The Gate Of Good Fortune
May 26, 2016
Status: c231
Honestly wanted to like this story, the characters are well built and are interesting. But the progression of the story is hard to relate to, it's painful to keep continuing knowing that something sh*tty is going to happen next and the cause is really bullsh*t. Arcs end at timings that feel random and the way it shifts from arc to arc is even worse.

I also still think that the title is incorrect but that is my personal opinion.
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Premonition
Premonition rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
April 27, 2016
Status: --
This is a story that can give many many good laughs! The politics in the story are very interesting, and the MC's aim is clear from the start, to protect the girl he loved from his past life. It is also fun to read about the adventures of him and his subordinates (brothers) and their immaturity/humour. The main drawback to me is how often the author likes to repeat himself about things like "brothers!!!" Where it feels more and more dry everytime he explains it, to the point he decides... more>> to make their "brothers bond" turn into a kind of plot armor, where they all survive only because they tried to tank an attack for one another. I would vote 4.5 just because of this annoying repetitive point but I don't have that choice so a 5 it is. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Premonition
Premonition rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
October 5, 2016
Status: c1225
I really like this story, and would've given it a 5 if not for the the MC's overzealous tendencies of being such a nationalist and racist, in Chinese there's a term for people like him called FenQing (Angry youth), that are extremely patriotic in a bad way. There are also several bad points imo below.

... more>>
Spoiler

It feels like the author is really running out of ideas in recent chapters, and we might not even get to see the MC try to take on the global stage, possibly because he doesn't know much about the celebrity world outside of China, it kinda feels like he's avoiding it. Of course, I may be wrong about this, but if he decides to do this at chapter 4000 or something, I'm gonna give up.

The story points feel like they're repeating themselves.
E.g.

Spoiler

Using the popular talent shows in our world, sudden award that is won using luck, employer screws him over and forces him to make a comeback in 'spectacular' fashion.

[collapse]

Romance is kinda horrid here, despite the fact that there were great romantic interests and steamy scenes early in the story, in the later parts nothing really happens, literally nothing, well maybe a lap pillow......

So far, I'm most annoyed by how some characters feel so one-dimensional, and the most annoying one is surprisingly his mother. E.g.

Spoiler

Zhang Ye wins an award -> Mother calls wow good job! now I gotta show off to the entire world (and more bullsh*t for 3 paragraphs or more). Zhang Ye does something that brings infamy -> Mother calls and says WTF ARE YOU DOING? Why did u do that!!! blah blah (drags on). And this repeats on and on and on, like 15-20times?

[collapse]

Despite all that, I still recommend reading this story, the usage of poetry and history is really interesting, and I even ended up learning a few history facts that are real.

[collapse]
<<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Premonition
Premonition rated it
Otherworldly Evil Monarch
April 27, 2016
Status: --
My review may contain spoilers so read at your own risk.

This story is fantastic and its writing is a joy to read. However, once we get to the point where the author begins going after "aliens" which are basically his racist way of calling Japanese, where he labels them as truly disgusting beings that are born twins and incest to produce children, cruel, etc, everything goes downhill, the MC's attitude suddenly changes from a calculating intelligent person into a maniac who just wants to kill them all.

Though I get that... more>> the Chinese really don't like the Japanese for the war crimes in the past, bringing that hatred into a web novel just doesn't feel appropriate. It is also needlessly festering new hatred towards the Japanese for the younger generation.

As of the time I wrote this review, the translation is still far from the when these events take place, so I still recommend that people read this. It's a 5/5 before the author changes direction to racism, 1/5 after. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Premonition
Premonition rated it
Long Live Summons!
April 27, 2016
Status: --
Read up to chapter 330,

the story has an interesting plot and very different power levels, along with the Pokemon style battles it sure is fun. The MC and his harem ladies are also very funny and their interactions can be considered one of the best points of the novel. However, at around chapter 250-270 ish the story takes a turn for the worse, the attitudes of the ladies in MC's harem suddenly derogate into silly girls that love him so much and are kinda like waiting for him to... more>> jump on them?? I get that waiting 270 chapters for his first s*xy time can be considered pretty long, but the abrupt change in the characters was not done well by the author, it could have been transitioned in much better ways. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report