Report Review
25 Reviews


PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
Heaven Official’s Blessing
January 10, 2019
Status: c143
I'm usually a huge fan of this author (5 stars for both GDC & Scum Villain), but this book was a huge disappointment. The high point for this author is her ability to create likable and compelling characters who travel through a fantastic world with a beautifully crafted storyline. She may have been overly ambitious with this novel. The larger cast of character with multiple boring plot lines makes it feel long, slow, detached at the same time.

The issue may stem from the MC and ML being uninteresting in themselves.... more>> MC is an typical hero (similar to WWX) who always tries to do the right thing, but sometimes fails because that's just how life works. ML is a perfect, powerful, and utterly devoted husband type who watches over MC, with his only weakness being his inability to write calligraphy. The fact that the combination of the two of them as the most powerful couple in the entire world makes all their problems seem trivial. There's also very little relationship development since the ML has been devoted to MC for 800 years and the MC is clearly in love with ML within the first 30 chapters.

She uses and abandons great characters throughout the series: Yi Rong becomes comedic commentary after acting out his part in book 1 despite being one of the 4 evils, Feng Xin and Mu Qing become increasingly petting/childish after giving them great background story in book 2, the Black Water Demon becomes stupid and worthless after acting out his ingenious plot in book 3, and every side arc MC collects random children/other pets etc.

For me, the biggest turning point where this book goes from a 5 star to a 3 star is chapter 124. Chapters 90-124 was amazing - the character development, sense of mystery and discovery the reader gets as they follow the MC's logic/deduction was suspenseful and rewarding. However, she completely dropped the ball with the aftermath.
Spoiler

Perhaps I am biased since Shi Qing Xuan is my favorite character, but how she handled the aftermath of that plotline was atrocious. There's no explanation as to what happened between "please kill me" in a dungeon with the Black Water Demon in ch124 and "life is good" as a beggar in imperial city in ch200+.

[collapse]

If this novel shortened by 50%, removed some irrelevant monster of the day side plots, reduced the cast of rotating comedic side characters, introduced some kind of high stakes friction between the MC and ML, this novel would have been much better. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
My Wife Always Thought I Did Not Love Him
June 7, 2018
Status: Completed
This novel's premise is incredibly interesting - the rebirth scenario is set up well in the beginning. However, the whole point of rebirth is that the MC have foreknowledge of events that will occur. However, events that did not occur in the original timeline randomly appear (even though the MC's actions couldn't have possibly triggered these new events). At that point, the whole premise of rebirth was cheapened.

The characters themselves were likeable enough, nothing revolutionary. The emotional aspect was done really well, which is rare for Chinese BL novels. The... more>> ending and everything after high school felt like a pointless Korean drama. Translation quality is okay. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
I was laughing non-stop for the first 15 chapters. It's a great parody of the typical BL novel where the plot requires the shou/uke/bottom to be hilariously weak when they were supposed to be powerful, smart, and strong according to the premise of the novel.

However, after reading 35 chapters in, the novelty of the concept quickly wore off. The actual story and plot becomes much more akin to a traditional BL novel and quickly loses its luster. I would recommend everyone to read it, but not worth a heavy investment.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
Spring Trees and Sunset Clouds
January 15, 2019
Status: Completed
I generally enjoyed the story until it got a bit too ridiculous. Personally, I like to pretend the last 1/3 of the novel doesn't exist. It's a slow paced slice of life novel that delves into what it means to be happy & fulfilled. The premise of the story is interesting and a breath of fresh air. There's not much plot, but that's okay since the story is mostly about character progression. Too bad the characters are one-dimensional and the world building is abysmal. MC lives in a Chinese version... more>> of Stardew Valley. He spends most of his time farming, raising livestock, and interacting with townsfolk. He's escaping from his traumatic past and is trying to find a reason for living. Nothing he does is particularly noteworthy, but everyone loves him for no good reason.

The characters are a very typical for BL novels. MC is whiny, annoying, and constantly throws tantrums when the ML is around (think throwing rocks, salting his food, and other childish things). I can't imagine how anyone would think this is cute. ML is the typical perfect, powerful, and respected figure who is lord of this Chinese Stardew Valley with a dark side, which he holds back because of MC.
Spoiler

The latter 1/3 of the story is utter bullsh*t. The whole entire backstory for Mo Shu is inconsistent. It's best summarized by "why did you save me when you kill all other outsiders indiscriminately?" "Dunno, just felt like it". It's lazy and inconsistent - a hallmark of a poorly written story.

[collapse]

Overall, the story is short enough to be acceptable since the beginning 2/3 was okay. I would recommend reading on a rainy day when you have nothing better to do. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
One Useless Rebirth
January 10, 2019
Status: Completed
The novel is a fluffy slice of life piece that tastes sweeter than a Starbuck frappucino. The story is told mostly through the perspective of both the MC and ML and gives equal focuses on each of their professional & personal lives. They start off pretty much in love with each other, so it's mostly just heartwarming romance.

I enjoyed the focus on their professions and their time apart from each other. It makes the world richer and more well-rounded. However, the author seems to have a lack of... more>> understanding of both photography and entertainment. Some of the descriptions seem unrealistic at times, but understandable since it's a light novel.

The characters themselves are not super well written, but still adorable. The MC is a stereotypical BL MC. Similar to other novels, the MC can be a bit of a princess at times and get mad beyond what is necessary. The ML loses 70 IQ points when it comes to the MC. He's supposedly making all kinds of grand schemes against his evil step-mother, but also blows up MC's phone everyday and acts like a man child when MC is around.

If you don't take things to seriously, it's a fun novel - would recommend. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
The story started out interesting enough, but quickly got old. The premise is quite fun: the MC is transmigrated into the novel from the real word while the ML is reborn with the memories from his previous life. In the beginning, the situational comedy from the scheming of the ML and the cluelessness of the MC was funny and refreshing.

However, both the MC and the ML becomes more and more unbearable as time goes on. Both characters never evolve or grow - they stay within the confines of the same... more>> trope. If every person and animal hate the ML, the MC will figure out his little brother has something strange about him. Also, you would think after being treated well for several years the ML would mellow out. The characters remain static while the plot progresses in a manner of typical cultivation novels. From what I can tell from skimming the Chinese RAWs, it doesn't really get much better. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
Very stereotypical transmigration novel. Similar to other Transmigration novels, the MC goes through several worlds and slowly falls in love with ML, who is a different character but the same soul.

The writing is decent and the characters are cute. Nothing unexpected happens. A fluffy light read for when you're bored.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
The Scum Villain’s Self-Saving System
June 8, 2018
Status: Completed
Probably one of the best isekai novels written. The plot is intricate, the characters are well rounded, and the story is both dramatic and hilarious at the same time.

Unlike many other novels in the genre, the entire story is focused on one world and the same 2 main characters. This allows the world to be better developed and the characters to be a bit deeper. The intermittent interaction references to the real world and system interface are well timed and provides both comedic value as well as tension relief.

The characters... more>> are well written. The MC is not too clueless or utterly useless. He has clear goals, motivations, and rational thought. The ML has realistic reason to be in love with the MC other than "instinct" or "first-sight", which many other BL novels default to. The plot is fun and the twist at the end was enjoyable. The extras were fluffy and fun. Would highly recommend reading this. There are multiple translations of varying quality (may not be listed on this site). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
Qing Guo Yingxiong
June 6, 2018
Status: Completed
This novel is trash. It's the same world as Hua Hua You Long with a similar premise. But the MC in this story has zero self-respect. As a reader, I found myself questioning my own self-worth for having opened this book at all. The characters are arguably the worst part of the story - I don't understand how someone can be so stupid. Do people in this universe become famous generals by rolling dice or something?

The entire plot is also WTF inducing. Every new arc, I have to... more>> spend 5 min to wipe away the fresh blood I just puked up. The entire story consists of MC getting fooled by ML over and over again. He knows it's going to happen. We know it's going to happen. It's just a giant train wreck that everyone sees coming.

I applaud myself for finishing this novel via sheer willpower. If you want to test your mental fortitude, truly this is the best training novel. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
Everyone Thinks that I Like Him
February 5, 2019
Status: Completed
It's a cute fluffy school romance comedy akin to Hana Kimi or any typical shoujo. It's full of misunderstandings that eventually brings the main protagonists together. The entire story is comfortable and well paced. The side characters are funny and full of personality. The ending is especially satisfying since it neatly wraps up all the storylines. The last 20 chapters is essentially an extended "happily ever after".

I rated this novel 4 stars instead of 5 since there's nothing new or unique about this novel. It's your classic story with all... more>> the tropes and stereotypes, but packaged nicely. The MC is insecure and tsun, the ML is confident and perfect. As usually, the ML is much smarter and better than the MC in almost every way (except the MC is better at cleaning?). The plot progresses as expected after the first chapter.

While this is not a must read, I would recommend reading this novel if you have the time. It's fluffy and cute but also easy to read. Oftentimes, the downside of reading BL novels is the poor writing, but this novel is entirely translated and of high quality. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
Guardian
January 20, 2019
Status: c95
The novel is a Chinese BL version of Dresden files - a nice mix of supernatural, mystery, and adventure. It's well written and the pacing is good. The plot is intricate and suspenseful. You follow along with the MC (who is constantly lied to) as events unfold, so you can follow along in the mystery and come up with fan theories.

The MC and ML are probably some of the best characters I've seen in BL novels. They're truly partners and accept each other's flaws despite the circumstances. I especially enjoy... more>> the MC since his personality is extremely "manly" even though he's the uke.

This sounds good until the plot devolves into metaphysical bullsh*t around part 4 (lantern arc). As more of the story unfolds, you come to realize that the entire novel is just fueled with the smelliest Chinese mythological cow dung imaginable. Not does the story delve way too deep into Chinese creationism, the historical relationship between the MC and ML is not all that it's cracked to be (is there anything cheesier than love at first sight?).

If you're really into Chinese lore, this book might be for you. Otherwise, you better be a fan of the drama or else this novel is going to be a chore (especially considering the translation is not very good). <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
Heroic Death System
January 14, 2019
Status: Completed
This is a lower quality version of "Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil". The MC is more annoying and the sub-stories are less interesting. The MC doesn't ever take the initiative, which often makes the ML very rapey. If you're looking for more after reading QWTFOTD, this is a might be an okay fit.

The story is composed of multiple sub-stories where the MC & ML reincarnate into multiple different universes. The main plot in this story is the MC is an unfortunate character that needs to die a "heroic... more>> death", which typically is just to complete the mission set out by the system. The unique flavor of this novel is each sub-story is told twice, once with a Bad Ending (first run) and once with a Happy Ending (revisit).

While the novel overall is labeled "Happy Ending (HE) ", I would categorize it as ambiguous.
Spoiler

I disliked the ending immensely. I would have strongly preferred the childhood friend mentioned in the intro text to be the ML. Also, his "heroic death" in the IRL world felt unnecessary. The last chapter (275) was ambiguous and confusing.

[collapse]

Overall, would not recommend unless you are a superfan of QWTFOTD. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
The Legendary Master’s Wife
June 14, 2018
Status: c40
I tried reading this, but I just can't get into it. The MC is like a doormat - no personality or quirkiness. There's not even an attempt at humor. The only reason I can stand this flurry of transmigration novels is that it often makes fun of itself or creates ironic/hilarious moments that makes it so I don't try to take it seriously.

The novel is so wooden it takes the fun out of this genre. I'm still in the first 100 chapters, so I haven't gotten to the part where... more>> EXR took over the translation. But the translation for the first section is pretty subpar. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
A typical transmigration novel where the MC is a reader that gets sent into the world and meets the ML, who happens to be the strongest person in the universe. ML enslaves the MC, but slowly starts to fall in love due to the MC sacrificing himself for the ML even though the ML has done nothing but be cruel and evil to him. This entire book's plot is wholly centered around the MC and ML looking in each other's eyes and being in love. The thin facade of plot... more>> is just the ML getting more and more OP while f**king the MC in his various "forms". Great novel if you're in it for the smut. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
If Only Time Stopped at the Moment We First Met
January 15, 2019
Status: Completed
This novel will either be a hit or miss. I got anxiety while reading it, and felt like sh*t after completing it. Which is why I would highly recommend it.

The characters aren't meant to be sympathetic, but they're both relatable in a way. Societal pressure, pride, and immaturity oftentimes manifest themselves in real life in similar ways. This novel explores what happens when all of that is mixed together with a series of unfortunate events.

Novels rarely incite so many emotions in me. Maybe it's because I rarely read novels with... more>> "Bad Ending" tags, but this one stood out due to the frustration both the characters and readers feel throughout the story. I wouldn't recommend reading it, unless you're not prepared for a whole lot of angst. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
War Prisoner
June 8, 2018
Status: Completed
This novel is a standard prisoner rape/imprisonment BL novel of a captured enemy general and an emperor. The story, characters, and writing is pretty decent, which makes for an easy read.

As usual, the MC is a "great" general with outstanding character, but turns into a whiny useless guy that's just there as the object of ML's affection. ML, as usual, is a OP love sick and posessive ruler who's logic flies out the window when they see MC.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
June 8, 2018
Status: Completed
This novel is fun and well written. At its core, the novel consists of 16 short stories with a coat of paint that ties each story together (the MC and ML's souls are the same between stories). Each individual short story is interesting and well done. They are short enough where it doesn't get too stale. However, after reading the same plot in 15 different contexts (MC is smart/perfect and gets revenge on people who wronged him while falling in love with the ML), it does get a bit old.

The... more>> MC is probably the best part of the series. In most Chinese BL novels, the Shou is usually clueless and gets tricked/forced by the ML into a relationship. However, in this series, The MC was always gay and knew what he wanted and often takes the initiative to seduce the other party.

One downside is that the translation for this novel is abysmal. It's probably one of the worst translations I've read to date. They do MTL translations without much editing, so a bunch of stuff doesn't even make sense. Names of characters will change on a paragraph by paragraph basis. Would highly recommend reading the RAWs if possible. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
The Founder of Diabolism
June 3, 2018
Status: Completed
This is one of the best novels I've ever read. Even if it wasn't Shounen Ai, I would have loved it. The storytelling, depth of characters, and world building were all fantastic.

It's a novel that gets better the second time around. The first time I read it, it was a bit confusing and hard to follow. After re-reading it, I can fully appreciate the subtle hints, foreshadowing, and intricate plotlines.

The novel isn't fully translated yet, but you can find the Chinese RAWs online. There's also several podcasts that have readings... more>> of the novel as well. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes
Love Stops Rumours
February 21, 2019
Status: Completed
This novel is meant to be short, cute, and funny - and it does its job. The MC often break the 4th wall to lament the author. There are constant misunderstandings, rumors, and shenanigans going on at all times. The side characters are colorful and could use a story for themselves (I especially like the 2nd couple).

There's nothing new or exciting about this series. In fact, it's very similar to "Everyone thinks I like that I like him". But overall well executed and didn't drag on into infinity. I would... more>> recommend reading if you've had a bad day at work/school and want something to cheer you up. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
PotatoCakes
PotatoCakes rated it
Rebirth: Degenerate Slave Abuses Tyrant
February 4, 2019
Status: c114
Most novels with intrigue and politics tend to be overly dramatic, long winded, and appallingly unrealistic. Surprisingly, this novel has managed to pull it off quite well. The MC is armed with knowledge of the past, and since all the events occur exactly as they did previously, he's able to look like a genius coming out of it. Following his journey for revenge has been highly satisfying. I enjoy the machinations and the goal oriented nature of the MC.

The L part of this BL novel is slow, and a lot... more>> more contrived than I'd like. While there hasn't been any romance in the first 100 chapters, we've been introduced to the two main MLs and their relationship with the MC. While I find the reason for the Prince's treatment of the MC a bit ridiculous, the plot point has created enough interesting conflict/drama, so I'll give it a pass.

Also, if you're not into abusive relationships, this novel probably isn't for you. The portrayal of serious issues like rape are not addressed very well at all. It's unrealistic to the point of off-putting, but it's relatively self-contained and the translator points out the chapters so you can skip them.

Lastly, a shout out to the translator for this series for doing such a good job with frequent releases. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report