Report Review
18 Reviews


Poison_Ice_Blade
who put the child abuse tag? Honestly that pretty sums up this story. The MC was abused as a child and in the story he is being abused by woman and children. Even when they hear of his past they still dont let up on the abuse. Its made pretty clear from the beginning that the MC is legitimently insane and just wants to live alone growing his potatoes, but the village hates him and shuns him, calling him a demon who will turn them into a potato.

I understand its... more>> done for comedic effect but from a westerns eyes (those that aren't s*xist), instead of seeing a man being pummeled by beautiful woman and laughing, all we see is a man forced into an abusive relationship with no way out in sight recalling the past that hes had to endure. Everyone hates these woman. Why the author would make suck unreasonable characters, cultural difference??? But its doesn't translate well to a western audience. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade rated it
Nigotta Hitomi no Lilianne
March 14, 2018
Status: c67
Decided to drop this one, I was really expecting to see her reach childhood but I realized that this entire story takes place during her baby years and it incredibly tedious to read. Was constantly hoping for a time skip but nope. Wanted a slightly more faster paced story then this im disappointed. Everything fine with this story but its honestly not very engaging.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade
Parallel World Pharmacy
March 30, 2018
Status: --
if you lack basic knowledge of chemistry this story might fall flat on you. Alot of people complain about how his powers are OP and his techniques are impossible to copy but I feel like people forget that he also comes from a world did this all without magic. Its not impossible to replicate the things that he makes with his powers but the people if that world simply lack the knowledge to do so. Most of the time he uses his creation ability because he currently doesn't have to... more>> prestige and technology to make it at the moment. And his medic eyes dont tell him what disease the other person has it simply states what part of the body is being stress and using his knowledge he is able to determine what the illness is.

theres not much action and thats ok, this is a story about how he brings about a new age of medicine and figuring out of the mystery of the medicine god. Its actually pretty entertaining too. If you want romance, action, or OP "lets show the world how awesome I am" then this really isn't the story for you. But if you enjoy seeing a smart dude with really convient powers causally saving people's lives and improving the overall state of the medical world in this era with a dash of history and economics sprinkled in, then go ahead and give this story a shot. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
ok im done and dropping this. Great concept, Poor execution. Thru-out the whole story theres this weird s*xual tension between EVERY FEMALE CHARACTER. But its never seems to actually get that far forcing the story into this awkward in-between stage, disappointing not only those who came nasty (because their never gonna get it) but those who came for a proper dungeon/city building story. (The s*xual tension ruins the personalities for most of the female characters)

dont even get me started on the LAZY story telling! Its like this author fails... more>> to grasp to concept of suspense, tension (story wise, not that s*xual bullsh*t), and risks. The only mystery we are given, that actually makes me want to read the story are hidden weapons NOT story related mysteries WEAPONS! I think the only thing that I was actually curious about is pretty much answered by volume 2 or 3.
Spoiler

he wants to know if hes a reincarnated person or just a dude with randomly inserted memories, apparently its the latter and the creator could have been lying but I could care less because I was given no other clues to suggesting otherwise, pretty much ending the only lore related mystery I cared about.

[collapse]

Spoiler

so first his "children" seem all fine and everything. He seems to truly care for them as if they were his kids but by volume 5 they seem to all want to f**k him and it degrades the story from a city building one to a "how do I avoid these situations" one. And its super annoying. His ally also is falling in love with him but hes like "f**k that!" and then hes falls in love with his "parent". Starting to see a pattern? Yeah so do I and I think the author has some sort of family fetish.

oh then we got all these random story elements that keep being added without properly building on to each other, and rather then giving a sense of accomplishment. It feels more like the author just making him more and more OP for no reason and no explanation. In fact the power scaling of this whole story is off.

and then we got the over explanation. Seems contradictory to what I said in the last paragraph, but in the last one I was talking about how the story doesn't justify itself lore wise. For example why hes the only one who can make S class monsters or why doesn't anyone know the power of the creation medals. The over explanation im talking about here is stats wise. In fact they tend to repeat the same thing so many times its makes feel like im watching yu gi oh. "You see, the reason I cant use these hippogyths in the next war is because they can only 500 kilograms wheres as the darkness dragons can carry 10 times that amount." "the adult form of kuina muiltplys her stats several times over explanting why she can perform this feat that was once impossible" honestly overbearingness of the story makes the story feel like it was meant for children until you get to the s*xual tension that is.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade rated it
The New Gate
March 21, 2018
Status: --
As much as I loved reading the story after a while you can feel it starting to suffer from the same problem most long running stories suffer from which was taking TOO DAM LONG to get to the main point. I love the concept, I love the characters but its super slow paced and according to someone whose read the raws which is at 16 volumes the MC STILL hasn't reveal his identity to the world. I love proper building of tension but thats way too long. Unfortunately im going... more>> to have to drop the web novel. Fortunately its been adopted to a manga and the manga is way more better suited for this type of story and im very much enjoying that. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade rated it
HP9999999999
July 20, 2018
Status: c22
Honestly its not as bad as everyone makes it out to be. Its funny but he really needs to take control of his life instead of letting everyone do everything for him. Apparently this is supposed to be a harem story??? Yeah thats just not the case. Honestly someone needs to delete this annoying female character cuz she only making life more difficult. If it were me I would have just let her kill herself.

The MC pretty much the beta more stupid version of overlord. He does the exact same... more>> things but fails. Its slightly entertaining but thats pretty much it. I wish he interacted with humans more because that when the story is at its best. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade
The Charm of Soul Pets
June 30, 2018
Status: v2c43
I actually didn't mind the dark themes and the almost introverted nature of the MC. and I can usually take BS pretty well. The thing that made me drop the novel was the repetitive way of story telling. get underestimated, fight, win fight, get stronger, hide strength, and repeat. this is done to accomplish every goal. ... more>>
Spoiler

hes every planning to murder the entire yang clan to get revenge.

[collapse]
like I didn't sign up for watching a dude kill everyone, I wanted to see the relationships between the soul pets and their owners and while in the beginning theres alot of that, it phases out almost directly after the three year time skip. it just gets boring. we hardly ever hear of mo xie's (the fox) opinion anymore. The implied s*xism is slightly uncomfortable to read (to both genders btw not just females), but I know the author isn't doing it intentionally.
Spoiler

theres one scene where a female is used as bait to lure men into a trap, and the explanation was that because they are all trapped on a murder island then the lust of men consumes then and when they see a female, they cant help but rape the lady. like seriously?! its a battle royal! no sane person is gonna fall for such a stupid trap. oh and then theres a scene where Chu is trying to find a soul pet for his not-related-by-blood female cousin (yes, im not joking. they actually emphasized this tidbit of info) and he skips over many good soul pets because he wants to get her a butterfly soul pet. with the explanation being "soul pets are like weapons, you must have the right weapon for the person of the right build." and thats why she should get a small nimble soul pet. for the record butterflies are far from being swift nimble creatures. they are slow and clumsy. there are plenty of other womanly-ish creatures that are far more capable of fighting. like cats or wolves, or small birds! idk something other then a butterfly... but maybe I should take this one off seeing how Chinese do have a thing for butterflies. perhaps they think its more badass?

[collapse]

and yeah its kinda like Pokemon, a battle royal version where every bit of mana counts. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade rated it
The Spearmaster and the Black Cat
February 5, 2018
Status: c28
it has an interesting concept that isn't well executed, even parts that should be interesting are just boring. In fact the more interesting parts of the story is when he interacts with monsters because it adds mystery to the world but for some reason once it starts to go into slice of life mod, it fails to hold my attention. The MC's personality isn't that great ether. Hes basically a gentleman pervert that won't rape you without permission but the fact that he obviously thirsty really freaks out all the... more>> female characters. As a female myself im also put off by the behavior. Oh and I forgot to mention the fact that he has no weaknesses, its like a cliche Mary Sue. Hes a vampire but he rarely needs blood and can eat normal human food without finding any wrong with it. Hes not weak to the sun nor does he feel a uncontrollable desire for human blood. In fact he able to store animal blood in water bottles without it going bad! Whats even the point of being a vampire if your just gonna negate all of its downsides?! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade
Pet King
January 29, 2018
Status: c47
got up to around chapter 47 and decided to drop it, I feel like its missing something and im not sure what it is. maybe its because im not a fan of cats or maybe there something of the style of reading that puts me off. the translation isn't very good for those not familiar with Chinese culture.

... more>>
Spoiler

theres one scene where, the king cat says something in English and the MC doesn't know what is being said, but the translation doesn't tell you what is spoken in English and what isn't.

there are also parts where the MC says something in his head but what is said is surrounded by "o" instead of italics or even single quotes 'o' which can be used to show that what is being said isn't being said out-loud.

theres are also a lot of cultural references and differences that aren't really being explained by the translator, for example the fact that people will reveal your address if you aren't being good online. (Thats not normal! and is a crazy obstruction of privacy!)

the story structure itself is also very confusing, often switching to other characters' POV without warning, that we dont care about. the emotions of different characters aren't realistic in fact, none of the personalties in this story feel very real.

there are parts wheres the MC will get mad for no real reason and its super confusing. I also noticed that the story is slightly unintentionally s*xist. even girl character ive seen pretty much acts like a spoiled brat except for the children. you also dont flirt with a woman by grabbing their face to look at them. thats what people do for slaves. but I im not one for being politically correct, so thats gets a pass I guess.

[collapse]

if you can get passed all this then as the the plot itself is entertaining I guess. its wasn't really my cup of tea. I was expecting mythical creatures like with magic and stuff. but the author puts way too much time into the daily goings of the pet store. instead of dragons, unicorns, and phoenixes, you get slightly magical cats... super disappointing. you could go on adventures to keep finding cool pets and figure the mystery of this crazy phone app but nooo. he decides that the MC should be a interesting shop keeper and not once is he curious on how exactly the app even works.

what a disappointment... <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
I usually have a high tolerance for stories like this but this one is missing the key elements to a good story. The concept is pretty original, but its refuses to take advantage of its surroundings and it's characters.

Typically with stories like this you start out with a fun light hearted story and as more and more characters are introduced, you start getting a feeling that not everything is as it seems and theres something in the background threatening the wish of a peaceful life of the protagonist. In order... more>> to avoid impending doom the lazy protagonist will typically ally themselves with multiple factions to have as many safe guards as possible. That includes moving to multiple locations and changing to the overall tone of the story possibly multiple times to keep readers invested for as long as possible. Moving to different locations is especially important for fantasy stories in particular because they to basically have describe to you what the world's dynamic is without outright saying it. This includes showing the culture of the characters, showing the basic rules and taboos of this world, and setting up a possible time frame of what era it takes place in. With this type of reincarnation story, the protagonist's history and achievements needs to be revealed carefully and slowly, as too fast is just an info dump causing readers to lose interest and too slow leads the reader to believe that the past doesnt actually matter to the protagonist especially if he is never recalling it. Reincarnation stories in particular need to take advantage of the fact that the protagonist in reincarnated and has all this knowledge from his past self to aid him.

The problem of this story is that it lacks most of the elements of a good story. first of all the only threat we know of as of chapter 18 is the entire human race and mother dragon, it doesnt make for a very compelling story if the threat is obvious, clear, and easy to avoid. Second of all we know next to nothing about the world our protagonist is in and the reader can only assume its the basic D&D setup. The culture seen from the protagonist eyes is way too biased and although that view is basically used as a running gag for jokes, its not very funny and frankly its offensive to most people.
Spoiler

How can a genderless slime that is attracted to women, criticize the lizard men for doing what they're race is already designed to do. I understand its supposed to be funny in a hypocritical mocking kind of way but the humor isn't very clear and ends up coming off as homophobic. a similar thing is done when it comes to talking about goblins raping things. Rather then being disgusted as a former human himself and then dismissive of their behavior because "its in their nature", its feels as if he is dismissive of the behavior from the get go. The joke of goblins raping virgin queens follow soon after that but once again its not very funny and only portrays the protagonist as heartless, unempathic, and un-relatable. (the downfall of most stories) I think I wouldn't have mind it so much if it was mentioned once but the fact that its basically made some sort of plot point and is constantly referenced over and over again really ruins it for me. yes we get it you really want to rape some virgins, just dont forget the toss in the vampire too. I dont think he ever reaches out to the human queens and rather would just leave her to her fate. later on he is put in charge of a young human girl and now he suddenly cares for humans?! yeah that type of switch in morals isn't going to slide very easily with me.

[collapse]
The reincarnation gimmick is never taken advantage of. In fact I think the story would have been better without it. Its only seems to get in the way and add unnecessary elements to the story. the story is made even worse by the fact that no one actually cares about the protagonist (unrelatable) or his history and the small bit of history that is revealed isn't interesting nor wanted. Its doesnt even seen to really help him ether. Can you imagine how much interesting the story would be if he had lost most of his memory and had to find out what and who his past self was while being stuck in the body of a monster? Too bad thats not the case. Oh yeah and speaking of mystery, theres none of that in this story. Besides the dude's past that no one cares about, everything is outright revealed to you making the story feel repetitive and boring. The last flaw im going to state is the lack of change in environment. Almost every fantasy story if not a mystery story then is some type of adventure. Problem is that all we know is that they live in a forest and to make it worse, the forest feels extremely small because of the lack of struggle when going anywhere in the forest. In most reincarnated into a monster stories there a sense of struggle when traveling making the area appear much larger then it actually is but this story once again lacks any of that. For a slime, he must go pretty darn fast... <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade rated it
Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou (WN)
August 31, 2018
Status: c16
Unfortunately there were no more chapters after 16 so I was forced to stop reading. But the little I read wasn't very good. The beginning was slow, extremely slow and not very fun to read, once you get in the story you are waiting for him to get betrayed (because why else would you read this story) and its feels like it just takes way too long. The characters are unrealistically mean of course like every other one of these types of stories.

... more>>
Spoiler

and once he betrayed and falls down he loses his arm and then finds a magic rock to heal him. Which isn't too bad what I have a problem with is that they completely disregard the missing arm entirely. Did he regrow his arm and I missed it?! According to another reviewer he riding a motorcycle out of the dungeon and shooting his rail guns at the same time? How when he only has one arm?!

[collapse]

Its not complete garbage and could be enjoyable to someone who isn't taking this story very seriously but to me personally, I found the inconsistencies too much to handle. Which is why I give this story a 2.5 <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade rated it
Garudeina Oukoku Koukoku Ki
July 23, 2018
Status: v5c6
I would say this is a solid 4 star. Despite being relatively entertaining, it doesnt seem like there was much effort put into to story telling aspect. For example why would you support the Business practice of capturing and selling demihumans if you want to stop the action of just that?! It doesnt make sense unless you had a more sinister purpose in mind.

oh well if you want something to mindlessly pass to time read this but dont think too hard on the logic of the story.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade rated it
Demon Lord Wants to Laze
July 20, 2018
Status: c6
*sighs* Im not sure how it could be possible to ruin a demon lord story but look here! Its been done! I love this genre but this story is almost unreadable. Some of it is the translator's fault for not properly establishing which POV we are on but most of it is definitely the author's fault. It honestly feels like im reading the rough draft of a story because nothing it delved into.

The flow of writing and pacing is awful too. Way too fast and not enough details. I dont... more>> think ive ever seen an author struggle to describe the environment so much. I just kinda assumed it starts out in the forest because the MC talks about how a demon lord lives in the forest but it could have also started in a small village or perhaps the demon lord castle itself. Thing is idk because they never told me.
Spoiler

the second chapter begins with waking up in the demon lord castle which is way too sudden and confusing. To try and fix this, your mind automatically assumes that our MC passed out at the end of the previous chapter but it was never shown nor told. The demon lord, his minion, and the MC are now suddenly raiding the mansion (I thinks its a mansion???) holding slaves and the captured sister mentioned in the beginning of the story. If your not already confused by this point then im impressed. Everyone seems to be murdered by beans (dont ask me where they got beans and why they are using them, idk) I believe and then they are suddenly in the basement freeing the prisoners.

[collapse]

oh god it was so awful and such a clusterf**k I had to stop reading it if I wanted to preserve some brain cells. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Can't say im very interested in the story so far. The chapters are just way too short. The concept is interesting but even after a few chapters Im still not sure what the MC has planned for these kids. To me it is pretty boring to read, perhaps im reading it wrong?
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade rated it
Undead Seeks Warmth
June 15, 2018
Status: --
Good start. Very good start. The concept is original but thats about the only thing going for it. Theres somewhat of a shonen vibe to it as the MC goes thru tons of fights and each fight makes him stronger that was poorly explained and rushed thru a bit. The grammar of the translation is the least of my problems. Oh and the bondage fetish shows up clearly in this novel, but thats a minor problem compared to its other flaws.

The problem is that the story itself is poorly planned.... more>> There are a ton of plot holes and a ton of situations where you're like "if this character would have done this simple action then this wouldn't have happened." there are also a ton of random story elements being randomly inserted for no reason other then to insert another crazy chick into this plot. The whole story screams beginner overall. And the actual way of story telling is very confusing to read. (Pretty sure thats 70% the translator's fault tho) the author also decides to give lots of screen time to this archer person for no reason (well im sure it wasn't for no reason but I didn't fell like reading her parts so I skipped those chapters) oh and the background inst very well described so its difficult to imagine the scenes.

Theres doesnt seem to be a happy ending in sight so I decided to drop the story. This story wasn't trash but more like a good meal that spoiled and you have to throw it away with a look of disappointment. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade rated it
Isekai De Rippa Na Inu Ni Naru Houhou
March 24, 2018
Status: c35
Yeah definitely a solid 4 star. Its actually very enjoyable to read but the s*xual harassment to super uncomfortable to watch. Honestly I feel like skipping all the parts where hes human because its just that cringy, but at the same time its adorable. I dont understand why the MC is a guy when he just acts like a girl pretty much the whole story. Well the human body has been naked for pretty much 95% of the story so maybe the author didn't want it to seem too perverted?
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade rated it
Mushoku Tensei (WN)
February 9, 2018
Status: c2
Spoiler

ok so I didn't mind the jerking off on his parents funeral, thing. Maybe they didn't get along. The thing that made me jump ship was when the mother was telling her story, and she noticed how perverted the baby was. Just disgusting! You cant hold back even with your own mother?! He s*xually harassed his mother as a baby! F**king incest! If this is how he acts as a child, then whats stopping him from being a rapist?!

[collapse]

perverted minds have no appeal in western culture, I just dont understand what the appeal is in asian cultures. I can tolerate it to a certain extent, but when your supposed to be an innocent child and you are still perverted. Thats messed up.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
Poison_Ice_Blade
Poison_Ice_Blade rated it
The Legend of Sun Knight
January 31, 2018
Status: Completed
honestly this story is awesome. It starts off as a crack fic but then it gradually gets more and more serious. The dark tones aren't done very well but its still very entertaining.

to my fellow readers I ask, where the f**k did the unicorn go?! It just appears and then disappears with no explanation.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report